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PREFACE 

This Revenue and Taxation Reference Book is designed to answer some of the more 
commonly asked questions about California's tax structure. It is written with the general 
public in mind and gives a broad overview of most of California's major taxes, as well as 
summaries of some special features of the tax system. Many of the technical features and 
fine points of the law are excluded in an attempt to keep the material accessible to lay 
readers. 

This Reference Book reflects California's tax law as of December, 2015. Generally, tax 
provisions that expired or were repealed prior to that date are not described. 

Many features of the state tax system are described more than once in this Reference 
Book. For instance, certain income tax provisions affecting businesses are described both 
as a feature of the Personal Income Tax in Chapter 2B and in Chapter 2C, under the 
Corporation Tax. Readers should watch for cross-references within the text. 

The Glossary in Chapter 8 provides short definitions of over 200 terms and acronyms 
commonly used in tax discussions. 

Thanks are due to the staff members of the Franchise Tax Board, the Board of 
Equalization, and other executive agencies who provided information, advice, and 
editorial comment during the preparation of this book. Legislative Counsel also provided 
assistance on various issues in this book. Their collective assistance ensures that the 
information included is both timely and accurate. 

The Revenue and Taxation Reference Book has been prepared and maintained over the 
years by the staff of the Assembly Committee on Revenue and Taxation. 
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CHAPTER1A 
OVERVIEW OFTAX AGENCIES 

OVERVIEW OF CALIFORNIA'S TAX REVENUES 

TABLE 1 

GENERAL FUND REVENUES, FISCAL YEAR2016-17 
(Dollars in Millions) 

Percentage of 
Total Revenue General Fund Budget 

Personal Income Tax $ 83,393 69.32% 

Retail Sales and Use Tax $ 25,727 21.3 8% 
(General Fund portion) 

Corporation Tax $ 10,992 9.14% 

Highway Users Tax $ 0 0.00% 

Motor Vehicles License Fees $ 22 0.02% 

Insurance Tax $ 2,345 1.95% 

Estate Tax $ 0 0.00% 

Liquor Tax $ 377 0.31% 

Cigarette Tax (General Fund portion) $ 85 0.07% 

Other $ 663 0.55% 

Transfer to the Budget Stabilization 
Account/Rainy Day Fund - $ 3,294 - 2.74% 

TOTAL $120,310 100.00%* 

*May not total 100% due to rounding. 

Source: 2016-17 Governor's Enacted Budget Summary, General Fund Revenue Sources, Figure 
SUM-04 
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CHAPTERIB 
BASIC FACTS ABOUT TAX 
LEGISLATION 

CHAPTERlB 

BASIC FACTS ABOUT TAX LEGISLATION 

HIGHLIGHTS 

• Tax Levy Bills 

• Legislative Vote Requirements 

• Constitutional Amendments and Statutory Initiatives 

• Bills with State Mandates on Local Agencies 

• Fiscal Committee Hearings 

• Effective Dates and Operative Dates 

1. INTRODUCTION 

This chapter summarizes the most important constitutional, statutory, and legislative 
provisions that apply to tax legislation. 

2. "TAX LEVY" BILLS 

Tax Levy Bills Defined. A tax levy is a bill that imposes a state tax, repeals a state tax, 
or otherwise changes in any material way the rate, base, or burden of a state tax. For this 
reason, many bills that deal with taxes are designated as tax levy bills. 

The Office of Legislative Counsel (Legislative Counsel), which is responsible for 
drafting all bills introduced and amended in the Legislature, determines whether a bill is a 
tax levy. 

Legislative Counsel will classify a bill as a tax levy if its subject matter exclusively or 
principally imposes, repeals, or otherwise modifies the incidence or burden of a state tax. 
After determining that a bill is a tax levy, Legislative Counsel will include in the title of 
the bill a phrase indicating that the bill is a tax levy. The body of the bill will also 
contain a statement that the measure is a tax levy. 

Bills that impose, repeal, or modify a state tax and that also contain umelated provisions 
are not designated as tax levies, unless Legislative Counsel determines that the tax levy 
provisions are the principal or primary purpose of the bill. 
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CHAPTER 18 
BASIC FACTS ABOUT TAX 
LEGISLATION 

Bills that exclusively or primarily affect the rate, base, or burden of the property tax are 
also designated as tax levies. However, a bill that only authorizes a local government to 
propose a tax to the voters is not a tax levy, because that bill does not directly affect the 
rate, base, or burden of an existing local tax. 

Bills that deal exclusively or principally with tax administration, including the imposition 
of penalties and interest, are not tax levies. 

How Tax Levy Bills Are Treated. The Legislature treats tax levy bills differently from 
other bills in the following ways: 

0 	 Tax levy bills take effect immediately [California Constitution, Article IV, 
Section 8(c)(3).] However, their operative dates may be different (see Section 
7, below). 

0 	 Tax levy bills are not subject to referendum by the people [California 
Constitution, Article II, Section 9(a).] 

0 	 Tax levy bills are not subject to many of the normal legislative deadlines for 
the consideration of bills. Instead, they are treated like urgency bills and 
Constitutional Amendments. Accordingly, policy and fiscal committees may 
meet to hear a tax levy bill at any time other than during those periods when 
no committee may meet for any purpose. Similarly, either house may meet 
for the purpose of considering and passing a tax levy bill at any time during 
the legislative session. 

3. LEGISLATIVE VOTE REQUIREMENTS FOR TAX BILLS 

The California Constitution establishes legislative vote requirements for all tax bills, 
including tax levies. 

Bills requiring a two-thirds vote are those that: 

0 	 Result in any taxpayer paying a higher tax (California Constitution, Article 
XIIIA, Section 3); 

0 Contain an urgency clause [California Constitution, Article TV, Section 8(d)]; 

0 Classify personal property for differential taxation or that exempt personal 
property from taxation (California Constitution, Article XIII, Section 2); 
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LEGISLATION 

0 Contain a General Fund appropriation for any purpose other than public 
education, unless passed as part of the budget [California Constitution, Article 
IV, Section 12(d)]; 

0 Override a Governor's veto [California Constitution, Article IV, Section 
IO(a)]; and 

0 	 Amend the provisions of the California Children and Families First Act of 
1998, an initiative constitutional amendment and statute passed as Proposition 
10 by the voters in November 1998 (Proposition 10, 1998, Section 8). 

Bills that amend any portion of the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law enacted in 

November 1988 by the voters as Proposition 99 require a four-fifths vote. 


With certain limited exceptions, all other tax bills require a majority vote. 

4. CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS AND STATUTORY INITIATIVES 

Some aspects of state tax law cannot be changed by the Legislature. These instances and 

the procedures relating to them are outlined below. 


Tax Law Set Forth in the Constitution. A constitutional amendment is required to 

change any tax law contained in the California Constitution. Proposed constitutional 

amendments may be placed on the statewide ballot either by the Legislature or by the 

people through an initiative. Constitutional amendments proposed by the Legislature 

must be adopted by a two-thirds vote of each house and do not require the Governor's 

signature. An initiative, in turn, requires a majority vote of the people. 


Initiative constitutional amendments must receive valid signatures equal to at least 8% of 

the number of voters who voted in the last gubernatorial election in order to be placed on 

the ballot. 


Statutory Tax Law Enacted by the Voters through a Statutory Initiative. In general, 

an initiative tax statute can only be changed by a vote of the people on another 

statewide ballot. The proposed change in the law may be placed on the ballot by another 

initiative or by a bill enacted by the Legislature. 


Some initiative statutes, however, contain language that allows the Legislature to make 

changes without voter approval. These statutes typically identify the types of changes 

allowed and specify the legislative vote requirement to amend the statute. 


Initiative statutes must receive valid signatures equal to at least 5% of the number of 

voters who voted in the last gubernatorial election in order to be placed on the ballot. 
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5. BILLS WITH STATE MANDATES ON LOCAL AGENCIES 

The California Constitution (California Constitution, Article XIIIB, Section 6) requires 
the state to reimburse local governments for any costs incurred when the state mandates 
local government to provide certain new programs or higher levels of service. The 
Constitution provides that reimbursement is permissible but not required for mandates 
requested by the local agency affected, legislation defining a new crime or changing an 
existing definition of a crime or for mandates enacted before January 1, 1975. 
Reimbursement is not provided if the mandates are self-financing, have offsetting 
savings, require no new duties, or if the new duties result from a ballot measure approved 
by the voters. Government Code Sections 17500-17630 provide procedures for the 
constitutionally required state reimbursement of mandated local costs. 

In addition, statutes require reimbursement to local agencies in the following two cases: 

0 	 Enactment of property tax exemptions or new classifications of exempt 
property (Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2229); or, 

0 	 Enactment of sales and use tax exemptions that cause a new loss of revenue 
(Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2230). 

Constitutional requirements for reimbursement cannot be waived. Statutory requirements 
for reimbursement may be waived by statute, including the statute creating a new 
exemption. 

6. HEARINGS BY LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES 

Bills materially changing the Revenue and Taxation Code (whether by amendment, 
addition or deletion) are generally referred to the Assembly Committee on Revenue and 
Taxation and the Senate Committee on Governance and Finance for policy review. 

Under current legislative rules, tax bills, like other bills, must be referred to the 
Appropriations Committee of each house if they do any of the following: 

0 Appropriate money; 

0 Result in a substantial expenditure of state money by imposing new 
responsibilities on the state, imposing new or additional duties on state 
agencies, or liberalizing any state program, function, or responsibility; 

0 Result in a substantial gain or loss of revenue to the state; or, 

0 Result in a substantial reduction of expenditures by reducing, transferring, or 
eliminating any existing responsibilities of any state agency, program, or 
function. 
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7. EFFECTIVE DATES AND OPERATIVE DATES 

In order to become law, tax bills, like all bills, must be passed by both houses of the 
Legislature and signed by the Governor, allowed to become law without the Governor's 
signature, or passed over the Governor's veto [California Constitution, Article IV, 
Sections 8(b) and lO(a).] 

The effective date of a bill is the date it becomes law. Tax levy bills, urgency bills, bills 
calling for an election, and bills making appropriations for the usual current expenses of 
California go into effect immediately upon enactment [California Constitution, Article 
IV, Section 8(c)(3).] Bills that do not take immediate effect (i.e., bills that are not tax 
levies or urgency measures or that do not call for an election or make an appropriation) 
take effect on January 1 following enactment [California Constitution, Article IV, Section 
8(c)(l).] 

For most tax bills, the effective date of a bill that takes immediate effect is the day the 
statute is chaptered by the Secretary of State. However, unless specified otherwise, 
personal income tax and corporation tax bills apply to taxable years beginning on or after 
the January 1 preceding enactment (Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 17034, 18415, 
and 23058). For example, a bill enacting an income tax credit that is chaptered by the 
Secretary of State during 2010 will apply to taxable years beginning on and after January 
1, 2010, unless otherwise specified. 

Furthermore, bills may specify an operative date that is different from the effective date 
of a bill. For example: 

0 	 Bills amending the Sales and Use Tax Law will often specify as an operative 
date the first day of the first calendar quarter beginning more than 90 days 
after a bill's effective date; 

0 	 Personal income and corporation tax bills sometimes specify an operative date 
beginning in a different taxable year than the one in which the bill is enacted; 
or, 

0 	 Any type of bill (whether or not it is tax-related) may specify another 
operative date. A bill's operative date is sometimes pushed back in time in 
order to delay its revenue impact or to allow both taxpayers and the agency 
charged with administration more time to prepare. 

Bills enacted in special sessions of the Legislature have different rules governing passage 
and effective dates. 
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CHAPTER IC 
RESTRICTIONS ON THE 
TAXING POWER OF THE 
LEGISLATURE 

CHAPTERlC 

RESTRICTIONS ON THE TAXING POWER OF THE LEGISLATURE 

HIGHLIGHTS 

• California Constitutional Restrictions 

• U.S. Constitutional Restrictions 

• State Appropriations Limit 

• Initiative Statutes 

• Tax Increases 

• Governor's Veto 

• Limits on Local Government Taxing Authority 

1. INTRODUCTION 

While the Legislature has broad powers to impose taxes, there are a number of 
restrictions on this power. The U.S. Constitution restricts the Legislature's ability to 
impose taxes. Other factors also constrain the Legislature's ability to impose taxes, as 
described below. 

2. CALIFORNIA CONSTITUTIONAL RESTRICTIONS 

A number of features of California's tax law are established in the California 
Constitution. Modification or repeal of many of these features must be accomplished by 
a constitutional amendment approved by the voters of the state. The major constitutional 
provisions governing the power of taxation are described below. 

General Taxes Not Subject to Referendum. Section 9 of Article II states that statutes 
providing for tax levies or appropriations for the usual current expenses of California are 
not subject to referendum. 

Vehicle License Fees Reserved for Cities and Counties. Section 15 of Article XI 
requires all revenues derived from that portion of the Vehicle License Fee rate that does 
not exceed 0.65% of the fair market value of the vehicle to be allocated to cities and 
counties. 
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Uniform Property Taxation. Section 1 of Article XIII specifies that all property is 
taxable and must be assessed and taxed at full market value. This provision is modified 
by the restrictions upon reassessment contained in Article XIIIA. 

The State May Authorize, But Not Impose, Local Taxes. Section 24 of A1ticle XIII 
specifies that the state may not impose taxes for local purposes, but may authorize local 
governments to impose them. 

Insurers Are Exempt From Most Taxes. Section 28 of Article XIII exempts insurance 
companies or associations from all taxes other than the state insurance gross premiums 
tax, local property taxes, and motor vehicles fees. Only the rate of the gross premiums 
tax may be changed by the Legislature. (See Chapter 3C of this Reference Book for 
more information on the Insurance Gross Premiums Tax.) 

Local Tax Sharing Requires Voter Approval. Section 29 of Article XIII requires any 
agreement to share sales or use tax revenues between local jurisdictions to receive 
majority voter approval. 

Sales Tax for Public Safety. Section 35 of Article XIII, approved by the voters in 
November of 1993, imposes a 1/2 cent sales and use tax statewide with the revenues 
allocated to cities and counties to fund public safety services. 

Sales Tax for Education. Until January 1, 2017, Section 36 of Article XIII, approved by 
the voters in November 2012, imposed a 1/4 cent sales and use tax statewide with the 
revenues allocated to schools and community colleges. 

Property Tax Rate Limited. Section 1 of Article XIIIA (Proposition 13) limits ad 
valorem property tax revenues to 1 % of full cash value. Section 2 of Article XIIIA 
defines full cash value and provides that property shall only be reassessed when it 
changes ownership. No state transaction taxes or real estate taxes may be imposed. 

Vote Requirement for State Taxes. Section 3 of Article XJTJA provides that increases 
in state taxes must be approved by a two-thirds vote of both houses of the Legislature and 
prohibits imposition of new ad valorem property taxes or state transaction taxes. 

Two-Thirds Vote for Local Special Taxes. Section 4 of Article XIIIA requires cities, 
counties, and special districts to receive two-thirds voter approval in order to impose a 
"special" tax (see below). Section 2(d) of Article XIIIC provides that no local 
government may impose, extend, or increase any special tax unless it is approved by a 
two-thirds vote of the electorate. 
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No Gifts of Public Funds. Section 6 of Article XVI prohibits the Legislature from 
making gifts or loans of public moneys. The interpretation of this prohibition constrains 
the Legislature from providing retroactive tax relief. 

Redevelopment Areas. Section 16 of Article XVI specifies that an "increment" of tax 
revenues generated in a redevelopment area shall be allocated to redevelopment 
activities. 

Use of Fuel Tax Revenues. Article XIX requires revenues from fuel taxes to be used for 
specified transportation-related purposes. (See Chapter 3E for more information on Fuel 
Taxes.) 

3. U.S. CONSTITUTIONAL RESTRICTIONS 

Some restrictions in the U.S. Constitution, which California adopted as a condition to 
admittance into the Union, further limit the power of the Legislature to tax. 

For example, the state may not tax the U.S. government or its instrumentalities. The state 
is also prohibited from taxing imports or exports and from imposing taxes that violate 
either the Due Process Clause or the Commerce Clause. 

4. STATE APPROPRIATIONS LIMIT 

The California Constitution (Article XIIIB) imposes an indirect constraint on the level of 
taxation in the state by way of an appropriations limit. 

Under Article XIIIB, most spending by the state from tax proceeds is subject to an annual 
appropriations limit. The limit is expressed as the level of its appropriations in the base 
year (1986-87), with annual adjustments for changes in population and California's cost­
of-living, as defined. Revenues collected that exceed this limit over a two-year period are 
divided between K-14 programs and rebates to taxpayers. 

Proposition 111, approved by the voters in June 1990, substantially modified the 
provisions of the Article XIIIB appropriations limit. See Chapter 5 of this Reference 
Book for a detailed discussion of the existing appropriations limit. 

5. INITIATIVE STATUTES 

Generally, statutory tax law adopted by the voters through the initiative process may not 
be changed by the Legislature. Unless otherwise provided in the initiative statute, laws 
adopted through the initiative process may only be changed by a vote of the people. 
Amendments may be achieved through popular vote on one of the following two types of 
measures: (a) another initiative that is qualified for the ballot by the people, or (b) a bill 
that is passed by the Legislature and subsequently placed on the statewide ballot. 
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Examples of state tax laws adopted by initiative include: 

0 Repeal of the state inheritance tax (Proposition 6 of June 1982); 

0 Requirement to index personal income tax brackets (Proposition 7 of June 
1982); 

0 	 Establishment of the state lottery, and provisions that sales of lottery tickets 
are exempt from state sales taxes and that lottery winnings are exempt from 
state income taxes (Proposition 3 7 ofNovember 1984 ); 

0 	 Increase in cigarette taxes and imposition of tobacco taxes and use of surtax 
revenues for treatment and research of tobacco-related diseases; school and 
community health education programs (Proposition 99 ofNovember 1988); 

0 	 Increase in state motor vehicle fuel taxes (Proposition 111 of June 1990); 

0 	 Increase in cigarette and tobacco taxes and use of funds for early childhood 
development and smoking prevention programs (Proposition 10 of November 
1998); 

0 	 Requirements to use the revenues derived from sales taxes on gasoline 
purchases for transportation purposes instead of depositing the revenues into 
the General Fund (Proposition 42 of March 2002); 

0 	 Imposition of a 1 % surtax on taxable incomes in excess of $1 million and use 
of funds for mental health services (Proposition 63 ofNovember 2004); 

0 	 Requirement for multistate business to utilize a "single sales factor" 
apportionment formula for determining their taxable income in California. 
(Proposition 39 of November 2012). 

Some initiative statutes (e.g., Proposition 99) contain language specifying the types of 
changes the Legislature may make by statute and the vote requirements applicable to 
those changes. 

6. VOTE REQUIREMENTS FORTAX INCREASES 

California is one of 16 states that require super-majority votes of the Legislature on tax 
increases. As noted in Chapter 1 B, any change in state statute that results in any taxpayer 
paying a higher tax must be passed by a two-thirds vote of each house of the Legislature 
(Article XIIIA, Section 3, as amended by Proposition 26, November 2, 201 0). 
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7. GOVERNOR'S VETO 

In order to become law, bills must be passed by both houses of the Legislature and signed 
by the Governor or allowed to become law without the Governor's signature. If the 
Governor vetoes a bill, it may become law if the veto is overridden by a two-thirds vote 
of each house of the Legislature. 

8. LIMITS ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT TAXING AUTHORITY 

Four voter-approved initiatives limit the power of local government to impose taxes for 
local purposes. 

Proposition 13 (California Constitution, Aiiicle XIIIA approved by the voters in 1978) 
limits the ability of local governments to impose special taxes. Under Proposition 13, 
cities, counties, and schools must receive two-thirds voter approval before imposing a 
"special tax". Local jurisdictions are prohibited from imposing property tax rates above 
1 %, except for specified rates for debt service. Proposition 13 did not, however, define 
what constitutes a "special" tax. 

Proposition 26, (California Constitution, Article XIIIA and Article XIIIC approved by 
the voters in 2010) broadens the definition of state and local taxes to include any change 
in state statute that results in any taxpayer paying a higher tax. This proposition also 
imposes an additional requirement for voters to approve local levies and charges with 
limited exceptions. 

Proposition 62, a statutory initiative approved by the voters in 1986, prevents the 
imposition of new general taxes by local agencies without voter approval. However, 
because Proposition 62 was a statutory, rather than a constitutional initiative, it did not 
restrict charter law cities' right to impose general taxes without a vote or prevail over any 
contradictory constitutional provisions. Appellate courts found Proposition 62's voter 
approval requirements for general taxes unconstitutional. In 1995, however, the 
California Supreme Court reversed earlier lower court decisions and found Proposition 
62 constitutional. 

Proposition 218 (California Constitution, Articles XIIIC and XIIID approved by the 
voters in 1996) requires a majority vote of the people in order to approve the imposition 
or increase of a general tax. In addition, it provides that any general tax imposed, 
extended, or increased after January 1, 1995, and before the effective date of Proposition 
218, shall continue to be imposed only if approved by a majority vote of the people. 

It further provides that no local government may impose, extend, or increase any special 
tax unless approved by a two-thirds vote. In addition, it provides that a special tax 
means "any tax imposed for specific purposes, including a tax imposed for specific 
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purposes which is placed into a general fund". Proposition 218 also provides that special 
purpose districts or agencies, including school districts, have no power to levy general 
taxes. 

Proposition 218 established procedures and requirements for all assessments for special 
benefits. No assessment may be imposed on any parcel that exceeds the reasonable cost 
of the proportional special benefit conferred to that parcel. Further, the assessment may 
not be imposed ifthere is a majority protest. In general, a majority protest exists if the 
number of ballots submitted in opposition to the assessment exceed the number of ballots 
submitted in support to the assessment. 

Proposition 218 requires a majority vote of property owners or a two-thirds vote of the 
electorate to impose or increase a property-related fee for any service other than water, 
sewer or refuse collection. It further specifies that no property-related fee may be: 

0 	 Levied to pay for a general governmental service, such as police or fire 
service; 

0 	 Imposed for a service not used by the property owner; or, 

0 	 Used to finance programs unrelated to the property-related services. 

9. LIMITS ON STATE INVOLVEMENT IN LOCAL TAXATION 

Proposition .lA (California Constitution, Articles XI, XIII, and XIIIB, approved by the 
voters in 2004) significantly reduced the state's authority over major local government 
revenue sources and requires the state to reimburse local governments for future revenue 
shifts approved at the state level. Among its many provisions, Proposition IA prohibits 
the state from: 

• 	 Reducing any local sales tax rate; 

• 	 Limiting a local government's authority to levy a sales tax rate; 

• 	 Changing the allocation of local sales tax revenue; 

• 	 Shifting property tax revenues from local governments to schools or community 
colleges, over and above those shifts in effect prior to November 3, 2004; 

• 	 Reducing the property tax revenues provided to cities and counties as part of the 
so-called "triple-flip", an arrangement in which the state shifted property tax 
revenues for sales tax revenues and pledged the sales tax revenue to pay off 
deficit bonds approved by voters in March 2004. 

14 
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Under Proposition IA, any decision by the state to lower the Vehicle License Fee rate 
below the rate in effect on November 3, 2004, must be accompanied by a pledge to 
provide local governments with equal replacement revenues. Additionally, any change in 
how property tax revenues are shared among local governments within a county must be 
approved by two-thirds of both houses of the Legislature (prior law allowed such changes 
to be approved with a majority vote). 

Proposition lA does provide one major exception to its provisions. Beginning in 2008­
09, the state may shift a limited amount ofproperty tax revenue from local governments 
to schools for one fiscal year, provided that (1) the Governor declares that the shift is 
needed due to a severe state financial hardship, (2) the Legislature approves the shift with 
a two-thirds vote of both houses, and (3) the money is repaid with interest within three 
years. Shifts such as the one just described may not be perfonned more than twice during 
any 10 consecutive fiscal years. 

Sales and Property Tax Swap- the "Triple Flip". The Legislature passed the 2003-04 
Budget package with a specific feature to finance the deficit financing bonds. To 
facilitate repayment, sales tax revenues were swapped for prope11y tax revenues. This 
three-step method, known as the "triple flip", contained the following: 

1) 	 Redirecting one-quarter of 1% of the local sales tax revenue to the state to repay the 
deficit reduction bonds. This temporary measure began in fiscal year 2004-05; 

2) 	 Offsetting the loss of local sales tax revenues by redirecting an equal amount of 
property taxes to cities and counties from the Educational Revenue Augmentation 
Fund (ERAF); and 

3) 	 Increasing state education apportionment to replace K-14 revenue losses related to 
redirected ERAF monies. 

The Triple Flip expired on December 31, 2015. Beginning January 1, 2016, cities and 
counties will receive their one-quarter of 1% local sales tax revenue again. 
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CHAPTERlD 

WHERE TO GET INFORMATION ABOUT STATE TAXES 

AGENCY TAX 

Board of Equalization (BOE) 

Check local phone directory 
for district office or call the toll­
free statewide number of 
(800) 400-7115 or log on to 
www.hoe.ca.gov 

California Relay Service (CRS): 711 
(for hearing and speech disabilities) 

Call County Assessor for 
inquiries regarding lo.cal 
property taxes. 

Sales and Use 
Property 
Alcoholic Beverage 
Cigarette 
Emergency Telephone Users 

Surcharge 
Energy Resources Surcharge 
Hazardous Substances 
Insurance 
Motor Vehicle Fuel 
Diesel Fuel 
Use Fuel 
Timber Yield 

Franchise Tax Board (FTB) Personal Income Tax 
Corporation Tax 

(800) 852-5711 
(800) 822-6268 (Hearing Impaired) 
(800) 852-2753 
Or log on to: 
www.ftb.ca.gov 

For calls outside the United States: 
(916) 845-6500 

Taxpayer Advocate 
(916) 845-4300 

17 


http:www.hoe.ca.gov


CHAPTER lD 
WHERE TO GET INFORMA­
TION ABOUT STATE TAXES 

AGENCY TAX 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Motor Vehicle Fees: 
Vehicle License Fee (VLF), 

(800) 777-0133 Registration, and Weight 
Or log on to: Use Tax on Vehicles 
www.dmv. ca.gov 

Department of Insurance 

(800) 927-4357 Insurance: Gross Premiums Tax 
Los Angeles Area (213) 897-8921 

(916) 325-3800 or log on to: California Earthquake Authority 
www.msurance.ca.gov 

Employment Development Department (EDD) Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
Employment Training Tax (ETT) 

For employment tax information, log on State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
to EDD's Web site at www.edd.ca.gov Personal Income Tax (PIT) Withholding 
or contact: 

Taxpayer Assistance Center 
(888) 745-3886 

State Controller's Office Estate Tax 

For Estate Tax information, log on to: 
\VWW.sco.ca.gov 

Registry of Charitable Trusts Charities 
Charitable Trusts 

(916) 445-2021 (not a toll-free number) Public Benefit Corporations 

Office of Attorney General - Charitable Trusts 
Public Inquiry Unit: (916) 322-3360 

(for copies of publications) 
http://caag.state.ca. us/charities 
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CHAPTER2A 


INTRODUCTION TO THE 

PERSONAL INCOME TAX, 


CORPORATION TAX, 

AND SALES AND USE TAX 


The personal income tax, corporation tax, and sales and use tax are the "Big Three" of California 
taxes for several reasons. First, they are the largest sources of revenue. Together, they are 
forecast to raise $115.3 billion in fiscal year (FY) 2015-16 (97.0% of all General Fund revenues) 
and $120.l billion in FY 2016-17 (97.2% of all General Fund revenues). (Source: 2016-17 
Enacted Governors' Budget Summary- Figure SUM-04.) 

Secondly, they are more complex than most of the other taxes. The personal income tax, for 
instance, has five different filing statuses, nine different tax brackets in each filing status, and 
dozens of different tax credits and itemized deductions. 

Thirdly, these three taxes have the greatest impact on California taxpayers. Nearly all 
Californians pay the sales tax, and the Franchise Tax Board (FIB) currently receives about 16.4 
million income tax returns each year, most of which report a tax liability. Nearly all of 
California businesses pay some form of the corporation tax. 

The following chapters, therefore, devote many pages to these three taxes. The unitary method 
of taxation for multi state and multinational corporations, formally known as Uniform Division of 
Income for Tax Purposes Act (UDITP A), is among the most complicated of all provisions of 
California tax law and is also discussed. The remaining chapters are devoted to the other 
California taxes. 

Readers may obtain additional information on these taxes by calling the various administrative 
agencies - the FIB, the State Board of Equalization (BOE), and the Employment Development 
Department (EDD). 
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CHAPTER2B 

PERSONAL INCOME TAX 

• 	 Tax Rates 

• 	 Number of Filers* 

• 	 Threshold of Taxation* 
(Gross income) 

• 	 Revenue* * 

• Administration 

*Source: FTB 

HIGHLIGHTS 

1.00% - 12.30%; brackets are indexed 
annually for inflation. 

Over 17 .3 million returns filed in 2014 

(most recent year for which this information 

is available). 


$16,256 for single taxpayers with no 

dependents. 

$32,514 for married taxpayers with no 

dependents. 


2014-15 (Actual) $75.3 billion 

2015-16 (Actual) $81.3 billion 


66% of total General Fund revenues. 
2015-16 

Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 

**From the Governor's 2015-16 Enacted Budget, Figure SUM-05 General Fund Revenue 
Sources-Proposed Budget Summary 

1. WHO PAYS THE PERSONAL INCOME TAX 


Individuals who are residents of California are liable for the personal income tax on 
income derived from all sources. Nonresidents of this state must pay income tax on 
income derived from sources within California. However, nonresidents are generally 
allowed a credit against their California tax for taxes they pay to their state of residence 
on the same income. 

In addition to individuals, partnerships, limited liability companies, estates, and trusts are 
taxed under the "Personal Income Tax Law". 
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PERSONAL INCOME TAX COMPONENTS 

Federal Income From All Sources 

Minus Exempt Income (examples): Nontaxable Social Security and Railroad Retirement; Insurance Proceeds; Bequests and 
Gifts; Public Assistance; IRA and Keogh Interest; Interest on Certain State and Municipal Government Obligations; Scholarships 
and Fellowships, Student Loan Forgiveness, Grants Rebates and other financial incentives received for seismic improvements 

Equals Total Gross Income: Salaries and Wages; Taxable Interest; Dividends; Taxable State and Local Income Tax Refunds; 
Alimony Received; Business Income or Loss; Capital Gain or Loss; Other Gains or Losses; Taxable IRA Distributions; Taxable 
Pensions and Annuities; Income or Loss from Rental Real Estate, Royalties, Paiincrships, S Corporations, Estates, Trusts, 
REMICS, etc.; Farm Income or Loss; Unemployment Compensation; Taxable Social Security Benefits; Other Income; Gambling 
Winnings including Lotteries and Raffles 

Minus Adjustments to Income: IRA Deductions; One-Half of Self-Employment Tax; Self-Employed Health Insurance 
Deduction: Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and Qualified Plans; Penalty on Early Withdrawal of Savings; Alimony Paid; Moving 
Expense; Student Loan Interest Deductions; MSA Deductions; HSA Deductions; Educator Expenses; Tuition and Fees 
Deduction; Domestic Production Activities Deduction; Certain Business Expenses of Reservists, Performing Artists, and Fee-
basis Government Officials 

Equals Federal Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) 

Minus Federal/State Differences: State Income Tax Refund; Unemployment Compensation; Taxable Social Security Benefits; 
Nontaxable Federal Interest and Dividend Income; Railroad Retirement and Sick-Pay; California Lottery Winnings; Earnings and 
Per Capita Payments of American Indian Tribal Members Living in Indian Country Affiliated with their Tribe; In-Home 
Supportive Services Supplementary Payments; Paid Family Leave Benefits; California National Guard Death Benefits; 
Differences in Clergy Housing Allowance; IRA Distributions - Basis Recovery of IRAs, Differences in Pensions and Annuities; 
Differences in Passive Activities; Differences in Depreciation and Amortization; Differences in Small Business Expensing 
Deduction; Differences in Capital Gain or Loss; Differences in Other Gain or Loss; Differences in Net Operating Losses; 
Differences in Alimony Paid; Differences in Ridesharing Fringe Benefits; Differences in HSA Distributions for Unqualified 
Medical Expenses 

Plus Federal/State Differences: Interest on State or Municipal Bonds From Other States; Differences in Passive Activities; 
Differences in Depreciation and Amortization; Differences in Small Business Expensing Deduction; Differences in IRA 
Deduction; Differences in Student Loan Interest Deduction; HSA Deductions; Income Exempted by U.S. Treaty; Differences in 
Clergy Housing Allowance; Educator Expenses; Tuition and Fees Deduction; Differences in Capital Gain or Loss; Differences in 
Other Gain or Loss; Differences in Net Operating Losses; Domestic Production Activities Deduction; Differences in Certain 
Business Expenses of Reservists, Performing Artists, and Fee-basis Government Officials; Differences in Alimony Received; 
Differences in Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief 

Equals California Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) 

Minus Deductions: California Standard Deduction or Federal Itemized Deductions; Adjusted for Federal/State Differences; 
Differences in Medical and Dental Expenses; State, Local and Foreign Income Taxes or General Sales Tax; Interest Paid; 
Contributions; Casualty and Theft Loss; Employee Business Expense; Federal Estate Ta"X; Generation Skipping Tax; Private 
Mortgage Insurance; Miscellaneous Deductions 

Equals California Taxable Income 

Multiplied bv Applicable Marginal Tax Rates 

Minus Tax Credits (credits are allowable only after applicable limitations based on the tentative minimum tax): Exemption for 
Personal, Blind, Senior and Dependent; Senior Head of Household; Dependent Parent; Child Adoption; Prison Inmate Labor; 
Enterprise Zone Employee; Joint Custody Head of Household; Low-Income Housing; Enterprise Zone Hiring and Sales Tax; 
Research; Other States Taxes; Employer Child Care Program and Contribution: Prior year Alternative Minimum Tax; Local Area 
Military Base Recovery Area; Manufacturing Enhancement Area; Targeted Tax Area; Natural Heritage Preservation; 
Environmental Tax Credit; Nonrefondable Renter's Credit; Disabled Access for Small Business; Enhanced Oil Recovery; 
Transportation of Donated Agricultural Products; Community Development Qualified Deposit; Carryovers from Repealed 
Credits; New Jobs; Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit; fresh fruits and Vegetables Credit; California Competes Credit, 
California Motion Picture and Television Production Credit; College Access Credit; New Employment Credit, Earned Income 
Tax Credit 

Plus Other Taxes: Alternative Minimum Tax; Tax on Early Use of IRA, Keogh or Annuity Contract; Tax on Accumulation 
Distributions ofTrusts; Lump-Sum Distribution; Recapture Taxes; Use Tax; Mental Health Services Tax 

Equals Total Tax Liability 
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PERSONAL INCOME TAX COMPONENTS (Continued) 

Minus Payments and Refundable Credits: Income Tax Withholding; Estimated Tax; Payment with Extensions; Excess SDI or 
VPDI; Overpayment Applied from Prior Year; Real Estate or Other Withholdings 

Plus Voluntary Contributions 

Equals Overpayment or Balance Due 

Source: Franchise Tax Board 

2. CALCULATION OF THE PERSONAL INCOME TAX 

Taxpayers must compute their tax liability based on income earned during the year, 
usually the calendar year. Generally, taxpayers must add up all sources of nonexempt 
income and subtract the adjustments and deductions to which they are entitled to 
calculate "taxable income". They then apply the appropriate tax rate to their taxable 
income to arrive at a preliminary tax liability. After calculating their preliminary tax 
liability, taxpayers may then apply tax credits, which reduce liability (i.e., every $1 in tax 
credits reduces a taxpayer's tax liability by $1). In most cases, the tax liability remaining 
after tax credits are applied is the actual tax liability. However, a few taxpayers are liable 
for additional taxes under special circumstances. 

The chart on the preceding page illustrates the steps involved in calculating final tax 
liability. As the chart shows, the income that is actually subject to tax is much smaller 
than a taxpayer's total income earned or received. 

3. RELATIONSHIP OF STATE AND FEDERAL TAX FORMS 

California's tax law largely conforms to federal income tax law. This allows substantial 
simplicity for state tax forms. Today, a majority of the steps in computing income 
subject to tax are done on federal Forms 1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ. California Form 540 
starts with federal adjusted gross income (AGI), then requires taxpayers to make 
adjustments to reflect differences in state law, apply state tax credits, and compute state 
tax. 

A second state form, without a comparable federal form, offers taxpayers a different, 
simplified method of calculating their taxes. Beginning with the 1999 tax year, Form 540 
2EZ replaced Form 540 EZ. Form 540 2EZ begins with the taxpayer's total wages. 
However, the tax tables that accompany Form 540 2EZ already include the standard 
deduction and personal and dependent exemption credits, thereby simplifying the 
calculation processes required for other state forms. 

In addition to the state fonns available on the FTB Web site, California also offers 
CalFile, an online service that offers free, direct to the government e-filing of the tax 
return. Similarly, the IRS offers the freefile program. 
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4. TAXABLE AND NONTAXABLE INCOME 

For purposes of the personal income tax, income is measured or defined in four important 
stages: (a) Calculation of exempt income; (b) Gross income; (c) AGI; and (d) Taxable 
income (Tl). 

The major sources of income that are taken into account in computing tax liability 
include the following: 

0 	 Gross Income. Gross income is the starting point for calculating tax on the 
federal return. Gross income includes income from all sources, unless 
otherwise exempt. Income that must be included in gross income for both 
state and federal purposes includes salaries, wages, commissions, tips, 
alimony received, dividends, interest earnings, annuities, pensions, net gains 
from the sale of capital assets, net partnership and proprietorship income, net 
farm income, and others. Losses from capital assets, partnerships, 
proprietorships may be limited. 

For some items, the amount of income entered on the tax return may be a negative 
number if the taxpayer has incurred a loss. 

0 	 Exempt Income. Certain types of income are exempt from tax. In many 
cases, taxpayers are not required to report this income on their tax return. 
Some of these items are exempt in California but are taxable for federal 
purposes. The most common income items that are taxable on the federal 
return and exempt on the state return are California lottery winnings, a portion 
of Social Security and Railroad Retirement benefits, unemployment 
compensation, and interest from U.S. Savings Bonds and Treasury Bills. 
Since California uses federal income as the starting figure, these items must 
be subtracted from federal income before calculating California tax. 

0 	 Adjusted Gross Income. After totaling all items included in gross income, 
certain deductions are allowed to compute AGL These "adjustments" include 
payments into certain retirement plans (IRAs, Keogh plans, self-employed 
plans, etc.), alimony paid, penalties paid on early withdrawal of savings, and 
the employer portion of Social Security that is paid by the self-employed (i.e., 
the self-employment tax). The remaining amount is AGL 

0 Taxable Income. Either the standard deduction or itemized deductions may 
further reduce AGL These are described below. The remaining amount is 
taxable income. Tax rates are applied to this amount in order to compute tax 
owed before credits. 
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5. DEDUCTIONS FROM ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME (AGI) 

All taxpayers are allowed to deduct certain amounts from AGL Most deductions are 
intended to reduce the amount of income subject to tax to reflect certain living costs 
incurred by all taxpayers. The rationale behind deductions is that these living costs affect 
taxpayers' ability to pay. 

The value of a deduction to a taxpayer (i.e., the amount by which the deduction reduces 
the taxpayer's tax liability) generally may be estimated by multiplying the deduction by 
the taxpayer's highest marginal tax rate (see Section 8 of this chapter for a discussion of 
marginal rates). For example, the approximate state tax savings to a person in the top tax 
bracket (12.30%) who deducts a $100 expense is $12.30 ($100 expense times the 12.30% 
tax rate). 

A taxpayer may reduce his or her AGI by the larger of either the standard deduction or 
the total of his or her allowed itemized deductions. 

Standard Deduction. The standard deduction is a fixed dollar amount intended to 
approximate deductible living expenses. For the 2015 taxable year, the standard 
deduction amounts under California law are as follows: 

Single and Married/Registered Domestic Partner (RDP) 
Filing Separately $4,044 

Married/RDP Filing Jointly, Qualifying Widow( er), 
and Head of Household $8,088 

These amounts are indexed annually for inflation. 

Standard deduction amounts under federal law are different from those in California law. 
In 2015, federal amounts are as follows: 

Single $ 6,300 

Married/RDP Filing Jointly or Qualifying Widow( er) $12,600 

Head of Household $ 9,250 

Married/RDP Filing Separately $ 6,300 

Federal law also allows taxpayers to increase their standard deductions if they have 
dependents, are over age 65, and/or blind. 
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Unlike federal law, California does not allow larger standard deductions for taxpayers 
that have dependents and/or are over age 65 and/or blind. Instead, state law provides 
exemption credits (see Section 7). 

Itemized Deductions. As an alternative to the standard deduction, both state and federal 
law allow various specific expenses (called itemized deductions) to be deducted from 
AGL The major itemized deductions permitted include the following: 

0 	 Home mortgage interest on first and second homes, subject to certain limits; 

0 	 Property taxes; 

0 	 Charitable contributions up to an annual cap. Amounts above the cap may be 
carried over and deducted in subsequent years; 

0 	 Unreimbursed medical expenses in excess of7.5% of AGI; 

0 	 Unreimbursed casualty and theft losses of over $100. However, only losses in 
excess of 10% of AGI may be deducted; and 

0 	 Certain miscellaneous expenses in excess of 2% of AGL Examples of 
deductible miscellaneous expenses include union dues, unifom1s, job-related 
educational expenses, tax return preparation fees, safe deposit box costs, and 
unreimbursed business expenses. 

California's rules on itemized deductions are very similar to federal rules. The major 
difference is that federal law allows an itemized deduction for state income taxes paid, 
whereas California law does not. 

State limits itemized deductions for high-income filers. For 2015, the California phase­
out affects single filers with AGIs in excess of $178, 706, joint filers with AG Is in excess 
of $357,417, and head of household filers with AG Is in excess of $268,063 . 

Exemptions. In addition to a11owing taxpayers a choice of claiming either the standard 
deduction or itemizing deductions, federal law also allows taxpayers to claim personal 
and dependent exemptions. The 2015 federal exemption amount equals $4,000. Starting 
with tax year 2011, taxpayers no longer lose part of their deduction for personal and 
dependent exemptions, regardless of the amount of the taxpayer's AGL 

The federal exemptions are phased out for single filers with AGis in excess of $380,750, 
joint filers with AGis in excess of $432,400 and head of household filers with AGis in 
excess of $406,550. 
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6. 	 FILING STATUS 

Taxpayers must file using one of five filing statuses: (a) Single; (b) Married Filing 
Separately; ( c) Married Filing Jointly; ( d) Head of Household; or ( e) Qualifying 
Widow( er). 

Filing status affects tax liability because it determines which tax rate schedules and 
personal exemption credits a taxpayer may claim on his or her return. 

A head of household is generally a person who is not married at the end of the taxable 
year and who has a child or other relative living with him or her for more than half the 
year. 

A taxpayer qualifies to file as a qualifying widow( er) ifhe or she is a widow( er) who 
remains unmarried and maintains a dependent in the home. The taxpayer may file as a 
qualifying widow( er) for the two tax years following the tax year in which the taxpayer's 
spouse dies. In the year the spouse dies, the taxpayer must file a joint return. The 
qualifying widow( er) filing status generally permits the use of tax rates, deductions, and 
credits similar to those used by joint filers. 

In general, California taxpayers must use the same filing status on their state returns as 
they use on their federal returns. In certain situations where one spouse is in the military 
or a nonresident, or the taxpayers are RDPs, California permits a filing status different 
from the filing status claimed on the taxpayer's federal return. A taxpayer might choose 
different filing statuses at the state and federal level if he or she could lower his or her tax 
liability by doing so. Effective for tax years beginning in 2007, taxpayers registered with 
the Secretary of State as RDPs are required to use a filing status of either married/RDP 
filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately for California purposes, regardless of their 
federal filing status. [SB 1827 (Migden), Chapter 802, Statutes of 2006; and SB 105 
(Migden), Chapter 426, Statutes of 2007.] 

7. 	 PERSONAL, DEPENDENT, SENIOR, AND BLIND EXEMPTION 
CREDITS 

California taxpayers are entitled to personal and dependent exemption credits in addition 
to their deductions. These exemption credits are intended to shelter a minimum amount 
of income of each person in the household from tax. The federal government offers 
similar tax relief through the personal/dependent exemptions and increased standard 
deductions for certain qualifying individuals. 

The personal exemption credit can be claimed by all taxpayers, except those who can be 
claimed as a dependent on another person's return. An example would be a college 
student who earns enough income to file his or her own tax return, but who is also 
eligible to be claimed as dependent on his or her parents' return. 
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A dependent exemption credit may be claimed for any relative of the taxpayer (child, 
stepchild, parent, stepparent, sibling, etc.) whom the taxpayer supports for over half of 
the calendar year. A non-relative who lives in the taxpayer's home and is supported by 
the taxpayer can also be claimed as a dependent. 

An additional exemption credit can be claimed for any person in a household who is 
blind or age 65 or older on the last day of the taxable year. A person who is both blind 
and a senior is eligible for two additional exemption credits in addition to the personal or 
dependent exemption credit. 

The 2015 personal, dependent, senior and blind exemption credits are as follows: 

Single, Head of Household and 
Married/RDP Filing Separately $109 

Married/RDP Filing Jointly and Qualifying Widow( er) $218 

Each Dependent $337 

Additional Credit for Person Over Age 65 $109 

Additional Credit for Blind Person $109 

These credits are indexed for inflation annually. 

State exemption credits are phased out for taxpayers with federal AGis that exceed a 
threshold amount. The threshold amounts for 2015 are $357,417 [married/RDP filing 
jointly and qualifying widow( er)], $268,063 (head of household), and $178,706 (single 
and married/RDP filing separately). Like the exemption credits, the phase-out threshold 
amounts are indexed for inflation annually. 

For state tax purposes, when a taxpayer reaches the phase-out threshold, he or she is 
required to reduce his or her credits by $6 (if a single taxpayer, head ofhousehold, or 
married/RDP filing separately) or $12 [if married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying 
widow( er)] for each $2,500 ($1,250 if married filing separate) by which that taxpayer's 
AGI exceeds the threshold amount. For example, a married/RDP couple with two 
dependents would have their total exemption credits reduced by $24 (12 + 6 + 6) for each 
$2,500 by which their AGI exceeded the threshold amount. 

8. TAX RATES AND BRACKETS 

Proposition 30 increased California income tax rates effective January 1, 2012, for 
taxpayers with taxable income of more than $250,000 for single/RDP filers, $500,000 for 
joint filers, and 340,000 for head of household filers. 
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California's maximum marginal rate is 12.3% for taxable years beginning on January 1, 
2012 and ending on December 31, 2018. 

Proposition 63, approved by the voters in November 2004, adds a 1 % surtax on that 
portion of a taxpayer's taxable income in excess of $1 million, effective for tax years 
beginning on January 1, 2005 . Revenues of $1.2 billion are estimated for the 2013-14 
fiscal year. Annual revenues of $1.56 billion for 2014-15, and $1.52 billion for 2015-16 
are projected. Approximately 56,291 tax returns were liable for the surcharge for the 
2012 taxable year. 

Revenue generated by the Proposition 63 tax surcharge is used to expand existing county 
mental health programs and create new programs. 

California law provides for nine (9) progressive marginal tax rates applied to taxable 
income: 1.00%, 2.00%, 4.00%, 6.00%, 8.00%, 9.30%, 10.30%, 11.30%, and 12.30%. 
The term "marginal tax rate" refers to the rate applied to the last (or highest) dollar of 
taxable income. Additionally, as noted above, for tax years beginning on or after January 
1, 2005 , a 1% surtax is imposed on taxable income in excess of $1 million. 

Under a system ofprogressive marginal tax rates (or "brackets"), each additional 
increment of income a person earns is subject to a higher tax rate. For example, the first 
increment of income is taxed at a rate of 1.00%, the second (next greater) increment is 
taxed at a rate of 2.00%, the third increment is taxed at a rate of 4.00%, and so on. The 
principle behind progressive marginal tax rates is that people with more income have a 
greater ability to pay taxes than those with lower incomes. 

