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PREFACE 

 

 

 

 

This Revenue and Taxation Reference Book is designed to answer some of the more 

commonly asked questions about California's tax structure.  It is written with the general 

public in mind and gives a broad overview of most of California's major taxes, as well as 

summaries of some special features of the tax system.  Many of the technical features and 

fine points of the law are excluded in an attempt to keep the material accessible to lay 

readers.  

 

This Reference Book reflects California's tax law as of December, 2012.  Generally, tax 

provisions that expired or were repealed prior to that date are not described. 

 

Many features of the state tax system are described more than once in this Reference 

Book.  For instance, certain income tax provisions affecting businesses are described both 

as a feature of the Personal Income Tax in Chapter 2B and in Chapter 2C, under the  

Corporation Tax.  Readers should watch for cross-references within the text. 

 

The Glossary in Chapter 8 provides short definitions of over 200 terms and acronyms 

commonly used in tax discussions. 

 

Thanks are due to the staff members of the Franchise Tax Board, the Board of 

Equalization, and other executive agencies who provided information, advice, and 

editorial comment during the preparation of this book.  Legislative Counsel also provided 

assistance on various issues in this book.  Their collective assistance ensures that the 

information included is both timely and accurate. 

 

The Revenue and Taxation Reference Book has been prepared and maintained over the 

years by the staff of the Assembly Committee on Revenue and Taxation. 
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CHAPTER 1A 

OVERVIEW OF CALIFORNIA’S TAX REVENUES 

 

TABLE 1 

 

GENERAL FUND REVENUES, FISCAL YEAR 2012-13 

(In Millions of Dollars) 

 

                    Percentage of 

Tax  Total Revenue      General Fund Budget 

 

Personal Income Tax        $60,647                     63.6% 

 

Retail Sales and Use Tax        $20,714                     21.7% 

     (General Fund portion)  

 

Corporation Tax       $  7,580                      7.9% 

 

Highway Users Tax       $     -0-                         .0% 

 

Motor Vehicles License Fees       $        4                       .04% 

 

Insurance Tax       $  2,022                      2.1% 

 

Estate Tax       $     -0-                         .0% 

 

Liquor Tax        $     320                        .3% 

 

Cigarette Tax (General Fund portion)       $       91                      .09% 

 

Other        $  2,216                  __2.3%__ 

 

        TOTAL       $95,394                  100.0%* 

 

 

*May not total 100% due to rounding error. 

 

Source:  Governor's 2013-14 Budget Summary, General Fund Revenue Sources, Figure 

   SUM-04; Appendix 14, Schedule 8 (Comparative Statement of Revenues) 
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CHAPTER 1B 

 

BASIC FACTS ABOUT TAX LEGISLATION 

 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 
 

 Tax Levy Bills 

 

 Legislative Vote Requirements 

 

 Constitutional Amendments and Statutory Initiatives 

 

 Bills with State Mandates on Local Agencies 

 

 Fiscal Committee Hearings 

 

 Effective Dates and Operative Dates 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. INTRODUCTION 
 

This chapter summarizes the most important constitutional, statutory, and legislative 

provisions that apply to tax legislation. 

 

2. "TAX LEVY" BILLS 
 

Tax Levy Bills Defined.  A tax levy is a bill that imposes a state tax, repeals a state tax, 

or otherwise changes in any material way the rate, base, or burden of a state tax.  For this 

reason, many bills that deal with taxes are designated as tax levy bills. 

 

The Office of Legislative Counsel (Legislative Counsel), which is responsible for 

drafting all bills introduced and amended in the Legislature, determines whether a bill is a 

tax levy. 

 

Legislative Counsel will classify a bill as a tax levy if its subject matter exclusively or 

principally imposes, repeals, or otherwise modifies the incidence or burden of a state tax.  

After determining that a bill is a tax levy, Legislative Counsel will include in the title of 

the bill a phrase indicating that the bill is a tax levy.  The body of the bill will also 

contain a statement that the measure is a tax levy. 

 

Bills that impose, repeal, or modify a state tax and that also contain unrelated provisions 

are not designated as tax levies, unless Legislative Counsel determines that the tax levy 

provisions are the principal or primary purpose of the bill. 
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Bills that exclusively or primarily affect the rate, base, or burden of the property tax are 

also designated as tax levies.  However, a bill that only authorizes a local government to 

propose a tax to the voters is not a tax levy, because that bill does not directly affect the 

rate, base, or burden of an existing local tax. 

 

Bills that deal exclusively or principally with tax administration, including the imposition 

of penalties and interest, are not tax levies. 

 

How Tax Levy Bills Are Treated.  The Legislature treats tax levy bills differently from 

other bills in the following ways: 

 

 Tax levy bills take effect immediately [California Constitution, Article IV, 

Section 8(c)(3).]  However, their operative dates may be different (see Section 

7, below). 

 

 Tax levy bills are not subject to referendum by the people [California 

Constitution, Article II, Section 9(a).] 

 

 Tax levy bills are not subject to many of the normal legislative deadlines for 

the consideration of bills.  Instead, they are treated like urgency bills and 

Constitutional Amendments.  Accordingly, policy and fiscal committees may 

meet to hear a tax levy bill at any time other than during those periods when 

no committee may meet for any purpose.  Similarly, either house may meet 

for the purpose of considering and passing a tax levy bill at any time during 

the legislative session. 

 

3.  LEGISLATIVE VOTE REQUIREMENTS FOR TAX BILLS 
 

The California Constitution establishes legislative vote requirements for all tax bills, 

including tax levies. 

 

Bills requiring a two-thirds vote are those that: 

 

 Result in any taxpayer paying a higher tax (California Constitution, Article 

XIIIA, Section 3); 

 

 Contain an urgency clause [California Constitution, Article IV, Section 8(d)]; 

 

 Classify personal property for differential taxation or that exempt personal 

property from taxation (California Constitution, Article XIII, Section 2); 

 

 Contain a General Fund appropriation for any purpose other than public 

education, unless passed as part of the budget [California Constitution, Article 

IV, Section 12(d)]; 
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 Override a Governor's veto [California Constitution, Article IV, Section 

10(a).]; and 

 

 Amend the provisions of the California Children and Families First Act of 

1998, an initiative constitutional amendment and statute passed as Proposition 

10 by the voters in November 1998 (Proposition 10, 1998, Section 8). 

 

Bills that amend any portion of the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law enacted in 

November 1988 by the voters as Proposition 99 require a four-fifths vote. 

 

With certain limited exceptions, all other tax bills require a majority vote. 

 

4. CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS AND STATUTORY INITIATIVES 
 

Some aspects of state tax law cannot be changed by the Legislature.  These instances and 

the procedures relating to them are outlined below.  

 

Tax Law Set Forth in the Constitution.  A constitutional amendment is required to 

change any tax law contained in the California Constitution.  Proposed constitutional 

amendments may be placed on the statewide ballot either by the Legislature or by the 

people through an initiative.  Constitutional amendments proposed by the Legislature 

must be adopted by a two-thirds vote of each house and do not require the Governor's 

signature.  An initiative, in turn, requires a majority vote of the people.  

 

Initiative constitutional amendments must receive valid signatures equal to at least 8% of 

the number of voters who voted in the last gubernatorial election in order to be placed on 

the ballot.  

 

Statutory Tax Law Enacted by the Voters Through a Statutory Initiative.  In 

general, an initiative tax statute can only be changed by a vote of the people on another  

statewide ballot.  The proposed change in the law may be placed on the ballot by another 

initiative or by a bill enacted by the Legislature. 

 

Some initiative statutes, however, contain language that allows the Legislature to make 

changes without voter approval.  These statutes typically identify the types of changes 

allowed and specify the legislative vote requirement to amend the statute. 

 

Initiative statutes must receive valid signatures equal to at least 5% of the number of 

voters who voted in the last gubernatorial election in order to be placed on the ballot.   

 

5. BILLS WITH STATE MANDATES ON LOCAL AGENCIES 
 

The California Constitution (California Constitution, Article XIIIB, Section 6) requires 

the state to reimburse local governments for any costs incurred when the state mandates  
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local government to provide certain new programs or higher levels of service.  The 

Constitution provides that reimbursement is permissible but not required for mandates 

requested by the local agency affected, legislation defining a new crime or changing an 

existing definition of a crime or for mandates enacted before January 1, 1975.  

Reimbursement is not provided if the mandates are self-financing, have offsetting 

savings, require no new duties, or if the new duties result from a ballot measure approved 

by the voters.  Government Code Sections 17500-17630 provide procedures for the 

constitutionally required state reimbursement of mandated local costs. 

 

In addition, statutes require reimbursement to local agencies in the following two cases: 

 

 Enactment of property tax exemptions or new classifications of exempt 

property (Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2229); or, 

 

 Enactment of sales and use tax exemptions that cause a new loss of revenue 

(Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2230). 

 

Constitutional requirements for reimbursement cannot be waived.  Statutory requirements 

for reimbursement may be waived by statute, including the statute creating a new 

exemption. 

 

6. HEARINGS BY LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES 
 

Bills materially changing the Revenue and Taxation Code (whether by amendment, 

addition or deletion) are generally referred to the Assembly Committee on Revenue and 

Taxation and the Senate Committee on Governance and Finance for policy review. 

 

Under current legislative rules, tax bills, like other bills, must be referred to the 

Appropriations Committee of each house if they do any of the following: 

 

o Appropriate money; 

 

 Result in a substantial expenditure of state money by imposing new 

responsibilities on the state, imposing new or additional duties on state  

agencies, or liberalizing any state program, function, or responsibility; 

 

 Result in a substantial gain or loss of revenue to the state; or, 

 

 Result in a substantial reduction of expenditures by reducing, transferring, or 

eliminating any existing responsibilities of any state agency, program, or 

function. 
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7. EFFECTIVE DATES AND OPERATIVE DATES 

 

In order to become law, tax bills, like all bills, must be passed by both houses of the 

Legislature and signed by the Governor, allowed to become law without the Governor's 

signature, or passed over the Governor's veto [California Constitution, Article IV, 

Sections 8(b) and 10(a).] 

 

The effective date of a bill is the date it becomes law.  Tax levy bills, urgency bills, bills 

calling for an election, and bills making appropriations for the usual current expenses of  

California go into effect immediately upon enactment [California Constitution, Article 

IV, Section 8(c)(3).]  Bills that do not take immediate effect (i.e., bills that are not tax 

levies or urgency measures or that do not call for an election or make an appropriation) 

take effect on January 1 following enactment [California Constitution, Article IV, Section 

8(c)(1).] 

 

For most tax bills, the effective date of a bill that takes immediate effect is the day the 

statute is chaptered by the Secretary of State.  However, unless specified otherwise, 

personal income tax and corporation tax bills apply to taxable years beginning on or after 

the January 1 preceding enactment (Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 17034, 18415, 

and 23058).  For example, a bill enacting an income tax credit that is chaptered by the 

Secretary of State during 2010 will apply to taxable years beginning on and after January 

1, 2010, unless otherwise specified. 

 

Furthermore, bills may specify an operative date that is different from the effective date 

of a bill.  For example: 

 

 Bills amending the Sales and Use Tax Law will often specify as an operative 

date the first day of the first calendar quarter beginning more than 90 days 

after a bill's effective date; 

 

 Personal income and corporation tax bills sometimes specify an operative date 

beginning in a different taxable year than the one in which the bill is enacted; 

or, 

 

 Any type of bill (whether or not it is tax-related) may specify another 

operative date.  A bill's operative date is sometimes pushed back in time in  

order to delay its revenue impact or to allow both taxpayers and the agency 

charged with administration more time to prepare. 

 

Bills enacted in special sessions of the Legislature have different rules governing passage 

and effective dates. 

 

 

 



  CHAPTER 1B 

  BASIC FACTS ABOUT TAX 

  LEGISLATION 

 8 

 

 

 

 

 

 



9 

CHAPTER 1C 

 

RESTRICTIONS ON THE TAXING POWER OF THE LEGISLATURE 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 California Constitutional Restrictions 

 

 U.S. Constitutional Restrictions 

 

 State Appropriations Limit 

 

 Initiative Statutes 

 

 Tax Increases 

 

 Governor's Veto 

 

 Limits on Local Government Taxing Authority 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. INTRODUCTION 

 

While the Legislature has broad powers to impose taxes, there are a number of 

restrictions on this power.  The U.S. Constitution restricts the Legislature's ability to 

impose taxes.  Other factors also constrain the Legislature's ability to impose taxes, as 

described below. 

 

2. CALIFORNIA CONSTITUTIONAL RESTRICTIONS 
 

A number of features of California's tax law are established in the California 

Constitution.  Modification or repeal of many of these features must be accomplished by 

a constitutional amendment approved by the voters of the state.  The major constitutional 

provisions governing the power of taxation are described below. 

 

General Taxes Not Subject to Referendum.  Section 9 of Article II states that statutes 

providing for tax levies or appropriations for the usual current expenses of California are 

not subject to referendum. 

 

Vehicle License Fees Reserved for Cities and Counties.  Section 15 of Article XI  

requires all revenues derived from that portion of the Vehicle License Fee rate that does 

not exceed 0.65% of the fair market value of the vehicle to be allocated to cities and 

counties. 
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Uniform Property Taxation.  Section 1 of Article XIII specifies that all property is 

taxable and must be assessed and taxed at full market value.  This provision is modified 

by the restrictions upon reassessment contained in Article XIIIA. 

 

The State May Authorize, But Not Impose, Local Taxes.  Section 24 of Article XIII 

specifies that the state may not impose taxes for local purposes, but may authorize local 

governments to impose them. 

 

Insurers Are Exempt From Most Taxes.  Section 28 of Article XIII exempts insurance 

companies or associations from all taxes other than the state insurance gross premiums 

tax, local property taxes, and motor vehicles fees.  Only the rate of the gross premiums 

tax may be changed by the Legislature.  (See Chapter 3C of this Reference Book for 

more information on the Insurance Gross Premiums Tax.) 

 

Local Tax Sharing Requires Voter Approval.  Section 29 of Article XIII requires any 

agreement to share sales or use tax revenues between local jurisdictions to receive 

majority voter approval. 

 

Sales Tax for Public Safety.  Section 35 of Article XIII, approved by the voters in 

November of 1993, imposes a 1/2 cent sales and use tax statewide with the revenues 

allocated to cities and counties to fund public safety services. 

 

Property Tax Rate Limited.  Section 1 of Article XIIIA (Proposition 13) limits ad 

valorem property tax revenues to 1% of full cash value.  Section 2 of Article XIIIA 

defines full cash value and provides that property shall only be reassessed when it 

changes ownership.  No state transaction taxes or real estate taxes may be imposed. 

 

Vote Requirement for State Taxes.  Section 3 of Article XIIIA provides that increases 

in state taxes must be approved by a two-thirds vote of both houses of the Legislature and 

prohibits imposition of new ad valorem property taxes or state transaction taxes. 

 

Two-Thirds Vote for Local Special Taxes.  Section 4 of Article XIIIA requires cities, 

counties, and special districts to receive two-thirds voter approval in order to impose a 

"special" tax (see below).  Section 2(d) of Article XIIIC provides that no local 

government may impose, extend, or increase any special tax unless it is approved by a 

two-thirds vote of the electorate. 

 

No Gifts of Public Funds.  Section 6 of Article XVI prohibits the Legislature from 

making gifts or loans of public moneys.  The interpretation of this prohibition constrains 

the Legislature from providing retroactive tax relief. 

 

Redevelopment Areas.  Section 16 of Article XVI specifies that an "increment" of tax 

revenues generated in a redevelopment area shall be allocated to redevelopment 

activities. 
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Use of Fuel Tax Revenues.  Article XIX requires revenues from fuel taxes to be used for 

specified transportation-related purposes.  (See Chapter 3E for more information on Fuel 

Taxes.) 

 

3. U.S. CONSTITUTIONAL RESTRICTIONS 

 

Some restrictions in the U.S. Constitution, which California adopted as a condition to 

admittance into the Union, further limit the power of the Legislature to tax. 

 

For example, the state may not tax the U.S. government or its instrumentalities.  The state 

is also prohibited from taxing imports or exports and from imposing taxes that violate 

either the Due Process Clause or the Commerce Clause. 

 

4. STATE APPROPRIATIONS LIMIT 

 

The California Constitution (Article XIIIB) imposes an indirect constraint on the level of 

taxation in the state by way of an appropriations limit. 

 

Under Article XIIIB, most spending by the state from tax proceeds is subject to an annual 

appropriations limit.  The limit is expressed as the level of its appropriations in the base 

year (1986-87), with annual adjustments for changes in population and California's cost-

of-living, as defined.  Revenues collected that exceed this limit over a two-year period are 

divided between K-14 programs and rebates to taxpayers. 

 

Proposition 111, approved by the voters in June 1990, substantially modified the 

provisions of the Article XIIIB appropriations limit.  See Chapter 5 of this Reference 

Book for a detailed discussion of the existing appropriations limit. 

 

5. INITIATIVE STATUTES 

 

Generally, statutory tax law adopted by the voters through the initiative process may not 

be changed by the Legislature.  Unless otherwise provided in the initiative statute, laws 

adopted through the initiative process may only be changed by a vote of the people.  

Amendments may be achieved through popular vote on one of the following two types of 

measures:  (a) another initiative that is qualified for the ballot by the people, or (b) a bill 

that is passed by the Legislature and subsequently placed on the statewide ballot. 

 

Examples of state tax laws adopted by initiative include: 

 

 Repeal of the state inheritance tax (Proposition 6 of June 1982); 

 

 Requirement to index personal income tax brackets (Proposition 7 of June 

1982); 
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 Establishment of the state lottery, and provisions that sales of lottery tickets 

are exempt from state sales taxes and that lottery winnings are exempt from 

state income taxes (Proposition 37 of November 1984); 

 

 Increase in cigarette taxes and imposition of tobacco taxes and use of surtax 

revenues for treatment and research of tobacco-related diseases; school and 

community health education programs (Proposition 99 of November 1988); 

 

 Increase in state motor vehicle fuel taxes (Proposition 111 of June 1990);  

 

 Increase in cigarette and tobacco taxes and use of funds for early childhood 

development and smoking prevention programs (Proposition 10 of November 

1998); 

 

 Requirements to use the revenues derived from sales taxes on gasoline 

purchases for transportation purposes instead of depositing the revenues into 

the General Fund (Proposition 42 of March 2002);  

 

 Imposition of a 1% surtax on taxable incomes in excess of $1 million and use 

of funds for mental health services (Proposition 63 of November 2004);  

 

 Requirement for multistate business to utilize a "single sales factor" 

apportionment formula for determining their taxable income in California.  

(Proposition 39 of November 2012). 

 

Some initiative statutes (e.g., Proposition 99) contain language specifying the types of 

changes the Legislature may make by statute and the vote requirements applicable to 

those changes. 

 

6. VOTE REQUIREMENTS FOR TAX INCREASES 

 

California is one of 16 states that require super-majority votes of the Legislature on tax 

increases.  As noted in Chapter 1B, any change in state statute that results in any taxpayer 

paying a higher tax must be passed by a two-thirds vote of each house of the Legislature 

(Article XIIIA, Section 3, as amended by Proposition 26, November 2, 2010). 

 

7. GOVERNOR'S VETO 

 

In order to become law, bills must be passed by both houses of the Legislature and signed 

by the Governor or allowed to become law without the Governor's signature.  If the  

Governor vetoes a bill, it may become law if the veto is overridden by a two-thirds vote 

of each house of the Legislature. 
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8. LIMITS ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT TAXING AUTHORITY 

 

Four voter-approved initiatives limit the power of local government to impose taxes for 

local purposes. 

 

Proposition 13 (California Constitution, Article XIIIA approved by the voters in 1978) 

limits the ability of local governments to impose special taxes.  Under Proposition 13, 

cities, counties, and schools must receive two-thirds voter approval before imposing a 

"special tax".  Local jurisdictions are prohibited from imposing property tax rates above 

1%, except for specified rates for debt service.  Proposition 13 did not, however, define 

what constitutes a "special" tax. 

 

Proposition 26, (California Constitution, Article XIIIA and Article XIIIC approved by 

the voters in 2010) broadens the definition of state and local taxes to include any change 

in state statute that results in any taxpayer paying a higher tax.  This proposition also 

imposes an additional requirement for voters to approve local levies and charges with 

limited exceptions.  

 

Proposition 62, a statutory initiative approved by the voters in 1986, prevents the 

imposition of new general taxes by local agencies without voter approval.  However, 

because Proposition 62 was a statutory, rather than a constitutional initiative, it did not 

restrict charter law cities' right to impose general taxes without a vote or prevail over any 

contradictory constitutional provisions.  Appellate courts found Proposition 62's voter 

approval requirements for general taxes unconstitutional.  In 1995, however, the 

California Supreme Court reversed earlier lower court decisions and found Proposition 

62 constitutional. 

 

Proposition 218 (California Constitution, Articles XIIIC and XIIID approved by the 

voters in 1996) requires a majority vote of the people in order to approve the imposition 

or increase of a general tax.  In addition, it provides that any general tax imposed, 

extended, or increased after January 1, 1995, and before the effective date of Proposition 

218, shall continue to be imposed only if approved by a majority vote of the people. 

 

It further provides that no local government may impose, extend, or increase any special 

tax unless approved by a two-thirds vote.  In addition, it provides that a special tax  

means "any tax imposed for specific purposes, including a tax imposed for specific 

purposes which is placed into a general fund".  Proposition 218 also provides that special  

purpose districts or agencies, including school districts, have no power to levy general 

taxes. 

 

Proposition 218 established procedures and requirements for all assessments for special 

benefits.  No assessment may be imposed on any parcel that exceeds the reasonable cost  

of the proportional special benefit conferred to that parcel.  Further, the assessment may 

not be imposed if there is a majority protest.  In general, a majority protest exists if the  
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number of ballots submitted in opposition to the assessment exceed the number of ballots 

submitted in support to the assessment. 

 

Proposition 218 requires a majority vote of property owners or a two-thirds vote of the 

electorate to impose or increase a property-related fee for any service other than water, 

sewer or refuse collection.  It further specifies that no property-related fee may be: 

 

 Levied to pay for a general governmental service, such as police or fire 

service; 

 

 Imposed for a service not used by the property owner; or, 

 

 Used to finance programs unrelated to the property-related services. 

 

9. LIMITS ON STATE INVOLVEMENT IN LOCAL TAXATION 

 

Proposition 1A (California Constitution, Articles XI, XIII, and XIIIB, approved by the 

voters in 2004) significantly reduced the state's authority over major local government 

revenue sources and requires the state to reimburse local governments for future revenue 

shifts approved at the state level.  Among its many provisions, Proposition 1A prohibits 

the state from: 

 

 Reducing any local sales tax rate;  

 

 Limiting a local government's authority to levy a sales tax rate; 

 

 Changing the allocation of local sales tax revenue; 

 

 Shifting property tax revenues from local governments to schools or community 

colleges, over and above those shifts in effect prior to November 3, 2004; 

 

 Reducing the property tax revenues provided to cities and counties as part of the 

so-called "triple-flip", an arrangement in which the state shifted property tax  

revenues for sales tax revenues and pledged the sales tax revenue to pay off 

deficit bonds approved by voters in March 2004. 

 

Under Proposition 1A, any decision by the state to lower the Vehicle License Fee rate 

below the rate in effect on November 3, 2004, must be accompanied by a pledge to 

provide local governments with equal replacement revenues.  Additionally, any change in 

how property tax revenues are shared among local governments within a county must be 

approved by two-thirds of both houses of the Legislature (prior law allowed such changes 

to be approved with a majority vote).   
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Proposition 1A does provide one major exception to its provisions.  Beginning in 2008-

09, the state may shift a limited amount of property tax revenue from local governments 

to schools for one fiscal year, provided that (1) the Governor declares that the shift is 

needed due to a severe state financial hardship, (2) the Legislature approves the shift with 

a two-thirds vote of both houses, and (3) the money is repaid with interest within three 

years.  Shifts such as the one just described may not be performed more than twice during 

any 10 consecutive fiscal years.  

 

Sales and Property Tax Swap – the "Triple Flip".  The Legislature passed the 2003-04 

Budget package with a specific feature to finance the deficit financing bonds.  To 

facilitate repayment, sales tax revenues were swapped for property tax revenues.  This 

three-step method, known as the "triple flip", contains the following: 

 

1) Redirecting one-half of 1% of the local sales tax revenue to the state to repay the 

deficit reduction bonds.  This temporary measure began in fiscal year 2004-05; 

 

2) Offsetting the loss of local sales tax revenues by redirecting an equal amount of 

property taxes to cities and counties from the Educational Revenue Augmentation 

Fund (ERAF); and 

 

3) Increasing state education apportionment to replace K-14 revenue losses related to 

redirected ERAF monies. 
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CHAPTER 1D 

 

WHERE TO GET INFORMATION ABOUT STATE TAXES 

 

 

AGENCY      TAX 

 

 

Board of Equalization (BOE)   Sales and Use 

  Property  

  Alcoholic Beverage 

Check local phone directory    Cigarette 

for district office or call the toll-   Emergency Telephone Users 

free statewide number of        Surcharge 

(800) 400-7115 or log on to    Energy Resources Surcharge 

    Hazardous Substances 

www.boe.ca.gov     Insurance 

       Motor Vehicle Fuel 

California Relay Service (CRS):  711   Diesel Fuel 

(for hearing and speech disabilities)   Use Fuel 

       Timber Yield 

Call County Assessor for     

inquiries regarding local     

property taxes.       

 

 

Franchise Tax Board (FTB)    Personal Income Tax 

       Corporation Tax 

(800) 852-5711      

(800) 822-6268 (Hearing Impaired)    

(800) 852-2753      

Or log on to: 

www.ftb.ca.gov 

 

For calls outside the United States: 

(916) 845-6500 

 

Taxpayer Advocate 

(916) 845-4300 

 

 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)  Motor Vehicle Fees: 

       License (VLF), Registration, and  

(800) 777-0133     Weight  

Or log on to:      Use Tax on Vehicles 

www.dmv.ca.gov 

 

 

http://www.dmv.ca.gov/
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Department of Insurance 

 

(800) 927-4357     Insurance:  Gross Premiums Tax 

Los Angeles Area (213) 897-8921 

 

(916) 325-3800 or log on to:    California Earthquake Authority 

www.insurance.ca.gov 

 

 

Employment Development Department (EDD)  
        

For employment tax information, log on  Withheld Personal Income Tax (PIT) 

to EDD's web site at www.edd.ca.gov  Employment Training Tax (ETT) 

or contact:      State Disability Insurance (SDI) 

       Unemployment Insurance (UI) 

Taxpayer Assistance Center 

(888) 745-3886 

 

 

Controller      Estate Tax 

 

For Estate Tax information 

(916) 322-4632, log on to: 

www.sco.ca.gov 

 

(916) 324-5961  

 

 

Registry of Charitable Trusts   Charities 

(916) 445-2021 (not a toll-free number)  Charitable Trusts 

       Public Benefit Corporations 

Office of Attorney General – Charitable Trusts 

 Public Inquiry Unit:  (916) 322-3360 

   (for copies of publications) 

http://caag.state.ca.us/charities  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.edd.ca.gov/
http://www.sco.ca.gov/
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CHAPTER 2A 

 

INTRODUCTION TO THE 

PERSONAL INCOME TAX, 

CORPORATION TAX, 

AND SALES AND USE TAX 

 

 

 

The personal income tax, corporation tax, and sales and use tax are the "Big Three" of 

California taxes for several reasons.  First, they are the largest sources of revenue.  

Together they raised $88.9 billion in fiscal year (FY) 2012-13 (93.2% of all General Fund 

revenues) and $82.4 billion in FY 2011-12 (93% of all General Fund revenues).  (Source:  

2013-14 Governor's Budget Summary- SUM-04 and 2012-13 Governor’s Budget 

Summary - SUM-03). 

 

Secondly, they are more complex than most of the other taxes.  The personal income tax, 

for instance, has five different filing statuses, nine different tax brackets in each filing 

status, and dozens of different tax credits and itemized deductions. 

 

Thirdly, these three taxes have the greatest impact on California taxpayers.  Nearly all 

Californians pay the sales tax, and the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) currently receives 

about 15.5 million income tax returns each year, most of which report a tax liability.  

Nearly all of California businesses pay some form of the corporation tax. 

 

The following chapters, therefore, devote many pages to these three taxes.  The unitary 

method of taxation for multistate and multinational corporations, formally known as 

Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act (UDITPA), is among the most 

complicated of all provisions of California tax law and is also discussed.  The remaining 

chapters are devoted to the other California taxes. 

 

Readers may obtain additional information on these taxes by calling the various 

administrative agencies – the FTB, the State Board of Equalization (BOE), and the 

Employment Development Department (EDD). 
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CHAPTER 2B 

 

PERSONAL INCOME TAX 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Tax Rates 1.00% - 12.30%; brackets are indexed 

 annually for inflation. 

 

 Number of Filers* Over 15.5 million returns filed in 2011 

 (most recent year for which this information 

 is available). 

 

 Threshold of Taxation* $15,440 for single taxpayers with no 

               (Gross income) dependents. 

 $30,881 for married taxpayers with no 

 dependents. 

 

 Revenue** 2011-12   $53.0 billion 

 2012-13 (Forecast) $60.3 billion 

 2013-14 (Forecast) $61.7 billion 

 

 61% of total General Fund revenues. 

 (2011-12) 

 

 Administration Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 

 

*Source:  FTB 

**From the Governor's  2012-13 Budget Summary General Fund Revenue Sources,  

     Figure SUM-03 and Governor's 2013-14 Budget Summary General Fund Revenue 

     Sources, Figure SUM-04 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. WHO PAYS THE PERSONAL INCOME TAX 

 

Individuals who are residents of California are liable for the personal income tax on 

income derived from all sources.  Nonresidents of this state must pay income tax on 

income derived from sources within California.  However, nonresidents are generally 

allowed a credit against their California tax for taxes they pay to their state of residence 

on the same income. 

 

In addition to individuals, partnerships, limited liability companies, estates, and trusts are 

taxed under the "Personal Income Tax Law". 
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PERSONAL INCOME TAX COMPONENTS 

 

 

Federal Income From All Sources 

 Minus Exempt Income (examples): Nontaxable Social Security and Railroad Retirement; Insurance Proceeds; Bequests and 

Gifts; Public Assistance; IRA and Keogh Interest; Interest on Certain State and Municipal Government Obligations; Scholarships 

and Fellowships 

 Equals Total Gross Income: Salaries and Wages; Taxable Interest; Dividends; Taxable State and Local Income Tax Refunds; 

Alimony Received; Business Income or Loss; Capital Gain or Loss; Other Gains or Losses; Taxable IRA Distributions; Taxable 

Pensions and Annuities; Income or Loss from Rental Real Estate, Royalties, Partnerships, S Corporations, Estates, Trusts, 

REMICS, etc.; Farm Income or Loss; Unemployment Compensation; Taxable Social Security Benefits; Other Income; Gambling 

Winnings including Lotteries and Raffles 

 Minus Adjustments to Income: IRA Deductions; One-Half of Self-Employment Tax; Self-Employed Health Insurance 

Deduction: Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and Qualified Plans; Penalty on Early Withdrawal of Savings; Alimony Paid; Moving 

Expense; Student Loan Interest Deductions; MSA Deductions; HSA Deductions;  Educator Expenses; Tuition and Fees 

Deduction; Domestic Production Activities Deduction; Certain Business Expenses of Reservists, Performing Artists, and Fee-

basis Government Officials 

 Equals Federal Adjusted Gross Income (AGI)  

 Minus Federal/State Differences: State Income Tax Refund; Unemployment Compensation; Taxable Social Security Benefits; 

Nontaxable Federal Interest and Dividend Income; Railroad Retirement and Sick-Pay; California Lottery Winnings; Earnings and 

Per Capita Payments of American Indian Tribal Members Living in Indian Country Affiliated with their Tribe; Differences in 

Clergy Housing Allowance; IRA Distributions - Basis Recovery of IRAs, Differences in Pensions and Annuities; Differences in 

Passive Activities; Differences in Depreciation and Amortization; Differences in Small Business Expensing Deduction;  

Differences in Capital Gain or Loss; Differences in Other Gain or Loss; Differences in Net Operating Losses; Differences in 

Alimony Paid 

 Plus Federal/State Differences: Interest on State or Municipal Bonds From Other States; Differences in Passive Activities; 

Differences in Depreciation and Amortization; Differences in Small Business Expensing Deduction; Differences in IRA 

Deduction; Differences in Student Loan Interest Deduction; HSA Deductions; Income Exempted by U.S. Treaty; Differences in 

Clergy Housing Allowance; Educator Expenses; Tuition and Fees Deduction; Differences in Capital Gain or Loss; Differences in 

Other Gain or Loss; Differences in Net Operating Losses; Domestic Production Activities Deduction; Differences in Certain 

Business Expenses of Reservists, Performing Artists, and Fee-basis Government Officials; Differences in Alimony Received 

 Equals California Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) 

 Minus Deductions: California Standard Deduction or Federal Itemized Deductions; Adjusted for Federal/State Differences;  

State, Local and Foreign Income Taxes or General Sales Tax; Interest Paid; Contributions; Casualty and Theft Loss; Employee 

Business Expense; Federal Estate Tax; Generation Skipping Tax; Private Mortgage Insurance; Miscellaneous Deductions 

 Equals California Taxable Income 

 Multiplied by Applicable Marginal Tax Rates 

 Minus Tax Credits (Credits are allowable only after applicable limitations based on the tentative minimum tax): Exemption for  

Personal, Blind, Senior and Dependent; Senior Head of Household; Dependent Parent; Child Adoption; Prison Inmate Labor; 

Enterprise Zone Employee; Joint Custody Head of Household; Low-Income Housing; Enterprise Zone Hiring and Sales Tax; 

Research; Other States Taxes; Employer Child Care Program and Contribution: Prior year Alternative Minimum Tax; Local Area 

Military Base Recovery Area; Manufacturing Enhancement Area; Targeted Tax Area; Natural Heritage Preservation; 

Environmental Tax Credit; Nonrefundable Renter's Credit; Disabled Access for Small Business; Enhanced Oil Recovery;  

Transportation of Donated Agricultural Products; Community Development Qualified Deposit; Carryovers from Repealed 

Credits; New Jobs; Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit; Fresh Fruits and Vegetables Credit. 

 Plus Other Taxes: Alternative Minimum Tax; Tax on Early Use of IRA, Keogh or Annuity Contract; Tax on Accumulation 

Distributions of Trusts; Lump-Sum Distribution; Recapture Taxes; Use Tax; Mental Health Services Tax 

 Equals Total Tax Liability 

 Minus Payments and Refundable Credits: Income Tax Withholding; Estimated Tax; Payment with Extensions; Excess SDI or 

VPDI; Overpayment Applied from Prior Year; Real Estate or Other Withholdings  

 Plus Voluntary Contributions 

 Equals Overpayment or Balance Due 

Source:  Franchise Tax Board  
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2. CALCULATION OF THE PERSONAL INCOME TAX 

 

Taxpayers must compute their tax liability based on income earned during the year, 

usually the calendar year.  Generally, taxpayers must add up all sources of nonexempt 

income and subtract the adjustments and deductions to which they are entitled to 

calculate "taxable income".  They then apply the appropriate tax rate to their taxable 

income to arrive at a preliminary tax liability.  After calculating their preliminary tax 

liability, taxpayers may then apply tax credits, which reduce liability (i.e., every $1 in tax 

credits reduces a taxpayer's tax liability by $1).  In most cases, the tax liability remaining 

after tax credits are applied is the actual tax liability.  However, a few taxpayers are liable 

for additional taxes under special circumstances. 

 

The chart on the preceding page illustrates the steps involved in calculating final tax 

liability.  As the chart shows, the income that is actually subject to tax is much smaller 

than a taxpayer's total income earned or received. 

 

3. RELATIONSHIP OF STATE AND FEDERAL TAX FORMS 

 

California's tax law largely conforms to federal income tax law.  This allows substantial 

simplicity for state tax forms.  Today, a majority of the steps in computing income 

subject to tax are done on federal Forms 1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ.  California Forms 540 

and 540A start with federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  These forms then require 

taxpayers to make adjustments to reflect differences in state law, apply state tax credits, 

and compute state tax. 

 

A third state form, without a comparable federal form, offers taxpayers a different, 

simplified method of calculating their taxes.  Beginning with the 1999 tax year, Form 540 

2EZ replaced Form 540 EZ.  Form 540 2EZ begins with the taxpayer's total wages.  

However, the tax tables that accompany Form 540 2EZ already include the standard 

deduction and personal and dependent exemption credits, thereby simplifying the 

calculation processes required for other state forms. 

 

In addition to the state forms available on the FTB Web site, California also offers 

ReadyReturn, a free service the FTB developed to make filing individual income tax 

returns easier.  The FTB uses information from the last return filed by the taxpayer and 

from the taxpayers' current W-2 forms to pre-fill a California state tax return.  Currently, 

there is no comparable federal program. 

 

4. TAXABLE AND NONTAXABLE INCOME 

 

For purposes of the personal income tax, income is measured or defined in four important 

stages:  (a) Calculation of exempt income; (b) Gross income; (c) AGI; and (d) Taxable 

income (TI). 
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The major sources of income that are taken into account in computing tax liability 

include the following: 

 

 Gross Income.  Gross income is the starting point for calculating tax on the 

federal return.  Gross income includes income from all sources, unless 

otherwise exempt.  Income that must be included in gross income for both 

state and federal purposes includes salaries, wages, commissions, tips, 

alimony received, dividends, interest earnings, annuities, pensions, net gains  

from the sale of capital assets, net partnership and proprietorship income, net 

farm income, and others.  Losses from capital assets, partnerships, 

proprietorships may be limited. 

 

For some items, the amount of income entered on the tax return may be a negative 

number if the taxpayer has incurred a loss. 

 

 Exempt Income.  Certain types of income are exempt from tax.  In many 

cases, taxpayers are not required to report this income on their tax return.  

Some of these items are exempt in California but are taxable for federal 

purposes.  The most common income items that are taxable on the federal 

return and exempt on the state return are California lottery winnings, a portion 

of Social Security and Railroad Retirement benefits, unemployment 

compensation, and interest from U.S. Savings Bonds and Treasury Bills.  

Since California uses federal income as the starting figure, these items must 

be subtracted from federal income before calculating California tax. 

 

 Adjusted Gross Income.  After totaling all items included in gross income, 

certain deductions are allowed to compute AGI.  These "adjustments" include 

payments into certain retirement plans (IRAs, Keogh plans, self-employed 

plans, etc.), alimony paid, penalties paid on early withdrawal of savings, and 

the employer portion of Social Security that is paid by the self-employed (i.e., 

the self-employment tax).  The remaining amount is AGI. 

 

 Taxable Income.  Either the standard deduction or itemized deductions may 

further reduce AGI.  These are described below.  The remaining amount is 

taxable income.  Tax rates are applied to this amount in order to compute tax 

owed before credits. 

 

5. DEDUCTIONS FROM ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME (AGI) 

 

All taxpayers are allowed to deduct certain amounts from AGI.  Most deductions are 

intended to reduce the amount of income subject to tax to reflect certain living costs 

incurred by all taxpayers.  The rationale behind deductions is that these living costs affect 

taxpayers' ability to pay. 
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The value of a deduction to a taxpayer (i.e., the amount by which the deduction reduces 

the taxpayer's tax liability) generally may be estimated by multiplying the deduction by 

the taxpayer's highest marginal tax rate (see Section 8 of this chapter for a discussion of  

marginal rates).  For example, the approximate state tax savings to a person in the top tax 

bracket (12.30%) who deducts a $100 expense is $12.30 ($100 expense times the 12.30% 

tax rate). 

 

A taxpayer may reduce his or her AGI by the larger of either the standard deduction or 

the total of his or her allowed itemized deductions. 

 

Standard Deduction.  The standard deduction is a fixed dollar amount intended to 

approximate deductible living expenses.  For the 2012 taxable year, the standard 

deduction amounts under California law are as follows: 

 

 Single and Married/Registered Domestic Partner (RDP) 

     Filing Separately      $3,841 

 

 Married/RDP Filing Jointly, Qualifying Widow(er), 

    And Head of Household     $7,682 

 

These amounts are indexed annually for inflation. 

 

Standard deduction amounts under federal law are different from those in California law.  

In 2012, federal amounts are as follows: 

 

 Single        $  5,950 

 

 Married/RDP Filing Jointly or Qualifying Widow(er)  $11,900 

 

 Head of Household      $  8,700 

 

 Married/RDP Filing Separately    $  5,950 

 

Federal law also allows taxpayers to increase their standard deductions if they have 

dependents, are over age 65, and/or blind. 

 

Unlike federal law, California does not allow larger standard deductions for taxpayers 

that have dependents and/or are over age 65 and/or blind.  Instead, state law provides 

exemption credits (see Section 7). 

 

Itemized Deductions.  As an alternative to the standard deduction, both state and federal 

law allow various specific expenses (called itemized deductions) to be deducted from 

AGI.  The major itemized deductions permitted include the following: 
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 Home mortgage interest on first and second homes, subject to certain limits; 

 

 Property taxes; 

 

 Charitable contributions up to an annual cap.  Amounts above the cap may be 

carried over and deducted in subsequent years; 

 

 Unreimbursed medical expenses in excess of 7.5% of AGI; 

 

 Unreimbursed casualty and theft losses of over $100.  However, only losses in 

excess of 10% of AGI may be deducted; and 

 

 Certain miscellaneous expenses in excess of 2% of AGI.  Examples of 

deductible miscellaneous expenses include union dues, uniforms, job-related 

educational expenses, tax return preparation fees, safe deposit box costs, and 

unreimbursed business expenses. 

 

California's rules on itemized deductions are very similar to federal rules.  The major 

difference is that federal law allows an itemized deduction for state income taxes paid, 

whereas California law does not. 

 

State limits itemized deductions for high-income filers.  For 2012, the California phase-

out affects single filers with AGIs in excess of $169,730, joint filers with AGIs in excess 

of $339,464, and heads of household filers with AGIs in excess of $254,599.   

 

Under federal law, the temporary repeal of the limit on itemized deductions for high-

income taxpayers, in effect for taxable years 2010 through 2012, is set to expire for 

taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013.  Ongoing discussions, "avoiding the 

fiscal cliff" negotiations, could result in an additional extension of the temporary repeal, 

or other modification affecting itemized deductions for high-income taxpayers. 

 

Exemptions.  In addition to allowing taxpayers a choice of claiming either the standard 

deduction or itemizing deductions, federal law also allows taxpayers to claim personal 

and dependent exemptions.  The 2012 federal exemption amount equals $3,800.  Starting 

with tax year 2011, taxpayers no longer lose part of their deduction for personal and 

dependent exemptions, regardless of the amount of the taxpayer's AGI. 

 

6. FILING STATUS 

 

Taxpayers must file using one of five filing statuses:  (a) Single; (b) Married Filing 

Separately; (c) Married Filing Jointly; (d) Head of Household; or (e) Qualifying 

Widow(er).   

 

Filing status affects tax liability because it determines which tax rate schedules and 

personal exemption credits a taxpayer may claim on his or her return. 



      CHAPTER 2B 

                                                 PERSONAL INCOME 

                                                                                                        TAX               

27 

 

 

A head of household is generally a person who is not married at the end of the taxable 

year and who has a child or other relative living with him or her for more than half the 

year. 

 

A taxpayer qualifies to file as a qualifying widow(er) if he or she is a widow(er) who 

remains unmarried and maintains a dependent in the home.  The taxpayer may file as a 

qualifying widow(er) for the two tax years following the tax year in which the taxpayer's 

spouse dies.  In the year the spouse dies, the taxpayer must file a joint return.  The 

qualifying widow(er) filing status generally permits the use of tax rates, deductions, and 

credits similar to those used by joint filers. 

 

In general, California taxpayers must use the same filing status on their state returns as 

they use on their federal returns.  In certain situations where one spouse is in the military 

or a nonresident, or the taxpayers are RDPs, California permits a filing status different 

from the filing status claimed on the taxpayer's federal return.  A taxpayer might choose 

different filing statuses at the state and federal level if he or she could lower his or her tax 

liability by doing so.  Effective for tax years beginning in 2007, taxpayers registered with 

the Secretary of State as RDPs are required to use a filing status of either married/RDP 

filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately for California purposes, regardless of their 

federal filing status.  [SB 1827 (Migden), Chapter 802, Statutes of 2006; SB 105 

(Migden), Chapter 426, Statutes of 2007].  

 

7. PERSONAL, DEPENDENT, SENIOR, AND BLIND EXEMPTION  

            CREDITS 

 

California taxpayers are entitled to personal and dependent exemption credits in addition 

to their deductions.  These exemption credits are intended to shelter a minimum amount 

of income of each person in the household from tax.  The federal government offers 

similar tax relief through the personal/dependent exemptions and increased standard 

deductions for certain qualifying individuals. 

 

The personal exemption credit can be claimed by all taxpayers, except those who can be 

claimed as a dependent on another person's return.  An example would be a college 

student who earns enough income to file his or her own tax return, but who is also 

eligible to be claimed as dependent on his or her parents' return. 

 

A dependent exemption credit may be claimed for any relative of the taxpayer (child, 

stepchild, parent, stepparent, sibling, etc.) whom the taxpayer supports for over half of 

the calendar year.  A non-relative who lives in the taxpayer's home and is supported by 

the taxpayer can also be claimed as a dependent.   

 

An additional exemption credit can be claimed for any person in a household who is 

blind or age 65 or older on the last day of the taxable year.  A person who is both blind  

and a senior is eligible for two additional exemption credits in addition to the personal or 

dependent exemption credit. 
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The 2012 personal, dependent, senior and blind exemption credits are as follows: 

 

 

 Single, Head of Household and  

   Married/RDP Filing Separately    $  104 

 

 Married/RDP Filing Jointly and Qualifying Widow(er) $  208 

 

 Each Dependent      $  321 

 

 Additional Credit for Person Over Age 65   $  104 

 

 Additional Credit for Blind Person    $  104 

 

These credits are indexed for inflation annually. 

 

State exemption credits are phased out for taxpayers with federal AGIs that exceed a 

threshold amount.  The threshold amounts for 2012 are $339,464 [married/RDP filing 

jointly and qualifying widow(er)], $254,599 (head of household), and $169,730(single 

and married/RDP filing separately).  Like the exemption credits, the phase-out threshold 

amounts are indexed for inflation annually. 