The California tax rates and income brackets that apply for the 2015 year are shown in 
Table 2 on the next page. Note that each filing status has the same rates of tax but the 
amounts of income included in each respective bracket are different. Table 2 shows that 
in 2015, the maximum tax rate of 12.30% applied to single taxpayers with taxable 
incomes of $500,000 or more and to married taxpayers with taxable incomes of 
$1 ,000,000 or more. The income brackets are indexed annually for inflation (see Section 
10 of this chapter). 
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TABLE2 


CALIFORNIA TAX RATES FOR 2015 

IF TAXABLE INCOME IS : 


Over: But Not Over: The Tax Amount is: 


Single Person or Married/RDP Filing Separate - Schedule X 


$0 $7,850 
$7,850 $18,610 
$18,610 $29,372 
$29,372 $40,773 
$40,773 $51,530 
$51 ,530 $263,222 
$263,222 $315,866 
$315,866 $526,443 
$526,443 and over 

1.00% of the amount over $0 
$78.50 plus 2% of the amount over $7,850 
$293.70 plus 4% of the amount over $18,610 
$724.18 plus 6% of the amount over $29,372 
$1 ,408.24 plus 8% of the amount over $40,733 
$2,268.80 plus 9.30% of the amount over $51,530 
$21 ,956.16 plus 10.30% of the amount over $263,222 
$27,378.49 plus 11.30% of the amount over $315,866 
$51,173.69 plus 12.30% of the amount over $526,443 

Married/RDP Filing Joint or Qualifying Widow( er) with Dependent Child - Schedule Y 

$0 $15,700 
$15,700 $37,220 
$37,220 $58,744 
$58,744 $81 ,546 
$81,546 $103 ,060 
$103,060 $526,444 
$526,444 $631 ,732 
$631,732 $1,052,886 
$1,052,886 No limit 

1.00% of amount over $0 
$157.00 plus 2.00% of amount over $15,700 
$587.40 plus 4.00% of amount over $37,220 
$1,448.36 plus 6.00% of amount over $58,744 
$2,816.48 plus 8.00% of amount over $81,546 
$4,537.60 plus 9.30% of amount over $103,060 
$43,912.31plus10.30% of amount over $526,444 
$54, 756.97 plus 11.30% of amount over $631, 732 
$102,347.37 plus 12.30% of amount over $1,052,886 

Head of Household - Schedule Z 

$0 $15,710 plus 
$15,710 $37,221 
$37,221 $47,982 
$47,982 $59,383 
$59,383 $70,142 
$70,142 $357,981 
$357,981 $429,578 
$429,578 $715,962 
$715,962 No Limit 

1.00% of the amount over $0 
$157.10 plus 2.00% of the amount over $15,710 
$587.32 plus 4.00% of the amount over $37,221 
$1,017.76 plus 6.00% of the amount over $47,982 
$1,701.82 plus 8.00% of the amount over $59,383 
$2,562.54 plus 9.30% of the amount over $70,142 
$29,331.57 plus 10.30% of the amount over $357,981 
$36,706.06 plus 11.30% of the amount over$429,578 
$69,067.45 plus 12.30% of the amount over $715,962 
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TABLE3 

FEDERAL TAX RATES FOR 2015 


IF TAXABLE INCOME IS: 

Over: But Not Over: 

Single Person - Schedule X: 

$0 to $9,225 
$9,226 $37,450 
$37,450 $90,750 
$90,750 $189,300 
$189,300 $411,500 
$411,500 $413,200 
$413,200 No Limit 

The Tax Amount is: 

10% of amount over $0 
$922.50 plus 15% of the amount over $9,225 
$5,156.25 plus 25% of the amount over $37,450 
$18,481.25 plus 28% of the amount over $90,750 
$46,075.25 plus 33% of the amount over $189,300 
$119,401.25 plus 35% of the amount over 411,500 
$119,996.25 plus 39.6% of the amount over $413,200 

Married/RDP Filing Joint or Qualifying Widow(er) - Schedule Y-1: 

$0 $18,450 
$18,450 $74,900 
$74,900 $151 ,200 
$151,200 $230,450 
$230,450 $411,500 
$411,500 $464,850 
$464,850 No Limit 

10% of the amount over $0 
$1 ,845.00 plus 15% of the amount over $18,450 
$10,312.50 plus 25% of the amount over $74,900 
$29,387.50 plus 28% of the amount over $151 ,200 
$51,577.50 plus 33% of the amount over $230,450 
$111 ,324.00 plus 35% of the amount over $411,500 
$129,996.50 plus 39.6% of the amount over $464,850 

Married/RDP Filing Separately - Schedule Y-2: 

0 $9,225 
$9,226 $37,450 
$37,450 $75,600 
$75,600 $115,225 
$115,225 $205,750 
$205,750 $232,425 
$232,425 No Limit 

10% of the amount over $0 
$922.50 plus 15% of the amount over $9,225 
$5 ,156.25 plus 25% of the amount over $37,450 
$14,693.75 plus 28% of the amount over $75,600 
$25,788.75 plus 33% of the amount over $115,225 
$55,662.00 plus 35% of the amount over $205,750 
$64,998.25 plus 39.6% of the amount over $232,425 
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TABLE 3 (Continued) 

FEDERAL TAX RA TES FOR 2015 

IF TAXABLE INCOME IS : 


Over: But Not Over: The Tax Amount is: 


Head of Household - Schedule Z: 

$0 $13,150 10% of the amount over $0 
$13, 150 $50,200 $1,315.00 plus 15% ofthe amount over $13,150 
$50,200 $129,600 $6,872.50 plus 25% of the amount over $50,200 
$129,600 $209,850 $26,772.50 plus 28% of the amount over $129,600 
$209,850 $411,500 $49,192.50 plus 33% of the amount over $209,850 
$411,500 $439,000 $115,737.00 plus 35% of the amount over $411,500 
$439,000 No Limit $125,362.00 plus 39.6% of the amount over $439,000 

9. INDEXING 

Many components of the Personal Income Tax Law used to calculate tax liability are 
modified annually to adjust for inflation using a method called indexing. For example, 
income brackets, exemption credits, the standard deduction, the joint custody head of 
household credit, and many of the phase-out limits in the Personal Income Tax Law are 
indexed annually. Indexing is intended to prevent taxpayers from being pushed into 
higher marginal tax brackets by increases in income that just keep pace with inflation, 
while the taxpayers' real buying power is not increasing. 

The indexing adjustment equals the percentage difference between the California 
Consumer Price Index (CCPI) in June of the current year and June of the prior year. 
Each dollar value to be indexed is multiplied annually by this percentage change. 

Indexing is illustrated below using one of the most important components of the personal 
income tax - brackets. As noted above, annual indexing of income within the tax 
brackets is intended to keep a taxpayer in the same bracket, as long as his or her income 
increases no faster than the CCPI. For example, the effect of indexing on two 
hypothetical taxpayers would be as follows: 

0 A taxpayer who gets a cost-of-living wage increase exactly equal to inflation 
will have more income in dollars but will have the same buying power as is in 
the previous year. Without indexing, the taxpayer's increased income might 
bump him or her into a higher marginal tax bracket, causing the taxpayer to 
owe additional income tax reflecting a higher tax rate as well as increased 
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income. Indexing keeps the taxpayer's tax rate at the same level as the prior 
year, since the taxpayer's buying power remains the same. 

0 A taxpayer on a fixed income loses buying power in inflationary times. 
Without indexing, the taxpayer's tax liability would remain the same, even 
though the taxpayer's income was worth less in each succeeding year. 

Indexing of the tax rate brackets lowers the taxpayer's tax liability, consistent 
with the taxpayer's decline in buying power. 

Federal law began indexing tax rate brackets in 1985 and the standard deduction in 1989. 
The federal indexing measure differs from California through use of the U.S. Consumer 
Price Index and a different 12-month period (August to August). 

10. TAX CREDITS 

Tax credits reduce tax liability on a dollar-for-dollar basis (i.e., $1 in tax credits reduces a 
taxpayer's tax liability by $1 ). After the taxpayer computes tax due for his or her taxable 
income, he or she subtracts the credits to which he or she is entitled, thereby reducing the 
amount of tax due. Thus, credits have a greater impact than deductions, whose value in 
reducing tax liability (as discussed in Section 5 of this chapter) equals the amount of the 
deduction times the tax rate. Most state tax credits are not refundable if they exceed total 
tax due. However, in some cases credits that exceed tax liability may be carried forward 
and claimed against a taxpayer's future years' taxes. 

Credits are usually provided to give tax relief to people who incur certain non­
discretionary costs, have limited ability to pay taxes, or to provide incentives to people to 
engage in certain activities that are socially or economically desirable. Tax reform 
legislation enacted in 1987 placed sunset dates (i.e., automatic repeal) on many credits in 
the Personal Income Tax Law in order to give the Legislature an opportunity to evaluate 
their impact. 

The amount of the tax credits allowable in any taxable year may be limited by the 
taxpayer's alternative minimum tax liability or by tentative minimum tax (see Section 14 
of this chapter for further information). 

Some of the tax credits allowed in state law are similar to credits offered in federal law. 
However, in most cases the federal credits are larger. 

The most significant credits allowed in state law are described below. The credits are 
available to both full-time and part-time California residents, as well as to nonresidents 
with California-source income. California residents are entitled to the full value of each 
credit, as long as they meet all of the eligibility criteria for the credits. Nonresidents and 
part-year residents are required to prorate the amount of each credit claimed using rules 
specified in statute. 
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Renter's Credit. The Legislature enacted a "renter's credit" in 1972. In the first 20 years 
following its inception, both the value of the credit and the income eligibility rules 
applied to taxpayers that claimed the credit varied, but the credit was always available. 
However, the renter's tax credit was suspended when California experienced severe 
economic pressures in the early 1990s. As part of budget agreements, the credit was not 
available during the five-year period corresponding to the 1993 through 1997 taxable 
years. The Legislature reinstated the renter's credit effective January 1, 1998. 

Historically, the renter's tax credit was also refundable. However, as reinstated, the 
renter's credit is nonrefundable and is subject to income phase-outs. For 2015, 
married/RDP taxpayers filing jointly, heads of household, and qualifying widow( er) with 
AGis of$76,518 or less may claim a credit of $120. Single taxpayers and married/RDP 
taxpayers filing separately with AG Is of $38,259 or less may claim a credit of $60. See 
Chapter 6E (Renter's Credit) for more information. 

There is no similar credit in federal law. 

Senior Head of Household Credit. Taxpayers who are 65 years of age or older on 
December 31st of the current tax year, qualified as head of household during either the 
previous two tax years by providing a household for a qualifying individual who died 
during one of the previous two tax years, and whose AGI for 2015 is $69,902 or less, 
may claim a credit equal to 2% of taxable income. For 2015, the maximum allowable 
credit is $1,317. The AGI cap and maximum allowable credit are indexed annually for 
inflation. 

There is no similar credit in federal law. 

Joint Custody Head of Household Credit. Taxpayers who qualify as joint custody 
heads ofhousehold may claim a state tax credit that offsets a portion of their tax liability. 
To qualify, the taxpayer must: (a) be unmarried at the end of the year; (b) have custody 
of a dependent under a custody agreement for between 146 and 219 days of the year; and 
(c) furnish over half of all household expenses. The credit is 30% of the net tax, not to 
exceed $431 for the 2015 tax year. The maximum available credit is indexed for inflation 
annually. The purpose of this credit is to allow divorced couples who share custody of a 
child to share the benefits of the head ofhousehold filing status. A similar credit is 
available to separated married persons who support a dependent parent. 

There is no similar credit in federal law. 

Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States. In order to avoid double taxation, California 
residents are generally allowed a credit for income taxes paid to another state on income 
that is also taxed by California. The credit may not exceed the tax California would have 
imposed on the income taxed by such other state. If the other state taxes this income at a 
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lower rate than California, this credit has the effect of allowing California to tax only a 
portion of the income taxed by the other state. 

Excess Employee's State Disability Insurance (SDI) Credit. Employees who work for 
more than one employer and who earned over $104,3 78 during the 2015 tax year may 
have paid more than the maximum State Disability Insurance through over-withholding. 
The excess may be recovered by claiming a credit against the California personal income 
tax on Form 540 tax return. 

Child Adoption Cost Credit. This credit is equal to 50% of the costs of adopting a 
minor child who is a citizen or legal resident of the United States and is in the custody of 
a California public agency or a political subdivision of California. The credit can be 
claimed in the taxable year in which the decree or order of adoption is entered, even 
though qualifying costs paid or incurred in prior years may qualify for the credit. Costs 
eligible for the credit include: (a) fees for required services of either the Department of 
Social Services or a licensed adoption agency; (b) travel and related expenses for the 
adoptive family that are directly related to the adoption process; and ( c) medical fees and 
expenses that are not reimbursed by insurance and are directly related to the adoption 
process. The maximum allowable credit cannot exceed $2,500 per minor child. This 
credit may be carried over and is allowed for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 1994. 

Federal tax law also offers a child adoption cost credit. Taxpayers may claim a credit of 
up to $13,400 for the qualified adoption expenses of each eligible child. Phase-out of the 
federal credit begins for taxpayers with modified AGis of more than $201,010; the 
federal credit is completely phased out for taxpayers with modified AG Is of $241,010 or 
more for the 2015 tax year. The limitation on eligible expenses and phase-out incomes 
are increased for inflation annually. Qualified adoption expenses include reasonable and 
necessary adoption fees, court costs, attorney fees, and other expenses directly related to 
the legal adoption of an eligible child. For years beginning after 2011, the federal credit 
is no longer refundable. 

Child and Dependent Care Credit. Beginning with the 2000 taxable year, taxpayers 
that maintain a household within the state for a qualifying individual may claim the child 
and dependent care credit for employment-related expenses. The state credit supplements 
a similar federal household and dependent care credit. 

As defined by the federal law, a qualifying individual is a dependent of the taxpayer that 
is under the age of 13 or a dependent or spouse who is physically or mentally unable to 
care for himself or herself. Employment-related expenses are defined as those incurred to 
enable the taxpayer to obtain or retain gainful employment. 

The federal credit, which can be applied to a maximum of $3,000 in expenses for one 
dependent and $6,000 in expenses for two or more dependents, is equal to between 20% 
and 35%, depending on a taxpayer's AGL Taxpayers with AGis of$15,000 or less are 
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eligible for the 35% credit. The amount of the credit decreases by one percentage point 
for each $2,000 by which a taxpayer's AGI exceeds $15,000. Thus, a credit of 20% may 
be claimed by taxpayers with AGis over $43,000. 

The state credit amount is a percentage of the federal credit, as follows: 

Federal AGI Credit Percentage(% of Federal Credit) 

$40,000 or less 50% 
$40,001 to $70,000 43% 
$70,001 to $100,000 34% 
Over $100,000 0% 

California taxpayers may claim the state credit regardless of whether they have a federal 
tax liability. 

Donated Fresh Fruits or Fresh Vegetables Credit. Qualified taxpayers may claim a 
credit equal to 10% of the costs of fresh fruits or fresh vegetables donated to a California 
food bank. 

A "qualified taxpayer" is defined as the person responsible for planting the crop, 
managing the crop, and harvesting the crop from the land. The cost of donated fresh 
fruits or fresh vegetables is the cost of those products that would otherwise be included in 
inventory costs. Generally, inventory costs would include both the direct costs and the 
allocated indirect costs required to produce the fresh fruits or fresh vegetables. Because 
inventory costs are costs of doing business, the credit is available only to a business that 
is also a qualified taxpayer. 

The recipient of a donation of fresh fruits or fresh vegetables must provide to the donor 
certification of the type and quantity of the products donated, the name of the donor or 
donors, the name and address of the done nonprofit organization, and, as provided by the 
donor, the estimated value of the donated products and the location where the donated 
product was grown. A donor that is a qualified taxpayer must provide a copy of the 
certificate to the FTB upon request. 

The fresh fruits and fresh vegetables credit applies to taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2012, and before January 1, 2017. This credit may be carried forward for up 
to six years and may not reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 

California Competes Credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, 
and before January 1, 2025, California allows a California Competes credit to be 
allocated to chosen California companies. The amount of the credit and the companies 
chosen to receive the credit would be determined by a California Competes committee, 
"Go-Biz". Go Biz will ensure that the aggregate credit amount allocated to all companies 
does not exceed $30,000,000 for the 2013-14 fiscal year; $150,000,000 for the 2014-15 
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fiscal year; and $200,000,000 for each fiscal year from 2015-16 to 2017-18, inclusive. 
The amount available to be allocated in any given fiscal year may be adjusted if the 
amount available in a prior year was not allocated, or an amount allocated was 
recaptured, or if the Department of Finance determines that the amount allocated under 
this credit, the New Hiring Tax Credit, and manufacturing sales and use tax exemption 
exceeds $750,000,000 in specified fiscal years. 

College Access Tax Credit Fund. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2014, and before January 1, 2018, a taxpayer is allowed a credit for cash contributions 
made to the College Access Tax Credit Fund. The College Access Tax Credit Fund has 
an aggregate credit cap of $500 million per calendar year. The California Educational 
Facilities Authority is responsible to administer, allocate, and certify the credit. The 
credit is calculated based on the following: ( 1) 60% of the amount contributed that is 
certified and allocated for the 2014 taxable year; (2) 55% of the amount contributed that 
is certified and allocated for the 2015 taxable year; and (3) 50% of the amount 
contributed that is certified and allocated for the 2016 and 2017 taxable years. 
SB 81 (Budget and Fiscal Review Committee), Chapter 22, Statutes of 2015 modified the 
College Access Tax Credits and allowed the credit to reduce tax below the tentative 
minimum tax for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014. 

New Employment Credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, and 
before January 1, 2021, California allows a New Employment Credit to qualified 
employers, paying qualified wages, to qualified employees. The credit is equal to 35% of 
the amount of wages paid between 150% of 350% of minimum wage. The credit may be 
generated up to five consecutive years for the same employee as long as the employee 
remains employed. Any credits not used in the taxable year may be carried forward for 
up to five years. 

Credits for Businesses. A number of other credits are available for business taxpayers 
that file under the personal income tax law, such as sole proprietorships and partnerships. 
Refer to the Corporation Tax chapter (Chapter 2C) for a description of tax credits 
applicable to businesses. 

Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC). Existing federal law (Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 
section 32) allows eligible low-income taxpayers a refundable EITC. A refundable credit 
can reduce tax liability below zero and result in a refund. The EITC is a percentage of the 
taxpayer's earned income and is phased out as income increases. Beginning in tax year 
2015, California allows a refundable state EITC that complements the existing federal 
EITC. The California EITC would only be operative for taxable years for which an 
adjustment factor is specified in the annual Budget Act and in which resources are authorized 
in the annual Budget Act for the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to oversee and audit returns 
associated with the EITC. For 2015, the state credit is available to California households 
with adjusted gross incomes of less than $6,580 if there are no qualifying children, less 
than $9,880 if there is one qualifying child or less than $13,870 ifthere are two or more 
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qualifying children. The maximum CA EITC would range from $214 to $2,653 depending 
on the number of qualifying children, the credit is phased out as income increases. 
11. CAPITAL GAINS AND LOSSES 

Capital gains are profits from the sale of property and other capital assets. They are 
classified as a different type of income from "ordinary income," which includes wages, 
salaries, and interest. 

Capital assets are defined as all property except the following: inventories; property held 
for sale in the ordinary course of business; depreciable business property; and real 
property used in business. Capital assets include real property (land and buildings), 
personal property, and intangible assets (such as stock). 

Capital gains are measured as the difference between the amount realized when the asset 
is sold and the asset's basis. Although an asset's basis is normally that asset's original 
purchase price, basis can be adjusted to reflect improvements and costs of sale. Any 
amounts invested in improvements are added to the purchase price to increase basis; costs 
of sale are deducted from the sales price to reduce basis. Capital gains are generally 
recognized in the year an asset is sold or otherwise disposed. 

Through 1986, capital gains were accorded special tax treatment in California. During 
that time, gains on assets held longer than one year were partially excluded from tax. 
However, beginning in 1987, California began including all capital gains within the 
measure of a taxpayer's income. California's tax treatment of capital gains is different 
from federal treatment, because California applies the same tax rates to capital gains as 
applies to ordinary income; the federal government applies lower rates to qualifying 
capital gains. 

Under federal (but not state) law, most types of investments held more than one year are 
subject to capital gains tax at a top rate of 20% (10% for investors in the 15% tax bracket) 
if the sale takes place before May 6, 2003. 

For sales on or after May 6, 2003, and before January 1, 2013, the maximum capital gain 
rate is 15% (5% for individuals taxed in the 10% or 15% tax bracket, or at a zero percent 
rate for tax years beginning after 2007). 

These lower rates apply to most (but not all) types of investments. Among those 
ineligible are collectibles with a maximum rate of 28%. Nor do the lower rates apply to 
gains from the sale of investment real estate to the extent of depreciation deductions 
previously claimed with a maximum rate of 25%. 

Special enacted state and federal laws provided an exemption for 50% of the capital gains 
realized from the sale of qualified small business stock (QSBS) issued after August 10, 
1993, and before February 18, 2009, and be held for a least five years prior to sale. For 
QSBS acquired after September 27, 2010, and before 2012, and held for at least five 
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years, federal law provides an exemption for all of the gain on the disposition of the 
QSBS stock. For QSBS acquired after February 17, 2009, and before September 28, 
2010, and held for at least five years, federal law provides an exemption of 75% of any 
gain realized on the disposition of QSBS stock. For state tax purposes, the company in 
which the investment is made must have had at least 80 percent of its payroll in 
California at the time of the investment acquisition and have assets of not more than $50 
million. Certain industry and other limitations apply, including industry growth in 
payroll, etc. 

In Cutler v. Franchise Tax Board (2012) 208 Cal.App. 4th 1247, 146 Cal.Rptr. 3d 244, 
the California Court of Appeals held that the California QSBS provisions of R&TC 
Sections 18038.5 and 18152.5 are unconstitutional. 

AB 1412 (Chapter 546, Statutes of 2013) provides a limited, modified California QSBS 
exclusion by allowing taxpayers to exclude 50% of the gain from the sale or exchange of 
their California QSBS for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, and 
before January 1, 2013. In addition, taxpayers are allowed to exclude 50% of the gain 
included in installment payments received, or that will be received, in taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2008, for sales of California QSBS made in taxable years 
beginning before January 1, 2013. 

For the purposes of this limited, modified exclusion, the definition of "qualified small 
business" means a domestic C corporation that meets the following: 

• 	 The aggregate gross assets of the corporation (or its predecessor) at all times on or 
after July 1, 1993, and before the issuance of the stock, did not exceed $50 
million; 

• 	 The aggregate gross assets of the corporation immediately after the issuance did 
not exceed $50 million; and, 

• 	 At least 80 percent of the corporation's payroll is attributable to employment 
located within California (at time of stock issuance). 

As under federal law, capital losses are fully deductible against capital gains realized in 
the same year. In addition, up to $3,000 of capital losses in excess of capital gains are 
deductible against ordinary income in any taxable year. If excess capital losses are 
greater than $3,000, the unused portion may be carried forward indefinitely to offset 
capital gains in future years and to deduct against ordinary income subject to the $3,000 
annual limit. Federal law allows a three-year carry back of capital losses, but California 
does not. 

State law also conforms to federal capital gains treatment on sale or exchange of a 
principal residence. Specifically, state and federal laws provide that a single taxpayer 
may exclude up to $250,000 and married taxpayers filing jointly may exclude up to 
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$500,000 of gain realized on the sale or exchange of a principal residence. The exclusion 
is allowed each time a taxpayer selling a principal residence meets certain eligibility 
requirements, but generally no more frequently than once every two years. To be eligible 
for the exclusion, a taxpayer must have owned the residence and occupied it as a 
principal residence for at least two of the five years prior to the sale or exchange. Federal 
and state laws repealed the once-in-a-lifetime exclusion of$125,000 and the rollover of 
gain from the sale of a principal residence provisions that previously existed. 

12. DEPRECIATION AND AMORTIZATION1 

Depreciation and amortization deductions allow taxpayers to recover capital investments 
in certain assets over the useful lives of those assets by deducting reasonable allowances 
for the exhaustion, wear, and tear of property. 

Depreciation and amortization are allowed for property used in a trade or business or for 
the production of income (investment). Depreciable prope1ty includes most kinds of 
tangible property and improvements to real property, farm buildings, machinery, and 
other physical assets. Intangible assets that may be amortized include copyrights, 
licenses, franchises, goodwill, and covenants not to compete. Depreciation and 
amortization are not allowed for property used for personal purposes, inventory and stock 
in trade, land, and depletable natural resources. 

Under the personal income tax law, California generally conforms to the federal 
depreciation system for assets placed in service on and after January 1, 1987. This is 
called the Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System (MACRS). Under MACRS, all 
depreciable assets are placed in classes. These class assignments determine the assets' 
useful lives (i.e., the periods over which the assets may be depreciated) and the method of 
depreciation that must be used. The amount to be depreciated is the property's basis or its 
acquisition price. In general, MACRS allows shorter useful lives and more accelerated 
depreciation methods than are allowed under other permissible depreciation systems, 
thereby allowing larger depreciation deductions. 

Under federal (but not state) law, a taxpayer is allowed to elect to take a bonus first-year 
depreciation deduction equal to 30% of the adjusted basis of qualified property (including 
New York Liberty Zone property) placed in service by the taxpayer after September 10, 
2001. That percentage increases to 50% for property placed in service after May 5, 2003, 
and before January 1, 2011. The first-year bonus depreciation allowance is increased to 
100% for qualifying property placed in service after September 8, 2010, and before 
January 1, 2012. The 50% bonus allowance is extended to cover qualifying property 
placed in service after December 31, 2011, and before January 1, 2013 . The additional 
first year depreciation deduction generally is determined without any proration based on 
the length of the taxable year in which the qualified property or New York Liberty Zone 

1 In December, Congress enacted changes to depreciation Jaw. The FTB is currently analyzing these 
federal changes and will revise this section next year to incorporate these changes. 
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property is placed in service. The adjusted basis of this property generally is its cost or 
other basis multiplied by the percentage of business/investment use, reduced by the 
amount of any Section 1 79 expense deduction and adjusted to the extent provided by 
other provisions of the Internal Revenue Code. The remaining adjusted basis of this 
property is depreciated using the applicable depreciation provisions under the Code for 
the property. This depreciation deduction for the remaining adjusted basis of the 
qualified property or New York Liberty Zone property for which the additional first year 
depreciation is deductible is allowed for both regular tax and alternative minimum tax 
purposes. 

In addition, in lieu of depreciation, existing federal and state laws (Internal Revenue 
Code Section 179) allow a deduction to taxpayers with a sufficiently small amount of 
capital expenditures for depreciable property. These taxpayers may elect to expense (i .e., 
to deduct immediately rather than depreciate over time) the cost of qualified property 
placed in service for the taxable year and purchased for use in the active conduct of a 
trade or business. Federal and state limits differ. 

In 2010, the Small Business Jobs Act (SBJA) of2010 was enacted. This act increases the 
IRC Section 179 limitations on the expensing of depreciable business assets and expands 
the definition of qualified property to include certain real property for the 2010 and 2011 
tax years. Under the SBJA, qualifying businesses can now expense up to $500,000 of 
Section 179 property for tax years beginning in 2010 and 2011. Without SBJA, the 
expensing limit for Section 179 property would have been $250,000 for 2010 and 
$25,000 for 2011. The maximum Section 179 expense is $125,000 for taxable years 
beginning in 2012 and $25,000 for taxable years beginning after 2012. 

For taxable years beginning in 2010 and 2011, the $500,000 amount provided under the 
new law is reduced, but not below zero, if the cost of all Section 179 prope1iy placed in 
service by the taxpayer during the tax year exceeds $2,000,000, the investment ceiling. 
For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2011, and before January 1, 2013, the 
investment ceiling is $560,000 and $200,000 for tax years beginning after December 31, 
2012. The definition of qualified Section 179 property will include qualified leasehold 
improvement property, qualified restaurant property, and qualified retail improvement 
property for tax years beginning in 2010 and 2011. SBJA also removes cellular 
telephones and similar telecommunications equipment from the definition of listed 
property for tax years beginning in 2010. 

The limit is $250,000 under federal law but remains $25,000 for California. However, 
starting in 2005, California 11 C11 Corporations are allowed to elect, in lieu of a maximum 
of $2,000 additional first-year depreciation, a Section 179 deduction of up to a maximum 
of $25,000. The allowed deduction is reduced (but not below zero) by the amount by 
which the cost of qualifying property placed in service during the taxable year exceeds 
$800,000 under federal law and $200,000 for California. 
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California permits accelerated write-off for acquisitions of personal property for 
exclusive use within identified incentive zones. Taxpayers doing business in certain 
areas such as Enterprise Zones (EZs ), Local Agency Military Base Recovery Areas 
(LAMBRAs), and Targeted Tax Areas (TTAs) may elect to treat 40% of the cost of 
qualified property purchased for exclusive use within the area as a deduction in the year 
the property is placed in service. The maximum cost taken into account in any taxable 
year depends upon the length of time the area has been designated as a qualifying zone or 
area, but may not exceed $100,000. 

The MACRS system is not permitted under the California Corporation Tax Law. 
However, California law permits S Corporations to compute depreciation under the rules 
contained in the Personal Income Tax Law. For that reason, S Corporations can use both 
MACRS and the Section 179 deductions referenced above. Refer to the Corporation Tax 
chapter of this Reference Book (Chapter 2C) for a description of depreciation deductions 
allowed for other corporate taxpayers. 

13. CARRYOVER OF NET OPERATING LOSSES 

Net operating losses (NOLs) occur in the course of a trade or business when deductions 
exceed income. Under federal law, a net operating loss can be carried back for two years 
(five years for losses arising in 2001 and 2002, and 2008 and 2009) and carried forward 
for 20 years. California suspended taxpayers' abilities to claim NOL deductions during 
the 2008 and 2009 tax years. However, taxpayers were given two additional years in 
which to claim NO Ls accrued prior to January 1, 2009 and one additional year in which 
to claim NOLs accrued during the 2009 taxable year. Beginning with the 2008 tax year 
the NOL carryover period is extended to 20 years for NO Ls attributable to taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2008. California allows a two-year carryback period for 
NOLs attributable to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013. The carryback 
percentage is 50% for an NOL incurred in tax year 2013, 75% for an NOL incurred in tax 
year 2014, and 100% for NO Ls incurred in tax years 2015 and later. Prior to these 
changes, California did not normally allow NOL deductions to be carried back. For 
taxable years beginning before January 1, 2000, California allowed 50% ofNOLs to be 
carried forward for five years. For taxable years beginning in 2010 and 2011, California 
suspended the net operating loss (NOL) carryover deduction. Taxpayers may continue to 
compute and carry over NO Ls during the suspension period. However, taxpayers with 
modified adjusted gross income ofless than $300,000 or with disaster loss carryovers are 
not affected by the NOL suspension rules. Beginning with the 2000 tax year, the 
carryforward periods and carryforward amounts were increased as follows: 

Tax Year Allowed Carryforward Length of Carryforward 

1999 and earlier 50% 5 years 
2000,2001 55% 10 years 
2002,2003 60% 10 years 
2004 and after 100% 10 years 
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In 2002, as part of the budget package, California suspended taxpayers' abilities to claim 
NOL deductions during the 2002 and 2003 tax years. However, taxpayers were given 
two additional years in which to claim NO Ls accrued prior to January 1, 2002, and one 
additional year in which to claim NOLs accrued during the 2002 taxable year. 

Prior to the changes made in 2002, special NOL carryforward rules were available to 
specific groups of taxpayers, including new businesses, small businesses, businesses 
located in EZs, LAMBRAs, and TT As, and taxpayers involved in bankruptcies and 
certain bankruptcy reorganizations. Starting in 2004, virtually all businesses are treated 
the same way under California's NOL laws. Specific details regarding these provisions 
are described in Section 10 of Chapter 2C. 

14. DISASTER LOSS DEDUCTION 

A disaster loss occurs when business or personal property is completely or partially 
destroyed as a result of a fire, storm, flood or other natural event. Federal law, Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC) Section 165(i), allows a taxpayer who suffers a disaster loss to elect 
to deduct the loss in the year immediately preceding the year the disaster occurred if it is 
a Presidentially declared disaster loss. Similarly, under state law, a taxpayer can elect to 
file an amended return to deduct a disaster loss in the taxable year prior to the loss year 
for any Presidentially declared disaster. For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2024, California allows taxpayers to elect disaster 
loss treatment for losses sustained in an area declared by the Governor to be in a state of 
emergency. In addition, California allows an expended time for filing an amended return 
beyond the time allowed under federal law. 

15. ALTERNATIVE MINIMUM TAX 

Non-corporate taxpayers who take advantage of certain tax preferences must calculate 
and pay an alternative minimum tax (AMT) at a 7% rate if their tentative minimum tax 
(TMT) exceeds their regular tax due. This rate was 7.25% for tax years 2009 and 2010. 
The purpose of the AMT is to ensure that taxpayers who take advantage of special tax 
reduction provisions such as deductions and credits pay at least some minimum amount 
of tax on their preferentially treated income. California's AMT rules are patterned after 
federal law, which imposes the AMT at a graduated rate of 26% on the first $175,000 of 
taxable income above the exemption amount and 28% of the amount exceeding $175,000 
above the exemption amount. California's AMT replaced the add-on preference tax, 
which was a part of California's personal income tax law until 1987. 

California taxpayers that believe they may be subject to AMT must perform the 
following steps to determine whether they owe any tax in addition to their regular tax 
liability: 
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0 Calculate regular tax liability; 

0 Calculate alternative minimum taxable income (AMTI) in excess of the 
exemption amount. Although the AMTI calculation is extremely complex, it 
generally requires taxpayers to forego their deductions and credits and instead 
allows them to subtract only a fixed-dollar AMT exemption amount; 

0 Multiply AMTI by the AMT rate of 7% (7.25% for tax years 2009 and 2010) 
to calculate TMT; and 

0 	 Compare TMT to regular tax liability. IfTMT exceeds regular tax, the 
difference equals the taxpayer's AMT and must be added to the regular tax 
and paid by the taxpayer. 

For 2015, the exemption amounts are $87,627 for married persons filing jointly or 
qualifying widow(er) filers; $65,721 for single and head of household filers; and $43,812 
for married persons filing separately. These exemption amounts phase out to zero if 
alternative minimum taxable income exceeds $328,601 for married taxpayers filing 
jointly or qualifying widow( er) filers; $246,451 for single and head of household filers, 
and $164,299 for married taxpayers filing separately. The exemption and phase-out 
amounts are indexed annually for inflation. 

AMT has an important interaction with tax credits. Most credits can reduce regular tax 
down to, but not below TMT. However, certain specific credits are not subject to this 
limitation. These specific credits are: 

0 Adoption cost credit; 

0 California competes credit; 

0 Commercial solar energy credit carryover; 

0 Enterprise Zone hiring credit; 

0 Enterprise Zone sales or use tax credit; 

0 LARZ hiring credit carryover; 

0 LARZ sales and use tax credit carryover; 

0 Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ) construction hiring credit carryover; 

0 Low-income housing credit; 

0 Manufacturer's investment credit carryover; 

0 Natural Heritage Preservation credit; 
0 Orphan drug credit carryover; 
0 Personal, dependent, senior, senior head of household, dependent parent, joint 

custody head of household, and blind exemption credits. 
0 Renter's credit; 
0 Research and development credit; 
0 Solar energy credit carryover; 
0 Targeted Tax Area hiring credit; and, 
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0 Targeted Tax Area sales or use tax credit. 

For a further description of the AMT, refer to Section 14 of Chapter 2C, on the 
Corporation Tax. 

16. TREATMENT OF PENSION AND OTHER RETIREMENT SAVINGS 

The tax treatment ofpension and other retirement savings plans has two primary 
elements -- treatment of contributions and treatment of withdrawals. With almost no 
exceptions, California taxes pension and retirement savings (both contributions and 
withdrawals) in an identical manner as does the federal government. 

Taxation of Contributions. California conforms to federal law with respect to 
contribution limitations of the various pension and retirement savings plans. Table 4 
provides a quick view of the limitations on contributions for numerous programs. 

45 




CHAPTER2B 
PERSONAL rNCOME 
TAX 

TABLE 4 

TYPE OF PLAN FEDERAL CONTRIBUTION CAPS ADDITIONAL CATCH-UP 
CONTRIBUTIONS FOR PERSONS 
OVERAGE SO 

Individual Retirement $3,000 in 2002-2004; $4,000 in 2005-2007; $500 in 2002-2005; and $1,000 in 2006 
Accounts (IRAs) $5,000 in 2008-2012; $5,500 in 2013-2014; and and thereafter 

$5,500 in 2015-2016 

Defined contribution 100% of compensation or $40,000 in 2003; 
plans [4 15(c)s] $41,000 in 2004; $42,000 in 2005; $44,000 in 

2006; $45,000 in 2007; $46,000 in 2008; 
$49,000 in 2009-2011; $50,000 in 2012; 
$51,000 in 2013; $52,000 in 2014; and 
$53,000 in 2015-2016 

Defined benefit plans 100% of compensation up to $160,000 in 2003; 
[415(b )s] $165,000 in 2004; $170,000 in 2005; $175,000 

for 2006; $180,000 in 2007; $185,000 in 2008; 
$195,000 in 2009-2011; $200,000 in 2012; 
$205,000 in 2013; and $210,000 in 2014-2016 

Elective deferral plans $11,000 in 2002; $12,000 in 2003; $13,000 in $1,000 in 2002; $2,000 in 2003; $3,000 
[40l(k) plans, 403(b) 2004; $14,000 in 2005; $15,000 in 2006; in 2004; $4,000 in 2005; $5,000 in 
annuities, SEPs 408(k)s] $15,500 in 2007-2008; $16,500 in 2009-2011; 2006-2008; $5,500 in 2009 and later; 

$17,000 in 2012; $17,500 in 2013-2014; and $6,000 in 2015 
indexed for inflation in $500 increments 
beginning in 2007; and $18,000 in 2015-2016 

SIMPLE plans [408(p)] $7,000 in 2002; $8,000 in 2003; $9,000 in 2004; $500 in 2002; $1,000 in 2003; $1,500 
$10,000 in 2005-2006; $10,500 in 2007; in 2004; $2,000 in 2005; $2,500 in 
$10,500 in 2008; $11,500 in 2009-2012; 2006-2014; and $3,000 in 2015 
$12,000 in 2013-2014; indexed for inflation in 
$500 increments beginning in 2006; and 
$12,500 in 2015-2016 

457 elective defenal $11,000 in 2002; $12,000 in 2003; $13,000 in $1,000 in 2002; $2,000 in 2003; $3,000 
plans 2004; $14,000 in 2005; $15,000 in 2006; in 2004; $4,000 in 2005; $5,000 in 

$15,500 in 2007-2008; $16,500 in 2009-2011 ; 2006-2008; $5,500 in 2009-2014; and 
$17,000 in 2012; $17,500 in 2013-2014; $6,000 in 2015-2016 
indexed for inflation in $500 increments 
beginning in 2007; and $18,000 in 2015 Plus, the limit is twice the standard 

limit in a participant's last 3 years 
before retirement. 

Source: http://www. i rs . gov/Retirement-Plans/Pia n-Participant,-Em ployee/Reti rement-T opics­
Contributions 

Federal law provides taxpayers with flexibility to roll one type of plan into another type 
ofplan by allowing rollovers among governmental Section 457 plans and Section 403(b) 
plans, rollovers of IRAs to workplace retirement plans, and rollovers of after-tax 
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retirement plan contributions (e.g., Roth IRAs). Those who have Section 457 plans may 
use their plan funds to repay contributions and earnings previously refunded to them or to 
purchase permissive service credits. 

Taxation of Withdrawals. As mentioned above, California residents are taxed on all 
income, including income from sources outside California. An individual who retires in 
California will pay tax on the pension income that individual receives after becoming a 
resident, even if that pension was earned while working in another state. 

Federal laws prohibit states from taxing nonresidents on pension income received after 
December 31, 1995. Because California enacted legislation that conforms to the federal 
preemption, California does not impose a tax on specified pension income received by a 
nonresident after December 31, 1995, as follows: 

0 A qualified pension plan described in Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 
401; 

0 A qualified annuity plan described in IRC Section 403(a); 
0 A tax-sheltered annuity described in IRC Section 403(b); 
0 A governmental plan described in IRC Section 414( d); 
0 A deferred compensation plan maintained by a state or local government or an 

exempt organization described in IRC Section 457; 
0 An individual retirement plan described in IRC Section 7701(a)(37); 
0 A simplified employee pension (SEP) described in IRC Section 408(k); 
0 A trust described in IRC Section 50l(c)(l8); 
0 Plans, programs, or arrangements described in IRC Section 312l(v)(2)(C), 

under certain circumstances; and, 
0 Retired or retainer pay of a member or former member of a uniformed service 

computed under United States Code, Title 10, Chapter 71. 

17. SPECIAL FEATURES OF THE PERSONAL INCOME TAX 

Unearned Income of Dependent Children (''Kiddie Tax"). Children under age 18 or 
children under the age of 24 who are full-time students who have net unearned income 
(i.e., investment income such as dividends, interest, or royalties) of over $2,100 for 2015 
are subject to special rules. The purpose of the rules is to prevent shifting of income from 
parents to children to avoid tax at the parents' rate. The child's unearned income in 
excess of $2, 100 for 2015 is subject to tax at the parents' tax rate, rather than the child's 
highest tax rate. 

Passive Investments. California generally conforms to federal law (IRC Section 469) as 
that section read on January 1, 2009. Both state and federal law limit the ability of 
taxpayers to use passive investment losses to offset or shelter unrelated income. Passive 
investments are trade or business activities in which the taxpayer does not materially 
participate. Examples include investment in limited partnerships and other business 
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entities; and rental activities. There is a limited exception for rental real estate activities 
where the taxpayer actively participates. A taxpayer may meet the requirement of active 
participation by participating in making management decisions or arranging for services 
provided by others. California has not conformed to the federal rules for "real estate 
professionals"; therefore, those taxpayers are still subject to the California passive loss 
rules. 

State and federal laws require the segregation of income and deductions into "active", 
"passive", and "portfolio" categories. Portfolio income includes interest, dividends, 
royalties, and gain or loss for the disposition of assets providing portfolio income. 
Passive activity losses generally may not be deducted against other income, such as 
wages, salary or portfolio income, or business income that was not derived from passive 
activities. A similar rule applies to limit passive activity credits. 

Current California law treats rental activities (including rental real estate activities) as 
passive activities, regardless of the level of taxpayer participation. Federal and California 
law permit the deduction of up to $25,000 of losses from rental real estate activities (even 
though considered passive) ifthe taxpayer actively participates in them and certain tests 
are met. This $25,000 amount is allowed for taxpayers with AG Is of $100,000 or less 
and is phased out for taxpayers with AGis between $100,000 and $150,000. Deductions 
and credits suspended under these rules are treated as suspended losses or credits from a 
passive activity and can be carried forward to years in which there is passive income. 
Any remaining carry forwards is allowed in full when a taxpayer disposes of his or her 
entire interest in the passive activity to an umelated taxpayer. 

Taxpayers must adjust the amount of California passive activity losses for differences in 
other areas of state law (e.g., depreciation). Also, nonresidents and part-year residents 
must make adjustments to passive activity items in computing California source AGL 

Mandatory Electronic Payments. Taxpayers subject to the Personal Income Tax Law 
are required to remit all payments electronically once an estimated tax or extension 
payment exceeding $20,000 is made, or upon the filing of an original return with a total 
tax liability over $80,000. Once the threshold is met, all subsequent payments regardless 
of amount, tax type, or taxable year must be remitted electronically. Individuals that do 
not send the payment electronically will be subject to a one percent noncompliance 
penalty. A taxpayer may request a waiver of the electronic payment requirement under 
certain circumstances. 

Other Special Provisions That Affect Businesses. There are other special provisions in 
the Personal Income Tax Law that primarily affect business taxpayers. Several of these 
are described in the Corporation Tax chapter (Chapter 2C). 
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18. MINIMUM CORPORATE FRANCHISE TAX 

Most corporations taxable by California are subject to a minimum franchise tax. This is a 
specified dollar amount that businesses must pay even if their tax liability based on net 
income is lower. See Section 4 of the Corporation Tax chapter (Chapter 2C) for more 
information on the franchise tax. 

Personal income taxpayers are not subject to a minimum tax. However, certain entities 
taxed under the Personal Income Tax Law are subject to an annual tax equal to the 
minimum franchise tax. These include limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, 
certain limited liability companies, and real estate mortgage investment conduits 
(REMICs). 

19. LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES 

A limited liability company (LLC) is a non-corporate entity, the revenue from which may 
be included as corporation tax revenue. An LLC provides its members with limited 
liability and the option to participate actively in the entity's management. An LLC is 
formed by filing Articles of Organization with the California Secretary of State. 
Although exhibiting the corporate characteristic of limited liability, an LLC with at least 
two members is usually treated as a partnership under the "check-the-box rules" used by 
both the Federal Government and California 

In certain cases, an LLC may "check the box" on Federal Form 8832 (Entity 
Classification Election) to be taxed like a C Corporation. In addition, in certain cases, an 
LLC may "check the box" on Federal Form 2553 (election by a Small Business 
Corporation) to be taxed like an S Corporation. California applies the same tax treatment 
elected for federal tax purposes. 

Under current state law, an LLC not classified as a corporation must pay the $800 annual 
LLC tax and the annual LLC fee if it is organized, doing business, or registered in 
California. The annual LLC fee is based on the LLC's total income from all sources 
derived from or attributable to California. Total income is defined as the gross income, 
plus the cost of goods sold, that are paid or incurred in connection with the trade or 
business of the taxpayer attributed to California, determined by applying franchise and 
income tax sales factor rules under current law to the total income of the LLC. The 
following chart is used to compute the fee: 
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[---If Total California Annual Income Is---] 

Equal To or Over ($) But Not Over ($) LLC Fee 

$ 250,000 $ 499,999 $ 900 
500,000 999,999 2,500 

1,000,000 4,999,999 6,000 
5,000,000 And Over 11,790 

20. VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS 

California allows taxpayers to make voluntary contributions of their own funds to one or 
more organizations listed on the state tax return by checking a box on their return. These 
eligible activities are often called "check-offs", although they are not like the federal 
check-offs that allow taxpayers to direct a portion of their tax liability to the selected 
organization. These contributions made on a California income tax return are deductible 
as charitable contributions on the following year's tax return for taxpayers that itemize 
deductions. 

For the 2015 tax year, 19 check-offs will appear on the individual income tax form. The 
Legislature responded to the proliferation of check-offs on the tax form by requiring 
check-offs to have sunset dates and to meet minimum annual contribution amounts. The 
Legislature requires new check-offs to wait in line to be added to the form until old 
check-offs are removed (so-called 'queuing language'), or until the FTB determines there 
is room on the form. The current rules regarding the standards each check-off must meet 
in order to remain on the form are summarized in the following chart: 
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VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION FUND INFORMATION 
2014 California Personal Income Tax Return 

INITIAL 2015 MINIMUM 
TAX FINALTAX CONTRIBUTION 

VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION FUNDS RETURN RETURN2 REQUIREMENT 

Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund 1987 2019 $354,969 
American Red Cross, California Chapters Fund 2013 2017 $250,000 
California Breast Cancer Research Fund 1992 2017 $371,724 
California Cancer Research Fund 2008 2017 $274,377 
California Firefighters' Memorial Fund 1993 2020 No minimum requirement unless the 

repeal date is deleted 
California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund 1999 2015 No minimum requirement unless the 

repeal date is deleted 
California Sea Otter Fund 2006 2020 $283 ,775 
California Seniors Legislature Fund3 2014 2018 No minimum requirement for 201 5 
California Seniors Special Fund 1990 No Sunset No minimwn requirement 
California Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund 2014 2018 No minimum requirement for 201 5 
Child Victims of Human Trafficking Fund 2011 201 5 $259,844 
Emergency Food For Families Fund 1998 2018 $368,102 
Habitat for Humanity Fund 2014 2018 No minimum requirement for 201 5 
Keeps Arts in Schools Fund 2013 2017 $250,000 
Prevention of Animal Homelessness and Cruelty Fund 2015 

2The final tax return is subject to change ifthe fund has a minimum contribution threshold it fails to meet or if legislation extends the repeal date. Dates and 

condition of application vary for each fund . 

3Repeal of the California Fund for Senior Citizens was concurrent with the enactment of the California Seniors Legislature Fund. SB 997 (Morell), Chapter 248, 

Statutes of2014. 
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VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION FUND INFORMATION (Continued) 
2014 California Personal Income Tax Return 

INITIAL 2015 MINIMUM 
TAX FINAL TAX CONTRIBUTION 

VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION FUNDS RETURN RETURN4 REQUIREMENT 

Protect Our Coasts and Oceans Fund 2013 2017 $250,000 
Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program 1983 2017 $332,122 
School Supplies for Homeless Children Fund 2012 2016 $255,508 
State Parks Protection Fund/Park Pass Purchase 2012 No Sunset $255,500 

Source: https://www.ftb .ca.gov/individuals/vcfsr/indvolcon.shtml 

4The final tax return is subject to change if the fund has a minimum contribution threshold it fails to meet or iflegislation extends the repeal date. Dates and 
condition of application vary for each fund. 
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21. REVENUE 

The personal income tax is the largest single source of revenue for the State of California. 
California revenues were $75.3 in 2014-15 (67.7% of state General Fund revenues). 
Revenues are expected to be $77.7 billion in 2015-16 $billion in 2016-17. 