 

For state tax purposes, when a taxpayer reaches the phase-out threshold, he or she is 

required to reduce his or her credits by $6 (if a single taxpayer, head of household, or 

married/RDP filing separately) or $12 [if married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying 

widow(er)] for each $2,500 ($1,250 if married filing separate) by which that taxpayer's 

AGI exceeds the threshold amount.  For example, a married/RDP couple with two 

dependents would have their total exemption credits reduced by $24 (12 + 6 + 6) for each 

$2,500 by which their AGI exceeded the threshold amount. 

 

8. TAX RATES AND BRACKETS 

 

As a result of the recent approval of Proposition 30, California income tax rates have 

increased for taxpayers with taxable income of more than $250,000, effective retroactive 

by January 1, 2012.  California's maximum marginal rate will now be 12.3% for taxable 

years beginning on January 1, 2012 and ending on December 31, 2018. 

 

Proposition 63, approved by the voters in November 2004, adds a 1% surtax on that 

portion of a taxpayer's taxable income in excess of $1 million, effective for tax years 

beginning on January 1, 2005.  Revenues of $893 million are estimated for the 2011-12 

fiscal year.  Annual revenues of $1.03 billion for 2012-13, and $917 million for 2013-14 

are projected.  Approximately 40,632 tax returns were liable for the surcharge for the 

2010 taxable year. 
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Revenue generated by the Proposition 63 tax surcharge is used to expand existing county 

mental health programs and create new programs.   

 

California law provides for nine (9) progressive marginal tax rates applied to taxable 

income:  1.00%, 2.00%, 4.00%, 6.00%, 8.00%, 9.30%, 10.30%, 11.30%, and 12.30%.  

The term "marginal tax rate" refers to the rate applied to the last (or highest) dollar of 

taxable income.  Additionally, as noted above, for tax years beginning on or after January 

1, 2005, a 1% surtax is imposed on taxable income in excess of $1 million. 

 

Under a system of progressive marginal tax rates (or "brackets"), each additional 

increment of income a person earns is subject to a higher tax rate.  For example, the first 

increment of income is taxed at a rate of 1.00%, the second (next greater) increment is 

taxed at a rate of 2.00%, the third increment is taxed at a rate of 4.00%, and so on.  The 

principle behind progressive marginal tax rates is that people with more income have a 

greater ability to pay taxes than those with lower incomes. 

 

The California tax rates and income brackets that apply for the 2012 year are shown in 

Table 2 on the next page.  Note that each filing status has the same rates of tax but the 

amounts of income included in each respective bracket are different.  Table 2 shows that  

in 2012, the maximum tax rate of 12.30% applied to single taxpayers with taxable 

incomes of $500,000 or more and to married taxpayers with taxable incomes of 

$1,000,000 or more.  The income brackets are indexed annually for inflation (see Section 

10 of this chapter). 
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TABLE 2 

 

CALIFORNIA TAX RATES FOR 2012 

 

IF TAXABLE INCOME IS: 

 

Over:   But No Over:    The Tax Amount is: 

 

Single Person or Married/RDP Filing Separate – Schedule X 

        

$           0 $    7,455  1.00% of the amount over $0 

$    7,455 $  17,676  $74.55 plus 2.00% of the amount over $7,455 

$  17,676 $  27,897  $278.97 plus 4.00% of the amount over $17,676 

$  27,897 $  38,726  $687.81 plus 6.00% of the amount over $27,897 

$  38,726 $  48,942  $1,337.55 plus 8.00% of the amount over $38,726 

$  48,942 $250,000  $2,154.83 plus 9.30% of the amount over $48,942 

$250,000 $300,000  $20,853.22 plus 10.30% over $250,000 

$300,000 $500,000  $26,003.22 plus 11.30% over $300,000 

$500,000 No Limit  $48,603.22 plus 12.30% over $500,000 

 

Married/RDP Filing Joint or Qualifying Widow(er) with Dependent Child – 

Schedule Y 

 

$              0 $     14,910  1.00% of the amount over $0 

$     14,910 $     35,352  $149.10 plus 2.00% of the amount over $14,910 

$     35,352 $     55,794  $557.94 plus 4.00% of the amount over $35,352 

$     55,794 $     77,452  $1,375.62 plus 6.00% of the amount over $55,794 

$     77,452 $     97,884  $2,675.10 plus 8.00% of the amount over $77,452 

$     97,884 $   500,000  $4,309.66 plus 9.30% of the amount over $97,884 

$   500,000 $   600,000  $41,706.45 plus 10.30% over $500,000 

$   600,000 $1,000,000  $52,006.45 plus 11.30% over $600,000 

$1,000,000 No Limit  $97,206.45 plus 12.30% over $1,000,000 

 

Head of Household – Schedule Z 

 

$           0 $  14,920  1.00% of the amount over $0 

$  14,920 $  35,351  $149.20 plus 2.00% of the amount over $14,920 

$  35,351 $  45,571  $557.82 plus 4.00% of the amount over $35,351 

$  45,571 $  56,400  $966.62 plus 6.00% of the amount over $45,571 

$  56,400 $  66,618  $1,616.36 plus 8.00% of the amount over $56,400 

$  66,618 $340,000  $2,433.80 plus 9.30% of the amount over $66,618 

$340,000 $408,000  $27,858.33 plus 10.30% over $340,000 

$408,000 $680,000  $34,862.33 plus 11.30% over $408,000 

$680,000 No Limit  $65,598.33 plus 12.30% over $680,000 
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TABLE 3 

 

FEDERAL TAX RATES FOR 2012 

 

IF TAXABLE INCOME IS:   

 

          

Over:  But Not Over:  The Tax Amount is:   

 

Single Person - Schedule X: 

 

$           0 $    8,700  10% of the amount over $0 

$    8,700 $  35,350  $870 plus 15% of the amount over $8,700 

$  35,350 $  85,650  $4,867.50 plus 25% of the amount over $35,350 

$  85,650 $178,650  $17,442.50 plus 28% of the amount over $85,650 

$178,650 $388,350  $43,482.50 plus 33% of the amount over $178,650 

$388,350 No Limit  $112,683.50 plus 35% of the amount over $388,350 

 

Married/RDP Filing Joint or Qualifying Widow(er) - Schedule Y-1: 

 

$           0 $  17,400  10% of the amount over $0 

$  17,400 $  70,700  $1,740 plus 15% of the amount over $17,400 

$  70,700 $142,700  $9,735 plus 25% of the amount over $70,700 

$142,700 $217,450  $27,735 plus 28% of the amount over $142,700 

$217,450 $388,350  $48,665 plus 33% of the amount over $217,450 

$388,350 No Limit  $105,062 plus 35% of the amount over $388,350 

 

Married/RDP Filing Separately - Schedule Y-2: 

 

$           0 $    8,700  10% of the amount over $0 

$    8,700 $  35,350  $870 plus 15% of the amount over $8,700 

$  35,350 $  71,350  $4,867.50 plus 25% of the amount over $35,350 

$  71,350 $108,725  $13,867.50 plus 28% of the amount over $71,350 

$108,725 $194,175  $24,332.50 plus 33% of the amount over $108,725 

$194,175 No Limit  $52,531 plus 35% of the amount over $194,175 

 

Head of Household - Schedule Z: 

 

$           0 $  12,400  10% of the amount over $0 

$  12,400 $  47,350  $1,240 plus 15% of the amount over $12,400 

$  47,350 $122,300  $6,482.50 plus 25% of the amount over $47,350 

$122,300 $198,050  $25,220 plus 28% of the amount over $122,300 

$198,050 $388,350  $46,430 plus 33% of the amount over $198,050 

$388,350 No Limit  $109,229 plus 35% of the amount over $388,350 
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9. INDEXING 

 

Many components of the Personal Income Tax Law used to calculate tax liability are 

modified annually to adjust for inflation using a method called indexing.  For example, 

income brackets, exemption credits, the standard deduction, the joint custody head of 

household credit, and many of the phase-out limits in the Personal Income Tax Law are 

indexed annually.  Indexing is intended to prevent taxpayers from being pushed into 

higher marginal tax brackets by increases in income that just keep pace with inflation, 

while the taxpayers' real buying power is not increasing. 

 

The indexing adjustment equals the percentage difference between the California 

Consumer Price Index (CCPI) in June of the current year and June of the prior year.  

Each dollar value to be indexed is multiplied annually by this percentage change.   

 

Indexing is illustrated below using one of the most important components of the personal 

income tax – brackets.  As noted above, annual indexing of income within the tax 

brackets is intended to keep a taxpayer in the same bracket, as long as his or her income 

increases no faster than the CCPI.  For example, the effect of indexing on two 

hypothetical taxpayers would be as follows: 

 

 A taxpayer who gets a cost-of-living wage increase exactly equal to inflation 

will have more income in dollars but will have the same buying power as is in 

the previous year.  Without indexing, the taxpayer's increased income might 

bump him or her into a higher marginal tax bracket, causing the taxpayer to 

owe additional income tax reflecting a higher tax rate as well as increased 

income.  Indexing keeps the taxpayer's tax rate at the same level as the prior 

year, since the taxpayer's buying power remains the same. 

 

 A taxpayer on a fixed income loses buying power in inflationary times.  

Without indexing, the taxpayer's tax liability would remain the same, even 

though the taxpayer's income was worth less in each succeeding year.   

 

Indexing of the tax rate brackets lowers the taxpayer's tax liability, consistent 

with the taxpayer's decline in buying power. 

 

Federal law began indexing tax rate brackets in 1985 and the standard deduction in 1989.  

The federal indexing measure differs from California through use of the U.S. Consumer 

Price Index and a different 12-month period (August to August). 

 

10.   TAX CREDITS 

 

Tax credits reduce tax liability on a dollar-for-dollar basis (i.e., $1 in tax credits reduces a 

taxpayer's tax liability by $1).  After the taxpayer computes tax due for his or her taxable 

income, he or she subtracts the credits to which he or she is entitled, thereby reducing the 

amount of tax due.  Thus, credits have a greater impact than deductions, whose value in  
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reducing tax liability (as discussed in Section 5 of this chapter) equals the amount of the 

deduction times the tax rate.  Most state tax credits are not refundable if they exceed total 

tax due.  However, in some cases credits that exceed tax liability may be carried forward 

and claimed against a taxpayer's future years' taxes. 

 

Credits are usually provided to give tax relief to people who incur certain non-

discretionary costs, have limited ability to pay taxes, or to provide incentives to people to 

engage in certain activities that are socially or economically desirable.  Tax reform 

legislation enacted in 1987 placed sunset dates (i.e., automatic repeal) on many credits in 

the Personal Income Tax Law in order to give the Legislature an opportunity to evaluate 

their impact. 

 

The amount of the tax credits allowable in any taxable year may be limited by the 

taxpayer's alternative minimum tax liability or by tentative minimum tax (see Section 14 

of this chapter for further information).  

 

Some of the tax credits allowed in state law are similar to credits offered in federal law.  

However, in most cases the federal credits are larger. 

 

The most significant credits allowed in state law are described below.  The credits are 

available to both full-time and part-time California residents, as well as to nonresidents 

with California-source income.  California residents are entitled to the full value of each 

credit, as long as they meet all of the eligibility criteria for the credits.  Nonresidents and 

part-year residents are required to prorate the amount of each credit claimed using rules 

specified in statute. 

 

Renter's Credit.  The Legislature enacted a "renter's credit" in 1972.  In the first 20 years 

following its inception, both the value of the credit and the income eligibility rules 

applied to taxpayers that claimed the credit varied, but the credit was always available.  

However, the renter's tax credit was suspended when California experienced severe 

economic pressures in the early 1990s.  As part of budget agreements, the credit was not  

available during the five-year period corresponding to the 1993 through 1997 taxable 

years.  The Legislature reinstated the renter's credit effective January 1, 1998.   

 

Historically, the renter's tax credit was also refundable.  However, as reinstated, the 

renter's credit is nonrefundable and is subject to income phase-outs.  For 2012, 

married/RDP taxpayers filing jointly, heads of household, and qualifying widow(er) with 

AGIs of $72,674 or less may claim a credit of $120.  Single taxpayers and married/RDP 

taxpayers filing separately with AGIs of $36,337 or less may claim a credit of $60.  See 

Chapter 6E (Renter's Credit) for more information. 

 

There is no similar credit in federal law. 

 

Senior Head of Household Credit.  Taxpayers who are 65 years of age or older on 

December 31st of the current tax year, qualified as head of household during either the 
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previous two tax years by providing a household for a qualifying individual who died 

during one of the previous two tax years, and whose AGI for 2012 is $66,391 or less, 

may claim a credit equal to 2% of taxable income.  For 2012, the maximum allowable 

credit is $1,251.  The AGI cap and maximum allowable credit are indexed annually for 

inflation.  

 

There is no similar credit in federal law. 

 

Joint Custody Head of Household Credit.  Taxpayers who qualify as joint custody 

heads of household may claim a state tax credit that offsets a portion of their tax liability.  

To qualify, the taxpayer must:  (a) be unmarried at the end of the year; (b) have custody 

of a dependent under a custody agreement for between 146 and 219 days of the year; and 

(c) furnish over half of all household expenses.  The credit is 30% of the net tax, not to 

exceed $409 for the 2012 tax year.  The maximum available credit is indexed for inflation 

annually.  The purpose of this credit is to allow divorced couples who share custody of a 

child to share the benefits of the head of household filing status.  A similar credit is 

available to separated married persons who support a dependent parent. 

 

There is no similar credit in federal law. 

 

Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States.  In order to avoid double taxation, California 

residents are generally allowed a credit for income taxes paid to another state on income 

that is also taxed by California.  The credit may not exceed the tax California would have 

imposed on the income taxed by such other state.  If the other state taxes this income at a 

lower rate than California, this credit has the effect of allowing California to tax only a 

portion of the income taxed by the other state. 

 

Excess Employee's State Disability Insurance (SDI) Credit.  Employees who work for 

more than one employer and who earned over $95,585 during the 2012 tax year may have 

paid more than the maximum State Disability Insurance through over-withholding.  The 

excess may be recovered by claiming a credit against the California personal income tax 

on a Form 540 or 540A tax return. 

 

Child Adoption Cost Credit.  This credit is equal to 50% of the costs of adopting a 

minor child who is a citizen or legal resident of the United States and is in the custody of 

a California public agency or a political subdivision of California.  The credit can be 

claimed in the taxable year in which the decree or order of adoption is entered, even 

though qualifying costs paid or incurred in prior years may qualify for the credit.  Costs 

eligible for the credit include:  (a) fees for required services of either the Department of 

Social Services or a licensed adoption agency; (b) travel and related expenses for the 

adoptive family that are directly related to the adoption process; and (c) medical fees and 

expenses that are not reimbursed by insurance and are directly related to the adoption 

process.  The maximum allowable credit cannot exceed $2,500 per minor child.  This 

credit may be carried over and is allowed for taxable years beginning on or after January 

1, 1994. 
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Federal tax law also offers a child adoption cost credit.  Taxpayers may claim a credit of 

up to $12,650 for the qualified adoption expenses of each eligible child.  Phase-out of the 

federal credit begins for taxpayers with modified AGIs of more than $189,710; the 

federal credit is completely phased out for taxpayers with modified AGIs of $229,710 or 

more for the 2012 tax year.  The limitation on eligible expenses and phase-out incomes 

are increased for inflation annually.  Qualified adoption expenses include reasonable and 

necessary adoption fees, court costs, attorney fees, and other expenses directly related to 

the legal adoption of an eligible child.  For years beginning after 2011, the federal credit 

is no longer refundable. 

 

Child and Dependent Care Credit.  Beginning with the 2000 taxable year, taxpayers 

that maintain a household within the state for a qualifying individual may claim the child 

and dependent care credit for employment-related expenses.  The state credit supplements 

a similar federal household and dependent care credit.  

 

As defined by the federal law, a qualifying individual is a dependent of the taxpayer that 

is under the age of 13 or a dependent or spouse who is physically or mentally unable to 

care for himself or herself.  Employment-related expenses are defined as those incurred to 

enable the taxpayer to obtain or retain gainful employment. 

 

The federal credit, which can be applied to a maximum of $3,000 in expenses for one 

dependent and $6,000 in expenses for two or more dependents, is equal to between 20% 

and 35%, depending on a taxpayer's AGI.  Taxpayers with AGIs of $15,000 or less are 

eligible for the 35% credit.  The amount of the credit decreases by one percentage point 

for each $2,000 by which a taxpayer's AGI exceeds $15,000.  Thus, a credit of 20% may 

be claimed by taxpayers with AGIs over $43,000.  

 

The state credit amount is a percentage of the federal credit, as follows:   

 

California AGI                               Credit Percentage (% of Federal Credit) 

 

           $40,000 or less                                                            50% 

           $40,001 to $70,000                                                     43% 

           $70,001 to $100,000                                                   34% 

           Over $100,000                                                              0% 

 

California taxpayers may claim the state credit regardless of whether they have federal 

tax liability.  For years beginning after 2010, the federal credit is no longer refundable. 

 

Credits for Businesses.  A number of other credits are available for business taxpayers 

that file under the personal income tax law, such as sole proprietorships and partnerships.   

The total business credit allowed for taxpayers with net business income (PIT) greater 

than $500,000 is limited to 50% of the total credit available for taxable years beginning 

on or after January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2010.  Any credit amount in excess of 

the limitation is eligible for carryforward.  [AB 1452 (Committee on Budget), Chapter  
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763, Statutes of 2008.]  Refer to the Corporation Tax chapter (Chapter 2C) for a 

description of tax credits applicable to businesses. 

 

New Jobs Tax Credit - Current state tax law, SBX3 15 (Calderon, Stats. 2009, Third 

Extraordinary Session, Ch. 17), allows a New Jobs Tax credit, for taxable years 

beginning on or after January 1, 2009, to a qualified employer in the amount of $3,000 

for each qualified full-time employee hired in the taxable year, determined on an annual 

full-time equivalent basis.  The credit is allocated by the FTB and has a cap of $400 

million for all taxable years.  The credit remains in effect until December 1 of the 

calendar year after the year in which the cumulative credit limit has been reached and is 

repealed as of that date.  Any credits not used in the taxable year may be carried forward 

up to eight years. 

 

There is no comparable federal credit.  

Donated Fresh Fruits or Fresh Vegetables Credit.  Qualified taxpayers may claim a 

credit equal to 10% of the costs of fresh fruits or fresh vegetables donated to a California 

food bank. 

A “qualified taxpayer” is defined as the person responsible for planting the crop, 

managing the crop, and harvesting the crop from the land.  The cost of donated fresh 

fruits or fresh vegetables is the cost of those products that would otherwise be included in 

inventory costs.  Generally, inventory costs would include both the direct costs and the 

allocated indirect costs required to produce the fresh fruits or fresh vegetables.  Because 

inventory costs are costs of doing business, the credit is available only to a business that 

is also a qualified taxpayer. 

The recipient of a donation of fresh fruits or fresh vegetables must provide to the donor 

certification of the type and quantity of the products donated, the name of the donor or 

donors, the name and address of the donee nonprofit organization, and, as provided by 

the donor, the estimated value of the donated products and the location where the donated 

product was grown.  A donor that is a qualified taxpayer must provide a copy of the 

certificate to the FTB upon request. 

The fresh fruits and fresh vegetables credit applies to taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2012, and before January 1, 2017.  This credit may be carried forward for up 

to six years and may not reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 

 

11.   CAPITAL GAINS AND LOSSES 

 

Capital gains are profits from the sale of property and other capital assets.  They are 

classified as a different type of income from "ordinary income," which includes wages, 

salaries, and interest. 
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Capital assets are defined as all property except the following:  inventories; property held 

for sale in the ordinary course of business; depreciable business property; and real 

property used in business.  Capital assets include real property (land and buildings), 

personal property, and intangible assets (such as stock). 

 

Capital gains are measured as the difference between the amount realized when the asset 

is sold and the asset's basis.  Although an asset's basis is normally that asset's original 

purchase price, basis can be adjusted to reflect improvements and costs of sale.  Any 

amounts invested in improvements are added to the purchase price to increase basis; costs 

of sale are deducted from the sales price to reduce basis.  Capital gains are generally 

recognized in the year an asset is sold or otherwise disposed. 

 

Through 1986, capital gains were accorded special tax treatment in California.  During 

that time, gains on assets held longer than one year were partially excluded from tax.  

However, beginning in 1987, California began including all capital gains within the 

measure of a taxpayer's income.  California's tax treatment of capital gains is different 

from federal treatment, because California applies the same tax rates to capital gains as 

applies to ordinary income; the federal government applies lower rates to qualifying 

capital gains. 

 

Under federal (but not state) law, most types of investments held more than one year are 

subject to capital gains tax at a top rate of 20% (10% for investors in the 15% tax bracket) 

if the sale takes place before May 6, 2003. 

 

For sales on or after May 6, 2003, and before January 1, 2013, the maximum capital gain 

rate is 15% (5% for individuals taxed in the 10% or 15% tax bracket, or at a zero percent 

rate for tax years beginning after 2007).   

 

These lower rates apply to most (but not all) types of investments.  Among those 

ineligible are collectibles with a maximum rate of 28%.  Nor do the lower rates apply to 

gains from the sale of investment real estate to the extent of depreciation deductions 

previously claimed with a maximum rate of 25%. 

 

Special enacted state and federal laws provided an exemption for 50% of the capital gains 

realized from the sale of qualified small business stock (QSBS) issued after August 10, 

1993, and before February 18, 2009, and be held for a least five years prior to sale.  For 

QSBS acquired after September 27, 2010, and before 2012, and held for at least five 

years federal law provides an exemption for all of the gain on the disposition of the 

QSBS stock.  For QSBS acquired after February 17, 2009, and before September 28, 

2010, and held for at least five year, federal law provides an exemption of 75% of any 

gain realized on the disposition of QSBS stock.  For state tax purposes, the company in 

which the investment is made must be located in California and have assets of not more 

than $50 million.  Certain industry and other limitations apply, including industry growth 

in payroll, etc. 
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In Cutler v. Franchise Tax Board (2012) 208 Cal.App. 4
th

 1247, 146 Cal.Rptr. 3d 244, the 

California Court of Appeals held that the California QSBS provisions of R &TC Sections 

18038.5 and 18152.5 are unconstitutional.  FTB Notice 2012-03 outlines the procedures 

that the FTB will use in applying the Court of Appeal's holding. 

 

As under federal law, capital losses are fully deductible against capital gains realized in 

the same year.  In addition, up to $3,000 of capital losses in excess of capital gains are 

deductible against ordinary income in any taxable year.  If excess capital losses are 

greater than $3,000, the unused portion may be carried forward indefinitely to offset 

capital gains in future years and to deduct against ordinary income subject to the $3,000 

annual limit.  Federal law allows a three-year carryback of capital losses, but California 

does not. 

 

State law also conforms to federal capital gains treatment on sale or exchange of a 

principal residence.  Specifically, state and federal laws provide that a single taxpayer  

may exclude up to $250,000 and married taxpayers filing jointly may exclude up to 

$500,000 of gain realized on the sale or exchange of a principal residence.  The exclusion 

is allowed each time a taxpayer selling a principal residence meets certain eligibility 

requirements, but generally no more frequently than once every two years.  To be eligible 

for the exclusion, a taxpayer must have owned the residence and occupied it as a 

principal residence for at least two of the five years prior to the sale or exchange.  Federal  

and state laws repealed the once-in-a-lifetime exclusion of $125,000 and the rollover of 

gain from the sale of a principal residence provisions that previously existed.  

 

See Chapter 6D for a further discussion of special homeowner provisions. 

 

12. DEPRECIATION AND AMORTIZATION 

 

Depreciation and amortization deductions allow taxpayers to recover capital investments 

in certain assets over the useful lives of those assets by deducting reasonable allowances 

for the exhaustion, wear, and tear of property. 

 

Depreciation and amortization are allowed for property used in a trade or business or for 

the production of income (investment).  Depreciable property includes most kinds of 

tangible property and improvements to real property, farm buildings, machinery, and  

other physical assets.  Intangible assets that may be amortized include copyrights, 

licenses, franchises, goodwill, and covenants not to compete.  Depreciation and 

amortization are not allowed for property used for personal purposes, inventory and stock 

in trade, land, and depletable natural resources. 

 

Under the personal income tax law, California generally conforms to the federal 

depreciation system for assets placed in service on and after January 1, 1987.  This is 

called the Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System (MACRS).  Under MACRS, all  

depreciable assets are placed in classes.  These class assignments determine the assets' 

useful lives (i.e., the periods over which the assets may be depreciated) and the method of  
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depreciation that must be used.  The amount to be depreciated is the property's basis or its 

acquisition price.  In general, MACRS allows shorter useful lives and more accelerated 

depreciation methods than are allowed under other permissible depreciation systems, 

thereby allowing larger depreciation deductions. 

 

Under federal (but not state) law, a taxpayer is allowed to elect to take a bonus first-year 

depreciation deduction equal to 30% of the adjusted basis of qualified property (including 

New York Liberty Zone property) placed in service by the taxpayer after September 10, 

2001.  That percentage increases to 50% for property placed in service after May 5, 2003, 

and before January 1, 2011.  The first-year bonus depreciation allowance is increased to 

100% for qualifying property placed in service after September 8, 2010, and before 

January 1, 2012.  The 50% bonus allowance is extended to cover qualifying property 

placed in service after December 31, 2011, and before January 1, 2013.  The additional 

first year depreciation deduction generally is determined without any proration based on 

the length of the taxable year in which the qualified property or New York Liberty Zone 

property is placed in service.  The adjusted basis of this property generally is its cost or 

other basis multiplied by the percentage of business/investment use, reduced by the 

amount of any Section 179 expense deduction and adjusted to the extent provided by 

other provisions of the Internal Revenue Code.  The remaining adjusted basis of this 

property is depreciated using the applicable depreciation provisions under the Code for 

the property.  This depreciation deduction for the remaining adjusted basis of the 

qualified property or New York Liberty Zone property for which the additional first year 

depreciation is deductible is allowed for both regular tax and alternative minimum tax 

purposes.   

 

In addition, in lieu of depreciation, existing federal and state laws (Internal Revenue 

Code Section 179) allow a deduction to taxpayers with a sufficiently small amount of 

capital expenditures for depreciable property.  These taxpayers may elect to expense (i.e., 

to deduct immediately rather than depreciate over time) the cost of qualified property  

placed in service for the taxable year and purchased for use in the active conduct of a 

trade or business.  Federal and state limits differ.  

 

In 2010, the Small Business Jobs Act (SBJA) of 2010 was enacted.  This act increases the 

IRC Section 179 limitations on the expensing of depreciable business assets and expands 

the definition of qualified property to include certain real property for the 2010 and 2011 

tax years.  Under the SBJA, qualifying businesses can now expense up to $500,000 of 

Section 179 property for tax years beginning in 2010 and 2011.  Without SBJA, the 

expensing limit for Section 179 property would have been $250,000 for 2010 and 

$25,000 for 2011.  The maximum Section 179 expense is $125,000 for taxable years 

beginning in 2012 and $25,000 for taxable years beginning after 2012.  

 

For taxable years beginning in 2010 and 2011, the $500,000 amount provided under the 

new law is reduced, but not below zero, if the cost of all Section 179 property placed in 

service by the taxpayer during the tax year exceeds $2,000,000, the investment ceiling.  

For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2011, and before January 1, 2013, the  
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investment ceiling is $560,000 and $200,000 for tax years beginning after December 31, 

2012.  The definition of qualified Section 179 property will include qualified leasehold 

improvement property, qualified restaurant property, and qualified retail improvement 

property for tax years beginning in 2010 and 2011.  SBJA also removes cellular  

telephones and similar telecommunications equipment from the definition of listed 

property for tax years beginning in 2010. 

 

The limit is $250,000 in 2009 under federal law but remains $25,000 for California.  

However, starting in 2005, California "C" Corporations are allowed to elect, in lieu of a 

maximum of $2,000 additional first-year depreciation, a Section 179 deduction of up to a 

maximum of $25,000.  The allowed deduction is reduced (but not below zero) by the 

amount by which the cost of qualifying property placed in service during the taxable year 

exceeds $800,000 under federal law and $200,000 for California.   

 

California permits accelerated write-off for acquisitions of personal property for 

exclusive use within identified incentive zones.  Taxpayers doing business in certain 

areas such as Enterprise Zones (EZs), Local Agency Military Base Recovery Areas  

(LAMBRAs), and Targeted Tax Areas (TTAs) may elect to treat 40% of the cost of 

qualified property purchased for exclusive use within the area as a deduction in the year 

the property is placed in service.  The maximum cost taken into account in any taxable  

year depends upon the length of time the area has been designated as a qualifying zone or 

area, but may not exceed $100,000. 

 

The MACRS system is not permitted under the California Corporation Tax Law.  

However, California law permits S Corporations to compute depreciation under the rules 

contained in the Personal Income Tax Law.  For that reason, S Corporations can use both  

MACRS and the Section 179 deductions referenced above.  Refer to the Corporation Tax 

chapter of this Reference Book (Chapter 2C) for a description of depreciation deductions 

allowed for other corporate taxpayers. 

 

13.   CARRYOVER OF NET OPERATING LOSSES 

 

Net operating losses (NOLs) occur in the course of a trade or business when deductions 

exceed income.  Under federal law, a net operating loss can be carried back for two years 

(five years for losses arising in 2001 and 2002, and 2008 and 2009) and carried forward 

for 20 years.  California suspended taxpayers' abilities to claim NOL deductions during 

the 2008 and 2009 tax years.  However, taxpayers were given two additional years in 

which to claim NOLs accrued prior to January 1, 2009 and one additional year in which 

to claim NOLs accrued during the 2009 taxable year.  Beginning with the 2008 tax year 

the NOL carryover period is extended to 20 years for NOLs attributable to taxable years 

beginning on or after January 1, 2008.  California allows a two-year carryback period for 

NOLs attributable to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013.  The carryback 

percentage is 50% for an NOL incurred in tax year 2013, 75% for an NOL incurred in tax 

year 2014, and 100% for NOLs incurred in tax years 2015 and later.  Prior to these 

changes, California did not normally allow NOL deductions to be carried back.  For  
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taxable years beginning before January 1, 2000, California allowed 50% of NOLs to be 

carried forward for five years.  For taxable years beginning in 2010 and 2011, California 

suspended the net operating loss (NOL) carryover deduction.  Taxpayers may continue to  

compute and carry over NOLs during the suspension period.  However, taxpayers with 

modified adjusted gross income of less than $300,000 or with disaster loss carryovers are 

not affected by the NOL suspension rules.  Beginning with the 2000 tax year, the 

carryforward periods and carryforward amounts were increased as follows:   

 

       Tax Year      Allowed Carryforward Length of Carryforward 

 

1999 and earlier  50%      5 years 

2000, 2001   55%    10 years 

2002, 2003   60%    10 years 

2004 and after            100%    10 years 

 

In 2002, as part of the budget package, California suspended taxpayers' abilities to claim 

NOL deductions during the 2002 and 2003 tax years.  However, taxpayers were given 

two additional years in which to claim NOLs accrued prior to January 1, 2002, and one 

additional year in which to claim NOLs accrued during the 2002 taxable year.  

 

Prior to the changes made in 2002, special NOL carryforward rules were available to 

specific groups of taxpayers, including new businesses, small businesses, businesses 

located in EZs, LAMBRAs, and TTAs, and taxpayers involved in bankruptcies and 

certain bankruptcy reorganizations.  Starting in 2004, virtually all businesses are treated 

the same way under California's NOL laws.  Specific details regarding these provisions 

are described in Section 10 of Chapter 2C. 

 

14. ALTERNATIVE MINIMUM TAX 

 

Non-corporate taxpayers who take advantage of certain tax preferences must calculate 

and pay an alternative minimum tax (AMT) at a 7% rate if their tentative minimum tax 

(TMT) exceeds their regular tax due.  This rate was 7.25% for tax years 2009 and 2010.  

The purpose of the AMT is to ensure that taxpayers who take advantage of special tax 

reduction provisions such as deductions and credits pay at least some minimum amount 

of tax on their preferentially treated income.  California's AMT rules are patterned after 

federal law, which imposes the AMT at a graduated rate of 26% on the first $175,000 of 

taxable income above the exemption amount and 28% of the amount exceeding $175,000 

above the exemption amount.  California's AMT replaced the add-on preference tax, 

which was a part of California's personal income tax law until 1987. 

 

California taxpayers that believe they may be subject to AMT must perform the  

following steps to determine whether they owe any tax in addition to their regular tax 

liability: 
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 Calculate regular tax liability; 

 

 Calculate alternative minimum taxable income (AMTI) in excess of the 

exemption amount.  Although the AMTI calculation is extremely complex, it  

generally requires taxpayers to forego their deductions and credits and instead  

allows them to subtract only a fixed-dollar AMT exemption amount; 

 

 Multiply AMTI by the AMT rate of 7% (7.25% for tax years 2009 and 2010) 

to calculate TMT; and 

 

 Compare TMT to regular tax liability.  If TMT exceeds regular tax, the 

difference equals the taxpayer's AMT and must be added to the regular tax 

and paid by the taxpayer. 

 

For 2012, the exemption amounts are $83,225 for married persons filing jointly or 

qualifying widow(er) filers; $62,420 for single and head of household filers; and $41,612 

for married persons filing separately.  These exemption amounts phase out to zero if 

alternative minimum taxable income exceeds $312,095 for married taxpayers filing 

jointly or qualifying widow(er) filers; $234,072 for single and head of household filers, 

and $156,047 for married taxpayers filing separately.  The exemption and phase-out 

amounts are indexed annually for inflation. 

 

AMT has an important interaction with tax credits.  Most credits can reduce regular tax 

down to, but not below TMT.  However, certain specific credits are not subject to this 

limitation.  These specific credits are: 

 

 Adoption cost credit; 

 Commercial solar energy credit carryover; 

 Enterprise Zone hiring credit; 

 Enterprise Zone sales or use tax credit; 

 LARZ hiring credit carryover; 

 LARZ sales and use tax credit carryover; 

 Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ) construction hiring credit carryover; 

 Low-income housing credit;  

 Manufacturer's investment credit carryover; 

 Natural Heritage Preservation credit; 

 Orphan drug credit carryover; 

 Other state tax credit; 

 Personal, dependent, senior, senior head of household, dependent parent, joint    

custody head of household, and blind exemption credits. 

 Renter's credit; 

 Research and development credit; 

 Solar energy credit carryover; 

 Targeted Tax Area hiring credit; 

 Targeted Tax Area sales or use tax credit; 
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For a further description of the AMT, refer to Section 14 of Chapter 2C, on the 

Corporation Tax. 

 

 

15. TREATMENT OF PENSION AND OTHER RETIREMENT SAVINGS 

 

The tax treatment of pension and other retirement savings plans has two primary 

elements -- treatment of contributions and treatment of withdrawals.  With almost no 

exceptions, California taxes pension and retirement savings (both contributions and 

withdrawals) in an identical manner as does the federal government.  

 

Taxation of Contributions.  California conforms to federal law with respect to 

contribution limitations of the various pension and retirement savings plans.  Table 4 

provides a quick view of the limitations on contributions for numerous programs. 
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TABLE 4 

 

TYPE OF PLAN  FEDERAL CONTRIBUTION CAPS ADDITIONAL CATCH-UP 

CONTRIBUTIONS FOR PERSONS 

OVER AGE 50 

 

Individual Retirement 

Accounts (IRAs) 

 $3,000 in 2002-2004; 

$4,000 in 2005-2007; 

$5,000 in 2008-2012; indexed for inflation in 

$500 increments beginning in 2009. 

 

$500 in 2002-2005; 

$1,000 in 2006 and thereafter 

Defined contribution 

plans [415(c)s] 

 100% of compensation or $40,000 in 2003; 

$41,000 in 2004; $42,000 in 2005; $44,000 in 

2006; $45,000 in 2007; $46,000 in 2008; 

$49,000 in 2009-2011; and $50,000 in 2012. 

 

 

Defined benefit plans 

[415(b)s] 

 100% of compensation up to $160,000 for 2003, 

$165,000 for 2004; $170,000 for 2005; 

$175,000 for 2006; $180,000 for 2007; 

$185,000 in 2008; $195,000 in 2009-2011;  

$200,000 for 2012; and $205,000 for 2013. 

 

 

Elective deferral plans 

[401(k) plans, 403(b) 

annuities, SEPs 408(k)s] 

 $11,000 in 2002; $12,000 in 2003; $13,000 in 

2004; $14,000 in 2005; $15,000 in 2006; 

$15,500 in 2007 and 2008; $16,500 in 2009 – 

2011; $17,000 in 2012 ; indexed for inflation in 

$500 increments beginning in 2007  

 

$1,000 in 2002; $2,000 in 2003; $3,000 

in 2004; $4,000 in 2005; $5,000 in 

2006 – 2008; 

$5,500 in 2009 and later 

SIMPLE plans [408(p)]  $7,000 in 2002; $8,000 in 2003; $9,000 in 2004; 

$10,000 in 2005 and 2006; $10,500 in 2007; 

$10,500 in 2008; $11,500 in 2009 - 2012; 

indexed for inflation in $500 increments 

beginning in 2006 

$500 in 2002; $1,000 in 2003; $1,500 

in 2004; $2,000 in 2005; $2,500 in 

2006 - 2012; catch-up contributions are 

indexed for inflation in $500 

increments beginning in 2007 

 

457 elective deferral 

plans 

 $11,000 in 2002; $12,000 in 2003; $13,000 in 

2004; $14,000 in 2005; $15,000 in 2006; 

$15,500 in 2007 and 2008; $16,500 in 2009 – 

2011; $17,000 in 2012;  indexed for inflation in 

$500 increments beginning in 2007 

$1,000 in 2002; $2,000 in 2003; $3,000 

in 2004; $4,000 in 2005; $5,000 in 

2006 – 2008; $5,500 in 2009 - 2012.  

Plus, the limit is twice the standard 

limit in a participant's last 3 years 

before retirement. 

 

Source:  http://www.irs.gov/Retirement-Plans/Plan-Participant,-Employee/Retirement-Topics-

Contributions  

 

Federal law provides taxpayers with flexibility to roll one type of plan into another type 

of plan by allowing rollovers among governmental Section 457 plans and Section 403(b) 

plans, rollovers of IRAs to workplace retirement plans, and rollovers of after-tax 

retirement plan contributions (e.g., Roth IRAs).  Those who have Section 457 plans may 

use their plan funds to repay contributions and earnings previously refunded to them or to 

purchase permissive service credits.   

 

 

http://www.irs.gov/Retirement-Plans/Plan-Participant,-Employee/Retirement-Topics-Contributions
http://www.irs.gov/Retirement-Plans/Plan-Participant,-Employee/Retirement-Topics-Contributions
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Taxation of Withdrawals.  As mentioned above, California residents are taxed on all 

income, including income from sources outside California.  An individual who retires in  

 

California will pay tax on the pension income that individual receives after becoming a 

resident, even if that pension was earned while working in another state.  

 

Federal laws prohibit states from taxing nonresidents on pension income received after 

December 31, 1995.  Because California enacted legislation that conforms to the federal 

preemption, California does not impose a tax on specified pension income received by a 

nonresident after December 31, 1995, as follows: 

 

 A qualified pension plan described in Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section  

                  401; 

 A qualified annuity plan described in IRC Section 403(a); 

 A tax-sheltered annuity described in IRC Section 403(b); 

 A governmental plan described in IRC Section 414(d); 

 A deferred compensation plan maintained by a state or local government or an  

    exempt organization described in IRC Section 457; 

 An individual retirement plan described in IRC Section 7701(a)(37); 

 A simplified employee pension (SEP) described in IRC Section 408(k); 

 A trust described in IRC Section 501(c)(18); 

 Plans, programs, or arrangements described in IRC Section 3121(v)(2)(C),  

                  under certain circumstances; and 

 Retired or retainer pay of a member or former member of a uniformed service  

                  computed under United States Code, Title 10, Chapter 71. 

 

16. SPECIAL FEATURES OF THE PERSONAL INCOME TAX 

 

Unearned Income of Dependent Children ("Kiddie Tax").  Children under age 18 or 

children under the age of 24 who are full-time students who have net unearned income 

(i.e., investment income such as dividends, interest, or royalties) of over $1,900 for 2012 

are subject to special rules.  The purpose of the rules is to prevent shifting of income from 

parents to children to avoid tax at the parents' rate.  The child's unearned income in 

excess of $1,900 for 2012 is subject to tax at the parents' tax rate, rather than the child's 

highest tax rate. 

 

Passive Investments.  California generally conforms to federal law (IRC Section 469) as 

that section read on January 1, 2009.  Both state and federal law limit the ability of  

taxpayers to use passive investment losses to offset or shelter unrelated income.  Passive 

investments are trade or business activities in which the taxpayer does not materially 

participate.  Examples include investment in limited partnerships and other business 

entities; and rental activities.  There is a limited exception for rental real estate activities 

where the taxpayer actively participates.  A taxpayer may meet the requirement of active  

participation by participating in making management decisions or arranging for services 

provided by others.  California has not conformed to the federal rules for "real estate  
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professionals"; therefore, those taxpayers are still subject to the California passive loss 

rules. 

 

State and federal laws require the segregation of income and deductions into "active", 

"passive", and "portfolio" categories.  Portfolio income includes interest, dividends,  

royalties, and gain or loss for the disposition of assets providing portfolio income.  

Passive activity losses generally may not be deducted against other income, such as  

wages, salary or portfolio income, or business income that was not derived from passive 

activities.  A similar rule applies to limit passive activity credits. 

 

Current California law treats rental activities (including rental real estate activities) as 

passive activities, regardless of the level of taxpayer participation.  Federal and California  

law permit the deduction of up to $25,000 of losses from rental real estate activities (even 

though considered passive) if the taxpayer actively participates in them and certain tests 

are met.  This $25,000 amount is allowed for taxpayers with AGIs of $100,000 or less 

and is phased out for taxpayers with AGIs between $100,000 and $150,000.  Deductions 

and credits suspended under these rules are treated as suspended losses or credits from a 

passive activity and can be carried forward to years in which there is passive income.  

Any remaining carry forwards is allowed in full when a taxpayer disposes of his or her 

entire interest in the passive activity to an unrelated taxpayer. 

 

Taxpayers must adjust the amount of California passive activity losses for differences in 

other areas of state law (e.g., depreciation).  Also, nonresidents and part-year residents 

must make adjustments to passive activity items in computing California source AGI. 

 

Mandatory Electronic Payments.  As of January 1, 2009, taxpayers subject to the 

Personal Income Tax Law are required to remit all payments electronically once an 

estimated tax or extension payment exceeding $20,000 is made, or upon the filing of an 

original return with a total tax liability over $80,000 for any taxable year that begins on 

or after January 1, 2009. Once the threshold is met, all subsequent payments regardless of 

amount, tax type, or taxable year must be remitted electronically.  Individuals that do not 

send the payment electronically will be subject to a one percent noncompliance penalty.  

A taxpayer may request a waiver of the electronic payment requirement under certain 

circumstances.  [AB 1389 (Assembly Budget Committee) Chapter 751, Statutes of 2008].  

 

Other Special Provisions That Affect Businesses.  There are other special provisions in 

the Personal Income Tax Law that primarily affect business taxpayers.  Several of these 

are described in the Corporation Tax chapter (Chapter 2C). 

 

17.   MINIMUM CORPORATE FRANCHISE TAX 

 

Most corporations taxable by California are subject to a minimum franchise tax.  This is a 

specified dollar amount that businesses must pay even if their tax liability based on net 

income is lower.  See Section 4 of the Corporation Tax chapter (Chapter 2C) for more 

information on the franchise tax. 
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Personal income taxpayers are not subject to a minimum tax.  However, certain entities 

taxed under the Personal Income Tax Law are subject to an annual tax equal to the 

minimum franchise tax.  These include limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships,  

certain limited liability companies, and real estate mortgage investment conduits 

(REMICs). 

 

18. LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES 

 

A limited liability company (LLC) is a non-corporate entity, the revenue from which may 

be included as corporation tax revenue.  An LLC provides its members with limited 

liability and the option to participate actively in the entity's management.  An LLC is 

formed by filing Articles of Organization with the California Secretary of State.  

Although exhibiting the corporate characteristic of limited liability, an LLC with at least 

two members is usually treated as a partnership under the "check-the-box rules" used by 

both the Federal Government and California 

 

In certain cases, an LLC may "check the box" on Federal Form 8832 (Entity 

Classification Election) to be taxed like a C Corporation.  In addition, in certain cases, an 

LLC may "check the box" on Federal Form 2553 (election by a Small Business 

Corporation) to be taxed like an S Corporation.  California applies the same tax treatment 

elected for federal tax purposes. 

 

Under current state law, an LLC not classified as a corporation must pay the $800 annual 

LLC tax and the annual LLC fee if it is organized, doing business, or registered in 

California.  Beginning in 2007, the annual LLC fee is based on the LLC's total income 

from all sources derived from or attributable to California.  [AB 198 (Committee on 

Budget), Chapter 381, Statutes of 2007.]  Total income is defined as the gross income, 

plus the cost of goods sold, that are paid or incurred in connection with the trade or 

business of the taxpayer attributed to California, determined by applying franchise and 

income tax sales factor rules under current law to the total income of the LLC.  Prior to 

2007, the annual LLC fee was based on the LLC's total income from all sources 

reportable to the state.
1
  Total income excludes the flow-through of income from one 

LLC to another LLC if that income has already been subject to California's annual LLC 

fee.  The following chart is used to compute the fee under the new law beginning 2007: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                 
1
 Under prior law, total income was defined as gross income from whatever sources derived plus the cost of 

goods sold that are paid or incurred in connection with a trade or business.  The law lacked a definition for 

"from all sources reportable to the state", but the FTB and taxpayers had defined this term to mean 

worldwide gross receipts without apportionment.  However, this interpretation has been challenged. 
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[---If Total California Annual Income Is---] 

 

    Equal To Or Over ($)                But Not Over ($)                           LLC Fee 

           $   250,000             $   499,999                $    900 

                500,000                  999,999                   2,500 

             1,000,000               4,999,999                   6,000 

             5,000,000               And Over                 11,790 

 

19.   VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS 

 

California allows taxpayers to make voluntary contributions of their own funds to one or 

more organizations listed on the state tax return by checking a box on their return. These  

eligible activities are often called "check-offs", although they are not like the federal 

check-offs that allow taxpayers to direct a portion of their tax liability to the selected 

organization.  These contributions made on a California income tax return are deductible 

as charitable contributions on the following year's tax return for taxpayers that itemize 

deductions.  The deductible amount of the contribution is the amount that exceeds the 

value of the benefit received, if any. 

 

For the 2012 tax year, 18 check-offs will appear on the individual income tax form.  The 

Legislature responded to the proliferation of check-offs on the tax form by requiring 

check-offs to have sunset dates and to meet minimum annual contribution amounts.  The 

Legislature requires new check-offs to wait in line to be added to the form until old 

check-offs are removed (so-called 'queuing language'), or until the FTB determines there 

is room on the form.  The current rules regarding the standards each check-off must meet 

in order to remain on the form are summarized in the following chart: 
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VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION FUND INFORMATION 
2012 California Personal Income Tax Return 

 

 

VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTION FUNDS INITIAL 

TAX 

RETURN 

 

FINAL TAX 

RETURN¹ 

2012 MINIMUM 

CONTRIBUTION 

REQUIREMENT 

ALS/Lou Gehrigs Disease Research Fund 

Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund 

2011 

1987 

2015 

2014 

No minimum requirement for 2012 

$335,154 

Arts Council Fund 2010 2014 $250,000 

California Breast Cancer Research Fund 1992 2012 $364,792 

California Cancer Research Fund 2008 2012 $259,061 

California Firefighters' Memorial Fund 1993 2015 No minimum requirement unless the 

repeal date is deleted 

California Fund for Senior Citizens 1983 2014 $250,000 

California Peace Officer Memorial 

Foundation Fund 

1999 2015 No minimum requirement unless the 

repeal date is deleted 

California Police Activities League (CALPAL) Fund 2010 2014 $250,000 

California Sea Otter Fund 2006 2015 $267,934 

California Seniors Special Fund 1990 No Sunset No minimum requirement 

California Veterans Homes Fund 

Child Victims of Human Trafficking Fund 

2010 

2011 

2014 

2015 

$250,000 

No minimum requirement for 2012 

Emergency Food For Families Fund 1998 2013 $347,554 

Municipal Shelter Spay-Neuter Fund 2011 2015 No minimum requirement for 2012 

Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program 1983 2017 $313,582 

Safely Surrendered Baby Fund 2010 2014 $250,000 

State Children's Trust for the Prevention of Child Abuse 1983 2017 $313,582 
¹   The final tax return is subject to change if the fund has a minimum contribution threshold it fails to meet  

    or if legislation extends the repeal date.  Dates and conditions of application vary for each fund. 

Source:  https://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/vcfsr/indvolcon.shtml
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20. REVENUE 

 

The personal income tax is the largest single source of revenue for the State of California.  

California revenues were $53.0 billion in 2011-12 (57% of state General Fund revenues).  

Revenues are expected to be $60.3 billion in 2012-13. 

 

21. ADMINISTRATION 

 

The FTB administers the personal income tax.  Returns are due annually on the 15th day 

of the fourth month following the close of each taxable year (typically April 15th).  

Individuals are automatically granted an extended filing period of six months for 

submitting their tax returns but are not relieved of their obligation to pay the tax due by  

April 15.  Taxpayers who do not pay 100% of their tax liability by April 15 owe interest 

and are assessed a late payment penalty.  Similarly, taxpayers who do not file by the  

extended due date (typically October 15th) are assessed a penalty for failure to file.  

However, taxpayers who do file on or before the extended due date are not penalized for 

failure to file.  

 

Salaries and wages are subject to withholding by employers.  The Employment 

Development Department (EDD) administers withholding.  If taxpayers have a 

significant amount of income that is not subject to withholding (such as from self-

employment income or investments), they must pay estimated taxes in quarterly 

installments in order to ensure that they remit sufficient funds throughout the course of 

the year to avoid penalties for failure to timely pay.  Taxpayers may be subject to 

penalties if amounts remitted over the course of the year through withholding and/or 

estimated payments are less than prescribed minimum percentages of their total tax 

liability. 

 

The amount of tax due in excess of the amount withheld and/or paid as an estimated 

payment is due on April 15th.  If a taxpayer overpays during the year through 

withholding and/or estimated payments, he or she can direct FTB to apply the 

overpayment to the next year's liability or to refund the overpayment by check. 

 

22. CODE 

 

California Constitution, Article III, Section 26 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code, Division 2, Part 10, Section 17001 et. seq., and Part 10.2, 

Sections 18401-19802 
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CHAPTER 2C 

 

CORPORATION TAX 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Minimum Tax   $800 per year; except for new corporations. 

 

 Revenue*    2010-11 (Actual)           $9.6 billion 

2011-12 (Estimate)           $8.2 billion 

2012-13 (Estimate)           $8.5 billion 

 

 Estimated Number of  

   Returns Filed**   1,559,000 in 2012 

 

 Administration   Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 

 

*Source:  Governor's 2012-13 Budget Summary 

**Franchise Tax Board 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. WHO PAYS THE CORPORATION TAX 

 

The corporation tax applies to all corporations that earn income derived from or 

attributable to sources in California, except insurance companies.  Professional 

corporations, benefit corporations, flexible purpose corporations, associations, certain 

trusts, partnerships and limited liability company(s) (LLCs) that elected to be taxed as 

corporations, banks, or financial institutions, such as savings and loan associations 

(thrifts), pay taxes under the Corporation Tax Law.   

 

Nonprofit organizations are exempt from the corporation tax, except for income that is 

unrelated to their exempt purpose (see Section 1 of this chapter). 

 

Insurance companies are exempted from the corporation tax (and most other state and 

local taxes) pursuant to the state Constitution.  Instead, insurance companies are subject to 

a state gross premiums tax.  (See Chapter 3C of this Reference Book for more information 

on the Insurance Gross Premiums Tax.) 

 

Additional discussion about which corporations are subject to the corporation tax is 

provided in Section 4 below, entitled "Three Separate Taxes Comprise the Corporation 

Tax." 
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2. BENEFIT CORPORATIONS AND FLEXIBLE PURPOSE  

 CORPORATIONS 

 

Beginning on or after January 1, 2012, a new type of corporation called a "benefit 

corporation" can be formed with the purpose of creating general public benefit.  An 

existing corporation can become a "benefit corporation", if certain procedures are 

followed.  In addition, the "benefit corporation" can be created through a merger or 

reorganization. 

 

Beginning on or after January 1, 2012, a new type of corporation called a "flexible 

purpose corporation" can be formed.  An existing corporation can merge or convert into a 

"flexible purpose corporation".  A "flexible purpose corporation" must have a special 

purpose which may include, but is not limited to, charitable and public purpose activities 

that could be carried out by a nonprofit public benefit corporation. 

 

3. CALCULATION OF THE CORPORATION TAX 

 

Taxpayers compute their tax liabilities based on income earned during the year.  The year 

may be either a calendar year or a fiscal year commencing in any month except January, 

as specified by the taxpayer. 

 

A brief summary of how tax is computed is as follows:  Taxpayers must add up all sources 

of non-exempt income and subtract total deductions to which they are entitled, thereby 

arriving at "net income".  They then apply the 8.84% tax rate to net income to determine 

the tax.  Certain tax credits are allowed to reduce this tax, dollar for dollar.  Also, 

corporate taxpayers may be liable for the alternative minimum tax. 

 

The California corporation tax is similar, but not identical to, the federal income tax on 

corporations.  Major differences are identified below. 

 

When corporations do business both within and outside of California, it is necessary to 

determine what portion of total corporate income is taxable by California.  This is done by 

means of formula apportionment, which is described in Chapter 2D, entitled "Determining 

the Income of Multistate and Multinational Corporations". 

 

Refer to Chapter 2B on the Personal Income Tax for further information on taxes imposed 

on unincorporated businesses. 

 

4. THREE SEPARATE TAXES COMPRISE THE CORPORATION TAX 

 

There are three separate taxes levied under the umbrella of the state corporation tax: 

 

 Corporation Franchise Tax.  Every corporation doing business in California 

(regardless of location) is subject to the franchise tax.  "Doing business" means 

"actively engaging in any transaction for the purpose of financial or pecuniary 

gain or profit." 
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The franchise tax is not a tax on income.  Rather, it is a tax for the privilege of 

doing business in California measured by net income earned in California.  

Until changed by the Legislature in AB 1843 (Ackerman), Chapter 862, 

Statutes of 2000, a corporation paid the privilege tax for conducting business in 

the current year based upon (measured by) the corporation's income in the 

preceding year.  As amended, the law requires a corporation to pay tax for the 

privilege of conducting business in this state for the current year based upon 

(measured by) the corporation's net income for the current year. 

 

The majority of corporations taxed by California pay the franchise tax. 

 

 Corporation Income Tax.  Corporations deriving income from California 

sources but not sufficiently present to be classified as "doing business" in 

California are subject to the corporation income tax. 

 

This tax is nearly identical to the franchise tax.  Because it is an income tax, 

however, interest from tax-exempt United States, California, or California  

municipality obligations is not included in income.  Also, corporations are not 

subject to the minimum franchise tax. 

 

The most common situation where the corporation income tax is applied rather 

than the franchise tax is where a corporation operates in California through an 

agent or by using traveling salespersons, so the corporation does not have an 

established presence in the state.  Another business entity commonly subject to 

the corporation income tax is a "business trust", which is a trust established for 

the purpose of making a profit (rather than for mere conservation of assets). 

 

Very few corporate taxpayers file under the corporation income tax.  

 

 Bank Tax.  Banks and financial institutions doing business in California are 

subject to an additional tax (known as the bank tax), which is levied in 

conjunction with the regular corporation tax.  This tax is in lieu of personal 

property taxes and local business taxes, from which banks and financial 

institutions have been exempt since the enactment of the corporation tax in the 

1930s. 

 

The bank tax rate is 2% and is designed to be equivalent to the average amount 

general corporations pay each year in personal property taxes and local 

business taxes (see below for a further discussion). 

 

Federal law has a net income tax which applies to all corporate taxpayers, and does not 

have an add-on bank tax rate. 

 

5. TAX RATES AND MINIMUM FRANCHISE TAX 

 

The corporation franchise tax rate is the greater of 8.84% of net income, or the minimum 

franchise tax. 
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The minimum franchise tax is $800 and must be paid by any corporation subject to the 

franchise tax with a computed tax liability less than this amount.  The $800 minimum 

franchise tax is not imposed for the first year a corporation is in existence.  This 

corporation would, however, be subject to the 8.84% franchise tax rate on any net income. 

 

The corporation income tax rate is 8.84% of net income.  However, the minimum 

franchise tax does not apply. 

 

The bank tax rate, which must be added to the franchise tax rate for banks and financial 

institutions, is statutorily set at 2%.  Banks are subject to the minimum franchise tax if 

their computed tax from the combined corporate plus bank rate is less than $800. 

Federal corporate tax rates range from a low of 15% to a high of 35%.  There is no 

minimum tax in federal law comparable to the state's minimum franchise tax. 

 

6.   INCOME AND DEDUCTIONS 

 

Corporations begin computing their California tax by adding all sources of income, 

including income from business activities, dividends, interest, rents, royalties, gains from 

the sale of property, income from the discharge of debt, and so on.  Unlike federal tax law, 

interest from federal, state and municipal obligations are included in total income under 

California franchise tax.  For corporations, there are few exclusions from income or 

sources of exempt income (unlike those in the personal income tax). 

 

The corporate tax is measured not by gross income, but by net income, which is what we 

commonly think of as business profit.  In order to determine net income, corporations are 

allowed to deduct specified expenses from gross income.   

 

The value of a deduction to a taxpayer, measured in terms of tax eliminated, generally 

may be estimated by multiplying the deduction by the tax rate.  Therefore, the state tax 

savings to a corporation resulting from deducting a $1,000 expense is $88.40 ($1,000 

expense x 8.84% state corporate tax rate). 

 

The most important deductions available to corporations are described below.  Unless 

noted otherwise, these are generally similar to deductions allowed to corporations in 

federal law. 

 

 Trade or Business Expenses.  Taxpayers are permitted to deduct the ordinary 

and necessary expenses of conducting a trade or business.  Typical deductible 

expenses include compensation and fringe benefits for employees, the 

employer's portions of unemployment insurance and social security taxes, rent, 

utilities, advertising, and other similar current costs.  Capital expenditures (that 

is, those that add to the value or useful life of property) cannot be deducted.  

Rather, they must be depreciated.  (See Section 8 below.) 

 

 Taxes.  Corporations may deduct real and personal property taxes.  Local, 

state, federal, and foreign income or profits taxes are not deductible.  Sales 
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taxes are also generally deductible; however, sales taxes incurred in the 

process of manufacturing or constructing property must be capitalized into the 

value of the property. 

 

 Interest.  In general, corporations may deduct all interest paid or accrued on 

business debts.  While generally in conformity with federal law, California 

applies special rules to determine the interest expense of multistate and 

international corporations. 

 

 Meals, Travel, Entertainment, and Private Club Expenses.  Meal, travel, and 

entertainment costs are 50% deductible.  Certain convention and cruise ship  

expenses are subject to special limitations.  California conforms to the federal 

denial of club dues deductions. 

 

 Charitable Contributions.  Corporations may deduct the value of contributions 

to charitable or nonprofit organizations.  The maximum deduction is 10% of 

net income; excess contributions may be carried over to the next five 

succeeding taxable years.  Deductions for contributions of appreciated property 

(property that has increased in value) are generally limited to the basis (cost) of 

the property.   

 

Various other (more specialized) deductions are available to corporations.  Some of these 

deductions are described below. 

 

7. DIVIDENDS RECEIVED DEDUCTION 

 

Under present law, dividends received from general corporations may be eliminated if the 

corporation is a member of the taxpayers combined filing group.   

 

Prior California law allowed corporate taxpayers a dividend received deduction (DRD) for 

dividends received from corporations that were not part of the taxpayer's filing group.  

The purpose of the DRD was to avoid double taxation by California on income reported at 

the corporate level.  The payor of the dividend had to pay California tax on the income 

from which the dividend was paid.  Without DRD relief, the corporation receiving the 

dividend included the dividend in income.   

 

The DRD was computed as a percentage of the dividends received; the percentage varied 

depending upon the taxpayer's ownership interest in the payor corporation and whether the 

income of the payor corporation was subject to California income or franchise tax.  The 

DRD was authorized for payments made by general corporations in Revenue and Taxation 

Code (R&TC) Section 24402; the DRD was authorized for payments made by an 

insurance corporation in R&TC Section 24410. 

 

The courts declared R&TC Sections 24402 and 24410 discriminatory against non-

Californian businesses and, therefore, unconstitutional.  [See Farmer Bros. Co. v. 

Franchise Tax Board (2003) 108 Cal.App. 4
th

 976, cert. denied 540 U.S. 1178, and 

Ceridian Corp. v. Franchise Tax Board (2000) 85 Cal.App. 4
th

 875 (modified 86 Cal.App. 
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4
th

 483).]  The FTB, with concurrence from Legislative Counsel, holds that for taxable 

years beginning after December 1999, neither code section provides a DRD.  

 

In 2004, the Legislature responded to the Ceridian decision with AB 263 (Oropeza), 

Chapter 868, Statutes of 2004.  For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2004, 

corporations are allowed an 80% DRD (85% beginning in 2009) for dividends received 

from 80% or greater owned insurance companies.  If the insurance company is 

overcapitalized (stuffed), the 80% DRD is phased out based on a "premiums-received-to- 

total-income-earned" ratio.  For years beginning before January 1, 2004, the taxpayer may 

elect by March 28, 2004, to have the 80% DRD and phase out ratio apply.  If a proper 

election is made, for taxable years beginning before 2004, the taxpayer may deduct 

expenses associated with earning the dividend income.  AB 263 also contains other 

provisions addressing transactions between general corporations and insurance companies. 

 

No legislation has been enacted that amends R&TC Section 24402, which previously 

allowed a DRD for dividends received from general corporations. 

 

8. DEPRECIATION AND AMORTIZATION 

 

Depreciation and amortization deductions allow taxpayers to recover capital investments 

in assets over the useful lives of those assets by deducting reasonable allowances for the 

exhaustion or wear and tear of the property.  The idea behind depreciation is that, since 

capital assets are used over several years, the cost of acquisition is similarly deducted over 

several years (rather than all at once in the year in which the asset is purchased).  

 

Depreciation and amortization are allowed for property, other than land, used in a trade or 

business or for the production of income (investment), including most kinds of tangible 

property and improvements to real property, farm buildings, machinery and other physical 

assets.  Intangible assets that may be amortized include copyrights, licenses, franchises, 

goodwill, and covenants not to compete.  Depreciation is not allowed for property used for 

personal purposes, inventory and stock in trade, land, and depletable natural resources.  

(See Section 9 on Depletion below.) 

 

For corporation tax purposes, California generally does not allow use of the federal 

depreciation system called the Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System (MACRS).  

Instead, California uses a depreciation system generally known as the Asset Depreciation 

Range (ADR) system, which is similar to that used in federal law for pre-1981 assets. The 

ADR system generally requires the use of longer useful lives and fewer accelerated 

depreciation methods than would be allowed under the federal MACRS system. 

 

Under the ADR system, assets are generally depreciated over the remaining useful life of 

the asset or over a designated "class life".  Under this system, assets are grouped into more 

than 100 classes, and a guideline "life" for each class is established.  For purposes of the 

ADR system, taxpayers may use a straight-line depreciation or certain rapid depreciation 

methods (such as double declining balance, 150% declining balance, sum-of-the-years-

digits, or other consistent methods).  The amount that is to be depreciated is the property's 

basis, which is typically its cost when acquired.  Any depreciation that would be greater 
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than that computed under the straight-line method is considered excess depreciation and is 

subject to the alternative minimum tax.  

 

Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2005 [AB 115 (Klehs), 

Chapter 691, Statutes of 2005], the Corporate Tax Law conforms to the Internal Revenue 

Code (IRC) Section 179 expensing provisions to the same extent under the Personal 

Income Tax Law.  That is, a corporate taxpayer with a sufficiently small amount of annual 

investment is able to elect to deduct up to $25,000 of the cost of qualifying property 

placed in service for the taxable year in lieu of the current law "additional first-year 

depreciation" of up to $2,000.  The $25,000 amount is reduced (but not below zero) by the 

amount by which the cost of qualifying property placed in service during the taxable year 

exceeds $200,000.  Prior to AB 115, only S corporations (see Section 11 of this Chapter) 

were permitted an IRC Section 179 deduction under the California tax law. 

 

State law allows taxpayers doing business in certain economic incentive areas such as 

Enterprise Zones (EZs), Local Agency Military Base Recovery Areas (LAMBRAs), and 

Targeted Tax Areas (TTAs) to treat the cost of qualified property as an expense in the 

year the property is placed in service in the area. 

 

9. DEPLETION 

 

California closely conforms to federal law in the area of depletion deductions.  Depletion 

deductions allow owners of natural resources to recover the costs of the resource as it is 

extracted, harvested, or otherwise diminished.  Depletion is to the owner of an oil or gas 

well or mineral or timber property what depreciation is to the owner of a capital asset.  

 

Depletion deductions are allowed to any taxpayer with an economic interest in a property 

containing depletable resources.  Two alternative depletion computations are provided in 

both state and federal law.  The taxpayer must compute the depletion amount both ways 

and may deduct the larger amount.  The two methods are: 

 

 Cost Depletion.  Cost depletion requires the taxpayer to estimate the yield of 

the resource (e.g., 10 million barrels of oil).  Then, the cost associated with 

extracting the resource is divided by the number of units.  The resulting 

quotient is the cost depletion per unit.  That amount multiplied by the number 

of units extracted and sold during the year determines the cost depletion that is  

deductible for the year.  Each year, the cost basis of the property is reduced by 

the amount of depletion deducted for that year until the entire cost basis has  

been deducted.  At that point, no additional cost depletion is allowed. 

 

 Percentage Depletion.  Most depletable property qualifies for this alternate 

computation method.  However, it is not available for timber.  Under 

percentage depletion, a flat statutorily set percentage of annual gross income 

from the natural resource property is taken as the depletion deduction each 

year.  Thus, the deduction bears no relationship to the actual amount of the 

resource extracted during the year.  However, the laws set an upper limit on the 
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deduction of 50% of the taxable income from the property (100% for oil and 

gas properties).   

 

10. CARRYOVER OF NET OPERATING LOSSES 
 

Businesses incur "net operating losses" (NOLs) for tax purposes when allowable 

deductions exceed gross income.  When deductions are less than gross income, the 

business has net income (i.e., shows a profit).  A business may show a net operating loss 

for tax purposes without incurring actual out-of-pocket losses, due to the allowance of tax 

deductions for items that may not be actual out-of-pocket expenses, such as carryforward 

of deductions from prior years and depreciation. 

 

In a year when a business shows a net operating loss for tax purposes, the business is not 

required to pay any corporation taxes beyond the minimum franchise tax.   

 

Similar to federal law, California law generally allows businesses with NOLs to carry 

over these losses and deduct them against income earned in future years.  

 

 For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2004, and before January 1, 2008, state law 

allows the following NOLs: 

 

 

NOL TYPE 

 

NOL % ALLOWED 

TO BE CARRIED OVER 

 

 

CARRYOVER 

PERIOD 

 

General NOL 

 

100% 

 

10 Years 

 

 

Specified Disaster Loss 

 

 

100% 

 

15 years 

 

 

Pierce's Disease 

 

 

100% 

 

  9 Years 

 

Economic Development Areas 

 

 

100% 

 

15 Years 

 

In 2008, the following changes were made to NOLs: 

 

o NOL deductions were suspended for taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2010, for a corporation with net 

business income subject to tax of $500,000 or more.   

 

o NOL deductions were suspended for taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2010 and before January 1, 2012, for a corporation with pre-



  CHAPTER 2C 

  CORPORATION TAX 

 59 

apportioned income after state adjustments of $300,000 or more. 

 

o The NOL carryover period is extended by four years for NOLs attributable to 

tax years beginning before January 1, 2008, three years for NOLs incurred in 

taxable year 2008, two years for NOLs incurred in taxable year 2009, and one 

year for NOLs incurred in taxable year 2010. 

 

o The NOL carryover period is extended to 20 years for NOLs attributable to 

taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008. 

 

o California conforms to the federal NOL carryback rules for NOLs attributable 

to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, with the following 

modifications: 

 

 An NOL may be carried back only two years.  (Federal law has special 

rules that in some cases allow an NOL to be carried back for a longer   

 period). 

 

 The carryback amount of an NOL attributable to taxable year 2013 is 

limited to 50% of the net operating loss. 

 

 The carryback amount of a NOL attributable to taxable year 2014 is limited 

to 75% of the net operating loss. 

 

 California conforms to the federal carryback period for a Real Estate 

Investment Trust (REIT) and a corporate equity reduction interest loss, 

which is zero. 

 

11. TREATMENT OF S CORPORATIONS 

 

"S corporations" are named for a subchapter of federal income tax laws (United States 

Code, Title 26, Subchapter S) that grant certain corporations special tax treatment.  

 

As defined by federal law, S corporations are domestic corporations with 100 or fewer 

shareholders, only one class of stock, no shareholders other than individuals, estates, 

trusts, and certain exempt organizations, and not a member of an affiliated group.  In 

general, S corporations must be involved in an active trade or business and are limited 

with respect to the amount of passive investment income from royalties, dividends, and 

interest they may receive.  Corporations that meet these definitions may elect to be exempt 

from the federal corporate tax, and instead pass through the corporation's taxable income 

to its individual shareholders.  

 

A corporation's California tax status must be the same as its federal tax status is.  That is, a 

corporation that elects to be taxed as an S corporation for federal purposes must be taxed 

as an S corporation for California tax purposes.  Similarly, a corporation cannot be an S 

corporation for California tax purposes unless it has a valid federal S election in place. 

 



  CHAPTER 2C 

  CORPORATION TAX 

 60 

Once a business elects S corporation status, its corporate income is taxed at a rate of 1.5% 

instead of the normal 8.84%, and credits are limited to one-third of the C corporation 

credit amounts.  One hundred percent of the corporation's items of income, loss, 

deduction, and credits are passed through to the shareholders in accordance with their 

respective interests in the corporation. 

 

Federal and state laws permit S corporations to own 100% of another domestic 

corporation and to make an election to treat the owned corporation as a Qualified 

Subchapter S Subsidiary (QSub).  All of the activities, assets, liabilities, income, 

deductions, and losses of the QSub are treated as the activities, assets, liabilities, income, 

deductions, and losses of the parent S corporation.  The parent S corporation pays tax on 

the entire amount of income reported and passes the full amount through to its 

shareholders.  California law imposes a tax equal to the minimum franchise tax to the 

QSub. 

 

Under California law, S corporations are permitted to use the MACRS depreciation 

system (described in Section 8 of this chapter) rather than the ADR system.  In addition, 

California S corporations are not subject to the alternative minimum tax.  (See Section 14 

of this chapter.) 

 

12. CAPITAL GAINS AND LOSSES 

 

Capital gains are profits from the sale of property and other capital assets.  Capital assets 

are defined as all property except the following:  inventories, property held for sale in the 

ordinary course of business, depreciable business property, and real property used in 

business.  Capital assets include real property (land and buildings), personal property, and 

intangible assets (such as stock). 

 

Capital gains are measured as the difference between the amount realized when the asset 

is sold and the asset's basis (normally the original purchase price).  Any amounts invested 

in improvements are added to the basis; costs of the sale are deducted from the sales price.  

The gain is generally recognized in the year the asset is sold or exchanged. 

 

Capital gains classified as a different type of income from the "ordinary income" of a 

corporation arising from its trade or business activities.  Under both federal and California 

law, corporate capital gains are taxed the same as ordinary income; that is, they are fully 

includible in income subject to tax.  Under California and federal law, corporate capital 

losses may be fully deducted against capital gains, but excess capital losses cannot be 

deducted against ordinary income.  Both California and federal law provide that these 

excess losses may be carried forward for five years and deducted against capital gains in 

future years.  Both laws allow 100% capital loss carryforwards.  Federal law permits a 

three-year carryback in addition to the carryover. 

 

13. TAX CREDITS 

 

Tax credits reduce tax liability dollar for dollar, but not below the annual minimum tax, if 

applicable.  Thus, they operate differently from deductions, whose value in reducing tax 
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liability equals the amount of the deduction multiplied by the highest marginal tax rate to 

which the taxpayer is subject.  (See Section 6 of this chapter.) 

 

Tax credits available under the corporation tax are intended to provide businesses 

incentives to engage in certain activities that are socially or economically desirable.  Most 

credits are also available to businesses that file under the Personal Income Tax Law.  The 

amount of tax credits allowable in any taxable year may be limited by the taxpayer's 

alternative minimum tax liability or by tentative minimum tax.  (See Section 14 of this 

chapter for further information.) 

 

Some of the tax credits allowed in state law are similar to credits offered in federal law.  

However, in most cases, the federal credit amounts are greater because the federal tax 

burden is approximately four times greater than California's.  This can be seen by 

comparing the rate structures:  California's corporate rate is 8.84%, while the top federal 

corporate rate is 35%.  As a result, many state income tax credits patterned after federal 

credits are roughly one-fourth the size of the federal credit. 

 

2008-2009 Credit Limitation.  For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008 

and before January 1, 2010, business credits are limited for taxpayers with income subject 

to tax greater than $500,000.  Total business credits are limited to 50% of tax (before the 

application of credits).  The carryover period for any credit that is limited is increased by 

the number of taxable years the credit (or any portion thereof) is not allowed. 

 

Credit Assignments.  Effective for taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2008, a 

member of a combined reporting group, when certain conditions are met, may make an 

irrevocable assignment of a credit or available credit carryover to another member of the 

combined reporting group.  Assigned credits may be used to reduce tax in taxable years 

beginning on or after January 1, 2010. 

 

Several of the major credits in California Corporation Tax Law are described below: 

 

Donated Agricultural Product Transportation Credit.  Taxpayers may claim a tax 

credit equal to 50% of the costs for transporting donated agricultural products to a 

nonprofit organization. 

 

Upon receipt or delivery of the donated agricultural product, the nonprofit organization 

must provide the transporter a certificate signed and dated by an authorized representative 

of the organization.  The certificate must state the name and address of the recipient 

organization, the type and quantity of the product donated, the distance the product was 

transported, the name of the transporter and the taxpayer donor, and that the product was 

donated pursuant to the Food and Agriculture Code.  The taxpayer must provide a copy of 

the certificate to the FTB upon request. 

 

The agricultural products transportation credit applies to taxable years beginning on or 

after January 1, 1996.  This credit may be carried over until exhausted and may not reduce 

the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 
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Donated Fresh Fruits or Fresh Vegetables Credit.  Qualified taxpayers may claim a 

credit equal to 10% of the costs of fresh fruits or fresh vegetables donated to a California 

food bank. 

 

A “qualified taxpayer” is defined as the person responsible for planting the crop, 

managing the crop, and harvesting the crop from the land.  The cost of donated fresh fruits 

or fresh vegetables is the cost of those products that would otherwise be included in 

inventory costs.  Generally, inventory costs would include both the direct costs and the 

allocated indirect costs required to produce the fresh fruits or fresh vegetables.  Because 

inventory costs are costs of doing business, the credit is available only to a business that is 

also a qualified taxpayer. 

 

The recipient of a donation of fresh fruits or fresh vegetables must provide to the donor 

certification of the type and quantity of the products donated, the name of the donor or 

donors, the name and address of the donee nonprofit organization, and, as provided by the 

donor, the estimated value of the donated products and the location where the donated 

product was grown.  A donor that is a qualified taxpayer must provide a copy of the 

certificate to the FTB upon request. 

 

The fresh fruits and fresh vegetables credit applies to taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2012, and before January 1, 2017.  This credit may be carried forward for up to 

six years and may not reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 

 

Farmworker Housing Credit.  Beginning January 1, 2009, the standalone Farmworkers 

Housing Credit (FWHC) discussed below was repealed [SB 1247 (Lowenthal), Chapter 

521, Statutes of 2008], and is now incorporated within and required to be administered as 

part of the Low-Income Housing Credit (LIHC) program. 

 

For both personal income and corporation taxpayers, California law allowed a 50% credit 

for the qualified costs of construction or rehabilitation of qualified farmworker housing 

beginning January 1, 1997. 

 

For banks and financial corporations, California law also allowed a 50% credit on below-

market rate loans used to finance the construction or rehabilitation of qualified 

farmworker housing.  The credit equaled 50% of the difference between the amount of 

interest income that would have been collected by a bank or financial corporation had the 

loan rate been one point above prime and the lesser amount of interest income actually 

due for the term of the loan. 

 

The aggregate amount of both credits available for allocation could not exceed $500,000 

for any taxable year.  However, any unallocated credits left over during one year was able 

to be carried forward for allocation during subsequent years.   

 

Disabled Access Credit.  For both personal income and corporation taxpayers, California 

law allows a 50% credit to eligible small businesses for expenses incurred up to $250 to 

comply with the federal Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.  The disabled access 

credit applies to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1996 and continues 
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indefinitely.  This credit may be carried over until exhausted and may not reduce the tax 

below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes.  There is also a comparable federal 

credit. 

 

Enhanced Oil Recovery Credit.  Federal law allows taxpayers an enhanced oil recovery 

credit that is combined with several other credits to form the general business credit.   

 

This credit is allowed in an amount up to 15% of the taxpayer's qualified enhanced oil 

recovery costs.  The qualified costs are defined as amounts paid or incurred for qualifying 

tangible property that may be depreciated or amortized and are an integral part of a 

qualified enhanced oil recovery project involving one or more tertiary recovery methods.   

 

If a credit is allowed for these costs, the amount otherwise deductible or required to be 

depreciated or recovered through depletion must be reduced by the amount of the 

allowable credit. 

 

The California enhanced oil recovery credit amount is one-third of the taxpayer's allowed 

federal enhanced oil recovery credit.  The state credit applies only to oil recovery projects 

located within California.   

 

A taxpayer's election not to take the credit for federal purposes prevents the taxpayer from 

claiming a state credit. 

 

The enhanced oil recovery credit applies to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 

1996 and continues indefinitely.  This credit may be carried over for up to 15 years and 

may not reduce the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 

 

Community Development Financial Institution Deposit Credit.  Under the Corporation 

Tax Law and the Personal Income Tax Law, a credit is allowed for 20% of the amount of 

each "qualified deposit" into a "community development financial institution" (CDFI).  A 

qualified deposit is defined, as is equal to or greater than $50,000 and made for a 

minimum duration of 60 months.  A CDFI is defined as a private financial institution 

located in California and certified by the California Organized Investment Network 

(COIN) as an entity with community development as its primary mission.  CDFIs may 

lend in urban, rural, or reservation-based communities in California.  A CDFI may include 

a community development bank, a community development loan fund, a community 

development credit union, a micro-enterprise fund, a community development 

corporation-based lender, and community development venture fund. 

 

The aggregate amount of qualified deposits made by all taxpayers is limited to $10 million 

for each calendar year, thus limiting the value of the credit to $2 million annually. 

 

Any previously allowed credit will be recaptured if the qualified deposit is withdrawn 

before the end of the 60th month and not re-deposited or reinvested in another CDFI 

within 60 days.  However, the recapture penalty is lower if the full amount invested is not 

withdrawn.  An amount equal to 20% of any reduction in the qualified deposit will be 
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recaptured if the qualified deposit is reduced before the end of the 60th month, but not 

below $50,000. 

 

This credit is effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1997 and before 

January 1, 2017.  This credit may be carried over for up to four years and may not reduce 

the tax below tentative minimum tax for AMT purposes. 

 

Employer-Provided Child Care.  The Employer-Provided Child Care Credit discussed 

below was repealed by its own terms on December 1, 2012. 

 

California allowed credits to employers under both the personal income tax and the 

corporation tax for providing child care services to their employees.  

 

Specifically:  (a) a 30% credit was allowed to employers or building owners for the costs 

of start-up expenses related to establishing or expanding a child care program or 

constructing an on-site or near-site child care facility for employees' or tenants' 

dependents; (b) a 30% credit was allowed for employer costs to operate child care 

information and referral services, with a maximum dollar credit; and (c) a 30% credit was 

allowed for employer contributions to child care arrangements for employees' children 

under the age of 12, such as on-site service, center-based service, home provider care or 

in-home care; this credit could not exceed $360 per year per child.  Only amounts paid 

directly by employers to child care providers qualify for the credit.  There are no 

comparable federal credits. 

 

Low-Income Housing Construction and Rehabilitation.  California allows a tax credit 

against the personal income tax, corporation tax, and insurance gross premiums tax for 

construction or rehabilitation of low-income housing in California.  The credit is equal to 

30% of amounts invested and is claimed over four years (9%, 9%, 9%, and 3%).  Except 

in certain cases, it is available in addition to the comparable credit offered under federal 

law (9% annually for 10 years for nonsubsidized housing, 4% annually for 10 years for 

subsidized housing).   

 

To qualify for the state credit, a taxpayer must receive an allocation from the Tax Credit 

Allocation Committee, and the rents must be maintained at low-income levels for 30 years 

(compared to 15 years for the federal credit).  For buildings located in certain areas or 

census tracts, the federal credit must be reduced for the state credit to be claimed.   

 

Corporations may elect to assign any portion of the credit to an affiliated bank or 

corporation.  This credit can reduce regular tax below tentative minimum tax.  The state 

credit will remain in effect as long as the federal credit remains in effect.  The federal 

credit was made permanent by the Revenue Reconciliation Act of 1993.  Federal law 

provides more than $50 million in credits annually to California.  California offers $70 

million in state credits. 

 

Beginning January 1, 2009, and before January 1, 2016, the LIHC (other than LIHC for 

farmworker housing) can be allocated to the partners of a partnership owning a low-

income housing project, in accordance with a partnership agreement, regardless of how 
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the federal LIHC is allocated to the partners or whether the allocation of the credit under 

the terms of the agreement has substantial economic effect [SB 585 (Lowenthal), Chapter 

382, Statures 2008].   
 

Beginning January 1, 2009, the standalone FWHC discussed above was repealed [SB 

1247 (Lowenthal), Chapter 521, Statutes 2008], and is now incorporated within and 

required to be administered as part of the LIHC program.  The annual cap remains at 

$500,000 plus any unallocated credits under prior law.  Any FWHC that is unallocated or 

returned is to be added to the annual credit allocation cap until exhausted.  

 

Research Expenditures.  California allows a tax credit under the personal income tax and 

the corporation tax for incremental research expenditures made during the year.  For 

taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, California conforms to the federal 

research credit as of the "specified date" of January 1, 2009, with significant  

modifications.  California specifically does not conform to the federal research credit 

termination date; thus, unlike the federal credit, the California research credit is 

permanent.  Other California modifications are discussed below. 

 

California Credit Percentages.  California modifies: 

 

1) The federal 20% general credit to be 15% of qualified expenses; and 

 

2) The federal 20% university "basic research" credit to be 24% of qualified expenses. 

 

California Research.  The terms "qualified research" and "basic research" include only 

research conducted in California.  In computing gross receipts under IRC Section 41 

(c)(5), only gross receipts from the sale of property held for sale in the ordinary course or 

business, that is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within California, will be included.  

Qualified research expenses are modified to exclude any amount paid or incurred for 

tangible personal property that is eligible for the exemption from sales or use tax under 

R&TC Section 6378. 

 

University "Basic Research" Expenses.  Similar to federal law, only corporations qualify 

for the credit for the university "basic research" credit.  However, California modifies 

"basic research" to include any basic or applied research including scientific inquiry or 

original investigation for advancement of scientific or engineering knowledge or the 

improved effectiveness of commercial products, except the term does not include any of 

the following: 

 

1) Basic research conducted outside California; 

 

2) Basic research in social sciences, arts or humanities; 

 

3) Basic research for purposes of improving a commercial product if the improvements 

relate to style, taste, cosmetic, or seasonal design factors; or, 
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4) Any expenditure paid or incurred to ascertain existence, location, extent, or quality of 

any deposit of ore or other mineral, including oil or gas. 

 

Alternative Incremental Research Credit.  For taxable years beginning on or after January 

1, 2010, California conforms to the alternative incremental credit as of the "specified date" 

of January 1, 2009, with modifications.  For California purposes, the federal credit rates of 

3%, 4%, and 5% are modified to be 1.49%, 1.98%, and 2.48%, respectively, and the 

alternative incremental credit may no longer be elected in taxable years beginning on or 

after January 1, 2010. 

 

Alternative Simplified Credit.  California specifically does not conform to the alternative 

simplified credit. 

 

Eligible Expenses.  California generally conforms to the federal rules for eligible 

expenses, but does not conform to the special rules that allow qualified research expenses 

to include 100% of amounts paid or incurred by the taxpayer to an eligible small business, 

university, or federal laboratory for qualified energy research. 

 

Enterprise Zones (EZs), Targeted Tax Areas (TTAs), Manufacturing Enhancement 

Areas (MEAs), and Local Agency Military Base Recovery Areas (LAMBRAs) 

Incentives.  California provides an array of tax incentives to businesses and their 

employees located in designated EZs, TTAs, MEAs and LAMBRAs.  These designated 

zones and areas are economically depressed areas of the state designated by the 

Department of Housing and Community Development.  Special incentives include: 

 

 For EZs.  A tax credit for sales or use taxes paid on the purchase of qualified 

machinery and machinery parts, (which can reduce regular tax below tentative 

minimum tax (TMT); a tax credit to employers for wages paid to qualified 

employees working in the zone (which can also reduce regular tax below 

TMT); a tax deduction for net interest income arising from loans made to zone 

businesses; and expensing of all or part of the cost of qualified property. 

 

 For TTAs.  A tax credit for sales or use taxes paid on the purchase of qualified 

machinery and machinery parts, a tax credit for wages paid to qualified 

employees working in the targeted tax area, and expensing of all or part of the 

cost of qualified property.  Both credits can reduce regular tax below tentative 

minimum tax. 

 

 For MEAs.  A credit for wages paid to qualified employees working in the 

MEA. 

 

 For LAMBRA.  A tax credit for sales or use taxes paid on the purchases of 

qualified machinery and machinery parts; a tax credit to employers for wages 

paid to qualified employees working in the area; and expensing of all or part of 

the cost of qualified property. 
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These tax advantages are available during the 15-year life of each designated EZ, TTA, or 

MEA, and during the eight-year life of each designated LAMBRA.  Federal law provides 

limited benefits to a very small number of "Empowerment Zones" and "Enterprise 

Communities".  Some of these federal zones partially overlap California's geographically-

based economic incentive areas.  Regions of overlap include Los Angeles, Santa Ana, San 

Diego, San Francisco, Oakland, Imperial County, Watsonville, and Fresno. 

 

Prior-Year Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT) Credit.  While the AMT ensures that a 

taxpayer's tax liability is not reduced to zero by tax preferences, the purpose is not to 

eliminate the use of the tax preferences, but to defer them.  (See Section 14 for a 

discussion of the AMT.)  The prior-year AMT credit is allowed for AMT paid in a prior 

year by taxpayers that are not liable for AMT in the current year.  The amount of the 

allowable credit in any tax year is limited to the regular tax less the refundable credits 

(with no carryover provisions and the credit for taxes paid to other states).  The credit may 

be claimed by both personal income and bank and corporation tax filers. 

 

Prison Inmate Labor.  A credit is allowed for 10% of the amount of wages paid to each 

prisoner employed in a joint venture pursuant to an agreement with the Director of 

Corrections.  

 

New Jobs Tax Credit.  California allows a New Jobs Tax credit, for taxable years 

beginning on or after January 1, 2009, to a qualified employer in the amount of $3,000 for 

each qualified full-time employee hired in the taxable year, determined on an annual full-

time equivalent basis.  The credit is allocated by the FTB and has a cap of $400 million 

for all taxable years.  The credit remains in effect until December 1 of the calendar year 

after the year in which the cumulative credit limit has been reached and is repealed as of 

that date.  Any credits not used in the taxable year may be carried forward up to eight 

years. 

 

14. ALTERNATIVE MINIMUM TAX (AMT) 

 

Corporate taxpayers that take advantage of certain tax preferences (exemptions, deferrals, 

or deductions) must compute an AMT at a 6.65% rate (C corporations) or 8.65% rate (for 

banks and financial institutions) and pay this if it exceeds the amount of regular tax due.  

The purpose of the AMT is to ensure that taxpayers who take advantage of special tax 

reduction provisions in the tax code pay at least some minimum amount of tax on income 

receiving preferential treatment.  These AMT rules generally conform to federal law, 

which imposes the corporate AMT at a 20% rate. 

 

Computation of the AMT is rather complex.  In simplified terms, the taxpayer is required 

to first compute the regular tax, using the rules described in this chapter and applying the 

regular corporate rate of 8.84%.  Then the taxpayer must compute the "tentative minimum 

tax," which is calculated by including more income and by adding back certain tax 

preferences that were claimed during the first calculation, then subtracting an exemption 

amount ($40,000 for corporations) and applying the AMT rate of 6.65% (for C 

corporations) or 8.65% (for banks and financial institutions) to the difference.  If the 
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"tentative minimum tax" is higher than the computed regular tax, then the difference is the 

AMT due, which must be paid in addition to the regular tax. 

 

A simple example of this procedure is shown in Table 5. 

 

These rules for corporations generally apply to personal income taxpayers as well. 

 

AMT has an important interaction with tax credits.  Most credits can reduce regular tax 

down to, but not below, TMT.  However, specific credits are available to reduce regular 

tax below TMT to determine a taxpayer's regular tax liability.  These credits include: 

 

 Enterprise zone hiring credit; 

 Enterprise zone sales or use tax credit; 

 Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ) construction hiring credit carryover; 

 LARZ hiring credit carryover; 

 LARZ sales or use tax credit carryover; 

 Low-income housing credit; 

 Manufacturers' investment credit carryover. 

 Program area hiring credit carryover; 

 Program area sales or use tax credit carryover; 

 Research and development credit; 

 Solar energy credit carryover; and, 

 Targeted Tax Area hiring credit. 

 

In addition, the solar energy credit carryover and commercial solar energy credit carryover 

can reduce a taxpayer's alternative minimum tax liability. 
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TABLE 5 

 

 

EXAMPLE:  COMPUTATION OF ALTERNATIVE MINIMUM TAX (AMT) 

FOR A HYPOTHETICAL CORPORATION 

 

 

Regular Tax Computation: 

 

1)  Income of $500,000 less deductions of $300,000 = 

      Net Income of $200,000 times 8.84% rate = 

 

 Regular Tax of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   $17,680 

 

2)  Tentative Minimum Tax Computation: 

 

      Income of $500,000 less deductions of $300,000 

      plus income adjustments of $50,000 plus tax preferences added back of $100,000 = 

      Alternative Minimum Taxable Income of $350,000 less exemption of $40,000 =  

$310,000 times 6.65% rate = 

 

Tentative Minimum Tax of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$20,615 

 

3)  Difference between Tentative Minimum Tax and Regular Tax  

            [$20,615 less $17,680] =  

 

AMOUNT of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$  2,935 

 

4)  Total Tax Computation: 

        

      Regular Tax plus AMT [$17,680 plus $2,935] = 

 

 Total Tax Liability of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$20,615 

 

Tax preference items and required adjustments are generally similar to those in federal 

law.  Specific rules for computing each of these are provided in the law. 
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15. TAX EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS 

 

In 2011, approximately 138,000 organizations filed returns as exempt from the 

corporation tax.  In general, these organizations can be described as nonprofit 

educational, religious, charitable, literary, scientific, civic, fraternal, and social 

organizations.  State and federal rules for qualifying as a tax-exempt organization are 

nearly identical. 

 

There are restrictions on the amount of lobbying in which such organizations may engage 

and retain their tax-exempt status. 

 

Certain nonprofit business and labor organizations, chambers of commerce, real estate 

boards, cemeteries, certain political organizations, and various beneficiary and retirement 

organizations may qualify for tax exempt status. 

 

Almost all organizations that are exempt from the corporation tax nonetheless are subject 

to tax on "unrelated business income" (UBI) in excess of $1,000 per year.  The UBI is 

income from a trade or business activity that is regularly carried on and is not related to 

the organization's exempt purpose.  The tax rate on UBI is the regular corporate rate of 

8.84%.  Businesses that are taxed on UBI are not subject to the minimum franchise tax. 

 

16. REVENUE 

 

The corporation tax is the third largest source of General Fund revenue.  In fiscal year 

(FY) 2010-11 it generated approximately $9.6 billion.   

 

17. ADMINISTRATION 

 

The FTB administers the corporation tax, and also is charged with setting the bank tax 

rate each year.  