22. ADMINISTRATION 

The FTB administers the personal income tax. Returns are due annually on the 15th day 
of the fourth month following the close of each taxable year (typically April 15th). 
Individuals are automatically granted an extended filing period of six months for 
submitting their tax returns but are not relieved of their obligation to pay the tax due by 
April 15. Taxpayers who do not pay 100% of their tax liability by April 15 owe interest 
and are assessed a late payment penalty. Similarly, taxpayers who do not file by the 
extended due date (typically October 15th) are assessed a penalty for failure to file. 
However, taxpayers who do file on or before the extended due date are not penalized for 
failure to file. 

Salaries and wages are subject to withholding by employers. The Employment 
Development Department (EDD) administers withholding. If taxpayers have a 
significant amount of income that is not subject to withholding (such as from self­
employment income or investments), they must pay estimated taxes in quarterly 
installments in order to ensure that they remit sufficient funds throughout the course of 
the year to avoid penalties for failure to timely pay. Taxpayers may be subject to 
penalties if amounts remitted over the course of the year through withholding and/or 
estimated payments are less than prescribed minimum percentages of their total tax 
liability. 

The amount of tax due in excess of the amount withheld and/or paid as an estimated 
payment is due on April 15th. If a taxpayer overpays during the year through 
withholding and/or estimated payments, he or she can direct FTB to apply the 
overpayment to the next year's liability or to refund the overpayment by check. 

23. CODE 

California Constitution, Article III, Section 26 

Revenue and Taxation Code, Division 2, Part 10, Section 17001-18181 , and Part 10.2, 
Sections 18401-19802 
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CORPORATION TAX 

HIGHLIGHTS 

• Minimum Tax $800 per year; except for new corporations. 

• Revenue* 2014-15(Actual) 
2015-16 (Actual) 
2016-17 (Estimate) 

$ 9. 8 billion 
$10.3 billion 
$10.9 billion 

• Estimated Number of 
Returns Filed 1,738,000 in tax year 2014 

• Administration Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 

*Source: 2015-16 SUM-04 Enacted Budget Summary. 2016-17 SUM 04 Proposed 
Budget 

1. WHO PAYS THE CORPORATION TAX 

The corporation tax applies to all corporations that earn income derived from or 
attributable to sources in California, except insurance companies. Professional 
corporations, benefit corporations, flexible purpose corporations, associations, certain 
trusts, partnerships and limited liability company( s) (LLCs) that elected to be taxed as 
corporations, banks, or financial institutions, such as savings and loan associations 
(thrifts), pay taxes under the Corporation Tax Law. 

Nonprofit organizations are exempt from the corporation tax, except for income that is 
unrelated to their exempt purpose. (See Section 1 of this chapter.) 

Insurance companies are exempted from the corporation tax (and most other state and 
local taxes) pursuant to the state Constitution. Instead, insurance companies are subject 
to a state gross premiums tax. (See Chapter 3C of this Reference Book for more 
information on the Insurance Gross Premiums Tax.) 

Additional discussion about which corporations are subject to the corporation tax is 
provided in Section 4 below, entitled "Three Separate Taxes Comprise the Corporation 
Tax." 
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2. 	 BENEFIT CORPORA TIO NS AND FLEXIBLE PURPOSE 

CORPORATIONS 


Beginning on or after January 1, 2012, a new type of corporation called a "benefit 
corporation" can be formed with the purpose of creating general public benefit. An 
existing corporation can become a "benefit corporation", if certain procedures are 
followed. In addition, the "benefit corporation" can be created through a merger or 
reorganization. 

Beginning on or after January 1, 2012, a new type of corporation called a "flexible 
purpose corporation" can be formed. An existing corporation can merge or convert into a 
"flexible purpose corporation". A "flexible purpose corporation" must have a special 
purpose which may include, but is not limited to, charitable and public purpose activities 
that could be carried out by a nonprofit public benefit corporation. 

3. 	 CALCULATION OF THE CORPORATION TAX 

Taxpayers compute their tax liabilities based on income earned during the year. The year 
may be either a calendar year or a fiscal year commencing in any month except January, 
as specified by the taxpayer. 

A brief summary of how tax is computed is as follows: Taxpayers must add up all 
sources of non-exempt income and subtract total deductions to which they are entitled, 
thereby arriving at "net income''. They then apply the 8.84% tax rate to net income to 
determine the tax. Certain tax credits are allowed to reduce this tax, dollar for dollar. 
Also, corporate taxpayers may be liable for the alternative minimum tax. 

The California corporation tax is similar, but not identical to, the federal income tax on 
corporations. Major differences are identified below. 

When corporations do business both within and outside of California, it is necessary to 
determine what portion of total corporate income is taxable by California. This is done 
by means of formula apportionment, which is described in Chapter 2D, entitled 
"Determining the Income of Multistate and Multinational Corporations". 

Refer to Chapter 2B on the Personal Income Tax for further information on taxes 
imposed on unincorporated businesses. 

4. 	 THREE SEPARATE TAXES COMPRISE THE CORPORATION TAX 

There are three separate taxes levied under the umbrella of the state corporation tax: 

0 Corporation Franchise Tax. Every corporation doing business in California 
(regardless oflocation) is subject to the franchise tax. "Doing business" 
means "actively engaging in any transaction in California for the purpose of 
financial or pecuniary gain or profit." 
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The franchise tax is not a tax on income. Rather, it is a tax for the privilege of 
doing business in California measured by net income earned in California. 
Until changed by the Legislature in AB 1843 (Ackerman), Chapter 862, 
Statutes of 2000, a corporation paid the privilege tax for conducting business 
in the current year based upon (measured by) the corporation's income in the 
preceding year. As amended, the law requires a corporation to pay tax for the 
privilege of conducting business in this state for the current year based upon 
(measured by) the corporation's net income for the current year. 

The majority of corporations taxed by California pay the franchise tax. 

0 	 Corporation Income Tax. Corporations deriving income from California 
sources but not sufficiently present to be classified as "doing business" in 
California are subject to the corporation income tax. 

This tax is nearly identical to the franchise tax. Because it is an income tax, 
however, interest from tax-exempt United States, California, or California 
municipality obligations is not included in income. Also, corporations are not 
subject to the minimum franchise tax. 

The most common situation where the corporation income tax is applied 
rather than the franchise tax is where a corporation operates in California 
through an agent or by using traveling salespersons, so the corporation does 
not have an established presence in the state. Another business entity 
commonly subject to the corporation income tax is a "business trust", which is 
a trust established for the purpose of making a profit (rather than for mere 
conservation of assets). 

Very few corporate taxpayers file under the corporation income tax. 

0 	 Bank Tax. Banks and financial institutions doing business in California are 
subject to an additional tax (known as the bank tax), which is levied in 
conjunction with the regular corporation tax. This tax is in lieu of personal 
property taxes and local business taxes, from which banks and financial 
institutions have been exempt since the enactment of the corporation tax in the 
1930s. 

The bank tax rate is 2% and is designed to be equivalent to the average 
amount general corporations pay each year in personal property taxes and 
local business taxes (see below for a further discussion). 

Federal law has a net income tax which applies to all corporate taxpayers, and does not 
have an add-on bank tax rate. 
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5. TAX RA TES AND MINIMUM FRANCHISE TAX 

The corporation franchise tax rate is the greater of 8.84% of net income, or the minimum 
franchise tax. 

The minimum franchise tax is $800 and must be paid by any corporation subject to the 
franchise tax with a computed tax liability less than this amount. The $800 minimum 
franchise tax is not imposed for the first year a corporation is in existence. This 
corporation would, however, be subject to the 8.84% franchise tax rate on any net 
mcome. 

The corporation income tax rate is 8.84% of net income. However, the minimum 
franchise tax does not apply. 

The bank tax rate, which must be added to the franchise tax rate for banks and financial 
institutions, is statutorily set at 2%. Banks are subject to the minimum franchise tax if 
their computed tax from the combined corporate plus bank rate is less than $800. 
Federal corporate tax rates range from a low of 15% to a high of 35%. There is no 
minimum tax in federal law comparable to the state's minimum franchise tax. 

6. INCOME AND DEDUCTIONS 

Corporations begin computing their California tax by adding all sources of income, 
including income from business activities, dividends, interest, rents, royalties, gains from 
the sale of property, income from the discharge of debt, and so on. Unlike federal tax 
law, interest from federal, state and municipal obligations are included in total income 
under California franchise tax. For corporations, there are few exclusions from income 
or sources of exempt income (unlike those in the personal income tax). However, 
California allows an exclusion from gross income for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2019, for any amounts received as a rebate, 
voucher, or other financial incentive issued by a local water agency or supplier for 
participation in a turfremoval water conservation program. Additionally, for taxable 
year beginning on or after July 1, 2015, California allows an exclusion from gross income 
any amount received as grants, rebates and other financial incentives for seismic 
improvements issued by the California Residential Mitigation Program or the California 
Earthquake Authority to assist a residential property owner or occupant with expenses 
paid or obligations incurred for earthquake loss mitigation. 

The corporate tax is measured not by gross income, but by net income, which is what we 
commonly think of as business profit. In order to determine net income, corporations are 
allowed to deduct specified expenses from gross income. 

The value of a deduction to a taxpayer, measured in terms of tax eliminated, generally 
may be estimated by multiplying the deduction by the tax rate. Therefore, the state tax 
savings to a corporation resulting from deducting a $1,000 expense is $88.40 ($1,000 
expense x 8.84% state corporate tax rate). 
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The most important deductions available to corporations are described below. Unless 

noted otherwise, these are generally similar to deductions allowed to corporations in 

federal law. 


0 	 Trade or Business Expenses. Taxpayers are permitted to deduct the ordinary and 
necessary expenses of conducting a trade or business. Typical deductible 
expenses include compensation and fringe benefits for employees, the employer's 
portions of unemployment insurance and social security taxes, rent, utilities, 
advertising, and other similar current costs. Capital expenditures (that is, those 
that add to the value or useful life of property) cannot be deducted. Rather, they 
must be depreciated. (See Section 8 of this chapter.) 

./ 	Fines and Penalties Assessed by Professional Sports League. A corporation 
may deduct a fine or similar penalty paid to an entity other than the 
government as an ordinary and necessary business expense. Except, for 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, a professional sports 
franchise owner is prohibited from deducting certain fines and penalties under 
the Corporation Tax Law. 

0 	 Taxes. Corporations may deduct real and personal property taxes. Local, state, 
federal, and foreign income or profits taxes are not deductible. Sales taxes are 
also generally deductible; however, sales taxes incurred in the process of 
manufacturing or constructing property must be capitalized into the value of the 
property. 

0 	 Interest. In general, corporations may deduct all interest paid or accrued on 
business debts. While generally in conformity with federal law, California 
applies special rules to determine the interest expense of muJtistate and 
international corporations. 

0 	 Meals, Travel, Entertainment, and Private Club Expenses. Meal, travel, and 
entertainment costs are 50% deductible. Certain convention and cruise ship 
expenses are subject to special limitations. California conforms to the federal 
denial of club dues deductions. 

0 	 Charitable Contributions. Corporations may deduct the value of contributions to 
charitable or nonprofit organizations. The maximum deduction is 10% of net 
income; excess contributions may be carried over to the next five succeeding 
taxable years. Deductions for contributions of appreciated property (property that 
has increased in value) are generally limited to the basis (cost) of the property. 

Various other (more specialized) deductions are available to corporations. Some of these 
deductions are described below. 
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7. DIVIDENDS RECEIVED DEDUCTION 

Under present law, dividends received from general corporations may be eliminated if the 
corporation is a member of the taxpayers combined filing group. 

Prior California law allowed corporate taxpayers a dividend received deduction (DRD) 
for dividends received from corporations that were not part of the taxpayer's filing group. 
The purpose of the DRD was to avoid double taxation by California on income reported 
at the corporate level. The payor of the dividend had to pay California tax on the income 
from which the dividend was paid. Without DRD relief, the corporation receiving the 
dividend included the dividend in income. 

The DRD was computed as a percentage of the dividends received; the percentage varied 
depending upon the taxpayer's ownership interest in the payor corporation and whether 
the income of the payor corporation was subject to California income or franchise tax. 
The DRD was authorized for payments made by general corporations in Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) Section 24402; the DRD was authorized for payments made by 
an insurance corporation in R&TC Section 24410. 

The courts declared R&TC Sections 24402 and 24410 discriminatory against non­
Californian businesses and, therefore, unconstitutional. [See Farmer Bros. Co. v. 
Franchise Tax Board (2003) 108 Cal.App. 4th 976, cert. denied 540 U.S. 1178, and 
Ceridian Corp. v. Franchise Tax Board (2000) 85 Cal.App. 4th 875 (modified 86 
Cal.App. 4th 483).] The FTB, with concurrence from Legislative Counsel, holds that for 
taxable years beginning after December 1999, neither code section provides a DRD. 

In 2004, the Legislature responded to the Ceridian decision with AB 263 (Oropeza), 
Chapter 868, Statutes of 2004. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2004, 
and ending before January 1, 2008, corporations were allowed an 80% DRD. For taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, the deduction increased to 85% for dividends 
received from 80% or greater owned insurance companies. If the insurance company is 
overcapitalized (stuffed), the 80% DRD is phased out based on a "premiums-received-to­
total-income-eamed" ratio. 

No legislation has been enacted that amends R&TC Section 24402, which previously 
allowed a DRD for dividends received from general corporations. 

8. DEPRECIATION AND AMORTIZATION 

Depreciation and amortization deductions allow taxpayers to recover capital investments 
in assets over the useful lives of those assets by deducting reasonable allowances for the 
exhaustion or wear and tear of the property. The idea behind depreciation is that, since 
capital assets are used over several years, the cost of acquisition is similarly deducted 
over several years (rather than all at once in the year in which the asset is purchased). 
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Depreciation and amortization are allowed for property, other than land, used in a trade or 
business or for the production of income (investment), including most kinds of tangible 
property and improvements to real property, farm buildings, machinery and other 
physical assets. Intangible assets that may be amortized include copyrights, licenses, 
franchises, goodwill, and covenants not to compete. Depreciation is not allowed for 
property used for personal purposes, inventory and stock in trade, land, and depletable 
natural resources. (See Section 9 ofthis chapter.) 

For corporation tax purposes, California generally does not allow use of the federal 
depreciation system called the Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System (MACRS). 
Instead, California uses a depreciation system generally known as the Asset Depreciation 
Range (ADR) system, which is similar to that used in federal law for pre-1981 assets. 
The ADR system generally requires the use of longer useful lives and fewer accelerated 
depreciation methods than would be allowed under the federal MACRS system. 

Under the ADR system, assets are generally depreciated over the remaining useful life of 
the asset or over a designated "class life". Under this system, assets are grouped into 
more than 100 classes, and a guideline "life" for each class is established. For purposes 
of the ADR system, taxpayers may use a straight-line depreciation or certain rapid 
depreciation methods (such as double declining balance, 150% declining balance, sum­
of-the-years-digits, or other consistent methods). The amount that is to be depreciated is 
the property's basis, which is typically its cost when acquired. Any depreciation that 
would be greater than that computed under the straight-line method is considered excess 
depreciation and is subject to the alternative minimum tax. 

The Corporation Tax Law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code Section 179 expensing 
provisions as of January 1, 2009, to the same extent under the Personal Income Tax Law. 
That is, a corporate taxpayer with a sufficiently small amount of annual investment is 
able to elect to deduct up to $25,000 of the cost of qualifying property placed in service 
for the taxable year in lieu of the current law "additional first-year depreciation" of up to 
$2,000. The $25,000 amount is reduced (but not below zero) by the amount by which the 
cost of qualifying property placed in service during the taxable year exceeds $200,000. 

For the taxable year beginning before January l, 2014, state law allows taxpayers doing 
business in certain economic incentive areas such as Enterprise Zones (EZs), Local 
Agency Military Base Recovery Areas (LAMBRAs ), and Targeted Tax Areas (TT As) to 
treat the cost of qualified property as an expense in the year the property is placed in 
service in the area. Current law (AB 93 and SB 90 (Committee on Budget), Chapters 69 
and 70, Statues of 2013) repealed the economic incentive areas and added a new 
employment credit. (See Section 14 of this chapter.) 

9. DEPLETION 

California closely conforms to federal law in the area of depletion deductions. Depletion 
deductions allow owners of natural resources to recover the costs of the resource as it is 

61 




CHAPTER2C 
CORPORATION TAX 

extracted, harvested, or otherwise diminished. Depletion is to the owner of an oil or gas 
well or mineral or timber property what depreciation is to the owner of a capital asset. 

Depletion deductions are allowed to any taxpayer with an economic interest in a property 
containing depletable resources. Two alternative depletion computations are provided in 
both state and federal law. The taxpayer must compute the depletion amount both ways 
and may deduct the larger amount. The two methods are: 

0 	 Cost Depletion. Cost depletion requires the taxpayer to estimate the yield of 
the resource (e.g., 10 million barrels of oil). Then, the cost associated with 
extracting the resource is divided by the number of units. The resulting 
quotient is the cost depletion per unit. That amount multiplied by the number 
of units extracted and sold during the year determines the cost depletion that is 
deductible for the year. Each year, the cost basis of the property is reduced by 
the amount of depletion deducted for that year until the entire cost basis has 
been deducted. At that point, no additional cost depletion is allowed. 

0 	 Percentage Depletion. Most depletable property qualifies for this alternate 
computation method. However, it is not available for timber. Under 
percentage depletion, a flat statutorily set percentage of annual gross income 
from the natural resource property is taken as the depletion deduction each 
year. Thus, the deduction bears no relationship to the actual amount of the 
resource extracted during the year. However, the laws set an upper limit on 
the deduction of 5 0% of the taxable income from the property (100% for oil 
and gas properties). 

10. CARRYOVER OF NET OPERATING LOSSES 

Businesses incur "net operating losses" (NOLs) for tax purposes when allowable 
deductions exceed gross income. When deductions are less than gross income, the 
business has net income (i.e., shows a profit). A business may show a net operating loss 
for tax purposes without incurring actual out-of-pocket losses, due to the allowance of tax 
deductions for items that may not be actual out-of-pocket expenses, such as carryforward 
of deductions from prior years and depreciation. 

In a year when a business shows a net operating loss for tax purposes, the business is not 
required to pay any corporation taxes beyond the minimum franchise tax. 

Similar to federal law, California law generally allows businesses with NO Ls to carry 
over these losses and deduct them against income earned in future years. 

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2004, and before January 1, 2008, state law 
allows the following NO Ls: 
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NOL TYPE NOL % ALLOWED 
TO BE CARRIED OVER 

CARRYOVER 
PERIOD 

General NOL 100% 10 Years 

Specified Disaster Loss 100% 15 years 

Pierce's Disease 100% 9 Years 

Economic Development Areas 100% 15 Years 

In 2008, the following changes were made to NOLs: 

o 	 NOL deductions were suspended for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2010, for a corporation with net 
business income subject to tax of $500,000 or more. 

o 	 NOL deductions were suspended for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2010 and before January 1, 2012, for a corporation with pre­
apportioned income after state adjustments of $300,000 or more. 

o 	 The NOL carryover period is extended by four years for NOLs attributable to 
tax years beginning before January 1, 2008, three years for NOLs incurred in 
taxable year 2008, two years for NOLs incurred in taxable year 2009, and one 
year for NOLs incurred in taxable year 2010. 

o 	 The NOL carryover period is extended to 20 years for NOLs attributable to 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008. 

o 	 California conforms to the federal NOL carryback rules for NO Ls attributable 
to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, with the following 
modifications: 

An NOL may be carried back only two years. (Federal law has special 
rules that in some cases allow an NOL to be carried back for a longer 
period). 
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The carryback amount of an NOL attributable to taxable year 2013 is 
limited to 50% of the net operating loss. 

The carryback amount of an NOL attributable to taxable year 2014 is 
limited to 75% of the net operating loss. 

California conforms to the federal carry back period for a Real Estate 
Investment Trust (REIT) and a corporate equity reduction interest loss, 
which is zero. 

For taxable years beginning January 1, 2015 California law conform to 
federal provision that allows corporation expecting an NOL carryback to 
extend the time for payment of taxes for the immediate preceding taxable 
year. 

11. DISASTER LOSS DEDUCTION 

A disaster loss occurs when business or personal property is completely or partially 
destroyed as a result of a fire, storm, flood, or other natural event. Federal law, Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC) Section 165(i), allows a taxpayer who suffers a disaster loss to elect 
to deduct the loss in the year immediately preceding the year the disaster occurred if it is 
a Presidentially declared disaster loss. Similarly, under state law, a taxpayer can elect to 
file an amended return to deduct a disaster loss in the taxable year prior to the loss year 
for any Presidentially declared disaster. For taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2024, taxpayers may elect disaster loss treatment 
under IRC Section 165(i) for any losses sustained in any California city or county 
proclaimed by the Governor to be in a state of emergency. In addition, California allows 
an extended time for filing an amended return beyond the time allowed under federal law. 

12. TREATMENT OF S CORPORATIONS 

"S corporations" are named for a subchapter of federal income tax laws (United States 
Code, Title 26, Subchapter S) that grant certain corporations special tax treatment. 

As defined by federal law, S corporations are domestic corporations with 100 or fewer 
shareholders, only one class of stock, no shareholders other than individuals, estates, 
trusts, and certain exempt organizations, and not a member of an affiliated group. In 
general, S corporations must be involved in an active trade or business and are limited 
with respect to the amount of passive investment income from royalties, dividends, and 
interest they may receive. Corporations that meet these definitions may elect to be 
exempt from the federal corporate tax, and instead pass through the corporation's taxable 
income to its individual shareholders. 

A corporation's California tax status must be the same as its federal tax status. That is, a 
corporation that elects to be taxed as an S corporation for federal purposes must be taxed 
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as an S corporation for California tax purposes. Similarly, a corporation cannot be an S 
corporation for California tax purposes unless it has a valid federal S election in place. 

Once a business elects S corporation status, its corporate income is taxed at a rate of 1.5% 
(a financial institution that is an S corporation is subject to the additional 2% bank tax; 
see Section 5 of this chapter) instead of the normal 8.84%, and credits are limited to one­
third of the C corporation credit amounts. One hundred percent of the corporation's items 
of income, loss, deduction, and credits are passed through to the shareholders in 
accordance with their respective interests in the corporation. 

Federal and state laws permit S corporations to own 100% of another domestic 
corporation and to make an election to treat the owned corporation as a Qualified 
Subchapter S Subsidiary (QSub ). All of the activities, assets, liabilities, income, 
deductions, and losses of the QSub are treated as the activities, assets, liabilities, income, 
deductions, and losses of the parent S corporation. The parent S corporation pays tax on 
the entire amount of income reported and passes the full amount through to its 
shareholders. California law imposes a tax equal to the minimum franchise tax to the 
QSub. 

Under California law, S corporations are permitted to use the MACRS depreciation 
system (described in Section 8 of this chapter) rather than the ADR system. In addition, 
California S corporations are not subject to the alternative minimum tax. (See Section 15 
of this chapter.) 

13. CAPITAL GAINS AND LOSSES 

Capital gains are profits from the sale of property and other capital assets. Capital assets 
are defined as all property except the following: inventories, property held for sale in the 
ordinary course of business, depreciable business property, and real property used in 
business. Capital assets include real property (land and buildings), personal property, and 
intangible assets (such as stock). 

Capital gains are measured as the difference between the amount realized when the asset 
is sold and the asset's basis (normally the original purchase price). Any amounts invested 
in improvements are added to the basis; costs of the sale are deducted from the sales 
price. The gain is generally recognized in the year the asset is sold or exchanged. 

Capital gains classified as a different type of income from the "ordinary income" of a 
corporation arising from its trade or business activities. Under both federal and 
California law, corporate capital gains are taxed the same as ordinary income; that is, 
they are fully includible in income subject to tax. Under California and federal law, 
corporate capital losses may be fully deducted against capital gains, but excess capital 
losses cannot be deducted against ordinary income. Both California and federal law 
provide that these excess losses may be carried forward for five years and deducted 
against capital gains in future years. Both laws allow 100% capital loss carryforwards. 
Federal law permits a three-year carryback in addition to the carryover. 
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14. TAX CREDITS 

Tax credits reduce tax liability dollar for dollar, but not below the annual minimum tax, if 
applicable. Thus, they operate differently from deductions, whose value in reducing tax 
liability equals the amount of the deduction multiplied by the highest marginal tax rate to 
which the taxpayer is subject. (See Section 6 ofthis chapter.) 

Tax credits available under the corporation tax are intended to provide businesses 
incentives to engage in certain activities that are socially or economically desirable. Most 
credits are also available to businesses that file under the Personal Income Tax Law. The 
amount of tax credits allowable in any taxable year may be limited by the taxpayer's 
alternative minimum tax liability or by tentative minimum tax. (See Section 14 of this 
chapter.) 

Some of the tax credits allowed in state law are similar to credits offered in federal law. 
However, in most cases, the federal credit amounts are greater because the federal tax 
burden is approximately four times greater than California's. This can be seen by 
comparing the rate structures: California's corporate rate is 8.84%, while the top federal 
corporate rate is 35%. As a result, many state income tax credits patterned after federal 
credits are roughly one-fourth the size of the federal credit. 

2008-2009 Credit Limitation. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008 
and before January 1, 2010, business credits are limited for taxpayers with income 
subject to tax greater than $500,000. Total business credits are limited to 50% of tax 
(before the application of credits). The carryover period for any credit that is limited is 
increased by the number of taxable years the credit (or any portion thereof) is not 
allowed. 

Credit Assignments. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2008, a 
member of a combined reporting group, when certain conditions are met, may make an 
irrevocable assignment of a credit or available credit carryover to another member of the 
combined reporting group. Assigned credits may be used to reduce tax in taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2010. 

Several of the major credits in California Corporation Tax Law are described below: 

Donated Agricultural Product Transportation Credit. Taxpayers may claim a tax 
credit equal to 50% of the costs for transporting donated agricultural products to a 
nonprofit organization. 

Upon receipt or delivery of the donated agricultural product, the nonprofit organization 
must provide the transporter a certificate signed and dated by an authorized representative 
of the organization. The certificate must state the name and address of the recipient 
organization, the type and quantity of the product donated, the distance the product was 
transported, the name of the transporter and the taxpayer donor, and that the product was 
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donated pursuant to the Food and Agriculture Code. The taxpayer must provide a copy 
of the certificate to the FTB upon request. 

The agricultural products transportation credit applies to taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 1996. This credit may be carried over until exhausted and may not 
reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 

Donated Fresh Fruits or Fresh Vegetables Credit. Qualified taxpayers may claim a 
credit equal to 10% of the costs of fresh fruits or fresh vegetables donated to a California 
food bank. 

A "qualified taxpayer" is defined as the person responsible for planting the crop, 
managing the crop, and harvesting the crop from the land. The cost of donated fresh 
fruits or fresh vegetables is the cost of those products that would otherwise be included in 
inventory costs. Generally, inventory costs would include both the direct costs and the 
allocated indirect costs required to produce the fresh fruits or fresh vegetables. Because 
inventory costs are costs of doing business, the credit is available only to a business that 
is also a qualified taxpayer. 

The recipient of a donation of fresh fruits or fresh vegetables must provide to the donor 
certification of the type and quantity of the products donated, the name of the donor or 
donors, the name and address of the donee nonprofit organization, and, as provided by 
the donor, the estimated value of the donated products and the location where the donated 
product was grown. A donor that is a qualified taxpayer must provide a copy of the 
certificate to the FTB upon request. 

The fresh fruits and fresh vegetables credit applies to taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2012, and before January 1, 2017. This credit may be carried forward for up 
to six years and may not reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 

Disabled Access Credit. For both personal income and corporation taxpayers, 
California law allows a 50% credit to eligible small businesses for expenses incurred up 
to $250 to comply with the federal Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. The 
disabled access credit applies to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1996 and 
continues indefinitely. This credit may be carried over until exhausted and may not 
reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. There is also a 
comparable federal credit. 

Enhanced Oil Recovery Credit. Federal law allows taxpayers an enhanced oil recovery 
credit that is combined with several other credits to form the general business credit. 

This credit is allowed in an amount up to 15% of the taxpayer's qualified enhanced oil 
recovery costs. The qualified costs are defined as amounts paid or incurred for qualifying 
tangible property that may be depreciated or amortized and are an integral part of a 
qualified enhanced oil recovery project involving one or more tertiary recovery methods. 
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If a credit is allowed for these costs, the amount otherwise deductible or required to be 
depreciated or recovered through depletion must be reduced by the amount of the 
allowable credit. 

The California enhanced oil recovery credit amount is one-third of the taxpayer's allowed 
federal enhanced oil recovery credit. The state credit applies only to oil recovery projects 
located within California. 

A taxpayer's election not to take the credit for federal purposes prevents the taxpayer 
from claiming a state credit. 

The enhanced oil recovery credit applies to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
1996 and continues indefinitely. This credit may be carried over for up to 15 years and 
may not reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 

Community Development Financial Institution Deposit Credit. Under the 
Corporation Tax Law and the Personal Income Tax Law, a credit is allowed for 20% of 
the amount of each "qualified deposit" into a "community development financial 
institution" (CDFI). A qualified deposit is defined, as is equal to or greater than $50,000 
and made for a minimum duration of 60 months. A CDFI is defined as a private financial 
institution located in California and certified by the California Organized Investment 
Network as an entity with community development as its primary mission. CDFis may 
lend in urban, rural, or reservation-based communities in California. A CDFI may 
include a community development bank, a community development loan fund, a 
community development credit union, a micro-enterprise fund, a community 
development corporation-based lender, and community development venture fund. 

The aggregate amount of qualified deposits made by all taxpayers is limited to $50 
million for each calendar year, thus limiting the value of the credit to $10 million 
annually. 

Any previously allowed credit will be recaptured if the qualified deposit is withdrawn 
before the end of the 60th month and not re-deposited or reinvested in another CDFI 
within 60 days. However, the recapture penalty is lower if the full amount invested is not 
withdrawn. An amount equal to 20% of any reduction in the qualified deposit will be 
recaptured if the qualified deposit is reduced before the end of the 60th month, but not 
below $50,000. 

This credit is effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1997 and before 
January 1, 2017. This credit may be carried over for up to four years and may not reduce 
the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 

Employer-Provided Child Care. The Employer-Provided Child Care Credit discussed 
below was repealed by its own terms on December 1, 2012 and any unused credits can be 
carried over until exhausted. 

68 




CHAPTER2C 
CORPORATION TAX 

California allowed credits to employers under both the personal income tax and the 
corporation tax for providing child care services to their employees. 

Specifically: (a) a 30% credit was allowed to employers or building owners for the costs 
of start-up expenses related to establishing or expanding a child care program or 
constructing an on-site or near-site child care facility for employees' or tenants' 
dependents; (b) a 30% credit was allowed for employer costs to operate child care 
information and referral services, with a maximum dollar credit; and (c) a 30% credit was 
allowed for employer contributions to child care arrangements for employees' children 
under the age of 12, such as on-site service, center-based service, home provider care or 
in-home care; this credit could not exceed $360 per year per child. Only amounts paid 
directly by employers to child care providers qualify for the credit. There are no 
comparable federal credits. 

Low-Income Housing Construction and Rehabilitation. California allows a tax credit 
against the personal income tax, corporation tax, and insurance gross premiums tax for 
construction or rehabilitation of low-income housing in California. The credit is equal to 
30% of amounts invested and is claimed over four years (9%, 9%, 9%, and 3%). Except 
in certain cases, it is available in addition to the comparable credit offered under federal 
law (9% annually for 10 years for nonsubsidized housing, 4% annually for 10 years for 
subsidized housing). 

To qualify for the state credit, a taxpayer must receive an allocation from the Tax Credit 
Allocation Committee, and the rents must be maintained at low-income levels for 30 
years (compared to 15 years for the federal credit). For buildings located in certain areas 
or census tracts, the federal credit must be reduced for the state credit to be claimed. 

Corporations may elect to assign any portion of the credit to an affiliated bank or 
corporation. This credit can reduce regular tax below tentative minimum tax. The state 
credit will remain in effect as long as the federal credit remains in effect. The federal 
credit was made permanent by the Revenue Reconciliation Act of 1993. Federal law 
provides more than $50 million in credits annually to California. California offers $70 
million in state credits. 

Farmworker Housing Credit. Beginning January I, 2009, the standalone Farmworker 
Housing Credit (FWHC) discussed below was repealed [SB 1247 (Lowenthal), Chapter 
521, Statutes of 2008] and is now incorporated within and required to be administered as 
part of the LIHC program. 

The standalone FWHC was available for the taxable years 1997 through 2008 and 
allowed personal and corporate taxpayers a 50% credit for the qualified costs of 
construction or rehabilitation of qualified farmworker housing beginning January 1, 1997. 
For banks and financial corporations, California law also allowed a 50% credit on below­
market rate loans used to finance the construction or rehabilitation of qualified 
farmworker housing. The credit equaled 50% of the difference between the amount of 
interest income that would have been collected by a bank or financial corporation had the 
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loan rate been one point above prime and the lesser amount of interest income actually 
due for the term of the loan. 

The aggregate amount of both credits available for allocation could not exceed $500,000 
for any taxable year. However, any unallocated credits left over during one year was able 
to be carried forward for allocation during subsequent years. 

Research Expenditures. California allows a tax credit under the personal income tax 
and the corporation tax for incremental research expenditures made during the year 
California conforms to the federal research credit as of the "specified date" of January 1, 
2015 with significant modifications. California specifically does not conform to the 
federal research credit termination date; thus, unlike the federal credit, the California 
research credit is permanent. Other California modifications are discussed below 

Research Expenditures. California allows a tax credit under the personal income tax 
and the corporation tax for incremental research expenditures made during the year. For 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, California conforms to the federal 
research credit as of the "specified date" of January 1, 2009, with significant 
modifications. California specifically does not conform to the federal research credit 
termination date; thus, unlike the federal credit, the California research credit is 
permanent. Other California modifications are discussed below. 

California Credit Percentages. California modifies: 

1) The federal 20% general credit to be 15% of qualified expenses; and, 

2) The federal 20% university "basic research" credit to be 24% of qualified expenses. 

California Research. The terms "qualified research" and "basic research" include only 
research conducted in California. In computing gross receipts under IRC Section 
4l(c)(5), only gross receipts from the sale of property held for sale in the ordinary course 
or business, that is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within California, will be included. 
Qualified research expenses are modified to exclude any amount paid or incurred for 
tangible personal property that is eligible for the exemption from sales or use tax under 
R&TC Section 6378. 

University "Basic Research" Expenses. Similar to federal law, only corporations qualify 
for the credit for the university "basic research" credit. However, California modifies 
"basic research'' to include any basic or applied research including scientific inquiry or 
original investigation for advancement of scientific or engineering knowledge or the 
improved effectiveness of commercial products, except the term does not include any of 
the following: 

1) Basic research conducted outside California; 
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2) 	 Basic research in social sciences, arts or humanities; 

3) 	 Basic research for purposes of improving a commercial product ifthe improvements 
relate to style, taste, cosmetic, or seasonal design factors; or, 

4) 	 Any expenditure paid or incurred to ascertain existence, location, extent, or quality of 
any deposit of ore or other mineral, including oil or gas. 

Alternative Incremental Research Credit. California conforms to the alternative 
incremental credit as of the "specified date" of January 1, 2015, with modifications. For 
California purposes, the federal credit rates of 3%, 4%, and 5% are modified to be 1.49%, 
1.98%, and 2.48%, respectively. The federal alternative incremental credit expired on 
12/31/2008; however taxpayers are allowed to elect the alternative incremental credit 
even though they can no longer elect it for federal purposes. 

Alternative Simplified Credit. California specifically does not conform to the alternative 
simplified credit. 

Eligible Expenses. California generally conforms to the federal rules for eligible 
expenses, but does not conform to the special rules that allow qualified research expenses 
to include 100% of amounts paid or incurred by the taxpayer to an eligible small 
business, university, or federal laboratory for qualified energy research. 

Enterprise Zones (EZs), Targeted Tax Areas (TTAs), Manufacturing Enhancement 
Areas (MEAs ), and Local Agency Military Base Recovery Areas (LAMBRAs) 
Incentives. For taxable years beginning before January 1, 2014, California provided an 
array of tax incentives to businesses and their employees located in designated EZs, 
TTAs, MEAs and LAMBRAs. These designated zones and areas are economically 
depressed areas of the state designated by the Department of Housing and Community 
Development. Federal law provides limited benefits to a very small number of 
"Empowerment Zones" and "Enterprise Communities". Some of these federal zones 
partially overlap California's geographically based economic incentive areas. Regions of 
overlap include Los Angeles, Santa Ana, San Diego, San Francisco, Oakland, Imperial 
County, Watsonville, and Fresno. California's tax incentives include: 

0 	 For EZs. A tax credit for sales or use taxes paid on the purchase of qualified 
machinery and machinery parts, (which can reduce regular tax below tentative 
minimum tax (TMT)); a tax credit to employers for wages paid to qualified 
employees working in the zone (which can also reduce regular tax below 
TMT); a tax deduction for net interest income arising from loans made to zone 
businesses; and expensing of all or part of the cost of qualified property. 

0 For LAMBRA. A tax credit for sales or use taxes paid on the purchases of 
qualified machinery and machinery parts; a tax credit to employers for wages 
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paid to qualified employees working in the area; and expensing of all or part 
of the cost of qualified property. 

0 The EZs and the LAMBRAs were repealed on 111114. Taxpayers may 
continue to generate new EZ and LAMBRA hiring credit for full 60 months 
for wages paid or incurred for qualified employees hired before 111114. 
Taxpayers qualify for the EZ and LAMBRA sales and use tax credit for 
qualified property purchased and placed in service on or before January l, 
2014. The business expense deduction can only be claimed on qualified 
property purchased and placed in service on or before January 112014. Unused 
credits may be carried forward up to 10 years. 

0 	 For TTAs. A tax credit for sales or use taxes paid on the purchase of qualified 
machinery and machinery parts, a tax credit for wages paid to qualified 
employees working in the targeted tax area, and expensing of all or part of the 
cost of qualified property. Both credits can reduce regular tax below tentative 
minimum tax. 

0 	 For MEAs. A credit for wages paid to qualified employees working in the 
MEA. 

The TTAs and the MEAs were repealed on December 31, 2012. Taxpayers may 
continue to generate new TTA and MEA hiring credit for full 60 months for 
wages paid or incurred for qualified employees hired before December 31 , 2012. 
Taxpayers qualify for the TTA sales and use tax credit for qualified property 
purchased and placed in service on or before December 31 , 2012. The TTA 
business expense deduction can only be claimed on qualified property purchased 
and placed in service on or before. Unused credits may be carried forward up to 
IO years . 

Prior-Year Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT) Credit. While the AMT ensures that a 
taxpayer's tax liability is not reduced to zero by tax preferences, the purpose is not to 
eliminate the use of the tax preferences, but to defer them. (See Section 14 for a 
discussion of the AMT.) The prior-year AMT credit is allowed for AMT paid in a prior 
year by taxpayers that are not liable for AMT in the current year. The amount of the 
allowable credit in any tax year is limited to the regular tax less the refundable credits 
(with no carryover provisions and the credit for taxes paid to other states). The credit 
may be claimed by both personal income and bank and corporation tax filers. 

Prison Inmate Labor. A credit is allowed for 10% of the amount of wages paid to each 
prisoner employed in a joint venture pursuant to an agreement with the Director of 
Corrections. 

New Jobs Tax Credit. California allows a New Jobs Tax credit, for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2009 and before January 1, 2014, to a qualified employer 
in the amount of $3 ,000 for each qualified full-time employee hired in the taxable year, 
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determined on an annual full-time equivalent basis. The credit is allocated by the FTB 
and has a cap of $400 million for all taxable years. The credit remains in effect until 
December 1 of the calendar year after the year in which the cumulative credit limit has 
been reached and is repealed as of that date. Any credits not used in the taxable year may 
be carried forward up to eight years. 

New Employment Credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, and 
before January 1, 2021, California allows a New Employment Credit to qualified 
employers, paying qualified wages, to qualified employees. The credit is equal to 35% of 
the amount of wages paid between 150% and 350% of minimum wage. The credit may 
be generated up to five consecutive years for the same employee as long as the employee 
remains employed. Any credits not used in the taxable year may be carried forward for 
up to five years. 

California Competes Credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014 
and before January 1, 2021, California allows a California Competes credit to be 
allocated to chosen California companies. The amount of the credit and the companies 
chosen to receive the credit would be determined by a California Competes committee, 
"Go-Biz". Go Biz will ensure that the aggregate credit amount allocated to all companies 
does not exceed $30,000,000 for the 2013-14 fiscal year; $150,000,000 for the 2014-15 
fiscal year; and $200,000,000 for each fiscal year from 2015-16 to 2017-18, inclusive. 
The amount available to be allocated in any given fiscal year may be adjusted if the 
amount available in a prior year was not allocated, or an amount allocated was 
recaptured, or if the Department of Finance determines that the amount allocated under 
this credit, the New Hiring Tax Credit, and manufacturing sales and use tax exemption 
exceeds $750,000,000 in specified fiscal years. 

California Motion Picture and Television Production Credit. For taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2011, the credit that is allocated and certified by the 
California Film Commission (Commission) is 20% of expenditures attributable to a 
qualified motion picture and 25% of production expenditures attributable to an 
independent film or a TV series that relocates to California. 

The annual allocation of credits is capped at $100 million. A qualified taxpayer may sell 
an independent film credit to an unrelated party. In lieu of claiming the new credit on the 
income tax return, the qualified taxpayer is allowed to make an irrevocable election to 
apply the credit amount against the qualified sales and use tax. This credit may reduce a 
corporate taxpayer's tax below tentative minimum tax. This credit allows any unused 
credits amounts to be carried forward for up to six years and expires July 1, 2017. 

California Motion Picture Production Credit. California allows a new motion picture 
credit for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016. The credit is subject to a 
computation, ranking, and allocation by the Commission of an amount equal to 20% or 
25%, whichever is the applicable credit percentage of the qualified expenditures for the 
production of a qualified motion picture in California. Any qualified expenditure 
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amounts that were included in the calculation of the existing "California Motion Picture 
and Television Production Credit" are ineligible for this new credit. 

The annual allocation of credits is capped at $230 million for the 2015-16 fiscal year and 
increased to $330 million for the 2016-17 fiscal year, through and including the 2019-20 
fiscal year. Similar to the California Motion Picture and Television Production Credit, 
the Commission administers this credit and authorizes the allocation of tax credits. A 
qualified taxpayer may sell an independent file credit to an unrelated party. In lieu of 
claiming the new credit on the income tax return, the qualified taxpayer is allowed to 
make an irrevocable election to apply the credit amount against the qualified sales and 
use tax. This credit may reduce a corporate taxpayer's tax below tentative minimum tax. 
This credit allows any unused credits amounts to be carried forward for up to six years 
and expires July 1, 2020. 

New Advanced Strategic Aircraft Program for the US Air Force Employment 
Credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, and before January 1, 
2030, a qualified taxpayer is allowed a tax credit in an amount equal to 17 1/2% of wages 
paid by a qualified taxpayer during the taxable year to qualified full-time employees 
multiplied by an annual full-time equivalent ratio. The credit is administered by the FTB 
and capped at $25 million in years 1 through 5, $28 million in years 6 through 10, and 
$31 million in years 11 through 15. 

Natural Heritage Preservation Credit. California allows a credit for contributions of 
real property for the protection of wildlife habitat, open space, and agriculture lands. The 
credit is equal to 55% of the fair market value of a qualified contribution as approved for 
acceptance by the California Wildlife Conservation Board. California extended the 
sunset date of the credit for five years, to June 30, 2020; and for contributions made on or 
after January 1, 2015, extended the carryover period from 8 to 15 years. 

College Access Tax Credit Fund. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2014, and before January 1, 2018, a taxpayer is allowed a credit for cash contributions 
made to the College Access Tax Credit Fund. The College Access Tax Credit Fund has 
an aggregate credit cap of $500 million per calendar year. The California Educational 
Facilities Authority is responsible to administer, allocate, and certify the credit. The 
credit is calculated based on the following: (1) 60% of the amount contributed that is 
certified and allocated for the 2014 taxable year; (2) 55% of the amount contributed that 
is certified and allocated for the 2015 taxable year; and (3) 50% of the amount 
contributed that is certified and allocated for the 2016 and 2017 taxable years. This credit 
may reduce a corporate taxpayer's tax below the tentative minimum tax. Unused credit 
may be carried forward up to six years. 

15. ALTERNATIVE MINIMUM TAX (AMT) 

Corporate taxpayers that take advantage of certain tax preferences (exemptions, deferrals, 
or deductions) must compute an AMT at a 6.65% rate (C corporations) or 8.65% rate (for 
banks and financial institutions) and pay this if it exceeds the amount of regular tax due. 
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The purpose of the AMT is to ensure that taxpayers who take advantage of special tax 
reduction provisions in the tax code pay at least some minimum amount of tax on income 
receiving preferential treatment. These AMT rules generally conform to federal law, 
which imposes the corporate AMT at a 20% rate. 

Computation of the AMT is rather complex. In simplified terms, the taxpayer is required 
to first compute the regular tax, using the rules described in this chapter and applying the 
regular corporate rate of 8.84%. Then the taxpayer must compute the "tentative 
minimum tax," which is calculated by including more income and by adding back certain 
tax preferences that were claimed during the first calculation, then subtracting an 
exemption amount ($40,000 for corporations) and applying the AMT rate of 6.65% (for 
C corporations) or 8.65% (for banks and financial institutions) to the difference. If the 
"tentative minimum tax" is higher than the computed regular tax, then the difference is 
the AMT due, which must be paid in addition to the regular tax. 

A simple example of this procedure is shown in Table 5. 

These rules for corporations generally apply to personal income taxpayers as well. 

AMT has an important interaction with tax credits. Most credits can reduce regular tax 
down to, but not below, TMT. However, specific credits are available to reduce regular 
tax below TMT to determine a taxpayer's regular tax liability. These credits include: 

0 California Competes Credit; 
0 College Access Tax Credit 
0 Enterprise zone hiring credit; 
0 Enterprise zone sales or use tax credit; 
0 Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ) construction hiring credit carryover; 
0 LARZ hiring credit carryover; 
0 LARZ sales or use tax credit carryover; 
0 Low-income housing credit; 
0 Manufacturers' investment credit carryover. 
0 Program area hiring credit carryover; 
0 Program area sales or use tax credit carryover; 
0 Research and development credit; 
0 Solar energy credit carryover; and, 
0 Targeted Tax Area hiring credit. 
0 Motion picture and television production credit; and, 
0 Motion picture production credit. 

In addition, the solar energy credit carryover and commercial solar energy credit 
carryover can reduce a taxpayer's alternative minimum tax liability. 
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TABLES 

EXAMPLE: COMPUTATION OF ALTERNATIVE MINIMUM TAX (AMT) 
FOR A HYPOTHETICAL CORPORATION 

Regular Tax Computation: 

1) Income of $500,000 less deductions of $300,000 = 
Net Income of $200,000 times 8.84% rate = 

Regular Tax of. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $1 7,680 

2) Tentative Minimum Tax Computation: 

Income of $500,000 less deductions of $300,000 
plus income adjustments of $50,000 plus tax preferences added back of $100,000 = 
Alternative Minimum Taxable Income of $350,000 less exemption of $40,000 = 

$310,000 times 6.65% rate = 

Tentative Minimum Tax of .......... .... .. . ............... . $20,615 

3) Difference between Tentative Minimum Tax and Regular Tax 
[$20,615 less $17,680] = 

AMOUNT of . . .. . . . . . . . . . . .. . .. . . .. . .. .. . . .. ....... . . ... . $ 2,935 

4) Total Tax Computation: 

Regular Tax plus AMT [$17,680 plus $2,935] = 

Total Tax Liability of . ....... ... . .... . . . . . . ................$20,615 

Tax preference items and required adjustments are generally similar to those in federal 
law. Specific rules for computing each of these are provided in the law. 

16. TAX EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS 

In 2014, approximately 137,570 organizations filed returns as exempt from the 
corporation tax. In general, these organizations can be described as nonprofit 
educational, religious, charitable, literary, scientific, civic, fraternal , and social 
organizations. State and federal rules for qualifying as a tax-exempt organization are 
nearly identical. 
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There are restrictions on the amount of lobbying in which such organizations may engage 
and retain their tax-exempt status. 

Certain nonprofit business and labor organizations, chambers of commerce, real estate 
boards, cemeteries, certain political organizations, and various beneficiary and retirement 
organizations may qualify for tax exempt status. 

Almost all organizations that are exempt from the corporation tax nonetheless are subject 
to tax on "unrelated business income" (UBI) in excess of $1,000 per year. The UBI is 
income from a trade or business activity that is regularly carried on and is not related to 
the organization's exempt purpose. The tax rate on UBI is the regular corporate rate of 
8.84%. Businesses that are taxed on UBI are not subject to the minimum franchise tax. 