 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, estimated payments of tax 

liability are due as follows:   

 

o 1st quarter installment   30% of estimated tax  

o 2nd quarter installment  40% of estimated tax  

o 3rd quarter installment    0% of estimated tax  

o 4th quarter installment  30% of estimated tax  

 

Corporate taxpayers who are not required to make an estimate payment installment in the 

first quarter are required to make the following installment payments in subsequent 

quarters:  

 

o 2nd quarter installment  60% of estimated tax  

o 3rd quarter installment    0% of estimated tax  

o 4th quarter installment  40% of estimated tax  



  CHAPTER 2C 

  CORPORATION TAX 

 71 

 

Corporate taxpayers who are not required to make an estimate payment installment in the 

first two quarters are required to make the following installment payments in subsequent 

quarters:  

 

o 3rd quarter installment  70% of estimated tax  

o 4th quarter installment  30% of estimated tax  

 

Corporate taxpayers who are not required to make an estimate payment installment in the 

first three quarters are required to pay 100% in the fourth quarter.  

 

Returns are due on the 15th day of the third month following the close of the taxable 

year.  Taxpayers are subject to penalties if estimated payments remitted over the course 

of the year are less than prescribed minimum percentages of tax liability.  

 

Taxpayer appeals of disputed tax assessments are made first to the FTB, then to the 

Board of Equalization (BOE).  After payment, taxpayers may appeal in the courts.   

 

Taxpayers may post deposits with the FTB in lieu of paying disputed tax assessments.  

Taxpayer appeals of denied refund claims may be made either to the BOE or in state 

court. 

 

The paperless automatic extension program, similar to the program for personal income 

taxpayers, grants a seven-month automatic extension of time to file the tax return for all 

corporations that are not suspended.  California banks and corporations are still required 

to pay 100% of the current tax liability by the 15th day of the third month following the 

close of the taxable year.  Taxpayers who owe additional tax would be required to send in 

their payment coupon by their original due date. 

 

As under current law, taxpayers who do not pay 100% of the tax liability by their original 

due date will owe interest and will be assessed the late-payment penalty.  A return filed 

by the extended due date, with or without 100% of the tax liability paid by the original 

due date, will be considered to be a timely-filed return. 

 

Electronic Funds Transfer Requirement.  Taxpayers subject to the Corporation Tax 

Law and that meet certain requirements must pay all tax liabilities, both estimated 

payments and any tax due with the return, via electronic funds transfer. 

 

In general, taxpayers subject to Corporation Tax Law must pay via electronic funds 

transfer if any quarterly estimated tax payment exceeds $20,000 or their total tax liability 

exceeds $80,000.  In addition, any taxpayer may use electronic funds transfer if the FTB 

grants permission to a request from the taxpayer. 

 

18. CODE 

 

California Constitution, Article XIII, Sections 26 and 27 
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Revenue and Taxation Code, Division 2, Part 10.2, Sections 18401-19802 and 

Part 11, Sections 23001-25141 
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CHAPTER 2D 

 

DETERMINING THE INCOME OF MULTISTATE 

AND 

MULTINATIONAL CORPORATIONS 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Unitary Corporations 

 

 Combination 

 

 Apportionment Formula 

 

 Worldwide Combination 

 

 Water's-Edge Combination 

 

 Business Versus Nonbusiness Income 

 

 Federal Treatment of Multinational Corporations 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. INTRODUCTION 

 

When a corporation derives income from sources both within and outside of California, it 

is necessary to determine what portion of total corporate income is earned in California 

and is subject to tax in this state. 

 

The method used by California and many other states is called the "unitary method."  It 

applies to both multistate and multinational corporations. 

 

The unitary method was developed early in the history of state corporate taxation as an 

alternative to the so-called "source method", which attempts to identify the geographic 

source of each corporate income stream.  The source method is inadequate because it 

failed to reflect that a corporation's income is earned as the result of all its activities in all 

locations.  An attempt to identify one geographic source of the earnings does not 

accurately reflect the contribution of all corporate activities to the ultimate profitability of 

the company.  In addition, the source method is inadequate because multistate and  

multinational corporations have the ability to manipulate their internal accounts so as to 

shift profits earned in California or another high tax state into a state with low or no taxes 

on corporate income (or conversely, shift losses to high tax states).  
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In contrast, the unitary method combines total corporate income, then uses a formula to 

apportion total income to the taxing jurisdictions within which the corporation does 

business.  This method has the advantages of reflecting the contribution of all corporate 

activities to overall profit, and of making the assignment of income and expenses to 

divisions within the corporation, or to particular geographic locations, irrelevant to the 

determination of tax liability. 

 

The use of the unitary method by states has been quite controversial over the years.  Most 

of the controversy has centered on the application of the unitary method to multinational 

corporations.  In general, use of the unitary method to apportion income of multistate 

corporations operating only in the United States has received relatively little challenge.  

Further discussion of the controversy surrounding worldwide combination and 

apportionment is provided in Section 5 of this chapter. 

 

The unitary method is a very complex area of tax law, and it has developed over the years 

through statutory provisions, regulations of the Franchise Tax Board (FTB), decisions on 

taxpayer appeals by the quasi-judicial Board of Equalization (BOE), and judicial 

decisions in both state and federal courts.  This area of law is still evolving. 

 

2. UNITARY CORPORATIONS 

 

The unitary method applies to single corporations doing business both within and outside 

of California.  It also applies to groups of affiliated corporations that, in effect, operate as 

one integrated business.  When a group of corporations operates as a "unit" (i.e., is 

'unitary'), that group is treated as if it were one corporation and is subject to the unitary 

method. 

 

A single corporation or a group of affiliated corporations may conduct more than one 

unitary business.  In those circumstances, each unitary business is accounted for 

separately.  A corporation may also have "investment" activities that are accounted for 

separately from the unitary business.  (See Section 7 below on Business versus 

Nonbusiness income.) 

 

Whether a group of corporations comprise a unitary group is a complex determination 

that must be made based on the facts and circumstances of each corporate group.  This is 

also an area where the law is still developing.  Taxpayers and the FTB determine whether 

a group of affiliated corporations is unitary by means of three general tests that have 

grown out of a body of judicial opinions.  These are (a) the three unities test, (b) the  

contributions and dependency test, and (c) the functional integration test.  A unitary 

business exists if any of the three tests is met.  In the three unities test, the relevant unities  

are:  unity of ownership, unity of operation, and unity of use.  Important facts considered 

for each test of unity are: 
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 Unity of Ownership.  This exists where the same interests own, directly or 

indirectly, more than 50% of the voting stock of all members of the group.  

Unity of ownership may also exist between: 

 

      a)  A parent corporation and one or more other corporations if the parent owns 

           stock representing more than 50% of the voting power of at least one  

           corporation in the group and, if applicable, stock cumulatively representing  

           more than 50% of the voting power of each of the corporations (except the  

           parent) is owned by the parent or two or more members of the group. 

 

       b)  Any two or more corporations if stock representing more than 50% of the  

                       voting power of the corporations is owned (directly or by constructive  

                       ownership) by a single person. 

 

       c)  Any two or more corporations if stock representing more than 50% of the  

                       voting power of the corporations is owned (directly or by constructive  

           ownership) by two or more members of the same family. 

 

      d)  Any two or more corporations that constitute stapled entities. 

 

 Unity of Operation.  Is usually shown by centralized operations or functions 

such as purchasing, advertising, accounting and management.  In some 

instances, corporations that are neither in the same line of business nor 

vertically integrated are found to be unitary because of centralized 

management and central departments. 

 

 Unity of Use.  Is reflected by a centralized executive force and the operation 

systems in general. 

 

3. COMBINATION 

 

Once it is determined that a unitary business conducts unitary activities both within and 

outside of California, all income and deductions from the separate sites are combined.  

The group computes net income as if it were a single corporation.  Income and expenses 

from intercompany transactions are disregarded (the same way transactions between a 

husband and wife filing a joint return in the personal income tax are disregarded).  Thus, 

for example, dividends paid from one affiliated corporation to another are not counted as 

income since this is an intercompany transaction. 

 

The portion of this total nationwide or worldwide net income that is taxable by California 

is then determined by formula, as described below. 
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4. APPORTIONMENT FORMULA 

 

The formula is based on three "factors" -- payroll, property and sales.  These three factors 

represent easily measurable basic corporate activities that contribute to profitability. 

 

California generally uses the "double-weighted" sales factor apportionment method for 

most industries.  That is, the formula uses a single payroll and property factor while 

including the sales factor twice (see example in Table 6).  However, for certain industries 

(including agricultural, extractive savings and loan, and banking or financial institutions) 

the sales factor is single weighted and the formula is based on the simple average of the 

three factors. 

 

The formula works as follows for each tax year: 

 

 The corporation computes the ratio of its payroll in California (stated in 

dollars of value) to its payroll everywhere.  It computes similar ratios for its 

California property and sales to property and sales everywhere.  Note:  The 

payroll and sales factors compare annual expenditures while the property 

factor uses an average of property owned and rented by the corporation at the 

beginning of the year and at the end of the year. 

 

 The arithmetic average of the three ratios is computed using a denominator of 

three for agricultural, extractive, savings and loan, and banking or financial 

institutions, while double-weighting the sales factor and using a denominator 

of four for all other industries.  This average represents the proportion of the 

corporation's total activity that it conducts in California. 

 

 The average ratio computed above is applied to combined total net income to 

determine the share of the income of the unitary business that is apportioned 

to California. 

 

 The corporate tax rate of 8.84% is applied to the net income apportioned to 

California. 

 

The rules for apportioning income are modified for specific industries (including, for 

example, airlines, professional sports teams, construction contractors, franchisors, motion 

picture and television film producers, and trucking companies).  In the case of certain 

forms of businesses, the rules for apportioning income are also modified for partnerships 

and personal service corporations.  The modifications, established by Regulations issued 

by the FTB, typically provide special rules for computing the factors used in the  

apportionment formula.   FTB Regulation 25137 sets forth circumstances that allow a 

departure from the standard formula.  Table 6 shows the application of the apportionment 

formula for a hypothetical corporation. 
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Because formula apportionment is intended to tax only that portion of total income that is 

apportioned to California, double taxation of the same income by different jurisdictions 

normally does not occur.  Therefore, no tax credit for taxes paid to other states is 

provided in the corporation tax law.  

 

New Changes to Apportionment and Sales Factor Rules After January 1, 2013 

 

Under current law, starting with the 2011 taxable year, qualified apportioning trades or 

businesses may make an annual, irrevocable election to utilize a single factor, 100% 

sales, (single sales factor) apportionment formula instead of the three factor, double-

weighted sales apportionment formula.  The election must be made on a timely filed 

original return in the manner and form prescribed by the FTB. 

 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, Proposition 39 mandates the use 

of single sales factor apportionment by most multistate apportioning businesses.  The 

option of using a three-factor, double-weighted sales apportionment formula is 

eliminated.  Businesses specifically prohibited from electing a single sales factor 

apportionment formula are those that derive more than 50% of their gross business 

receipts from certain qualifying business activities, (specifically, agriculture, extractive 

business, savings and loans, and banking or financial institutions.) 

 

Compact Election Issue 
 

SB 1015 [(Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), Chapter 37, Statutes of 2012], as 

enacted on June 27, 2012, repealed the state's Multistate Tax compact provisions and 

provided that the three-factor apportionment formula was not an option for California 

purposes, except for businesses that derive more than 50% of their gross receipts from 

certain qualifying business activities. 

 

Definition of Doing Business 

 

A bright-line test was established to provide that a taxpayer is doing business in 

California if any of the following conditions are satisfied: 

 

 A. The taxpayer is organized or commercially domiciled in this state. 

 

 B. Sales of the taxpayer in this state exceed the lesser of $500,000 or 25% of 

  the taxpayer’s total sales.  Sales of the taxpayer include sales by an agent 

  or independent contractor of the taxpayer. 

 

C. The real and tangible personal property of the taxpayer in this state exceed 

the lesser of $50,000 or 25% of the taxpayer’s total real and tangible 

personal property. 
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D. The amount paid in this state by the taxpayer for compensation exceeds 

 the lesser of $50,000 or 25% of the total compensation paid by the 

 taxpayer. 

 

The amounts described in items B, C, and D above shall be updated by the FTB on an 

annual basis in a similar manner used to recompute the state income tax brackets. 

 

Definition of Gross Receipts 

 

Gross receipts are defined as the gross amounts realized (the sum of money and the fair 

market value of other property or services received), but do not include the following 

items: 

 

o Repayment, maturity, or redemption of the principal of a loan, bond, mutual 

fund, certificate of deposit, or similar marketable instrument. 

 

o The principal amount received under a repurchase agreement or other 

transaction properly characterized as a loan. 

 

o Proceeds from issuance of the taxpayer’s own stock or from sale of treasury 

stock. 

 

o Damages and other amounts received as the result of litigation. 

 

o Property acquired by an agent on behalf of another. 

 

o Tax refunds and other tax benefit recoveries. 

 

o Pension reversions. 

 

o Contributions to capital (except for sales of securities by securities dealers). 

 

o Income from discharge of indebtedness. 

 

o Amounts realized from exchanges of inventory that are not recognized under 

the Internal Revenue Code. 

 

o Amounts received from transactions in intangible assets held in connection 

with a treasury function of the taxpayer’s unitary business and the gross 

receipts and overall net gains from the maturity, redemption, sale, exchange or 

other disposition of those intangible assets.  

 

o Amounts received from hedging transactions involving intangible assets. 
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Determination of Sales In California For Tangible Personal Property 

The following rules for assigning sales from tangible personal property to the sales factor 

were added to the Corporation Tax Law: 

 

o Sales of tangible personal property are assigned to California if the product is 

delivered or shipped to a purchaser in this state, and the taxpayer (seller) or  

any member of the combined reporting group is taxable in this state. 

 

o Sales of tangible personal property are assigned to California if the product is 

delivered or shipped to a purchaser out of state, and the taxpayer (seller) or 

any member of the combined reporting group is not taxable in the state of 

destination. 

 

Determination of Sales In California For Other Than Tangible Personal Property 
 

The following rules for assigning sales of other than tangible personal property were 

added to the Corporation Tax Law: 

 

o Sales from services are in this state to the extent the purchaser of the service 

received the benefit of the service in this state. 

 

o Sales from intangible property are in this state to the extent the property is 

used in this state.  In the case of marketable securities, sales are in this state if 

the customer is in this state. 

 

o Sales from the sale, lease, rental or licensing of real property are in this state if 

the real property is located in this state. 

 

o Sales from the rental, lease or licensing of tangible personal property are in 

this state if the property is located in this state. 
 

 

For taxable years beginning before January 1, 2013, taxpayers electing to use the single 

sales factor apportionment formula, and for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 

2013, taxpayers required to use a single sales factor apportionment formula will use 

market-based sourcing of sales of services or intangibles.  California's market-based 

sourcing rules generally sources sales of services to California if the taxpayer's customer 

receives a benefit of the service in the state.  Receipts from intangibles are generally 

sourced to the state to the extent the property is used or located in the state.
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TABLE 6 

 
EXAMPLE:  USE OF UNITARY APPORTIONMENT 

FORMULA FOR A HYPOTHETICAL CORPORATION 

 
1)  Compute ratio of corporate assets in California to assets worldwide: 

 

         In      Total Ratio of California 

    California Everywhere          to Total____ 

    

Sales  $1,000,000 $20,000,000            5% 

Property   4,000,000   40,000,000         10% 

Payroll     2,000,000   10,000,000         20% 

 

2)  Determine the apportionment factor:   

 

Agricultural, extractive, savings and loan, and banking or financial institutions: 

5% + 10% + 20% = 35% divided by 3 = 11.6667%.  

 

All other business activities:  5% + 5% + 10% + 20% = 40% divided by 4 = 10%. 

 

Elective or Mandatory Single Sales Factor (Taxable Years Beginning on or after 

January 1, 2011) is 5%. 

 

3)  Apply apportionment factor to total corporate net income to determine income  

      apportioned to California:  

 

 Qualified      Elective or 

 Business           Business          Mandatory Single  

 Activities*       Activities    Sales Factor____         
 

      Worldwide Net Income of                 $5,000,000      $5,000,000     $5,000,000 

      Corporation:  Multiplied by  

      Apportionment Factor            x   11.6667%    x            10%            x              5% 

 

      Net Income Apportioned to 

      California:              $   583,335       $   500,000                $   250,000 

 

4)  Apply California tax rate to determine tax:   

 

      Income Apportioned to                    $   583,335       $   500,000                $   500,000 

      California:  times Corporation 

      Tax Rate:                    x          8.84%   x         8.84%            x        8.84% 

 

      Tax Due to California:            $    51,567        $    44,200                $    22,100 

 

*Agricultural, Extractive, Savings and Loan, 

      and Banking or Financial Institutions. 
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5. WORLDWIDE COMBINATION 

 

Initially, all worldwide unitary corporations were required to combine their worldwide 

operations and use the unitary method, as described above, computing worldwide factors 

and worldwide income.  The apportionment percentage was expressed as California 

payroll, property, and sales as a percent of worldwide payroll, property and sales. 

 

Numerous court challenges arose regarding California's ability to require worldwide 

combinations of the unitary businesses of multistate corporations.  In a variety of cases, 

the United States Supreme Court confirmed the constitutionality of California's 

apportionment of income on a worldwide basis. 

 

While judicial challenges advanced, taxpayers continued their arguments against 

worldwide combination and encouraged the Legislature to repeal the laws requiring 

combination.  Arguments made to the Legislature for repealing mandatory worldwide 

combined reports for multinational corporations included the following: 

 

 Property, payroll, and sales do not produce equal profits in all parts of the 

world.  For example, labor may be cheaper (and thus relatively more 

profitable) overseas than in the United States.  Thus, the formula is distorting 

and results in instances of double taxation by California and foreign nations. 

 

 Fluctuations in international exchange rates make it difficult to put economic 

activities around the world on a consistent and comparable basis for purposes 

of the formula apportionment. 

 

 The worldwide combination and apportionment system places excessive 

record keeping burdens on corporations. 

 

 The worldwide system discourages corporations from making relatively less 

profitable investments in California because investment in California property 

will increase the share of the corporation's income subject to California tax.  

For example, start-up of a plant is often initially less profitable. 

 

 This system discourages investment in California by foreign firms, thereby 

depriving the state of the potential employment growth associated with such 

investment. 

 

 Foreign governments have protested that the system is unfair to their 

countries' businesses that operate worldwide and have threatened retaliation 

on U.S. corporations operating in their countries. 
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 Third world countries might copy the system of worldwide combination, 

potentially increasing tax burdens of businesses from industrialized nations. 

 

In 1986, legislation was enacted to respond to these concerns.  Under the new system, 

multinational corporations were allowed to elect one of two methods of determining 

income subject to tax in California, either worldwide combination or water's-edge 

combination. 

 

6. WATER'S-EDGE COMBINATION 
 

Multinational affiliated corporations that operate a unitary business may elect to combine 

only the affiliates that are designated as being within the "water's-edge."  Affiliates 

outside the water's-edge are disregarded, and their income plays no direct role in the 

computation of income subject to tax in California.  The concepts of unity and 

combination and the operation of the formula, as described above, continue to apply.  In 

2010, 8,976 corporations made the water's-edge election. 

 

The major provisions applying to corporations that elect water's-edge combination are as 

follows: 

 

Definition of "Water's-Edge".  The "water's-edge" includes the 50 states of the United 

States and specified income activity of affiliates organized overseas.  Thus, affiliates 

organized in the United States are considered inside the water's-edge and are combined.  

Affiliates organized overseas are considered outside the water's-edge and are not 

combined, except to the extent of their United States activities.  However, affiliates 

organized overseas which have 20% or more of their activities in the United States are 

inside the water's-edge.  In addition, state law requires a controlled foreign corporation 

(CFC) with Subpart F income to include a portion of its net income and apportionment 

factors in the water's-edge group tax filing based on an inclusion ratio.  

 

So-called "80-20" corporations (United States-domiciled corporations with less than 20% 

of their activities in the United States) are also included within the water's-edge. 

 

Water's-Edge Election Period.  Prior to January 1, 2003, corporations that elected to 

use the water's-edge combination method made a contract with FTB for an initial term of 

84 months.  On the anniversary date of the contract, the election is automatically renewed 

on an annual basis unless a taxpayer provides FTB with a notice of nonrenewal.  For 

taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, the contract has been replaced with a 

statutory election that remains in effect until terminated. 

 

Dividend Exclusion.  Corporations electing water's-edge combination may exclude from 

income a portion of the dividends they receive from certain affiliates.  The excludable 

amount is equal to 75% of all qualifying dividends received.  However, dividends 

resulting from specified construction projects are 100% deductible. 
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In addition, California law provides that the water's edge group must assign the interest 

expense that relates to the excluded dividends to those dividends, and a proportionate  

amount of interest expense attributable to foreign investments can be offset against the 

deductible dividends.   

 

Audits.  The FTB may conduct audits of corporations electing water's edge combination 

to ensure that income is properly accounted for, especially between members of the 

water's-edge group and affiliates outside of the water's-edge group, and to prevent tax 

avoidance. 

 

7. BUSINESS VERSUS NONBUSINESS INCOME 

 

Business and nonbusiness income of multistate and multinational corporations is treated 

differently when determining California tax liability. 

 

Business income is all income that arises from the conduct of trade or business 

operations.  Most corporate income is business income and is apportioned to California or 

elsewhere by formula, as described above. 

 

Nonbusiness income is that which does not arise in the normal course of the taxpayer's 

business operations.  It can include such things as dividends from other corporations, 

interest, royalties, gains from the sale of investment properties, and the like so long as 

they are not related to the normal business of the corporation.  In general, nonbusiness 

income is allocated in full to the state where the taxpayer is commercially domiciled in 

the case of income from intangibles, or where the relevant property is located in the case 

of income from tangible personal or real property. 

 

8. FEDERAL TREATMENT OF MULTINATIONAL CORPORATIONS 

 

Federal law taxes corporations in a manner similar to California taxation of individuals.  

Corporations organized in the United States (residents) are taxed on all of their income 

and are allowed a credit for taxes assessed by foreign countries because they have income 

sources there.  Corporations organized outside the United States (nonresidents) are taxed 

on only their United States source income. 

 

In making determinations of income source, the federal government uses the "separate 

accounting method".  This method requires accounting separately for income streams and 

expenses attributable to each member of an affiliated group of corporations and to United 

States versus foreign operations.  Transactions between affiliates are to be accounted for 

on an "arm's length" basis.  That is, pricing is to be adjusted to reflect what the 

transactions would be if they were conducted at arm's length between competitor 

corporations rather than between affiliated corporations. 
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A key feature of the federal system is an aggressive audit program to ensure that arm's 

length pricing is used by affiliated corporations to accurately reflect the income and 

goods exchanged between related businesses.  These are often referred to as "Section 482 

audits".  Due to the complexity and controversy associated with Section 482 audits, the 

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) initiated an Advance Pricing Agreement (APA) program.  

Under this program, taxpayers and the IRS agree upon the transfer pricing methods that 

should be applied before the tax return is filed. 

 

9. CODE 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 25101-25141 
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CHAPTER 2E 

 

SALES AND USE TAX 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Tax Base   Total retail price of any tangible personal property 

     unless the property is otherwise exempted; also 

imposed on certain state excise taxes, including 

those imposed on alcoholic beverages, and tobacco 

products. 

 

 Tax Rate   Total state and local base rate of 7.5%.  Generally, 

the rate may be 7.625% to 9.50% in those cities and  

counties that impose additional rates. 

 

 Revenue*   2011-12 $18.7 billion (General Fund)* 

       $  2.7 billion (Local Revenue Fund) 

       $  2.7 billion (Local Public Safety Fund) 

 

       21.4% of General Fund revenues  

 

     2012-13   $20.7 billion (General Fund)* 

     (Estimate) $  2.9 billion (Local Revenue Fund) 

       $  2.9 billion (Local Public Safety Fund) 

 

     2013-14  $23.3 billion (General Fund)* 

     (Estimate) $  3.1 billion (Local Revenue Fund) 

       $  3.1 billion (Local Public Safety Fund) 

 

*Source:  Governor's Budget Summary of 2013-14 

                 BOE 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. OVERVIEW OF THE SALES TAX 

 

The sales tax is imposed on retailers for the privilege of selling tangible personal property in 

California.  Note, retailers are authorized to, and generally do, add sales tax to the sales price 

and collect reimbursement of the tax from the purchaser.  The use tax, in contrast, is generally 

imposed on the use in California of tangible personal property purchased out-of-state. 

 

Both the sales tax and the use tax are imposed on nearly identical items of tangible personal 

property.  Tangible personal property is any physical asset, such as household goods and 

business equipment, which is readily movable and not permanently attached to real property.  
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All sales of tangible personal property are taxable, unless specifically exempted by law.  

However, sales of real property, such as land and buildings, are not subject to the sales tax.  

Furthermore, because the sales tax is imposed on retail sales, sales for resale and wholesale 

sales are excluded from the tax. 

 

The measure of both the sales and the use tax are imposed on the retail price of the taxable 

personal property.  The retail price is referred to as the "gross receipts" for sales tax purposes 

and the "sales price" for use tax purposes.  Generally, no part of the retail price may be 

excluded from the tax base.  If there is a manufacturers' or importers' excise tax, such as excise 

taxes imposed on tires, alcoholic beverages, and tobacco, it is included as part of the sales and 

use tax base.  Generally, both state and federal excise taxes are included in the sales and use 

tax base.  For example, an individual who purchases alcohol in the State of California must 

pay sales tax on the retail price of the alcohol, including the state and federal excise taxes. 

 

Services are generally not subject to sales or use tax.  However, when services contribute to 

the production or delivery of tangible personal property sold at retail, tax does apply to the 

entire sale price, with no deduction for the service component.  This tax treatment follows the 

reasoning that acquisition of the tangible personal property is the true object of the transaction, 

and the service performed is deemed incidental.  For example, in the sale of a custom-designed 

suit, the buyer's purpose is obtaining the clothing, which is tangible personal property.  

Although the tailor who designs and sews the suit performs a service of labor, the true object 

of the transaction is the sale of the suit, not the design and sewing services.  Therefore, sales 

(or use) tax applies to the total price of the custom-tailored suit, including the design and 

tailoring. 

 

Generally, leases of tangible personal property are considered "continuing" sales or uses and 

are subject to sales or use tax.  Each payment made under the lease is subject to sales or use 

tax for the entire period that the leased property is located in California.  Note:  If a lease of 

tangible personal property covers property substantially in the same form as when acquired by 

the lessor and the lessor paid sales or use tax on the property when acquired, the rental 

payments are not subject to tax. 

 

A seller's permit is a permit, furnished without charge by the State Board of Equalization 

(BOE), to sell tangible personal property in California.  Generally, all persons or businesses 

that make retail or wholesale sales are required to hold a seller's permit. 

 

In California, the retailer is liable for paying the sales tax.  A retailer is described as anyone 

who makes more than two retail sales of tangible personal property within a 12-month period.  

As mentioned above, the retailer has the option of collecting a reimbursement of the tax from 

the consumer.  However, if the retailer does not collect the sales tax reimbursement at the time 

of purchase, the retailer is still responsible for remitting the tax to the state. 

 

The use tax is imposed on users of tangible personal property purchased out-of-state and 

brought into or delivered to California for use inside California.  For example, an individual 

who purchases an automobile in the State of Washington and registers it in California is 

required to pay California use tax on his or her purchase; he or she is not subject to any 
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Washington sales tax.  Like the sales tax, the measure of the use tax is the sales price of the 

tangible personal property.  The purpose of the use tax is to prevent persons from avoiding the 

California sales tax by purchasing at retail in states where the sales tax is lower than California 

or where there is no sales tax. 

 

Unlike the sales tax, which is imposed on retailers, the use tax is imposed on California 

purchasers.  However, out-of-state retailers that have substantial presence in California are 

required to register with the BOE and collect the use tax on taxable sales made to California 

consumers, whether the sale was made over the Internet, mail order, or telephone.  Also, 

certain larger California businesses that do not sell goods in California are required to register 

with the BOE and track and report their use tax liabilities on their out-of-state taxable 

purchases.  However, individual consumers and many small firms making purchases from 

unregistered out-of-state retailers are not required to register with the BOE and frequently do 

not report their use tax liabilities.  Consequently, a significant portion of California use tax 

goes uncollected.  

 

2. TAX RATES 

 

Currently, the base state and local sales and use tax rate in California is 7.50%.  This 7.50% 

rate is a combination of five different tax rates, as follows: 

 

Imposed State-Wide (Total = 7.50%) 

 

 

NAME 

 

RATE 

(%) 

2011-12 

REVENUE 

($ BILLIONS) 

 

USE OF 

REVENUE 

 

BASIS OF ALLOCATION 

“State” rate 

 

 

3.9375 

 

 

0.25 

 

 

0.25 

 

 

 

1.0625 

$19.2 

 

 

$1.4 

 

 

 

 

 

 

$5.3 

State General Fund 

purposes 

 

Fiscal Recovery 

Fund 

 

Education 

Protection Account 

 

Local Revenue  

Fund 2011 

Not applicable 

Local 

Revenue Fund 

rate 

0.5 $2.7 Health and welfare 

programs shifted to 

local govern-ments 

as part of 1991-92 

state-local 

realignment 

Allocated to counties based 

on population, percentage of 

persons below the poverty 

line, and changes in spending 

on health and welfare 

programs during prior years. 

Local Public 

Safety Fund 

rate 

0.5 $2.7 Local public safety Allocated primarily to 

counties based on sales 

during the prior year; cities 
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receive about 6% of Local 

Public Safety Fund revenues 

based on amounts they lost as 

a result of the property tax 

shifts of the early to mid-

1990s. 

County Trans- 

portation rate 

0.25 $1.3 County transporta-

tion purposes 

Allocated to counties based 

on the location of sale 

Bradley-Burns 

rate 

0.75 $4.0 Local (city/county) 

general purpose use 

Allocated to cities and 

counties based on the 

location of sale (to cities if 

the sale occurs in the city, to 

counties if the sale occurs in 

an unincorporated area of the 

county) 

 

Also, each year a certain amount of the state sales tax revenues attributable to sales of diesel 

fuel must be transferred to the Public Transportation Account (PTA) within the State 

Transportation Fund.  The amount transferred is determined by formula.     

 

Additional Local Rates.  The Transactions and Use Tax Law authorizes cities, counties, 

citywide and countywide authorities, and citywide and countywide special districts to impose 

additional sales and use taxes (officially 'transactions and use taxes'), subject to a vote of the 

people.  In general, the Transactions and Use Tax Law authorizes taxes to be imposed in 

0.125% increments, up to a total of 2%.  (However, the Los Angeles Metropolitan 

Transportation Commission may, upon voter approval, impose a 0.50% tax, even if it exceeds 

the 2% limitation).  

 

As noted above, all transactions and use taxes are subject to voter approval.  Pursuant to 

Proposition 218, passed by the voters in November 1996, general-purpose transactions and use 

taxes require majority voter approval; special-purpose transactions and use taxes require two-

thirds voter approval. 

 

As of January 1, 2012, 39 California counties, 92 cities and 1 town impose the sales tax at 

rates higher than 7.25% due to voter approval of imposition of additional taxes.  In 2010-11 

and 2011-12, these add-on taxes raised $4.2 billion and $4.6 billion, respectively, for the local 

governments that imposed them.  See Table 7 in this chapter for the list of cities and counties 

with additional rates. 
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TABLE 7 

 

Existing Transactions and Use Taxes (As of 01/01/12) 

 

Jurisdiction     Rate    Purpose 

 

Alameda County    1.5%    Transit / Hospital 

Amador County    0.5%    Fire / Emergency Medical 

City of Arcata     0.75%    General Fund 

City of Arroyo Grande   0.5%    General Fund 

City of Arvin     1.0%    General Fund 

City of Avalon    0.5%    Hospital and Clinic 

City of Calexico    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Campbell    0.25%    Vital City Services 

City of Capitola    0.25%    General Fund 

City of Cathedral City    1.0%    General Fund 

City of Ceres     0.5%    Public Safety 

City of Clearlake    0.5%    Public Safety 

City of Concord    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Cotati     0.5%    General Fund 

City of Davis     0.5%    General Fund 

City of Delano     1.0%    General Fund 

City of Del Rey Oaks    1.0%    General Fund 

City of Dinuba    0.75%    Police / Fire 

City of El Cajon    1.0%    Public Safety / Services 

City of El Cerrito    1.0%    Street Improvement /  

    General Fund 

City of El Monte    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Eureka     0.75%    General Fund 

City of Farmersville    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Fort Bragg    0.5%    Road Maintenance 

City of Galt     0.5%    Public Safety 

City of Grover Beach    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Gustine    0.5%    Community Services 

City of Hollister    1.0%    General Fund 

City of Inglewood    0.5%    General Fund 

City of La Habra    0.5%    General Fund 

City of La Mesa    0.75%    General Fund 

City of Lakeport    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Los Banos    0.5%    Public Safety 

City of Mammoth Lakes   0.5%    Parks and Recreation 

City of Manteca    0.5%    Public Safety 

City of Marina     1.0%    General Fund 

City of Merced    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Montclair    0.25%    General Fund 
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City of Morro Bay    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Mount Shasta    0.25%    Libraries 

City of National City    1.0%    General Fund 

City of Nevada    0.5%    Street Improvement 

City of Novato    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Oxnard    0.5%    Vital Services 

City of Pacific Grove    1.0%    General Fund 

City of Pico Rivera    1.0%    General Fund 

City of Pinole     0.5%    General Fund 

City of Pismo Beach    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Placerville     0.5%    Public Safety /  

General Fund 

City of Point Arena    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Port Hueneme    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Porterville    0.5%    Public Safety / Police / Fire 

City of Reedley    0.5%    Public Safety 

City of Richmond    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Rohnert Park    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Salinas     0.5%    General Fund 

City of San Bernardino   0.25%    General Fund 

City of Sand City    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Sanger     0.75%    Public Safety 

City of San Juan Bautista   0.75%    General Fund 

City of San Leandro    0.25%    General Fund 

City of San Luis Obispo   0.5%    Essential Services 

City of San Mateo    0.25%    General Fund 

City of San Rafael    0.5%    General Fund  

City of Santa Cruz    0.5%    General Fund  

City of Santa Monica    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Santa Rosa    0.5%    Public Safety /  

General Fund 

City of Sebastopol    0.25%    General Fund 

City of Seaside    1.0%    General Fund 

City of Selma     0.5%    Public Safety 

City of Sonora     0.5%    General Fund 

City of South El Monte   0.5%    City Services Protection 

City of South Gate    1.0%    General Fund 

City of South Lake Tahoe   0.5%    General Fund 

City of Stockton    0.25%    Public Safety 

City of Tracy     0.5%    General Fund 

City of Trinidad    0.75%    General Fund 

City of Tulare      0.5%    General Fund 

City of Ukiah     0.5%    General Fund 

City of Union city    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Visalia     0.25%    Public Safety 

City of Vista     0.5%    General Fund 
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City of Watsonville    0.25%    General Fund 

City of West Sacramento   0.5%    General Fund 

City of Wheatland    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Williams    0.5%    General Fund 

City of Willits     0.5%    Road System 

City of Woodland    0.75%    General Fund 

Contra Costa County    1.0%    Transit 

Fresno County      0.725%   Transit / Libraries / Zoo 

Imperial County    0.5%    Transit 

Inyo County     0.5%    General Fund 

Los Angeles County    1.5%    Transit 

Madera County    0.5%    Transit 

Marin County     0.75%    Transit / Rail 

Mariposa County    0.5%    County Healthcare 

Napa County      0.5%    Flood Protection 

Nevada County    0.125%   Public Libraries 

Orange County    0.5%    Transit 

Riverside County    0.5%    Transit 

Sacramento County    0.5%    Transit 

San Bernardino County   0.5%    Transit 

San Diego County    0.5%    Transit 

San Francisco City and County  1.25%    Transit / Public Finance 

San Joaquin County    0.5%    Transit 

San Mateo County    1.0%    Transit 

Santa Barbara County    0.5%    Transit 

Santa Clara County    1.0%    Transit 

Santa Cruz County    0.75%    Transit / Public Libraries 

Solano County      0.125%   Public Libraries 

Sonoma County    0.75%    Agricultural Preservation /  

Open Space / 

Transit/Rail 

Stanislaus County    0.125%   Public Libraries 

Town of Truckee    0.5%    Road Maintenance 

Tulare County     0.5%    Transit 

 

3. EXEMPTIONS 

 

All retail sales of tangible personal property are taxable in California unless the property is 

specifically exempted.  Some major exemption categories are described below. 

 

Necessities.  The following items are granted general sales and use tax exemptions:  

 

 Food (other than hot prepared food) for human consumption; 
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 Prescription medicines, wheelchairs, crutches, canes, walkers, medical oxygen 

delivery systems, hemodialysis products, and prosthetic devices; 

 

 Gas, electricity, and water delivered through mains, lines, or pipes; 

 

 Food for animals normally raised for human consumption; and, 

 

 Fertilizer and seeds applied to land used to grow foods for human consumption. 

 

Interstate Commerce.  The Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution prohibits states from 

imposing taxes that place an undue burden on people or businesses engaged in interstate 

commerce.  To comply with the U.S. Constitution, California has enacted laws that exempt 

sales of certain property involved in interstate commerce. 

 

For example, interstate sales of vessels and aircraft, aircraft fuel used during international 

flights and hot prepared food sold to air carriers for passenger consumption are exempt from 

the sales tax. 

 

California has also enacted laws that complement the U.S. Commerce Clause and that level the 

playing field for businesses that engage in interstate commerce activities in the state.  For 

example: 

 

 In-state sellers are allowed to deliver property for out-of-state use to common 

carriers in California without any sales tax being imposed.  

 

 Businesses are not taxed on the printed sales messages they commission and have 

mailed to potential customers. 

 

 Air common carriers are not taxed on the fuel used on international flights.  

 

Without these additional laws, California businesses could be at a disadvantage vis-à-vis 

competitors based in other states. 

 

Exemptions for Nonprofit and Government Organizations.  Pursuant to the U.S. 

Constitution, all sales of tangible personal property to the federal government are exempt  

from tax.  Museums are also exempted from sales tax on works of art they purchase for public 

display. 

 

Several nonprofit organizations are allowed a partial sales tax exemption for certain items they 

sell under specified circumstances.  The exemption is considered partial because the tax is 

computed based on the wholesale price of the organization's products, which presumably is 

lower than the retail price.  For example, when the Girl Scouts make handicrafts they later 

resell, they remit sales tax based on the wholesale price of the materials used to make the 

handicrafts.  Unlike most retailers, they do not have to collect or remit the sales tax based on 

the price for which the handicrafts are subsequently sold.  Generally, the partial sales tax 

exemption is limited to sales of food, non-alcoholic beverages, and handcrafted items. 
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Groups currently eligible for partial sales tax exemptions include:  Little League; Bobby Sox; 

Boy Scouts; Cub Scouts; Girl Scouts; Campfire Girls; YMCA; YWCA; Future Farmers of 

America; Future Homemakers of America; 4-H Clubs; American Youth Soccer Organization; 

California Youth Soccer Associations; Pop Warner Football; Special Olympics; and school-

sponsored youth groups, such as high school teams.  Organizations that provide vocational 

training services to the developmentally disabled or services to children with severe emotional 

disturbances are also allowed a partial exemption on the sale of handicrafts that are made by 

their clients and retail for $20 or less. 

 

Other Exemptions.  A few of the other major items exempted from all or a portion of the 

sales tax include:  farm equipment, timber-harvesting equipment, racehorse breeding stock, 

motion picture production services, motion picture leases, returnable containers, custom 

computer programs, subscription periodicals, master records and tapes, property that will be 

used in space flights, and bulk sales of monetized and nonmonetized bullion.  For a complete 

list of exemptions see the BOE publication titled Sales and Use Taxes: Exemptions And 

Exclusions.  For additional information on these exemptions, contact the BOE. 

 

4. SALES IN CALIFORNIA BY OUT-OF-STATE RETAILERS 

 

California’s ability to collect use tax resulting from internet, mail order and catalogue sales is 

significantly limited for the following two reasons:  (a) U.S. Supreme Court decisions in 

National Bellas Hess v. Illinois Department of Revenue (1967) and Quill Corporation v. North 

Dakota (1992), which prohibit states from requiring mail order houses to collect and remit use 

taxes; and (b) the fact that consumers are legally liable for the use tax on these mail order 

sales.  At present, however, California fails to collect approximately $1.1 billion in revenues as 

a result of unreported use taxes. 

 

The Quill and National Bellas Hess Cases.  Two U.S. Supreme Court decisions prohibit 

states from requiring mail order sellers to collect state use taxes unless the seller has physical 

nexus in the state.  In the National Bellas Hess, Inc. v. Department of Revenue of the State of 

Illinois (1967) case, the U.S. Supreme Court held that when a business does no more than 

communicate with customers by mail or common carrier as part of a general interstate 

business, requiring that business to collect and pay the use tax violates the U.S. Constitution.  

In Quill Corporation v. State of North Dakota (1992), the Supreme Court interpreted the 

Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution as prohibiting states from imposing use tax 

collection obligations on retailers whose only connection with customers in the taxing state is 

through mail order sales. 

 

Both decisions leave the door open for Congress to establish a framework for uniform state 

taxation that does not impede interstate commerce.  In an effort to simplify various states' sales 

and use tax systems, forty-four states, including California, and the District of Columbia, that 

levy a sales and use tax participated in the Streamlined Sales Tax Project (SSTP), and on 

October 1, 2005, the "Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement" became effective.  This 

Agreement creates a blueprint for a simplified tax collection system and attempts to alleviate 

the burden and cost of tax collection for sellers.  The agreement addresses issues associated 
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with tax collections, definitions of the tax base, uniformity of tax bases, electronic registration 

of sellers, simplification of tax rates, simplification of returns and remittances, uniform 

sourcing rules, as well as other issues.  The Project is conducting its work through a steering 

committee with co-chairs, four work groups, and a number of sub-groups.  Project participants 

are generally state revenue department administrators but there are also representatives of state 

legislatures and local governments.  Businesses including national retailers, trade associations, 

manufacturers, direct marketers, telecommunications companies, leasing companies, 

technology companies, printers, accounting firms, and others are actively participated in the 

Project by offering expertise and input, reviewing proposals, suggesting language, and 

testifying at public hearings.  Twenty-two states have been certified to be in substantial 

compliance with the Agreement, which means they have changed their laws so that they meet 

all the requirements of the Agreement. 

 

Participation in the Project does not change any law or tax reporting/collection responsibilities 

of remote sellers.  However, California legislators could choose to amend California's Sales 

and Use Tax Law to conform to the provisions of the Agreement if such conformity is desired. 

 

Nexus and Use Tax Collection.  California law requires every retailer "engaged in business in 

this state" to collect sales or use tax from the consumer at the time of sale.  The definition of a 

“retailer engaged in business in the state” includes, among others, any retailer who: 

 

 Maintains, occupies, or uses an office, place of distribution, sales or sample room, 

warehouse or other storage space, or other place of business in California; 

 

 Has an affiliate operating in California that refers potential customers to the 

retailer, by an internet-based link, Internet website, or otherwise, under specified 

circumstances; 

 

 Is a member of a commonly-controlled group and combined reporting group and 

has a member of the retailer's combined reporting group and commonly-controlled 

group performing services for the retailer in California that help the retailer 

establish or maintain a California market for sales of tangible personal property. 

 

Out-of-state retailers who are deemed to be “engaged in business in this state” are required to 

collect and remit use tax to BOE.  Some other out-of-state sellers also voluntarily collect and 

remit use taxes to BOE, usually when there is some question about whether their business 

activities in California represent nexus. 

 

Since 1998, certain taxpayers have been allowed to obtain a use tax direct payment permit 

from BOE.  Use tax direct payment permits allow qualifying taxpayers to self-assess and pay 

state and local use tax directly to BOE, thereby removing sellers of the responsibility to do so.  

To be eligible, an applicant must purchase or lease at least $500,000 worth of tangible personal 

property during the calendar year immediately preceding the application or be a county, city, 

city and county, or redevelopment agency.  Use tax direct payment permits provide local 

taxing jurisdictions with a mechanism to increase the amount of local use tax revenue they 
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receive and provide large businesses with a mechanism to minimize their chances of being 

audited for an outstanding use tax liability. 

 

Legislation enacted in 2003 authorized taxpayers to report their use tax liabilities on their 

California income tax returns.  Any use tax liability reported on a timely filed income tax 

return is deemed to be timely filed and paid. 

 

The use tax also applies to foreign purchases in excess of $800 that are brought into California.  

California assesses the use tax due on these purchases using information from U.S. Customs 

Service declarations completed by returning travelers at California ports of entry. 

 

5. SPECIAL PROVISIONS OF THE SALES TAX 

 

Occasional Sales.  Occasional sales of property are generally not subject to the sales tax.  A 

sale is deemed “occasional” when the seller is not required to hold a seller's permit and the sale 

is not one of a series of sufficient duration to require a seller's permit.  For example, an 

individual holding a garage sale over the course of a weekend would not be required to hold a 

seller's permit or pay sales tax on the items sold. 

 

Swap Meets and Flea Markets.  Operators of a swap meet, flea market, or special event are 

required to obtain evidence that each seller who leases space from the operator of the swap 

meet is the holder of a valid seller's permit or is not selling any item that is taxable under the 

sales and use tax law.  

 

Automobiles.  When a licensed automobile dealer sells a new or used vehicle, the sales tax 

must be collected at the time of purchase.  The sales tax rate is based on the jurisdiction in 

which the purchaser resides.  For example, if the purchaser buys a car in a jurisdiction with an 

7.50% sales tax rate but registers the car in a local community with an 7.75% rate, the dealer is 

responsible for collecting tax at the 7.75% rate and remitting it to BOE.  

 

When a private non-dealer sells a car, he or she is not required to collect the sales tax.  Instead, 

use tax is collected when the owner registers the automobile with the Department of Motor 

Vehicles.  Here again, the purchaser is required to pay tax at the rate of the local community in 

which the car is registered, regardless of where the car is purchased. 

 

Mobilehomes and Factory-Built Housing and Schools.  A partial sales tax exemption is 

allowed to mobilehome dealers on sales of new mobilehomes that are sold to customers for 

occupancy as a residence.  In these transactions, the mobilehome dealer is the “retailer-

consumer” and is required to declare and pay tax on 75% of the dealer’s purchase price of the 

mobilehome.  No tax is imposed on the sale of such new mobilehomes to customers.  Section 2 

of Chapter 6G contains more information on application of the sales tax to mobilehomes. 

 

A partial exemption is also allowed on the sales price of certain factory-built housing and 

schools.  For factory-built homes, 60% of the retail sales price is exempt from the sales tax.  
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6. DEDUCTING THE SALES TAX 

 

Individuals are not allowed a state personal income tax deduction for the sales and use tax they 

pay during the course of each year unless the tangible personal property was purchased for use 

in a trade or business. 

 

Sales taxes are generally deductible for tangible personal property purchased for use in a trade 

or business.  However, sales taxes incurred in the process of manufacturing or constructing 

property must be capitalized into the value of the property rather than deducted immediately. 

 

7. REMITTANCE OF THE SALES TAX BY RETAILERS 

 

Reimbursement of the Sales Tax.  Retailers are legally liable for remitting sales tax to the 

state.  However, retailers are permitted to collect a "reimbursement" of the sales tax from the 

consumer, which is normally itemized separately as sales tax when an item is sold.  The law 

provides for statutory reimbursement tables to be used by retailers to compute the tax on any 

sales transaction. 

 

The basic rule for computing the sales tax reimbursement, since taxpayers cannot pay fractions 

of cents, is to round fractions equal to or larger than ½ cent up to the next cent and round 

fractions of less than ½ cent down to the next lower cent. 

 

Payments and Prepayments.  In general, retailers must remit sales taxes to the state on a 

quarterly basis.  However, retailers with taxable sales of over $17,000 per month are generally 

required to remit sales taxes on a monthly basis.  Each quarter, two prepayments and one final 

payment are due, with payments generally required one month following the month in which 

liability is incurred.  Prepayment schedules are intended to help ensure a steady flow of sales 

and use tax revenue to the state rather than four quarterly spikes of revenue during the course 

of each year. 

 

The prepayment and final payment schedules for the first, third, and fourth calendar quarters of 

each year are identical.  The second quarter prepayment schedule was changed in order to help 

the state’s cash flow needs during tight budget years and operates to shift more revenue to the 

months of May and June (the last two months of the fiscal year).  

 

Electronic Funds Transfer.  Retailers with sales tax liabilities averaging $10,000 or more per 

month are required to remit their tax payments via an Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).  

Retailers that are not required to make sales and use tax payments through EFT may 

voluntarily pay by EFT after contacting BOE and completing an authorization agreement 

form. 

 

8.   ADMINISTRATION 

 

The sales and use tax is administered by the BOE.  The BOE drafts regulations to clarify and 

interpret the sales and use tax laws and handles collections and appeals.  The BOE also 

administers all local sales (and transactions) and use taxes under contract with local taxing 
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agencies.  These contracts allow BOE to charge local jurisdictions for its costs to administer 

the local taxes.   

 

9. CODE 

 

California Constitution, Article XIII, Section 29, Section 35, and Section 36 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 6001 – 7292 
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CHAPTER 3A 

 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TAX 

AND 

LIQUOR LICENSE FEES 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Tax Base   Taxes and surtaxes are imposed on alcoholic 

     beverages on a per gallon basis; license fees 

     are levied on holders of alcoholic beverage 

     licenses. 

 

 Tax Rates   Tax Per           Surtax Per Total Taxes 

     Gallon   Gallon       Per Gallon    

 

     Beer     $0.04     $0.16    $0.20 

     Wine (14%* or less)  $0.01     $0.19    $0.20 

     Wine (over 14%*)   $0.02     $0.18    $0.20 

     Champagne and 

         Sparkling Wine   $0.30     none     $0.30 

     Distilled Spirits 

        (100 proof or less)  $2.00     $1.30    $3.30 

    Distilled Spirits 

        (over 100 proof)   $4.00     $2.60    $6.60 

     Sparkling hard cider  $0.02     $0.18    $0.20 

 

 License Fees  $69 - $1,379 per year 

 

 Tax Revenue*  2011-12   $346 million 

     2012-13 (Estimate) $320 million 

     2013-14 (Estimate) $326 million 

 

 Administration  Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control  

     (ABC) issues licenses and collects the license fees. 

Board of Equalization (BOE) collects the taxes. 

 

         *Alcohol content 

    Source:  BOE/ABC 

________________________________________________________________________ 
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1. TAX OVERVIEW 

 

Alcoholic beverage taxes and surtaxes are imposed on all beer and wine or distilled 

spirits sold within this state.  The taxes and surtaxes are levied on a per gallon basis and  

are imposed at the highest level in the distribution chain (i.e., on manufacturers, 

manufacturer's agents, distillers, winegrowers, wholesalers, or rectifiers).  Taxes and 

surtaxes on alcoholic beverages that are imported (transported) into California from out-

of-state are imposed on importers. 

 

Taxes and surtaxes are generally passed on to consumers.  Although imposed in lieu of 

all county, municipal, or district taxes, the alcoholic beverage taxes and surtaxes are 

incorporated into the retail price of a product and become part of the sales tax base for 

that product. 

 

Alcoholic beverage license fees are levied when licenses for the sale of alcoholic 

beverages are granted or renewed on a yearly basis. 

 

In most instances, different licenses are required for manufacture, wholesale distribution, 

and retail sales.  On-sale and off-sale retail licenses distinguish between beverages sold 

for on-premises consumption and those sold for consumption off the premises.  Trains, 

boats and aircraft also require special alcoholic beverage licenses. 

 

2. TAX RATE 

 

There is no single tax or surtax rate on alcoholic beverages.  The rate varies considerably, 

depending on the type of alcohol being taxed.  The rates are described in the "Highlights" 

box at the beginning of this chapter.   

 

3. EXEMPTIONS/CREDITS 

 

Exemptions from the alcoholic beverage tax are provided under the following 

circumstances: 

 

 Certain sales of alcohol used in trades, professions or industries other than for 

beverage purposes when sold by specified licensees (e.g., alcohol purchased by 

private businesses for business-related testing purposes) [Revenue and Taxation Code 

(R&TC) Section 32052]; 

 

 Ethyl alcohol used by governmental agencies or scientific universities, or alcohol or 

industrial alcohol in certain products when sold in containers larger than one gallon 

(R&TC Section 32053); 

 

 Sales to common carriers for use on boats, trains, or airplanes when the alcoholic 

beverages are to be used outside the state (R&TC Section 32054); 
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 Continuous transportation of alcoholic beverages through the state by common 

carriers (R&TC Section 32051); 

 

 Beer or wine subsequently exported outside California or destroyed (R&TC Section 

32176); 

 

 Alcoholic beverages destroyed or damaged so that they could not be sold and that the 

licensee has not otherwise been compensated for the loss in the amount of the tax 

included in the purchase price paid for the alcoholic beverages (Refund) (R&TC 

Section 32407); 

 

 Distilled spirits, wine and beer sold for export and actually exported (R&TC Sections 

32211, 32171, and 32173); 

 

 Distilled spirits sold or delivered to another licensed distilled spirits manufacturer, 

rectifier or wholesaler (R&TC Section 32211); 

 

 Distilled spirits sold to instrumentalities of the United States armed forces that are 

located on territory within the state (R&TC Section 32177.5); and, 

 

 Wine sold or delivered in internal revenue bond to another wine grower, and beer 

sold or delivered in internal revenue bond to another beer manufacturer in this state 

(R&TC Sections 32171 and 32174). 

 

4. FEDERAL TAXATION 

 

The federal government also imposes excise taxes on alcoholic beverages, as follows:  

 

 Beer      $  0.58 per gallon 

 Wine (14%* or less)    $  1.07 per gallon 

 Wine (14% to 21%*)    $  1.57 per gallon 

 Wine (21% to 24%*)    $  3.15 per gallon 

 Champagne and Sparkling Wine  $  3.40 per gallon 

 Distilled Spirits    $13.50 per gallon 

 Artificially Carbonated Wine   $  3.30 per gallon 

 

*Alcohol content 

 

The federal taxes, which are considerably higher than state taxes, are imposed in addition 

to state taxes.  Both taxes are included in the state sales tax base. 
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5. REVENUE 

 

Alcoholic beverage taxes raised $346 million in 2011-12.  It is estimated that they will 

raise $320 million in 2012-13, and $326 million in 2013-14.  All alcoholic beverage tax 

revenues accrue to California's General Fund.   

 

License fee revenues (currently on the order of $54.5 million annually) are directed to 

special funds.  Most license fee revenue is deposited into the ABC Fund ($52.8 million) 

for use by the Department of ABC in administering the ABC Act.  Much smaller amounts 

(approximately $1.7 million annually) are directed to the ABC Appeals Fund ($1.3 

million) to support the Appeals Board and to the Motor Vehicle Account ($0.4 million) to 

help fund the California Highway Patrol Designated Driver Program. 

 

6. ADMINISTRATION 

 

The Department of ABC issues licenses and collects license fees.  California's BOE 

administers and collects the state excise taxes.  The tax is a direct obligation of the 

taxpayer and the BOE administers the taxes in a manner consistent with other taxes,  

with specified provisions for determinations of tax due, collection actions, and refund 

provisions.  The California Taxpayer's Bill of Rights creates specific remedies and 

programs related to Alcoholic Beverage Taxes. 

 

7. CODE 

 

California Constitution, Article XX, Section 22 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 32001-32557 

 

Business and Professions Code Sections 23300-25762. 
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CHAPTER 3B 

 

CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Tax Base   Cigarettes and other tobacco products. 

 

 Rate    Cigarettes:  $0.87 per pack.   

     Other tobacco products:  30.68% of the wholesale 

cost of tobacco, effective July 1, 2012 through June 

30, 2013.  The other tobacco products tax rate is  

updated annually each July 1. 

 

 Revenue   2011-12 (Actual) $895 million 

     2012-13 (Estimate) $862 million* 

     2013-14 (Estimate) $837 million* 

 

     1.1% of all state revenues 

 

 Administration  Board of Equalization (BOE) 

 

*General Fund revenue is estimated to be $95 million and $91 million 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. TAX OVERVIEW 

 

California levies two distinct excise taxes on tobacco products: the cigarette tax and the 

tobacco products tax that is imposed on items such as cigars, pipe tobacco, and chewing 

tobacco.  Both excise taxes are imposed on distributors but ultimately passed on to 

consumers.   

 

Tobacco taxes incorporated into the retail price of tobacco products become part of the 

sales tax base for those products. 

 

2. TAX RATE 

 

Prior to 1989, California levied an excise tax of five mills ($0.005) on each cigarette, or 

$0.10 on each pack of 20 cigarettes.  

 

Passage of Proposition 99 in November 1988 increased the excise tax on cigarettes by 

$0.25 per pack (to $0.35 per pack) effective January 1, 1989 and imposed a “tobacco 

products tax” on cigars, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, and snuff.  The tobacco products 

tax, which is stated as a percentage of the wholesale cost of tobacco, was set at a rate  
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equivalent to the excise tax on cigarettes.  Proposition 99 revenues are deposited into the 

Cigarette and Tobacco Products Surtax Fund to support anti-smoking education 

programs, tobacco-related diseases research, indigent health care and public resources. 

 

An additional $0.02 per pack cigarette increase was added in 1994 to fund Breast Cancer 

Research.  The proceeds from the tax are deposited in the Breast Cancer Fund, with 

allocations to the Breast Cancer Research Program and the Breast Cancer Control 

Program. 

 

Passage of Proposition 10 in November 1998 further increased both the cigarette and 

tobacco products tax rates.  Pursuant to Proposition 10, the cigarette tax rate increased by 

$0.50 per pack and the other tobacco products tax rate increased by an equivalent 

amount, effective January 1, 1999.  Proposition 10 requires that revenues from the 

Proposition 10 tax increase be deposited in the California Children and Families First 

Trust Fund for the purpose of promoting, supporting, and improving the development of 

children from the prenatal stage to five years of age.   

 

Proposition 10 also indirectly generated a second increase in the other tobacco products 

tax rate, beginning July 1, 1999.  This additional increase resulted because Proposition 99 

requires the other tobacco products tax rate to be recalculated on July 1 of each year 

based on the wholesale price of cigarettes in March of that year.  Thus, when Proposition 

10 increased the tax on a pack of cigarettes by $0.50 on January 1, it indirectly triggered 

an additional increase in the other tobacco products tax on July 1, 1999.  Revenues from 

this additional increase were deposited in the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Surtax 

Fund to fund Proposition 99 programs.  

 

3. EXEMPTIONS 

 

Sales of cigarettes or other tobacco products to Armed Forces exchanges, commissaries, 

Naval or Coast Guard ships and stores, and to the Veterans Administration are exempt 

from the tax, as are up to 400 cigarettes transported or brought into California by any 

individual for his or her personal consumption.  The U.S. Constitution also exempts sales 

by Indian smoke shops to Indians. 

 

4. FEDERAL TAXATION  (NOTE:  The Children's Health Insurance Program 

 Reauthorization Act increased the federal excise tax on tobacco products.) 

 

The federal government imposes excise taxes on cigarettes and tobacco products at the 

following rates: 

 

 Small cigars (weighing 3 lbs. or less*)  $50.33 per thousand 

 Large cigars (weighing more than 3 lbs.*)  52.75% of wholesale price, 

              not to exceed $402.70 per 

              thousand 

 Small cigarettes (weighing 3 lbs. or less*)  $50.33 per thousand 
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 Large cigarettes (more than 3 lbs.*)   $105.69 per thousand 

 

 Snuff       $1.51 per pound 

 Chewing Tobacco     $0.5033 per pound 

 Pipe Tobacco      $2.8311 per pound 

 * Per thousand 

 

These federal excise taxes are imposed in addition to state excise taxes and are included 

in the state sales tax base. 

 

5. REVENUE 

 

Total actual tobacco tax revenues for the 2010-11 and 2011-12, and estimated tax 

revenues for 2012-3 and 2013-14 fiscal years are shown below: 

 

         2010-11 2011-12         2012-13         2013-14 

          ($ Millions)  ($ Millions)  ($ Millions)   ($ Millions) 

  actual__        actual          estimate        estimate_  

 

General Fund     $  96.1           $  96.0          $  92.2          $  91.2 

 

Cigarette and Tobacco Products   

Surtax Fund (Proposition 99)     285.0             283.0            274.9            271.9 

 

Breast Cancer Fund        23.7               22.5              21.8              21.6 

 

California Children and Families   

First Fund (Proposition 10)     505.0             498.5             483.6             478.3          

 

Use of Special Funds.  Cigarette and Tobacco Products Surtax (Proposition 99) Fund:  

Money in the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Surtax Fund is allocated in the following 

ways: 

 

 Health Education Account   20% for education on the prevention 

and reduction of tobacco use 

 

 Hospital Services Account  35% to pay hospitals for the  

treatment of indigent, uninsured  

patients 

 

 Physicians Services Account  10% to pay physicians who render  

       medical services to indigent patients 
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 Research Account    5% to fund research on tobacco- 

      related diseases 

 

 Public Resources Account  5% to be equally divided between  

       wildlife preservation programs and  

improvement of state and local park  

and recreation facilities 

 

 General Purposes     25% to be used for any of the  

(Unallocated Account)  specific purposes described above 

 

Barring any revenue offsets, Proposition 10 would be expected to result in a decrease in 

revenues to the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Surtax Fund.  This decrease would result 

from an overall reduction in sales of cigarettes and other tobacco products.  However, 

Proposition 10 requires BOE to determine the fiscal effect of the decrease in consumption 

on any Proposition 99 state health-related education or research programs and Breast 

Cancer Fund programs.  To the extent these programs lose money as a result of 

Proposition 10, Proposition 10 requires that funds be transferred from the Children and 

Families First Fund to the Proposition 99 and Breast Cancer Funds to backfill the losses. 

 

This backfill provision does not extend to Proposition 99 health care or public resources 

programs.  

 

Breast Cancer Fund:  As noted earlier, revenue in the Breast Cancer Fund is directed 

toward research into the cause, cure, treatment, early detection, and prevention of breast 

cancer.  The money in the Breast Cancer Fund is divided equally between two accounts:  

the Breast Cancer Research Account and the Breast Cancer Control Account.   

 

The Breast Cancer Research Account shall allocate 10% of its moneys for the collection 

of breast cancer-related data and 90% of its moneys to the Breast Cancer Research 

Program created at the University of California to award grants and contracts for research 

related to the cause, cure, treatment, prevention, and earlier detection of breast cancer.  

The Breast Cancer Control Account shall allocate its moneys to provide early breast 

cancer detection services for uninsured and underinsured women.  

 

California Children and Families First (Proposition 10) Fund:  Proposition 10 creates one 

state commission and authorizes the creation of 58 local commissions (one in each 

county) to carry out the purpose of the proposition.  After the Proposition 99 and Breast 

Cancer Funds are backfilled to alleviate certain losses they experience as a result of 

Proposition 10, 20% of the remaining funds are allocated to the state commission and 

80% to the local commissions.  The 20% allocated to the State commission funds must be 

spent for the following purposes:   
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 Mass Medical Communications  6%/20% to a Mass Media  

Communications Account for 

television, radio, newspaper, and 

other mass media communications  

that relate to and further the goals of 

the act related to early childhood  

development. 

 

 Education     5%/20% to an Education Account  

       for development of educational  

       materials, professional and parental  

       education and training, and technical  

      support for county commissions. 

 

 Child Care     3%/20% to a Child Care Account for  

       programs related to the education  

       and training of  child care providers  

       and the development of educational  

       materials and guidelines for child  

      care  workers. 

 

 Research and Development  3%/20% to a Research and  

       Development Account to fund early  

       childhood development research and  

       evaluation of early childhood  

       development programs and services  

       that are established pursuant to the  

       proposition. 

 

 Administration    1%/20% for administrative expenses  

       of the state commission. 

 

 General Purposes    2%/20% to be used by the state  

       commission for any of the purposes  

       of the proposition. 

 

Each local commission is required to develop a strategic plan for supporting and 

improving early childhood development in its county and to spend its Proposition 10 

funds in a manner consistent with its strategic plan.  The formula for allocating revenues 

to the county commissions is based on the annual number of births in each participating 

county. 
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6. ADMINISTRATION 
 

The BOE is the state agency responsible for collecting the cigarette and tobacco products 

tax.  The cigarette tax is collected from distributors, who purchase stamps to affix to each 

pack of cigarettes.  

 

Licensed distributors are allowed a discount of 0.85% of the value of the stamps at the 

time of purchase.  This discount is designed to help offset the costs of affixing the stamps 

to each pack of cigarettes. 

 

Criminal penalties apply to forging tax stamps or for possessing, keeping, storing or 

retaining for the purpose of sale or for selling or possessing for sale counterfeit cigarettes 

or tobacco products. 

 

Cigars, pipe tobacco, snuff, and chewing tobacco are not stamped.  The tobacco products 

tax is paid through the use of a return on which the distributor reports the wholesale cost 

of the tobacco products distributed and calculates the tax due, which is based on the 

wholesale cost of the tobacco products. 

 

7. CODE 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 30001-30481 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 30473.5, 30474, 30474.1 
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CHAPTER 3C 

 

INSURANCE GROSS PREMIUMS TAX 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Purpose   In lieu of all other state and local taxes on insurers  

except, in part, real property taxes and vehicle 

license fees. 

 

 Tax Base   For insurers other than ocean marine insurers or title  

insurers, imposed on gross premiums less return 

premiums.  For title insurers, imposed on all income 

upon business done in California other than interest, 

dividends, rents from real property, income from 

investments, gain from disposition of investments. 

 

 Tax Rate   2.35% on most insurers' gross premiums. 

5% on ocean marine insurers on the share of  

underwriting profit representing gross premiums of  

ocean marine insurance written within California to 

gross premiums of ocean marine insurance written 

within the United States. 

 

 Revenue   2011-12 Actual $2.0 billion 

     2012-13 (estimate) $1.9 billion 

     2013-14 (estimate) $1.9 billion  

 

 Administration  Board of Equalization (BOE)  

State Controller's Office 

Department of Insurance 

__________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. TAX OVERVIEW 

 

Generally, insurers doing business in California are subject to a tax on the gross 

premiums written in the preceding calendar year, less return premiums.  Return 

premiums are premiums paid in part or in full to someone who has canceled their policy 

before its expiration date.  Most insurers pay this insurance tax based on their gross 

premiums.  However, insurers offering certain types of insurance use a different tax base. 

 

Title insurance companies are taxed on all income from business done in California, 

except interest, dividends, rents from real property, profits from sale or disposition of 

investments and income from investments.  Ocean marine insurers are taxed based on  
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their three-year average net profit.  Ocean marine insurance is written on hulls, freights, 

sea-going vessels, and goods and wares transported on the seas.   

 

Each out-of-state insurance company doing business in California is required to pay a 

retaliatory tax if its California insurance tax liability is less than the tax liability that 

would be imposed on a California insurance company doing the same level of business in 

the home state of the out-of-state insurance company. 

 

These taxes are in lieu of all other taxes, except real property taxes. 

 

2. CALIFORNIA EARTHQUAKE AUTHORITY 

 

By law, insurance companies that sell regular homeowners coverage in California are 

also required to offer earthquake insurance.  However, by the mid-1990s, large payouts 

for the 1989 Loma Prieta and 1994 Northridge quakes resulted in many insurance 

companies opting out of the California market rather than risking large future losses in 

the event of another major earthquake.  The California Earthquake Authority (CEA) was 

created by the Legislature in 1996 to help resolve what was then a crisis in the 

availability of earthquake insurance.  The CEA is a privately financed, publicly managed 

agency that provides limited earthquake insurance coverage for residential property 

owners, condominium owners, mobile homeowners, and renters.  As of February 2001, 

the CEA has access to $7.7 billion with which to pay claims, money that was generated 

from policyholders, participating insurance companies and reinsurance (a form of 

insurance that insurers purchase to provide additional resources to pay claims).   

 

Insurance companies that sell earthquake insurance through the CEA are not taxed on the 

value of their earthquake premiums, due to CEA's tax-exempt status.  To date, companies 

that represent 66% of the earthquake insurance market sell through CEA (71% of the 

homeowner's insurance market).  The remaining insurance companies that sell earthquake 

insurance (which represent 34% of the earthquake insurance market) are taxed on their 

earthquake insurance premiums at a rate of 2.35%. 

 

3. TAX RATE 

 

Premiums from some pension and profit sharing insurance contracts are taxed at 0.5%.  

Specialized insurers (surplus lines) and marine insurers are taxed at 3% and 5% 

respectively.  Additionally, "non-admitted insurers" are subject to a 3% tax on gross 

premiums less returned premiums.  Title insurers and all other insurers are taxed at a rate 

of 2.35%. 

 

Proposition 103, approved by the voters in November 1988, required the BOE to adjust 

the rate of the insurance gross premiums tax for 1989 and 1990 to compensate for any  

decline in revenue resulting from the initiative's restrictions on premiums.  In January of 

1991, BOE set the insurance gross premiums tax rate at 2.46% of premiums collected 

during the 1990 calendar year. 
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However, BOE's authority under Proposition 103 to administratively set the gross 

premiums tax rate expired at the end of 1991.  Accordingly, the tax rate for premiums 

collected in subsequent years reverted to the constitutionally specified level of 2.35%. 

 

4. DEDUCTIONS 

 

As stated in California Constitution, Article XIII, Section 28, the insurance tax is in lieu 

of all other state and local taxes and license fees, except real property taxes, motor 

vehicle license and registration fees, and ocean marine insurance.  Insurance companies, 

therefore, are not subject to the corporation tax, nor do they pay property tax on personal 

property.  Currently, there are no deductions allowed against insurance gross premiums 

tax. 

 

5. FEDERAL TAXATION 

 

Taxation of insurance companies under the federal income tax is consistent with taxation 

of other companies.  There is no federal insurance gross premium tax. 

 

6. REVENUE 

 

The insurance gross premiums tax is entirely a General Fund revenue source.  Insurance 

tax revenues for fiscal year (FY) 2011-12 were $2.0 billion.  They are estimated to equal 

$1.9 billion in FY 2012-13, and $1.9 billion in FY 2013-14. 

 

7. ADMINISTRATION 

 

The insurance tax is jointly administered by three separate state agencies.  The 

Department of Insurance issues permits for each class of insurance, processes returns, and 

audits taxpayers.  California's BOE issues assessments, processes petitions, and hears 

appeals.  The State Controller's Office makes refunds and collects delinquencies and 

penalties.   

 

Prepayments are required to be made quarterly and returns are required to be filed 

annually. 

 

8. CODE 

 

California Constitution, Article XIII, Section 28 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 12202-13170 
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CHAPTER 3D 

 

ESTATE TAX 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Tax Base   The value of the adjusted taxable estate. 

 

 Tax Rate   Equal to the maximum allowable federal credit for  

which the taxpayer is eligible. 

 

 Revenue   2011-12 (Actual) $3.7 million* 

     2012-13 (Estimate) $3.2 million* 

     2013-14 (Estimate) $2.8 million* 

 

 Administration  State Controller's Office 

 

*Includes estimated effects of estate tax phase-out (see Section 3 of this Chapter) 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. TAX OVERVIEW 

 

In 1982, California voters approved an initiative to repeal the state Inheritance and Gift 

Tax law.  The initiative, Proposition 6, provided for the imposition of the Estate Tax, 

and prohibited the imposition of inheritance taxes by the state or local governments. 

 

Generally, estate tax is levied on the entire property holdings of an individual upon his or 

her death.  The value of each estate is based upon the fair market value of the decedent's 

property and interests in property as of the decedent's date of death.  The California estate 

tax is derivative of the federal estate tax.  Under federal law, the estate tax is reduced by a 

credit for a portion of state inheritance or estate taxes paid, up to certain maximum levels.  

California's estate tax is equal to the taxpayer's maximum allowable federal credit.  In 

effect, California "picks up" a share of the tax that would otherwise go to the federal 

government but does not increase the total tax liability of the estate.  

 

2. FEDERAL REPEAL OF THE STATE PICKUP TAX CREDIT 

 

The Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act (EGTRRA) of 2001 provided 

for elimination of the federal estate tax over a four-year period beginning in 2002.   

Under federal law, an effective exclusion of $1 million exists for deaths occurring in 

2002 and 2003; the effective exclusion rises to $1.5 million in 2004 and 2005; to $2 

million in 2006, 2007, and 2008; and to $3.5 million in 2009.  The EGTRRA was 

scheduled to sunset after 2010, at which time the federal estate tax would have been 

reinstated along with the state's estate tax.  The Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance 

Reauthorization, and Job Creation Act of 2010, however, made changes to the estate tax 
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for 2011 and 2012.  One of those changes was an extension for 2011 and 2012 of the 

elimination of the state estate tax credit, which had been in effect since 2005. 

 

The 2001 federal law also phased out the state pickup tax credit over a four-year period 

beginning in 2002.  The credit was reduced by 25% in 2002, by 50% in 2003, by 75% in 

2004, and was entirely eliminated in 2005.  The impact on California of the reduction in 

the pickup tax is significant.  The pickup tax remains for the generation skipping transfer 

tax; however, the revenue generated is not expected to be significant.  Revenue collection 

estimates are based primarily upon projected receipts from estates with installment 

payment agreements in place. 

 

3. ADMINISTRATION 

 

The California estate tax is a self-assessed tax, administered by the State Controller's 

Office.  The amount to be paid is equal to the maximum federal credit allowable, as 

calculated according to Federal Form 706.  For deaths prior to 2005, a check in this 

amount and a state return, along with a copy of Federal Form 706, must be sent to the 

Controller's Office within nine months after the death of the deceased.  

 

4. CODE 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 13301-14302 and Sections 16700-16950 
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CHAPTER 3E 

 

FUEL TAXES 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Purpose   To maintain state and local public highways and 

roads and to fund certain aeronautical, harbor and 

watercraft, and off-highway motor vehicle 

activities. 

 

 Tax Base   Fuels used to propel motor vehicles, vessels, and 

aircraft. 

 

 Tax Rate   Gasoline Tax*       $0.36 per gallon 

Aviation Gasoline Tax    $0.18 per gallon 

     Aircraft Jet Fuel Tax      $0.02 per gallon 

     Diesel Fuel Tax*      $0.10 per gallon 

     Interstate User Tax**      $0.445 per gallon 

     Use Fuel Tax       $0.06 - $0.18 per gallon 

 

 Revenue                Diesel and Use  

        Gasoline Tax***     Fuel Tax****    

 

     2011-12     $5.182 billion          $363 million 

     2012-13 (Est.)    $5.372 billion          $296 million 

     2013-14 (Est.)    $5.739 billion          $288 million 

      

 

 Administration  Board of Equalization (BOE) 

 

*Rate effective July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013.  Tax rates are subject to change, as  

 explained in Fuel Tax Swap (see below). 

**Rate effective January 1, 2013 to June 30, 2013. 

***Including aircraft jet fuel 

****The two revenue streams are not currently tracked separately 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. TAX OVERVIEW 

 

California's fuel taxes fall into three distinct categories:  The motor vehicle fuel tax 

(gasoline tax), diesel fuel tax, and the use fuel tax. 

 

The Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax, which includes the gasoline tax and the aviation gasoline 

tax, is imposed on the removal of motor vehicle fuel from a terminal rack or a refinery 
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rack into a truck, trailer, or railroad car, on the entry of the motor vehicle fuel into the 

state, and on certain other activities.  

 

Motor vehicle fuels subject to the gasoline tax include gasoline, aviation gasoline, blends 

of gasoline and alcohol containing more than 15% gasoline, and any inflammable liquid 

used or usable for propelling motor vehicles operated by the explosion type of engine.  

Fuels not subject to the gasoline tax include diesel fuel (taxed under the Diesel Fuel Tax 

Law), kerosene, liquefied petroleum gas, ethanol, methanol and natural gas in liquid or 

gaseous form (taxed under the Use Fuel Tax Law). 

 

The gasoline tax does not apply to inflammable liquids that do not contain gasoline or 

natural gasoline or that are specifically manufactured, distributed, and used for racing 

motor vehicles at a racetrack. 

 

The aircraft jet fuel tax, which is also part of the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax Law, is 

imposed on sales of aircraft jet fuel by an aircraft jet fuel dealer to an aircraft jet fuel 

user.  Certified air common carriers, aircraft manufacturers or repairers, and the armed 

forces of the U.S. are not included in the definition of "aircraft jet fuel users" and are 

therefore not subject to this tax.  In practice, the aircraft jet fuel tax is imposed primarily 

on nonscheduled airline carriers (private jets and private mail delivery carriers) and 

helicopters. 

 

The diesel fuel tax is imposed under the Diesel Fuel Tax Law on the removal of diesel 

fuel from a terminal rack or a refinery rack into a truck, trailer, or railroad car, on the 

entry of the diesel fuel into the state, and on certain other activities.  Diesel fuel means 

any liquid that is commonly or commercially known or sold as a fuel that is suitable for 

use in a diesel-powered highway vehicle.  Dyed diesel fuel, which is intended solely for 

exempt off-highway use, is not subject to the tax. 

 

Federal legislation passed in October 2005 changed the administration of the clear diesel 

fuel tax by requiring persons to prepay the tax on the quantity of diesel fuel used off-

highway and then file a claim for refund of the diesel fuel tax based upon the number of 

gallons purchased that was used for off-highway purposes.  California has not entirely 

conformed to this change in federal tax law.  Under California law, exempt bus operators, 

train operators, and purchasers of diesel fuel for use on a farm for farming purposes may 

issue an exemption certificate to their vendor or supplier for their estimated exempt 

usage.  The purchaser in these situations remains liable for the tax not used in an exempt 

manner and in the case of an exempt bus operator, must report their taxable and 

nontaxable usage and pay any resulting tax. 

 

California has participated in the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA), with respect 

to California's diesel fuel tax, since January 1, 1996.  Under the IFTA, interstate truckers 

are required to submit quarterly reports detailing the number of gallons of fuel they use in 

each state or Canadian province.  Each trucker is required to file his or her report with a 

single home (base) state and is taxed based on where the trucker consumes fuel. 
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Interstate truckers who purchase their diesel fuel outside California for use in-state must 

pay an additional tax (over and above the California diesel fuel tax rate) that is equivalent 

to the statewide sales tax rate imposed on in-state purchases of diesel fuel.  Conversely, 

interstate truckers are allowed a refund or credit on the equivalent sales tax rate when 

they purchase diesel fuel in-state but use it out-of-state.  The "equivalent sales tax rate" 

imposed on interstate truckers is set annually by the BOE and is calculated based on the 

average retail price per gallon of diesel fuel in California and the combined average 

California state and local sales and use tax rate.  

 

The use fuel tax is imposed on vendors and users of motor vehicle fuels that are not 

taxed under either the gasoline or diesel fuel tax, such as kerosene, liquefied petroleum 

gas, ethanol, methanol and natural gas (both liquid and gaseous) for use on state 

highways. 

 

Both the state gasoline tax and the state aircraft jet fuel tax are part of the state sales tax 

base.  Conversely, neither the state diesel fuel tax nor the state use fuel tax is part of the 

state sales tax base. 

 

As a result of Proposition 26, approved by voters in the November 2, 2010, statewide 

election, the Legislature re-enacted the Fuel Tax Swap of 2010.  Similar to the Fuel Tax 

Swap of 2010, the re-enactment reduced the sales and use tax imposed on sales of 

gasoline and replaced the lost revenues with an increase in the excise tax on gasoline, and 

on July 1, 2011, reduced the excise tax rate on diesel fuel and replaced the lost revenues 

with an increase in the sales and use tax rate imposed on diesel fuel sales.  However, the 

re-enactment made the following changes related to diesel fuel: 

 

Effective July 1, 2011, in place of the additional 1.75% sales and use tax rate  

imposed by the 2010 fuel tax swap legislation on sales of diesel fuel, the re- 

enactment instead imposed an additional rate of 1.87%.  In subsequent years, the 

reenactment would further change this rate as follows: 

 

 Effective July 1, 2012, increase the additional rate to 2.17%; 

 Effective July 1, 2013, decrease the additional rate to 1.94%; and 

 Effective July 1, 2014, and thereafter, reinstate the 1.75% additional rate. 

 

Effective July 1, 2011, in place of the 2010 fuel tax swap's reduced excise tax rate 

on diesel fuel of 13.6 cents per gallon, the re-enactment decreased that rate further 

to 13 cents per gallon. 

 

The "swap" was meant to maintain the status quo for fuels that are either fully or partially 

exempt from the sales and use tax, such as sales of aviation gasoline and diesel fuel used 

in farming activities, or fully or partially exempt from excise tax, such as diesel fuel used 

in farming operations, or by train operators or certain bus operators. 

 

The fuel tax swap legislation was intended to be revenue neutral, so that the state's tax 

revenues would not be increased or decreased, nor would the taxpayers' tax burden be 
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affected.  To maintain revenue neutrality, the provisions of this "swap" require the BOE 

to each year adjust the excise tax rates on gasoline and diesel fuel – either upwards or 

downwards, beginning July 1, 2011, for gasoline, and July 1, 2012, for diesel fuel, so that 

the overall revenues derived from the imposition of state excise tax and sales and use 

taxes on sales of gasoline and diesel fuel remain the same.  As required, the BOE set the 

tax rate for gasoline, for the period July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013, at $0.360, an increase 

of $0.003 over the previous rate of $0.357.  The BOE set the tax rate for diesel fuel, for 

the period July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013, at $0.10, a decrease of $0.03 from the previous 

rate of $0.13. 

 

2. TAX RATES 

 

The State of California taxes various fuels at the rates listed below:   

   

      

                Rate (per gallon,  

Fuel                             unless otherwise specified) 

 

Gasoline, excluding aviation gasoline*          $0.360 

Aviation gasoline      $0.18  

 Aircraft Jet Fuel           $0.02   

Diesel 100% (including biodiesel)*          $0.10 

 Interstate Users (IFTA members)**         $0.445   

Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG)         $0.06 

Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG)          $0.06 

Compressed Natural Gas (CNG)         $0.07 per 100 cubic feet 

Ethanol and Methanol         $0.09 

Kerosene          $0.18 

 

*Rate effective July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013.  Excise tax rates are subject to 

  change, as explained in Fuel Tax Swap (see table below). 

 **Rate effective January 1, 2013 to June 30, 2013. 

 

Diesel fuel and fuels taxed under the Use Fuel Tax Law that are used in buses operated 

by transit systems, certain common carriers, public school districts, and community 

college districts are exempt from diesel and use fuel taxes but are, instead, taxed  at a rate 

of $0.01 per gallon.  The owner or operator of a vehicle propelled by liquefied petroleum 

gas, liquid natural gas, or compressed natural gas may pay an annual flat rate fuel tax 

based on the type or weight of the vehicle instead of the per gallon rate. 

 

State/Federal Rate Linkage.  The Federal government also imposes excise taxes on 

various fuels.  The California gasoline, diesel, and certain use fuel tax rates are tied by 

statute to comparable federal taxes in order to maintain a minimum level of combined 

state and federal fuel tax revenue.  The state/federal linked rate for gasoline taxes must be 

maintained at a minimum of $0.27 per gallon.  Therefore, if the federal gasoline tax 

(which currently is $0.184 per gallon) were reduced below a rate of $0.09 per gallon and 
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federal financial allocations to California were also reduced, the state gasoline tax would 

be recalculated so that the combined Federal and state excise tax on motor vehicle fuel 

would equal $0.27 per gallon.  In addition to this combined rate, the fuel tax swap 

imposes an additional tax, recalculated to be effective July 1 of each year, which would 

increase the overall combined rate accordingly. 

 

The same type of linkage is true for both diesel and use fuel taxes that are imposed at a 

state rate of $0.10 and $0.18 per gallon, respectively.  Currently, the only use fuel taxed 

at $0.18 per gallon and subject to the state/federal linkage is kerosene fuel.  If the federal 

diesel or kerosene fuel tax rate (which is currently $0.244 per gallon) were reduced below 

a rate of $0.15 per gallon and federal financial allocations to California were also 

reduced, the state diesel and kerosene taxes would be recalculated so that the combined 

Federal and state taxes would equal $0.33 per gallon for kerosene, and in the case of 

diesel fuel what it would have been in the absence of the federal reduction (the cap for 

diesel fuel was removed pursuant to the re-enactment of the fuel tax swap).  However, 

with respect to diesel fuel, the decrease of the state excise tax rate to $0.10, pursuant to 

the fuel Tax Swap adjustment may affect this recalculation, should a future reduction in 

the federal excise tax and corresponding allocation to the state occur. 

 

Rates Applicable to Gasoline 

                                        

                                                                                      July 1, 2012 

                                                             Through                   to                          Effective 

                                                        June 30, 2012     June 30, 2013              July 1, 2013 

 

Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax – 

excluding aviation gasoline 

(cents per gallon) 

 

 

$0.357 

 

$0.360 

 

To be determined 

Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax – 

aviation gasoline only 

(cents per gallon) 

 

 

$0.18 

 

$0.18 

 

$.018 

Sales and Use Tax Rate on 

Motor Vehicle Fuel 

 

2.25% plus 

applicable 

district taxes 

 

2.25% plus 

applicable 

district taxes 

 

2.25% plus  

applicable district taxes 

Prepaid Sales Tax on Motor 

Vehicle Fuel (cents per 

Gallon) 

 

 

$0.055
1
 

 

$0.055
2
         

 

To be determined* 

 

 

 

                                                 
1
 This rate was effective through March 31, 2012. 

2
 This rate is effective April 1, 2012 to June 30, 2012, and July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013. 
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Rates Applicable to Diesel Fuel 

 

                                                                                     July 1, 2012                 

                                                            Through                  to                        Effective 

                                                        June 30, 2012     June 30, 2013           July 1, 2013 

 

Diesel Fuel Tax  

(cents per gallon) 

 

 

$0.13 

 

$0.10 

 

To be determined 

Sales and Use Tax 

 

 

9.12%
3
 plus 

applicable 

district taxes 

 

 

9.42%
4
 plus 

applicable 

district taxes 

 

9.67%
5
 plus 

applicable 

district taxes 

 

 

9.42
6
% plus 

applicable district  

taxes 

Prepaid Sales Tax on Diesel 

Fuel (cents per gallon) 

 

 

$0.250
7
 

$0.265
8
 

 

$0.25 

$0.290
9
 

 

To be determined 

* The prepayment rate was previously set annually by the BOE by November 1, and took 

effect April 1 of the following year.  AB 2679 (Committee on Transportation), Chapter 

769, Statutes of 2012, provides that the prepayment rate in effect on January 1, 2013 will 

remain in effect through June 30, 2013.  AB 2679 changed the date the BOE sets the 

prepayment rates to align with the fuel tax swap adjustment dates.  The BOE will set the 

prepayment rate by March 1 with the rate change taking effect on July 1. 

 

3. EXEMPTIONS AND/OR REFUNDS 

 

Excise tax exemptions are allowed for any fuel that is: 

 

 Exported out of state; 

 

 Sold to certain consulate officers and employees; 

 

                                                 
3
 As a result of the "fuel tax swap," the statewide sales tax rate was increased by 1.87% effective July 1, 

2011. 
4
 On July 1, 2012, the additional rate was increased to 2.17%; on July 1, 2013, the additional rate will be 

decreased to 1.94%; on July 1, 2014, and thereafter, the additional 1.75% rate will be reinstated. 
5
 Effective January 1, 2013, due to the passage of Proposition 30, the statewide sales and use tax rate will 

increase one-quarter percent (0.25%) to 7.50%, so the total rate for sales of diesel fuel will also increase. 
6
 Total rate effective July 1, 2013. 

7
 This rate was in effect through March 30, 2012. 

8
 This rate was in effect April 1, 2012 through June 30, 2012. 

9
 This rate is effective July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2013. 
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 Used off public roads (so-called off-highway use); and, 

 

 Used for certain agricultural and/or construction equipment. 

 

An exemption is also allowed for dyed diesel fuel.  In this case, the fuel is dyed to make 

it readily apparent that it is intended for exempt use. 

 

Furthermore, a partial excise tax exemption applies to certain bus operations.  The 

following bus operations are subject to a tax of $0.01 per gallon on the diesel fuel used: 

 

 Transit districts, transit authorities, or cities owning and operating local transit 

systems; 

 

 Common carriers operating exclusively within a city limit and not subject to 

the jurisdiction of the Public Utilities Commission (PUC); 

 

 Passenger stage corporations under the jurisdiction of the PUC, when used on 

routes of no greater than 50 miles; and, 

 

 Public school districts, county superintendents of schools, or community 

college districts. 

 

Excise tax refunds are given to anyone who pays fuel taxes and subsequently uses the tax 

paid fuel in an exempt manner. 

 

4. REVENUE 

 

Revenues from the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax, Diesel Fuel Tax, and the Use Fuel Tax 

accrue to the State Transportation Fund, a special fund that provides the major source of 

funds for maintaining, replacing, and constructing state highway and transportation 

facilities.  Revenues from jet fuel and aviation gasoline are transferred to the Aeronautics 

Account for use at certain airports. 

 

Through various statutory allocation formulas, just over one-third of the revenue from all 

three taxes is shared with local governments; just under two-thirds remains with the state. 

 

Taxes imposed under the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax Law generated $5.182 billion in fiscal 

year (FY) 2011-12, the vast majority of which accrued from motor vehicle fuel taxes.  

Typically, only a few million dollars per year results from imposition of aircraft jet fuel 

taxes.  Both taxes collectively are expected to raise $5.322 billion in FY 2012-13. 

 

The diesel fuel tax and use fuel tax generated $363 million in FY 2011-12 and are 

expected to drop to $296 million in FY 2012-13.  Diesel fuel tax and use fuel tax 

revenues are expected to decrease to $288 million by FY 2013-14.  At present, the two 

revenue streams are not tracked separately.  
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Together, all of these Highway User's Taxes generated roughly 4.0% of total state 

revenues during FY 2011-12.  As reflected above and in accordance with the State 

Constitution, all motor vehicle fuel tax revenue is dedicated for transportation purposes.  

Some of this may change as a result of the enactment of the Fuel Tax Swap and passage 

of Proposition 22 in 2010. 

 

5. ADMINISTRATION 

 

The BOE administers all motor vehicle fuel taxes; however, the State Controller 

processes gasoline tax payments and refunds.  

 

The aircraft jet fuel tax is imposed upon every aircraft jet fuel dealer for each gallon of 

such fuel sold to an aircraft jet fuel user or used by the dealer as an aircraft jet fuel user.  

Dealers are licensed and required to pay the tax monthly to the California BOE. 

 

The gasoline tax and diesel fuel tax are paid by suppliers at the time of removal of the 

fuel at the refinery rack or terminal rack.  The tax is included in the selling price to the 

ultimate purchaser unless, under specified circumstances, the ultimate purchaser provides 

an exemption certificate for the number of gallons estimated to be used off-highway or 

for exempt bus or farming operations.  Suppliers are licensed and pay the tax monthly to 

BOE. 

 

As provided in the Fuel Tax Swap, the state excise tax rate for both gasoline and diesel 

fuel will be adjusted annually by the BOE to maintain revenue neutrality.  The rates will 

be set by the BOE on March 1 and will be effective July 1 each year. 

 

Interstate truckers report and pay their diesel fuel tax liability through IFTA returns on a 

quarterly basis.  If California is not the trucker’s base state, the funds are transferred to 

California by the responsible IFTA member state or Canadian province. 

 

The use fuel tax is imposed on the user but collected by the vendor who sells the fuel.  A 

permit is required of the vendor and user.  Retailers are required to collect the use fuel tax 

at the time they sell the fuel to persons who use the fuel.  Retailers and users with use fuel 

permits may claim credit for the tax paid to vendors when they file their use fuel tax 

returns.  The tax may be collected at quarterly intervals designated by BOE. 

 

6. CODE 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 7301-8526 [Motor Vehicle Fuel (Gasoline) Tax] 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 7385-7398 (Aircraft Jet Fuel Tax) 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 8601-9355 (Use Fuel Tax) 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 8691, 9401-9433, 60130 (Fuel Tax and 

    International Fuel Tax Agreements) 
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Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 60001-60708 (Diesel Fuel Tax) 

  

California Constitution, Article XIX, Section 1 
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CHAPTER 3F 

 

MOTOR VEHICLE FEES 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

     Tax Base   For vehicle license fees (R&TC §§10751 - 10753), 

the "market value" of the vehicle.  The market value  

of a vehicle or trailer coach is determined based on  

the cost of the vehicle at the time of purchase.  The  

cost used to determine market value does not  

include any sales or use tax, local tax, or interest,  

finance or carrying charges.  Weight fees for  

commercial vehicles are determined by the unladen  

weight, gross weight, or combined gross vehicle  

weight, depending on the size of the vehicle. 

 

     Tax Rate   Effective July 1, 2011, vehicle license fees are 

     0.65% of the market value.  The annual registration  

     fee was changed to a flat $69 ($46 registration plus  

     $23 California Highway Patrol) on July 1, 2011.   

     From May 19, 2009 to July 1, 2011, license fees  

     were 1.15% of the market value of the vehicle.   

     From January 1, 2005, to May 18, 2009, the license  

     fees were 0.65% of the market value. 