17. REVENUE 

The corporation tax is the third largest source of General Fund revenue. In fiscal year 
(FY) 2015-16, the corporation tax generated approximately 10.3 billion 

18. ADMINISTRATION 

The FIB administers the corporation tax, and also is charged with setting the bank tax 
rate each year. 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, estimated payments of tax 
liability are due as follows: 

1st quarter installment 30% of estimated tax 0 

0 2nd quarter installment 40% of estimated tax 
3rd quarter installment 0% of estimated tax 0 

0 4th quarter installment 30% of estimated tax 

Corporate taxpayers who are not required to make an estimate payment installment in the 
first quarter are required to make the following installment payments in subsequent 
quarters: 

o 2nd quarter installment 60% of estimated tax 
o 3rd quarter installment 0% of estimated tax 
o 4th quarter installment 40% of estimated tax 

Corporate taxpayers who are not required to make an estimate payment installment in the 
first two quarters are required to make the following installment payments in subsequent 
quarters: 

o 3rd quarter installment 70% of estimated tax 
o 4th quarter installment 30% of estimated tax 
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Corporate taxpayers who are not required to make an estimate payment installment in the 
first three quarters are required to pay 100% in the fourth quarter. 

Returns are due on the 15th day of the third month following the close of the taxable 
year. Taxpayers are subject to penalties if estimated payments remitted over the course 
of the year are less than prescribed minimum percentages of tax liability. 

Taxpayer appeals of disputed tax assessments are made first to the FTB, then to the 
Board of Equalization (BOE). After payment, taxpayers may appeal in the courts. 

Taxpayers may post deposits with the FTB in lieu ofpaying disputed tax assessments. 
Taxpayer appeals of denied refund claims may be made either to the BOE or in state 
court. 

The paperless automatic extension program, similar to the program for personal income 
taxpayers, grants a seven-month automatic extension ohime to file the tax return for all 
corporations that are not suspended. California banks and corporations are still required 
to pay 100% of the current tax liability by the 15th day of the third month following the 
close of the taxable year. Taxpayers who owe additional tax are required to send in their 
payment coupon by their original due date. 

As under current law, taxpayers who do not pay 100% of the tax liability by their original 
due date will owe interest and will be assessed the late-payment penalty. A return filed 
by the extended due date, with or without 100% of the tax liability paid by the original 
due date, will be considered to be a timely-filed return. 

Electronic Funds Transfer Requirement. Taxpayers subject to the Corporation Tax 
Law and that meet certain requirements must pay all tax liabilities, both estimated 
payments and any tax due with the return, via electronic funds transfer. 

In general, taxpayers subject to Corporation Tax Law must pay via electronic funds 
transfer if any quarterly estimated tax payment exceeds $20,000 or their total tax liability 
exceeds $80,000. In addition, any taxpayer may use electronic funds transfer if the FTB 
grants permission to a request from the taxpayer. 

Change Use Tax to First Priority for Taxes Paid on FTB State Tax Returns. AB 
2758 (Revenue and Taxation Committee), Chapter 541, Statutes of 2014, modified the 
priority of payments related to use tax reported on the tax return. Effective January 1, 
2015, use tax liability replaces income tax liability as the first priority for payment. 

Like-Kind Exchanges. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, 
California requires taxpayers who exchange property located in California for like-kind 
property located outside of California and meet all of the requirements of IRC Section 
1031 to file an annual information return with the FTB. 
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Requirement for Certain Business Entities to E-File. For returns filed on or after 
January 1, 2015, California requires any business entity that files an original or amended 
tax return that is prepared using tax preparation software to e-file their tax return with the 
FTB, as specified. 

Equal Tax Treatment of Nonqualified Foreign Limited Liability Companies (LLCs) 
for Contract Voidability/Check-the-Box Regulations. Effective immediately, 
California added foreign nonqualified LLCs to the definition of a taxpayer. as it relates to 
contract voidability meaning foreign nonqualified LLCs are now subject to the same 
terms of contract voidability as foreign nonqualified corporations. 

California law requires the classification of a business entity to be consistent with federal 
regulations (known as "check-the-box regulations") as in effect January 1, 1997. The 
check-the-box regulations provide that an entity may elect how it will be classified for 
federal tax purposes: as a corporation, a partnership, or an entity disregarded as separate 
from its owner. In the absence of an election, default classification are provided. 
California modified the check-the-box statte regulations date to be consistent with the 
federal check-the-box regulations due to May 1, 2014 (previously January 1, 1997). 

FTB Collect Restitutions Orders Referred by Counties. California authorized counties 
that elect to collect restitution fines or penalties to refer the debts to the FTB for 
collection on or after January 1, 2015. Effective June 15, 2015, SB 84 (Committee on 
Budget and Fiscal Review) Chapter 25 Statues of 2015 added unpaid tolls, tolls evasion 
penalties, and related administrative or service fees to the list of delinquent accounts that 
the FTB is authorized to collect on behalf of the Department of Motor Vehicles. 

19. CODE 

California Constitution, Article XIII, Sections 26 and 27 

Revenue and Taxation Code, Division 2, Part 10.2, Sections 18401-19802 and 
Part 11, Sections 23001-25141 
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HIGHLIGHTS 

• Unitary Corporations 

• Combination 

• Apportionment of Income 

• Worldwide Combination 

• Water's-Edge Combination 

• Business Versus Nonbusiness Income 

• Federal Treatment of Multinational Corporations 

1. INTRODUCTION 

When a corporation derives income from sources both within and outside of California, it 
is necessary to determine what portion of total corporate income is earned in California 
and is subject to tax in this state. 

The method used by California and many other states is called the "unitary method." It 
applies to both multistate and multinational corporations. 

The unitary method was developed early in the history of state corporate taxation as an 
alternative to the so-called "source method", which attempts to identify the geographic 
source of each corporate income stream. The source method is inadequate because it 
failed to reflect that a corporation's income is earned as the result of all its activities in all 
locations. An attempt to identify one geographic source of the earnings does not 
accurately reflect the contribution of all corporate activities to the ultimate profitability of 
the company. In addition, the source method is inadequate because multistate and 
multinational corporations have the ability to manipulate their internal accounts so as to 
shift profits earned in California or another high tax state into a state with low or no taxes 
on corporate income (or conversely, shift losses to high tax states). 
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In contrast, the unitary method combines total corporate income, then uses a formula to 
apportion total income to the taxing jurisdictions within which the corporation does 
business. This method has the advantages of reflecting the contribution of all corporate 
activities to overall profit, and of making the assignment of income and expenses to 
divisions within the corporation, or to particular geographic locations, irrelevant to the 
determination of tax liability. 

The use of the unitary method by states has been quite controversial over the years. Most 
of the controversy has centered on the application of the unitary method to multinational 
corporations. In general, use of the unitary method to apportion income of multistate 
corporations operating only in the United States has received relatively little challenge. 
Further discussion of the controversy surrounding worldwide combination and 
apportionment is provided in Section 5 of this chapter. 

The unitary method is a very complex area of tax law, and it has developed over the years 
through statutory provisions, regulations of the Franchise Tax Board (FTB), decisions on 
taxpayer appeals by the quasi-judicial Board of Equalization (BOE), and judicial 
decisions in both state and federal courts. 

2. UNITARY CORPORA TIO NS 

The unitary method applies to single corporations doing business both within and outside 
of California. It also applies to groups of affiliated corporations that, in effect, operate as 
one integrated business. When a group of corporations operates as a "unit" (i.e., is 
'unitary'), that group is treated as if it were one corporation and is subject to the unitary 
method. 

A single corporation or a group of affiliated corporations may conduct more than one 
unitary business. In those circumstances, each unitary business is accounted for 
separately. A corporation may also have "investment" activities that are accounted for 
separately from the unitary business. (See Section 7 below on Business versus 
Nonbusiness income.) 

Whether a group of corporations comprise a unitary group is a complex determination 
that must be made based on the facts and circumstances of each corporate group. This is 
also an area where the law is still developing. Taxpayers and the FTB determine whether 
a group of affiliated corporations is unitary by means of three general tests that have 
grown out of a body ofjudicial opinions. These are (a) the three unities test, (b) the 
contributions and dependency test, and ( c) the functional integration test. A unitary 
business exists if all three of the unity tests are met. In the three unities test, the relevant 
unities are: unity of ownership, unity of operation, and unity of use. Important facts 
considered for each test of unity are: 
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0 Unity of Ownership. This exists where the same interests own, directly or 
indirectly, more than 50% of the voting stock of all members of the group. 
Unity of ownership may also exist between: 

a) 	 A parent corporation and one or more other corporations ifthe parent owns 
stock representing more than 50% of the voting power of at least one 
corporation in the group and, if applicable, stock cumulatively representing 
more than 50% of the voting power of each of the corporations (except the 
parent) is owned by the parent or two or more members of the group. 

b) Any two or more corporations if stock representing more than 50% of the 
voting power of the corporations is owned (directly or by constructive 
ownership) by a single person. 

c) Any two or more corporations if stock representing more than 5 0% of the 
voting power of the corporations is owned (directly or by constructive 
ownership) by two or more members of the same family. 

d) Any two or more corporations that constitute stapled entities. 

0 	 Unity of Operation. Is usually shown by centralized operations or functions 
such as purchasing, advertising, accounting and management. In some 
instances, corporations that are neither in the same line of business nor 
vertically integrated are found to be unitary because of centralized 
management and central departments. 

0 	 Unity of Use. Is reflected by a centralized executive force and the operation 
systems in general. 

3. COMBINATION 

Once it is determined that a unitary business conducts unitary activities both within and 
outside of California, all income and deductions from the separate sites are combined. 
The group computes net income as if it were a single corporation. Income and expenses 
from intercompany transactions are disregarded (the same way transactions between a 
husband and wife filing a joint return in the personal income tax are disregarded). Thus, 
for example, dividends paid from one affiliated corporation to another are not counted as 
income since this is an intercompany transaction. 

The portion of this total nationwide or worldwide net income that is taxable by California 
is then determined by formula, as described below. 
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4. APPORTIONMENT OF INCOME 

Changes to Apportionment and Sales Factor Rules after January 1, 2013. Under 
current law, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, Proposition 39 
mandates the use of single sales factor apportionment by most multistate apportioning 
businesses. The option of using a three-factor, double-weighted sales apportionment 
formula is eliminated. Businesses specifically prohibited from utilizing a single sales 
factor apportionment formula are those that derive more than 50% of their gross business 
receipts from certain qualifying business activities (specifically, agriculture, extractive 
business, savings and loans, and banking or financial institutions). These types of entities 
must use the double weighted sale factor formula for apportioning sales. 

Prior to January 1, 2013, most corporations filed using a four-factor apportionment 
formula. This formula used a ratio of California sales (double weighted), property and 
payroll as compared to sales, property and payroll everywhere. 

California generally uses the "double-weighted" sales factor apportionment method for 
most industries. That is, the formula uses a single payroll and property factor while 
including the sales factor twice (see example in Table 7). However, for certain industries 
(including agricultural, extractive savings and loan, and banking or financial institutions) 
the sales factor is single weighted and the formula is based on the simple average of the 
three factors. 

The formula works as follows for each tax year: 

0 	 The corporation computes the ratio of its payroll in California (stated in 
dollars of value) to its payroll everywhere. It computes similar ratios for its 
California property and sales to property and sales everywhere. Note: The 
payroll and sales factors compare annual expenditures while the property 
factor uses an average of property owned and rented by the corporation at the 
beginning of the year and at the end of the year. 

0 	 The arithmetic average of the three ratios is computed using a denominator of 
three for agricultural, extractive, savings and loan, and banking or financial 
institutions, while double-weighting the sales factor and using a denominator 
of four for all other industries. This average represents the proportion of the 
corporation's total activity that it conducts in California. 

0 The average ratio computed above is applied to combined total net income to 
determine the share of the income of the unitary business that is apportioned 
to California. 
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0 The corporate tax rate of 8.84% is applied to the net income apportioned to 
California. 

The rules for apportioning income are modified for specific industries (including, for 
example, airlines, professional sports teams, construction contractors, franchisors, motion 
picture and television film producers, and trucking companies). In the case of certain 
forms of businesses, the rules for apportioning income are also modified for partnerships 
and personal service corporations. The modifications, established by Regulations issued 
by the FTB, typically provide special rules for computing the factors used in the 
apportionment formula. FTB Regulation 2513 7 sets forth circumstances that allow a 
departure from the standard formula. Table 6 shows the application of the apportionment 
formula for a hypothetical corporation. 

Because formula apportionment is intended to tax only that portion of total income that is 
apportioned to California, double taxation of the same income by different jurisdictions 
normally does not occur. Therefore, no tax credit for taxes paid to other states is 
provided in the corporation tax law. 

For the taxable years 2011 and 2012, qualified apportioning trades or businesses could 
make an annual, irrevocable election to utilize a single factor (see example in Table 6), 
100% sales, (single sales factor) apportionment formula instead of the three-factor, 
double-weighted sales apportionment formula. The election was required to be made on 
a timely filed original return in the manner and form prescribed by the FIB. 

Compact Election Issue. SB 1015 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), Chapter 
37, Statutes of 2012, as enacted on June 27, 2012, repealed the state's Multistate Tax 
compact provisions and provided that the three-factor apportionment formula was not an 
option for California purposes, except for businesses that derive more than 50% of their 
gross receipts from certain qualifying business activities. 

Definition of "Doing Business". SBx3 15 (Calderon), Chapter 17, Statutes of2009, 
established a bright-line test to provide that a taxpayer is "doing business" in California if 
any of the following conditions are satisfied: 

A. 	 The taxpayer is organized or commercially domiciled in this state. 

B. 	 The taxpayer's sales in this state exceed the lesser of $500,000 or 25% of 
the taxpayer's total sales. The taxpayer's sales include sales by an agent 
or independent contractor of the taxpayer. 
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C. 	 The taxpayer's real and tangible personal property in this state exceeds the 
lesser of $50,000 or 25% of the taxpayer's total real and tangible personal 
property. 

D. 	 The amount paid in this state by the taxpayer for compensation exceeds 
the lesser of $50,000 or 25% of the total compensation paid by the 
taxpayer. 

The amounts described in items B, C, and D above are updated by the FTB on an annual 
basis in a similar manner used to recompute the state income tax brackets. 

Definition of "Gross Receipts". "Gross receipts" are defined as the gross amounts 
realized (the sum of money and the fair market value of other property or services 
received), but do not include the following items: 

Repayment, maturity, or redemption of the principal of a loan, bond, mutual 
fund, certificate of deposit, or similar marketable instrument. 

0 

The principal amount received under a repurchase agreement or other 
transaction properly characterized as a loan. 

0 

0 Proceeds from issuance of the taxpayer's own stock or from sale of treasury 
stock. 

Damages and other amounts received as the result of litigation.0 

0 Property acquired by an agent on behalf of another. 

0 Tax refunds and other tax benefit recoveries. 

Pension reversions. 0 

Contributions to capital (except for sales of securities by securities dealers). 0 

Income from discharge of indebtedness.0 

Amounts realized from exchanges of inventory that are not recognized under 
the Internal Revenue Code. 

0 
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o 	 Amounts received from transactions in intangible assets held in connection 
with a treasury function of the taxpayer's unitary business and the gross 
receipts and overall net gains from the maturity, redemption, sale, exchange or 
other disposition of those intangible assets. 

o 	 Amounts received from hedging transactions involving intangible assets. 

Determination of Sales in California for Tangible Personal Property1
• The following 

rules for assigning sales from tangible personal property to the sales factor were added to 
the Corporation Tax Law: 

o 	 Sales of tangible personal property are assigned to California if the product is 
delivered or shipped to a purchaser in this state, and the taxpayer (seller) or 
any member of the combined reporting group is taxable in this state. 

o 	 Sales of tangible personal property are assigned to California if the product is 
delivered or shipped to a purchaser out of state, and the taxpayer (seller) or 
any member of the combined reporting group is not taxable in the state of 
destination. 

Determination of Sales in California for Other than Tangible Personal Property2
. 

The following rules for assigning sales of other than tangible personal property were 
added to the Corporation Tax Law: 

o 	 Sales from services are in this state to the extent the purchaser of the service 
received the benefit of the service in this state. 

o 	 Sales from intangible property are in this state to the extent the property is 
used in this state. In the case of marketable securities, sales are in this state if 
the customer is in this state. 

o 	 Sales from the sale, lease, rental or licensing of real property are in this state if 
the real prope1iy is located in this state. 

o 	 Sales from the rental, lease or licensing of tangible personal property are in 
this state if the property is located in this state. 

For taxable years beginning before January 1, 2013, taxpayers electing to use the single 
sales factor apportionment formula, and for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2013, taxpayers required to use a single sales factor apportionment formula will use 

1 Added by SBx3 15 (Calderon), Chapter 17, Statutes of2009 
2 Added by SBx3 15 (Calderon), Chapter 17, Statutes of2009 
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market-based sourcing of sales of services or intangibles. California's market-based 
sourcing rules generally sources sales of services to California if the taxpayer's customer 
receives a benefit of the service in the state. Receipts from intangibles are generally 
sourced to the state to the extent the property is used or located in the state. 

TABLE6 

EXAMPLE: USE OF UNITARY APPORTIONMENT AFTER JANUARY 1, 2013 
FORMULA FOR A HYPOTHETICAL CORPORATION 

1) 	 Compute ratio of sales in California to sales worldwide: 

Sales in California = $ 1,000,000 

Sales Total Worldwide = $ 20,000,000 


Ratio of California to Total = 5% 


2) 	 Apply apportionment factor to total corporate net income to determine income 
apportioned to California: 

Qualified 
Business 
Activities 

Worldwide Net Income of Corporation $5,000,000 

Multiplied by Single Sales Factor x 5% 


Net Income Apportioned to California $ 250,000 


3) 	 Apply California tax rate to determine tax: 

Income Apportioned to California $ 500,000 
Times Corporation Tax Rate x 8.84% 

Tax Due to California 	 $ 22,100 
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TABLE 7 

EXAMPLE: USE OF UNITARY APPORTIONMENT PRIOR TO JANUARY 1, 2013 
FORMULA FOR A HYPOTHETICAL CORPORATION 

1) Compute ratio of corporate assets in California to assets worldwide: 

In 
California 

Total 
Everywhere 

Ratio of California 
to Total 

Sales 
Property 
Payroll 

$1,000,000 
4,000,000 
2,000,000 

$20,000,000 
40,000,000 
10,000,000 

5% 
10% 
20% 

2) Determine the apportionment factor: 

Agricultural, extractive, savings and loan, and banking or financial institutions: 

5% + 10% + 20% = 35% divided by 3 = 11.6667%. 


All other business activities: 5% + 5% + 10% + 20% = 40% divided by 4 = 10%. 


Elective or Mandatory Single Sales Factor (Taxable Years Beginning on or after 

January 1, 2011) is 5%. 

3) Apply apportionment factor to total corporate net income to determine income 
apportioned to California: 

Qualified Elective or 
Business Business Mandatory Single 
Activities* Activities Sales Factor 

Worldwide Net Income of $5,000,000 $5,000,000 $5,000,000 
Corporation: Multiplied by 
Appo1iionment Factor x 11.6667% x 10% x 5% 

Net Income Apportioned to 
California: $ 583,335 $ 500,000 $ 250,000 

4) Apply California tax rate to determine tax: 

Income Apportioned to $ 583,335 $ 500,000 $ 500,000 
California: times Corporation 
Tax Rate: x 8.84% x 8.84% x 8.84% 

Tax Due to California: $ 51,567 $ 44,200 $ 22,100 

*Agricultural, Extractive, Savings and Loan, and Banking or Financial Institutions. 
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5. WORLDWIDE COMBINATION 

Initially, all worldwide unitary corporations were required to combine their worldwide 
operations and use the unitary method, as described above, computing worldwide factors 
and worldwide income. The apportionment percentage was expressed as California 
payroll, property, and sales as a percent ofworldwide payroll, property and sales. 

Numerous court challenges arose regarding California's ability to require worldwide 
combinations of the unitary businesses of multistate corporations. In a variety of cases, 
the United States Supreme Court confirmed the constitutionality of California's 
apportionment of income on a worldwide basis. 

While judicial challenges advanced, taxpayers continued their arguments against 
worldwide combination and encouraged the Legislature to repeal the laws requiring 
combination. Arguments made to the Legislature for repealing mandatory worldwide 
combined reports for multinational corporations included the following: 

0 	 Property, payroll, and sales do not produce equal profits in all parts of the 
world. For example, labor may be cheaper (and thus relatively more 
profitable) overseas than in the United States. Thus, the formula is distorting 
and results in instances of double taxation by California and foreign nations. 

0 	 Fluctuations in international exchange rates make it difficult to put economic 
activities around the world on a consistent and comparable basis for purposes 
of the formula apportionment. 

0 	 The worldwide combination and apportionment system places excessive 
record keeping burdens on corporations. 

0 	 The worldwide system discourages corporations from making relatively less 
profitable investments in California because investment in California property 
will increase the share of the corporation's income subject to California tax. 
For example, start-up of a plant is often initially less profitable. 

0 This system discourages investment in California by foreign firms, thereby 
depriving the state of the potential employment growth associated with such 
investment. 

0 Foreign governments have protested that the system is unfair to their 
countries' businesses that operate worldwide and have threatened retaliation 
on U.S. corporations operating in their countries. 
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0 Third world countries might copy the system of worldwide combination, 
potentially increasing tax burdens of businesses from industrialized nations. 

In 1986, legislation was enacted to respond to these concerns. Under the new system, 
multinational corporations were allowed to elect one of two methods of determining 
income subject to tax in California, either worldwide combination or water's-edge 
combination. 

6. WATER'S-EDGE COMBINATION 

Multinational affiliated corporations that operate a unitary business may elect to combine 
only the affiliates that are designated as being within the "water's-edge." Affiliates 
outside the water's-edge are disregarded, and their income plays no direct role in the 
computation of income subject to tax in California. The concepts of unity and 
combination and the operation of the formula, as described above, continue to apply. In 
2012, 11,361 corporations made the water's-edge election. 

The major provisions applying to corporations that elect water's-edge combination are as 

follows: 


Definition of "Water's-Edge". The "water's-edge" includes the 50 states of the United 
States and specified income activity of affiliates organized overseas. Thus, affiliates 
organized in the United States are considered inside the water's-edge and are combined. 
Affiliates organized overseas are considered outside the water's-edge and are not 
combined, except to the extent of their United States activities. However, affiliates 
organized overseas which have 20% or more of their activities in the United States are 
inside the water's-edge. In addition, state law requires a controlled foreign corporation 
(CFC) with Subpart F income to include a portion of its net income and apportionment 
factors in the water's-edge group tax filing based on an inclusion ratio. 

So-called "80-20" corporations (United States-domiciled corporations with less than 20% 
of their activities in the United States) are also included within the water's-edge. 

Water's-Edge Election Period. Prior to January 1, 2003, corporations that elected to 
use the water's-edge combination method made a contract with FTB for an initial term of 
84 months. On the anniversary date of the contract, the election is automatically renewed 
on an annual basis unless a taxpayer provides FTB with a notice of nonrenewal. For 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2003 , the contract has been replaced with a 
statutory election that remains in effect until terminated. 

Dividend Exclusion. Corporations electing water's-edge combination may exclude from 
income a portion of the dividends they receive from certain affiliates. The excludable 
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amount is equal to 75% of all qualifying dividends received. However, dividends 
resulting from specified construction projects are 100% deductible. 

In addition, California law provides that the water's edge group must assign the interest 
expense that relates to the excluded dividends to those dividends, and a proportionate 
amount of interest expense attributable to foreign investments can be offset against the 
deductible dividends. 

Audits. The FTB may conduct audits of corporations electing water's edge combination 
to ensure that income is properly accounted for, especially between members of the 
water's-edge group and affiliates outside of the water's-edge group, and to prevent tax 
avoidance. 

7. BUSINESS VERSUS NONBUSINESS INCOME 

Business and nonbusiness income of multi state and multinational corporations is treated 
differently when determining California tax liability. 

Business income is all income that arises from the conduct of trade or business 
operations. Most corporate income is business income and is apportioned to California or 
elsewhere by formula, as described above. 

Nonbusiness income is that which does not arise in the normal course of the taxpayer's 
business operations. It can include such things as dividends from other corporations, 
interest, royalties, gains from the sale of investment properties, and the like so long as 
they are not related to the normal business of the corporation. In general, nonbusiness 
income is allocated in full to the state where the taxpayer is commercially domiciled in 
the case of income from intangibles, or where the relevant property is located in the case 
of income from tangible personal or real property. 

8. FEDERAL TREATMENT OF MULTINATIONAL CORPORATIONS 

Federal law taxes corporations in a manner similar to California taxation of individuals. 
Corporations organized in the United States (residents) are taxed on all of their income 
and are allowed a credit for taxes assessed by foreign countries because they have income 
sources there. Corporations organized outside the United States (nonresidents) are taxed 
on only their United States source income. 

In making determinations of income source, the federal government uses the "separate 
accounting method". This method requires accounting separately for income streams and 
expenses attributable to each member of an affiliated group of corporations and to United 
States versus foreign operations. Transactions between affiliates are to be accounted for 
on an "arm's length" basis. That is, pricing is to be adjusted to reflect what the 
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transactions would be if they were conducted at arm's length between competitor 
corporations rather than between affiliated corporations. 

A key feature of the federal system is an aggressive audit program to ensure that arm's 
length pricing is used by affiliated corporations to accurately reflect the income and 
goods exchanged between related businesses. These are often referred to as "Section 482 
audits". Due to the complexity and controversy associated with Section 482 audits, the 
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) initiated an Advance Pricing Agreement (APA) program. 
Under this program, taxpayers and the IRS agree upon the transfer pricing methods that 
should be applied before the tax return is filed. 

9. CODE 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 25101-25141 

93 




CHAPTER2D 
DETERMINING THE INCOME 
OF MULTISTATE AND 
MULTINATIONAL 
CORPORATIONS 

94 



• Tax Base 
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CHAPTER2E 
SALES AND USE TAX 

CHAPTER2E 

SALES AND USE TAX 

HIGHLIGHTS 

Total retail price of any tangible personal property 
unless the property is otherwise exempted; also 
imposed on certain state excise taxes, including 
those imposed on alcoholic beverages, and tobacco 
products. 

Total state and local base rate of 7.5%. Generally, 
the rate may be 7.625% to 10% in those cities and 
counties that impose additional rates. 

2014-15 

2015-16 
(Estimate) 

2016-17 
(Estimate) 

$23.7 billion (General Fund)* 
$ 3.2 billion (Local Revenue Fund) 
$ 3 .2 billion (Local Public Safety Fund) 

21.3% of General Fund revenues 

$25.2 billion (General Fund)* 
$ 3.3 billion (Local Revenue Fund) 
$ 3.3 billion (Local Public Safety Fund) 

$25.9 billion (General Fund)* 
$ 3.5 billion (Local Revenue Fund) 
$ 3.5 billion (Local Public Safety Fund) 

*Source: Governor's Budget Summary of 2016-17 
BOE 

1. OVERVIEW OF THE SALES TAX 

The sales tax is imposed on retailers for the privilege of selling tangible personal property in 
California. Note, retailers are authorized to, and generally do, add sales tax to the sales price 
and collect reimbursement of the tax from the purchaser. The use tax, in contrast, is generally 
imposed on the use in California of tangible personal property purchased out of state. 

Both the sales tax and the use tax are imposed on nearly identical items of tangible personal 
property. Tangible personal property is any physical asset, such as household goods and 
business equipment, which is readily movable and not permanently attached to real property. 
All sales of tangible personal property are taxable, unless specifically exempted by law. 
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However, sales of real property, such as land and buildings, are not subject to the sales tax. 
Furthermore, because the sales tax is imposed on retail sales, sales for resale and wholesale 
sales are excluded from the tax. 

The measure of both the sales and the use tax are imposed on the retail price of the taxable 
personal property. The retail price is referred to as the "gross receipts" for sales tax purposes 
and the "sales price" for use tax purposes. Generally, no part of the retail price may be 
excluded from the tax base. Ifthere is a manufacturers' or importers' excise tax, such as excise 
taxes imposed on tires, alcoholic beverages, and tobacco, it is included as part of the sales and 
use tax base. Generally, both state and federal excise taxes are included in the sales and use 
tax base. For example, an individual who purchases alcohol in the State of California must 
pay sales tax on the retail price of the alcohol, including the state and federal excise taxes. 

Services are generally not subject to sales or use tax. However, when services contribute to 
the production or delivery of tangible personal property sold at retail, tax does apply to the 
entire sale price, with no deduction for the service component. This tax treatment follows the 
reasoning that acquisition of the tangible personal property is the true object of the transaction, 
and the service performed is deemed incidental. For example, in the sale of a custom-designed 
suit, the buyer's purpose is obtaining the clothing, which is tangible personal property. 
Although the tailor who designs and sews the suit performs a service oflabor, the true object 
of the transaction is the sale of the suit, not the design and sewing services. Therefore, sales 
(or use) tax applies to the total price of the custom-tailored suit, including the design and 
tailoring. 

Generally, leases of tangible personal property are considered "continuing" sales or uses and 
are subject to sales or use tax. Each payment made under the lease is subject to sales or use 
tax for the entire period that the leased property is located in California. Note: If a lease of 
tangible personal property covers property substantially in the same form as when acquired by 
the lessor and the lessor paid sales or use tax on the property when acquired, the rental 
payments are not subject to tax. 

A seller's permit is a permit, furnished without charge by the State Board of Equalization 
(BOE), to sell tangible personal property in California. Generally, all persons or businesses 
that make retail or wholesale sales are required to hold a seller's permit. 

In California, the retailer is liable for paying the sales tax. A retailer is described as anyone 
who makes more than two retail sales of tangible personal property within a 12-month period. 
As mentioned above, the retailer has the option of collecting a reimbursement of the tax from 
the consumer. However, if the retailer does not collect the sales tax reimbursement at the time 
of purchase, the retailer is still responsible for remitting the tax to the state. 

The use tax is imposed on users of tangible personal property purchased out-of-state and 
brought into or delivered to California for use inside California. For example, an individual 
who purchases an automobile in the State of Washington and registers it in California is 
required to pay California use tax on his or her purchase; he or she is not subject to any 
Washington sales tax. Like the sales tax, the measure of the use tax is the sales price of the 
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tangible personal property. The purpose of the use tax is to prevent persons from avoiding the 
California sales tax by purchasing at retail in states where the sales tax is lower than California 
or where there is no sales tax. 

Unlike the sales tax, which is imposed on retailers, the use tax is imposed on California 
purchasers. However, out-of-state retailers that have substantial presence in California are 
required to register with the BOE and collect the use tax on taxable sales made to California 
consumers, whether the sale was made over the Internet, mail order, or telephone. Also, 
certain larger California businesses that do not sell goods in California are required to register 
with the BOE and track and report their use tax liabilities on their out-of-state taxable 
purchases. However, individual conswners and many small firms making purchases from 
unregistered out-of-state retailers are not required to register with the BOE and frequently do 
not report their use tax liabilities. Consequently, a significant po11ion of California use tax 
goes uncollected. 

2. TAX RATES 

Currently, the base state and local sales and use tax rate in California is 7.50%. This 7.50% 
rate is a combination of five different tax rates, as follows : 

Imposed Statewide (Total= 7.50%) 

NAME RATE 
(%) 

2014-15 
REVENUE 

($BILLIONS) 
USE OF 

REVENUE 
BASIS OF ALLOCATION 

"State" rate 3.9375 

0.25 1 

1.0625 

$22.1 

$ 1.6 

$ 6.2 

State General Fund 
purposes 

Education 
Protection Account 

Local Revenue 
Fund 2011 

Not applicable 

Local 
Revenue Fund 
rate 

0.5 $ 3.2 Health and welfare 
programs shifted to 
local governments 
as part of 1991-92 
state-local 
realignment 

Allocated to counties based 
on population, percentage of 
persons below the poverty 
line, and changes in spending 
on health and welfare 
programs during prior years. 

1 Expires 12/3 1/ 16 
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Imposed Statewide (Total = 7.50%) 

2013-14 

NAME RATE REVENUE USE OF BASIS OF ALLOCATION 

(%) ($ BILLIONS) REVENUE 
Local Public 0.5 $ 3.2 Local public safety Allocated primarily to 
Safety Fund counties based on sales 
rate during the prior year; cities 

receive about 6% of Local 
Public Safety Fund revenues 
based on amounts they lost as 
a result of the property tax 
shifts of the early to mid­
1990s. 

County Trans­ 0.25 $ 1.6 County transporta- Allocated to counties based 
portation rate tion purposes on the location of sale 
Bradley-Burns 1.0 $ 4.7 Local (city/county) Allocated to cities and 
rate general purpose use counties based on the 

location of sale (to cities if 
the sale occurs in the city, to 
counties if the sale occurs in 
an unincorporated area of the 
county) 

Also, each year a certain amount of the state sales tax revenues attributable to sales of diesel 
fuel must be transferred to the Public Transportation Account (PTA) within the State 
Transportation Fund. The amount transferred is determined by formula. 

Additional Local Rates. The Transactions and Use Tax Law authorizes cities, counties, 
citywide and countywide authorities, and citywide and countywide special districts to impose 
additional sales and use taxes (officially 'transactions and use taxes'), subject to a vote of the 
people. In general, the Transactions and Use Tax Law authorizes taxes to be imposed in 
0.125% increments, up to a total of 2%. (However, the Los Angeles Metropolitan 
Transportation Commission, the City ofEI Cerrito, the County of Alameda, and the County of 
Contra Costa may, upon voter approval, impose a 0.50% tax, even if it exceeds the 2% 
limitation). 

As noted above, all transactions and use taxes are subject to voter approval. Pursuant to 
Proposition 218, passed by the voters in November 1996, general-purpose transactions and use 
taxes require majority voter approval; special-purpose transactions and use taxes require two­
thirds voter approval. 

As of January 1, 2016, 48 California counties, 151 cities and 6 towns impose the sales tax at 
rates higher than 7 .50% due to voter approval of imposition of additional taxes. In 2013-14 
and 2014-15, these add-on taxes raised $5.4 billion and $5.7 billion, respectively, for the local 
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governments that imposed them. See Table 7 in this chapter for the list of cities and counties 
with additional rates. 
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TABLE 7 

Existing Transactions and Use Taxes (As of 01/07/16) 

Jurisdiction 

Alameda County 
Amador County 
City of Albany 
City of Anderson 
City of Antioch 
City of Arcata 
City of Arroyo Grande 
City of Arvin 
City of Atascadero 
City of Atwater 
City of Avalon 
City of Benicia 
City of Calexico 
City of Campbell 
City of Capitola 
City of Carmel-by-the-Sea 
City of Cathedral City 
City of Ceres 
City of Clearlake 
City of Coachella 
City of Commerce 
City of Concord 
City of Cotati 
City of Culver City 
City of Davis 
City of Delano 
City of Del Rey Oaks 
City of Dinuba 
City of El Cajon 
City of El Cerrito 

City of El Monte 
City of Eureka 
City of Fairfield 
City of Farmersville 
City of Fort Bragg 

City of Galt 
City of Gonzales 
City of Grass Valley 

Rate 

2.0% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.75% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
0.25% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
1.0% 
1.5% 
0.75% 
0.5% 
1.5% 

0.5% 
0.75% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
1.0% 

0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 

100 

Purpose 

Transit I Hospital 
Fire I Emergency Medical 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Public Safety 
Hospital and Clinic 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Vital City Services 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Public Safety 
Public Safety 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Police I Fire 
Public Safety I Services 
Street Improvement I 

General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Road Maintenance/CV 

Starr Center 
Public Safety 
General Fund 
General Fund 
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TABLE 7 (Continued) 

Existing Transactions and Use Taxes (As of 01/07 /16) 

Jurisdiction 

City of Greenfield 
City of Grover Beach 
City of Guadalupe 
City of Gustine 
City of Half Moon Bay 
City of Hayward 
City of Healdsburg 
City of Hercules 
City of Hollister 
City of Huron 
City of Inglewood 
City of King City 
City of La Habra 
City of La Mesa 
City of La Mirada 
City of Lakeport 
City of Larkspur 
City of Lathrop 
City of Los Banos 
City of Mammoth Lakes 
City of Manteca 
City of Marina 
City of Merced 
City of Montclair 
City of Monterey 
City ofMorro Bay 
City of Mount Shasta 
City of National City 
City ofNevada 

City ofNovato 
City of Oakdale 
City of Orinda 
City of Oakland 
City of Oxnard 
City of Pacific Grove 
City of Palm Springs 
City of Paso Robles 
City of Pico Rivera 
City of Pinole 

Rate 

1.0% 
0.5% 
0.25% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.75% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
0.25% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
0.25% 
1.0% 
0.875% 

0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
1.0% 

Purpose 

General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Community Services 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Public Safety 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Public Safety I Services 
Public Safety 
Parks and Recreation 
Public Safety 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Libraries 
General Fund 
Street Improvement I 

General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Vital Services 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
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TABLE 7 (Continued) 

Existing Transactions and Use Taxes (As of 01/07 /15) 

Jurisdiction 

City of Pismo Beach 
City of Pittsburg 
City of Placerville 

City of Point Arena 
City of Port Hueneme 
City of Porterville 
City of Rancho Cordova 
City of Red Bluff 
City of Reedley 
City of Richmond 
City of Ridgecrest 
City of Rio Dell 
City of Rio Vista 
City of Rohnert Park 
City of Sacramento 
City of Salinas 
City of San Bernardino 
City of San Fernando 
City of San Juan Bautista 
City of San Leandro 
City of San Luis Obispo 
City of San Mateo 
City of San Pablo 

City of San Rafael 
City of Sand City 
City of Sanger 
City of Santa Cruz 
City of Santa Maria 
City of Santa Monica 
City of Santa Rosa 

City of Sausalito 
City of Scott's Valley 
City of Sebastopol 
City of Seaside 
City of Selma 
City of Soledad 

0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 

0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.25% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
0.75% 
1.0% 
0.75% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
1.5% 
0.25% 
0.5% 
0.75% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.25% 
0.75% 

0.75% 
1.0% 
0.75% 
0.5% 
0.25% 
0.5% 
0.5% 

0.5% 
0.5% 
0.75% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
1.0% 

Purpose 

General Fund 
General Fund 
Public Safety I 

General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Public Safety I Police I Fire 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Public Safety 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Essential Services 
General Fund 
Emergency Medical 

Services I General 
Fund 

General Fund 
General Fund 
Public Safety 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Public Safety I 

General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Public Safety 
General Fund 
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TABLE 7 (Continued) 

Existing Transactions and Use Taxes (As of 01/07 /15) 

City of Sonoma 
City of Sonora 
City of South El Monte 
City of South Gate 
City of South Lake Tahoe 
City of Stanton 
City of Stockton 

City of Tracy 
City of Trinidad 
City of Tulare 
City of Ukiah 
City of Union City 
City of Vacaville 
City of Vallejo 
City ofVisalia 
City of Vista 
City of Watsonville 

City of Weed 
City of West Sacramento 
City of Wheatland 
City of Williams 
City of Willits 
City of Woodland 
Contra Costa County 
Del Norte County 
Fresno County 
Humboldt County 
Imperial County 
Inyo County 
Los Angeles County 
Madera County 
Marin County 
Mariposa County 
Mendocino County 
Monterey County 
Napa County 
Nevada County 
Orange County 
Riverside County 
Sacramento County 

0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
1.0% 

0.5% 
0.75% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 

0.25% 
1.00% 
0.25% 
0.5% 
0.75% 

0.25% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.75% 
1.0% 
0.25% 
0.725% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
1.5% 
0.5% 
1.0% 
0.5% 
0.125% 
0.125% 
0.5% 
0.125% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
0.5% 
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General Fund 
General Fund 
City Services Protection 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Public Safety I General 

Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Public Safety 
General Fund 
Public Safety I General 

Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
General Fund 
Road System 
General Fund 
Transit 
Fairgrounds 
Transit I Libraries I Zoo 
General Fund 
Transit 
General Fund 
Transit 
Transit 
Transit I Rail I Open Space 
County Healthcare 
Library 
Transit 
Flood Protection 
Public Libraries 
Transit 
Transit 
Transit 
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TABLE 7 (Continued) 

Existing Transactions and Use Taxes (As of 01/07/16) 

San Bernardino County 0.5% Transit 
San Diego County 0.5% Transit 
San Francisco City and County 1.25% Transit I Public Finance 
San Joaquin County 0.5% Transit 
San Mateo County 1.5% Transit I General Fund 
Santa Barbara County 0.5% Transit 
Santa Clara County 1.25% Transit I General Fund 
Santa Cruz County 0.75% Transit I Public Libraries 
Solano County 0.125% Public Libraries 
Sonoma County 0.75% Agricultural Preservation I 

Open Space I 
Stanislaus County 0.125% Public Libraries 
Town of Corte Madera 0.5% General Fund 
Town of Fairfax 0.5% General Fund 
Town of Moraga 1.0% General Fund 
Town of Paradise 0.5% General Fund 
Town of San Anselmo 0.5% General Fund 
Town of Truckee 0.75% Road Maintenance 
Tulare County 0.5% Transit 

3. EXEMPTIONS 

All retail sales of tangible personal property are taxable in California unless the property is 

specifically exempted. Some major exemption categories are described below. 


Necessities. The following items are granted general sales and use tax exemptions: 


0 Food (other than hot prepared food) for human consumption; 

0 Prescription medicines, wheelchairs, crutches, canes, walkers, medical oxygen 
delivery systems, hemodialysis products, and prosthetic devices; 

0 Gas, electricity, and water delivered through mains, lines, or pipes; 

0 Food for animals normally raised for human consumption; and, 

0 Fertilizer and seeds applied to land used to grow foods for human consumption. 

Interstate Commerce. The Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution prohibits states from 
imposing taxes that place an undue burden on people or businesses engaged in interstate 
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commerce. To comply with the U.S. Constitution, California has enacted laws that exempt 
sales of certain property involved in interstate commerce. 

For example, interstate sales of vessels and aircraft, aircraft fuel used during international 
flights and hot prepared food sold to air carriers for passenger consumption are exempt from 
the sales tax. 

California has also enacted laws that complement the U.S. Commerce Clause and that level the 
playing field for businesses that engage in interstate commerce activities in the state. For 
example: 

0 	 In-state sellers are allowed to deliver property for out-of-state use to common 
carriers in California without any sales tax being imposed. 

0 	 Businesses are not taxed on the printed sales messages they commission and have 
mailed to potential customers. 

0 	 Air common carriers are not taxed on the fuel used on international flights. 

Without these additional laws, California businesses could be at a disadvantage vis-a-vis 
competitors based in other states. 

Exemptions for Nonprofit and Government Organizations. Pursuant to the U.S. 
Constitution, all sales of tangible personal property to the federal government are exempt 
from tax. Museums are also exempted from sales tax on works of art they purchase for public 
display. 

Several nonprofit organizations are allowed a partial sales tax exemption for certain items they 
sell under specified circumstances. The exemption is considered partial because the tax is 
computed based on the wholesale price of the organization's products, which presumably is 
lower than the retail price. For example, when the Girl Scouts make handicrafts they later 
resell, they remit sales tax based on the wholesale price of the materials used to make the 
handicrafts. Unlike most retailers, they do not have to collect or remit the sales tax based on 
the price for which the handicrafts are subsequently sold. Generally, the partial sales tax 
exemption is limited to sales of food, non-alcoholic beverages, and handcrafted items. 

Groups currently eligible for partial sales tax exemptions under various conditions include: 
all-volunteer fire departments; Little League; Bobby Sox; Boy Scouts; Cub Scouts; Girl 
Scouts; Campfire Girls; YMCA; YWCA; Future Farmers of America; Future Homemakers of 
America; 4-H Clubs; American Youth Soccer Organization; California Youth Soccer 
Associations; Pop Warner Football; Special Olympics; and school-sponsored youth groups, 
such as high school teams. Organizations that provide vocational training services to the 
developmentally disabled or services to children with severe emotional disturbances are also 
allowed a partial exemption on the sale of handicrafts that are made by their clients and retail 
for $20 or less. 

105 




CHAPTER2E 
SALES AND USE TAX 

Other Exemptions. A few of the other major items exempted from all or a portion of the 
sales tax include: equipment used in manufacturing, biotechnology, and physical, engineering 
and life science research; farm equipment; timber-harvesting equipment; racehorse breeding 
stock; motion picture production services; motion picture leases; returnable containers; custom 
computer programs; subscription periodicals; master records and tapes; property that will be 
used in space flights; and bulk sales of monetized and nonmonetized bullion. For a complete 
list of exemptions see the BOE publication titled Sales and Use Taxes: Exemptions and 
Exclusions. For additional information on these exemptions, contact the BOE. 

4. SALES IN CALIFORNIA BY OUT-OF-ST ATE RETAILERS 

California's ability to collect use tax resulting from Internet, mail order and catalogue sales is 
significantly limited for the following two reasons: (a) U.S. Supreme Court decisions in 
National Bellas Hess v. Illinois Department ofRevenue (1967) and Quill Corporation v. North 
Dakota (1992), which prohibit states from requiring mail order houses to collect and remit use 
taxes; and (b) the fact that consumers are legally liable for the use tax on these mail order 
sales. At present, however, California fails to collect approximately $1.1 billion in revenues as 
a result of unreported use taxes. 

The Quill and National Bellas Hess Cases. Two U.S. Supreme Court decisions prohibit 
states from requiring mail order sellers to collect state use taxes unless the seller has physical 
nexus in the state. In the National Bellas Hess, Inc. v. Department ofRevenue ofthe State of 
Illinois (1967) case, the U.S. Supreme Court held that when a business does no more than 
communicate with customers by mail or common carrier as part of a general interstate 
business, requiring that business to collect and pay the use tax violates the U.S. Constitution. 
In Quill Corporation v. State ofNorth Dakota (1992), the Supreme Court interpreted the 
Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution as prohibiting states from imposing use tax 
collection obligations on retailers whose only connection with customers in the taxing state is 
through mail order sales. 

Both decisions leave the door open for Congress to establish a framework for uniform state 
taxation that does not impede interstate commerce. In an effort to simplify various states' sales 
and use tax systems, forty-four states, including California, and the District of Columbia, that 
levy a sales and use tax participated in the Streamlined Sales Tax Project (SSTP), and on 
October 1, 2005, the "Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement" became effective. This 
Agreement creates a blueprint for a simplified tax collection system and attempts to alleviate 
the burden and cost of tax collection for sellers. The agreement addresses issues associated 
with tax collections, definitions of the tax base, uniformity of tax bases, electronic registration 
of sellers, simplification of tax rates, simplification of returns and remittances, uniform 
sourcing rules, as well as other issues. The Project is conducting its work through a steering 
committee with co-chairs, four work groups, and a number of sub-groups. Project participants 
are generally state revenue department administrators but there are also representatives of state 
legislatures and local governments. Businesses including national retailers, trade associations, 
manufacturers, direct marketers, telecommunications companies, leasing companies, 
technology companies, printers, accounting firms, and others are actively participated in the 
Project by offering expertise and input, reviewing proposals, suggesting language, and 
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testifying at public hearings. Twenty four of the 44 states have been certified to be in 
substantial compliance with the Agreement, which means they have changed their laws so that 
they meet all the requirements of the Agreement. 

Participation in the Project does not change any law or tax reporting/collection responsibilities 
of remote sellers. However, California legislators could choose to amend California's Sales 
and Use Tax Law to conform to the provisions of the Agreement if such conformity is desired. 

Nexus and Use Tax Collection. California law requires every retailer "engaged in business in 
this state" to collect sales or use tax from the consumer at the time of sale. The definition of a 
"retailer engaged in business in the state" includes, among others, any retailer who: 

0 	 Maintains, occupies, or uses an office, place of distribution, sales or sample room, 
warehouse or other storage space, or other place of business in California; 

0 	 Has an affiliate operating in California that refers potential customers to the 
retailer, by an Internet-based link, InterIJ.et Web site, or otherwise, under specified 
circumstances; 

0 	 Is a member of a commonly controlled group and combined reporting group and 
has a member of the retailer's combined reporting group and commonly controlled 
group performing services for the retailer in California that help the retailer 
establish or maintain a California market for sales of tangible personal property. 

Out-of-state retailers who are deemed to be "engaged in business in this state" are required to 
collect and remit use tax to BOE. Some other out-of-state sellers also voluntarily collect and 
remit use taxes to BOE, usually when there is some question about whether their business 
activities in California represent nexus. 

Since 1998, certain taxpayers have been allowed to obtain a use tax direct payment permit 
from BOE. Use tax direct payment permits allow qualifying taxpayers to self-assess and pay 
state and local use tax directly to BOE, thereby removing sellers of the responsibility to do so. 
To be eligible, an applicant must purchase or lease at least $500,000 wo1ih of tangible personal 
property during the calendar year immediately preceding the application or be a county, city, 
city and county, or redevelopment agency. Use tax direct payment permits provide local 
taxing jurisdictions with a mechanism to increase the amount of local use tax revenue they 
receive and provide large businesses with a mechanism to minimize their chances of being 
audited for an outstanding use tax liability. 

Legislation enacted in 2003 authorized taxpayers to report their use tax liabilities on their 
California income tax returns. Any use tax liability reported on a timely filed income tax 
return is deemed to be timely filed and paid. 

The use tax also applies to foreign purchases in excess of $800 that are brought into California. 
California assesses the use tax due on these purchases using information from U.S. Customs 
Service declarations completed by returning travelers at California ports of entry. 

107 


http:InterIJ.et


CHAPTER2E 
SALES AND USE TAX 

SPECIAL PROVISIONS OF THE SALES TAX 

Occasional Sales. Occasional sales of property are generally not subject to the sales tax. A 
sale is deemed "occasional" when the seller is not required to hold a seller's permit and the sale 
is not one of a series of sufficient duration to require a seller's permit. For example, an 
individual holding a garage sale over the course of a weekend would not be required to hold a 
seller's permit or pay sales tax on the items sold. 

Swap Meets and Flea Markets. Operators of a swap meet, flea market, or special event are 
required to obtain evidence that each seller who leases space from the operator of the swap 
meet is the holder of a valid seller's permit or is not selling any item that is taxable under the 
sales and use tax law. 

Automobiles. When a licensed automobile dealer sells a new or used vehicle, the sales tax 
must be collected at the time of purchase. The sales tax rate is based on the jurisdiction in 
which the purchaser resides. For example, ifthe purchaser buys a car in a jurisdiction with a 
7.50% sales tax rate but registers the car in a local community with a 7.75% rate, the dealer is 
responsible for collecting tax at the 7.75% rate and remitting it to BOE. 

When a private non-dealer sells a car, he or she is not required to collect the sales tax. Instead, 
use tax is collected when the owner registers the automobile with the Department of Motor 
Vehicles. Here again, the purchaser is required to pay tax at the rate of the local community in 
which the car is registered, regardless of where the car is purchased. 

Mobilehomes and Factory-Built Housing and Schools. A partial sales tax exemption is 
allowed to mobilehome dealers on sales of new mobilehomes that are sold to customers for 
occupancy as a residence. In these transactions, the mobilehome dealer is the "retailer­
consumer" and is required to declare and pay tax on 75% of the dealer's purchase price of the 
mobilehome. No tax is imposed on the sale of such new mobilehomes to customers. Section 2 
of Chapter 60 contains more information on application of the sales tax to mobilehomes. 

A partial exemption is also allowed on the sales price of certain factory-built housing and 
schools. For factory-built homes, 60% of the retail sales price is exempt from the sales tax. 

6. DEDUCTING THE SALES TAX 

Individuals are not allowed a state personal income tax deduction for the sales and use tax they 
pay during the course of each year unless the tangible personal property was purchased for use 
in a trade or business. 

Sales taxes are generally deductible for tangible personal property purchased for use in a trade 
or business. However, sales taxes incurred in the process of manufacturing or constructing 
property must be capitalized into the value of the property rather than deducted immediately. 
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7. REMITTANCE OF THE SALES TAX BY RETAILERS 

Reimbursement of the Sales Tax. Retailers are legally liable for remitting sales tax to the 
state. However, retailers are permitted to collect a "reimbursement" of the sales tax from the 
consumer, which is normally itemized separately as sales tax when an item is sold. The law 
provides for statutory reimbursement tables to be used by retailers to compute the tax on any 
sales transaction. 

The basic rule for computing the sales tax reimbursement, since taxpayers cannot pay fractions 
of cents, is to round fractions equal to or larger than Yz cent up to the next cent and round 
fractions of less than Yz cent down to the next lower cent. 

Payments and Prepayments. In general, retailers must remit sales taxes to the state on a 
quarterly basis. However, retailers with taxable sales of over $17,000 per month are generally 
required to remit sales taxes on a monthly basis. Each quarter, two prepayments and one final 
payment are due, with payments generally required one month following the month in which 
liability is incurred. Prepayment schedules are intended to help ensure a steady flow of sales 
and use tax revenue to the state rather than four quarterly spikes of revenue during the course 
of each year. 

The prepayment and final payment schedules for the first, third, and fourth calendar quarters of 
each year are identical. The second quarter prepayment schedule was changed in order to help 
the state's cash flow needs during tight budget years and operates to shift more revenue to the 
months of May and June (the last two months of the fiscal year). 

Electronic Funds Transfer. Retailers with sales tax liabilities averaging $10,000 or more per 
month are required to remit their tax payments via an Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). 
Retailers that are not required to make sales and use tax payments through EFT may 
voluntarily pay by EFT after contacting BOE and completing an authorization agreement 
form. 

8. ADMINISTRATION 

The sales and use tax is administered by the BOE. The BOE drafts regulations to clarify and 
interpret the sales and use tax laws and handles collections and appeals. The BOE also 
administers all local sales (and transactions) and use taxes under contract with local taxing 
agencies. These contracts allow BOE to charge local jurisdictions for its costs to administer 
the local taxes. 

9. CODE 

California Constitution, Article XIII, Section 29, Section 35, and Section 36 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 6001 - 7298 
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	4 .
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	0 
	Contain a General Fund appropriation for any purpose other than public education, unless passed as part ofthe budget [California Constitution, Article IV, Section 12(d)]; 
	0 
	Override a Governor's veto [California Constitution, Article IV, Section IO(a)]; and 
	Amend the provisions of the California Children and Families First Act of 1998, an initiative constitutional amendment and statute passed as Proposition 10 by the voters in November 1998 (Proposition 10, 1998, Section 8). 
	0 .

	Bills that amend any portion ofthe Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law enacted in .November 1988 by the voters as Proposition 99 require a four-fifths vote. .
	With certain limited exceptions, all other tax bills require a majority vote. 


	4. CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS AND STATUTORY INITIATIVES 
	4. CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS AND STATUTORY INITIATIVES 
	Some aspects of state tax law cannot be changed by the Legislature. These instances and .the procedures relating to them are outlined below. .
	Tax Law Set Forth in the Constitution. A constitutional amendment is required to .change any tax law contained in the California Constitution. Proposed constitutional .amendments may be placed on the statewide ballot either by the Legislature or by the .people through an initiative. Constitutional amendments proposed by the Legislature .must be adopted by a two-thirds vote ofeach house and do not require the Governor's .signature. An initiative, in turn, requires a majority vote of the people. .
	Initiative constitutional amendments must receive valid signatures equal to at least 8% of .the number of voters who voted in the last gubernatorial election in order to be placed on .the ballot. .
	Statutory Tax Law Enacted by the Voters through a Statutory Initiative. In general, .an initiative tax statute can only be changed by a vote ofthe people on another .statewide ballot. The proposed change in the law may be placed on the ballot by another .initiative or by a bill enacted by the Legislature. .
	Some initiative statutes, however, contain language that allows the Legislature to make .changes without voter approval. These statutes typically identify the types ofchanges .allowed and specify the legislative vote requirement to amend the statute. .
	Initiative statutes must receive valid signatures equal to at least 5% of the number of .voters who voted in the last gubernatorial election in order to be placed on the ballot. .
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	5. BILLS WITH STATE MANDATES ON LOCAL AGENCIES 
	The California Constitution (California Constitution, Article XIIIB, Section 6) requires the state to reimburse local governments for any costs incurred when the state mandates local government to provide certain new programs or higher levels of service. The Constitution provides that reimbursement is permissible but not required for mandates requested by the local agency affected, legislation defining a new crime or changing an existing definition of a crime or for mandates enacted before January 1, 1975. 
	In addition, statutes require reimbursement to local agencies in the following two cases: 
	Enactment ofproperty tax exemptions or new classifications of exempt property (Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2229); or, 
	0 .

	Enactment of sales and use tax exemptions that cause a new loss of revenue (Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2230). 
	0 .

	Constitutional requirements for reimbursement cannot be waived. Statutory requirements for reimbursement may be waived by statute, including the statute creating a new exemption. 
	6. HEARINGS BY LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES 
	Bills materially changing the Revenue and Taxation Code (whether by amendment, addition or deletion) are generally referred to the Assembly Committee on Revenue and Taxation and the Senate Committee on Governance and Finance for policy review. 
	Under current legislative rules, tax bills, like other bills, must be referred to the Appropriations Committee of each house if they do any of the following: 
	0 
	Appropriate money; 
	0 
	Result in a substantial expenditure of state money by imposing new responsibilities on the state, imposing new or additional duties on state agencies, or liberalizing any state program, function, or responsibility; 
	0 
	Result in a substantial gain or loss of revenue to the state; or, 
	0 
	Result in a substantial reduction of expenditures by reducing, transferring, or eliminating any existing responsibilities of any state agency, program, or function. 
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	7. EFFECTIVE DATES AND OPERATIVE DATES 
	In order to become law, tax bills, like all bills, must be passed by both houses of the Legislature and signed by the Governor, allowed to become law without the Governor's signature, or passed over the Governor's veto [California Constitution, Article IV, Sections 8(b) and lO(a).] 
	The effective date of a bill is the date it becomes law. Tax levy bills, urgency bills, bills calling for an election, and bills making appropriations for the usual current expenses of California go into effect immediately upon enactment [California Constitution, Article IV, Section 8(c)(3).] Bills that do not take immediate effect (i.e., bills that are not tax levies or urgency measures or that do not call for an election or make an appropriation) take effect on January 1 following enactment [California Co
	For most tax bills, the effective date of a bill that takes immediate effect is the day the statute is chaptered by the Secretary of State. However, unless specified otherwise, personal income tax and corporation tax bills apply to taxable years beginning on or after the January 1 preceding enactment (Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 17034, 18415, and 23058). For example, a bill enacting an income tax credit that is chaptered by the Secretary of State during 2010 will apply to taxable years beginning on a
	Furthermore, bills may specify an operative date that is different from the effective date of a bill. For example: 
	Bills amending the Sales and Use Tax Law will often specify as an operative date the first day ofthe first calendar quarter beginning more than 90 days after a bill's effective date; 
	0 .

	Personal income and corporation tax bills sometimes specify an operative date beginning in a different taxable year than the one in which the bill is enacted; or, 
	0 .

	Any type of bill (whether or not it is tax-related) may specify another operative date. A bill's operative date is sometimes pushed back in time in order to delay its revenue impact or to allow both taxpayers and the agency charged with administration more time to prepare. 
	0 .

	Bills enacted in special sessions of the Legislature have different rules governing passage and effective dates. 
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	1. INTRODUCTION 
	1. INTRODUCTION 
	While the Legislature has broad powers to impose taxes, there are a number of 
	restrictions on this power. The U.S. Constitution restricts the Legislature's ability to 
	impose taxes. Other factors also constrain the Legislature's ability to impose taxes, as 
	described below. 

	2. CALIFORNIA CONSTITUTIONAL RESTRICTIONS 
	2. CALIFORNIA CONSTITUTIONAL RESTRICTIONS 
	A number of features of California's tax law are established in the California Constitution. Modification or repeal ofmany ofthese features must be accomplished by a constitutional amendment approved by the voters of the state. The major constitutional provisions governing the power of taxation are described below. 
	General Taxes Not Subject to Referendum. Section 9 ofArticle II states that statutes providing for tax levies or appropriations for the usual current expenses of California are not subject to referendum. 
	Vehicle License Fees Reserved for Cities and Counties. Section 15 of Article XI requires all revenues derived from that portion ofthe Vehicle License Fee rate that does not exceed 0.65% ofthe fair market value ofthe vehicle to be allocated to cities and counties. 
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	Uniform Property Taxation. Section 1 of Article XIII specifies that all property is 
	taxable and must be assessed and taxed at full market value. This provision is modified 
	by the restrictions upon reassessment contained in Article XIIIA. 



	The State May Authorize, But Not Impose, Local Taxes. Section 24 of A1ticle XIII 
	The State May Authorize, But Not Impose, Local Taxes. Section 24 of A1ticle XIII 
	specifies that the state may not impose taxes for local purposes, but may authorize local 
	governments to impose them. 
	Insurers Are Exempt From Most Taxes. Section 28 of Article XIII exempts insurance 
	companies or associations from all taxes other than the state insurance gross premiums 
	tax, local property taxes, and motor vehicles fees. Only the rate of the gross premiums 
	tax may be changed by the Legislature. (See Chapter 3C ofthis Reference Book for 
	more information on the Insurance Gross Premiums Tax.) 

	Local Tax Sharing Requires Voter Approval. Section 29 of Article XIII requires any 
	Local Tax Sharing Requires Voter Approval. Section 29 of Article XIII requires any 
	agreement to share sales or use tax revenues between local jurisdictions to receive 
	majority voter approval. 
	Sales Tax for Public Safety. Section 35 of Article XIII, approved by the voters in 
	November of 1993, imposes a 1/2 cent sales and use tax statewide with the revenues 
	allocated to cities and counties to fund public safety services. 
	Sales Tax for Education. Until January 1, 2017, Section 36 of Article XIII, approved by the voters in November 2012, imposed a 1/4 cent sales and use tax statewide with the revenues allocated to schools and community colleges. 
	Property Tax Rate Limited. Section 1 of Article XIIIA (Proposition 13) limits ad 
	valorem property tax revenues to 1 % offull cash value. Section 2 of Article XIIIA defines full cash value and provides that property shall only be reassessed when it changes ownership. No state transaction taxes or real estate taxes may be imposed. 
	Vote Requirement for State Taxes. Section 3 of Article XJTJA provides that increases in state taxes must be approved by a two-thirds vote of both houses ofthe Legislature and prohibits imposition of new ad valorem property taxes or state transaction taxes. 
	Two-Thirds Vote for Local Special Taxes. Section 4 ofArticle XIIIA requires cities, counties, and special districts to receive two-thirds voter approval in order to impose a "special" tax (see below). Section 2(d) of Article XIIIC provides that no local government may impose, extend, or increase any special tax unless it is approved by a two-thirds vote ofthe electorate. 
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	No Gifts of Public Funds. Section 6 of Article XVI prohibits the Legislature from 
	making gifts or loans ofpublic moneys. The interpretation of this prohibition constrains 
	the Legislature from providing retroactive tax relief. 
	Redevelopment Areas. Section 16 of Article XVI specifies that an "increment" of tax 
	revenues generated in a redevelopment area shall be allocated to redevelopment 
	activities. 
	Use of Fuel Tax Revenues. Article XIX requires revenues from fuel taxes to be used for specified transportation-related purposes. (See Chapter 3E for more information on Fuel Taxes.) 
	3. U.S. CONSTITUTIONAL RESTRICTIONS 
	Some restrictions in the U.S. Constitution, which California adopted as a condition to 
	admittance into the Union, further limit the power of the Legislature to tax. 
	For example, the state may not tax the U.S. government or its instrumentalities. The state is also prohibited from taxing imports or exports and from imposing taxes that violate either the Due Process Clause or the Commerce Clause. 
	4. STATE APPROPRIATIONS LIMIT 
	The California Constitution (Article XIIIB) imposes an indirect constraint on the level of taxation in the state by way ofan appropriations limit. 
	Under Article XIIIB, most spending by the state from tax proceeds is subject to an annual appropriations limit. The limit is expressed as the level of its appropriations in the base year (1986-87), with annual adjustments for changes in population and California's cost­of-living, as defined. Revenues collected that exceed this limit over a two-year period are divided between K-14 programs and rebates to taxpayers. 
	Proposition 111, approved by the voters in June 1990, substantially modified the provisions of the Article XIIIB appropriations limit. See Chapter 5 of this Reference Book for a detailed discussion of the existing appropriations limit. 
	5. INITIATIVE STATUTES 
	Generally, statutory tax law adopted by the voters through the initiative process may not be changed by the Legislature. Unless otherwise provided in the initiative statute, laws adopted through the initiative process may only be changed by a vote of the people. Amendments may be achieved through popular vote on one of the following two types of measures: (a) another initiative that is qualified for the ballot by the people, or (b) a bill that is passed by the Legislature and subsequently placed on the stat
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	Examples of state tax laws adopted by initiative include: 
	0 
	Repeal of the state inheritance tax (Proposition 6 of June 1982); 
	0 
	Requirement to index personal income tax brackets (Proposition 7 of June 
	1982); 
	Establishment ofthe state lottery, and provisions that sales of lottery tickets are exempt from state sales taxes and that lottery winnings are exempt from state income taxes (Proposition 3 7 ofNovember 1984 ); 
	0 .

	Increase in cigarette taxes and imposition of tobacco taxes and use of surtax revenues for treatment and research oftobacco-related diseases; school and community health education programs (Proposition 99 ofNovember 1988); 
	0 .

	Increase in state motor vehicle fuel taxes (Proposition 111 ofJune 1990); 
	0 .

	Increase in cigarette and tobacco taxes and use of funds for early childhood development and smoking prevention programs (Proposition 10 ofNovember 1998); 
	0 .

	Requirements to use the revenues derived from sales taxes on gasoline purchases for transportation purposes instead of depositing the revenues into the General Fund (Proposition 42 of March 2002); 
	0 .

	Imposition of a 1 % surtax on taxable incomes in excess of $1 million and use of funds for mental health services (Proposition 63 ofNovember 2004); 
	0 .

	Requirement for multistate business to utilize a "single sales factor" apportionment formula for determining their taxable income in California. (Proposition 39 ofNovember 2012). 
	0 .

	Some initiative statutes (e.g., Proposition 99) contain language specifying the types of 
	changes the Legislature may make by statute and the vote requirements applicable to 
	those changes. 
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	6. VOTE REQUIREMENTS FORTAX INCREASES 
	California is one of 16 states that require super-majority votes of the Legislature on tax 
	increases. As noted in Chapter 1 B, any change in state statute that results in any taxpayer 
	paying a higher tax must be passed by a two-thirds vote of each house of the Legislature 
	(Article XIIIA, Section 3, as amended by Proposition 26, November 2, 201 0). 
	CHAPTER IC RESTRICTIONS ON THE TAXING POWER OF THE LEGISLATURE 
	7. GOVERNOR'S VETO 
	In order to become law, bills must be passed by both houses of the Legislature and signed by the Governor or allowed to become law without the Governor's signature. Ifthe Governor vetoes a bill, it may become law if the veto is overridden by a two-thirds vote ofeach house ofthe Legislature. 
	8. LIMITS ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT TAXING AUTHORITY 
	Four voter-approved initiatives limit the power of local government to impose taxes for 
	local purposes. 
	Proposition 13 (California Constitution, Aiiicle XIIIA approved by the voters in 1978) 
	limits the ability of local governments to impose special taxes. Under Proposition 13, 
	cities, counties, and schools must receive two-thirds voter approval before imposing a 
	"special tax". Local jurisdictions are prohibited from imposing property tax rates above 
	1 %, except for specified rates for debt service. Proposition 13 did not, however, define 
	what constitutes a "special" tax. 
	Proposition 26, (California Constitution, Article XIIIA and Article XIIIC approved by 
	the voters in 2010) broadens the definition of state and local taxes to include any change 
	in state statute that results in any taxpayer paying a higher tax. This proposition also 
	imposes an additional requirement for voters to approve local levies and charges with 
	limited exceptions. 
	Proposition 62, a statutory initiative approved by the voters in 1986, prevents the imposition of new general taxes by local agencies without voter approval. However, because Proposition 62 was a statutory, rather than a constitutional initiative, it did not restrict charter law cities' right to impose general taxes without a vote or prevail over any contradictory constitutional provisions. Appellate courts found Proposition 62's voter approval requirements for general taxes unconstitutional. In 1995, howev
	Proposition 218 (California Constitution, Articles XIIIC and XIIID approved by the voters in 1996) requires a majority vote of the people in order to approve the imposition or increase of a general tax. In addition, it provides that any general tax imposed, extended, or increased after January 1, 1995, and before the effective date of Proposition 218, shall continue to be imposed only if approved by a majority vote of the people. 
	It further provides that no local government may impose, extend, or increase any special tax unless approved by a two-thirds vote. In addition, it provides that a special tax means "any tax imposed for specific purposes, including a tax imposed for specific 
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	purposes which is placed into a general fund". Proposition 218 also provides that special purpose districts or agencies, including school districts, have no power to levy general taxes. 
	Proposition 218 established procedures and requirements for all assessments for special benefits. No assessment may be imposed on any parcel that exceeds the reasonable cost of the proportional special benefit conferred to that parcel. Further, the assessment may not be imposed ifthere is a majority protest. In general, a majority protest exists if the number of ballots submitted in opposition to the assessment exceed the number of ballots submitted in support to the assessment. 
	Proposition 218 requires a majority vote of property owners or a two-thirds vote of the 
	electorate to impose or increase a property-related fee for any service other than water, 
	sewer or refuse collection. It further specifies that no property-related fee may be: 
	Levied to pay for a general governmental service, such as police or fire service; 
	0 .

	Imposed for a service not used by the property owner; or, 
	0 .

	Used to finance programs unrelated to the property-related services. 
	0 .
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	9. LIMITS ON STATE INVOLVEMENT IN LOCAL TAXATION 
	Proposition .lA (California Constitution, Articles XI, XIII, and XIIIB, approved by the voters in 2004) significantly reduced the state's authority over major local government revenue sources and requires the state to reimburse local governments for future revenue shifts approved at the state level. Among its many provisions, Proposition IA prohibits the state from: 
	• .
	• .
	• .
	Reducing any local sales tax rate; 

	• .
	• .
	Limiting a local government's authority to levy a sales tax rate; 

	• .
	• .
	Changing the allocation oflocal sales tax revenue; 

	• .
	• .
	Shifting property tax revenues from local governments to schools or community colleges, over and above those shifts in effect prior to November 3, 2004; 

	• .
	• .
	Reducing the property tax revenues provided to cities and counties as part of the so-called "triple-flip", an arrangement in which the state shifted property tax revenues for sales tax revenues and pledged the sales tax revenue to pay off deficit bonds approved by voters in March 2004. 
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	Under Proposition IA, any decision by the state to lower the Vehicle License Fee rate below the rate in effect on November 3, 2004, must be accompanied by a pledge to provide local governments with equal replacement revenues. Additionally, any change in how property tax revenues are shared among local governments within a county must be approved by two-thirds ofboth houses ofthe Legislature (prior law allowed such changes to be approved with a majority vote). 
	Proposition lA does provide one major exception to its provisions. Beginning in 2008­09, the state may shift a limited amount ofproperty tax revenue from local governments to schools for one fiscal year, provided that (1) the Governor declares that the shift is needed due to a severe state financial hardship, (2) the Legislature approves the shift with a two-thirds vote ofboth houses, and (3) the money is repaid with interest within three years. Shifts such as the one just described may not be perfonned mor
	Sales and Property Tax Swap-the "Triple Flip". The Legislature passed the 2003-04 Budget package with a specific feature to finance the deficit financing bonds. To facilitate repayment, sales tax revenues were swapped for prope11y tax revenues. This three-step method, known as the "triple flip", contained the following: 
	1) .Redirecting one-quarter of 1% ofthe local sales tax revenue to the state to repay the deficit reduction bonds. This temporary measure began in fiscal year 2004-05; 
	2) .Offsetting the loss of local sales tax revenues by redirecting an equal amount of property taxes to cities and counties from the Educational Revenue Augmentation Fund (ERAF); and 
	3) .Increasing state education apportionment to replace K-14 revenue losses related to redirected ERAF monies. 
	The Triple Flip expired on December 31, 2015. Beginning January 1, 2016, cities and counties will receive their one-quarter of 1% local sales tax revenue again. 
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	CHAPTERlD 
	WHERE TO GET INFORMATION ABOUT STATE TAXES 
	AGENCY TAX 
	Board of Equalization (BOE) 
	Check local phone directory 
	for district office or call the toll­
	free statewide number of 
	(800) 400-7115 or log on to 
	www.hoe.ca.gov 

	California Relay Service (CRS): 711 (for hearing and speech disabilities) 
	Call County Assessor for inquiries regarding lo.cal property taxes. 
	Sales and Use Property Alcoholic Beverage Cigarette Emergency Telephone Users 
	Surcharge Energy Resources Surcharge Hazardous Substances Insurance Motor Vehicle Fuel Diesel Fuel Use Fuel Timber Yield 
	Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 
	Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 
	Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 
	Personal Income Tax 

	TR
	Corporation Tax 

	(800) 852-5711 
	(800) 852-5711 

	(800) 822-6268 (Hearing Impaired) 
	(800) 822-6268 (Hearing Impaired) 

	(800) 852-2753 
	(800) 852-2753 

	Or log on to: 
	Or log on to: 

	www.ftb.ca.gov 
	www.ftb.ca.gov 

	For calls outside the United States: 
	For calls outside the United States: 

	(916) 845-6500 
	(916) 845-6500 

	Taxpayer Advocate 
	Taxpayer Advocate 

	(916) 845-4300 
	(916) 845-4300 
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	AGENCY TAX 
	Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 
	Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 
	Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 
	Motor Vehicle Fees: 

	TR
	Vehicle License Fee (VLF), 

	(800) 777-0133 
	(800) 777-0133 
	Registration, and Weight 

	Or log on to: 
	Or log on to: 
	Use Tax on Vehicles 

	www.dmv. ca.gov 
	www.dmv. ca.gov 


	Department of Insurance 
	Department of Insurance 
	Department of Insurance 

	(800) 927-4357 
	(800) 927-4357 
	Insurance: 
	Gross Premiums Tax 

	Los Angeles Area (213) 897-8921 
	Los Angeles Area (213) 897-8921 

	(916) 325-3800 or log on to: 
	(916) 325-3800 or log on to: 
	California Earthquake Authority 

	www.msurance.ca.gov 
	www.msurance.ca.gov 


	Employment Development Department (EDD) 
	Employment Development Department (EDD) 
	Employment Development Department (EDD) 
	Unemployment Insurance (UI) 

	TR
	Employment Training Tax (ETT) 

	For employment tax information, log on 
	For employment tax information, log on 
	State Disability Insurance (SDI) 

	to EDD's Web site at www.edd.ca.gov 
	to EDD's Web site at www.edd.ca.gov 
	Personal Income Tax (PIT) Withholding 

	or contact: 
	or contact: 

	Taxpayer Assistance Center 
	Taxpayer Assistance Center 

	(888) 745-3886 
	(888) 745-3886 


	State Controller's Office Estate Tax 
	For Estate Tax information, log on to: 
	\VWW.sco.ca.gov 

	Registry of Charitable Trusts 
	Registry of Charitable Trusts 
	Registry of Charitable Trusts 
	Charities 

	TR
	Charitable Trusts 

	(916) 445-2021 (not a toll-free number) 
	(916) 445-2021 (not a toll-free number) 
	Public Benefit Corporations 

	Office of Attorney General -Charitable Trusts 
	Office of Attorney General -Charitable Trusts 

	Public Inquiry Unit: 
	Public Inquiry Unit: 
	(916) 322-3360 

	(for copies of publications) 
	(for copies of publications) 

	http://caag.state.ca. us/charities 
	http://caag.state.ca. us/charities 
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	CHAPTER2A .
	INTRODUCTION TO THE .PERSONAL INCOME TAX, .CORPORATION TAX, .AND SALES AND USE TAX .
	The personal income tax, corporation tax, and sales and use tax are the "Big Three" of California taxes for several reasons. First, they are the largest sources of revenue. Together, they are forecast to raise $115.3 billion in fiscal year (FY) 2015-16 (97.0% of all General Fund revenues) and $120.l billion in FY 2016-17 (97.2% of all General Fund revenues). (Source: 2016-17 Enacted Governors' Budget Summary-Figure SUM-04.) 
	Secondly, they are more complex than most of the other taxes. The personal income tax, for instance, has five different filing statuses, nine different tax brackets in each filing status, and dozens of different tax credits and itemized deductions. 
	Thirdly, these three taxes have the greatest impact on California taxpayers. Nearly all Californians pay the sales tax, and the Franchise Tax Board (FIB) currently receives about 16.4 million income tax returns each year, most of which report a tax liability. Nearly all of California businesses pay some form ofthe corporation tax. 
	The following chapters, therefore, devote many pages to these three taxes. The unitary method of taxation for multi state and multinational corporations, formally known as Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act (UDITP A), is among the most complicated of all provisions of California tax law and is also discussed. The remaining chapters are devoted to the other California taxes. 
	Readers may obtain additional information on these taxes by calling the various administrative agencies -the FIB, the State Board of Equalization (BOE), and the Employment Development Department (EDD). 
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	Threshold of Taxation* (Gross income) 

	• .
	• .
	Revenue* * 


	• Administration *Source: FTB 
	HIGHLIGHTS 
	1.00% -12.30%; brackets are indexed 
	annually for inflation. 
	Over 17 .3 million returns filed in 2014 .(most recent year for which this information .is available). .
	$16,256 for single taxpayers with no .dependents. .$32,514 for married taxpayers with no .dependents. .
	2014-15 (Actual) $75.3 billion .2015-16 (Actual) $81.3 billion .
	66% of total General Fund revenues. 2015-16 
	Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 
	**From the Governor's 2015-16 Enacted Budget, Figure SUM-05 General Fund Revenue Sources-Proposed Budget Summary 
	1. WHO PAYS THE PERSONAL INCOME TAX .
	Individuals who are residents of California are liable for the personal income tax on 
	income derived from all sources. Nonresidents of this state must pay income tax on income derived from sources within California. However, nonresidents are generally allowed a credit against their California tax for taxes they pay to their state of residence on the same income. 
	In addition to individuals, partnerships, limited liability companies, estates, and trusts are taxed under the "Personal Income Tax Law". 
	21 .
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	PERSONAL INCOME TAX COMPONENTS 
	Federal Income From All Sources Minus Exempt Income (examples): Nontaxable Social Security and Railroad Retirement; Insurance Proceeds; Bequests and Gifts; Public Assistance; IRA and Keogh Interest; Interest on Certain State and Municipal Government Obligations; Scholarships and Fellowships, Student Loan Forgiveness, Grants Rebates and other financial incentives received for seismic improvements Equals Total Gross Income: Salaries and Wages; Taxable Interest; Dividends; Taxable State and Local Income Tax Re
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	TAX 
	PERSONAL INCOME TAX COMPONENTS (Continued) 
	Minus Payments and Refundable Credits: Income Tax Withholding; Estimated Tax; Payment with Extensions; Excess SDI or VPDI; Overpayment Applied from Prior Year; Real Estate or Other Withholdings 
	Minus Payments and Refundable Credits: Income Tax Withholding; Estimated Tax; Payment with Extensions; Excess SDI or VPDI; Overpayment Applied from Prior Year; Real Estate or Other Withholdings 
	Minus Payments and Refundable Credits: Income Tax Withholding; Estimated Tax; Payment with Extensions; Excess SDI or VPDI; Overpayment Applied from Prior Year; Real Estate or Other Withholdings 

	Plus Voluntary Contributions 
	Plus Voluntary Contributions 

	Equals Overpayment or Balance Due 
	Equals Overpayment or Balance Due 


	Source: Franchise Tax Board 
	2. CALCULATION OF THE PERSONAL INCOME TAX 
	Taxpayers must compute their tax liability based on income earned during the year, usually the calendar year. Generally, taxpayers must add up all sources of nonexempt income and subtract the adjustments and deductions to which they are entitled to calculate "taxable income". They then apply the appropriate tax rate to their taxable income to arrive at a preliminary tax liability. After calculating their preliminary tax liability, taxpayers may then apply tax credits, which reduce liability (i.e., every $1 
	The chart on the preceding page illustrates the steps involved in calculating final tax 
	liability. As the chart shows, the income that is actually subject to tax is much smaller 
	than a taxpayer's total income earned or received. 
	3. RELATIONSHIP OF STATE AND FEDERAL TAX FORMS 
	California's tax law largely conforms to federal income tax law. This allows substantial 
	simplicity for state tax forms. Today, a majority of the steps in computing income 
	subject to tax are done on federal Forms 1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ. California Form 540 
	starts with federal adjusted gross income (AGI), then requires taxpayers to make 
	adjustments to reflect differences in state law, apply state tax credits, and compute state 
	tax. 
	A second state form, without a comparable federal form, offers taxpayers a different, simplified method of calculating their taxes. Beginning with the 1999 tax year, Form 540 2EZ replaced Form 540 EZ. Form 540 2EZ begins with the taxpayer's total wages. However, the tax tables that accompany Form 540 2EZ already include the standard deduction and personal and dependent exemption credits, thereby simplifying the calculation processes required for other state forms. 
	In addition to the state fonns available on the FTB Web site, California also offers CalFile, an online service that offers free, direct to the government e-filing ofthe tax return. Similarly, the IRS offers the freefile program. 
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	4. TAXABLE AND NONTAXABLE INCOME 
	4. TAXABLE AND NONTAXABLE INCOME 
	4. TAXABLE AND NONTAXABLE INCOME 
	For purposes of the personal income tax, income is measured or defined in four important stages: (a) Calculation of exempt income; (b) Gross income; (c) AGI; and (d) Taxable income (Tl). 
	The major sources of income that are taken into account in computing tax liability include the following: 
	Gross Income. Gross income is the starting point for calculating tax on the federal return. Gross income includes income from all sources, unless otherwise exempt. Income that must be included in gross income for both state and federal purposes includes salaries, wages, commissions, tips, alimony received, dividends, interest earnings, annuities, pensions, net gains from the sale of capital assets, net partnership and proprietorship income, net farm income, and others. Losses from capital assets, partnershi
	0 .

	For some items, the amount of income entered on the tax return may be a negative number ifthe taxpayer has incurred a loss. 
	Exempt Income. Certain types of income are exempt from tax. In many cases, taxpayers are not required to report this income on their tax return. Some of these items are exempt in California but are taxable for federal purposes. The most common income items that are taxable on the federal return and exempt on the state return are California lottery winnings, a portion of Social Security and Railroad Retirement benefits, unemployment compensation, and interest from U.S. Savings Bonds and Treasury Bills. Since
	0 .

	Adjusted Gross Income. After totaling all items included in gross income, certain deductions are allowed to compute AGL These "adjustments" include payments into certain retirement plans (IRAs, Keogh plans, self-employed plans, etc.), alimony paid, penalties paid on early withdrawal of savings, and the employer portion of Social Security that is paid by the self-employed (i.e., the self-employment tax). The remaining amount is AGL 
	0 .

	0 
	Taxable Income. Either the standard deduction or itemized deductions may further reduce AGL These are described below. The remaining amount is taxable income. Tax rates are applied to this amount in order to compute tax owed before credits. 
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	5. DEDUCTIONS FROM ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME (AGI) 
	All taxpayers are allowed to deduct certain amounts from AGL Most deductions are intended to reduce the amount of income subject to tax to reflect certain living costs incurred by all taxpayers. The rationale behind deductions is that these living costs affect taxpayers' ability to pay. 
	The value of a deduction to a taxpayer (i.e., the amount by which the deduction reduces the taxpayer's tax liability) generally may be estimated by multiplying the deduction by the taxpayer's highest marginal tax rate (see Section 8 ofthis chapter for a discussion of marginal rates). For example, the approximate state tax savings to a person in the top tax bracket (12.30%) who deducts a $100 expense is $12.30 ($100 expense times the 12.30% tax rate). 
	A taxpayer may reduce his or her AGI by the larger of either the standard deduction or the total of his or her allowed itemized deductions. 
	Standard Deduction. The standard deduction is a fixed dollar amount intended to approximate deductible living expenses. For the 2015 taxable year, the standard deduction amounts under California law are as follows: 
	Single and Married/Registered Domestic Partner (RDP) Filing Separately 
	Single and Married/Registered Domestic Partner (RDP) Filing Separately 
	Single and Married/Registered Domestic Partner (RDP) Filing Separately 
	$4,044 

	Married/RDP Filing Jointly, Qualifying Widow( er), and Head ofHousehold 
	Married/RDP Filing Jointly, Qualifying Widow( er), and Head ofHousehold 
	$8,088 

	These amounts are indexed annually for inflation. 
	These amounts are indexed annually for inflation. 


	Standard deduction amounts under federal law are different from those in California law. In 2015, federal amounts are as follows: Single $ 6,300 Married/RDP Filing Jointly or Qualifying Widow( er) $12,600 Head of Household $ 9,250 
	Married/RDP Filing Separately $ 6,300 Federal law also allows taxpayers to increase their standard deductions ifthey have dependents, are over age 65, and/or blind. 
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	Unlike federal law, California does not allow larger standard deductions for taxpayers 
	that have dependents and/or are over age 65 and/or blind. Instead, state law provides 
	exemption credits (see Section 7). 
	Itemized Deductions. As an alternative to the standard deduction, both state and federal law allow various specific expenses (called itemized deductions) to be deducted from AGL The major itemized deductions permitted include the following: 
	Home mortgage interest on first and second homes, subject to certain limits; 
	0 .

	Property taxes; 
	0 .

	Charitable contributions up to an annual cap. Amounts above the cap may be carried over and deducted in subsequent years; 
	0 .

	Unreimbursed medical expenses in excess of7.5% of AGI; 
	0 .

	Unreimbursed casualty and theft losses of over $100. However, only losses in excess of 10% of AGI may be deducted; and 
	0 .

	Certain miscellaneous expenses in excess of 2% of AGL Examples of 
	0 .

	deductible miscellaneous expenses include union dues, unifom1s, job-related 
	educational expenses, tax return preparation fees, safe deposit box costs, and 
	unreimbursed business expenses. 
	California's rules on itemized deductions are very similar to federal rules. The major 
	difference is that federal law allows an itemized deduction for state income taxes paid, 
	whereas California law does not. 
	State limits itemized deductions for high-income filers. For 2015, the California phase­out affects single filers with AGIs in excess of $178, 706, joint filers with AG Is in excess of $357,417, and head of household filers with AG Is in excess of $268,063 . 
	Exemptions. In addition to a11owing taxpayers a choice of claiming either the standard deduction or itemizing deductions, federal law also allows taxpayers to claim personal and dependent exemptions. The 2015 federal exemption amount equals $4,000. Starting with tax year 2011, taxpayers no longer lose part of their deduction for personal and dependent exemptions, regardless of the amount of the taxpayer's AGL 
	The federal exemptions are phased out for single filers with AGis in excess of $380,750, joint filers with AGis in excess of $432,400 and head of household filers with AGis in excess of $406,550. 
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	6. .FILING STATUS 
	Taxpayers must file using one of five filing statuses: (a) Single; (b) Married Filing 
	Separately; ( c) Married Filing Jointly; ( d) Head of Household; or ( e) Qualifying 
	Widow( er). 
	Filing status affects tax liability because it determines which tax rate schedules and 
	personal exemption credits a taxpayer may claim on his or her return. 
	A head of household is generally a person who is not married at the end of the taxable 
	year and who has a child or other relative living with him or her for more than half the 
	year. 
	A taxpayer qualifies to file as a qualifying widow( er) ifhe or she is a widow( er) who 
	remains unmarried and maintains a dependent in the home. The taxpayer may file as a 
	qualifying widow( er) for the two tax years following the tax year in which the taxpayer's 
	spouse dies. In the year the spouse dies, the taxpayer must file a joint return. The 
	qualifying widow( er) filing status generally permits the use of tax rates, deductions, and 
	credits similar to those used by joint filers. 
	In general, California taxpayers must use the same filing status on their state returns as they use on their federal returns. In certain situations where one spouse is in the military or a nonresident, or the taxpayers are RDPs, California permits a filing status different from the filing status claimed on the taxpayer's federal return. A taxpayer might choose different filing statuses at the state and federal level if he or she could lower his or her tax liability by doing so. Effective for tax years begin
	7. .PERSONAL, DEPENDENT, SENIOR, AND BLIND EXEMPTION CREDITS 
	California taxpayers are entitled to personal and dependent exemption credits in addition to their deductions. These exemption credits are intended to shelter a minimum amount of income of each person in the household from tax. The federal government offers similar tax relief through the personal/dependent exemptions and increased standard deductions for certain qualifying individuals. 
	The personal exemption credit can be claimed by all taxpayers, except those who can be claimed as a dependent on another person's return. An example would be a college student who earns enough income to file his or her own tax return, but who is also eligible to be claimed as dependent on his or her parents' return. 
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	A dependent exemption credit may be claimed for any relative of the taxpayer (child, 
	stepchild, parent, stepparent, sibling, etc.) whom the taxpayer supports for over half of the calendar year. A non-relative who lives in the taxpayer's home and is supported by the taxpayer can also be claimed as a dependent. 
	An additional exemption credit can be claimed for any person in a household who is blind or age 65 or older on the last day ofthe taxable year. A person who is both blind and a senior is eligible for two additional exemption credits in addition to the personal or dependent exemption credit. 
	The 2015 personal, dependent, senior and blind exemption credits are as follows: 
	Single, Head of Household and 
	Married/RDP Filing Separately 
	Married/RDP Filing Separately 
	Married/RDP Filing Separately 
	$109 

	Married/RDP Filing Jointly and Qualifying Widow( er) 
	Married/RDP Filing Jointly and Qualifying Widow( er) 
	$218 

	Each Dependent 
	Each Dependent 
	$337 

	Additional Credit for Person Over Age 65 
	Additional Credit for Person Over Age 65 
	$109 

	Additional Credit for Blind Person 
	Additional Credit for Blind Person 
	$109 

	These credits are indexed for inflation annually. 
	These credits are indexed for inflation annually. 


	State exemption credits are phased out for taxpayers with federal AGis that exceed a 
	threshold amount. The threshold amounts for 2015 are $357,417 [married/RDP filing jointly and qualifying widow( er)], $268,063 (head of household), and $178,706 (single 
	and married/RDP filing separately). Like the exemption credits, the phase-out threshold 
	amounts are indexed for inflation annually. 
	For state tax purposes, when a taxpayer reaches the phase-out threshold, he or she is required to reduce his or her credits by $6 (if a single taxpayer, head ofhousehold, or married/RDP filing separately) or $12 [if married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow( er)] for each $2,500 ($1,250 if married filing separate) by which that taxpayer's AGI exceeds the threshold amount. For example, a married/RDP couple with two dependents would have their total exemption credits reduced by $24 (12 + 6 + 6) for each 
	8. TAX RATES AND BRACKETS 
	Proposition 30 increased California income tax rates effective January 1, 2012, for taxpayers with taxable income of more than $250,000 for single/RDP filers, $500,000 for joint filers, and 340,000 for head of household filers. 
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	California's maximum marginal rate is 12.3% for taxable years beginning on January 1, 
	2012 and ending on December 31, 2018. 
	Proposition 63, approved by the voters in November 2004, adds a 1 % surtax on that 
	portion of a taxpayer's taxable income in excess of $1 million, effective for tax years 
	beginning on January 1, 2005. Revenues of $1.2 billion are estimated for the 2013-14 
	fiscal year. Annual revenues of $1.56 billion for 2014-15, and $1.52 billion for 2015-16 
	are projected. Approximately 56,291 tax returns were liable for the surcharge for the 
	2012 taxable year. 
	Revenue generated by the Proposition 63 tax surcharge is used to expand existing county mental health programs and create new programs. 
	California law provides for nine (9) progressive marginal tax rates applied to taxable income: 1.00%, 2.00%, 4.00%, 6.00%, 8.00%, 9.30%, 10.30%, 11.30%, and 12.30%. The term "marginal tax rate" refers to the rate applied to the last (or highest) dollar of taxable income. Additionally, as noted above, for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005, a 1% surtax is imposed on taxable income in excess of $1 million. 
	Under a system ofprogressive marginal tax rates (or "brackets"), each additional increment of income a person earns is subject to a higher tax rate. For example, the first increment of income is taxed at a rate of 1.00%, the second (next greater) increment is taxed at a rate of 2.00%, the third increment is taxed at a rate of 4.00%, and so on. The principle behind progressive marginal tax rates is that people with more income have a greater ability to pay taxes than those with lower incomes. 
	The California tax rates and income brackets that apply for the 2015 year are shown in Table 2 on the next page. Note that each filing status has the same rates of tax but the amounts of income included in each respective bracket are different. Table 2 shows that in 2015, the maximum tax rate of 12.30% applied to single taxpayers with taxable incomes of $500,000 or more and to married taxpayers with taxable incomes of $1 ,000,000 or more. The income brackets are indexed annually for inflation (see Section 1
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	TABLE2 .
	CALIFORNIA TAX RATES FOR 2015 
	IF TAXABLE INCOME IS : .Over: But Not Over: The Tax Amount is: .Single Person or Married/RDP Filing Separate -Schedule X .
	$0 $7,850 $7,850 $18,610 $18,610 $29,372 
	$29,372 $40,773 $40,773 $51,530 $51 ,530 $263,222 $263,222 $315,866 $315,866 $526,443 $526,443 and over 
	1.00% ofthe amount over $0 $78.50 plus 2% ofthe amount over $7,850 $293.70 plus 4% of the amount over $18,610 
	$724.18 plus 6% of the amount over $29,372 of the amount over $40,733 $ofthe amount over $51,530 $21 ,956.16 plus 10.30% of the amount over $263,222 $of the amount over $315,866 
	$1,408.24 plus 8% 
	2,268.80 plus 9.30% 
	27,378.49 plus 11.30% 

	$of the amount over $526,443 
	51,173.69 plus 12.30% 

	Married/RDP Filing Joint or Qualifying Widow( er) with Dependent Child -Schedule Y 
	$0 $15,700 $15,700 $37,220 $37,220 $58,744 $58,744 $81 ,546 $81,546 $103,060 $103,060 $526,444 $526,444 $631 ,732 $631,732 $1,052,886 $1,052,886 No limit 
	$0 $15,700 $15,700 $37,220 $37,220 $58,744 $58,744 $81 ,546 $81,546 $103,060 $103,060 $526,444 $526,444 $631 ,732 $631,732 $1,052,886 $1,052,886 No limit 
	1.00% of amount over $0 $157.00 plus 2.00% of amount over $15,700 $587.40 plus 4.00% of amount over $37,220 $of amount over $58,744 $ofamount over $81,546 $ofamount over $103,060 $% of amount over $526,444 $54, 756.97 plus 11.30% of amount over $631, 732 $of amount over $1,052,886 
	1,448.36 plus 6.00% 
	2,816.48 plus 8.00% 
	4,537.60 plus 9.30% 
	43,912.31plus10.30
	102,347.37 plus 12.30% 


	Head of Household -Schedule Z 
	$0 
	$0 
	$0 
	$15,710 plus 

	$15,710 
	$15,710 
	$37,221 

	$37,221 
	$37,221 
	$47,982 

	$47,982 
	$47,982 
	$59,383 

	$59,383 
	$59,383 
	$70,142 

	$70,142 
	$70,142 
	$357,981 

	$357,981 
	$357,981 
	$429,578 

	$429,578 
	$429,578 
	$715,962 

	$715,962 
	$715,962 
	No Limit 


	1.00% ofthe amount over $0 $157.10 plus 2.00% of the amount over $15,710 $587.32 plus 4.00% of the amount over $37,221 
	$of the amount over $47,982 $ofthe amount over $59,383 $of the amount over $70,142 $of the amount over $357,981 $of the amount over$429,578 $ofthe amount over $715,962 
	1,017.76 plus 6.00% 
	1,701.82 plus 8.00% 
	2,562.54 plus 9.30% 
	29,331.57 plus 10.30% 
	36,706.06 plus 11.30% 
	69,067.45 plus 12.30% 
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	TABLE3 
	FEDERAL TAX RATES FOR 2015 .
	IF TAXABLE INCOME IS: 
	Over: But Not Over: 
	Single Person -Schedule X: 
	$0 to $9,225 $9,226 $37,450 $37,450 $90,750 $90,750 $189,300 $189,300 $411,500 $411,500 $413,200 $413,200 No Limit 
	$0 to $9,225 $9,226 $37,450 $37,450 $90,750 $90,750 $189,300 $189,300 $411,500 $411,500 $413,200 $413,200 No Limit 
	The Tax Amount is: 

	10% of amount over $0 $922.50 plus 15% of the amount over $9,225 of the amount over $37,450 $of the amount over $90,750 $ofthe amount over $189,300 $of the amount over 411,500 $of the amount over $413,200 
	$5,156.25 plus 25% 
	18,481.25 plus 28% 
	46,075.25 plus 33% 
	119,401.25 plus 35% 
	119,996.25 plus 39.6% 

	Married/RDP Filing Joint or Qualifying Widow(er) -Schedule Y-1: 
	$0 $18,450 $18,450 $74,900 $74,900 $151 ,200 $151,200 $230,450 $230,450 $411,500 $411,500 $464,850 $464,850 No Limit 
	10% ofthe amount over $0 ofthe amount over $18,450 $ofthe amount over $74,900 $of the amount over $151,200 $of the amount over $230,450 $111 ,324.00 plus 35% of the amount over $411,500 $ofthe amount over $464,850 
	$1,845.00 plus 15% 
	10,312.50 plus 25% 
	29,387.50 plus 28% 
	51,577.50 plus 33% 
	129,996.50 plus 39.6% 