 

 Revenue                            Registration        Weight       

           License Fees              Fees                   Fees___                     

 

   2011-12 (actual)    $2.05 billion        $2.87 billion  $943 million 

   2012-13 (est.)        $1.98 billion        $2.88 billion  $932 million 

   2013-14 (est.)        $1.97 billion        $2.96 billion  $946 million 

 

 Administration   Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 

 

 Collection    Franchise Tax Board (FTB) (delinquencies 

         only) 

      Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. TAX OVERVIEW 

 

The Vehicle License Fee (VLF), also known as the automobile in-lieu tax, is levied for 

the privilege of operating a vehicle on the public highways of California.  The tax is 

imposed in-lieu of a local personal property tax on vehicles and trailer coaches.  The fee 

is paid annually as part of the vehicle registration process. 
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The motor vehicle registration fee is levied annually on all motor vehicles, trailer 

coaches, and other vehicles that use public highways. 

 

Weight fees are levied annually for the operation of certain commercial motor vehicles. 

 

Other vehicle-related fees include driver's license fees, transfer of title fees, motor-carrier 

tax and others that are not discussed in this book. 

 

2. TAX RATES 

 

Existing law imposes a VLF for the privilege of operating a vehicle on California's public 

highways.  Although called a fee, the VLF is a tax imposed in lieu of a local personal 

property tax on vehicles.  The VLF is imposed at a rate of 0.65% on a vehicle's market 

value, which equals the manufacturer's suggested base price plus options, adjusted by a 

depreciation schedule specified in state law.  Pursuant to the California Constitution, VLF 

revenue is allocated to local governments.  Approximately 25% of VLF revenue is 

deposited into the Motor Vehicle License Fee Account in the Transportation Tax Fund 

and is split between cities and counties.  This portion of VLF allocations is called "base 

VLF" and can be used by local governments for any spending purpose.  The remaining 

75% of local government VLF funds are restricted to funding various health, mental 

health, and social services programs shifted to the counties as part of the 1991 

realignment.  This portion of the VLF backfill is called "realignment VLF". 

  

3. VLF HISTORY 

 

Beginning in 1998, the state offset a portion of the VLF, which had the effect of reducing 

the 2% rate.  In 1999, the VLF was reduced by 25% (i.e., the VLF offset equaled 25%, 

and the VLF rate charged to vehicle owners equaled 1.5%).  The VLF offset was 

increased from 25% to 35% in 2000, and from 35% to 67.5% in 2001.  Previous laws 

[Revenue and Taxation Code Section 10754(a)(3)(A) and 10754(a)(3)(B)] provided for a 

67.5% offset and requires the state to transfer the amount of this offset to the Motor 

Vehicle License Fee Account in the Transportation Tax Fund and the Local Revenue 

Fund, for the benefit of local governments. 

 

On June 19, 2003, Governor Gray Davis' administration invoked Revenue and Taxation 

(R&T) Code Section 10754(a)(3)(C) and declared that there were insufficient moneys to 

fully fund the 67.5% VLF offsets required by R&T Code Section 10754(a)(3)(A).  

Governor Davis' declaration triggered a repeal of the 67.5% VLF offset, effective for              

vehicle owners with final VLF due dates on or after October 1, 2003.  Pursuant to 

Governor Davis' declaration, the state ceased backfilling local governments for revenue 

losses they experienced as a result of VLF offsets in place beginning on June 20, 2003.  

Consequently, local governments did not receive any VLF backfill corresponding to the 

period between June 20, 2003 and October 1, 2003.  This "VLF backfill gap" was 

originally estimated by the Department of Finance to be $825 million, but was later 

revised upward to $1.3 billion.  AB 1768 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), 



  CHAPTER 3F 

  MOTOR VEHICLE FEES 

 127 

Chapter 231, Statutes of 2003, anticipated that local governments would loan the amount 

of the VLF backfill gap to the General Fund and would be repaid in FY 2006-07. 

  

On November 17, 2003, Governor Schwarzenegger issued Executive Order S-1-03, 

reinstating a 67.5% offset and returning the effective rate of the VLF to 0.65%.  This 

Executive Order directed the DMV to reinstate the offset as soon as administratively 

feasible.  In its mid-year spending proposals, the Administration indicated that fully 

funding the offset in excess of the $825 million loan amount would require $3.625 

billion.  However, because the $825 million estimate had been increased to $1.3 billion 

(an increase of $475 million), the Administration asked the Legislature to increase the 

local government loan referenced in AB 1768 to $1.3 billion and to approve an 

appropriation of $3.15 billion for local governments ($3.625 billion minus $475 million). 

  

On December 18, 2003, reacting to the Legislature's decision to recess without acting 

upon the Governor's request to address local government reimbursement, the Governor 

invoked his powers under Budget Act Control Sections 27 and 28.  In a letter sent from 

the Department of Finance to the chairs of the Senate and Assembly Budget and 

Appropriations Committees on behalf of the Governor, Finance Director Donna Arduin              

stated that the total estimated shortfall in local government reimbursement for the entire 

2003-04 FY had been revised downward from the prior $3.15 billion estimate and now 

equaled $2.652 billion over the $1.3 billion "gap" amount.  Relying upon his powers to 

spend at a rate that would incur a deficiency pursuant to the 2003 Budget Act, Governor              

Schwarzenegger approved a deficiency appropriation in the amount of $2.503 billion 

from the General Fund to replace revenue lost by local governments from VLF offsets.  

This appropriation replaced an in-lieu appropriation of $1,000 that was previously 

contained in the 2003-04 Budget Act. 

  

On February 26, 2004, the Legislature sent Governor Schwarzenegger a bill revising the 

appropriations contained in AB 1768 [SB 1057 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal 

Review), Chapter 24, Statutes of 2004.]  SB 1057 updated the Legislature's plans to 

reimburse local governments for the VLF backfill gap.  SB 1057 directed the Controller 

to provide this reimbursement to local governments on August 15, 2006, unless an earlier 

transfer is authorized by the Legislature.  The bill also authorized the Controller, with the 

approval of the Department of Finance, to advance reimbursements to local governments 

that could demonstrate that they would experience a hardship (defined in the bill) if they 

must wait until August 15, 2006 for reimbursement.  Total advances allowed under the              

provisions of the bill were capped at $40 million.   

 

4. VLF TAX BASE 

 

The market value is determined based on the cost price of the vehicle.  The cost price 

used to determine market value does not include any sales or use tax, local tax, or 

interest, finance or carrying charges and is adjusted by a depreciation schedule, as 

follows: 

 

For motor vehicles, the schedule is based on an 11-year depreciation period.  The base 

equals 100% of the purchase price in the year of sale, and is scaled down each year to 
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15% of purchase price in the eleventh year and thereafter.  Used vehicles are placed at the 

top of the depreciation schedule when acquired by a new owner, with the tax based on the 

current purchase price of the used vehicle (there are exceptions to this rule for transfers 

between close family members).  The following table details this depreciation schedule:  

 

    1st year value   100% of market 

    2nd year   90% 

    3rd year   80% 

    4th year   70% 

    5th year   60% 

    6th year   50% 

    7th year   40% 

    8th year   30% 

    9th year   25% 

    10th year   20% 

    11th and later years  15%  

 

For trailer coaches or mobilehomes not on the local property tax roll, an 18-year 

depreciation schedule is used.  Fees are based on 85% of market value in the year of sale 

and are scaled down to 15% of market value in the 18th and succeeding years.  (See 

Chapter 6G of this Reference Book for more information on mobilehome taxation.) 

 

5. REGISTRATION RELATED FEES 

 

The annual registration fee for most vehicles is $69, which includes a $46 base 

registration fee and a $23 California Highway Patrol (CHP) fee.  The CHP portion is 

subject to adjustment for increases in the California Consumer Price Index(CPI).  A $2 

portion of the registration fee supports the Alternative Fuel and Vehicle Technology 

Fund, and $1 supports the Enhanced Fleet Modernization Fund.   

 

There is also a $20 smog abatement fee on vehicles six or less model years old that are 

exempt from biennial smog requirements.   

 

In addition, counties may impose a fee up to $7 for air quality management districts for 

motor vehicles.  Counties in the San Joaquin Unified Air Pollution Control District 

(Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Merced, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tulare) are allowed 

to impose a fee up to an additional $30. In December 2010, the California Air Resources 

Board approved the fee of $12. The fee increase was implemented on September 10, 

2011.  Counties may also impose a $1 or $3 fee for the Service Authority for Freeway 

Emergencies (SAFE) program, a $1 or $3  Vehicle Theft Deterrence Fee, a $1 or $3  

Abandoned Vehicle Abatement Fee, and a $1 or $3 fee (depending on vehicle type) for 

law enforcement fingerprinting identification systems.  Five counties (Alameda, Marin, 

San Mateo, San Francisco/city, and Santa Clara) may also impose a County 

Transportation Projects fee of $10, which became effective six months after voters 

approved the measure on May 2, 2011, for local road repairs, pedestrian safety 

improvements, and transit reliability improvements throughout the city.  San Mateo 

County also collects a $4 traffic/storm water fee.   
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Instead of paying the annual registration fee and any supplemental fees, an owner may 

pay an $18 planned non-operation (PNO) fee if it is anticipated that the vehicle will not 

be operated during the subsequent registration year(s).  This PNO fee is also subject to 

annual changes under the CPI. 

 

The City and County of San Francisco has the authority to impose a local registration fee 

of $10 and a Vehicle License Fee surcharge of up to 1.35% on the depreciated value of 

the county's resident's vehicle.  Proceeds of either of these levies are required to be spent 

on public transit.  Imposition of either surcharge requires approval of two-thirds of the 

voters voting in an election on the issue.  The fees have not been imposed to date. 

 

The weight fee for a commercial vehicle depends on the unladen (empty) weight of the 

vehicle, the declared gross vehicle weight, or combined gross vehicle weight for 

commercial vehicles.  A commercial vehicle is defined as one designed to carry property 

or used to transport persons for profit. 

 

6. EXEMPTIONS 

 

There are many exemptions to the VLF.  The most common are non-resident military, 

government-owned vehicles, farm vehicles (used off-road), and vehicles owned and 

driven on federal Indian reservations and Rancherias.  Vehicles owned by qualifying 

disabled veterans (Vehicle Code Section 9105) or a dollar amount ($20,000-$30,000) of 

the market value of a mobilehome or trailer coach are exempt from the VLF.  (R&TC 

Section 10788). 

 

7. FEDERAL TAXATION 

 

The federal government imposes a use tax on certain highway vehicles and a "gas 

guzzlers" tax on manufacturers of cars with low mileage ratings.  All other states have 

fees similar to those imposed in California. 

 

8. REVENUE 

 

Of the total amount of VLF revenue available to local governments, approximately 25% 

is deposited in the Transportation Tax Fund.  This revenue is equally divided between 

cities and counties.  The funds are then further divided among cities and among counties 

on a population based formula. 

 

The remaining 75% of VLF revenues are deposited into the VLF Account of the Local 

Revenue Fund.  These funds partially finance certain health and welfare programs, the 

responsibility for which the state transferred to local agencies. 

 

In 2009, a VLF tax rate was temporarily increased from 0.65% to 1.15% for VLF 

collected between May 19, 2009 and June 30, 2011.  Of the increased amount of VLF 

collected during that period, 0.35% was deposited into the State's General Fund and 

0.15% was dedicated to the Local Safety and Protection Account. 
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Trailer coach VLF revenues are deposited in the state General Fund.  Before fiscal year 

(FY) 1992-93, these funds were distributed to cities, counties, and school districts on a 

situs basis. 

 

The VLF on motor vehicles totaled $2.05 billion in FY 2011-12.  The VLF is expected to 

raise $1.98 billion in FY 2012-13, and $1.97 billion in FY 2013-14.   

 

Motor vehicle "registration" fees generated $2.87 billion in FY 2011-12 and are expected 

to raise $2.88 billion in FY 2012-13.  Out of each $69 vehicle registration fee, $23 

provides supplemental support for the California Highway Patrol.  The remaining $46 

supports the activities of all of the departments funded by the Motor Vehicle Account 

including Motor Vehicles, Highway Patrol, Justice and Air Resources Board, $2 supports 

the Alternative Fuel and Vehicle Technology Fund and the remaining $1 supports the 

Enhanced Fleet Modernization Fund. 

 

Weight fees generated $943 million in FY 2011-12 and are expected to generate $932 

million in FY 2012-13.  Weight fees accrue to the State Highway Account and are used 

for highway construction.   

 

9. ADMINISTRATION 

 

Most fees are administered by DMV.  Registration and license fees are paid annually at 

the time of registration.  Authority for collecting delinquent vehicle license and 

registration fees was transferred to the FTB as part of the FY 1993-94 budget package.  

The FTB is responsible for collecting delinquent renewal fees. 

 

10. CODE 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 10751-11156 

 

Motor Vehicle Code Sections 9101-9250 
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CHAPTER 3G 

 

TIMBER YIELD TAX 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Purpose   State-levied tax on timber when harvested, 

     in-lieu of the property tax on standing timber. 

Revenues returned to local governments. 

 

 Tax Base   "Immediate harvest value" of timber, by species  

and region, as established semiannually by the  

Board of Equalization (BOE). 

 

 Tax Rate   Set annually, based on average property tax values 

in timber counties.  For 2012, the rate was 2.9% of 

the timber's value at the time of harvest. 

 

 Revenue*   2010-11 (Actual) $6.2 million 

     2011-12 (Actual) $8.1 million 

     2012-13 (Estimate) $6.5 million 

 

     Allocated to counties based on location of harvest. 

 

 Administration  BOE 

 

*Source:  BOE 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. TAX OVERVIEW 

 

Two different taxes are imposed on timber property:  The timber yield tax and the 

property tax on timberland.  The timber yield tax is a tax on the value of harvested 

timber.  The property tax on timberland applies to the underlying property. 

 

While the timber yield tax is a state tax, the taxation of timberland is part of the local 

property tax, which is administered by the county assessor.  (See Chapter 4 of this 

Reference Book for more information on the property tax.) 

 

In 1977, the property tax on standing timber was replaced by a state timber yield tax.  

The reasons for this change included the pressure the property tax placed on timber  

owners to harvest prematurely, the cash flow stress caused by annual property tax 

liabilities on timberland owners when no income was generated by the standing timber, 

and county concerns that their post-harvest property tax revenues would decline sharply. 
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2. TAX RATE 

 

The timber yield tax rate is set annually by BOE, based on the countywide average 

property tax rate in 17 timber counties.  The rate in recent years has been 2.9% of the 

"immediate harvest value" of the cut timber.  Immediate harvest values are not actual 

sales prices of the timber, but are amounts established semiannually by BOE, by timber 

species and region based on analysis of market transactions. 

 

3. REVENUE 

 

Timber yield tax revenues are collected by the state.  After state administrative costs are 

deducted, remaining revenues are returned to local agencies.   

 

The timber yield taxes generated $6.2 million in fiscal year (FY) 2010-11, and it is 

estimated to generate $8.1 million in FY 2011-12, and $6.5 million in FY 2012-13. 

 

Revenues are allocated to timber-producing counties in the same proportion that revenues 

are generated from each county by so-called "location of harvest".  Within each county, 

revenues are also allocated on a proportional basis.  However, cities, school districts, 

special districts, and county governments receive those funds based upon a "minimum 

revenue guarantee" which was determined during a three-year base period in the mid-

1970s.  Because timber yield revenues have decreased since the base period, the actual 

dollar amounts allowed may be less, but the proportional shares remain unchanged. 

 

4. ADMINISTRATION 

 

The timber yield tax is administered by BOE, which sets the timber harvest values 

semiannually, collects the tax from timber owners, and allocates revenues to local 

agencies pursuant to the formula in state law.  The BOE is authorized to place a lien on 

the assets of individuals with an outstanding timber tax liability.  The California 

Department of Forestry has minor administrative duties as well. 

 

5. CODE 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 38101-38908 

 

Government Code Section 27423, and Sections 51100-51155 
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CHAPTER 3H 

 

PRIVATE RAILROAD CAR TAX 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Purpose   The tax is in lieu of all other property taxes on 

private railroad cars. 

 

 Tax Base   Fair market value of the car, assessed annually,  

adjusted for the amount of time during the year the  

car is in the state. 

 

 Tax Rate   Prior year's statewide average property tax rate on  

other properties.  The 2011-12 rate was 1.107% 

 

 Revenue   2011-12 (Actual)       $8.04 million 

2012-13 (Actual)   $8.04 million* 

2013-14 (Estimate)   $8.04 million* 

 

 Administration  Board of Equalization (BOE) 

 

*Source:  Governor's Budget Summary of 2013-14 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. TAX OVERVIEW 

 

Private railroad cars are railroad cars that are owned by companies who haul their own 

products, lease the cars to other shippers, or contract to carry the freight of other 

companies.  They are not owned by the railroad companies. 

 

The private railroad car tax is a property tax on privately owned railroad car fleets 

operating within the state.  The tax is directly levied and retained by the state and is in 

lieu of all local ad valorem property taxes on private railroad cars.  The cars are assessed 

and taxed by the state since it is impractical for individual counties to subject railroad 

cars, which can be moved frequently, to the local property tax. 

 

The tax is based on the period of time each car is in the state and its fair market value.   

 

Cars owned by the railroads are not subject to the private railroad car tax because they are 

subject to the general property tax and are included in the overall value of the railroads. 
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2. TAX RATE 

 

The tax rate applied to private railroad cars is the prior year's statewide average property 

tax rate.  The fiscal year (FY) 2011-12 rate, applicable to 2013 assessments, is 1.108%.  

The BOE annually determines the private railroad car tax rate. 

 

3. REVENUE 

 

Although the private railroad car tax is assessed and taxed by the state in lieu of local ad 

valorem property tax, federal law requires parity in the tax assessed against private 

railcars to that assessed against other business property.  This federal law, the "4-R" Act, 

discussed more completely in Chapter 4, specifically provides that railroad cars cannot be 

taxed differently than other commercial and industrial property.  After numerous legal 

challenges to the tax rate imposed in light of the required tax parity, BOE taxes private 

railcars using a statewide assessment ratio representing the property percentage of market 

value.  In FY 2010-11, this ratio was 81.71% of fair market value. 

 

The private railroad car tax is a state General Fund revenue source.  In FY 2011-12 the 

tax generated $8.04 million.  Revenues are also estimated at $8.04 million in FY 2012-

13. 

 

4. ADMINISTRATION 

 

The BOE makes annual assessments of private cars, and levies and collects the tax. 

 

5. CODE 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 11201-11702 
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CHAPTER 3I 

 

EMERGENCY TELEPHONE USERS' SURCHARGE 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Purpose   Funds local government costs for implementation  

and operation of the 9-1-1 emergency telephone  

system. 

 

 Tax Base   All charges for (1) intrastate telephone   

    communication services in this state, and (2) Voice 

     over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service that provides 

     access to the 9-1-1 emergency system by utilizing 

     the digits 9-1-1 by any service user in this state.   

 

 Tax Rate   0.50% (effective through December 31, 2013).  

 

 Revenue   2011-12 (Actual) $83.3 million   

     2012-13 (Estimate) $80.7 million 

     2013-14 (Estimate) $78.1 million 

 

 Administration  Board of Equalization (BOE) and 

     California Technology Agency (CTA) 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. TAX OVERVIEW 

 

In 1972, the Legislature passed a measure calling for statewide implementation of a 9-1-1 

emergency telephone system.  The installation and operation of the system is funded by 

the Emergency Telephone Users' surcharge applied to intrastate (within California) 

telephone calls and Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service that provides access to 

the 9-1-1 emergency system by utilizing the digits 9-1-1 by any service user in the state.  

The surcharge was established in 1976, and the system was completed in December 1985 

for wireline-enhanced 9-1-1.  Current revenues pay for system enhancements and 

operational costs. 

 

2. TAX RATE 

 

The surcharge rate varies, depending on funding needs; however, it has a floor of 0.50% 

and a cap of 0.75%.  Each year, CTA determines the rate it estimates will produce 

sufficient revenue to fund the current fiscal year's costs for the 9-1-1 program.  If 

warranted, CTA proposes a change in the surcharge rate for the following period.    
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Charges for lifeline services and for services from public coin-operated telephones are 

exempt from the surcharge. 

 

3. REVENUE 

 

Surcharge revenues accrue to a special 9-1-1 fund at the rate of 0.50%.  The surcharge 

revenues decreased to $83.3 million in fiscal year (FY) 2011-12, is estimated to decrease 

again to $80.7 million in FY 2012-13, and $78.1 million in FY 2013-14. 

 

4. ADMINISTRATION 

 

The 9-1-1 tax is collected from consumers by the telephone companies and is remitted to 

BOE.  Additionally, every California consumer who purchases intrastate telephone or 

VoIP service from a service supplier that does not collect the surcharge is required to 

register and pay those funds to the BOE. 

 

The Public Safety Communications Office of CTA establishes minimum technical and 

operational standards for local systems and approves the funding necessary to implement 

and operate each system. 

 

5. CODE 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 41001-41176 
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CHAPTER 3J 

 

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Purpose   Funds unemployment benefits for former  

     employees who are currently unemployed. 

 

 Tax Base   First $7,000 of each employee's annual wage. 

 

 Tax Rate   The Unemployment Insurance (UI) rate schedule 

in effect for 2012 will be Schedule "F+".  This 

is Schedule F plus a 15% emergency surcharge 

and provides for UI tax rates from 1.5% to 

6.2%.  In addition, employers with a positive 

reserve account balance as of the calculation date 

must pay the employment training tax of 0.1%. 

 

 Revenue   2009-10  $  4.45 billion* 

2010-11             $  5.27 billion* 

2011-12  $  5.48 billion* 

 

 Disbursements  2009-10  $10.48 billion* 

    2010-11  $  7.88 billion* 

     2011-12  $  6.88 billion* 

 

 Administration  Employment Development Department (EDD) 

 

*Source:  EDD 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. TAX OVERVIEW 

 

The Unemployment Insurance (UI) Tax funds the cost of benefits for the UI program 

administered by California's EDD.  It is paid by employers who have paid in excess of 

$100 in wages for employment during any calendar quarter.  The tax is paid on the first 

$7,000 of wages paid by an employer to each employee during any calendar year.  

 

All taxes paid are deposited in the UI Trust Fund maintained by the United States 

Treasury.  The EDD draws down funds from the UI Trust Fund as needed to pay UI 

benefits to California workers.  The UI tax revenues may be used only for payment of 

program benefits.   
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An individual account, called a reserve account, is maintained for each employer by 

EDD.  The reserve account established for each employer has no monetary value and 

cannot be reimbursed to the employer.  This account is used to compute the employer's 

tax rate, as discussed below. 

 

The Employment Training (ET) Tax funds training programs to retain workers in 

targeted industries to improve competitiveness of California companies.  Like the UI tax, 

the employment training tax is an employer-paid tax.  Employers subject to ET tax pay at 

a rate set by statute to be 0.1% (.001) on the first $7,000 of wages paid by an employer to 

each employee in a calendar year.  Only employers with a positive reserve account 

balance as of the calculation date are subject to the ET tax.  However, employers found 

guilty of tax evasion are assessed the ET tax, along with any penalties, interest, and other 

fines for the offense, regardless of the condition of their reserve account.  The 

Employment Training Panel administers the employment training funds collected and has 

the discretion to allocate the funds to economic development, special employment 

training, and/or welfare to work.   

 

2. TAX RATE 

 

Unemployment Insurance Tax.  New employers are assigned a UI tax rate of 3.4% for a 

period of two to three years.  Each employer's subsequent tax rate is based on that 

individual employer's "experience rating" and on the tax rate schedule in effect for all 

employers during the year.   

 

 Tax Rate Schedules.  There are seven different UI tax rate schedules (AA, A, 

B, C, D, E, and F, ranging from lowest to the highest) and 38 different rates 

within each schedule.  Depending on the schedule in place, UI tax rates can 

range from a low of 0.1% to a high of 5.4%.   

 

The tax rate schedule in effect for any given year depends on the balance in 

the UI Fund and total wages paid in California.  Generally speaking, when the 

balance in the UI Fund decreases, a higher tax rate schedule is triggered.  

When the balance in the Fund increases, a lower tax rate schedule is triggered.  

A change in tax rate schedule affects the rates applied to all employers. 

 

The UI tax rate schedule in effect for 2012 will be Schedule "F+".  This is 

Schedule F plus a 15% emergency surcharge, rounded to the nearest tenth.  

Schedule "F+" provides for UI tax rates from 1.5% to 6.2%. 

 

 Experience Ratings.  The experience rating system measures the relationship 

between UI taxes paid by an individual employer, benefits paid to that 

employer's workers, and growth in an employer's work force.  Generally, 

employers who maintain a stable work force and timely file and pay UI taxes 

have a more favorable experience rate (and therefore lower UI tax rates) than 

employers who experience high turnover, large fluctuations in payroll, and/or  
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are late in filing and paying their UI taxes.  

 

An employer's experience rating is based on that employer's reserve ratio,  

which is the ratio of the employer's reserve account balance on July 31, to the 

employer's average base payroll.  The reserve ratio is then compared to the 

applicable tax rate schedule in effect for the coming year to determine the 

employer's UI tax rate.   

 

The reserve account balance is calculated as follows: 

 

a)  An employer's UI reserve account is credited with UI taxes paid by the 

     employer. 

 

b) The value of UI benefits paid to the employer's former employees is 

subtracted from the employer’s reserve account. 

 

c) Interest earned on the entire UI Fund is credited to the reserve account of 

each employer with a positive reserve account balance on a proportionate 

basis.   

 

d) Charges and credits to reserve accounts resulting from pro-rations made 

on amounts that result from activity involving all employers' accounts.  

Under certain circumstances, law specifies that benefits not be charged 

against a former employer but must, instead, be charged to all employers 

who participate in the UI Fund.  These benefits are called socialized 

benefits.  Some socialized benefit costs relate to specific eligibility 

provisions.  For example, benefits paid to employees who become 

unemployed as a result of the need to escape domestic violence.  Other 

socialized benefit costs include the total UI benefits paid in error or 

because of fraud and the total annual increase of all negative reserve 

account balances.  These factors are beyond the individual employer's 

control and are, therefore, shared by all employers according to the ratio of 

each employer's taxable wages to those of all employers.  This ratio is 

applied to the balances of the individual items and a portion of the credits 

or charges goes to each employer. 

 

e) The resulting reserve account balance is then divided by the employer's 

average annual taxable payroll for the preceding three years.  The result 

equals the reserve ratio. 

 

A high reserve ratio --- high reserves and few benefits paid --- produces a 

lower experience rating and thus a lower UI tax.  A low reserve ratio --- low 

reserves and many benefits paid --- produces a higher experience rating and 

thus a higher UI tax. 
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Employers may make voluntary contributions to their reserve accounts to 

obtain a lower UI tax rate for a given year, although rate reductions triggered  

by voluntary contributions cannot lower an employer's rate by more than three 

rate steps (i.e., a few tenths of one percent).  Furthermore, voluntary 

contributions are only allowed during relatively good economic times; they 

are not allowed during years when the two highest rate schedules (E and F)  

are in effect, or in calendar years in which the emergency solvency surcharge 

is in effect.    

 

Each December, EDD automatically notifies all tax-rated employers of their 

UI tax rates and their reserve account balances.  In addition, when the UI tax 

rate schedule is not E or F, EDD notifies eligible employers of the exact 

amount of voluntary payments needed to lower their UI tax rates, together 

with the UI tax rate reductions that would result from voluntary  

payments. 

 

Employment Training Tax.  All employers subject to the ET tax, as discussed above, 

are assessed an additional 0.1% regardless of their UI tax rate. 

 

3. EXEMPTIONS 

 

There are several reasons why the wages earned by an individual may be exempt from UI 

taxes.  Some of the more common types of exemptions include wages earned by:  

 

 Certain family members in family employment; 

 

 Elected officials acting in their official capacity; 

 

 Employees performing services for a church; 

 

 Certain students, student nurses, newspaper carriers, and golf caddies; and 

 

 Certain domestic workers who receive less than $1,000 in cash wages during a 

calendar quarter. 

 

Generally, employers who are not required to pay UI taxes for certain employees are 

allowed to elect such payments.  The primary exception to this rule involves elected 

officials, whose employers may not make UI payments on their behalf.   

 

4. BENEFITS 

 

Unemployment insurance (UI) benefits are payable to employees who become 

unemployed through no fault of their own, are able and available to work, are actively 

seeking work, and have earned sufficient wages in the "base period".   
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The base period of a claim is a 12-month period.  Each base period has four quarters 

(each quarter is three months).  The base period is established when the claim is filed. 

 

There are two types of base periods -- the standard base period and, beginning April 1, 

2012, an alternate base period.  When there are not enough wages in the standard base 

period to establish a valid UI claim, wages in the alternate base period may be used to 

establish a claim. 

 

Standard Base Period.  The standard base period is the FIRST FOUR of the last five 

completed calendar quarters prior to the beginning date of the claim.  

  

If the claim begins in:  The Base Period is:  

January, February, March   October 1 through September 30 

April, May, June January 1 through December 31 

July, August, September April 1 through March 31 

October, November, December  July 1 through June 30 

 

Alternate Base Period (Effective Beginning April 2012).  The alternate base period is 

the LAST FOUR completed calendar quarters prior to the beginning date of the claim.  

 

If the claim begins in: The Base Period is:  

January, February, March   January 1 through December 31 

April, May, June April 1 through March 31 

July, August, September July 1 through June 30 

October, November, December October 1 through September 30  

 

An employee who leaves a job voluntarily may also claim UI benefits if he or she had 

good cause (e.g., the working conditions were dangerous).  

 

The employer's reserve account is credited with the tax contributions and, in most cases, 

charged with benefits paid to former employees.  An employer who receives a notice of 

claims made by former employees may file a protest with EDD if he or she believes that 

the employee is not entitled to the benefits claimed. 

 

The weekly benefit amount is based on the quarter within the base period in which the 

employee's wages were the highest.  Currently, benefit amounts range from $40 to a 

maximum of $450 per week.  The employee may draw up to 26 weeks of regular UI 

benefits during a one-year period.   

 

However, EDD can extend the benefit period during periods of severe unemployment 

based on criteria specified in law.  For example, when at least 6% of California's work 

force that is covered by UI becomes unemployed, up to 13 additional weeks of UI 

benefits are available to those who have exhausted their regular UI benefits.   
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Responsibility for funding the additional UI payments is shared equally between the state 

UI Fund and the federal government. 

 

5. FEDERAL TAXATION 

 

The federal government imposes a federal unemployment tax (FUTA) on employers 

equal to 6.2% of the first $7,000 in wages they pay each qualifying employee.  However, 

the federal government gives employers in states with approved unemployment insurance 

programs a credit of 5.4% against the federal tax.  Thus, California employers are subject 

to a net federal tax of 0.8%.  

 

Effective July 1, 2011, the federal government imposes a federal unemployment tax 

(FUTA) on employers equal to 6.0% of the first $7,000 in wages they pay each 

qualifying employee.  Since the federal government gives employers in states with 

approved unemployment insurance programs a credit of 5.4% against the federal tax,  

California employers are subject to a net federal tax of 0.6%.  Starting January 2012, the 

credit will be reduced to 5.1% because the state has been borrowing from the federal 

government to pay UI benefits for more than two straight years.  The additional FUTA 

revenue will be used to help repay the state’s federal loan.  Additional credit reductions 

will continue every year if nothing is done to revise the state’s UI funding structure to 

regain solvency in the UI Trust Fund.  

 

6. REVENUE 

 

Unemployment insurance tax revenues totaled $4.45 billion in FY 2009-10, $5.27 billion 

in FY 2010-11, and $5.48 billion in FY 2011-12. 

 

7. ADMINISTRATION 

 

Any employer who pays in excess of $100 in total wages during any calendar quarter is 

required to register with EDD.  Employers are required to make quarterly UI payments  

on the last day of the month following the close of each calendar quarter.  Quarterly 

returns in which employers must reconcile their quarterly payments with the amounts of 

tax actually due for the quarter must be filed by the last calendar day of the month 

following the end of the quarter.  Penalties and interest are imposed on delinquent 

amounts. 

 

8. CODE 

 

Unemployment Insurance Code Sections 100-2129 
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 CHAPTER 3K 

 

STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE TAX 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Purpose   Funds payments for employees who are unable to 

work due to non-occupational injury or illness and 

pregnancy.  Funds payments for employees who 

need to take time off work to care for a seriously ill 

child, spouse, parent, or domestic partner, or to 

bond with a new child. 

 

 Tax Base   In 2011, first $93,316 of each employee's annual 

wages. 

In 2012, first $95,585 of each employee's annual 

wages. 

In 2013, first $100,880 of each employee's annual 

wages. 

 

 Tax Withholding Rate  The rate increased from 1.2% in 2011 to 1.0% 

for 2012.  The rate remained at 1.0% for 2013. 

 

 

 Revenue   2009-10 $5.33 billion* 

2010-11   $5.59 billion* 

2011-12 $5.57 billion*  

 

 Disbursements   2009-10 $5.12 billion* 

2010-11 $5.11 billion* 

2011-12 $5.11 billion* 

 

 Administration  Employment Development Department (EDD) 

 

*Source:  EDD 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. TAX OVERVIEW 

 

The State Disability Insurance (SDI) program is a worker funded program administered 

by California's EDD.  The program provides Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family 

Leave (PFL) benefits.  The SDI tax is withheld from employees of establishments that 

employ one or more persons and have paid more than $100 in wages in a calendar 

quarter.  The collection of the SDI tax is performed through mandatory payroll  
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deductions.  Revenues are deposited in the Unemployment Compensation Disability 

Fund.  There is no comparable federal tax. 

 

Disability insurance provides partial compensation for wages lost due to non-work-

related illnesses, injuries, or pregnancy.  The PFL insurance extends disability 

compensation to cover individuals who take time off of work to care for a seriously ill 

child, spouse, parent, or domestic partner, or to bond with a new child, or a child in 

connection with adoption or foster care replacement.  The programs cover approximately 

13 million California workers. 

 

2. TAX RATE 

 

The SDI tax rate is adjusted annually, based on the balance in the Unemployment 

Compensation Disability Fund.  The taxable wage limit is set by statute and changes 

when the maximum weekly benefit changes.  For 2010, the tax was 1.1% on the first 

$93,316 of wages earned by each employee.  Recent changes in the tax rate and taxable 

wage limit are as follows: 

 

 For 2011, the maximum wage limit was $93,316, and the tax rate was 1.2%. 

 

 For 2012, the maximum wage limit was $95,585 and the tax rate was 1.0%. 

 

 For 2013, the maximum wage limit is $100,880 and the tax rate is 1.0%. 

 

3. EXEMPTIONS 

 

Certain groups of employees are exempt from paying (and therefore receiving) SDI.  

They are as follows: 

 

 Some public agency employees; 

 

 Public school employees; 

 

 Federal government employees; 

 

 Self-employed individuals or employers; 

 

 Employees of churches and certain other religious organizations; 

 

 Individuals in certain types of family employment (e.g., children employed by  

their parents, spouses employed by their spouse, son, or daughter);  

 

 Individuals who file religious exemption certificates stating that they rely 

upon prayer in the practice of religious healing; and  
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 Certain domestic workers who receive less than $750 in cash wages during a 

calendar quarter. 

 

Although exempt from the requirement to pay SDI taxes, public school and public agency 

employees may elect coverage as an entire entity, by bargaining unit, or for management 

and confidential employees.  Individuals in family employment may also elect coverage.  

The tax rate for these employees is the same as for non-exempt employees. 

 

Self-employed individuals may also elect coverage, but the tax rate for self-employed 

individuals may be different than for non-exempt employees.  The self-employed tax rate 

is based on the net profit of the business that elects the coverage during the year prior to 

election.  

 

4. BENEFITS 

 

Benefits for DI and PFL vary depending on the employee's wages.  In 2000, the 

legislation was enacted that linked the SDI maximum weekly benefit amount to the 

maximum amount set for Worker's Compensation Temporary Disability.  Disability 

Insurance benefits for 2009 and 2010 ranged from $50 to $987 per week.  The maximum 

weekly benefit amount increased to $987 for 2011, increased to $1,011 for 2012, and 

increased to $1,067 for 2013.  The total SDI benefits paid to each employee equal 52 

times that employee's weekly benefit; however, a claimant's benefits cannot exceed 100% 

of the wages paid to that claimant during his or her qualifying base period.  The total PFL 

benefits paid to each employee cannot exceed six times that employee's weekly amount 

within a 12-month period.  The "base period" consists of the first four of the last five or 

six completed calendar quarters, depending upon the month in which the claim for 

benefits is filed, as shown below: 

 

MONTH CLAIM IS FILED  BASE PERIOD 

  

January, February, or March   October 1 through September 30 

April, May, or June    January 1 through December 31 

July, August, or September    April 1 through March 31 

October, November, or December  July 1 through June 30 

 

5. REVENUE  

 

Revenues from the SDI tax are held in the Unemployment Compensation Disability 

Fund, a special fund in the State Treasury.  Revenues are maintained separately from the 

unemployment insurance tax revenues collected from employers.  The Fund collected 

$5.33 billion in fiscal year (FY) 2009-10, $5.59 billion in FY 2010-11, and $5.57 billion 

in FY 2011-12. 
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Disability benefit payments totaled $5.12 billion in FY 2009-10, $5.11 billion in FY 

2010-11, and $5.11 billion in FY 2011-12. 

 

6. REFUNDS 

 

An employee who works for multiple employers during a given year and cumulatively 

earns wages in excess of the taxable wage limit may file for a refund of the excess tax 

paid when filing his or her California personal income tax return. 

 

7. VOLUNTARY PLANS 

 

An employer, with majority consent of his or her employees, may substitute a voluntary 

plan for the SDI plan.  The voluntary plan must provide equal or greater benefits than the 

state plan, including both DI and PFL benefits, and be approved by EDD.  

 

The SDI contributions withheld by a voluntary plan (which are optional on the part of the 

employer and cannot exceed the state plan rate) are not remitted to EDD.  Instead, in the 

voluntary plan, the employer retains these moneys in trust to pay benefits and 

administrative costs of the plan.  As of December 2012, there were approximately 2,296 

voluntary plans.  As of January 2011, voluntary plans covered almost 500,057 workers 

(out of a total of approximately 18.2 million workers in California).  All voluntary plans 

are self-insured. 

 

8. ADMINISTRATION 

 

Any employer who pays in excess of $100 in total wages during any calendar quarter is 

required to register with EDD.  Employers are required to file quarterly returns with the 

EDD in which they remit the SDI contributions they withhold from their employees, as 

well as reconcile the amounts withheld during the quarter with amounts actually due.  

Generally, the SDI withholding must be remitted by employers to the EDD at the same 

time as other required employee withholding, such as state personal income taxes.   

 

9. CODE 

 

Unemployment Insurance Code Sections 2601-3306 
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CHAPTER 4 

 

LOCAL PROPERTY TAX 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Tax Base   Assessed value of real property (land, improve- 

ments, and fixtures) and tangible personal property  

(equipment, machinery, office furniture, etc.). 

 

 Tax Rate   Maximum 1% countywide rate on assessed value of  

property, proceeds of which are distributed to all 

local agencies within the county pursuant to statu- 

tory formula.  Individual agencies may levy rates  

above the 1% maximum to service voter approved  

debt. 

 

 Revenue   2010-11  $48.9 billion* 

     2011-12 (Actual) $49.0 billion* 

     2012-13 (Estimate) $49.1 billion* 

 

 Administration  County Assessors and Board of Equalization (BOE) 

 

Includes basic 1% rate; excludes reimbursement by the state to local governments. 

 

 

*Source:  BOE 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. TAX OVERVIEW 

 

The property tax is the major general revenue source for local governments in 

California.  It is imposed on the property owners and is based on the value of the property 

(thus it is often referred to as an ad valorem tax).  However, since the adoption of 

Proposition 13 in 1978, real property has generally been taxed based on its value at the 

time of its acquisition, with increases for inflation limited to 2% per year.  Liability is for 

a fiscal year (July 1 to June 30) or a portion thereof.  Payments are made in one or two 

annual installments.  

 

The property tax applies to all classes of property -- residential, commercial, industrial, 

agricultural, open space, timberland, and vacant land.  Special rules apply to some kinds 

of property, such as certain agricultural land and timberland.  Public land is generally 

exempt.  Property taxes are collected by the county and distributed to local agencies 

within the county based on a statutory formula. 
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2. FOUNDATIONS OF PROPERTY TAX LAW 

 

Much of the law pertaining to taxation of property is prescribed in the California 

Constitution -- in Article XIII, which was part of the original California Constitution, and 

in Article XIIIA, which was adopted by the voters of the state as Proposition 13 in 1978. 

 

Most fundamental modifications to property tax law must be made by constitutional 

amendment approved by the voters of California.  The Legislature is authorized to 

implement and modify various aspects of property tax law and is authorized by the 

Constitution to exempt personal property by a two-thirds vote. 

 

Judicial decisions play an important part in the evolution of property tax law, as lawsuits 

are brought to resolve disputes over the meaning of various constitutional and statutory 

provisions.  The U.S. Supreme Court upheld the constitutionality of Proposition 13 in 

1992, finding that it does not violate the U.S. Constitution's equal protection or right to 

travel provisions. 

 

3. WHO MUST PAY THE PROPERTY TAX 

 

In most cases, the owner of the property is assessed for the property tax.  In cases where 

the owner leases the property to someone else, the assessor may assess either the owner, 

the lessee, or may make a joint assessment on both the lessor and lessees.  However, the 

owner is ultimately liable for payment of the tax.  

 

In one special circumstance, a non-owner of property is assessed for the property tax.  

This occurs when an individual or business has the right to use tax-exempt land.  The 

most common example is the case of government-owned property that is leased to a 

private party.  The lessee holds what is called a "possessory interest" in the property, and 

is assessed for property taxes on the property.  Examples of taxpayers who have 

possessory interests are owners of cabins on national forest land, ranchers with grazing 

rights on federal lands, aircraft operators using government-owned airports, cable 

television companies laying cable in publicly owned streets, and shipping companies 

renting berths in county-owned ports. 

 

4. TYPES OF PROPERTY SUBJECT TO TAX 

 

The Property Tax Base.  The property tax base is composed of two major categories of 

property:  Real property and tangible personal property. 

 

Real property includes land, permanently attached improvements (such as buildings, 

swimming pools, and other structures), fixtures (items that are permanently affixed to 

structures, such as air conditioning units, lighting fixtures, permanently installed 

machinery, etc.), and mineral rights. 
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Tangible personal property includes movable property such as equipment, portable 

machinery, office furniture, vessels, and aircraft.  Some of the major types of property 

that are not part of the property tax base include property owned by government or 

certain charitable organizations, intangible property (e.g., stocks and bonds), household 

personal property, automobiles and trucks, and business inventories.  These are described 

more fully in the exemption section below (Section 12). 

 

State-Assessed Versus Locally-Assessed Property.  Assessment of property involves 

placing a value on that property for purposes of property taxation.  All real and personal 

property is classified as either locally-assessed property or state-assessed property, 

depending on which level of government is responsible for assessment. 

 

The assessor of each county is responsible for valuation of locally-assessed property.  

Most property is locally-assessed. 

 

The BOE is responsible for valuation of state-assessed properties.  State-assessed 

properties include utility and railroad property, private railroad cars, inter-county 

pipelines, flumes, canals, ditches, and aqueducts.  Generally, state-assessed properties 

operate as an integrated unit and often cross county boundaries.  These properties are 

sometimes called "unitary" properties.   

 

Unitary property is assessed as an operating unit because the separate parcels in each 

county have little independent value.  For example, it makes little sense to value one 

section of railroad track; its value depends on being a part of an integrated system.  

Therefore, the BOE values all of the state-assessed property holdings as a single unit and 

allocates the value among the counties.   

 

Secured and Unsecured Property Tax Assessment Rolls.  All property is accounted for 

on property tax assessment rolls maintained by each county assessor.  The property tax 

assessment rolls contain an entry for each parcel of land, including the parcel number, 

owner's name, and assessed value.  This information may also be stored electronically, 

rather than on a physical document.  There are two kinds of property tax rolls.  Property 

is entered on one or the other, based on how certain the county is of being able to collect 

taxes if they become delinquent, as described below. 

 

Most property is on the secured roll.  The secured roll consists of property for which the 

payment of tax is "secured" by a lien on real property owned by the taxpayer in that 

county.  This means that the county could seize and sell the real property to satisfy the 

liability if the taxes become delinquent. 

 

Generally, all real property for which the owner or possessor holds title is on the secured 

roll.  Personal property can also appear on the secured roll if its owner also owns real 

property in the same county that can secure the personal property.  All state-assessed  

property is also entered on the local secured roll.  This portion of the secured assessment 

roll is sometimes referred to as the "Board roll". 
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The unsecured roll consists of personal property of taxpayers that do not own real 

property in the county on which a lien can be placed to secure eventual payment if the 

property tax becomes delinquent. 

 

Thus, the unsecured roll consists primarily of personal property and machinery and 

equipment owned by businesses that lease, rather than own, the real property they 

occupy.  Generally, possessory interests in real property will be placed on the unsecured 

roll if the holder of the interest does not own other real property in the same county on 

which a lien can be imposed.  Airplanes and boats are also on the unsecured roll. 

 

The main difference in the treatment of property on these two rolls is that secured 

property taxes are payable in two installments, no later than December 10 and April 10, 

while unsecured property taxes are payable in one installment due no later than August 

31.  This earlier due date for unsecured roll tax payments is intended to assure collection 

of taxes on property that is more mobile. 

 

5. TAX RATE 

 

The provisions of Proposition 13, California Constitution, Article XIIIA, limit property 

tax rates.  Local property tax rates are composed of two parts: 

 

 The basic countywide rate is limited to a maximum of 1%.  Local agencies are 

permitted to adopt lower rates that can result in a countywide rate of less than 

1%.  The proceeds of the basic countywide 1% tax rate are general revenues 

allocated to local agencies within the county by statutory formula; and, 

 

 Local agencies within each county are permitted to levy additional tax rates 

for debt.  The vote requirements were simple majority prior to Proposition 13 

and generally two-thirds after approval by voters in June of 1978.  However, 

pursuant to Proposition 39 passed by the voters in November 2000, bonded 

indebtedness incurred by a school district, community college district, or 

county office of education for the construction, reconstruction, rehabilitation, 

or replacement of school facilities may be approved by 55% vote after 

November 7, 2000.  The proceeds of each additional debt rate are allocated to 

the local agency that received voter approval to incur the debt, and are 

earmarked for payment of principal and interest on that debt. 