	Married/RDP Filing Separately -Schedule Y-2: 
	0 $9,225 $9,226 $37,450 $37,450 $75,600 $75,600 $115,225 $115,225 $205,750 $205,750 $232,425 $232,425 No Limit 
	0 $9,225 $9,226 $37,450 $37,450 $75,600 $75,600 $115,225 $115,225 $205,750 $205,750 $232,425 $232,425 No Limit 
	10% of the amount over $0 $922.50 plus 15% of the amount over $9,225 of the amount over $37,450 $of the amount over $75,600 of the amount over $115,225 $ofthe amount over $205,750 $of the amount over $232,425 
	$5,156.25 plus 25% 
	14,693.75 plus 28% 
	$25,788.75 plus 33% 
	55,662.00 plus 35% 
	64,998.25 plus 39.6% 


	31 .
	CHAPTER2B PERSONAL INCOME TAX 
	TABLE 3 (Continued) FEDERAL TAX RA TES FOR 2015 
	IF TAXABLE INCOME IS : .Over: But Not Over: The Tax Amount is: .
	Head of Household -Schedule Z: 
	$0 
	$0 
	$0 
	$13,150 
	10% ofthe amount over $0 

	$13, 150 
	$13, 150 
	$50,200 
	$1,315.00 plus 15% ofthe amount over $13,150 

	$50,200 
	$50,200 
	$129,600 
	$6,872.50 plus 25% of the amount over $50,200 

	$129,600 
	$129,600 
	$209,850 
	$26,772.50 plus 28% of the amount over $129,600 

	$209,850 
	$209,850 
	$411,500 
	$49,192.50 plus 33% of the amount over $209,850 

	$411,500 
	$411,500 
	$439,000 
	$115,737.00 plus 35% of the amount over $411,500 

	$439,000 
	$439,000 
	No Limit 
	$125,362.00 plus 39.6% ofthe amount over $439,000 

	9. 
	9. 
	INDEXING 


	Many components of the Personal Income Tax Law used to calculate tax liability are 
	modified annually to adjust for inflation using a method called indexing. For example, 
	income brackets, exemption credits, the standard deduction, the joint custody head of 
	household credit, and many ofthe phase-out limits in the Personal Income Tax Law are 
	indexed annually. Indexing is intended to prevent taxpayers from being pushed into higher marginal tax brackets by increases in income that just keep pace with inflation, while the taxpayers' real buying power is not increasing. 
	The indexing adjustment equals the percentage difference between the California Consumer Price Index (CCPI) in June of the current year and June of the prior year. Each dollar value to be indexed is multiplied annually by this percentage change. 
	Indexing is illustrated below using one of the most important components of the personal income tax -brackets. As noted above, annual indexing of income within the tax brackets is intended to keep a taxpayer in the same bracket, as long as his or her income increases no faster than the CCPI. For example, the effect of indexing on two hypothetical taxpayers would be as follows: 
	0 
	A taxpayer who gets a cost-of-living wage increase exactly equal to inflation will have more income in dollars but will have the same buying power as is in the previous year. Without indexing, the taxpayer's increased income might bump him or her into a higher marginal tax bracket, causing the taxpayer to owe additional income tax reflecting a higher tax rate as well as increased 
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	income. Indexing keeps the taxpayer's tax rate at the same level as the prior year, since the taxpayer's buying power remains the same. 
	0 
	A taxpayer on a fixed income loses buying power in inflationary times. Without indexing, the taxpayer's tax liability would remain the same, even though the taxpayer's income was worth less in each succeeding year. 
	Indexing ofthe tax rate brackets lowers the taxpayer's tax liability, consistent with the taxpayer's decline in buying power. 
	Federal law began indexing tax rate brackets in 1985 and the standard deduction in 1989. The federal indexing measure differs from California through use ofthe U.S. Consumer Price Index and a different 12-month period (August to August). 
	10. TAX CREDITS 
	Tax credits reduce tax liability on a dollar-for-dollar basis (i.e., $1 in tax credits reduces a taxpayer's tax liability by $1 ). After the taxpayer computes tax due for his or her taxable income, he or she subtracts the credits to which he or she is entitled, thereby reducing the amount of tax due. Thus, credits have a greater impact than deductions, whose value in reducing tax liability (as discussed in Section 5 ofthis chapter) equals the amount of the deduction times the tax rate. Most state tax credit
	Credits are usually provided to give tax relief to people who incur certain non­discretionary costs, have limited ability to pay taxes, or to provide incentives to people to engage in certain activities that are socially or economically desirable. Tax reform legislation enacted in 1987 placed sunset dates (i.e., automatic repeal) on many credits in the Personal Income Tax Law in order to give the Legislature an opportunity to evaluate their impact. 
	The amount ofthe tax credits allowable in any taxable year may be limited by the taxpayer's alternative minimum tax liability or by tentative minimum tax (see Section 14 of this chapter for further information). 
	Some ofthe tax credits allowed in state law are similar to credits offered in federal law. However, in most cases the federal credits are larger. 
	The most significant credits allowed in state law are described below. The credits are available to both full-time and part-time California residents, as well as to nonresidents with California-source income. California residents are entitled to the full value of each credit, as long as they meet all ofthe eligibility criteria for the credits. Nonresidents and part-year residents are required to prorate the amount ofeach credit claimed using rules specified in statute. 
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	Renter's Credit. The Legislature enacted a "renter's credit" in 1972. In the first 20 years following its inception, both the value of the credit and the income eligibility rules applied to taxpayers that claimed the credit varied, but the credit was always available. However, the renter's tax credit was suspended when California experienced severe economic pressures in the early 1990s. As part of budget agreements, the credit was not available during the five-year period corresponding to the 1993 through 1
	Historically, the renter's tax credit was also refundable. However, as reinstated, the renter's credit is nonrefundable and is subject to income phase-outs. For 2015, married/RDP taxpayers filing jointly, heads of household, and qualifying widow( er) with AGis of$76,518 or less may claim a credit of $120. Single taxpayers and married/RDP taxpayers filing separately with AG Is of $38,259 or less may claim a credit of $60. See Chapter 6E (Renter's Credit) for more information. 
	There is no similar credit in federal law. 
	Senior Head of Household Credit. Taxpayers who are 65 years of age or older on 
	December 31st of the current tax year, qualified as head of household during either the 
	previous two tax years by providing a household for a qualifying individual who died 
	during one of the previous two tax years, and whose AGI for 2015 is $69,902 or less, 
	may claim a credit equal to 2% of taxable income. For 2015, the maximum allowable 
	credit is $1,317. The AGI cap and maximum allowable credit are indexed annually for 
	inflation. 
	There is no similar credit in federal law. 
	Joint Custody Head of Household Credit. Taxpayers who qualify as joint custody heads ofhousehold may claim a state tax credit that offsets a portion of their tax liability. To qualify, the taxpayer must: (a) be unmarried at the end of the year; (b) have custody of a dependent under a custody agreement for between 146 and 219 days of the year; and 
	(c) furnish over half of all household expenses. The credit is 30% of the net tax, not to exceed $431 for the 2015 tax year. The maximum available credit is indexed for inflation annually. The purpose of this credit is to allow divorced couples who share custody of a child to share the benefits of the head ofhousehold filing status. A similar credit is available to separated married persons who support a dependent parent. 
	There is no similar credit in federal law. 
	Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States. In order to avoid double taxation, California residents are generally allowed a credit for income taxes paid to another state on income that is also taxed by California. The credit may not exceed the tax California would have imposed on the income taxed by such other state. Ifthe other state taxes this income at a 
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	lower rate than California, this credit has the effect ofallowing California to tax only a 
	portion of the income taxed by the other state. 
	Excess Employee's State Disability Insurance (SDI) Credit. Employees who work for more than one employer and who earned over $104,3 78 during the 2015 tax year may have paid more than the maximum State Disability Insurance through over-withholding. The excess may be recovered by claiming a credit against the California personal income tax on Form 540 tax return. 
	Child Adoption Cost Credit. This credit is equal to 50% of the costs of adopting a minor child who is a citizen or legal resident of the United States and is in the custody of a California public agency or a political subdivision of California. The credit can be claimed in the taxable year in which the decree or order of adoption is entered, even though qualifying costs paid or incurred in prior years may qualify for the credit. Costs eligible for the credit include: (a) fees for required services of either
	Federal tax law also offers a child adoption cost credit. Taxpayers may claim a credit of 
	up to $13,400 for the qualified adoption expenses of each eligible child. Phase-out of the 
	federal credit begins for taxpayers with modified AGis of more than $201,010; the 
	federal credit is completely phased out for taxpayers with modified AG Is of $241,010 or 
	more for the 2015 tax year. The limitation on eligible expenses and phase-out incomes 
	are increased for inflation annually. Qualified adoption expenses include reasonable and 
	necessary adoption fees, court costs, attorney fees, and other expenses directly related to 
	the legal adoption of an eligible child. For years beginning after 2011, the federal credit 
	is no longer refundable. 
	Child and Dependent Care Credit. Beginning with the 2000 taxable year, taxpayers that maintain a household within the state for a qualifying individual may claim the child and dependent care credit for employment-related expenses. The state credit supplements a similar federal household and dependent care credit. 
	As defined by the federal law, a qualifying individual is a dependent of the taxpayer that is under the age of 13 or a dependent or spouse who is physically or mentally unable to care for himself or herself. Employment-related expenses are defined as those incurred to enable the taxpayer to obtain or retain gainful employment. 
	The federal credit, which can be applied to a maximum of $3,000 in expenses for one dependent and $6,000 in expenses for two or more dependents, is equal to between 20% and 35%, depending on a taxpayer's AGL Taxpayers with AGis of$15,000 or less are 
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	eligible for the 35% credit. The amount ofthe credit decreases by one percentage point for each $2,000 by which a taxpayer's AGI exceeds $15,000. Thus, a credit of20% may be claimed by taxpayers with AGis over $43,000. 
	The state credit amount is a percentage of the federal credit, as follows: 
	Federal AGI 
	Federal AGI 
	Federal AGI 
	Credit Percentage(% ofFederal Credit) 

	$40,000 or less 
	$40,000 or less 
	50% 

	$40,001 to $70,000 
	$40,001 to $70,000 
	43% 

	$70,001 to $100,000 
	$70,001 to $100,000 
	34% 

	Over $100,000 
	Over $100,000 
	0% 


	California taxpayers may claim the state credit regardless of whether they have a federal 
	tax liability. 
	Donated Fresh Fruits or Fresh Vegetables Credit. Qualified taxpayers may claim a 
	credit equal to 10% ofthe costs offresh fruits or fresh vegetables donated to a California 
	food bank. 
	A "qualified taxpayer" is defined as the person responsible for planting the crop, managing the crop, and harvesting the crop from the land. The cost of donated fresh fruits or fresh vegetables is the cost ofthose products that would otherwise be included in inventory costs. Generally, inventory costs would include both the direct costs and the allocated indirect costs required to produce the fresh fruits or fresh vegetables. Because inventory costs are costs of doing business, the credit is available only 
	The recipient of a donation of fresh fruits or fresh vegetables must provide to the donor certification of the type and quantity of the products donated, the name ofthe donor or donors, the name and address ofthe done nonprofit organization, and, as provided by the donor, the estimated value ofthe donated products and the location where the donated product was grown. A donor that is a qualified taxpayer must provide a copy ofthe certificate to the FTB upon request. 
	The fresh fruits and fresh vegetables credit applies to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, and before January 1, 2017. This credit may be carried forward for up to six years and may not reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 
	California Competes Credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2025, California allows a California Competes credit to be allocated to chosen California companies. The amount ofthe credit and the companies chosen to receive the credit would be determined by a California Competes committee, "Go-Biz". Go Biz will ensure that the aggregate credit amount allocated to all companies does not exceed $30,000,000 for the 2013-14 fiscal year; $150,000,000 for the 2014-15 
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	fiscal year; and $200,000,000 for each fiscal year from 2015-16 to 2017-18, inclusive. 
	The amount available to be allocated in any given fiscal year may be adjusted if the 
	amount available in a prior year was not allocated, or an amount allocated was 
	recaptured, or if the Department of Finance determines that the amount allocated under 
	this credit, the New Hiring Tax Credit, and manufacturing sales and use tax exemption 
	exceeds $750,000,000 in specified fiscal years. 
	College Access Tax Credit Fund. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
	2014, and before January 1, 2018, a taxpayer is allowed a credit for cash contributions 
	made to the College Access Tax Credit Fund. The College Access Tax Credit Fund has 
	an aggregate credit cap of $500 million per calendar year. The California Educational 
	Facilities Authority is responsible to administer, allocate, and certify the credit. The 
	credit is calculated based on the following: ( 1) 60% of the amount contributed that is 
	certified and allocated for the 2014 taxable year; (2) 55% ofthe amount contributed that 
	is certified and allocated for the 2015 taxable year; and (3) 50% of the amount 
	contributed that is certified and allocated for the 2016 and 2017 taxable years. 
	SB 81 (Budget and Fiscal Review Committee), Chapter 22, Statutes of2015 modified the 
	College Access Tax Credits and allowed the credit to reduce tax below the tentative 
	minimum tax for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014. 
	New Employment Credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2021, California allows a New Employment Credit to qualified employers, paying qualified wages, to qualified employees. The credit is equal to 35% of the amount of wages paid between 150% of 350% of minimum wage. The credit may be generated up to five consecutive years for the same employee as long as the employee remains employed. Any credits not used in the taxable year may be carried forward for up to fi
	Credits for Businesses. A number of other credits are available for business taxpayers that file under the personal income tax law, such as sole proprietorships and partnerships. Refer to the Corporation Tax chapter (Chapter 2C) for a description of tax credits applicable to businesses. 
	Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC). Existing federal law (Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 
	section 32) allows eligible low-income taxpayers a refundable EITC. A refundable credit can reduce tax liability below zero and result in a refund. The EITC is a percentage ofthe taxpayer's earned income and is phased out as income increases. Beginning in tax year 2015, California allows a refundable state EITC that complements the existing federal EITC. The California EITC would only be operative for taxable years for which an adjustment factor is specified in the annual Budget Act and in which resources a
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	qualifying children. The maximum CA EITC would range from $214 to $2,653 depending 
	on the number of qualifying children, the credit is phased out as income increases. 
	11. CAPITAL GAINS AND LOSSES 
	Capital gains are profits from the sale of property and other capital assets. They are 
	classified as a different type of income from "ordinary income," which includes wages, 
	salaries, and interest. 
	Capital assets are defined as all property except the following: inventories; property held for sale in the ordinary course ofbusiness; depreciable business property; and real property used in business. Capital assets include real property (land and buildings), personal property, and intangible assets (such as stock). 
	Capital gains are measured as the difference between the amount realized when the asset is sold and the asset's basis. Although an asset's basis is normally that asset's original purchase price, basis can be adjusted to reflect improvements and costs of sale. Any amounts invested in improvements are added to the purchase price to increase basis; costs of sale are deducted from the sales price to reduce basis. Capital gains are generally recognized in the year an asset is sold or otherwise disposed. 
	Through 1986, capital gains were accorded special tax treatment in California. During 
	that time, gains on assets held longer than one year were partially excluded from tax. 
	However, beginning in 1987, California began including all capital gains within the 
	measure of a taxpayer's income. California's tax treatment of capital gains is different 
	from federal treatment, because California applies the same tax rates to capital gains as 
	applies to ordinary income; the federal government applies lower rates to qualifying 
	capital gains. 
	Under federal (but not state) law, most types of investments held more than one year are subject to capital gains tax at a top rate of 20% (10% for investors in the 15% tax bracket) if the sale takes place before May 6, 2003. 
	For sales on or after May 6, 2003, and before January 1, 2013, the maximum capital gain rate is 15% (5% for individuals taxed in the 10% or 15% tax bracket, or at a zero percent rate for tax years beginning after 2007). 
	These lower rates apply to most (but not all) types of investments. Among those ineligible are collectibles with a maximum rate of28%. Nor do the lower rates apply to gains from the sale of investment real estate to the extent of depreciation deductions previously claimed with a maximum rate of 25%. 
	Special enacted state and federal laws provided an exemption for 50% of the capital gains realized from the sale of qualified small business stock (QSBS) issued after August 10, 1993, and before February 18, 2009, and be held for a least five years prior to sale. For QSBS acquired after September 27, 2010, and before 2012, and held for at least five 
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	years, federal law provides an exemption for all of the gain on the disposition of the 
	QSBS stock. For QSBS acquired after February 17, 2009, and before September 28, 
	2010, and held for at least five years, federal law provides an exemption of 75% of any 
	gain realized on the disposition of QSBS stock. For state tax purposes, the company in 
	which the investment is made must have had at least 80 percent of its payroll in 
	California at the time of the investment acquisition and have assets of not more than $50 
	million. Certain industry and other limitations apply, including industry growth in 
	payroll, etc. 
	In Cutler v. Franchise Tax Board (2012) 208 Cal.App. 4th 1247, 146 Cal.Rptr. 3d 244, 
	the California Court ofAppeals held that the California QSBS provisions of R&TC 
	Sections 18038.5 and 18152.5 are unconstitutional. 
	AB 1412 (Chapter 546, Statutes of 2013) provides a limited, modified California QSBS exclusion by allowing taxpayers to exclude 50% of the gain from the sale or exchange of their California QSBS for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2013. In addition, taxpayers are allowed to exclude 50% of the gain included in installment payments received, or that will be received, in taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, for sales of California QSBS made in taxable 
	For the purposes of this limited, modified exclusion, the definition of "qualified small 
	business" means a domestic C corporation that meets the following: 
	• .
	• .
	• .
	The aggregate gross assets of the corporation (or its predecessor) at all times on or after July 1, 1993, and before the issuance of the stock, did not exceed $50 million; 

	• .
	• .
	The aggregate gross assets of the corporation immediately after the issuance did not exceed $50 million; and, 

	• .
	• .
	At least 80 percent of the corporation's payroll is attributable to employment located within California (at time of stock issuance). 


	As under federal law, capital losses are fully deductible against capital gains realized in the same year. In addition, up to $3,000 of capital losses in excess of capital gains are deductible against ordinary income in any taxable year. Ifexcess capital losses are greater than $3,000, the unused portion may be carried forward indefinitely to offset capital gains in future years and to deduct against ordinary income subject to the $3,000 annual limit. Federal law allows a three-year carry back of capital lo
	State law also conforms to federal capital gains treatment on sale or exchange of a principal residence. Specifically, state and federal laws provide that a single taxpayer may exclude up to $250,000 and married taxpayers filing jointly may exclude up to 
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	$500,000 of gain realized on the sale or exchange of a principal residence. The exclusion is allowed each time a taxpayer selling a principal residence meets certain eligibility requirements, but generally no more frequently than once every two years. To be eligible for the exclusion, a taxpayer must have owned the residence and occupied it as a principal residence for at least two of the five years prior to the sale or exchange. Federal and state laws repealed the once-in-a-lifetime exclusion of$125,000 an
	12. DEPRECIATION AND AMORTIZATION
	1 

	Depreciation and amortization deductions allow taxpayers to recover capital investments 
	in certain assets over the useful lives ofthose assets by deducting reasonable allowances 
	for the exhaustion, wear, and tear of property. 
	Depreciation and amortization are allowed for property used in a trade or business or for the production of income (investment). Depreciable prope1ty includes most kinds of tangible property and improvements to real property, farm buildings, machinery, and other physical assets. Intangible assets that may be amortized include copyrights, licenses, franchises, goodwill, and covenants not to compete. Depreciation and amortization are not allowed for property used for personal purposes, inventory and stock in 
	Under the personal income tax law, California generally conforms to the federal depreciation system for assets placed in service on and after January 1, 1987. This is called the Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System (MACRS). Under MACRS, all depreciable assets are placed in classes. These class assignments determine the assets' useful lives (i.e., the periods over which the assets may be depreciated) and the method of depreciation that must be used. The amount to be depreciated is the property's basis o
	Under federal (but not state) law, a taxpayer is allowed to elect to take a bonus first-year depreciation deduction equal to 30% of the adjusted basis of qualified property (including New York Liberty Zone property) placed in service by the taxpayer after September 10, 2001. That percentage increases to 50% for property placed in service after May 5, 2003, and before January 1, 2011. The first-year bonus depreciation allowance is increased to 
	100% for qualifying property placed in service after September 8, 2010, and before January 1, 2012. The 50% bonus allowance is extended to cover qualifying property placed in service after December 31, 2011, and before January 1, 2013 . The additional first year depreciation deduction generally is determined without any proration based on the length of the taxable year in which the qualified property or New York Liberty Zone 
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	property is placed in service. The adjusted basis of this property generally is its cost or 
	other basis multiplied by the percentage of business/investment use, reduced by the 
	amount of any Section 1 79 expense deduction and adjusted to the extent provided by 
	other provisions of the Internal Revenue Code. The remaining adjusted basis of this 
	property is depreciated using the applicable depreciation provisions under the Code for 
	the property. This depreciation deduction for the remaining adjusted basis of the 
	qualified property or New York Liberty Zone property for which the additional first year 
	depreciation is deductible is allowed for both regular tax and alternative minimum tax 
	purposes. 
	In addition, in lieu of depreciation, existing federal and state laws (Internal Revenue Code Section 179) allow a deduction to taxpayers with a sufficiently small amount of capital expenditures for depreciable property. These taxpayers may elect to expense (i .e., to deduct immediately rather than depreciate over time) the cost of qualified property placed in service for the taxable year and purchased for use in the active conduct of a trade or business. Federal and state limits differ. 
	In 2010, the Small Business Jobs Act (SBJA) of2010 was enacted. This act increases the IRC Section 179 limitations on the expensing of depreciable business assets and expands the definition of qualified property to include certain real property for the 2010 and 2011 tax years. Under the SBJA, qualifying businesses can now expense up to $500,000 of Section 179 property for tax years beginning in 2010 and 2011. Without SBJA, the expensing limit for Section 179 property would have been $250,000 for 2010 and $2
	For taxable years beginning in 2010 and 2011, the $500,000 amount provided under the 
	new law is reduced, but not below zero, if the cost of all Section 179 prope1iy placed in 
	service by the taxpayer during the tax year exceeds $2,000,000, the investment ceiling. 
	For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2011, and before January 1, 2013, the 
	investment ceiling is $560,000 and $200,000 for tax years beginning after December 31, 2012. The definition of qualified Section 179 property will include qualified leasehold improvement property, qualified restaurant property, and qualified retail improvement property for tax years beginning in 2010 and 2011. SBJA also removes cellular telephones and similar telecommunications equipment from the definition of listed property for tax years beginning in 2010. 
	The limit is $250,000 under federal law but remains $25,000 for California. However, CCorporations are allowed to elect, in lieu of a maximum of $2,000 additional first-year depreciation, a Section 179 deduction of up to a maximum of $25,000. The allowed deduction is reduced (but not below zero) by the amount by which the cost of qualifying property placed in service during the taxable year exceeds $800,000 under federal law and $200,000 for California. 
	starting in 2005, California 
	11
	11 
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	California permits accelerated write-off for acquisitions of personal property for exclusive use within identified incentive zones. Taxpayers doing business in certain areas such as Enterprise Zones (EZs ), Local Agency Military Base Recovery Areas (LAMBRAs), and Targeted Tax Areas (TTAs) may elect to treat 40% of the cost of qualified property purchased for exclusive use within the area as a deduction in the year the property is placed in service. The maximum cost taken into account in any taxable year dep
	The MACRS system is not permitted under the California Corporation Tax Law. However, California law permits S Corporations to compute depreciation under the rules contained in the Personal Income Tax Law. For that reason, S Corporations can use both MACRS and the Section 179 deductions referenced above. Refer to the Corporation Tax chapter ofthis Reference Book (Chapter 2C) for a description of depreciation deductions allowed for other corporate taxpayers. 
	13. CARRYOVER OF NET OPERATING LOSSES 
	Net operating losses (NOLs) occur in the course of a trade or business when deductions 
	exceed income. Under federal law, a net operating loss can be carried back for two years 
	(five years for losses arising in 2001 and 2002, and 2008 and 2009) and carried forward 
	for 20 years. California suspended taxpayers' abilities to claim NOL deductions during 
	the 2008 and 2009 tax years. However, taxpayers were given two additional years in 
	which to claim NO Ls accrued prior to January 1, 2009 and one additional year in which to claim NOLs accrued during the 2009 taxable year. Beginning with the 2008 tax year the NOL carryover period is extended to 20 years for NO Ls attributable to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008. California allows a two-year carryback period for NOLs attributable to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013. The carryback percentage is 50% for an NOL incurred in tax year 2013, 75% for an NOL inc
	Tax Year 
	Tax Year 
	Tax Year 
	Allowed Carryforward 
	Length of Carryforward 

	1999 and earlier 
	1999 and earlier 
	50% 
	5 years 

	2000,2001 
	2000,2001 
	55% 
	10 years 

	2002,2003 
	2002,2003 
	60% 
	10 years 

	2004 and after 
	2004 and after 
	100% 
	10 years 
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	In 2002, as part ofthe budget package, California suspended taxpayers' abilities to claim 
	NOL deductions during the 2002 and 2003 tax years. However, taxpayers were given 
	two additional years in which to claim NO Ls accrued prior to January 1, 2002, and one 
	additional year in which to claim NOLs accrued during the 2002 taxable year. 
	Prior to the changes made in 2002, special NOL carryforward rules were available to 
	specific groups oftaxpayers, including new businesses, small businesses, businesses 
	located in EZs, LAMBRAs, and TT As, and taxpayers involved in bankruptcies and 
	certain bankruptcy reorganizations. Starting in 2004, virtually all businesses are treated 
	the same way under California's NOL laws. Specific details regarding these provisions 
	are described in Section 10 of Chapter 2C. 
	14. DISASTER LOSS DEDUCTION 
	A disaster loss occurs when business or personal property is completely or partially destroyed as a result of a fire, storm, flood or other natural event. Federal law, Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 165(i), allows a taxpayer who suffers a disaster loss to elect to deduct the loss in the year immediately preceding the year the disaster occurred if it is a Presidentially declared disaster loss. Similarly, under state law, a taxpayer can elect to file an amended return to deduct a disaster loss in the tax
	15. ALTERNATIVE MINIMUM TAX 
	Non-corporate taxpayers who take advantage of certain tax preferences must calculate and pay an alternative minimum tax (AMT) at a 7% rate if their tentative minimum tax (TMT) exceeds their regular tax due. This rate was 7.25% for tax years 2009 and 2010. The purpose of the AMT is to ensure that taxpayers who take advantage of special tax reduction provisions such as deductions and credits pay at least some minimum amount of tax on their preferentially treated income. California's AMT rules are patterned af
	California taxpayers that believe they may be subject to AMT must perform the following steps to determine whether they owe any tax in addition to their regular tax liability: 
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	0 
	Calculate regular tax liability; 
	0 
	Calculate alternative minimum taxable income (AMTI) in excess of the exemption amount. Although the AMTI calculation is extremely complex, it generally requires taxpayers to forego their deductions and credits and instead allows them to subtract only a fixed-dollar AMT exemption amount; 
	0 
	Multiply AMTI by the AMT rate of 7% (7.25% for tax years 2009 and 2010) to calculate TMT; and 
	Compare TMT to regular tax liability. IfTMT exceeds regular tax, the difference equals the taxpayer's AMT and must be added to the regular tax and paid by the taxpayer. 
	0 .

	For 2015, the exemption amounts are $87,627 for married persons filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) filers; $65,721 for single and head of household filers; and $43,812 for married persons filing separately. These exemption amounts phase out to zero if alternative minimum taxable income exceeds $328,601 for married taxpayers filing jointly or qualifying widow( er) filers; $246,451 for single and head of household filers, and $164,299 for married taxpayers filing separately. The exemption and phase-out am
	AMT has an important interaction with tax credits. Most credits can reduce regular tax down to, but not below TMT. However, certain specific credits are not subject to this limitation. These specific credits are: 
	Adoption cost credit; .California competes credit; .Commercial solar energy credit carryover; .Enterprise Zone hiring credit; .Enterprise Zone sales or use tax credit; .LARZ hiring credit carryover; .LARZ sales and use tax credit carryover; .Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ) construction hiring credit carryover; .Low-income housing credit; .Manufacturer's investment credit carryover; .
	0 
	0 
	0 
	0 
	0 
	0 
	0 
	0 
	0 
	0 

	0 
	Natural Heritage Preservation credit; 
	0 
	Orphan drug credit carryover; 
	0 
	Personal, dependent, senior, senior head of household, dependent parent, joint custody head of household, and blind exemption credits. 
	0 
	Renter's credit; 
	0 
	Research and development credit; 
	0 
	Solar energy credit carryover; 
	0 
	Targeted Tax Area hiring credit; and, 
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	0 
	Targeted Tax Area sales or use tax credit. 
	For a further description ofthe AMT, refer to Section 14 of Chapter 2C, on the 
	Corporation Tax. 
	16. TREATMENT OF PENSION AND OTHER RETIREMENT SAVINGS 
	The tax treatment ofpension and other retirement savings plans has two primary elements --treatment of contributions and treatment of withdrawals. With almost no exceptions, California taxes pension and retirement savings (both contributions and withdrawals) in an identical manner as does the federal government. 
	Taxation of Contributions. California conforms to federal law with respect to contribution limitations of the various pension and retirement savings plans. Table 4 provides a quick view ofthe limitations on contributions for numerous programs. 
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	TABLE 4 
	TYPE OF PLAN 
	TYPE OF PLAN 
	TYPE OF PLAN 
	FEDERAL CONTRIBUTION CAPS 
	ADDITIONAL CATCH-UP 

	TR
	CONTRIBUTIONS FOR PERSONS 

	TR
	OVERAGE SO 

	Individual Retirement 
	Individual Retirement 
	$3,000 in 2002-2004; $4,000 in 2005-2007; 
	$500 in 2002-2005; and $1,000 in 2006 

	Accounts (IRAs) 
	Accounts (IRAs) 
	$5,000 in 2008-2012; $5,500 in 2013-2014; and 
	and thereafter 

	TR
	$5,500 in 2015-2016 

	Defined contribution 
	Defined contribution 
	100% of compensation or $40,000 in 2003; 

	plans [4 15(c)s] 
	plans [4 15(c)s] 
	$41,000 in 2004; $42,000 in 2005; $44,000 in 

	TR
	2006; $45,000 in 2007; $46,000 in 2008; 

	TR
	$49,000 in 2009-2011; $50,000 in 2012; 

	TR
	$51,000 in 2013; $52,000 in 2014; and 

	TR
	$53,000 in 2015-2016 

	Defined benefit plans 
	Defined benefit plans 
	100% of compensation up to $160,000 in 2003; 

	[415(b )s] 
	[415(b )s] 
	$165,000 in 2004; $170,000 in 2005; $175,000 

	TR
	for 2006; $180,000 in 2007; $185,000 in 2008; 

	TR
	$195,000 in 2009-2011; $200,000 in 2012; 

	TR
	$205,000 in 2013; and $210,000 in 2014-2016 

	Elective deferral plans 
	Elective deferral plans 
	$11,000 in 2002; $12,000 in 2003; $13,000 in 
	$1,000 in 2002; $2,000 in 2003; $3,000 

	[40l(k) plans, 403(b) 
	[40l(k) plans, 403(b) 
	2004; $14,000 in 2005; $15,000 in 2006; 
	in 2004; $4,000 in 2005; $5,000 in 

	annuities, SEPs 408(k)s] 
	annuities, SEPs 408(k)s] 
	$15,500 in 2007-2008; $16,500 in 2009-2011; 
	2006-2008; $5,500 in 2009 and later; 

	TR
	$17,000 in 2012; $17,500 in 2013-2014; 
	and $6,000 in 2015 

	TR
	indexed for inflation in $500 increments 

	TR
	beginning in 2007; and $18,000 in 2015-2016 

	SIMPLE plans [408(p)] 
	SIMPLE plans [408(p)] 
	$7,000 in 2002; $8,000 in 2003; $9,000 in 2004; 
	$500 in 2002; $1,000 in 2003; $1,500 

	TR
	$10,000 in 2005-2006; $10,500 in 2007; 
	in 2004; $2,000 in 2005; $2,500 in 

	TR
	$10,500 in 2008; $11,500 in 2009-2012; 
	2006-2014; and $3,000 in 2015 

	TR
	$12,000 in 2013-2014; indexed for inflation in 

	TR
	$500 increments beginning in 2006; and 

	TR
	$12,500 in 2015-2016 

	457 elective defenal 
	457 elective defenal 
	$11,000 in 2002; $12,000 in 2003; $13,000 in 
	$1,000 in 2002; $2,000 in 2003; $3,000 

	plans 
	plans 
	2004; $14,000 in 2005; $15,000 in 2006; 
	in 2004; $4,000 in 2005; $5,000 in 

	TR
	$15,500 in 2007-2008; $16,500 in 2009-2011 ; 
	2006-2008; $5,500 in 2009-2014; and 

	TR
	$17,000 in 2012; $17,500 in 2013-2014; 
	$6,000 in 2015-2016 

	TR
	indexed for inflation in $500 increments 

	TR
	beginning in 2007; and $18,000 in 2015 
	Plus, the limit is twice the standard 

	TR
	limit in a participant's last 3 years 

	TR
	before retirement. 


	rs. gov/Retirement-Plans/Pia n-Participant,-Em ployee/Reti rement-T opics­Contributions 
	Source: http://www. i 

	Federal law provides taxpayers with flexibility to roll one type of plan into another type ofplan by allowing rollovers among governmental Section 457 plans and Section 403(b) plans, rollovers of IRAs to workplace retirement plans, and rollovers of after-tax 
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	retirement plan contributions (e.g., Roth IRAs). Those who have Section 457 plans may use their plan funds to repay contributions and earnings previously refunded to them or to purchase permissive service credits. 
	Taxation of Withdrawals. As mentioned above, California residents are taxed on all income, including income from sources outside California. An individual who retires in California will pay tax on the pension income that individual receives after becoming a resident, even ifthat pension was earned while working in another state. 
	Federal laws prohibit states from taxing nonresidents on pension income received after December 31, 1995. Because California enacted legislation that conforms to the federal preemption, California does not impose a tax on specified pension income received by a nonresident after December 31, 1995, as follows: 
	0 
	0 
	0 
	A qualified pension plan described in Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 

	TR
	401; 

	0 
	0 
	A qualified annuity plan described in IRC Section 403(a); 

	0 
	0 
	A tax-sheltered annuity described in IRC Section 403(b); 

	0 
	0 
	A governmental plan described in IRC Section 414( d); 

	0 
	0 
	A deferred compensation plan maintained by a state or local government or an 

	TR
	exempt organization described in IRC Section 457; 

	0 
	0 
	An individual retirement plan described in IRC Section 7701(a)(37); 

	0 
	0 
	A simplified employee pension (SEP) described in IRC Section 408(k); 

	0 
	0 
	A trust described in IRC Section 50l(c)(l8); 

	0 
	0 
	Plans, programs, or arrangements described in IRC Section 312l(v)(2)(C), 

	TR
	under certain circumstances; and, 

	0 
	0 
	Retired or retainer pay of a member or former member of a uniformed service 

	TR
	computed under United States Code, Title 10, Chapter 71. 


	17. SPECIAL FEATURES OF THE PERSONAL INCOME TAX 
	Unearned Income of Dependent Children (''Kiddie Tax"). Children under age 18 or children under the age of24 who are full-time students who have net unearned income (i.e., investment income such as dividends, interest, or royalties) of over $2,100 for 2015 are subject to special rules. The purpose of the rules is to prevent shifting of income from parents to children to avoid tax at the parents' rate. The child's unearned income in excess of $2, 100 for 2015 is subject to tax at the parents' tax rate, rather
	Passive Investments. California generally conforms to federal law (IRC Section 469) as that section read on January 1, 2009. Both state and federal law limit the ability of taxpayers to use passive investment losses to offset or shelter unrelated income. Passive investments are trade or business activities in which the taxpayer does not materially participate. Examples include investment in limited partnerships and other business 
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	entities; and rental activities. There is a limited exception for rental real estate activities 
	where the taxpayer actively participates. A taxpayer may meet the requirement ofactive 
	participation by participating in making management decisions or arranging for services 
	provided by others. California has not conformed to the federal rules for "real estate 
	professionals"; therefore, those taxpayers are still subject to the California passive loss 
	rules. 
	State and federal laws require the segregation of income and deductions into "active", 
	"passive", and "portfolio" categories. Portfolio income includes interest, dividends, 
	royalties, and gain or loss for the disposition of assets providing portfolio income. 
	Passive activity losses generally may not be deducted against other income, such as 
	wages, salary or portfolio income, or business income that was not derived from passive 
	activities. A similar rule applies to limit passive activity credits. 
	Current California law treats rental activities (including rental real estate activities) as passive activities, regardless of the level of taxpayer participation. Federal and California law permit the deduction of up to $25,000 of losses from rental real estate activities (even though considered passive) ifthe taxpayer actively participates in them and certain tests are met. This $25,000 amount is allowed for taxpayers with AG Is of $100,000 or less and is phased out for taxpayers with AGis between $100,00
	Taxpayers must adjust the amount of California passive activity losses for differences in 
	other areas of state law (e.g., depreciation). Also, nonresidents and part-year residents 
	must make adjustments to passive activity items in computing California source AGL 
	Mandatory Electronic Payments. Taxpayers subject to the Personal Income Tax Law are required to remit all payments electronically once an estimated tax or extension payment exceeding $20,000 is made, or upon the filing of an original return with a total tax liability over $80,000. Once the threshold is met, all subsequent payments regardless of amount, tax type, or taxable year must be remitted electronically. Individuals that do not send the payment electronically will be subject to a one percent noncompli
	Other Special Provisions That Affect Businesses. There are other special provisions in the Personal Income Tax Law that primarily affect business taxpayers. Several of these are described in the Corporation Tax chapter (Chapter 2C). 
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	18. MINIMUM CORPORATE FRANCHISE TAX 
	Most corporations taxable by California are subject to a minimum franchise tax. This is a specified dollar amount that businesses must pay even if their tax liability based on net income is lower. See Section 4 of the Corporation Tax chapter (Chapter 2C) for more information on the franchise tax. 
	Personal income taxpayers are not subject to a minimum tax. However, certain entities taxed under the Personal Income Tax Law are subject to an annual tax equal to the minimum franchise tax. These include limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, certain limited liability companies, and real estate mortgage investment conduits (REMICs). 
	19. LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES 
	A limited liability company (LLC) is a non-corporate entity, the revenue from which may be included as corporation tax revenue. An LLC provides its members with limited liability and the option to participate actively in the entity's management. An LLC is formed by filing Articles of Organization with the California Secretary of State. Although exhibiting the corporate characteristic oflimited liability, an LLC with at least two members is usually treated as a partnership under the "check-the-box rules" use
	In certain cases, an LLC may "check the box" on Federal Form 8832 (Entity Classification Election) to be taxed like a C Corporation. In addition, in certain cases, an LLC may "check the box" on Federal Form 2553 (election by a Small Business Corporation) to be taxed like an S Corporation. California applies the same tax treatment elected for federal tax purposes. 
	Under current state law, an LLC not classified as a corporation must pay the $800 annual LLC tax and the annual LLC fee if it is organized, doing business, or registered in California. The annual LLC fee is based on the LLC's total income from all sources derived from or attributable to California. Total income is defined as the gross income, plus the cost of goods sold, that are paid or incurred in connection with the trade or business of the taxpayer attributed to California, determined by applying franch
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	[---If Total California Annual Income Is---] 
	Equal To or Over ($) 
	Equal To or Over ($) 
	Equal To or Over ($) 
	But Not Over ($) 
	LLC Fee 

	$ 250,000 
	$ 250,000 
	$ 499,999 
	$ 900 

	500,000 
	500,000 
	999,999 
	2,500 

	1,000,000 
	1,000,000 
	4,999,999 
	6,000 

	5,000,000 
	5,000,000 
	And Over 
	11,790 


	20. VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS 
	California allows taxpayers to make voluntary contributions of their own funds to one or more organizations listed on the state tax return by checking a box on their return. These eligible activities are often called "check-offs", although they are not like the federal check-offs that allow taxpayers to direct a portion of their tax liability to the selected organization. These contributions made on a California income tax return are deductible as charitable contributions on the following year's tax return 
	For the 2015 tax year, 19 check-offs will appear on the individual income tax form. The Legislature responded to the proliferation of check-offs on the tax form by requiring check-offs to have sunset dates and to meet minimum annual contribution amounts. The Legislature requires new check-offs to wait in line to be added to the form until old check-offs are removed (so-called 'queuing language'), or until the FTB determines there is room on the form. The current rules regarding the standards each check-off 
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	VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION FUND INFORMATION 
	2014 California Personal Income Tax Return 
	INITIAL 
	INITIAL 
	INITIAL 
	2015 MINIMUM 

	TAX 
	TAX 
	FINALTAX 
	CONTRIBUTION 

	VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION FUNDS 
	VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION FUNDS 
	RETURN 
	RETURN2 
	REQUIREMENT 

	Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund 
	Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund 
	1987 
	2019 
	$354,969 

	American Red Cross, California Chapters Fund 
	American Red Cross, California Chapters Fund 
	2013 
	2017 
	$250,000 

	California Breast Cancer Research Fund 
	California Breast Cancer Research Fund 
	1992 
	2017 
	$371,724 

	California Cancer Research Fund 
	California Cancer Research Fund 
	2008 
	2017 
	$274,377 

	California Firefighters' Memorial Fund 
	California Firefighters' Memorial Fund 
	1993 
	2020 
	No minimum requirement unless the 

	TR
	repeal date is deleted 

	California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund 
	California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund 
	1999 
	2015 
	No minimum requirement unless the 

	TR
	repeal date is deleted 

	California Sea Otter Fund 
	California Sea Otter Fund 
	2006 
	2020 
	$283,775 

	California Seniors Legislature Fund3 
	California Seniors Legislature Fund3 
	2014 
	2018 
	No minimum requirement for 201 5 

	California Seniors Special Fund 
	California Seniors Special Fund 
	1990 
	No Sunset 
	No minimwn requirement 

	California Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund 
	California Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund 
	2014 
	2018 
	No minimum requirement for 201 5 

	Child Victims of Human Trafficking Fund 
	Child Victims of Human Trafficking Fund 
	2011 
	201 5 
	$259,844 

	Emergency Food For Families Fund 
	Emergency Food For Families Fund 
	1998 
	2018 
	$368,102 

	Habitat for Humanity Fund 
	Habitat for Humanity Fund 
	2014 
	2018 
	No minimum requirement for 201 5 

	Keeps Arts in Schools Fund 
	Keeps Arts in Schools Fund 
	2013 
	2017 
	$250,000 

	Prevention of Animal Homelessness and Cruelty Fund 
	Prevention of Animal Homelessness and Cruelty Fund 
	2015 


	The final tax return is subject to change ifthe fund has a minimum contribution threshold it fails to meet or if legislation extends the repeal date. Dates and .condition of application vary for each fund . .Repeal of the California Fund for Senior Citizens was concurrent with the enactment of the California Seniors Legislature Fund. SB 997 (Morell), Chapter 248, .Statutes of2014. .
	2
	3
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	VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION FUND INFORMATION (Continued) 
	2014 California Personal Income Tax Return 
	INITIAL 
	INITIAL 
	INITIAL 
	2015 MINIMUM 

	TAX 
	TAX 
	FINAL TAX 
	CONTRIBUTION 

	VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION FUNDS 
	VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION FUNDS 
	RETURN 
	RETURN4 
	REQUIREMENT 


	Protect Our Coasts and Oceans Fund 2013 2017 $250,000 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program 1983 2017 $332,122 School Supplies for Homeless Children Fund 2012 2016 $255,508 State Parks Protection Fund/Park Pass Purchase 2012 No Sunset $255,500 
	Source: https://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/vcfsr/indvolcon.shtml 
	Source: https://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/vcfsr/indvolcon.shtml 

	The final tax return is subject to change if the fund has a minimum contribution threshold it fails to meet or iflegislation extends the repeal date. Dates and condition of application vary for each fund. 
	4
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	PERSONAL INCOME TAX 
	21. REVENUE 
	The personal income tax is the largest single source of revenue for the State of California. California revenues were $75.3 in 2014-15 (67.7% of state General Fund revenues). Revenues are expected to be $77.7 billion in 2015-16 $billion in 2016-17. 
	22. ADMINISTRATION 
	The FTB administers the personal income tax. Returns are due annually on the 15th day ofthe fourth month following the close ofeach taxable year (typically April 15th). Individuals are automatically granted an extended filing period of six months for submitting their tax returns but are not relieved oftheir obligation to pay the tax due by April 15. Taxpayers who do not pay 100% oftheir tax liability by April 15 owe interest and are assessed a late payment penalty. Similarly, taxpayers who do not file by th
	Salaries and wages are subject to withholding by employers. The Employment Development Department (EDD) administers withholding. Iftaxpayers have a significant amount of income that is not subject to withholding (such as from self­employment income or investments), they must pay estimated taxes in quarterly installments in order to ensure that they remit sufficient funds throughout the course of the year to avoid penalties for failure to timely pay. Taxpayers may be subject to penalties if amounts remitted 
	The amount oftax due in excess ofthe amount withheld and/or paid as an estimated payment is due on April 15th. Ifa taxpayer overpays during the year through withholding and/or estimated payments, he or she can direct FTB to apply the overpayment to the next year's liability or to refund the overpayment by check. 
	23. CODE 
	California Constitution, Article III, Section 26 
	Revenue and Taxation Code, Division 2, Part 10, Section 17001-18181 , and Part 10.2, Sections 18401-19802 
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	CORPORATION TAX 
	CORPORATION TAX 


	HIGHLIGHTS 
	• Minimum Tax $800 per year; except for new corporations. 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	Revenue* 
	2014-15(Actual) 2015-16 (Actual) 2016-17 (Estimate) 
	$ 9. 8 billion $10.3 billion $10.9 billion 

	• 
	• 
	Estimated Number of Returns Filed 
	1,738,000 in tax year 2014 

	• 
	• 
	Administration 
	Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 


	*Source: 2015-16 SUM-04 Enacted Budget Summary. 2016-17 SUM 04 Proposed Budget 
	1. WHO PAYS THE CORPORATION TAX 
	The corporation tax applies to all corporations that earn income derived from or 
	attributable to sources in California, except insurance companies. Professional 
	corporations, benefit corporations, flexible purpose corporations, associations, certain 
	trusts, partnerships and limited liability company( s) (LLCs) that elected to be taxed as 
	corporations, banks, or financial institutions, such as savings and loan associations 
	(thrifts), pay taxes under the Corporation Tax Law. 
	Nonprofit organizations are exempt from the corporation tax, except for income that is unrelated to their exempt purpose. (See Section 1 of this chapter.) 
	Insurance companies are exempted from the corporation tax (and most other state and local taxes) pursuant to the state Constitution. Instead, insurance companies are subject to a state gross premiums tax. (See Chapter 3C of this Reference Book for more information on the Insurance Gross Premiums Tax.) 
	Additional discussion about which corporations are subject to the corporation tax is provided in Section 4 below, entitled "Three Separate Taxes Comprise the Corporation Tax." 
	2. .BENEFIT CORPORA TIO NS AND FLEXIBLE PURPOSE .CORPORATIONS .
	Beginning on or after January 1, 2012, a new type ofcorporation called a "benefit 
	corporation" can be formed with the purpose of creating general public benefit. An 
	existing corporation can become a "benefit corporation", if certain procedures are 
	followed. In addition, the "benefit corporation" can be created through a merger or 
	reorganization. 
	Beginning on or after January 1, 2012, a new type of corporation called a "flexible purpose corporation" can be formed. An existing corporation can merge or convert into a "flexible purpose corporation". A "flexible purpose corporation" must have a special purpose which may include, but is not limited to, charitable and public purpose activities that could be carried out by a nonprofit public benefit corporation. 
	3. .CALCULATION OF THE CORPORATION TAX 
	Taxpayers compute their tax liabilities based on income earned during the year. The year may be either a calendar year or a fiscal year commencing in any month except January, as specified by the taxpayer. 
	A brief summary ofhow tax is computed is as follows: Taxpayers must add up all sources of non-exempt income and subtract total deductions to which they are entitled, thereby arriving at "net income''. They then apply the 8.84% tax rate to net income to determine the tax. Certain tax credits are allowed to reduce this tax, dollar for dollar. Also, corporate taxpayers may be liable for the alternative minimum tax. 
	The California corporation tax is similar, but not identical to, the federal income tax on corporations. Major differences are identified below. 
	When corporations do business both within and outside of California, it is necessary to determine what portion of total corporate income is taxable by California. This is done by means of formula apportionment, which is described in Chapter 2D, entitled "Determining the Income of Multistate and Multinational Corporations". 
	Refer to Chapter 2B on the Personal Income Tax for further information on taxes imposed on unincorporated businesses. 
	4. .THREE SEPARATE TAXES COMPRISE THE CORPORATION TAX 
	There are three separate taxes levied under the umbrella ofthe state corporation tax: 
	0 
	Corporation Franchise Tax. Every corporation doing business in California (regardless oflocation) is subject to the franchise tax. "Doing business" means "actively engaging in any transaction in California for the purpose of financial or pecuniary gain or profit." 
	The franchise tax is not a tax on income. Rather, it is a tax for the privilege of doing business in California measured by net income earned in California. Until changed by the Legislature in AB 1843 (Ackerman), Chapter 862, Statutes of2000, a corporation paid the privilege tax for conducting business in the current year based upon (measured by) the corporation's income in the preceding year. As amended, the law requires a corporation to pay tax for the privilege ofconducting business in this state for the
	The majority ofcorporations taxed by California pay the franchise tax. 
	Corporation Income Tax. Corporations deriving income from California sources but not sufficiently present to be classified as "doing business" in California are subject to the corporation income tax. 
	0 .