 

The California Supreme Court ruled that additional tax rates imposed to fund employee 

pension systems approved by the voters prior to July 1, 1978, are valid debt rates under 

Proposition 13 [Carman v. Alvord (1982)].  The Legislature codified permissible  

purposes for which additional rates may be levied as qualified indebtedness and placed 

limits on increases in additional rates for certain types of pension system debt. 

 

As a result of the levy of additional rates for voter-approved debt, tax rates may vary 

from area to area within any county, depending on the number and amount of debt rates 

levied by the local agencies.  For example, a resident of one area may pay a 1.1% rate 
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(composed of the 1% countywide rate, a 0.05% rate for school district debt and a 0.05% 

rate for park district debt), while a resident of another area of the county may pay a 1.2% 

rate (composed of the 1% countywide rate, a 0.10% rate for a different school district's 

debt and a 0.10% rate for a water district debt). 

 

The California Constitution provides that the tax rate applicable to the unsecured roll is 

the prior year's secured roll tax rate.  This is because the unsecured roll bills are sent out 

early in the fiscal year, often before local agencies set the tax rate for the current year.  

Although counties have the authority under Proposition 13 to set the basic countywide 

tax rate below the maximum rate of 1%, in most cases the basic tax rate generally does 

not change.  However, the additional debt rates change annually, based on revenue needs 

to meet principal and interest obligations.  Normally the variation in debt rates from year 

to year is not great, so the impact on an individual tax bill is not pronounced. 

 

6. PROPERTY VALUATION UNDER PROPOSITION 13 

 

Valuation of property is a key factor in property taxation, since the tax rate is applied to 

the taxable value of the property (formally referred to as the 'assessed value' or 'full 

value') to determine taxes due.  For example, a property with an assessed value of 

$115,000 in an area where the total rate is 1.1% will have a property tax liability of 

$1,265, computed as follows: 

 

$115,000 assessed value x 0.011 tax rate = $1,265 tax 

 

Proposition 13 sets forth rules controlling the valuation of property for property tax 

purposes.  The Supreme Court has ruled that these provisions apply to the valuation of 

locally-assessed real property only, and does not apply to state-assessed property. 

 

Value Standards:  Fair Market Value and Acquisition Value.  Under pre-Proposition 

13 law, locally-assessed real property was assessed each year using a current market 

standard.  Fair market value, which was determined annually by the county assessor, is 

the value for which the property would sell if offered on the open market.  

 

Proposition 13 subjected locally-assessed real property to a new set of valuation rules, 

often referred to as the "acquisition value" standard.  This system has several components 

as provided by Proposition 13 and implemented by statute, as described below: 

 

 For purposes of moving from the old to the new system, Proposition 13 first 

required property values to be rolled back to the 1975-76 fiscal year (FY) fair 

market value level for the FY 1978-79.  Properties that have not sold or 

undergone new construction since FY 1975-76 have a FY 1975-76 "base year  

value". 

 

 A property's base year value is adjusted upwards each assessment year to 

reflect inflation as measured by the California Consumer Price Index, but not 

in excess of 2% annually.  This process continues as long as the property is 
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not subject to an ownership change or new construction.  This value is known 

as the "factored base year value".  This system is sometimes described as an 

"acquisition value" based system.  The term "acquisition value" refers to 

basing future assessed values on the value of the property at the time it was 

originally acquired.  The constitutional validity of this feature of Proposition 

13, which often results in different tax burdens for similar properties, has been 

upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court. 

 

 When a property is sold, transferred, or subjected to any other change in 

ownership, the property is reassessed to current fair market value as of the 

date ownership changed.  Newly constructed property is also assessed at 

current fair market value as of the date of completion.  

 

 The fair market value assessment at the time of new construction or change in 

ownership becomes the property's new "base year value", which is thereafter 

adjusted upwards by no more than 2% annually, until such time as another 

change in ownership occurs. 

 

 If new construction occurs on only a portion of a property (for example, a 

room addition), the newly constructed portion is given a new base year value, 

and the pre-existing portion retains its old factored base year value.  A 

property can have multiple base year values due to new construction until the 

whole property changes ownership, when it will be assigned a new base year 

value based on its total fair market value at the time of sale. 

 

 If on any lien date (January 1) the market value of a property declines below 

its (base year value) factored base year value, it may be reassessed to reflect 

the lower value for that upcoming fiscal year.  However, if the market value of 

the property recovers each following lien date after it is reassessed downward, 

the county assessor may increase the value of the property to its current 

market value for the next fiscal year.  However, any property that is 

reassessed in this way may not be given a value that is greater than its factored 

base year value. 

 

Three types of locally assessed real property are not subject to this valuation system.  

These are agricultural and open space land, timberland, and historical properties.  Special 

valuation rules, described in Section 10, Preferential Assessment of Certain Properties, 

cover these properties. 

 

Purchase Price Assumed to Represent Fair Market Value.  Current law provides that 

when establishing value upon a change in ownership, the assessor should trust the 

purchase price represents fair market value, unless there is evidence that the property 

would not have transferred for that price in an open market transaction.  If the assessor 

believes the property's fair market value is different from the purchase price and the 

property owner appeals the valuation, the assessor must demonstrate why he or she used 

another value, generally by presenting comparable sales.  The requirement to use the 
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actual purchase price paid as the fair market value is sometimes referred to as "Rule 2", 

because the concept was originally adopted as a rule by the BOE.  It has since been 

codified in statute. 

 

Exemptions From Reassessment Upon Change in Ownership or New Construction.  

Constitutional amendments adopted after Proposition 13 and statutory interpretations 

have permitted several exclusions from fair market value reassessment at the time of 

change in ownership or new construction.  Seven of the most significant include: 

 

 Intrafamily Transfers.  Under Proposition 58 of 1986, transfers of property 

between spouses are not considered changes in ownership.  This proposition 

codified previously enacted legislation.  In addition, Proposition 58 provided 

that transfers of principal residences plus transfers of up to $1 million of other 

property between parents and children are not subject to reassessment upon 

change in ownership.  Proposition 194 of 1996 extended the provisions of 

Proposition 58 to transfers between grandparents and grandchildren if the 

parents of those grandchildren are deceased. 

 

 Replacement Residences of Senior Citizens.  Under Proposition 60 of 1986, 

senior citizens may transfer the factored base year value of their original 

residence to a replacement principal residence, if the replacement is of equal 

or lesser value and located in the same county.  Under Proposition 90 of 1988, 

the same relief is available for moves between counties if the county board of 

supervisors where the replacement home is located has adopted an ordinance 

permitting the transfer of value. 

 

 Replacement Residences of Disabled Persons.  Under Proposition 110 of 

1990, severely and permanently disabled persons meeting specified 

requirements may transfer the base year value of an original dwelling to a 

replacement dwelling of equal or lesser value without triggering reassessment. 

 

 Seismic Safety Improvements.  Under Proposition 13 of 2010, specified 

seismic retrofitting and earthquake hazard mitigation technologies applied to 

existing buildings are not subject to reassessment as new construction. 

 

 Environmental Contaminations.  Under Proposition 1 of 1998, property 

acquired or reconstructed as a replacement for property destroyed as a result 

of environmental contamination cleanup activities may be excluded from fair 

market value reassessment. 

 

 Transfers by and between Registered Domestic Partners (RDPs).  Under SB 

565 (Migden), Chapter 416, Statutes of 2005, transfers of real property 

between RDPs or former RDPs are excluded from changes of ownership.  In 

addition, transfers to trusts at death and in connection with property settlement 

upon the dissolution of a RDP are not considered changes of ownership that 
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subject the real property to reassessment. 

 

 Homes – Cotenants after a Death.  Under AB 1700 (Butler), Chapter 781, 

Statutes of 2011, a transfer of a co-tenancy interest, as defined, in real 

property from one co-tenant to the other that takes effect upon the death of the 

transferor co-tenant is excluded from reassessment as a "change in ownership" 

if the real property constitutes the principal residence of both cotenants. 

 

Other allowable exclusions from reassessment include: 

 

 Property reconstructed after a disaster; 

 

 Property acquired to replace comparable property destroyed in a disaster; 

 

 Property acquired to replace property taken by eminent domain; 

 

 Additions of solar energy systems and fire sprinkler systems; and, 

 

 Modifications to make an existing residence more accessible to a severely and 

permanently disabled person. 

 

The Appendix to this chapter lists all of the amendments to California Constitution, 

Article XIIIA, adopted by the voters since enactment of Proposition 13 in 1978. 

 

The Legislature has also clarified application of the provisions related to change in 

ownership and new construction, providing that fair market value reassessments are not 

required for specified transactions, including: 

 

 Transfer of the bare legal title (e.g., when a homeowner pays off the mortgage 

held by a bank or other financing entity); 

 

 Creations of leases with a term of the creation of less than 35 years (a lease 

with a term of more than 35 years is considered a 'change in ownership'); 

 

 Creations of joint tenancies, when the prior owner is one of the joint tenants in 

the new joint tenancy; 

 

 Transfers of property between commonly-owned legal entities where the 

percentage of ownership shares does not change, and transfers of property 

between individuals and legal entities where the percentage of ownership does 

not change; 

 

 Transfers of ownership interests in legal entities, and transfers of corporate 

stock so long as no one individual, corporation, partnership or other legal 

entity acquires more than 50% of the stock; 
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 Transfers of properties to revocable trusts; 

 

 Alterations or improvements to property that are not considered major 

rehabilitations; and 

 

 Sales of mobilehome parks and floating home marinas to the tenants of the 

parks, either as a whole or transfer of individual rental spaces. 

 

Assessment of Property That is Damaged or Declines in Value.  The rules that apply 

to cases of damage or general decline in value that are not associated with disasters 

declared by the Governor are as follows: 

 

 Ordinary Circumstances When Value Declines.  If property experiences a 

decline in value for any reason other than a misfortune or calamity, such as a 

general drop in real estate values, special rules apply regarding that property's 

assessment value.  To the extent that its fair market value is less than its value 

on the property tax roll, the assessor will reassess the property downward on 

the next January 1 lien date to reflect its value in its present condition. 

 

However, if the property experiences a decline in value but the market value 

still is greater than the adjusted base year value on the roll, the factored base 

year value cannot be reduced. 

 

If the market value later goes up or repairs are made that cause the value to 

increase, the value on the tax roll will revert at the next lien date to the 

factored base year value that would have applied if the decline had not 

occurred. 

 

If restoration construction on the property is significant enough to be 

classified under Proposition 13 rules as "new construction", the newly 

constructed portion will be reassessed to fair market value. 

 

 Damage Due to "Misfortune or Calamity".  If property has been damaged or 

destroyed by a misfortune or calamity, the owner may request that the 

property be reassessed downward immediately to reflect its current value in 

the damaged condition.  This downward reassessment procedure is available 

only in counties that have adopted authorizing ordinances.  It is not necessary 

for the damage to have occurred as a result of a disaster declared by the 

Governor.  The downward reassessment is accomplished by reducing the 

factored base year value by the same proportion by which the full market 

value of the property declined due to the damage. 

 

The downward assessment results in a reduction of property taxes for the 

assessment year, prorated to reflect the number of months remaining in the 

year after the damage occurred.  The reduced taxes are refunded to the 

property owner. 
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In addition, property owners may apply to defer payment of the next property 

tax installment due following the disaster.  The deferral is permitted until the 

corrected property tax bill, reflecting the reduced value, is issued. 

 

When the damaged property is restored, it will be reassessed upward.  That 

value will not exceed its prior factored base year value, even though the fair 

market value may be higher.  As in the above situation, if restoration of the 

property is significant enough to be classified under Proposition 13 rules as 

"new construction", the newly constructed portion will be reassessed to fair 

market value. 

 

Two additional relief provisions also are available to owners of property damaged or 

destroyed by a disaster declared by the Governor.  These are described below: 

 

 Exemption from New Construction Reassessment.  If real property is 

substantially damaged or destroyed by a misfortune or calamity, any timely 

new construction that makes the property substantially equivalent to its state 

prior to damage or destruction will not result in a reassessment of the new 

construction.  That is, the property can retain its tax value even though new 

construction has occurred and the new fair market value exceeds the value on 

the property tax roll.  Any portion of the new construction that goes beyond 

"substantial equivalence" to the state of the property prior to the disaster is 

reassessed to full market value. 

 

 Transfer of Old Tax Value upon Relocation.  If property is substantially 

damaged or destroyed by a disaster as declared by the Governor, the base year 

value may be transferred if the owner constructs or acquires comparable 

property within the same county within five years after the disaster.  The base 

year value transfer is available to comparable property located in another 

county only if the county in which the replacement property is located has 

adopted an ordinance permitting the transfer of value and the time frame is 

limited to three years.  This opportunity to retain the assessed value of the 

original property is available only if the property sustains physical damage 

amounting to more than 50% of its full cash value immediately before the 

disaster.  The replacement property must be comparable to the damaged 

property in size, utility and function.  If the market value of the replacement 

property is more than 120% of the original property, the amount in excess of 

120% is added to the transferred factored base year value. 

 

Assessment of Oil and Gas Property.  Oil, gas, geothermal or other mineral rights are 

assessed under Proposition 13 rules.  New mineral reserves are added to the roll at their 

fair market value at the time they are proven to be economic.  Thereafter, the value is 

increased annually by no more than 2% and is adjusted downward in proportion to the 

depletion of the mineral resource. 
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7. SUPPLEMENTAL ASSESSMENT ROLL FOR CHANGES IN  

OWNERSHIP AND NEW CONSTRUCTION 

 

During the first five years after implementation of Proposition 13, some property owners 

were able to temporarily escape the added tax liability arising from changes in ownership 

or new construction.  This occurred as a result of the continuation of pre-Proposition 13 

rules establishing tax liability for a fiscal year (July 1 to June 30) based on the value of 

property as of the preceding lien date. 

 

Prior to July 1, 1983, the law provided that when property was reassessed due to change 

in ownership or new construction, the additional value was not subject to tax until the 

fiscal year beginning after the next lien date, which was at that time March 1.  Thus, new 

value could escape taxation for a period of from 4 to 16 months.  For example: 

 

 An ownership change in February 1980 was not reflected in higher taxes until 

the 1980-81 fiscal year, beginning in July 1980, 4 months later. 

 

 An ownership change on March 2, 1980 was not reflected in higher taxes until 

the 1981-82 fiscal year, beginning in July 1981, 16 months later. 

 

 An ownership change in October 1980 was not reflected in higher taxes until 

the 1981-82 fiscal year, beginning in July 1981, 10 months later. 

 

However, under legislation that took effect on July 1, 1983, property reassessed upon 

change of ownership or new construction is now subject to tax immediately, by being 

placed on a "supplemental assessment roll".  The supplemental assessment roll applies 

only to locally assessed real property subject to Proposition 13 assessment rules and 

manufactured homes. 

 

The supplemental roll works as follows:  

 

 The added value created by the new construction or ownership change is 

placed on a separate property tax roll (the supplemental roll) on the date the 

ownership change occurs or the new construction is complete. 

 

 A tax bill is issued based only on the added value and is prorated for the 

remaining portion of the fiscal year. 

 

 In the next fiscal year, the entire new assessed value of the property is placed 

on the regular roll, and there is no supplemental roll liability for that property. 

 

For example, consider a home assessed at $100,000 in an area where the tax rate is 1.1%.  

The home is on the regular roll, and the tax for the entire year is $1,100.  On December 

31 a room addition is completed that has a fair market value of $30,000.  The 

supplemental roll tax bill for that year is $165, computed as follows:  
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$30,000 x 0.011 tax rate = $330 tax x 0.50 (prorating for half of year) = $165 

 

The $165 supplemental tax bill is paid in addition to the $1,100 regular roll bill.  The next 

year, the original value is increased by 2% and combined with the new value of the room 

addition, and a single regular roll tax bill is issued of $1,452: 

$100,000 x 1.02 = $102,000 + $30,000 = $132,000 x 0.011 tax rate = $1,452 tax 

 

Pursuant to AB 459 (Oropeza), Chapter 392, Statutes of 2005, sellers of residential real 

property are required to provide to the purchaser a notice about supplemental property tax 

assessments. 

 

8. VALUATION OF OTHER PROPERTY 

 

Annual Reassessment to Fair Market Value.  Property other than locally-assessed real 

property is subject to the valuation rules that were in effect for all property prior to 

Proposition 13.  The pre-Proposition 13 rules now apply only to locally-assessed personal 

property and state-assessed property.  These two classes of property are assessed to 

current fair market value each year, as of the lien date.  For locally-assessed personal 

property, the county assessor has the responsibility for determining fair market value.  

For state-assessed property, the BOE determines fair market value.  In both cases, the tax 

rate is the same as for all other property:  The basic 1% rate, plus any additional rates for 

debt. 

 

If damage or other factors cause fair market value to decline for these properties, the 

decline will be reflected in the next annual reassessment.  In addition, owners of locally- 

assessed personal property may apply for immediate downward reappraisal during the tax 

year after a "misfortune or calamity", if local county ordinances permit.  This is the same 

procedure described in Section 6 above for locally-assessed real property. 

 

Determination of Fair Market Value.  Fair market value is defined as the price the 

property would bring at a sale in the open market by a willing buyer and willing seller, 

neither of whom is under any compulsion to buy or to sell, and with full knowledge of the 

uses to which the property can be put.  

 

Determination of fair market value is a question of judgment, and the law recognizes that 

there is no single acceptable appraisal method that assessors should employ to determine 

fair market value.  Some of the most commonly used methods include using the purchase 

price, looking at sales of comparable properties, capitalizing the income stream (rent) 

produced by the property, and determining the cost to replace the property.  

 

Recall that for purposes of establishing the fair market value of a property that has been 

purchased, current law requires that the purchase price be presumed to be the fair market 

value, unless there is evidence the property would not have sold for that in an open 

market transaction.   
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As pointed out earlier in this chapter, the property tax applies only to tangible property.  

Intangible property is not taxable.  Examples of intangibles that are not subject to the  

property tax include general franchises, patents, and goodwill.  However, the courts have 

recognized that in some instances the presence of intangibles contributes to or enhances 

the value of real property, in which case they may be reflected in the assessment of 

property for tax purposes. 

 

Impact of the "4-R" Act on Railroad Valuation.  Federal legislation enacted in 1976, 

the Railroad Revitalization and Regulatory Reform Act (the "4-R Act"), has affected the 

valuation of state assessed railroad property.  The 4-R Act prohibits states from taxing 

railroad property more highly than other commercial and industrial property in the state.  

Since California assesses most commercial and industrial property under the "acquisition 

value" rules of Proposition 13, and railroad property is reassessed to fair market value 

annually as state assessed property, California must modify its assessment of railroad 

property to comply with the requirements of the 4-R Act. 

 

BOE has concluded that the effective assessment level of state-assessed railroad property 

in California is 65.14% of fair market value for the FY 2008-09. 

 

9. LIEN DATE AND "ESCAPED" ASSESSMENTS 

 

All locally-assessed taxable property is assessed annually as of 12:01 a.m. on January 1.  

This is called the lien date, because on that date the taxes due become a lien against the 

property until paid.  The lien date was changed from March 1 to January 1 commencing 

January 1, 1997.  

 

All state-assessed property is assessed each year as of 12:01 a.m. on January 1. 

 

An escape assessment is a retroactive, corrective assessment.  This assessment rectifies 

an omission or error that caused taxable property to be under-assessed, or not assessed at 

all.  In most cases, once such an omission or error occurs, the property escapes proper 

assessment each year thereafter until the underassessment is discovered and corrected.  

Upon discovery that a property escaped assessment, the assessor is required to 

appropriately value the property as of the valuation date, record the appropriate value on 

the roll being prepared, and process any necessary corrections to the current roll.  In 

addition, the assessor is required to process escape assessments for earlier years for which 

the time to make assessments still is open.  

 

In general, the time period during which assessments may be made remains open for four 

years beginning on July 1 of each assessment year.  To determine the open period for 

escape assessments, the period is counted back in time from the assessment year of 

discovery and correction. 

 

For example, a new barn was completed in April 1997 but was not assessed until the 

assessor discovered it in January 2002.  Upon discovery, the assessor should:  
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 Record (enroll) the appropriate value on the roll being prepared (FY 2002-03).  

The role for this assessment year closes on July 1, 2002, so this correction 

would not be an "escape assessment". 

 

 Correct the current roll (FY 2001-02); this is year one of the limitations 

period. 

 

 Process escape assessments for all prior years within the statute of limitations 

(FYs 2000-01, 1999-2000, and 1998-1999 represent years two, three, and four 

of the limitations period). 

 

As revealed by this example, the assessor is not always able to make a corrective 

assessment for every year that the property escaped assessment. 

 

10. PREFERENTIAL ASSESSMENT OF CERTAIN PROPERTIES 

 

California Constitution, Article XIII, Sections 3(j) and 8, provides special assessment 

rules for three categories of property in order to preserve them in their current form and 

reduce pressure for development.  The special assessment rules allow the property to be 

assessed at the lower of (a) fair market value, (b) the Proposition 13 assessment value, or 

(c) historical value.  The categories of property covered by the special rule are: 

 

 Open space land and agricultural land, the use of which is restricted under 

Land Conservation Act (Williamson Act) contracts.  Examples of open space 

contracts include scenic highway corridors, wildlife habitats, saltponds, 

managed wetlands, submerged areas, and recreational areas.  The state 

reimburses local governments for part of the revenue loss resulting from 

preferential assessments under the Williamson Act.  (The Williamson Act is 

described more fully in Chapter 6G.) 

 

 Timberland. 

 

 Qualifying historical property. 

 

11. TAXPAYER APPEALS OF PROPERTY VALUATION 

 

Taxpayers who disagree with the values placed on locally assessed property by the 

county assessor may appeal to the county equalization body between July 2 and 

September 15 of the fiscal year for which the taxes are due.  In some counties, the 

appeals date is extended to November 30. 

 

Under current law, the elected county board of supervisors may sit as the county BOE or 

may create one or more assessment appeals boards (AABs) to provide that function.  

According to BOE, there are 19 counties in California in which the board of supervisors 

also sits as the county BOE.  In the remaining 39 counties, AAB members are appointed 
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by a majority vote of the board of supervisors.  Each AAB member's term is three years 

long, and there is no limit on the number of terms an AAB member may serve.  

Individual terms are staggered to ensure that a board will not be comprised of members 

with no prior AAB experience.  

 

Eligibility requirements for appointment to an AAB vary depending on the size of the 

county.  In counties of less than 200,000 people, the board of supervisors may appoint 

any person who is believed to possess "competent knowledge of property appraisal and 

taxation".  In all other counties, an appointee must have a minimum of five years' 

professional experience in California in one of the following roles:  Certified public 

accountant or public accountant, licensed real estate broker, attorney, property appraiser 

accredited by a nationally recognized professional organization, or property appraiser 

certified by the California Office of Real Estate Appraisers or state BOE.  

 

The roles and duties of the county equalization bodies have been litigated repeatedly.  

Among the courts' findings:  County BOEs are quasi-judicial agencies that function as the 

fact-finding bodies designated by law to remedy excessive assessments.  These boards 

have the duty to determine the value of locally assessed property and the fairness of the 

assessment.  In discharging this duty, a board's determination regarding the merits of a 

valuation case are conclusive.  Thus, the decision of a county BOE is equivalent to the 

determination of a trial court and may be reviewed only for arbitrariness, abuse of 

discretion, or failure to follow the standards prescribed by law. 

 

Rulings of the county equalization body can be appealed to Superior Court, but any 

Superior Court asked to review a question of fact, which generally is a valuation decision, 

is limited to inquiry into whether the county board's findings are supported by substantial 

evidence (i.e., whether the findings are supported by some credible evidence in the 

administrative record).  Thus, the Superior Court sits as an appellate tribunal that reviews 

the AAB record for reversible error, and taxpayers do not have a right to trial de novo.  

Over time, three types of reversible errors have been identified:  (a) denial of procedural 

due process to a party by an AAB; (b) utilization of an unlawful appraisal methodology 

by an AAB; and (c) issuance of findings and/or decisions by an AAB that are not 

supported by substantial evidence. 

 

Local assessees are provided greater appeal rights on refund actions arising from 

questions of law than actions arising from questions of fact.  In general, questions of fact 

involve the circumstances surrounding a property's fair market value.  Questions of law 

often involve the determination whether the transfer of a property meets the definition of 

a change in ownership.  Other examples of issues eligible for trial de novo include:  (a) 

whether a property qualifies for a specific property tax exemption; (b) whether a 

particular item is real or personal property; (c) whether a particular statute is 

constitutional; and (d) whether the proper method of valuation has been used.   

 

Taxpayers who disagree with the values placed on state-assessed property by the BOE 

may appeal to the Board itself, with further appeal rights to the Superior Court.  State 

assessees are provided trial de novo if they appeal to the Superior Court.  Unlike the 
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restrictions placed on courts asked to review questions of fact on locally-assessed real 

property, the court may make an independent determination of the fair market value of a 

state-assessed property.  

 

12. PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS 

 

Various categories of property are partly or fully exempt from the property tax.  The 

major exemptions are summarized below. 

Property totally exempted from local property tax includes: 

 

 Most government-owned property. 

 

 Nonprofit religious, charitable, charitable education, and hospital property.  

This is generally known as the "welfare exemption". 

 

 Household furnishings and personal effects. 

 

 Business inventories, including livestock, held for sale. 

 

 Growing crops.  Also, orchards for the first four years after they were planted 

and vineyards for the first three years after planting. 

 

 Low-value property (generating a tax of less than $100).  The county board of 

supervisors must authorize this exemption before it is allowed for the county. 

 

 Freight and passenger vessels over a certain size. 

 

 Private railroad cars that are subject to the state private railroad car tax in lieu 

of the local property tax. 

 

Property partially exempted from local property tax includes: 

 

 The first $7,000 of full value of an owner-occupied principal residence.  This 

is known as the Homeowners' Exemption.  The state reimburses local 

governments for the loss of revenue attributable to this exemption.  (Refer to 

Chapter 6E, Homeowners' Exemption, for a more detailed discussion.) 

 

 The first $100,000 or $150,000 as adjusted for inflation of property owned by 

disabled veterans and their spouses, with the exempt amount depending on the 

annual income of the veteran.  Beginning in 2006, the exemption amount is 

adjusted for inflation each year. 

 

 Autos and trucks, which are subject to the vehicle license fee (VLF).  

Mobilehomes sold new prior to July 1, 1980 are also subject to the VLF in 

lieu of the property tax; mobilehomes installed after that date are placed on 

the local property roll and assessed as real or personal property, depending 
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upon the method of attachment to land. 

 

 Standing timber, which is subject to the Timber Yield Tax.  Note, however, 

that the land underlying the timber remains subject to the property tax.  

Timber land is usually subject to preferential assessment. 

 

 Racehorses are subject to a special annual Racehorse Tax.  This tax is a fixed 

amount varying by type of racehorse and the age of the horse. 

 

 Personal property of insurance companies is subject to the insurance gross 

premiums tax in lieu of all other taxes except real property taxes. 

 

 Personal property of banks and financial institutions is subject to a Bank Tax 

rate in addition to the normal bank and corporation tax.  The personal property 

of banks is not subject to personal property taxes. 

 

 Business records, which are valued based on the value of the paper, rather 

than the value of the information contained. 

 

13. PROPERTY TAX RELIEF PROGRAMS 

 

The state pays for a variety of property tax relief programs through income tax credits, 

cash payments made directly to taxpayers, and subventions to local governments as 

reimbursement for the loss of revenues resulting from property tax exemptions and 

preferential assessments. 

 

Table 8 illustrates the cost to the state of the major property tax relief programs for FY 

2009-10 (the most recent FY for which actual expenditures are known).  Most of these 

programs are described in more detail in Chapter 6, Special Features of the California 

Tax System. 

 

In 2011, a county-optional senior citizens and disabled property tax deferral program was 

created to replace the suspended state program.  [AB 1090 (Blumenfield), Chapter 369, 

Statutes of 2011] . 

 

TABLE 8 
 

Estimated State Expenditures on Property Tax Relief Programs, 2011-12 

 

 Homeowners' Exemption     $434.0 million 

 (subvention to local governments) 

  

Senior Citizens, Blind & Disabled Homeowner 

 and Renter Property Tax Assistance    $   -0-  million 

 (direct cash payments to taxpayers) 
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 Senior Citizens and Disabled Property 

 Tax Deferral (subvention to local    $   -0-  million 

 governments) 

 

 Williamson Act Open Space and Agricultural  $   -0-  million 

 Land Contracts (subvention to local 

 governments) 

 

 *Source:  2011-12 Governor's Budget 

 

 

14. ALLOCATION OF PROPERTY TAX REVENUES TO LOCAL  

AGENCIES 

 

In 1979, after the passage of Proposition 13, the Legislature enacted a method of 

allocating the proceeds of the countywide 1% property tax rate to various local entities in 

each county.  The legislation enacting this method was AB 8 of 1979, and the system 

came to be known as the AB 8 system. 

 

In brief, the AB 8 system ensured that local entities would receive revenues equal to the 

amount they received in the prior year (the 'base') plus that entity's share of any growth in 

revenues deriving from assessed valuation in that jurisdiction (the 'increment').  Property 

tax proceeds from growth, whether due to new construction, changes in ownership, or the 

2% inflation factor, accrue only to jurisdictions where the growth occurs. 

 

AB 8 generally allowed local agencies to receive the same share of property tax revenues 

after Proposition 13 that they received prior to Proposition 13.  However, AB 8 also 

shifted a portion of the property taxes received by schools to cities, counties, and special 

districts and the state assumed a greater share of education funding.  This shift is known 

as the AB 8 shift or bailout.  In effect, California subsidized local governments by 

passing money through school districts and inflating local governments' property tax 

revenues. 

 

As part of the package of efforts closing the FYs 1992-93 and 1993-94 budget deficits, 

the AB 8 shift was partially reduced.  Legislation reallocated property tax revenues from 

cities, counties, and special districts to schools.  This shift was accomplished through an 

Education Revenue Augmentation Fund (ERAF) in each county. 

 

In years following the ERAF property tax shifts, local agencies receive their new base 

amount plus their share of any growth within the jurisdiction during the past year.  

 

15. ADMINISTRATION 

 

The BOE is charged with developing standards for local assessment practices and also 

has responsibility for assessing certain utility properties, as described above. 
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Prior to the enactment of Proposition 13, the BOE had "equalization" powers.  That is, 

the power to require a county to increase assessed values to bring them in line with state 

standards and assessed values elsewhere in the state.  Since the enactment of Proposition 

13, BOE no longer has that function.  However, BOE is required by statute to monitor 

local assessment practices and assessed values and report on its findings.  If, in its 

monitoring function, the Board determines that the level of assessment in any county is 

less than 95% of the assessment level required by law, the county can lose a portion of 

annual supplemental property tax roll revenues that are earmarked for county 

administrative costs. 

 

Local county assessors value all property except the utility and railroad property, private 

railroad cars, inter-county pipelines, flumes, canals, ditches, and aqueducts assessed by 

the BOE.  The county tax collector collects the property taxes, and the county auditor 

determines the appropriate allocation of revenues to local entities within each county. 

 

Secured roll taxes are paid to the county tax collector in two installments, which are 

delinquent if not paid by December 10 and April 10 annually.  Unsecured roll taxes are 

paid in one installment due no later than August 31 annually. 

 

16. CODE 

 

California Constitution, Article XIII and XIIIA 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 1-6000 and Sections 11201-11273 

 

Various sections in Education Code, Government Code, and other Codes. 
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APPENDIX 

 

History of Proposition 13 and Subsequent Amendments 

 

Statewide  Proposition  

    Ballot                   Number     Summary of Change Adopted 

 

June 1978  13   Enactment of Article XIIIA.   Added Article  

XIIIA to State Constitution, limiting 

property tax rate, rolling assessments back 

to 1975-76 level, limiting increases in 

assessed value, providing for reassessment 

upon change in ownership or new 

construction, prohibiting imposition of new 

property or other kinds of taxes on real 

property, authorizing the imposition of local 

special taxes by 2/3 vote, and making other 

changes.  Most provisions took effect for 

1978-79 fiscal year. 

 

November 1978   8   Disasters and Declines in Value.  Amended  

Section 2 of Article XIIIA, providing that  

real property reconstructed after a disaster  

will not be considered new construction if  

the new market value is comparable to the  

market value prior to the disaster, and  

authorizing reduction in assessment of a  

property in order to reflect substantial  

damages, destruction or other factors 

causing a decline in value. 

 

November 1980   7   Solar Energy Systems.  Amended Section 2  

of Article XIIIA, authorizing the Legislature  

to provide that the construction or addition  

of any active solar energy system will not be  

considered new construction. 

 

June 1982      3   Eminent Domain and Inverse Condemnation 

  Amended Section 2 of Article XIIIA,  

providing that a change in ownership will  

not include acquisition of property as a  

replacement for comparable property from  

which the owner was displaced by eminent  

domain, acquisition by a public entity, or  

inverse condemnation.  Applied to property  

acquired after March 1, 1975, for

 assessments made after June 8, 1982. 
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June 1984  23   Seismic Safety Reconstruction.  Amended  

Section 2 of Article XIIIA, providing that  

reconstruction or improvement to property  

constructed of unreinforced masonry bearing  

wall construction in compliance with local  

seismic safety ordinances will not be  

considered new construction during the first  

15 years after the reconstruction.  

 

November 1984 31   Fire Safety Systems.  Amended Section 2 of  

Article XIIIA, authorizing the Legislature to  

provide that the construction or installation  

of a fire sprinkler, extinguishing, detection  

or related system will not be considered new  

construction.  Applies to systems  

constructed or installed after November 6,  

1984. 

 

November 1984 34   Historic Structures Rehabilitation.   

Amended Section 2 of Article XIIIA,  

providing that the addition to, or alteration  

or rehabilitation of, certified historic  

structures will not be considered new  

construction, so long as the structure is the  

owner's principal residence.  

 

June 1986  46   Excess Tax Rates for Bonded Debt.   

  Amended Section 1 of Article XIIIA,  

allowing the levy of a property tax rate in  

excess of the 1% maximum to pay interest  

and redemption charges on bonded debt  

approved by a two-thirds vote of the voters  

on and after July 1, 1978, for  acquisition or  

improvement of real property. 

 

June 1986  50   Replacement Property After Disaster. 

  Amended Section 2 of Article XIIIA,  

allowing the transfer of assessed value from  

a property substantially damaged or  

destroyed by a disaster to a comparable  

replacement property in the same county.  

Also set forth definitions of "substantially  

damaged or destroyed" and "comparable."   

Applies to property acquired or newly  

constructed on or after July 1, 1985. 
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November 1986 58   Transfers of Property Within Families. 

  Amended Section 2 of Article XIIIA,  

providing that change in ownership will not  

include:  (1) the transfer of real property  

between spouses since March 1, 1975; and  

(2) the transfer of a principal residence and  

first $1 million of other real property  

between parents and children.  Also  

provided that unless specified otherwise,  

amendments to Section 2 will apply to  

changes of ownership which occur, and new  

construction which is completed, after the  

effective date of the amendment. 

 

November 1986 60   Replacement Residences of Senior Citizens, 

Moves Within Counties.  Amended Section  

2 of Article XIIIA, permitting the  

Legislature to allow persons over age 55,  

who sell their residence and buy or build  

another of equal or lesser value in the same  

county within two years, to transfer the old  

residence's assessed value to the new  

residence. 

 

November 1988 90   Replacement Residences of Senior Citizens,  

Moves Between Counties.  Amended  

Section 2 of Article XIIIA, permitting the  

Legislature to extend the relief allowed by  

Proposition 60 of November 1986 to  

replacement residences located in a different  

county from the original residence, if the  

county of the replacement dwelling has  

adopted an ordinance participating in the  

program.  Applied to replacement dwellings  

acquired on or after a county ordinance is  

adopted, but not before November 9, 1988.   

Amended the language adopted in  

Proposition 58 of 1986 to provide that  

unless provided otherwise, amendments to  

Section 2 adopted after November 1, 1988,  

will apply to changes in ownership that  

occur and new construction that is  

completed on or after the effective date of  

the amendment. 
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June 1990  110   Replacement Residences of Disabled  

Persons.  Amended Section 2 of Article  

XIIIA permitting severely and permanently  

disabled persons to transfer the base year  

value of an original residence to a  

replacement residence of equal or lesser  

value under certain circumstances.  Also  

exempts modifications to improve  

accessibility for the disabled from "new  

construction" reassessment.  This measure's  

provisions parallel those of  Propositions  

60/90 with respect to qualifying replacement  

properties. 

 

November 1990 127   Seismic Retrofitting of Existing Buildings. 

      Added a paragraph to Subdivision (c) of  

Section 2 of Article XIIIA allowing seismic  

retrofitting improvements or improvements  

utilizing earthquake hazard mitigation  

technologies to be constructed or installed in  

existing buildings without being subject to  

reassessment as new construction. 

 

November 1992 160   Spouses of Persons Who Died on Active  

Duty in the Military.  Allows the Legislature  

to exempt from property taxation, in whole  

or in part, the home of the spouse of a  

person who died as the result of a service- 

connected injury or disease while on active  

duty in military service unless the home is  

receiving another real property exemption. 

 

November 1993 171   Replacement Property After Disaster.   

      Amended Section 2 of Article XIIIA, 

allowing the transfer of assessed value from  

a property substantially damaged or  

destroyed by a disaster to a comparable  

replacement property located in another  

county if the county where the replacement  

property is located has adopted an ordinance  

permitting the transfer of value.  Applies to 

property damaged on or after October 20,  

1991. 
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June 1994  177   New Construction Exclusion for Disabled  

Accessibility Improvements.  Amended  

Section 2 of Article XIIIA exempting  

modifications to improve accessibility for  

the disabled from "new construction"  

reassessment.  This measure's provisions  

apply to property that is not the principal  

place of residence of a disabled person. 

 

March 1996  193   Grandparent – Grandchild Transfers of  

Property.  Amended Section 2 of Article  

XIIIA excluding transfers of property  

between grandparents and grandchildren  

from change in ownership if the parents of  

those grandchildren are deceased as of the  

date of the transfer. 

 

November 1998    1   Environmental Contaminations.  Amended  

Section 2 of Article XIIIA to exclude  

property acquired or reconstructed as a  

replacement for property destroyed as a 

result of environmental contamination  

cleanup activities from fair market value  

reassessments. 

 

November 2000   39   School Facilities Bonded Indebtedness, 55%  

Voter Approval.  Amended Section 1 of  

Article XIIIA to reduce the voter approval  

threshold from two-thirds to 55% for school 

facilities. 

 

June 2010                      13   Seismic Safety Reconstruction.  Amended  

      Section 2 of Article XIII A to remove the  

      15-year time limit for unreinforced masonry  

      Buildings.  (See Prop. 23 of June 1984) 
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CHAPTER 5 

 

GOVERNMENT APPROPRIATIONS LIMIT: 

ARTICLE XIIIB OF THE CALIFORNIA CONSTITUTION 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 What is the Appropriations Limit? 

 

 Expenditures Versus Appropriations 

 

 How the Appropriations Limit Works 

 

 History of the State's Limit 

 

 Relationship Between State and Local Limits 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. IN BRIEF:  WHAT IS THE APPROPRIATIONS LIMIT? 

 

Proposition 4, approved by the voters in November 1979, added Article XIIIB to the 

California Constitution.  Article XIIIB limits the level of most appropriations from tax 

sources that the state and most local government entities are permitted to make in any 

given year.  The limit for each year is equal to the limit for the prior year, adjusted for 

changes in the cost-of-living and population.  Various other adjustments are also 

required.  The first year in which appropriation limits applied to state and local 

governments in California was fiscal year (FY) 1980-81. 

 

Article XIIIB also requires state and local governments to return to taxpayers (or in 

certain cases, K-14 education programs) any tax revenues in excess of the amount that 

can be appropriated in any given FY.   

 

This constitutional provision also requires the state to reimburse local governments and 

school districts for the costs of complying with state mandates, and requires the 

Legislature to establish a prudent state reserve fund.  

 

Article XIIIB was significantly modified by two initiative constitutional amendments 

approved by the state's voters in November 1988, Propositions 98 and 99.  Proposition 

111, approved by the voters in June 1990, made several additional significant revisions to 

the appropriations limit.  Changes made by these propositions are noted in the following 

sections. 
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2. EXPENDITURES VERSUS APPROPRIATIONS  

 

The terms "appropriations limit" and "spending limit" or "expenditure limit" are often 

used interchangeably, and there is some confusion about the difference between 

appropriations and expenditures. 

 

An appropriation is an action by the Legislature to set aside an amount of money for a 

specified purpose.  In short, an appropriation authorizes money to be spent.  

Appropriations are made in the annual Budget Bill, or in individual bills providing for 

specific governmental programs. 

 

The actual expenditure of money occurs later, and is implemented by the State 

Controller.  Writing checks is a ministerial function of the Controller.  The Controller has 

no authority to expend money that has not been appropriated by the Legislature. 

 

The amount of an expenditure on a program may not equal the appropriation for that 

program.  For example, if the number of clients for a particular government service is 

actually less than anticipated, the appropriation may be larger than the amount actually 

spent. 

 

Article XIIIB sets forth a limit on the amounts that may be appropriated from government 

tax proceeds.  In the remainder of this chapter, Article XIIIB will be referred to as an 

appropriations limit, although in casual conversation and the popular press it is often 

called a spending limit. 

 

3. HOW THE APPROPRIATIONS LIMIT WORKS 

 

Most of the operative provisions of Article XIIIB are provided in the Constitution.  Some 

features required statutory implementation, which was accomplished by legislation 

enacted in 1980, and again in 1990 for changes made by Proposition 111. 

 

The paragraphs below describe how the appropriations limit works, based on both 

constitutional and statutory provisions.  Opinions provided by the Legislative Counsel 

and the Attorney General have contributed to our interpretation of the provisions of 

Article XIIIB.  

 

Which Governmental Agencies Have Limits?  Article XIIIB applies to the state and to 

most units of local government -- cities, counties, K-12 school districts, community 

college districts, and special districts.  Each governmental entity has its own 

appropriations limit.  The few local governmental entities that are not subject to an 

appropriations limit are: 
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o Special districts in existence on January 1, 1987 that did not levy a property 

tax rate in excess of 12.5% in FY 1977-78; and, 

 

 New special districts formed since that time by a vote of the people that are 

not funded from tax proceeds. 

 

Which Revenues Are Subject to a Limit?  Article XIIIB places a limit on 

appropriations from most, but not all, government revenue sources.  The limit applies to 

appropriations from proceeds of taxes from both the general fund and special funds of 

government entities.  Tax proceeds include tax revenues, interest earnings on invested tax 

revenues, and any revenues collected through a regulatory license fee or user charge in 

excess of the amount needed to cover the cost of providing the regulation, product, or 

service.   

 

Appropriations from non-tax revenues are excluded from the limit.  Examples of non-tax 

proceeds include lottery proceeds, tidelands oil revenues, federal funds, proceeds from 

the sale of government property, revenues from regulatory license fees or user charges 

equal to the amount needed to cover the cost of providing the function, gifts, and 

borrowed funds. 

 

In addition, proposition 111 excluded appropriations from the following revenue sources 

from the limit: 

 

 Gas and diesel tax revenues above nine cents per gallon; 

 

 Sales and use taxes collected on gas and diesel taxes above nine cents per 

gallon; and 

 

 Truck weight fees that exceed those in effect on January 1, 1990. 

 

Which Appropriations Are Subject to Limit?  Appropriations for almost all 

government functions are subject to limitation under Article XIIIB.  However, there are 

some important exceptions. 

 

The original Proposition 4 provided that the following appropriations are not limited, 

even if made from proceeds of taxes: 

 

 Subventions from the state to local governments and schools, the use of which 

is unrestricted (these subventions are not subject to the state's limit, but 

instead are counted as subject to the local entity's limit); 

 

 Appropriations to pay for costs of complying with federal laws and court 

mandates; 
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 Payments for interest and redemption charges on pre-existing (i.e., pre-

Proposition 4) or voter-approved bonded indebtedness; 

 

 Withdrawals from previously appropriated reserve funds; and, 

 

 Refunds of taxes. 

 

Proposition 99, adopted by the voters in November 1988, created another major category 

of appropriations not subject to the limit.  These are appropriations of new tax moneys 

from cigarette and tobacco products resulting from tax increases imposed by Proposition 

99.  Under that statutory initiative, beginning in FY 1988-89, state revenues from those 

new or increased cigarette and tobacco taxes are set aside in special accounts for 

expenditure on treatment or research of tobacco-related diseases, tobacco health 

education programs, and wildlife preservation and related programs.  All such 

appropriations are exempt from limitation under Article XIIIB. 

 

Proposition 111 excluded capital outlay from the appropriations limit.  This change 

reflects the fact that while capital outlay appropriations are made during a single budget 

year, they reflect long-term investments that are utilized over a number of years. 

 

Appropriations directly related to an emergency, such as a fire, earthquake, or other 

natural disaster, were also excluded from the limit by Proposition 111.  No reduction in 

future limits is required for appropriations made for these emergency purposes. 

 

The "Base Year" Limit.  The first year that limits were in effect was FY 1980-81.  The 

base year for determining the appropriations limit in FY 1980-81 was FY 1978-79.  

Actual appropriations in the 1978-79 FY that had been financed by the proceeds of taxes 

were the starting point.  Appropriations not subject to limitation (see above) were 

subtracted from that figure and this became the "base year" level of appropriations for 

computing all subsequent years' limits. 

 

Proposition 111 updated the base year for calculating the limit for each government entity 

to FY 1986-87.  For fiscal years beginning with FY 1990-91, the limit for each entity is 

the FY 1986-87 limit adjusted annually as specified by Article XIIIB as amended by 

Proposition 111. 

 

Base year appropriations limits for new local government entities incorporated after the 

enactment of Article XIIIB are to be established by local agency formation commissions 

or county formation review commissions, and approved by the voters of the incorporation 

or formation elections. 

 

Annual Adjustments to the Limit.  The appropriations limit for each year since FY 

1980-81 is calculated by adjusting the base year limit for changes in the cost-of-living  
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and population.  Proposition 111, passed by the voters in June 1990, revised each of the 

adjustment factors.  Specifically, annual adjustments to limits, either upward or  

downward, are made as follows: 

 

 Cost-of-Living. 

 

State and schools.  Governments' limits are adjusted by the change in 

California per capita personal income. 

 

Local agencies (except schools).  Limits are adjusted by the change in 

California per capita personal income or the change in the local property tax 

roll due to the addition of new nonresidential construction. 

 

 Population. 

 

State.  The population factor is calculated by adding:  (a) the change in the 

state's total population weighted by the percent of the budget spent on non-

educational programs, and (b) the change in average daily attendance (ADA) 

for K-14 education weighted by the percentage of the budget spent on K-14 

education. 