	This tax is nearly identical to the franchise tax. Because it is an income tax, however, interest from tax-exempt United States, California, or California municipality obligations is not included in income. Also, corporations are not subject to the minimum franchise tax. 
	The most common situation where the corporation income tax is applied rather than the franchise tax is where a corporation operates in California through an agent or by using traveling salespersons, so the corporation does not have an established presence in the state. Another business entity commonly subject to the corporation income tax is a "business trust", which is a trust established for the purpose of making a profit (rather than for mere conservation of assets). 
	Very few corporate taxpayers file under the corporation income tax. 
	Bank Tax. Banks and financial institutions doing business in California are subject to an additional tax (known as the bank tax), which is levied in conjunction with the regular corporation tax. This tax is in lieu ofpersonal property taxes and local business taxes, from which banks and financial institutions have been exempt since the enactment of the corporation tax in the 1930s. 
	0 .

	The bank tax rate is 2% and is designed to be equivalent to the average amount general corporations pay each year in personal property taxes and local business taxes (see below for a further discussion). 
	Federal law has a net income tax which applies to all corporate taxpayers, and does not have an add-on bank tax rate. 
	5. TAX RA TES AND MINIMUM FRANCHISE TAX 
	The corporation franchise tax rate is the greater of 8.84% of net income, or the minimum franchise tax. 
	The minimum franchise tax is $800 and must be paid by any corporation subject to the 
	franchise tax with a computed tax liability less than this amount. The $800 minimum 
	franchise tax is not imposed for the first year a corporation is in existence. This 
	corporation would, however, be subject to the 8.84% franchise tax rate on any net 
	mcome. 
	The corporation income tax rate is 8.84% of net income. However, the minimum 
	franchise tax does not apply. 
	The bank tax rate, which must be added to the franchise tax rate for banks and financial 
	institutions, is statutorily set at 2%. Banks are subject to the minimum franchise tax if 
	their computed tax from the combined corporate plus bank rate is less than $800. 
	Federal corporate tax rates range from a low of 15% to a high of 35%. There is no 
	minimum tax in federal law comparable to the state's minimum franchise tax. 
	6. INCOME AND DEDUCTIONS 
	Corporations begin computing their California tax by adding all sources of income, including income from business activities, dividends, interest, rents, royalties, gains from the sale of property, income from the discharge of debt, and so on. Unlike federal tax law, interest from federal, state and municipal obligations are included in total income under California franchise tax. For corporations, there are few exclusions from income or sources of exempt income (unlike those in the personal income tax). Ho
	The corporate tax is measured not by gross income, but by net income, which is what we commonly think ofas business profit. In order to determine net income, corporations are allowed to deduct specified expenses from gross income. 
	The value of a deduction to a taxpayer, measured in terms of tax eliminated, generally may be estimated by multiplying the deduction by the tax rate. Therefore, the state tax savings to a corporation resulting from deducting a $1,000 expense is $88.40 ($1,000 expense x 8.84% state corporate tax rate). 
	The most important deductions available to corporations are described below. Unless .noted otherwise, these are generally similar to deductions allowed to corporations in .federal law. .
	Trade or Business Expenses. Taxpayers are permitted to deduct the ordinary and necessary expenses of conducting a trade or business. Typical deductible expenses include compensation and fringe benefits for employees, the employer's portions ofunemployment insurance and social security taxes, rent, utilities, advertising, and other similar current costs. Capital expenditures (that is, those that add to the value or useful life of property) cannot be deducted. Rather, they must be depreciated. (See Section 8 
	0 .

	./ .Fines and Penalties Assessed by Professional Sports League. A corporation may deduct a fine or similar penalty paid to an entity other than the government as an ordinary and necessary business expense. Except, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, a professional sports franchise owner is prohibited from deducting certain fines and penalties under the Corporation Tax Law. 
	Taxes. Corporations may deduct real and personal property taxes. Local, state, federal, and foreign income or profits taxes are not deductible. Sales taxes are also generally deductible; however, sales taxes incurred in the process of manufacturing or constructing property must be capitalized into the value of the property. 
	0 .

	Interest. In general, corporations may deduct all interest paid or accrued on business debts. While generally in conformity with federal law, California applies special rules to determine the interest expense of muJtistate and international corporations. 
	0 .

	Meals, Travel, Entertainment, and Private Club Expenses. Meal, travel, and entertainment costs are 50% deductible. Certain convention and cruise ship expenses are subject to special limitations. California conforms to the federal denial of club dues deductions. 
	0 .

	Charitable Contributions. Corporations may deduct the value of contributions to charitable or nonprofit organizations. The maximum deduction is 10% ofnet income; excess contributions may be carried over to the next five succeeding taxable years. Deductions for contributions of appreciated property (property that has increased in value) are generally limited to the basis (cost) of the property. 
	0 .

	Various other (more specialized) deductions are available to corporations. Some ofthese deductions are described below. 
	7. DIVIDENDS RECEIVED DEDUCTION 
	Under present law, dividends received from general corporations may be eliminated if the corporation is a member ofthe taxpayers combined filing group. 
	Prior California law allowed corporate taxpayers a dividend received deduction (DRD) for dividends received from corporations that were not part ofthe taxpayer's filing group. The purpose ofthe DRD was to avoid double taxation by California on income reported at the corporate level. The payor of the dividend had to pay California tax on the income from which the dividend was paid. Without DRD relief, the corporation receiving the dividend included the dividend in income. 
	The DRD was computed as a percentage ofthe dividends received; the percentage varied depending upon the taxpayer's ownership interest in the payor corporation and whether the income ofthe payor corporation was subject to California income or franchise tax. The DRD was authorized for payments made by general corporations in Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) Section 24402; the DRD was authorized for payments made by an insurance corporation in R&TC Section 24410. 
	The courts declared R&TC Sections 24402 and 24410 discriminatory against non­
	Californian businesses and, therefore, unconstitutional. [See Farmer Bros. Co. v. 
	Franchise Tax Board (2003) 108 Cal.App. 4th 976, cert. denied 540 U.S. 1178, and 
	Ceridian Corp. v. Franchise Tax Board (2000) 85 Cal.App. 4th 875 (modified 86 
	Cal.App. 4th 483).] The FTB, with concurrence from Legislative Counsel, holds that for 
	taxable years beginning after December 1999, neither code section provides a DRD. 
	In 2004, the Legislature responded to the Ceridian decision with AB 263 (Oropeza), Chapter 868, Statutes of 2004. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2004, and ending before January 1, 2008, corporations were allowed an 80% DRD. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, the deduction increased to 85% for dividends received from 80% or greater owned insurance companies. Ifthe insurance company is overcapitalized (stuffed), the 80% DRD is phased out based on a "premiums-received-
	No legislation has been enacted that amends R&TC Section 24402, which previously allowed a DRD for dividends received from general corporations. 
	8. DEPRECIATION AND AMORTIZATION 
	Depreciation and amortization deductions allow taxpayers to recover capital investments in assets over the useful lives ofthose assets by deducting reasonable allowances for the exhaustion or wear and tear ofthe property. The idea behind depreciation is that, since capital assets are used over several years, the cost of acquisition is similarly deducted over several years (rather than all at once in the year in which the asset is purchased). 
	Depreciation and amortization are allowed for property, other than land, used in a trade or business or for the production of income (investment), including most kinds of tangible property and improvements to real property, farm buildings, machinery and other physical assets. Intangible assets that may be amortized include copyrights, licenses, franchises, goodwill, and covenants not to compete. Depreciation is not allowed for property used for personal purposes, inventory and stock in trade, land, and depl
	For corporation tax purposes, California generally does not allow use of the federal depreciation system called the Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System (MACRS). Instead, California uses a depreciation system generally known as the Asset Depreciation Range (ADR) system, which is similar to that used in federal law for pre-1981 assets. The ADR system generally requires the use of longer useful lives and fewer accelerated depreciation methods than would be allowed under the federal MACRS system. 
	Under the ADR system, assets are generally depreciated over the remaining useful life of the asset or over a designated "class life". Under this system, assets are grouped into more than 100 classes, and a guideline "life" for each class is established. For purposes of the ADR system, taxpayers may use a straight-line depreciation or certain rapid depreciation methods (such as double declining balance, 150% declining balance, sum­of-the-years-digits, or other consistent methods). The amount that is to be de
	The Corporation Tax Law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code Section 179 expensing provisions as of January 1, 2009, to the same extent under the Personal Income Tax Law. That is, a corporate taxpayer with a sufficiently small amount of annual investment is able to elect to deduct up to $25,000 ofthe cost of qualifying property placed in service for the taxable year in lieu of the current law "additional first-year depreciation" of up to $2,000. The $25,000 amount is reduced (but not below zero) by the amo
	For the taxable year beginning before January l, 2014, state law allows taxpayers doing business in certain economic incentive areas such as Enterprise Zones (EZs), Local Agency Military Base Recovery Areas (LAMBRAs ), and Targeted Tax Areas (TT As) to treat the cost of qualified property as an expense in the year the property is placed in service in the area. Current law (AB 93 and SB 90 (Committee on Budget), Chapters 69 and 70, Statues of 2013) repealed the economic incentive areas and added a new employ
	9. DEPLETION 
	California closely conforms to federal law in the area of depletion deductions. Depletion deductions allow owners of natural resources to recover the costs of the resource as it is 
	California closely conforms to federal law in the area of depletion deductions. Depletion deductions allow owners of natural resources to recover the costs of the resource as it is 
	extracted, harvested, or otherwise diminished. Depletion is to the owner of an oil or gas well or mineral or timber property what depreciation is to the owner of a capital asset. 

	Depletion deductions are allowed to any taxpayer with an economic interest in a property containing depletable resources. Two alternative depletion computations are provided in both state and federal law. The taxpayer must compute the depletion amount both ways and may deduct the larger amount. The two methods are: 
	Cost Depletion. Cost depletion requires the taxpayer to estimate the yield of the resource (e.g., 10 million barrels of oil). Then, the cost associated with extracting the resource is divided by the number ofunits. The resulting quotient is the cost depletion per unit. That amount multiplied by the number of units extracted and sold during the year determines the cost depletion that is deductible for the year. Each year, the cost basis of the property is reduced by the amount ofdepletion deducted for that y
	0 .

	Percentage Depletion. Most depletable property qualifies for this alternate computation method. However, it is not available for timber. Under percentage depletion, a flat statutorily set percentage of annual gross income from the natural resource property is taken as the depletion deduction each year. Thus, the deduction bears no relationship to the actual amount of the resource extracted during the year. However, the laws set an upper limit on the deduction of 5 0% of the taxable income from the property 
	0 .

	10. CARRYOVER OF NET OPERATING LOSSES 
	Businesses incur "net operating losses" (NOLs) for tax purposes when allowable deductions exceed gross income. When deductions are less than gross income, the business has net income (i.e., shows a profit). A business may show a net operating loss for tax purposes without incurring actual out-of-pocket losses, due to the allowance of tax deductions for items that may not be actual out-of-pocket expenses, such as carryforward of deductions from prior years and depreciation. 
	In a year when a business shows a net operating loss for tax purposes, the business is not required to pay any corporation taxes beyond the minimum franchise tax. 
	Similar to federal law, California law generally allows businesses with NO Ls to carry over these losses and deduct them against income earned in future years. 
	For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2004, and before January 1, 2008, state law allows the following NO Ls: 
	For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2004, and before January 1, 2008, state law allows the following NO Ls: 
	In 2008, the following changes were made to NOLs: 

	NOL TYPE 
	NOL TYPE 
	NOL TYPE 
	NOL % ALLOWED TO BE CARRIED OVER 
	CARRYOVER PERIOD 

	General NOL 
	General NOL 
	100% 
	10 Years 

	Specified Disaster Loss 
	Specified Disaster Loss 
	100% 
	15 years 

	Pierce's Disease 
	Pierce's Disease 
	100% 
	9 Years 

	Economic Development Areas 
	Economic Development Areas 
	100% 
	15 Years 


	o .NOL deductions were suspended for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2010, for a corporation with net business income subject to tax of $500,000 or more. 
	o .NOL deductions were suspended for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2010, for a corporation with net business income subject to tax of $500,000 or more. 
	o .NOL deductions were suspended for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2010, for a corporation with net business income subject to tax of $500,000 or more. 

	o .NOL deductions were suspended for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010 and before January 1, 2012, for a corporation with pre­apportioned income after state adjustments of $300,000 or more. 
	o .NOL deductions were suspended for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010 and before January 1, 2012, for a corporation with pre­apportioned income after state adjustments of $300,000 or more. 

	o .The NOL carryover period is extended by four years for NOLs attributable to tax years beginning before January 1, 2008, three years for NOLs incurred in taxable year 2008, two years for NOLs incurred in taxable year 2009, and one year for NOLs incurred in taxable year 2010. 
	o .The NOL carryover period is extended by four years for NOLs attributable to tax years beginning before January 1, 2008, three years for NOLs incurred in taxable year 2008, two years for NOLs incurred in taxable year 2009, and one year for NOLs incurred in taxable year 2010. 

	o .The NOL carryover period is extended to 20 years for NOLs attributable to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008. 
	o .The NOL carryover period is extended to 20 years for NOLs attributable to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008. 

	o .California conforms to the federal NOL carryback rules for NO Ls attributable to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, with the following modifications: 
	o .California conforms to the federal NOL carryback rules for NO Ls attributable to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, with the following modifications: 


	An NOL may be carried back only two years. (Federal law has special 
	rules that in some cases allow an NOL to be carried back for a longer 
	period). 
	The carryback amount of an NOL attributable to taxable year 2013 is limited to 50% of the net operating loss. 
	The carryback amount of an NOL attributable to taxable year 2014 is limited to 75% ofthe net operating loss. 
	California conforms to the federal carry back period for a Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT) and a corporate equity reduction interest loss, which is zero. 
	For taxable years beginning January 1, 2015 California law conform to federal provision that allows corporation expecting an NOL carryback to extend the time for payment oftaxes for the immediate preceding taxable year. 
	11. DISASTER LOSS DEDUCTION 
	A disaster loss occurs when business or personal property is completely or partially destroyed as a result of a fire, storm, flood, or other natural event. Federal law, Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 165(i), allows a taxpayer who suffers a disaster loss to elect to deduct the loss in the year immediately preceding the year the disaster occurred if it is a Presidentially declared disaster loss. Similarly, under state law, a taxpayer can elect to file an amended return to deduct a disaster loss in the ta
	12. TREATMENT OF S CORPORATIONS 
	"S corporations" are named for a subchapter of federal income tax laws (United States Code, Title 26, Subchapter S) that grant certain corporations special tax treatment. 
	As defined by federal law, S corporations are domestic corporations with 100 or fewer shareholders, only one class of stock, no shareholders other than individuals, estates, trusts, and certain exempt organizations, and not a member of an affiliated group. In general, S corporations must be involved in an active trade or business and are limited with respect to the amount ofpassive investment income from royalties, dividends, and interest they may receive. Corporations that meet these definitions may elect 
	A corporation's California tax status must be the same as its federal tax status. That is, a corporation that elects to be taxed as an S corporation for federal purposes must be taxed 
	as an S corporation for California tax purposes. Similarly, a corporation cannot be an S 
	corporation for California tax purposes unless it has a valid federal S election in place. 
	Once a business elects S corporation status, its corporate income is taxed at a rate of 1.5% (a financial institution that is an S corporation is subject to the additional 2% bank tax; see Section 5 of this chapter) instead of the normal 8.84%, and credits are limited to one­third of the C corporation credit amounts. One hundred percent of the corporation's items of income, loss, deduction, and credits are passed through to the shareholders in accordance with their respective interests in the corporation. 
	Federal and state laws permit S corporations to own 100% of another domestic 
	corporation and to make an election to treat the owned corporation as a Qualified 
	Subchapter S Subsidiary (QSub ). All of the activities, assets, liabilities, income, 
	deductions, and losses of the QSub are treated as the activities, assets, liabilities, income, 
	deductions, and losses of the parent S corporation. The parent S corporation pays tax on 
	the entire amount of income reported and passes the full amount through to its 
	shareholders. California law imposes a tax equal to the minimum franchise tax to the 
	QSub. 
	Under California law, S corporations are permitted to use the MACRS depreciation system (described in Section 8 ofthis chapter) rather than the ADR system. In addition, California S corporations are not subject to the alternative minimum tax. (See Section 15 of this chapter.) 
	13. CAPITAL GAINS AND LOSSES 
	Capital gains are profits from the sale of property and other capital assets. Capital assets are defined as all property except the following: inventories, property held for sale in the ordinary course of business, depreciable business property, and real property used in business. Capital assets include real property (land and buildings), personal property, and intangible assets (such as stock). 
	Capital gains are measured as the difference between the amount realized when the asset is sold and the asset's basis (normally the original purchase price). Any amounts invested in improvements are added to the basis; costs of the sale are deducted from the sales price. The gain is generally recognized in the year the asset is sold or exchanged. 
	Capital gains classified as a different type of income from the "ordinary income" of a corporation arising from its trade or business activities. Under both federal and California law, corporate capital gains are taxed the same as ordinary income; that is, they are fully includible in income subject to tax. Under California and federal law, corporate capital losses may be fully deducted against capital gains, but excess capital losses cannot be deducted against ordinary income. Both California and federal l
	14. TAX CREDITS 
	Tax credits reduce tax liability dollar for dollar, but not below the annual minimum tax, if applicable. Thus, they operate differently from deductions, whose value in reducing tax liability equals the amount of the deduction multiplied by the highest marginal tax rate to which the taxpayer is subject. (See Section 6 ofthis chapter.) 
	Tax credits available under the corporation tax are intended to provide businesses incentives to engage in certain activities that are socially or economically desirable. Most credits are also available to businesses that file under the Personal Income Tax Law. The amount of tax credits allowable in any taxable year may be limited by the taxpayer's alternative minimum tax liability or by tentative minimum tax. (See Section 14 of this chapter.) 
	Some of the tax credits allowed in state law are similar to credits offered in federal law. 
	However, in most cases, the federal credit amounts are greater because the federal tax 
	burden is approximately four times greater than California's. This can be seen by 
	comparing the rate structures: California's corporate rate is 8.84%, while the top federal 
	corporate rate is 35%. As a result, many state income tax credits patterned after federal 
	credits are roughly one-fourth the size of the federal credit. 
	2008-2009 Credit Limitation. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008 
	and before January 1, 2010, business credits are limited for taxpayers with income 
	subject to tax greater than $500,000. Total business credits are limited to 50% of tax 
	(before the application of credits). The carryover period for any credit that is limited is 
	increased by the number of taxable years the credit (or any portion thereof) is not 
	allowed. 
	Credit Assignments. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2008, a 
	member of a combined reporting group, when certain conditions are met, may make an 
	irrevocable assignment of a credit or available credit carryover to another member of the 
	combined reporting group. Assigned credits may be used to reduce tax in taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010. 
	Several of the major credits in California Corporation Tax Law are described below: 
	Donated Agricultural Product Transportation Credit. Taxpayers may claim a tax credit equal to 50% of the costs for transporting donated agricultural products to a nonprofit organization. 
	Upon receipt or delivery of the donated agricultural product, the nonprofit organization must provide the transporter a certificate signed and dated by an authorized representative of the organization. The certificate must state the name and address of the recipient organization, the type and quantity of the product donated, the distance the product was transported, the name of the transporter and the taxpayer donor, and that the product was 
	Upon receipt or delivery of the donated agricultural product, the nonprofit organization must provide the transporter a certificate signed and dated by an authorized representative of the organization. The certificate must state the name and address of the recipient organization, the type and quantity of the product donated, the distance the product was transported, the name of the transporter and the taxpayer donor, and that the product was 
	donated pursuant to the Food and Agriculture Code. The taxpayer must provide a copy 

	ofthe certificate to the FTB upon request. 
	The agricultural products transportation credit applies to taxable years beginning on or 
	after January 1, 1996. This credit may be carried over until exhausted and may not 
	reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 
	Donated Fresh Fruits or Fresh Vegetables Credit. Qualified taxpayers may claim a 
	credit equal to 10% ofthe costs offresh fruits or fresh vegetables donated to a California 
	food bank. 
	A "qualified taxpayer" is defined as the person responsible for planting the crop, managing the crop, and harvesting the crop from the land. The cost ofdonated fresh fruits or fresh vegetables is the cost ofthose products that would otherwise be included in inventory costs. Generally, inventory costs would include both the direct costs and the allocated indirect costs required to produce the fresh fruits or fresh vegetables. Because inventory costs are costs of doing business, the credit is available only t
	The recipient of a donation of fresh fruits or fresh vegetables must provide to the donor certification ofthe type and quantity of the products donated, the name ofthe donor or donors, the name and address ofthe donee nonprofit organization, and, as provided by the donor, the estimated value ofthe donated products and the location where the donated product was grown. A donor that is a qualified taxpayer must provide a copy of the certificate to the FTB upon request. 
	The fresh fruits and fresh vegetables credit applies to taxable years beginning on or after 
	January 1, 2012, and before January 1, 2017. This credit may be carried forward for up 
	to six years and may not reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 
	Disabled Access Credit. For both personal income and corporation taxpayers, 
	California law allows a 50% credit to eligible small businesses for expenses incurred up 
	to $250 to comply with the federal Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. The 
	disabled access credit applies to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1996 and 
	continues indefinitely. This credit may be carried over until exhausted and may not reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. There is also a 
	comparable federal credit. 
	Enhanced Oil Recovery Credit. Federal law allows taxpayers an enhanced oil recovery credit that is combined with several other credits to form the general business credit. 
	This credit is allowed in an amount up to 15% ofthe taxpayer's qualified enhanced oil recovery costs. The qualified costs are defined as amounts paid or incurred for qualifying tangible property that may be depreciated or amortized and are an integral part of a qualified enhanced oil recovery project involving one or more tertiary recovery methods. 
	Ifa credit is allowed for these costs, the amount otherwise deductible or required to be 
	depreciated or recovered through depletion must be reduced by the amount of the 
	allowable credit. 
	The California enhanced oil recovery credit amount is one-third of the taxpayer's allowed federal enhanced oil recovery credit. The state credit applies only to oil recovery projects located within California. 
	A taxpayer's election not to take the credit for federal purposes prevents the taxpayer 
	from claiming a state credit. 
	The enhanced oil recovery credit applies to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1996 and continues indefinitely. This credit may be carried over for up to 15 years and may not reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 
	Community Development Financial Institution Deposit Credit. Under the Corporation Tax Law and the Personal Income Tax Law, a credit is allowed for 20% of the amount of each "qualified deposit" into a "community development financial institution" (CDFI). A qualified deposit is defined, as is equal to or greater than $50,000 and made for a minimum duration of 60 months. A CDFI is defined as a private financial institution located in California and certified by the California Organized Investment Network as an
	The aggregate amount of qualified deposits made by all taxpayers is limited to $50 
	million for each calendar year, thus limiting the value ofthe credit to $10 million 
	annually. 
	Any previously allowed credit will be recaptured ifthe qualified deposit is withdrawn before the end ofthe 60th month and not re-deposited or reinvested in another CDFI within 60 days. However, the recapture penalty is lower ifthe full amount invested is not withdrawn. An amount equal to 20% of any reduction in the qualified deposit will be recaptured ifthe qualified deposit is reduced before the end ofthe 60th month, but not below $50,000. 
	This credit is effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1997 and before January 1, 2017. This credit may be carried over for up to four years and may not reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 
	Employer-Provided Child Care. The Employer-Provided Child Care Credit discussed below was repealed by its own terms on December 1, 2012 and any unused credits can be carried over until exhausted. 
	California allowed credits to employers under both the personal income tax and the 
	corporation tax for providing child care services to their employees. 
	Specifically: (a) a 30% credit was allowed to employers or building owners for the costs of start-up expenses related to establishing or expanding a child care program or constructing an on-site or near-site child care facility for employees' or tenants' dependents; (b) a 30% credit was allowed for employer costs to operate child care information and referral services, with a maximum dollar credit; and (c) a 30% credit was allowed for employer contributions to child care arrangements for employees' children
	Low-Income Housing Construction and Rehabilitation. California allows a tax credit against the personal income tax, corporation tax, and insurance gross premiums tax for construction or rehabilitation of low-income housing in California. The credit is equal to 30% of amounts invested and is claimed over four years (9%, 9%, 9%, and 3%). Except in certain cases, it is available in addition to the comparable credit offered under federal law (9% annually for 10 years for nonsubsidized housing, 4% annually for 1
	To qualify for the state credit, a taxpayer must receive an allocation from the Tax Credit Allocation Committee, and the rents must be maintained at low-income levels for 30 years (compared to 15 years for the federal credit). For buildings located in certain areas or census tracts, the federal credit must be reduced for the state credit to be claimed. 
	Corporations may elect to assign any portion of the credit to an affiliated bank or 
	corporation. This credit can reduce regular tax below tentative minimum tax. The state 
	credit will remain in effect as long as the federal credit remains in effect. The federal 
	credit was made permanent by the Revenue Reconciliation Act of 1993. Federal law 
	provides more than $50 million in credits annually to California. California offers $70 
	million in state credits. 
	Farmworker Housing Credit. Beginning January I, 2009, the standalone Farmworker 
	Housing Credit (FWHC) discussed below was repealed [SB 1247 (Lowenthal), Chapter 
	521, Statutes of 2008] and is now incorporated within and required to be administered as part of the LIHC program. 
	The standalone FWHC was available for the taxable years 1997 through 2008 and allowed personal and corporate taxpayers a 50% credit for the qualified costs of construction or rehabilitation of qualified farmworker housing beginning January 1, 1997. For banks and financial corporations, California law also allowed a 50% credit on below­market rate loans used to finance the construction or rehabilitation of qualified farmworker housing. The credit equaled 50% of the difference between the amount of interest i
	The standalone FWHC was available for the taxable years 1997 through 2008 and allowed personal and corporate taxpayers a 50% credit for the qualified costs of construction or rehabilitation of qualified farmworker housing beginning January 1, 1997. For banks and financial corporations, California law also allowed a 50% credit on below­market rate loans used to finance the construction or rehabilitation of qualified farmworker housing. The credit equaled 50% of the difference between the amount of interest i
	loan rate been one point above prime and the lesser amount ofinterest income actually 


	due for the term of the loan. 
	due for the term of the loan. 
	The aggregate amount of both credits available for allocation could not exceed $500,000 for any taxable year. However, any unallocated credits left over during one year was able to be carried forward for allocation during subsequent years. 
	Research Expenditures. California allows a tax credit under the personal income tax 
	and the corporation tax for incremental research expenditures made during the year 
	California conforms to the federal research credit as of the "specified date" of January 1, 
	2015 with significant modifications. California specifically does not conform to the 
	federal research credit termination date; thus, unlike the federal credit, the California 
	research credit is permanent. Other California modifications are discussed below 
	Research Expenditures. California allows a tax credit under the personal income tax 
	and the corporation tax for incremental research expenditures made during the year. For 
	taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, California conforms to the federal 
	research credit as of the "specified date" of January 1, 2009, with significant 
	modifications. California specifically does not conform to the federal research credit 
	termination date; thus, unlike the federal credit, the California research credit is 
	permanent. Other California modifications are discussed below. 
	California Credit Percentages. California modifies: 
	1) The federal 20% general credit to be 15% of qualified expenses; and, 
	2) The federal 20% university "basic research" credit to be 24% of qualified expenses. 
	California Research. The terms "qualified research" and "basic research" include only research conducted in California. In computing gross receipts under IRC Section 4l(c)(5), only gross receipts from the sale of property held for sale in the ordinary course or business, that is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within California, will be included. Qualified research expenses are modified to exclude any amount paid or incurred for tangible personal property that is eligible for the exemption from sales or
	University "Basic Research" Expenses. Similar to federal law, only corporations qualify for the credit for the university "basic research" credit. However, California modifies "basic research'' to include any basic or applied research including scientific inquiry or original investigation for advancement of scientific or engineering knowledge or the improved effectiveness ofcommercial products, except the term does not include any of the following: 
	1) Basic research conducted outside California; 
	2) .Basic research in social sciences, arts or humanities; 
	3) .Basic research for purposes ofimproving a commercial product ifthe improvements relate to style, taste, cosmetic, or seasonal design factors; or, 
	4) .Any expenditure paid or incurred to ascertain existence, location, extent, or quality of any deposit of ore or other mineral, including oil or gas. 
	Alternative Incremental Research Credit. California conforms to the alternative incremental credit as ofthe "specified date" ofJanuary 1, 2015, with modifications. For California purposes, the federal credit rates of3%, 4%, and 5% are modified to be 1.49%, 1.98%, and 2.48%, respectively. The federal alternative incremental credit expired on 12/31/2008; however taxpayers are allowed to elect the alternative incremental credit even though they can no longer elect it for federal purposes. 
	Alternative Simplified Credit. California specifically does not conform to the alternative 
	simplified credit. 
	Eligible Expenses. California generally conforms to the federal rules for eligible expenses, but does not conform to the special rules that allow qualified research expenses to include 100% ofamounts paid or incurred by the taxpayer to an eligible small business, university, or federal laboratory for qualified energy research. 
	Enterprise Zones (EZs), Targeted Tax Areas (TTAs), Manufacturing Enhancement Areas (MEAs ), and Local Agency Military Base Recovery Areas (LAMBRAs) Incentives. For taxable years beginning before January 1, 2014, California provided an array oftax incentives to businesses and their employees located in designated EZs, TTAs, MEAs and LAMBRAs. These designated zones and areas are economically depressed areas of the state designated by the Department of Housing and Community Development. Federal law provides li
	For EZs. A tax credit for sales or use taxes paid on the purchase of qualified machinery and machinery parts, (which can reduce regular tax below tentative minimum tax (TMT)); a tax credit to employers for wages paid to qualified employees working in the zone (which can also reduce regular tax below TMT); a tax deduction for net interest income arising from loans made to zone businesses; and expensing ofall or part ofthe cost of qualified property. 
	0 .

	0 
	For LAMBRA. A tax credit for sales or use taxes paid on the purchases of qualified machinery and machinery parts; a tax credit to employers for wages 
	For LAMBRA. A tax credit for sales or use taxes paid on the purchases of qualified machinery and machinery parts; a tax credit to employers for wages 
	paid to qualified employees working in the area; and expensing of all or part ofthe cost of qualified property. 

	0 
	The EZs and the LAMBRAs were repealed on 111114. Taxpayers may continue to generate new EZ and LAMBRA hiring credit for full 60 months for wages paid or incurred for qualified employees hired before 111114. Taxpayers qualify for the EZ and LAMBRA sales and use tax credit for qualified property purchased and placed in service on or before January l, 2014. The business expense deduction can only be claimed on qualified property purchased and placed in service on or before January 112014. Unused credits may be
	For TTAs. A tax credit for sales or use taxes paid on the purchase of qualified machinery and machinery parts, a tax credit for wages paid to qualified employees working in the targeted tax area, and expensing of all or part of the cost of qualified property. Both credits can reduce regular tax below tentative minimum tax. 
	0 .

	For MEAs. A credit for wages paid to qualified employees working in the MEA. 
	0 .

	The TTAs and the MEAs were repealed on December 31, 2012. Taxpayers may continue to generate new TTA and MEA hiring credit for full 60 months for wages paid or incurred for qualified employees hired before December 31 , 2012. Taxpayers qualify for the TTA sales and use tax credit for qualified property purchased and placed in service on or before December 31 , 2012. The TTA business expense deduction can only be claimed on qualified property purchased and placed in service on or before. Unused credits may b
	Prior-Year Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT) Credit. While the AMT ensures that a taxpayer's tax liability is not reduced to zero by tax preferences, the purpose is not to eliminate the use of the tax preferences, but to defer them. (See Section 14 for a discussion ofthe AMT.) The prior-year AMT credit is allowed for AMT paid in a prior year by taxpayers that are not liable for AMT in the current year. The amount of the allowable credit in any tax year is limited to the regular tax less the refundable credits (
	Prison Inmate Labor. A credit is allowed for 10% of the amount of wages paid to each prisoner employed in a joint venture pursuant to an agreement with the Director of Corrections. 
	New Jobs Tax Credit. California allows a New Jobs Tax credit, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009 and before January 1, 2014, to a qualified employer in the amount of $3,000 for each qualified full-time employee hired in the taxable year, 
	New Jobs Tax Credit. California allows a New Jobs Tax credit, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009 and before January 1, 2014, to a qualified employer in the amount of $3,000 for each qualified full-time employee hired in the taxable year, 
	determined on an annual full-time equivalent basis. The credit is allocated by the FTB and has a cap of $400 million for all taxable years. The credit remains in effect until December 1 of the calendar year after the year in which the cumulative credit limit has been reached and is repealed as of that date. Any credits not used in the taxable year may be carried forward up to eight years. 

	New Employment Credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2021, California allows a New Employment Credit to qualified employers, paying qualified wages, to qualified employees. The credit is equal to 35% of the amount of wages paid between 150% and 350% of minimum wage. The credit may be generated up to five consecutive years for the same employee as long as the employee remains employed. Any credits not used in the taxable year may be carried forward for up to f
	California Competes Credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014 and before January 1, 2021, California allows a California Competes credit to be allocated to chosen California companies. The amount of the credit and the companies chosen to receive the credit would be determined by a California Competes committee, "Go-Biz". Go Biz will ensure that the aggregate credit amount allocated to all companies does not exceed $30,000,000 for the 2013-14 fiscal year; $150,000,000 for the 2014-15 fi
	California Motion Picture and Television Production Credit. For taxable years 
	beginning on or after January 1, 2011, the credit that is allocated and certified by the 
	California Film Commission (Commission) is 20% of expenditures attributable to a 
	qualified motion picture and 25% of production expenditures attributable to an 
	independent film or a TV series that relocates to California. 
	The annual allocation of credits is capped at $100 million. A qualified taxpayer may sell an independent film credit to an unrelated party. In lieu of claiming the new credit on the income tax return, the qualified taxpayer is allowed to make an irrevocable election to apply the credit amount against the qualified sales and use tax. This credit may reduce a corporate taxpayer's tax below tentative minimum tax. This credit allows any unused credits amounts to be carried forward for up to six years and expire
	California Motion Picture Production Credit. California allows a new motion picture credit for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016. The credit is subject to a computation, ranking, and allocation by the Commission of an amount equal to 20% or 25%, whichever is the applicable credit percentage of the qualified expenditures for the production of a qualified motion picture in California. Any qualified expenditure 
	California Motion Picture Production Credit. California allows a new motion picture credit for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016. The credit is subject to a computation, ranking, and allocation by the Commission of an amount equal to 20% or 25%, whichever is the applicable credit percentage of the qualified expenditures for the production of a qualified motion picture in California. Any qualified expenditure 
	amounts that were included in the calculation of the existing "California Motion Picture 

	and Television Production Credit" are ineligible for this new credit. 
	The annual allocation of credits is capped at $230 million for the 2015-16 fiscal year and increased to $330 million for the 2016-17 fiscal year, through and including the 2019-20 fiscal year. Similar to the California Motion Picture and Television Production Credit, the Commission administers this credit and authorizes the allocation of tax credits. A qualified taxpayer may sell an independent file credit to an unrelated party. In lieu of claiming the new credit on the income tax return, the qualified taxp
	New Advanced Strategic Aircraft Program for the US Air Force Employment Credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, and before January 1, 2030, a qualified taxpayer is allowed a tax credit in an amount equal to 17 1/2% of wages paid by a qualified taxpayer during the taxable year to qualified full-time employees multiplied by an annual full-time equivalent ratio. The credit is administered by the FTB and capped at $25 million in years 1 through 5, $28 million in years 6 through 10, and 
	Natural Heritage Preservation Credit. California allows a credit for contributions of real property for the protection of wildlife habitat, open space, and agriculture lands. The credit is equal to 55% of the fair market value of a qualified contribution as approved for acceptance by the California Wildlife Conservation Board. California extended the sunset date of the credit for five years, to June 30, 2020; and for contributions made on or after January 1, 2015, extended the carryover period from 8 to 15 
	College Access Tax Credit Fund. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2018, a taxpayer is allowed a credit for cash contributions made to the College Access Tax Credit Fund. The College Access Tax Credit Fund has an aggregate credit cap of $500 million per calendar year. The California Educational Facilities Authority is responsible to administer, allocate, and certify the credit. The credit is calculated based on the following: (1) 60% of the amount contributed that
	15. ALTERNATIVE MINIMUM TAX (AMT) 
	Corporate taxpayers that take advantage of certain tax preferences (exemptions, deferrals, or deductions) must compute an AMT at a 6.65% rate (C corporations) or 8.65% rate (for banks and financial institutions) and pay this if it exceeds the amount of regular tax due. 
	The purpose ofthe AMT is to ensure that taxpayers who take advantage of special tax reduction provisions in the tax code pay at least some minimum amount oftax on income receiving preferential treatment. These AMT rules generally conform to federal law, which imposes the corporate AMT at a 20% rate. 
	Computation ofthe AMT is rather complex. In simplified terms, the taxpayer is required to first compute the regular tax, using the rules described in this chapter and applying the regular corporate rate of 8.84%. Then the taxpayer must compute the "tentative minimum tax," which is calculated by including more income and by adding back certain tax preferences that were claimed during the first calculation, then subtracting an exemption amount ($40,000 for corporations) and applying the AMT rate of 6.65% (for
	A simple example of this procedure is shown in Table 5. 
	These rules for corporations generally apply to personal income taxpayers as well. 
	AMT has an important interaction with tax credits. Most credits can reduce regular tax down to, but not below, TMT. However, specific credits are available to reduce regular tax below TMT to determine a taxpayer's regular tax liability. These credits include: 
	0 
	0 
	0 
	California Competes Credit; 

	0 
	0 
	College Access Tax Credit 

	0 
	0 
	Enterprise zone hiring credit; 

	0 
	0 
	Enterprise zone sales or use tax credit; 

	0 
	0 
	Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ) construction hiring credit carryover; 

	0 
	0 
	LARZ hiring credit carryover; 

	0 
	0 
	LARZ sales or use tax credit carryover; 

	0 
	0 
	Low-income housing credit; 

	0 
	0 
	Manufacturers' investment credit carryover. 

	0 
	0 
	Program area hiring credit carryover; 

	0 
	0 
	Program area sales or use tax credit carryover; 

	0 
	0 
	Research and development credit; 

	0 
	0 
	Solar energy credit carryover; and, 

	0 
	0 
	Targeted Tax Area hiring credit. 

	0 
	0 
	Motion picture and television production credit; and, 

	0 
	0 
	Motion picture production credit. 


	In addition, the solar energy credit carryover and commercial solar energy credit carryover can reduce a taxpayer's alternative minimum tax liability. 
	TABLES 
	EXAMPLE: COMPUTATION OF ALTERNATIVE MINIMUM TAX (AMT) FOR A HYPOTHETICAL CORPORATION 
	Regular Tax Computation: 1) Income of $500,000 less deductions of $300,000 = Net Income of $200,000 times 8.84% rate = Regular Tax of. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $17,680 2) Tentative Minimum Tax Computation: 
	Income of $500,000 less deductions of $300,000 
	plus income adjustments of $50,000 plus tax preferences added back of $100,000 = Alternative Minimum Taxable Income of $350,000 less exemption of $40,000 = $310,000 times 6.65% rate = Tentative Minimum Tax of .......... .... .. ................ . $20,615 3) Difference between Tentative Minimum Tax and Regular Tax [$20,615 less $17,680] = AMOUNT of .. ............ ....... ......... ........... .... $ 2,935 4) Total Tax Computation: 
	Regular Tax plus AMT [$17,680 plus $2,935] = Total Tax Liability of ........... ..... ...... ................$20,615 Tax preference items and required adjustments are generally similar to those in federal law. Specific rules for computing each of these are provided in the law. 
	16. TAX EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS 
	In 2014, approximately 137,570 organizations filed returns as exempt from the corporation tax. In general, these organizations can be described as nonprofit educational, religious, charitable, literary, scientific, civic, fraternal, and social organizations. State and federal rules for qualifying as a tax-exempt organization are nearly identical. 
	There are restrictions on the amount of lobbying in which such organizations may engage and retain their tax-exempt status. 
	Certain nonprofit business and labor organizations, chambers of commerce, real estate boards, cemeteries, certain political organizations, and various beneficiary and retirement organizations may qualify for tax exempt status. 
	Almost all organizations that are exempt from the corporation tax nonetheless are subject to tax on "unrelated business income" (UBI) in excess of$1,000 per year. The UBI is income from a trade or business activity that is regularly carried on and is not related to the organization's exempt purpose. The tax rate on UBI is the regular corporate rate of 8.84%. Businesses that are taxed on UBI are not subject to the minimum franchise tax. 
	17. REVENUE 
	The corporation tax is the third largest source of General Fund revenue. In fiscal year 
	(FY) 2015-16, the corporation tax generated approximately 10.3 billion 
	18. ADMINISTRATION 
	The FIB administers the corporation tax, and also is charged with setting the bank tax 
	rate each year. 
	For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, estimated payments of tax 
	liability are due as follows: 
	1st quarter installment 30% of estimated tax 
	0 
	0 
	2nd quarter installment 40% of estimated tax 
	3rd quarter installment 0% of estimated tax 
	0 
	0 
	4th quarter installment 30% of estimated tax 
	Corporate taxpayers who are not required to make an estimate payment installment in the first quarter are required to make the following installment payments in subsequent quarters: 
	o 2nd quarter installment 60% of estimated tax 
	o 2nd quarter installment 60% of estimated tax 
	o 2nd quarter installment 60% of estimated tax 

	o 3rd quarter installment 0% of estimated tax 
	o 3rd quarter installment 0% of estimated tax 

	o 4th quarter installment 40% of estimated tax 
	o 4th quarter installment 40% of estimated tax 


	Corporate taxpayers who are not required to make an estimate payment installment in the first two quarters are required to make the following installment payments in subsequent quarters: 
	o 3rd quarter installment 70% of estimated tax 
	o 3rd quarter installment 70% of estimated tax 
	o 3rd quarter installment 70% of estimated tax 

	o 4th quarter installment 30% of estimated tax 
	o 4th quarter installment 30% of estimated tax 


	Corporate taxpayers who are not required to make an estimate payment installment in the first three quarters are required to pay 100% in the fourth quarter. 
	Returns are due on the 15th day ofthe third month following the close ofthe taxable 
	year. Taxpayers are subject to penalties ifestimated payments remitted over the course 
	ofthe year are less than prescribed minimum percentages of tax liability. 
	Taxpayer appeals of disputed tax assessments are made first to the FTB, then to the 
	Board ofEqualization (BOE). After payment, taxpayers may appeal in the courts. 
	Taxpayers may post deposits with the FTB in lieu ofpaying disputed tax assessments. 
	Taxpayer appeals of denied refund claims may be made either to the BOE or in state 
	court. 
	The paperless automatic extension program, similar to the program for personal income 
	taxpayers, grants a seven-month automatic extension ohime to file the tax return for all 
	corporations that are not suspended. California banks and corporations are still required 
	to pay 100% of the current tax liability by the 15th day ofthe third month following the 
	close ofthe taxable year. Taxpayers who owe additional tax are required to send in their 
	payment coupon by their original due date. 
	As under current law, taxpayers who do not pay 100% ofthe tax liability by their original due date will owe interest and will be assessed the late-payment penalty. A return filed by the extended due date, with or without 100% ofthe tax liability paid by the original due date, will be considered to be a timely-filed return. 
	Electronic Funds Transfer Requirement. Taxpayers subject to the Corporation Tax 
	Law and that meet certain requirements must pay all tax liabilities, both estimated 
	payments and any tax due with the return, via electronic funds transfer. 
	In general, taxpayers subject to Corporation Tax Law must pay via electronic funds transfer if any quarterly estimated tax payment exceeds $20,000 or their total tax liability exceeds $80,000. In addition, any taxpayer may use electronic funds transfer ifthe FTB grants permission to a request from the taxpayer. 
	Change Use Tax to First Priority for Taxes Paid on FTB State Tax Returns. AB 2758 (Revenue and Taxation Committee), Chapter 541, Statutes of 2014, modified the priority ofpayments related to use tax reported on the tax return. Effective January 1, 2015, use tax liability replaces income tax liability as the first priority for payment. 
	Like-Kind Exchanges. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, California requires taxpayers who exchange property located in California for like-kind property located outside of California and meet all of the requirements of IRC Section 1031 to file an annual information return with the FTB. 
	Requirement for Certain Business Entities to E-File. For returns filed on or after January 1, 2015, California requires any business entity that files an original or amended tax return that is prepared using tax preparation software to e-file their tax return with the FTB, as specified. 
	Equal Tax Treatment of Nonqualified Foreign Limited Liability Companies (LLCs) for Contract Voidability/Check-the-Box Regulations. Effective immediately, California added foreign nonqualified LLCs to the definition of a taxpayer. as it relates to contract voidability meaning foreign nonqualified LLCs are now subject to the same terms of contract voidability as foreign nonqualified corporations. 
	California law requires the classification of a business entity to be consistent with federal regulations (known as "check-the-box regulations") as in effect January 1, 1997. The check-the-box regulations provide that an entity may elect how it will be classified for federal tax purposes: as a corporation, a partnership, or an entity disregarded as separate from its owner. In the absence of an election, default classification are provided. California modified the check-the-box statte regulations date to be 
	FTB Collect Restitutions Orders Referred by Counties. California authorized counties that elect to collect restitution fines or penalties to refer the debts to the FTB for collection on or after January 1, 2015. Effective June 15, 2015, SB 84 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review) Chapter 25 Statues of 2015 added unpaid tolls, tolls evasion penalties, and related administrative or service fees to the list of delinquent accounts that the FTB is authorized to collect on behalf of the Department of Motor Vehi
	19. CODE 
	California Constitution, Article XIII, Sections 26 and 27 
	Revenue and Taxation Code, Division 2, Part 10.2, Sections 18401-19802 and Part 11, Sections 23001-25141 
	CHAPTER2D DETERMINING THE INCOME OF MULTISTATE AND MULTINATIONAL CORPORATIONS 
	CHAPTER2D 
	DETERMINING THE INCOME OF MULTISTATE .AND .MULTINATIONAL CORPORATIONS .
	HIGHLIGHTS 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	Unitary Corporations 

	• 
	• 
	Combination 

	• 
	• 
	Apportionment of Income 

	• 
	• 
	Worldwide Combination 

	• 
	• 
	Water's-Edge Combination 

	• 
	• 
	Business Versus Nonbusiness Income 

	• 
	• 
	Federal Treatment of Multinational Corporations 


	1. INTRODUCTION 
	When a corporation derives income from sources both within and outside of California, it is necessary to determine what portion of total corporate income is earned in California and is subject to tax in this state. 
	The method used by California and many other states is called the "unitary method." It 
	applies to both multistate and multinational corporations. 
	The unitary method was developed early in the history of state corporate taxation as an alternative to the so-called "source method", which attempts to identify the geographic source of each corporate income stream. The source method is inadequate because it failed to reflect that a corporation's income is earned as the result of all its activities in all locations. An attempt to identify one geographic source of the earnings does not accurately reflect the contribution of all corporate activities to the ul
	CHAPTER2D DETERMINING THE INCOME OF MULTISTATE AND MULTINATIONAL CORPORA TIO NS 
	In contrast, the unitary method combines total corporate income, then uses a formula to 
	apportion total income to the taxing jurisdictions within which the corporation does 
	business. This method has the advantages ofreflecting the contribution of all corporate 
	activities to overall profit, and ofmaking the assignment of income and expenses to 
	divisions within the corporation, or to particular geographic locations, irrelevant to the 
	determination oftax liability. 
	The use of the unitary method by states has been quite controversial over the years. Most of the controversy has centered on the application ofthe unitary method to multinational corporations. In general, use of the unitary method to apportion income ofmultistate corporations operating only in the United States has received relatively little challenge. Further discussion of the controversy surrounding worldwide combination and apportionment is provided in Section 5 ofthis chapter. 
	The unitary method is a very complex area of tax law, and it has developed over the years through statutory provisions, regulations of the Franchise Tax Board (FTB), decisions on taxpayer appeals by the quasi-judicial Board of Equalization (BOE), and judicial decisions in both state and federal courts. 
	2. UNITARY CORPORA TIO NS 
	The unitary method applies to single corporations doing business both within and outside of California. It also applies to groups of affiliated corporations that, in effect, operate as one integrated business. When a group of corporations operates as a "unit" (i.e., is 'unitary'), that group is treated as if it were one corporation and is subject to the unitary method. 
	A single corporation or a group of affiliated corporations may conduct more than one 
	unitary business. In those circumstances, each unitary business is accounted for 
	separately. A corporation may also have "investment" activities that are accounted for 
	separately from the unitary business. (See Section 7 below on Business versus Nonbusiness income.) 
	Whether a group of corporations comprise a unitary group is a complex determination that must be made based on the facts and circumstances of each corporate group. This is also an area where the law is still developing. Taxpayers and the FTB determine whether a group of affiliated corporations is unitary by means ofthree general tests that have grown out of a body ofjudicial opinions. These are (a) the three unities test, (b) the contributions and dependency test, and ( c) the functional integration test. A
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	0 
	Unity of Ownership. This exists where the same interests own, directly or indirectly, more than 50% ofthe voting stock of all members ofthe group. Unity of ownership may also exist between: 
	a) .A parent corporation and one or more other corporations ifthe parent owns stock representing more than 50% of the voting power ofat least one corporation in the group and, if applicable, stock cumulatively representing more than 50% of the voting power of each of the corporations (except the parent) is owned by the parent or two or more members ofthe group. 
	b) Any two or more corporations if stock representing more than 50% ofthe voting power of the corporations is owned (directly or by constructive ownership) by a single person. 
	c) Any two or more corporations if stock representing more than 5 0% ofthe voting power of the corporations is owned (directly or by constructive ownership) by two or more members ofthe same family. 
	d) Any two or more corporations that constitute stapled entities. 
	Unity of Operation. Is usually shown by centralized operations or functions such as purchasing, advertising, accounting and management. In some instances, corporations that are neither in the same line of business nor vertically integrated are found to be unitary because ofcentralized management and central departments. 
	0 .

	Unity ofUse. Is reflected by a centralized executive force and the operation systems in general. 
	0 .

	3. COMBINATION 
	Once it is determined that a unitary business conducts unitary activities both within and outside of California, all income and deductions from the separate sites are combined. The group computes net income as if it were a single corporation. Income and expenses from intercompany transactions are disregarded (the same way transactions between a husband and wife filing a joint return in the personal income tax are disregarded). Thus, for example, dividends paid from one affiliated corporation to another are 
	The portion of this total nationwide or worldwide net income that is taxable by California is then determined by formula, as described below. 
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	4. APPORTIONMENT OF INCOME 
	Changes to Apportionment and Sales Factor Rules after January 1, 2013. Under current law, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, Proposition 39 mandates the use of single sales factor apportionment by most multistate apportioning businesses. The option of using a three-factor, double-weighted sales apportionment formula is eliminated. Businesses specifically prohibited from utilizing a single sales factor apportionment formula are those that derive more than 50% oftheir gross business rece
	Prior to January 1, 2013, most corporations filed using a four-factor apportionment formula. This formula used a ratio of California sales (double weighted), property and payroll as compared to sales, property and payroll everywhere. 
	California generally uses the "double-weighted" sales factor apportionment method for most industries. That is, the formula uses a single payroll and property factor while including the sales factor twice (see example in Table 7). However, for certain industries (including agricultural, extractive savings and loan, and banking or financial institutions) the sales factor is single weighted and the formula is based on the simple average ofthe three factors. 
	The formula works as follows for each tax year: 
	The corporation computes the ratio of its payroll in California (stated in dollars ofvalue) to its payroll everywhere. It computes similar ratios for its California property and sales to property and sales everywhere. Note: The payroll and sales factors compare annual expenditures while the property factor uses an average ofproperty owned and rented by the corporation at the beginning of the year and at the end ofthe year. 
	0 .

	The arithmetic average of the three ratios is computed using a denominator of three for agricultural, extractive, savings and loan, and banking or financial institutions, while double-weighting the sales factor and using a denominator offour for all other industries. This average represents the proportion of the corporation's total activity that it conducts in California. 
	0 .

	0 
	The average ratio computed above is applied to combined total net income to determine the share ofthe income of the unitary business that is apportioned to California. 
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	0 
	The corporate tax rate of 8.84% is applied to the net income apportioned to California. 
	The rules for apportioning income are modified for specific industries (including, for example, airlines, professional sports teams, construction contractors, franchisors, motion picture and television film producers, and trucking companies). In the case ofcertain forms of businesses, the rules for apportioning income are also modified for partnerships and personal service corporations. The modifications, established by Regulations issued by the FTB, typically provide special rules for computing the factors
	Because formula apportionment is intended to tax only that portion oftotal income that is apportioned to California, double taxation of the same income by different jurisdictions normally does not occur. Therefore, no tax credit for taxes paid to other states is provided in the corporation tax law. 
	For the taxable years 2011 and 2012, qualified apportioning trades or businesses could 
	make an annual, irrevocable election to utilize a single factor (see example in Table 6), 
	100% sales, (single sales factor) apportionment formula instead ofthe three-factor, 
	double-weighted sales apportionment formula. The election was required to be made on a timely filed original return in the manner and form prescribed by the FIB. 
	Compact Election Issue. SB 1015 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), Chapter 37, Statutes of 2012, as enacted on June 27, 2012, repealed the state's Multistate Tax compact provisions and provided that the three-factor apportionment formula was not an option for California purposes, except for businesses that derive more than 50% of their gross receipts from certain qualifying business activities. 
	Definition of "Doing Business". SBx3 15 (Calderon), Chapter 17, Statutes of2009, established a bright-line test to provide that a taxpayer is "doing business" in California if any ofthe following conditions are satisfied: 
	A. .The taxpayer is organized or commercially domiciled in this state. 
	B. .The taxpayer's sales in this state exceed the lesser of $500,000 or 25% of the taxpayer's total sales. The taxpayer's sales include sales by an agent or independent contractor ofthe taxpayer. 
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	C. .The taxpayer's real and tangible personal property in this state exceeds the lesser of $50,000 or 25% of the taxpayer's total real and tangible personal property. 
	D. .The amount paid in this state by the taxpayer for compensation exceeds the lesser of $50,000 or 25% of the total compensation paid by the taxpayer. 
	The amounts described in items B, C, and D above are updated by the FTB on an annual basis in a similar manner used to recompute the state income tax brackets. 
	Definition of "Gross Receipts". "Gross receipts" are defined as the gross amounts realized (the sum of money and the fair market value of other property or services received), but do not include the following items: 
	Repayment, maturity, or redemption of the principal of a loan, bond, mutual fund, certificate of deposit, or similar marketable instrument. 
	0 
	The principal amount received under a repurchase agreement or other transaction properly characterized as a loan. 
	0 
	0 
	Proceeds from issuance of the taxpayer's own stock or from sale oftreasury stock. 
	Damages and other amounts received as the result of litigation.
	0 
	0 
	Property acquired by an agent on behalf of another. 
	0 
	Tax refunds and other tax benefit recoveries. 
	Pension reversions. 
	0 
	Contributions to capital (except for sales of securities by securities dealers). 
	0 
	Income from discharge ofindebtedness.
	0 
	Amounts realized from exchanges of inventory that are not recognized under the Internal Revenue Code. 
	0 
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	o .Amounts received from transactions in intangible assets held in connection with a treasury function of the taxpayer's unitary business and the gross receipts and overall net gains from the maturity, redemption, sale, exchange or other disposition of those intangible assets. 
	o .Amounts received from transactions in intangible assets held in connection with a treasury function of the taxpayer's unitary business and the gross receipts and overall net gains from the maturity, redemption, sale, exchange or other disposition of those intangible assets. 
	o .Amounts received from transactions in intangible assets held in connection with a treasury function of the taxpayer's unitary business and the gross receipts and overall net gains from the maturity, redemption, sale, exchange or other disposition of those intangible assets. 

	o .Amounts received from hedging transactions involving intangible assets. 
	o .Amounts received from hedging transactions involving intangible assets. 


	Determination of Sales in California for Tangible Personal Property• The following rules for assigning sales from tangible personal property to the sales factor were added to the Corporation Tax Law: 
	1

	o .Sales oftangible personal property are assigned to California if the product is delivered or shipped to a purchaser in this state, and the taxpayer (seller) or any member of the combined reporting group is taxable in this state. 
	o .Sales oftangible personal property are assigned to California if the product is delivered or shipped to a purchaser in this state, and the taxpayer (seller) or any member of the combined reporting group is taxable in this state. 
	o .Sales oftangible personal property are assigned to California if the product is delivered or shipped to a purchaser in this state, and the taxpayer (seller) or any member of the combined reporting group is taxable in this state. 

	o .Sales of tangible personal property are assigned to California if the product is delivered or shipped to a purchaser out of state, and the taxpayer (seller) or any member ofthe combined reporting group is not taxable in the state of destination. 
	o .Sales of tangible personal property are assigned to California if the product is delivered or shipped to a purchaser out of state, and the taxpayer (seller) or any member ofthe combined reporting group is not taxable in the state of destination. 


	Determination of Sales in California for Other than Tangible Personal Property. 
	2

	The following rules for assigning sales of other than tangible personal property were 
	added to the Corporation Tax Law: 
	o .Sales from services are in this state to the extent the purchaser of the service received the benefit of the service in this state. 
	o .Sales from services are in this state to the extent the purchaser of the service received the benefit of the service in this state. 
	o .Sales from services are in this state to the extent the purchaser of the service received the benefit of the service in this state. 

	o .Sales from intangible property are in this state to the extent the property is used in this state. In the case ofmarketable securities, sales are in this state if the customer is in this state. 
	o .Sales from intangible property are in this state to the extent the property is used in this state. In the case ofmarketable securities, sales are in this state if the customer is in this state. 

	o .Sales from the sale, lease, rental or licensing ofreal property are in this state if the real prope1iy is located in this state. 
	o .Sales from the sale, lease, rental or licensing ofreal property are in this state if the real prope1iy is located in this state. 

	o .Sales from the rental, lease or licensing oftangible personal property are in this state if the property is located in this state. 
	o .Sales from the rental, lease or licensing oftangible personal property are in this state if the property is located in this state. 


	For taxable years beginning before January 1, 2013, taxpayers electing to use the single sales factor apportionment formula, and for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, taxpayers required to use a single sales factor apportionment formula will use 
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	market-based sourcing of sales of services or intangibles. California's market-based sourcing rules generally sources sales of services to California ifthe taxpayer's customer receives a benefit of the service in the state. Receipts from intangibles are generally sourced to the state to the extent the property is used or located in the state. 
	TABLE6 
	EXAMPLE: USE OF UNITARY APPORTIONMENT AFTER JANUARY 1, 2013 FORMULA FOR A HYPOTHETICAL CORPORATION 
	1) .Compute ratio of sales in California to sales worldwide: 
	Sales in California = $ 1,000,000 .Sales Total Worldwide = $ 20,000,000 .Ratio of California to Total = 5% .
	2) .Apply apportionment factor to total corporate net income to determine income apportioned to California: 
	Qualified Business Activities 
	Worldwide Net Income of Corporation $5,000,000 .Multiplied by Single Sales Factor x 5% .Net Income Apportioned to California $ 250,000 .
	3) .Apply California tax rate to determine tax: Income Apportioned to California $ 500,000 Times Corporation Tax Rate x 8.84% 
	Tax Due to California .$ 22,100 
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	TABLE 7 EXAMPLE: USE OF UNITARY APPORTIONMENT PRIOR TO JANUARY 1, 2013 FORMULA FOR A HYPOTHETICAL CORPORATION 1) Compute ratio of corporate assets in California to assets worldwide: 
	In California 
	In California 
	In California 
	Total Everywhere 
	Ratio of California to Total 

	Sales Property Payroll 
	Sales Property Payroll 
	$1,000,000 4,000,000 2,000,000 
	$20,000,000 40,000,000 10,000,000 
	5% 10% 20% 


	2) Determine the apportionment factor: 
	Agricultural, extractive, savings and loan, and banking or financial institutions: .5% + 10% +20% = 35% divided by 3 = 11.6667%. .All other business activities: 5% + 5% + 10% +20% = 40% divided by 4 = 10%. .Elective or Mandatory Single Sales Factor (Taxable Years Beginning on or after .
	January 1, 2011) is 5%. 3) Apply apportionment factor to total corporate net income to determine income apportioned to California: Qualified Elective or Business Business Mandatory Single Activities* Activities Sales Factor Worldwide Net Income of $5,000,000 $5,000,000 $5,000,000 
	Corporation: Multiplied by Appo1iionment Factor x 11.6667% x 10% x 5% Net Income Apportioned to 
	California: $ 583,335 $ 500,000 $ 250,000 4) Apply California tax rate to determine tax: Income Apportioned to $ 583,335 $ 500,000 $ 500,000 
	California: times Corporation Tax Rate: % % % Tax Due to California: $ 51,567 $ 44,200 $ 22,100 
	x 8.84
	x 8.84
	x 8.84

	*Agricultural, Extractive, Savings and Loan, and Banking or Financial Institutions. 
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	5. WORLDWIDE COMBINATION 
	Initially, all worldwide unitary corporations were required to combine their worldwide operations and use the unitary method, as described above, computing worldwide factors and worldwide income. The apportionment percentage was expressed as California payroll, property, and sales as a percent ofworldwide payroll, property and sales. 
	Numerous court challenges arose regarding California's ability to require worldwide combinations of the unitary businesses of multistate corporations. In a variety of cases, the United States Supreme Court confirmed the constitutionality of California's apportionment of income on a worldwide basis. 
	While judicial challenges advanced, taxpayers continued their arguments against worldwide combination and encouraged the Legislature to repeal the laws requiring combination. Arguments made to the Legislature for repealing mandatory worldwide combined reports for multinational corporations included the following: 
	Property, payroll, and sales do not produce equal profits in all parts of the world. For example, labor may be cheaper (and thus relatively more profitable) overseas than in the United States. Thus, the formula is distorting and results in instances of double taxation by California and foreign nations. 
	0 .

	Fluctuations in international exchange rates make it difficult to put economic activities around the world on a consistent and comparable basis for purposes ofthe formula apportionment. 
	0 .

	The worldwide combination and apportionment system places excessive record keeping burdens on corporations. 
	0 .

	The worldwide system discourages corporations from making relatively less profitable investments in California because investment in California property will increase the share of the corporation's income subject to California tax. For example, start-up of a plant is often initially less profitable. 
	0 .

	0 
	This system discourages investment in California by foreign firms, thereby depriving the state of the potential employment growth associated with such investment. 
	0 
	Foreign governments have protested that the system is unfair to their countries' businesses that operate worldwide and have threatened retaliation on U.S. corporations operating in their countries. 
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	0 
	Third world countries might copy the system of worldwide combination, potentially increasing tax burdens of businesses from industrialized nations. 
	In 1986, legislation was enacted to respond to these concerns. Under the new system, 
	multinational corporations were allowed to elect one of two methods of determining 
	income subject to tax in California, either worldwide combination or water's-edge 
	combination. 
	6. WATER'S-EDGE COMBINATION 
	Multinational affiliated corporations that operate a unitary business may elect to combine only the affiliates that are designated as being within the "water's-edge." Affiliates outside the water's-edge are disregarded, and their income plays no direct role in the computation ofincome subject to tax in California. The concepts of unity and combination and the operation of the formula, as described above, continue to apply. In 2012, 11,361 corporations made the water's-edge election. 
	The major provisions applying to corporations that elect water's-edge combination are as .follows: .
	Definition of "Water's-Edge". The "water's-edge" includes the 50 states of the United 
	States and specified income activity of affiliates organized overseas. Thus, affiliates 
	organized in the United States are considered inside the water's-edge and are combined. 
	Affiliates organized overseas are considered outside the water's-edge and are not 
	combined, except to the extent of their United States activities. However, affiliates 
	organized overseas which have 20% or more of their activities in the United States are 
	inside the water's-edge. In addition, state law requires a controlled foreign corporation 
	(CFC) with Subpart F income to include a portion of its net income and apportionment 
	factors in the water's-edge group tax filing based on an inclusion ratio. 
	So-called "80-20" corporations (United States-domiciled corporations with less than 20% oftheir activities in the United States) are also included within the water's-edge. 
	Water's-Edge Election Period. Prior to January 1, 2003, corporations that elected to use the water's-edge combination method made a contract with FTB for an initial term of 84 months. On the anniversary date of the contract, the election is automatically renewed on an annual basis unless a taxpayer provides FTB with a notice of nonrenewal. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, the contract has been replaced with a statutory election that remains in effect until terminated. 
	Dividend Exclusion. Corporations electing water's-edge combination may exclude from income a portion of the dividends they receive from certain affiliates. The excludable 
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	amount is equal to 75% ofall qualifying dividends received. However, dividends 
	resulting from specified construction projects are 100% deductible. 
	In addition, California law provides that the water's edge group must assign the interest 
	expense that relates to the excluded dividends to those dividends, and a proportionate 
	amount of interest expense attributable to foreign investments can be offset against the 
	deductible dividends. 
	Audits. The FTB may conduct audits of corporations electing water's edge combination 
	to ensure that income is properly accounted for, especially between members of the 
	water's-edge group and affiliates outside of the water's-edge group, and to prevent tax 
	avoidance. 
	7. BUSINESS VERSUS NONBUSINESS INCOME 
	Business and nonbusiness income of multi state and multinational corporations is treated 
	differently when determining California tax liability. 
	Business income is all income that arises from the conduct of trade or business operations. Most corporate income is business income and is apportioned to California or elsewhere by formula, as described above. 
	Nonbusiness income is that which does not arise in the normal course of the taxpayer's 
	business operations. It can include such things as dividends from other corporations, 
	interest, royalties, gains from the sale of investment properties, and the like so long as 
	they are not related to the normal business of the corporation. In general, nonbusiness 
	income is allocated in full to the state where the taxpayer is commercially domiciled in 
	the case of income from intangibles, or where the relevant property is located in the case 
	of income from tangible personal or real property. 
	8. FEDERAL TREATMENT OF MULTINATIONAL CORPORATIONS 
	Federal law taxes corporations in a manner similar to California taxation of individuals. Corporations organized in the United States (residents) are taxed on all of their income and are allowed a credit for taxes assessed by foreign countries because they have income sources there. Corporations organized outside the United States (nonresidents) are taxed on only their United States source income. 
	In making determinations of income source, the federal government uses the "separate accounting method". This method requires accounting separately for income streams and expenses attributable to each member ofan affiliated group of corporations and to United States versus foreign operations. Transactions between affiliates are to be accounted for on an "arm's length" basis. That is, pricing is to be adjusted to reflect what the 
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	transactions would be ifthey were conducted at arm's length between competitor 
	corporations rather than between affiliated corporations. 
	A key feature of the federal system is an aggressive audit program to ensure that arm's length pricing is used by affiliated corporations to accurately reflect the income and goods exchanged between related businesses. These are often referred to as "Section 482 audits". Due to the complexity and controversy associated with Section 482 audits, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) initiated an Advance Pricing Agreement (APA) program. Under this program, taxpayers and the IRS agree upon the transfer pricing met
	9. CODE 
	Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 25101-25141 
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	• Tax Base 
	• 
	• 
	• 
	Tax Rate 

	• 
	• 
	Revenue* 


	CHAPTER2E SALES AND USE TAX 
	CHAPTER2E SALES AND USE TAX 
	HIGHLIGHTS 
	Total retail price ofany tangible personal property unless the property is otherwise exempted; also imposed on certain state excise taxes, including those imposed on alcoholic beverages, and tobacco products. 
	Total state and local base rate of 7.5%. Generally, the rate may be 7.625% to 10% in those cities and counties that impose additional rates. 
	2014-15 
	2015-16 (Estimate) 
	2016-17 (Estimate) 
	2016-17 (Estimate) 
	$23.7 billion (General Fund)* $ 3.2 billion (Local Revenue Fund) $ 3 .2 billion (Local Public Safety Fund) 

	21.3% of General Fund revenues 
	$25.2 billion (General Fund)* $ 3.3 billion (Local Revenue Fund) $ 3.3 billion (Local Public Safety Fund) 
	$25.9 billion (General Fund)* 
	$ 3.5 billion (Local Revenue Fund) 
	$ 3.5 billion (Local Public Safety Fund) 
	*Source: Governor's Budget Summary of2016-17 BOE 
	1. OVERVIEW OF THE SALES TAX 
	The sales tax is imposed on retailers for the privilege of selling tangible personal property in California. Note, retailers are authorized to, and generally do, add sales tax to the sales price and collect reimbursement of the tax from the purchaser. The use tax, in contrast, is generally imposed on the use in California of tangible personal property purchased out of state. 
	Both the sales tax and the use tax are imposed on nearly identical items of tangible personal property. Tangible personal property is any physical asset, such as household goods and business equipment, which is readily movable and not permanently attached to real property. All sales oftangible personal property are taxable, unless specifically exempted by law. 
	However, sales of real property, such as land and buildings, are not subject to the sales tax. 
	Furthermore, because the sales tax is imposed on retail sales, sales for resale and wholesale 
	sales are excluded from the tax. 
	The measure of both the sales and the use tax are imposed on the retail price of the taxable personal property. The retail price is referred to as the "gross receipts" for sales tax purposes and the "sales price" for use tax purposes. Generally, no part of the retail price may be excluded from the tax base. Ifthere is a manufacturers' or importers' excise tax, such as excise taxes imposed on tires, alcoholic beverages, and tobacco, it is included as part of the sales and use tax base. Generally, both state 
	Services are generally not subject to sales or use tax. However, when services contribute to the production or delivery of tangible personal property sold at retail, tax does apply to the entire sale price, with no deduction for the service component. This tax treatment follows the reasoning that acquisition of the tangible personal property is the true object of the transaction, and the service performed is deemed incidental. For example, in the sale of a custom-designed suit, the buyer's purpose is obtain
	Generally, leases oftangible personal property are considered "continuing" sales or uses and are subject to sales or use tax. Each payment made under the lease is subject to sales or use tax for the entire period that the leased property is located in California. Note: Ifa lease of tangible personal property covers property substantially in the same form as when acquired by the lessor and the lessor paid sales or use tax on the property when acquired, the rental payments are not subject to tax. 
	A seller's permit is a permit, furnished without charge by the State Board ofEqualization 
	(BOE), to sell tangible personal property in California. Generally, all persons or businesses 
	that make retail or wholesale sales are required to hold a seller's permit. 
	In California, the retailer is liable for paying the sales tax. A retailer is described as anyone who makes more than two retail sales of tangible personal property within a 12-month period. As mentioned above, the retailer has the option of collecting a reimbursement of the tax from the consumer. However, if the retailer does not collect the sales tax reimbursement at the time of purchase, the retailer is still responsible for remitting the tax to the state. 
	The use tax is imposed on users of tangible personal property purchased out-of-state and brought into or delivered to California for use inside California. For example, an individual who purchases an automobile in the State of Washington and registers it in California is required to pay California use tax on his or her purchase; he or she is not subject to any Washington sales tax. Like the sales tax, the measure of the use tax is the sales price of the 
	The use tax is imposed on users of tangible personal property purchased out-of-state and brought into or delivered to California for use inside California. For example, an individual who purchases an automobile in the State of Washington and registers it in California is required to pay California use tax on his or her purchase; he or she is not subject to any Washington sales tax. Like the sales tax, the measure of the use tax is the sales price of the 
	tangible personal property. The purpose of the use tax is to prevent persons from avoiding the California sales tax by purchasing at retail in states where the sales tax is lower than California or where there is no sales tax. 

	Unlike the sales tax, which is imposed on retailers, the use tax is imposed on California purchasers. However, out-of-state retailers that have substantial presence in California are required to register with the BOE and collect the use tax on taxable sales made to California consumers, whether the sale was made over the Internet, mail order, or telephone. Also, certain larger California businesses that do not sell goods in California are required to register with the BOE and track and report their use tax 
	2. TAX RATES 
	Currently, the base state and local sales and use tax rate in California is 7.50%. This 7.50% rate is a combination offive different tax rates, as follows : 
	Imposed Statewide (Total= 7.50%) 
	NAME 
	NAME 
	NAME 
	RATE (%) 
	2014-15 REVENUE ($BILLIONS) 
	USE OF REVENUE 
	BASIS OF ALLOCATION 

	"State" rate 
	"State" rate 
	3.9375 0.25 1 1.0625 
	$22.1 $ 1.6 $ 6.2 
	State General Fund purposes Education Protection Account Local Revenue Fund 2011 
	Not applicable 

	Local Revenue Fund rate 
	Local Revenue Fund rate 
	0.5 
	$ 3.2 
	Health and welfare programs shifted to local governments as part of 1991-92 state-local realignment 
	Allocated to counties based on population, percentage of persons below the poverty line, and changes in spending on health and welfare programs during prior years. 


	Expires 12/31/ 16 
	1 

	Imposed Statewide (Total = 7.50%) 
	2013-14 .
	NAME 
	NAME 
	NAME 
	RATE 
	REVENUE 
	USE OF 
	BASIS OF ALLOCATION 

	TR
	(%) 
	($ BILLIONS) 
	REVENUE 

	Local Public 
	Local Public 
	0.5 
	$ 3.2 
	Local public safety 
	Allocated primarily to 

	Safety Fund 
	Safety Fund 
	counties based on sales 

	rate 
	rate 
	during the prior year; cities 

	TR
	receive about 6% of Local 

	TR
	Public Safety Fund revenues 

	TR
	based on amounts they lost as 

	TR
	a result of the property tax 

	TR
	shifts of the early to mid­

	TR
	1990s. 

	County Trans­
	County Trans­
	0.25 
	$ 1.6 
	County transporta-
	Allocated to counties based 

	portation rate 
	portation rate 
	tion purposes 
	on the location of sale 

	Bradley-Burns 
	Bradley-Burns 
	1.0 
	$ 4.7 
	Local (city/county) 
	Allocated to cities and 

	rate 
	rate 
	general purpose use 
	counties based on the 

	TR
	location of sale (to cities if 

	TR
	the sale occurs in the city, to 

	TR
	counties ifthe sale occurs in 

	TR
	an unincorporated area ofthe 

	TR
	county) 


	Also, each year a certain amount of the state sales tax revenues attributable to sales of diesel 
	fuel must be transferred to the Public Transportation Account (PTA) within the State 
	Transportation Fund. The amount transferred is determined by formula. 
	Additional Local Rates. The Transactions and Use Tax Law authorizes cities, counties, citywide and countywide authorities, and citywide and countywide special districts to impose additional sales and use taxes (officially 'transactions and use taxes'), subject to a vote of the people. In general, the Transactions and Use Tax Law authorizes taxes to be imposed in 0.125% increments, up to a total of 2%. (However, the Los Angeles Metropolitan Transportation Commission, the City ofEI Cerrito, the County of Alam
	As noted above, all transactions and use taxes are subject to voter approval. Pursuant to Proposition 218, passed by the voters in November 1996, general-purpose transactions and use taxes require majority voter approval; special-purpose transactions and use taxes require two­thirds voter approval. 
	As of January 1, 2016, 48 California counties, 151 cities and 6 towns impose the sales tax at rates higher than 7 .50% due to voter approval of imposition of additional taxes. In 2013-14 and 2014-15, these add-on taxes raised $5.4 billion and $5.7 billion, respectively, for the local 
	As of January 1, 2016, 48 California counties, 151 cities and 6 towns impose the sales tax at rates higher than 7 .50% due to voter approval of imposition of additional taxes. In 2013-14 and 2014-15, these add-on taxes raised $5.4 billion and $5.7 billion, respectively, for the local 
	governments that imposed them. See Table 7 in this chapter for the list of cities and counties with additional rates. 

	TABLE 7 Existing Transactions and Use Taxes (As of 01/07/16) 
	Jurisdiction 
	Alameda County 
	Amador County 
	City of Albany 
	City of Anderson 
	City of Antioch 
	City of Arcata 
	City of Arroyo Grande 
	City of Arvin 
	City of Atascadero 
	City ofAtwater 
	City of Avalon 
	City of Benicia 
	City of Calexico 
	City of Campbell 
	City of Capitola 
	City of Carmel-by-the-Sea 
	City of Cathedral City 
	City of Ceres 
	City of Clearlake 
	City of Coachella 
	City of Commerce 
	City of Concord 
	City of Cotati 
	City of Culver City 
	City ofDavis 
	City ofDelano 
	City ofDel Rey Oaks 
	City ofDinuba 
	City ofEl Cajon 
	City of El Cerrito 
	City of El Monte City ofEureka City ofFairfield City of Farmersville City ofFort Bragg 
	City of Galt City of Gonzales City of Grass Valley 
	City of Galt City of Gonzales City of Grass Valley 
	Rate 

	2.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.75% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5% 0.25% 0.5% 1.0% 1.0% 0.5% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5% 1.0% 1.0% 1.5% 0.75% 0.5% 1.5% 
	0.5% 0.75% 1.0% 0.5% 1.0% 
	0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 
	100 
	100 
	Purpose 

	Transit I Hospital 
	Fire I Emergency Medical 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	Public Safety 
	Hospital and Clinic 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	Vital City Services 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	Public Safety 
	Public Safety 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	Police I Fire 
	Public Safety I Services 
	Street Improvement I General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund Road Maintenance/CV Starr Center 
	Public Safety 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	TABLE 7 (Continued) Existing Transactions and Use Taxes (As of 01/07 /16) 
	Jurisdiction 
	City of Greenfield 
	City of Grover Beach 
	City of Guadalupe 
	City of Gustine 
	City of Half Moon Bay 
	City of Hayward 
	City of Healdsburg 
	City of Hercules 
	City of Hollister 
	City of Huron 
	City of Inglewood 
	City of King City 
	City of La Habra 
	City of La Mesa 
	City of La Mirada 
	City of Lakeport 
	City of Larkspur 
	City of Lathrop 
	City of Los Banos 
	City of Mammoth Lakes 
	City of Manteca 
	City ofMarina 
	City of Merced 
	City of Montclair 
	City ofMonterey 
	City ofMorro Bay 
	City ofMount Shasta 
	City ofNational City 
	City ofNevada 
	City ofNovato City ofOakdale City ofOrinda City of Oakland City of Oxnard City ofPacific Grove City of Palm Springs City of Paso Robles City ofPico Rivera City ofPinole 
	City ofNovato City ofOakdale City ofOrinda City of Oakland City of Oxnard City ofPacific Grove City of Palm Springs City of Paso Robles City ofPico Rivera City ofPinole 
	Rate 

	1.0% 0.5% 0.25% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 1.0% 1.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.75% 1.0% 0.5% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5% 0.25% 1.0% 0.5% 0.25% 1.0% 0.875% 
	0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 1.0% 1.0% 0.5% 1.0% 1.0% 
	Purpose 
	General Fund General Fund General Fund Community Services General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund Public Safety General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund Public Safety I Services Public Safety Parks and Recreation Public Safety General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund Libraries General Fund Street Improvement I 
	General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund Vital Services General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund 
	TABLE 7 (Continued) Existing Transactions and Use Taxes (As of 01/07 /15) 
	Jurisdiction 
	City of Pismo Beach City of Pittsburg City of Placerville 
	City ofPoint Arena City of Port Hueneme City of Porterville City of Rancho Cordova City of Red Bluff City of Reedley City of Richmond City of Ridgecrest City of Rio Dell City of Rio Vista City of Rohnert Park City ofSacramento City of Salinas City of San Bernardino City of San Fernando City of San Juan Bautista City of San Leandro City of San Luis Obispo City of San Mateo City of San Pablo 
	City of San Rafael City of Sand City City of Sanger City of Santa Cruz City of Santa Maria City of Santa Monica City of Santa Rosa 
	City of Sausalito City of Scott's Valley City of Sebastopol City of Seaside City of Selma City of Soledad 
	City of Sausalito City of Scott's Valley City of Sebastopol City of Seaside City of Selma City of Soledad 
	0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 

	0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.25% 0.5% 1.0% 0.75% 1.0% 0.75% 0.5% 0.5% 1.5% 0.25% 0.5% 0.75% 0.5% 0.5% 0.25% 0.75% 
	0.75% 1.0% 0.75% 0.5% 0.25% 0.5% 0.5% 
	0.5% 0.5% 0.75% 1.0% 0.5% 1.0% 
	Purpose 
	General Fund General Fund Public Safety I 
	General Fund General Fund General Fund Public Safety I Police I Fire General Fund General Fund Public Safety General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund Essential Services General Fund Emergency Medical 
	Services I General 
	Fund General Fund General Fund Public Safety General Fund General Fund General Fund Public Safety I 
	General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund Public Safety General Fund 
	TABLE 7 (Continued) Existing Transactions and Use Taxes (As of 01/07 /15) 
	City of Sonoma City of Sonora City of South El Monte City of South Gate City of South Lake Tahoe City of Stanton City of Stockton 
	City of Tracy City of Trinidad City ofTulare City ofUkiah City of Union City City of Vacaville City of Vallejo City ofVisalia City of Vista City of Watsonville 
	City of Weed City of West Sacramento City of Wheatland City ofWilliams City of Willits City of Woodland Contra Costa County Del Norte County Fresno County Humboldt County Imperial County Inyo County Los Angeles County Madera County Marin County Mariposa County Mendocino County Monterey County Napa County Nevada County Orange County Riverside County Sacramento County 
	City of Weed City of West Sacramento City of Wheatland City ofWilliams City of Willits City of Woodland Contra Costa County Del Norte County Fresno County Humboldt County Imperial County Inyo County Los Angeles County Madera County Marin County Mariposa County Mendocino County Monterey County Napa County Nevada County Orange County Riverside County Sacramento County 
	0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5% 1.0% 1.0% 

	0.5% 0.75% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.25% 1.00% 0.25% 0.5% 0.75% 
	0.25% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 0.75% 1.0% 0.25% 0.725% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 1.5% 0.5% 1.0% 0.5% 0.125% 0.125% 0.5% 0.125% 0.5% 0.5% 0.5% 
	103 
	103 
	General Fund 

	General Fund 
	City Services Protection 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	Public Safety I General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	General Fund 
	Public Safety 
	General Fund 
	Public Safety I General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund General Fund Road System General Fund Transit Fairgrounds Transit I Libraries I Zoo General Fund Transit General Fund Transit Transit Transit I Rail I Open Space County Healthcare Library Transit Flood Protection Public Libraries Transit Transit Transit 
	TABLE 7 (Continued) Existing Transactions and Use Taxes (As of 01/07/16) 
	San Bernardino County 
	San Bernardino County 
	San Bernardino County 
	0.5% 
	Transit 

	San Diego County 
	San Diego County 
	0.5% 
	Transit 

	San Francisco City and County 
	San Francisco City and County 
	1.25% 
	Transit I Public Finance 

	San Joaquin County 
	San Joaquin County 
	0.5% 
	Transit 

	San Mateo County 
	San Mateo County 
	1.5% 
	Transit I General Fund 

	Santa Barbara County 
	Santa Barbara County 
	0.5% 
	Transit 

	Santa Clara County 
	Santa Clara County 
	1.25% 
	Transit I General Fund 

	Santa Cruz County 
	Santa Cruz County 
	0.75% 
	Transit I Public Libraries 

	Solano County 
	Solano County 
	0.125% 
	Public Libraries 

	Sonoma County 
	Sonoma County 
	0.75% 
	Agricultural Preservation I 

	TR
	Open Space I 

	Stanislaus County 
	Stanislaus County 
	0.125% 
	Public Libraries 

	Town ofCorte Madera 
	Town ofCorte Madera 
	0.5% 
	General Fund 

	Town of Fairfax 
	Town of Fairfax 
	0.5% 
	General Fund 

	Town of Moraga 
	Town of Moraga 
	1.0% 
	General Fund 

	Town of Paradise 
	Town of Paradise 
	0.5% 
	General Fund 

	Town of San Anselmo 
	Town of San Anselmo 
	0.5% 
	General Fund 

	Town of Truckee 
	Town of Truckee 
	0.75% 
	Road Maintenance 

	Tulare County 
	Tulare County 
	0.5% 
	Transit 


	3. EXEMPTIONS 
	All retail sales of tangible personal property are taxable in California unless the property is .specifically exempted. Some major exemption categories are described below. .Necessities. The following items are granted general sales and use tax exemptions: .
	Food (other than hot prepared food) for human consumption; Prescription medicines, wheelchairs, crutches, canes, walkers, medical oxygen delivery systems, hemodialysis products, and prosthetic devices; Gas, electricity, and water delivered through mains, lines, or pipes; 
	0 
	0 
	0 

	0 
	Food for animals normally raised for human consumption; and, 
	0 
	Fertilizer and seeds applied to land used to grow foods for human consumption. 
	Interstate Commerce. The Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution prohibits states from imposing taxes that place an undue burden on people or businesses engaged in interstate 
	Interstate Commerce. The Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution prohibits states from imposing taxes that place an undue burden on people or businesses engaged in interstate 
	commerce. To comply with the U.S. Constitution, California has enacted laws that exempt 

	sales of certain property involved in interstate commerce. 
	For example, interstate sales ofvessels and aircraft, aircraft fuel used during international 
	flights and hot prepared food sold to air carriers for passenger consumption are exempt from 
	the sales tax. 
	California has also enacted laws that complement the U.S. Commerce Clause and that level the playing field for businesses that engage in interstate commerce activities in the state. For example: 
	In-state sellers are allowed to deliver property for out-of-state use to common carriers in California without any sales tax being imposed. 
	0 .

	Businesses are not taxed on the printed sales messages they commission and have mailed to potential customers. 
	0 .

	Air common carriers are not taxed on the fuel used on international flights. 
	0 .

	Without these additional laws, California businesses could be at a disadvantage vis-a-vis 
	competitors based in other states. 
	Exemptions for Nonprofit and Government Organizations. Pursuant to the U.S. 
	Constitution, all sales of tangible personal property to the federal government are exempt 
	from tax. Museums are also exempted from sales tax on works of art they purchase for public 
	display. 
	Several nonprofit organizations are allowed a partial sales tax exemption for certain items they sell under specified circumstances. The exemption is considered partial because the tax is computed based on the wholesale price of the organization's products, which presumably is lower than the retail price. For example, when the Girl Scouts make handicrafts they later resell, they remit sales tax based on the wholesale price ofthe materials used to make the handicrafts. Unlike most retailers, they do not have
	Groups currently eligible for partial sales tax exemptions under various conditions include: all-volunteer fire departments; Little League; Bobby Sox; Boy Scouts; Cub Scouts; Girl Scouts; Campfire Girls; YMCA; YWCA; Future Farmers ofAmerica; Future Homemakers of America; 4-H Clubs; American Youth Soccer Organization; California Youth Soccer Associations; Pop Warner Football; Special Olympics; and school-sponsored youth groups, such as high school teams. Organizations that provide vocational training service
	Other Exemptions. A few of the other major items exempted from all or a portion of the sales tax include: equipment used in manufacturing, biotechnology, and physical, engineering and life science research; farm equipment; timber-harvesting equipment; racehorse breeding stock; motion picture production services; motion picture leases; returnable containers; custom computer programs; subscription periodicals; master records and tapes; property that will be used in space flights; and bulk sales ofmonetized an
	4. SALES IN CALIFORNIA BY OUT-OF-ST ATE RETAILERS 
	California's ability to collect use tax resulting from Internet, mail order and catalogue sales is significantly limited for the following two reasons: (a) U.S. Supreme Court decisions in National Bellas Hess v. Illinois Department ofRevenue (1967) and Quill Corporation v. North Dakota (1992), which prohibit states from requiring mail order houses to collect and remit use taxes; and (b) the fact that consumers are legally liable for the use tax on these mail order sales. At present, however, California fail
	The Quill and National Bellas Hess Cases. Two U.S. Supreme Court decisions prohibit 
	states from requiring mail order sellers to collect state use taxes unless the seller has physical 
	nexus in the state. In the National Bellas Hess, Inc. v. Department ofRevenue ofthe State of 
	Illinois (1967) case, the U.S. Supreme Court held that when a business does no more than 
	communicate with customers by mail or common carrier as part of a general interstate 
	business, requiring that business to collect and pay the use tax violates the U.S. Constitution. 
	In Quill Corporation v. State ofNorth Dakota (1992), the Supreme Court interpreted the 
	Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution as prohibiting states from imposing use tax 
	collection obligations on retailers whose only connection with customers in the taxing state is 
	through mail order sales. 
	Both decisions leave the door open for Congress to establish a framework for uniform state 
	taxation that does not impede interstate commerce. In an effort to simplify various states' sales 
	and use tax systems, forty-four states, including California, and the District of Columbia, that 
	levy a sales and use tax participated in the Streamlined Sales Tax Project (SSTP), and on 
	October 1, 2005, the "Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement" became effective. This Agreement creates a blueprint for a simplified tax collection system and attempts to alleviate the burden and cost of tax collection for sellers. The agreement addresses issues associated with tax collections, definitions of the tax base, uniformity of tax bases, electronic registration of sellers, simplification oftax rates, simplification ofreturns and remittances, uniform sourcing rules, as well as other issues. The Pro
	October 1, 2005, the "Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement" became effective. This Agreement creates a blueprint for a simplified tax collection system and attempts to alleviate the burden and cost of tax collection for sellers. The agreement addresses issues associated with tax collections, definitions of the tax base, uniformity of tax bases, electronic registration of sellers, simplification oftax rates, simplification ofreturns and remittances, uniform sourcing rules, as well as other issues. The Pro
	testifying at public hearings. Twenty four of the 44 states have been certified to be in substantial compliance with the Agreement, which means they have changed their laws so that they meet all the requirements of the Agreement. 

	Participation in the Project does not change any law or tax reporting/collection responsibilities 
	of remote sellers. However, California legislators could choose to amend California's Sales 
	and Use Tax Law to conform to the provisions of the Agreement if such conformity is desired. 
	Nexus and Use Tax Collection. California law requires every retailer "engaged in business in this state" to collect sales or use tax from the consumer at the time of sale. The definition of a "retailer engaged in business in the state" includes, among others, any retailer who: 
	Maintains, occupies, or uses an office, place of distribution, sales or sample room, warehouse or other storage space, or other place ofbusiness in California; 
	0 .

	Has an affiliate operating in California that refers potential customers to the retailer, by or otherwise, under specified circumstances; 
	0 .
	an Internet-based link, InterIJ.et Web site, 

	Is a member of a commonly controlled group and combined reporting group and 
	0 .

	has a member ofthe retailer's combined reporting group and commonly controlled 
	group performing services for the retailer in California that help the retailer 
	establish or maintain a California market for sales of tangible personal property. 
	Out-of-state retailers who are deemed to be "engaged in business in this state" are required to 
	collect and remit use tax to BOE. Some other out-of-state sellers also voluntarily collect and 
	remit use taxes to BOE, usually when there is some question about whether their business 
	activities in California represent nexus. 
	Since 1998, certain taxpayers have been allowed to obtain a use tax direct payment permit from BOE. Use tax direct payment permits allow qualifying taxpayers to self-assess and pay state and local use tax directly to BOE, thereby removing sellers of the responsibility to do so. To be eligible, an applicant must purchase or lease at least $500,000 wo1ih of tangible personal property during the calendar year immediately preceding the application or be a county, city, city and county, or redevelopment agency. 
	Legislation enacted in 2003 authorized taxpayers to report their use tax liabilities on their California income tax returns. Any use tax liability reported on a timely filed income tax return is deemed to be timely filed and paid. 
	The use tax also applies to foreign purchases in excess of $800 that are brought into California. California assesses the use tax due on these purchases using information from U.S. Customs Service declarations completed by returning travelers at California ports of entry. 
	CHAPTER2E SALES AND USE TAX 
	SPECIAL PROVISIONS OF THE SALES TAX 
	Occasional Sales. Occasional sales ofproperty are generally not subject to the sales tax. A sale is deemed "occasional" when the seller is not required to hold a seller's permit and the sale is not one of a series of sufficient duration to require a seller's permit. For example, an individual holding a garage sale over the course of a weekend would not be required to hold a seller's permit or pay sales tax on the items sold. 
	Swap Meets and Flea Markets. Operators of a swap meet, flea market, or special event are 
	required to obtain evidence that each seller who leases space from the operator ofthe swap 
	meet is the holder of a valid seller's permit or is not selling any item that is taxable under the 
	sales and use tax law. 
	Automobiles. When a licensed automobile dealer sells a new or used vehicle, the sales tax 
	must be collected at the time ofpurchase. The sales tax rate is based on the jurisdiction in 
	which the purchaser resides. For example, ifthe purchaser buys a car in a jurisdiction with a 
	7.50% sales tax rate but registers the car in a local community with a 7.75% rate, the dealer is 
	responsible for collecting tax at the 7.75% rate and remitting it to BOE. 
	When a private non-dealer sells a car, he or she is not required to collect the sales tax. Instead, use tax is collected when the owner registers the automobile with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Here again, the purchaser is required to pay tax at the rate of the local community in which the car is registered, regardless of where the car is purchased. 
	Mobilehomes and Factory-Built Housing and Schools. A partial sales tax exemption is allowed to mobilehome dealers on sales of new mobilehomes that are sold to customers for occupancy as a residence. In these transactions, the mobilehome dealer is the "retailer­consumer" and is required to declare and pay tax on 75% ofthe dealer's purchase price of the mobilehome. No tax is imposed on the sale of such new mobilehomes to customers. Section 2 of Chapter 60 contains more information on application ofthe sales t
	A partial exemption is also allowed on the sales price of certain factory-built housing and 
	schools. For factory-built homes, 60% of the retail sales price is exempt from the sales tax. 
	6. DEDUCTING THE SALES TAX 
	Individuals are not allowed a state personal income tax deduction for the sales and use tax they pay during the course of each year unless the tangible personal property was purchased for use in a trade or business. 
	Sales taxes are generally deductible for tangible personal property purchased for use in a trade or business. However, sales taxes incurred in the process ofmanufacturing or constructing property must be capitalized into the value ofthe property rather than deducted immediately. 
	7. REMITTANCE OF THE SALES TAX BY RETAILERS 
	Reimbursement of the Sales Tax. Retailers are legally liable for remitting sales tax to the 
	state. However, retailers are permitted to collect a "reimbursement" of the sales tax from the 
	consumer, which is normally itemized separately as sales tax when an item is sold. The law 
	provides for statutory reimbursement tables to be used by retailers to compute the tax on any 
	sales transaction. 
	The basic rule for computing the sales tax reimbursement, since taxpayers cannot pay fractions of cents, is to round fractions equal to or larger than Yz cent up to the next cent and round fractions ofless than Yz cent down to the next lower cent. 
	Payments and Prepayments. In general, retailers must remit sales taxes to the state on a 
	quarterly basis. However, retailers with taxable sales of over $17,000 per month are generally 
	required to remit sales taxes on a monthly basis. Each quarter, two prepayments and one final 
	payment are due, with payments generally required one month following the month in which 
	liability is incurred. Prepayment schedules are intended to help ensure a steady flow of sales 
	and use tax revenue to the state rather than four quarterly spikes of revenue during the course 
	of each year. 
	The prepayment and final payment schedules for the first, third, and fourth calendar quarters of each year are identical. The second quarter prepayment schedule was changed in order to help the state's cash flow needs during tight budget years and operates to shift more revenue to the months of May and June (the last two months ofthe fiscal year). 
	Electronic Funds Transfer. Retailers with sales tax liabilities averaging $10,000 or more per month are required to remit their tax payments via an Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). Retailers that are not required to make sales and use tax payments through EFT may voluntarily pay by EFT after contacting BOE and completing an authorization agreement form. 
	8. ADMINISTRATION 
	The sales and use tax is administered by the BOE. The BOE drafts regulations to clarify and interpret the sales and use tax laws and handles collections and appeals. The BOE also administers all local sales (and transactions) and use taxes under contract with local taxing agencies. These contracts allow BOE to charge local jurisdictions for its costs to administer the local taxes. 
	9. CODE 
	California Constitution, Article XIII, Section 29, Section 35, and Section 36 
	Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 6001 -7298 
	In December, Congress enacted changes to depreciation Jaw. The FTB is currently analyzing these federal changes and will revise this section next year to incorporate these changes. 
	1 

	Added by SBx3 15 (Calderon), Chapter 17, Statutes of2009 Added by SBx3 15 (Calderon), Chapter 17, Statutes of2009 
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