 

Local agencies.  The population factor is the percentage change in the 

jurisdiction or in the county in which the jurisdiction is located.  Special 

districts located in two or more counties may use the change in the county in 

which the district has the highest assessed valuation. 

 

Counties.  The population change for counties can be calculated by using one 

of three methods:  (a) the percentage change in population within the county; 

(b) the percentage change in population for both the county itself and 

contiguous counties; or (c) the percentage change in population within the 

incorporated portion of the county. 

 

K-14 Schools.  The change in population is the percentage change in average 

daily attendance. 

 

 Program Transfers.  Limits of governmental entities are modified to reflect 

transfers of financial responsibility from one level of government to another.   

The limit of the new service provider is increased by the amount the former  

service provider's limit is reduced. 

 

 Funding Transfers.  Adjustments either upward or downward are made to 

account for transfers of program funding sources, for example from tax 

revenues (subject to limit) to fees (not subject to limit). 
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The level of appropriations actually made by a government entity in any year does not 

have any bearing on the calculation of the appropriations limit for the subsequent years.  

Each year's limit is computed based on the prior year's limit, not the prior year's 

appropriations. 

 

If the governing body actually appropriates less money than what would be permitted by 

the limit, it has "room" under its limit, and the limit will be further adjusted the following 

year for cost-of-living and population changes. A government entity does not "lose" room 

under its limit for the future by appropriating less than the maximum permitted in any 

year. 

 

Appropriations Permitted in Excess of the Limit.  Article XIIIB sets forth two 

circumstances under which governments may make appropriations in excess of their 

limits: 

 

 Emergency.  Appropriations for declared emergencies do not count towards 

and may be made in excess of the limit.  Proposition 111 removed the 

requirement that the limits for future years must be reduced over a three-year 

period so that there would be no total increase in allowable appropriations. 

 

 Voter Approval.  Article XIIIB permits voters of a jurisdiction to authorize an 

increase in the appropriations limit.  However, no voter-approved increase 

may be in effect for more than four years.  At the end of the four-year period, 

either the voters must approve another increase or the limit must return to the 

level it would otherwise have been. 

 

When Revenues Exceed the Appropriations Limit.  A government entity may receive 

revenues during a fiscal year that exceed its appropriations limit.  Proposition 111 allows 

governments to average appropriations over a two year period before becoming subject to 

the excess revenue provisions of Article XIIIB.  In other words, a government entity can 

offset appropriations that exceeds its appropriations limit in one year of a two-year period 

by appropriating less than the limit in the other year.  If revenues exceed the 

appropriations limit after taking this two-year averaging into account and authority to 

appropriate is not provided by either an emergency declaration or voter approval, Article 

XIIIB as amended by Propositions 98 and 111 sets forth a process for disposing of the 

excess state revenues: 

 

 Education Programs.  After the two-year averaging period, 50% of any excess 

revenues are transferred to the State School Fund for elementary, secondary  

and community college education.  A portion of this excess revenue (25%) 

may effectively be built into the base used to calculate future funding required 

by Proposition 98 if the excess funds are used for a specified purpose.  The 

transfer to education is not required if the state's average expenditure per 

student and average class size is equal to or exceeds that of the ten states with  
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the best performance in these areas. 

 

 Return of Excess.  The 50% of excess revenues remaining after the transfer to 

education must be returned to taxpayers within the following two years.  The 

return can be made through a reduction in the tax rate or as a fee reduction. 

 

4. HISTORY OF THE STATE'S LIMIT, FYs 1980-81 TO 2010-11 

 

How the Limit is Administered.  Under statute, the Governor must submit to the 

Legislature along with the budget an estimate of the state's appropriations limit for the 

budget year.  The estimate is subject to the budget process, and the official limit is 

established in the annual Budget Bill.  The Department of Finance and the Legislative 

Analyst's Office have developed the methodologies necessary to compute the limit 

annually. 

 

Effect of the State's Limit FYs 1980-81 to 1986-87.  For the first five years that Article 

XIIIB was operative, it essentially had no constraining effect on state budgets.  Changes 

in population and CPI outpaced the growth in state revenue in the early 1980s, so that 

actual revenues received were the constraint on the level of state spending until FY 1986-

87. 

 

During this period unused "room" under the state's appropriations limit peaked in FY 

1982-83 at $3.4 billion, and declined steadily after that.  A decline in the rate of inflation 

after that time reduced the rate at which the limit was raised annually, while at the same 

time a robust economy brought steady growth in state revenues.  In late 1986, analysts 

were predicting that by FY 1987-88, the Article XIIIB appropriations limit would begin 

to function as a significant constraint on state spending. 

 

However, an unanticipated surge in tax revenues in the spring of 1987 caught most 

observers by surprise.  That revenue surge, caused primarily by taxpayer reaction to the 

federal Tax Reform Act of 1986, pushed the state substantially over its appropriations 

limit for the first time during the 1986-87 fiscal year.  The state ended that fiscal year 

with $1.1 billion in excess revenues. 

 

FY 1986-87 Rebate of Excess Revenues.  During FY 1986-87 Article XIIIB required 

excess revenues to be returned by means of a tax rate reduction or fee reduction.  The  

method selected to deal with the $1.1 billion in excess state revenues for the 1986-87 FY 

was to send rebate checks to 11.1 million personal income taxpayers.   

 

The Limit Today.  Revisions to the limit calculation implemented by Proposition 111 

have continued to result in room under the appropriations limit in recent years.  For 

example, California expected to be almost approximately $16.8 billion under the 

appropriations cap in FY 2012-13. 
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5. RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE STATE'S AND LOCAL  

GOVERNMENTS' LIMITS 

 

Subventions.  As noted above, subventions from the state to local governments that are 

unrestricted as to the purposes for which they may be spent are not counted as state 

expenditures subject to limit, but rather are counted against the local limit. 

 

With respect to K-12 school districts, a portion of a district's revenue limit apportionment 

from the state constitutes a subvention for purposes of Article XIIIB.  Subventions are 

defined as amounts necessary to fund the "foundation program," after taking into account 

local tax revenues.  The "foundation program" represents a computed value that generally 

is less than the revenue limit amount.  The balance of the regular apportionment, as well 

as apportionments for categorical programs, are not considered to be subventions.  State 

subventions for community college districts are determined similarly. 

 

Reporting Requirements.  Legislation enacted in 1987 requires local entities to include 

information in their annual budget documents relating to their appropriations limits and 

their appropriations subject to the limit.  Proposition 111 requires that the annual 

calculation of a local government entity's appropriations limit shall be part of that entity's 

annual financial audit. 

 

6. CODE 

 

California Constitution, Article XIIIB 

 

Government Code Sections 7900-7914 

 

Education Code Sections 41203-41206 
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CHAPTER 6A 

 

OVERVIEW OF SPECIAL STATE TAX PROVISIONS 

AFFECTING SENIOR CITIZENS 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Social Security Income Not Taxable 

 

 Additional Personal Credits for Elderly and Blind 

 

 Senior Head of Household 

 

 Property Tax Reappraisal Relief for Senior Citizens 

 

 No State Inheritance Tax 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. OVERVIEW  

 

California has several tax programs benefiting the elderly.  While many of the provisions 

are not directed specifically at seniors and may, in fact, be aimed at other groups of 

citizens, persons over age 55 are frequently the beneficiaries.  Below is a list of state tax 

provisions for which many senior citizens qualify. 

 

2. PERSONAL INCOME TAX BENEFITS  

 

Social Security Income Not Taxable.  Under California income tax law, Social Security 

and Tier 1 Railroad Retirement benefits are not taxable.  In contrast, federal tax law 

requires 50% of Social Security benefits to be taxed if:  (a) so-called "provisional 

income" exceeds $32,000 for married filers filing joint returns; or (b) provisional income 

exceeds $25,000 for any other filing status; and 85% of benefits received to be taxed if:  

(a) provisional income exceeds $44,000 for married filers filing joint returns; or (b) 

provisional income exceeds $34,000 for any other filing status.  However, married 

taxpayers that file separately and live with their spouse at any time during the year are 

taxed on 85% of the total amount of benefits received.  "Provisional income" equals a 

taxpayer's adjusted gross income plus any tax-exempt interest plus and any untaxed 

income from a foreign country plus one-half of a taxpayer's Social Security or Tier 1 

Railroad Retirement benefits.   

 

Additional Personal Credit for the Elderly and Blind.  Every California taxpayer is 

entitled to personal exemption or dependent credits for all the members of the household.   
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An additional credit can be claimed for any person in a household who is (a) age 65 or 

older on the last day of the tax year; or (b) blind.  A person who is both elderly and blind 

is eligible for two additional credits on top of the personal or dependent credit. 

 

The additional personal credit for either an elderly person or a blind person is $104 ($208 

if both elderly and blind) in the 2012 tax year and may be claimed on the taxpayer's 

personal income tax return.   

 

Renters' Credit.  The amount of credit allowed varies based on the taxpayer's adjusted 

gross income (AGI) and filing status.  AGI amounts are indexed annually for inflation.  

In 2012, a credit of $120 is allowed for married/registered domestic partners (RDPs) 

filing joint returns, heads of household and surviving spouses if AGI is $72,674 or less, 

and $60 for other individuals (single or married/RDP filing separately) if AGI is $36,337 

or less.  The renters' credit is nonrefundable.  See Chapter 6E (Renter's Credit) for more 

information. 

 

Senior Head of Household.  A California senior may claim a tax credit as a senior head 

of household in the amount of 2% of taxable income, up to a maximum of $1,251 for 

2012, if certain conditions are met.  The taxpayer must be 65 years of age or older by the 

end of the taxable year and must have qualified as head of household during one of the 

two preceding taxable years by providing a household for an individual who died during 

one of those years.  In 2012, the taxpayer's adjusted gross income may not exceed 

$66,391.  The maximum credit amount is indexed annually for inflation. 

 

Tax Relief on Sale of Home.  Like federal law, state law allows taxpayers to exclude up 

to $250,000 ($500,000 if married filing jointly) of gain realized on the sale or exchange 

of a principal residence.  The exclusion is allowed each time a taxpayer selling a principal 

residence meets certain eligibility requirements, but generally no more frequently than 

once every two years.  To be eligible for the exclusion, a taxpayer must have owned the 

residence and occupied it as a principal residence for at least two of the five years prior to 

the sale or exchange.   

 

3. PROPERTY TAX BENEFITS  

 

Property Tax Reappraisal Relief for Senior Citizens.  Proposition 60, which was 

approved by voters in 1986, allows senior citizens over 55 years of age to maintain their  

property tax base year value for intra-county (within a county) replacements of principal 

residences.  In order to carry over the base year value of the property sold, the 

replacement property value must be equal to or lower than the value of the senior's 

original residence.  Seniors purchasing new homes in 2012, for example, may carry over 

their property tax base year value from their original home (for example, a home 

purchased in 1953) to their replacement home. 
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Proposition 90, approved by the voters in 1988, allows counties to extend Proposition 60 

relief to inter-county (between counties) replacements of principal residences by seniors.  

However, this program is optional on the part of counties receiving the base year transfer 

(i.e., the new residence of the senior).  Currently, only eight counties (Alameda, El 

Dorado, Los Angeles, Orange, San Diego, San Mateo, Santa Clara, and Ventura) accept 

inter-county base year transfers. 

 

Taxpayers must claim the property tax reappraisal relief through the local county 

assessor.  See Section 6 of Chapter 4 in this Reference Book for more information. 

 

4. NO STATE INHERITANCE TAX 

 

California's inheritance tax was repealed by Proposition 6 in 1982. 

 

California now levies a "pickup" estate tax up to the maximum amount of the inheritance 

tax credit allowed against the federal estate tax.  This "pickup" tax does not increase the 

overall tax liability of the estate.  See Chapter 3D on Estate Tax for additional 

information. 

 

5. CODES 

 

California Constitution, Article XIIIA 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 69.5, 17037, 17054, 17054.7,  and 17087 
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CHAPTER 6B 

 

SENIOR CITIZENS AND DISABLED PROPERTY TAX 

POSTPONEMENT PROGRAM 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Type of Relief  Deferral of property taxes. 

 

 Eligibility   Age or disability, occupancy, income, and home  

equity criteria must be met (see below). 

 

 When to Claim  Annually. 

 

 Participants   2011-12          -0- 

 

 Cost    2011-12           -0- * 

 

 

*Chapter 4, Statutes of 2009, indefinitely suspended the program 

  Chapter 369, Statutes of 2011 enacted the county deferred property tax program and 

  allows each county to participate in a local program. 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. DESCRIPTION OF PROGRAM 

 

The Property Tax Postponement program formerly available to qualifying senior, blind or 

disabled homeowners was indefinitely suspended by the Legislature on February 20, 

2009.  The Legislature also prohibited the State Controller from accepting applications 

from claimants.   

 

Generally, the Property Tax Postponement program for senior citizens and blind or 

disabled persons allowed eligible homeowners to defer payment of all or a portion of the 

property taxes on their residences.  Qualified applicants were issued two Certificates of 

Eligibility that may be submitted to the County Tax Collector as payment for their 

property taxes.  The state then paid the county the amount of the deferred taxes on behalf 

of the homeowner. 

 

The program acted as a loan from the state to eligible property owners.  Interest rates 

were set each year based on the annual yield received by the state on its Pooled Money 

Investment Account.  The loan is repaid when the taxpayer dies, sells the home, moves, 

or allows a "senior lien" to become delinquent.  There was no maximum amount of 

postponed property taxes that could accumulate under the program. 

 



  CHAPTER 6B 

  SENIOR CITIZENS AND 

  DISABLED PROPERTY TAX 

  POSTPONEMENT PROGRAM 

 186 

 

For the purpose of the postponement program, "property taxes" include everything on the 

claimants' secured property tax bill, including special assessments, charges, and user fees,  

in addition to ad valorem taxes.  Special assessments levied independently of the county 

tax bill are not eligible for postponement. 

 

The tax postponement law was first passed in 1977 and was expanded several times.  

Originally designed for persons over 62 years of age, the program was available  

to eligible blind and disabled persons regardless of age.  In many cases, delinquent 

property taxes were eligible for postponement if the person was eligible for the program 

when those taxes became delinquent. 

  

The applicable simple interest rate and all interest charges are computed monthly and are 

added to the individual's postponement account, which is administered by the State 

Controller's Office.  The interest rate for one year's balance of a postponement account 

does not carry over to the following year.  For example, if the interest rate is 3% in 2003 

and 2% in 2004, the taxpayer pays 3% interest on the balance of the 2003 account and 

2% on the balance of the 2004 account, regardless of when the loan is repaid.  

 

2. REPAYMENT OF POSTPONED PROPERTY TAXES 

 

Repayment of postponed property taxes is required only under the following 

circumstances: 

 

 The claimant dies or sells, conveys or disposes of the property, permanently 

ceases to occupy the premises, or allows any tax or assessment to become  

delinquent.  Repayment is also required if he or she vacates the dwelling due 

to condemnation. 

 

 The claimant allows foreclosure of liens to occur which have higher priority 

than that of the state (e.g., bank loans, mechanic's liens).  In such cases, a 

notice of sale must be sent to the Controller by the foreclosing party. 

 

3. COST 

 

During FYs 2009-10 and 2010-11, no property taxes were postponed.   

 

4. CODE 

 

Health and Safety Code Section 18079 

 

Government Code Sections 16180-16214 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 20581-20646 
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CHAPTER 6C 

 

OVERVIEW OF SPECIAL STATE TAX PROVISIONS FOR HOMEOWNERS 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Sales of a Principal Residence 

 

 Deductibility of Home Mortgage Interest 

 

 Deductibility of Real Estate Taxes 

 

 Property Tax Benefits 

 

 Homeowners' Exemption 

 

 Property Tax Reappraisal Relief 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. OVERVIEW 

 

California tax law contains a number of provisions for tax relief to homeowners.  Tax 

relief is available for both property and personal income taxes, under certain 

circumstances. 

 

2. PERSONAL INCOME TAX BENEFITS 

 

Sale of a Principal Residence.  In general, for federal purposes, all or part of the gain 

(up to $250,000 for single taxpayers and $500,000 for married taxpayers) from the sale of 

a principal residence may be excluded from taxable income.  To qualify, a taxpayer must 

have owned and lived in the residence for at least two years out of the previous five years 

and have not excluded gain from the sale of another home during the two-year period 

ending on the date of the sale. 

 

Generally, California conforms to federal law for the exclusion of gain from the sale of 

residence. 

 

Under Federal law, for sales or exchanges occurring after December 31, 2008, the gain 

attributable to any period of time after 2008 that the property was not used as the 

principal residence of the taxpayer, taxpayer's spouse, or former spouse, may not be 

excluded from federal taxable income.  [Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 

121(b)(4)(A) [sic IRC Section 121 (b)(5)(a)] as enacted by PL 110-289].  California has 

not conformed to this change. 
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Deductibility of Home Mortgage Interest*.  Under both state and federal tax law, 

individuals that itemize deductions may deduct the interest paid on a home loan for their 

principal or secondary residence, subject to certain limitations.  Interest is deductible on 

loans of up to $1 million (up to $500,000 if married filing separately) used to purchase a 

home and on home equity loans of up to $100,000 (up to $50,000 if married filing 

separately).  However, the home equity loan may not exceed the difference between the 

fair market value of the home less the debt incurred to acquire the loan. 

 

Deductibility of Real Estate Taxes Paid*. Under both state and federal tax law, 

individuals who itemize deductions can claim deductions for real estate tax on Schedule 

A of their federal individual income tax return. Taxpayers are allowed to deduct only the 

amount of real estate tax paid during the year that is based on the assessed value of the 

property and not that portion that is assessed for a local benefit that tends to increase the 

value of the property.  Amounts shown on the property tax bill that are not deductible 

include: special assessments, special taxes, fees, or other charges that are not computed 

based on the assessed value of the property, regardless of their purpose, with limited 

exceptions.   

 

*Under federal law, the temporary repeal of the limit on itemized deductions for high-

income taxpayers, in effect for taxable years 2010 through 2012, is set to expire for 

taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013.  Ongoing discussions, "avoiding the 

fiscal cliff" negotiations, could result in an additional extension of the temporary repeal, 

or other modification affecting itemized deductions for high-income taxpayers. 

 

Depending on the date of this document's publication, the issue above may have been 

resolved. 

 

3. PROPERTY TAX BENEFITS 

 

Homeowners' Exemption.  Under the California Constitution, homeowners are eligible 

for a partial property tax exemption for their principal residence.  The first $7,000 of the  

full value of the property is not taxed.  So, if a principal residence has a base year value 

of $150,000, the amount on which property tax is assessed is $143,000.  If the property 

tax rate is 1%, then the homeowners' exemption reduces the total tax from $1,500 to 

$1,430. 

 

New owners must file with the county assessor by February 15 preceding the fiscal year 

for which the exemption is sought.  If an eligible homeowner fails to file by February 15, 

he or she will receive 80% of the exemption, if a filing is made by December 10.  (See 

Chapter 6D for more information on the homeowners' exemption.) 

 

Property Tax Reappraisal Relief.  Proposition 13 requires that property be reassessed at 

fair market value when there is a change of ownership or when it is newly constructed.  

Three significant exemptions from the change in ownership reassessment rule are: 
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 Intra-family Transfers.  Under Proposition 58 of 1986, transfers of property 

between spouses are not considered changes in ownership (this codified 

implementing law previously enacted by the Legislature).  In addition, 

Proposition 58 provided that transfers of principal residences plus transfers of 

up to $1 million of other property between parents and children are not subject 

to change in ownership reassessment. 

 

Proposition 193 of 1996 provided that transfers between grandparents and 

grandchildren are not subject to reassessment if the parents of those 

grandchildren are deceased as of the day of the transfer. 

 

 Replacement Residences of Senior Citizens.  Under Proposition 60 of 1986 

and Proposition 90 of 1988, senior citizens may transfer the adjusted base year 

value of the principal residence to a replacement principal residence, if the 

replacement is of equal or lesser value and located in the same county.  The 

same relief is available for moves between counties if the county where the 

replacement home is located has adopted an ordinance permitting the  

valuation transfer.  (See Chapter 6A) 

 

 Replacement Residences of Severely and Permanently Disabled Persons.  

Under Proposition 110 of 1990, severely and permanently disabled persons, as  

defined, may transfer the adjusted base year value of the principal residence to  

a replacement principal residence.  To qualify, the person must obtain a 

doctor's certificate as to the disability and must certify that the cause of the 

move is the disability itself or its financial consequences.  The replacement  

residence must meet the same value tests established under Propositions 60 

and 90. 

 

Several exemptions from reappraisal due to new construction are also available.  Among 

these exemptions are construction to improve seismic safety in an existing building, 

construction to modify an existing residence or other structure to improve accessibility 

for the disabled, and construction on a residence severely damaged in certain types of 

disasters.  Property acquired or reconstructed as a replacement for property destroyed as a 

result of environmental contamination cleanup activities may also be excluded from fair 

market value reassessment. 

 

4. CODES 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 63, 63.1, 69.5, 70, 218, and Section 17152 
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CHAPTER 6D 

 

HOMEOWNERS' EXEMPTION 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Type of Relief  Property Tax 

 

 Eligibility   Anyone who, as of the January 1 lien date, owns  

and occupies a dwelling used as a principal  

residence. 

 

 When to Claim  Purchasers of residences are mailed a claim form  

that must be filed by February 15.  A claim need  

only be filed once. 

 

 For the supplemental assessment roll, the exemption  

must be claimed within 30 days following the date  

of notice of supplemental assessment. 

 

 Participants   5.4 million in 2011-12 

 

 Cost    2011-12 (Actual) $434 million 

     2012-13 (Estimate) $430 million 

                                                            2013-14 (Estimate)     $435 million 

 

 Source:  Governor's Budget Summary of 2013-14 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. DESCRIPTION OF EXEMPTION 

 

The California Constitution [Article XIII, Section 3(k)] exempts the first $7,000 of the 

full value of a dwelling occupied as the owner's principal residence on the January 1 lien 

date from property taxation.  For instance, if a principal dwelling has an adjusted base 

year value of $150,000, it will be assessed at $143,000 after deduction of the 

homeowners' exemption.  The Legislature must reimburse local governments for property 

tax revenue lost due to this exemption pursuant to Article XIII, Section 25 of the 

California Constitution. 

 

2. ELIGIBILITY 

 

To be eligible for the homeowners' exemption, a person must occupy, as a principal place 

of residence, a dwelling that he or she owns.  This includes mobilehomes assessed for 

property tax purposes.  Owners of condominiums, cooperatives, and multiple residence 
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dwellings are eligible for the exemption on the assessed value attributable to the portion 

they occupy. 

 

The exemption does not extend to property that is rented, vacant, or under construction 

on January 1, nor does it apply to vacation or secondary homes of the owner, or to a 

dwelling on which an owner receives the veterans' or disabled veterans' exemption. 

 

The exemption relates to a specific parcel of real property owned by a qualified 

individual.  When a property with a homeowners' exemption in effect is sold, the 

property retains the exemption so the benefit of the homeowners' exemption transfers to 

the purchaser for a limited time. 

 

If the previous owner claimed the homeowners' exemption on the property, the property 

sold retains its exemption for the remainder of the fiscal year and that exemption will be 

automatically applied to the tax bill.  However, the new owner must apply for the 

homeowners' exemption for the subsequent fiscal year. 

 

If the previous owner failed to file or did not qualify for the exemption, the new owner 

may apply for the exemption on the supplemental roll after the change of ownership.  

(See Chapter 4 of this Reference Book for more information on the supplemental roll).  In 

addition to filing the application on a timely basis, the owner must meet the requirement 

for the exemption no later than 90 days after the date of the change of ownership. 

 

3. APPLICATION PROCEDURE 

 

Eligible homeowners filing for the exemption for the first time must file with the county 

assessor by February 15 preceding the fiscal year for which the exemption is sought.  If 

an eligible homeowner fails to file by February 15, he or she will receive 80% of the 

exemption, if a filing is made by December 10.  If the owner misses the December 10 

filing date, no exemption is allowed for that year.  

 

Once an eligible homeowner files for the exemption, that owner will be automatically 

granted the exemption for that property in future years.  The homeowner is responsible 

for notifying the assessor only when he or she is no longer eligible.  Penalties are 

assessed for failure to do so. 

 

For assessments on the supplemental roll, the eligible homeowner must file for the 

exemption with the county assessor on or before the 30th day following the date of notice 

of the supplemental assessment and must meet the exemption requirements no later than 

90 days after the date of the change of ownership or date of completion of new 

construction.  If an eligible homeowner fails to file on a timely basis, he or she will 

receive 80% of the total exemption if filing is made on or before the date on which the 

first installment of supplemental taxes becomes delinquent. 

 

 

 



  CHAPTER 6D 

  HOMEOWNERS' EXEMPTION 

 193 

4. LIMITATIONS ON EXEMPTION INCREASES 

 

The Constitution allows the Legislature to increase the size of the homeowners' 

exemption, but if it does so, two other actions are required: 

 

 The Legislature must increase the rate of state taxes in an amount sufficient to 

pay for the increased cost of state subventions to local governments; and 

 

 The Legislature must provide a comparable increase in benefits to qualified 

renters. 

 

5. COST 

 

The state cost of the homeowners' exemption was $434 million in fiscal year (FY) 2011-

12, and is estimated to be $430 million in FY 2012-13, and $435 million in FY 2013-14.  

These amounts are subvened to local governments to compensate for the loss in property 

tax revenue. 

 

Over 5 million homeowners receive this exemption. 

 

6. CODE 

 

California Constitution, Article XIII, Section 3(k) 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Section 218 

 

Government Code Sections 16120-16123 
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CHAPTER 6E 

 

RENTER'S CREDIT 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Type of Relief  The renter's credit is a nonrefundable personal  

income tax credit intended to provide partial relief  

from the property tax. 

 

 Eligibility   Any person who rented and occupied a California  

premises as a principal residence for at least 50% of  

the taxable year. 

 

 Amount of Credit  $60 (single and married/registered domestic partner 

(RDP) filing separately), $120 [married/RDP filing  

jointly, head of household, and qualifying 

widow(er)].* 

 

 Cost to the General  2010-11   $150 million 

Fund **   2011-12   $140 million 

2012-13   $140 million 

 

*The credit is phased out above specified adjusted gross incomes 

         **Costs to the General Fund are initially estimated and revised as data becomes 

available 

Source:  Franchise Tax Board 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. DESCRIPTION OF CREDIT 

 

Under California law, qualified renters are allowed a nonrefundable personal income tax 

credit.  The credit is a flat amount and is unrelated to the amount of rent paid.  In 2012, a 

$120 credit is available to married/RDP taxpayers filing jointly, head of household filers, 

and qualifying widow(er) filers with adjusted gross incomes of $72,674 or less.  A $60 

credit is available to single/RDP taxpayers and married taxpayers filing separately with 

adjusted gross incomes of $36,337 or less.  These phase-out amounts are indexed 

annually for inflation.  The rate of inflation in California, for the period from July 1, 2011 

through June 30, 2012, was 1.9%.  The 2012 phase-out amounts are indexed by this 

amount. 

 

2. ELIGIBILITY  

 

o A "qualified renter" is an individual who: 

 

o Is a California resident; and 
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 Rented and occupied California premises constituting his or her principal 

place of residence for at least 50% of the taxable year.  Persons residing in 

mobilehomes qualify if the land on which their mobilehome sits is rented. 

 

Any otherwise qualified renter who is a nonresident for a portion of the taxable year is 

allowed 1/12 of the renter's credit for each full month that the individual resides in the 

state during the taxable year. 

 

A "qualified renter" does not include individuals:  

 

 Who for more than 50% of the taxable year rented and occupied premises that 

were exempt from property taxes; 

 

 Whose principal place of residence for more than 50% of the taxable year was 

with any other person who claimed that individual as a dependent for income 

tax purposes; or 

 

 Who has been allowed or whose spouse has been allowed the homeowners' 

property tax exemption during the taxable year. 

 

The Revenue and Taxation Code defines a resident as: 

 

 Every individual who is in this state for other than a temporary or transitory 

purpose; and 

 

 Every individual domiciled in this state who is outside the state for a 

temporary or transitory purpose. 

 

3. APPLICATION PROCEDURE 

 

All California personal income tax booklets include a Nonrefundable Renter's Credit 

Qualification record.  By answering the questions on the qualification record, taxpayers 

can determine if they qualify to claim the nonrefundable renter's credit.  

 

A separate application is not required.  Those who qualify may claim the credit on their 

tax returns.   

 

4. COST TO GENERAL FUND 

 

The state cost of the renters' credit was $140 million in fiscal year (FY) 2011-12, and is 

estimated to be $140 million in FY 2012-13. 

 

5. CODE 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Section 17053.5 
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CHAPTER 6F 

 

OPEN SPACE AND AGRICULTURAL LAND CONTRACTS 

(WILLIAMSON ACT) 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Type of Relief  Partial relief from the property tax. 

 

 Eligibility   Must own agricultural, open space, or recreational  

land. 

 

 When to Claim  Contracts may be signed with local governments  

any time, depending on county or city rules. 

 

 Number of Acres 

Under Contract Approximately 16 million 

 

 Cost to State  2010-11   $1,000.00 

2011-12   $1,000.00 

2012-13  $       0.00 

 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. DESCRIPTION OF PROGRAM 

 

The California Land Conservation Act of 1965 (the Williamson Act), enables cities and 

counties to enter into contracts with landowners to restrict land for agricultural use.  

Participating landowners receive a tax reduction, because the land is valued according to 

the income it generates from agriculture (use value) rather than fair market value.  State 

subvention payments are made to local governmental agencies as partial reimbursement 

for the tax revenue lost due to the preferential assessment of land under contract.   

 

Beginning in 1999, SB 1182 (Costa), Chapter 353, Statutes of 1998, established the 

Farmland Security Zone (FSZ) provisions of the Williamson Act.  These FSZs are 

intended to strengthen the Williamson Act by expanding the options available to 

landowners and local governments, including providing landowners with a guaranteed 

reduction in property taxes.  In return for the increased reduction in property taxes for 

local landowners, FSZ contracts are twice as long and contract cancellation is more 

difficult and twice as expensive.   These FSZ contracts give landowners a greater 

property tax reduction but restrict the land for agricultural purposes for a longer period of 

time.  Land subject to a FSZ contract is valued at 65 percent of the value assigned under 

the Williamson Act.  The FSZ contracts were further defined by SB 649 (Costa), Chapter  
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1019, Statutes of 1999.  (See Chapter 4 of this Reference Book for more information on 

standard property tax valuation procedures.) 

 

The purpose of the Williamson Act is to preserve the limited supply of agricultural land, 

especially prime agricultural land, and to discourage the premature and unnecessary  

conversion of agricultural land to urban usage.  In addition to agricultural land, allowable 

compatible uses under the Williamson Act include scenic highway corridors, wildlife 

habitat, salt ponds, managed wetlands, submerged areas, recreational lands and lands 

enrolled in either the United States Department of Agriculture conservation reserve 

program or conservation reserve enhancement program.   

 

2. ELIGIBILITY 

 

Any city or county with a general plan may elect to establish agricultural preserves.  An 

agricultural preserve must be at least 100 acres, unless a city or county determines that a 

smaller preserve is justified by the unique characteristics of the agricultural enterprises in 

the area, and if the size is consistent with the general plan. 

 

A city or county may impose restrictions, terms and conditions, including payments and 

fees, in addition to those allowed under the Williamson Act.  They may also establish the 

compatible uses allowed in preserves relative to agricultural uses or production. 

 

3. METHOD OF ASSESSMENT 

 

Both Williamson Act and FSZ property is subject to the assessment by one of three 

methods: 

 

 Capitalization of Income.  Contracted property is assessed on the basis of 

current capitalized income, which reflects its income producing or "use" 

value. 

 

 Unrestricted Value.  The property is valued at its unrestricted, factored, base 

year value.  This is the method used for most all other property pursuant to 

Proposition 13 (Article XIIIA of the California Constitution). 

 

 Current Market Value.  Market value assessment is based on the current, 

comparable sales approach. 

 

The lesser of the capitalization of income, factored base year value, or current market 

valuation is used to determine the amount of property taxes owed on land enrolled in 

Williamson Act contracts. 

 

An alternate method of assessment (Revenue and Taxation Code Section 423.3), which is 

voluntary on the part of cities and counties, enables an assessed value of lands to be  
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lower than either their acquisition value or current market value.  Currently, only San 

Joaquin, Ventura, Imperial, and Sonoma counties use this method. 

 

The assessment approach used in a given year will vary depending on whether farm 

income is high or low in comparison with property valuation factors.  The state, through a 

subvention program, partially reimburses local governments for the tax revenue loss 

resulting from participating in the Williamson Act program and for the costs to 

administer the local program.  The subvention is based on the type of land under contract 

(prime or nonprime), rather than on the actual tax revenue loss.  Subvention payments are 

$5.00 per acre for prime land and $1.00 per acre for nonprime land.  However, 

subvention payments of $8.00 per acre are paid for FSZ land that is located within an 

incorporated city or within three miles of the sphere of influence of that city.  In fiscal 

year (FY) 2010-11, AB 1389 reduced subvention payments by 10 percent.  In FY 2011-

12, subventions were reduced to $1,000 in the budget.  In FY 2012-13, subventions were 

reduced to zero. 

 

4. THE CONTRACTS 

 

Each Williamson Act contract runs for a minimum of 10 years (Sacramento, Mariposa, 

and Monterey counties have allowed 20-year contracts) and is automatically renewed 

each year, unless either the landowner or local government files for nonrenewal.  FSZ 

contracts have an initial 20-year term and automatically renew each year.  If a contract is 

not renewed, contractual restrictions remain for 9 more years for Williamson Act 

contracts and 19 more years for FSZ contracts.  During that period, taxes on the property 

gradually return to the level of taxes on unrestricted property according to a schedule 

specified in statute.   

 

A landowner who wishes more immediate cancellation of an existing contract may 

petition the local government to cancel the contract but must pay a fee equal to 12.5 

percent of the fair market value of the property for Williamson Act property or 25 percent 

of the fair market value of the property for FSZ property.  Cancellation may only be 

granted after a board of supervisors or city council has made specified findings.  The 

Department of Conservation's approval is also requested for cancellation of an FSZ 

contract.  Recent court cases have emphasized that nonrenewal is the preferred method of 

terminating a Williamson Act contract. 

 

As a result of eliminating subvention funds from the budget, AB 1265 (Nielson), Chapter 

90, Statutes of 2011, authorized local jurisdictions until January 1, 2016, to revise the 

terms of Williamson Act contracts and allowed for a reassessment of the property in any 

fiscal year if, in the previous fiscal year, the local jurisdiction received less than one-half 

of the foregone property tax revenues in subventions from the state.  This change in law 

allows counties to recapture 10 percent of the property tax benefits provided to the 

owners by shortening the term of the contract by one year for Williamson Act contracts 

and two years for FSZ contracts, thereby triggering a statutorily authorized recapture of 

10 percent of the participating landowners' property tax savings. 
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5. CONTRACT APPLICATION PROCEDURE 

 

Application to place land under contract must be submitted by landowners to the city or 

county planning department. 

 

6. CODE 

 

California Constitution, Article 13, Section 8 

 

California Administrative Code Title 14, Chapter 2 

 

Government Code Sections 16140-16154, and Sections 51200-51297.4 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 421-430.5 
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CHAPTER 6G 

 

MOBILEHOME TAXATION 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Mobilehomes Taxes Sales or use tax when sold. 

 Property Tax or Vehicle License Fee (VLF),  

 depending on date of mobilehome purchase. 

 

 Tax Exemptions  Partial sales or use tax exemption for some  

mobilehomes. 

 

 Administration  Sales and Use Tax:  Board of Equalization (BOE) 

 

     Property Tax:  County Assessor 

 

Vehicle License Fee:  Department of Housing and 

Community Development (HCD) 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

1. OVERVIEW OF MOBILEHOME TAXATION 

 

The taxation of mobilehomes is somewhat complex.  Since the late 1970s, the law has 

been modified many times to reflect the changing role of mobilehomes in our society 

from primarily vehicles to primarily stationary housing.  Mobilehomes are generally 

subject to two major kinds of taxes:  (a) sales or use taxes at the time of sale or resale, 

and (b) either the property tax or the VLF annually.  When applied to mobilehomes, the 

VLF is commonly called the "in-lieu tax (ILT)", as it is seen as a tax in lieu of the 

property tax.  The specifics of these taxes are summarized below. 

 

2. SALES TAXES ON MOBILEHOMES 

 

The following guidelines are used when applying the sales tax to mobilehomes. 

 

For New Mobilehomes:  

 

 A new mobilehome sold after July 1, 1980, to a customer for occupancy as a 

residence is subject to use tax on 75% of the dealer's cost, regardless of 

whether or not the mobilehome is installed on a permanent foundation.  This 

represents a partial exemption, since the sales tax is normally applied to 100% 

of the retail price of an item. 

 

 A new mobilehome sold for any nonresidential use is subject to sales tax on 

100% of the sales price of the mobilehome. 
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For Used Mobilehomes: 

 

 A used mobilehome that is subject to the local property tax (see below) is 

exempt from the sales tax. 

 

 A used mobilehome that is subject to VLF (see below) is subject to sales tax 

based on its current value, as determined by a recognized value guide, if the 

sale is: 

 

a)  Through a person licensed as a dealer and not on the dealer's own account; 

 

b)  Through a licensed real estate broker; or 

 

c)  A private party transaction. 

 

However, if the value guide does not include the age, model, and 

manufacturer of the particular mobilehome, or if the actual sales price is less 

than the value specified in the value guide, the sales tax is based on the actual 

sales price of the mobilehome. 

 

 A used mobilehome subject to VLF is subject to sales tax based on the sales 

price of the mobilehome if it is sold by a dealer acting on his or her own 

account and not as a broker.   

 

The sales price includes charges for awnings, skirting, and other property sold 

with the used mobilehome that is not directly affixed to real property.  

Separately stated charges for existing real property improvements (such as 

concrete, landscaping, or in-place location value) are not subject to the sales 

tax. 

 

3. DETERMINING WHETHER A MOBILEHOME IS SUBJECT TO THE 

PROPERTY TAX OR VEHICLE LICENSE FEE 

 

 New mobilehomes installed on a permanent foundation system are considered 

a fixture improvement to the underlying real property and are taxed in the 

same manner as conventional housing (See Chapter 4 of this Reference Book 

for a description of the Local Property Tax.) 

 

 New mobilehomes sold prior to July 1, 1980 and installed on a nonpermanent 

foundation system are subject to VLF.  (See Chapter 3F of this Reference 

Book for a description of the VLF.) 

 

 New mobilehomes sold on or after July 1, 1980 and installed on a 

nonpermanent foundation system are classified as personal property, but 

special provisions in the law essentially treat mobilehomes the same as real 



  CHAPTER 6G 

  MOBILEHOME TAXATION 

 203 

property. 

 

 Used mobilehomes that are sold are taxed under the tax system that applied to 

the home before the sale. 

 

 Owners of pre-July 1, 1980, mobilehomes subject to VLF continue to be taxed 

that way, unless the owner chooses to transfer the mobilehome to the property 

tax roll. 

 

 Owners of pre-July 1, 1980, mobilehomes subject to VLF that are located in a 

mobilehome park converted or proposed to be converted to a resident-owned 

subdivision, cooperative, condominium, or nonprofit corporation may choose 

to transfer the mobilehome to the property tax roll. 

 

 Mobilehomes subject to VLF on which the registration lapsed for 120 days or 

more between July 1, 1980, and October 1, 1984, and on which reinstatement 

to the VLF system was not applied for by December 31, 1986, were 

automatically placed on the property tax rolls, with delinquent taxes and fees 

included in the property tax bill. 

 

 Mobilehome accessories (e.g., skirting, awnings, etc.) are also subject either to 

the property tax or the vehicle license fee. 

 

 Accessories purchased as part of the mobilehome package prior to 1977 are 

subject to VLF.  Generally, accessories purchased after July 1, 1980, are 

subject to the property tax when they are affixed to a mobilehome placed on a 

permanent foundation or affixed directly to real property.  Accessories 

purchased between 1970 and 1980 are subject to one or the other of those two 

taxes, but not both. 

 

4. HOW THE PROPERTY TAX APPLIES TO MOBILEHOMES 

 

Mobilehomes subject to property tax are entered on the secured roll by the county 

assessor and are eligible for the homeowners' exemption.  Where the resident owns both 

the mobilehome and the underlying land, a single property tax bill for land and 

improvements is issued.  The mobilehome owner is also eligible for property tax relief 

available to other homeowners, such as Property Tax Assistance or Property Tax 

Postponement.  (See Chapter 4 of this Reference Book for a description of the secured 

roll, Chapter 6D for a discussion of the Homeowners' Exemption, and Chapter 6B for a 

description of the Senior Citizens Property Tax Postponement Program.) 

 

Often, an occupant of a mobilehome will own the mobilehome but lease or rent the  

underlying land.  In that case, the land is separately assessed to the mobilehome park 

owner.  The homeowner may claim the homeowners' exemption in this situation. 
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The general rules established by Proposition 13 regarding property tax rates and valuation 

apply to mobilehomes subject to property tax (see Chapter 4).  If the fair market value of 

the mobilehome declines below the adjusted base year value, the assessor will reassess 

the mobilehome downward under the decline in value provisions, as described in Chapter 

4.  Special rules also apply to disaster damage to mobilehomes. 

 

5. HISTORY OF MOBILEHOME TAXATION 

 

Prior to 1979, it was illegal to place a mobilehome on a permanent foundation, and 

mobilehomes were treated as vehicles for tax purposes.  Thus, mobilehome owners paid 

an annual vehicle license fee set at 2% of market value that was depreciated each year 

according to a statutory schedule.  Most of the VLF revenue at that time was allocated to 

cities, counties and schools by formula on the basis of population.  Mobilehome owners 

renting space in mobilehome parks were eligible for the Renters' Credit and Senior 

Citizens Renter Assistance, but were not eligible for the homeowners' exemption or the 

Senior Citizens Property Tax Assistance and Postponement Programs. 

 

After major mobilehome taxation legislation passed in 1979 and 1980, most existing 

mobilehomes continued to be taxed basically as they had been.  These homes remained 

subject to VLF, which has provided them with considerable reductions in their tax 

liabilities as the state has enacted several VLF rate reductions.  

 

However, mobilehomes purchased new after July 1980 and occupied as residences are 

now treated very much like conventional homes with respect to property tax liability.  

Over time, most mobilehomes occupied as residences will be subject to local property 

taxation rather than VLF. 

 

6. COMPARISON OF TAXATION OF CONVENTIONAL HOUSING AND  

MOBILEHOMES 

 

The purchaser of a conventional home does not pay sales tax on the purchase price of the 

home.  Instead, the sales tax has been imposed during the construction of the home 

through building materials sold to the builder.  The purchaser of a new mobilehome pays 

the sales tax on a portion of the retail price of the home, since the tax is based on 75% of 

the dealer's price (presumably less than the retail price).  The purchaser of a used 

mobilehome subject to the property tax does not pay sales tax on the purchase.  

 

For factory-built housing, only 40% of the cost to the buyer is subject to sales tax, which 

is intended to represent the portion attributable to materials. 

 

Owners of both conventional homes and mobilehomes are eligible for various types of 

tax relief, including income tax deductions of home mortgage interest, the homeowner's 

property tax exemption, property tax assistance and postponement, etc. 

 

Transfers of mobilehomes installed on non-permanent foundation systems are processed 

by the HCD and are not subject to any local government-imposed documentary transfer 
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taxes.  Transfers of mobilehomes installed on permanent foundations, which are 

considered to be an improvement to the real property to which they are attached, are 

handled at the local government level through the county recorder's offices.  There may 

be fees assessed by local governments on these transfers. 

 

7. ADMINISTRATION  

 

The BOE administers the sales and use tax on mobilehomes, the local county assessor 

administers property taxation of mobilehomes, and HCD administers the VLF.  Although 

most VLF on mobilehomes is collected by HCD, the Department of Motor Vehicles 

(DMV) still registers and collects VLF on occasional mobilehomes.  Generally speaking, 

HCD is authorized to collect delinquent VLF, while local county assessors are authorized 

to collect delinquent property taxes.  In a very small number of instances (i.e., VLF 

collected by DMV on occasional mobilehomes), Franchise Tax Board is authorized to 

collect delinquencies. 

 

8. CODE  

 

Health and Safety Code Sections 18000-18700 

 

Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 5800 et. seq., 6012.2, 6012.7, 6012.8, 6012.9, 

6276.1, 6379, and 10701 et seq. 

 

For property tax purposes, both mobilehomes and conventional homes are subject to the 

same Proposition 13 valuation rules, as described above and in Chapter 4 of this 

Reference Book. 
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CHAPTER 7 

 

OVERVIEW OF CALIFORNIA TAX ADMINISTRATION 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 

 

 Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 

 

 Board of Equalization (BOE) 

 

 Employment Development Department (EDD) 

 

 Local Property Taxes 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

California's tax system is administered by a number of different state agencies, as well as 

by county assessors (Table 12).  These agencies are charged with implementing tax law, 

enforcing tax statutes, collecting tax liabilities, and remitting moneys collected to the 

state's General and special funds and local jurisdictions.  Two agencies share 

responsibility for the "big three" state taxes - personal income, corporation, and sales and 

use taxes.  The FTB administers the personal income and corporation taxes.  The BOE 

administers the sales and use tax.  The BOE also serves as an appeals panel for taxpayer 

disputes with the FTB. 

 

This chapter outlines the responsibilities of the various administrative agencies.  For 

additional information or answers to specific questions, please refer to sections of this 

Reference Book dealing with specific taxes or contact the administering agency. 

 

1. FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

 

The FTB administers the Personal Income and Corporation Tax Laws.  Together these 

taxes raised almost 72% of the state's General Fund revenues during the fiscal year 2012-

13.  The FTB is charged with developing and maintaining compliance, reporting, and 

payment systems for these two taxes.  In addition, the FTB performs Political Reform Act 

audits, operates the Interagency Intercept Collection Program
1
 and collects nontax debt 

that includes delinquent Vehicle License Fees and court-imposed payments.   

 

A three-member board consisting of the State Controller, the Chair of the BOE, and the 

Director of the Department of Finance governs the FTB. 

 

 

                                                 
1
 The Interagency Intercept Collections (IIC) Program intercepts (offsets) refunds when individuals have 

delinquent debts owed to government agencies and California colleges.  The FTB administers the IIC 

Program on behalf of the State Controller's Office. 
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Personal Income Tax.  California taxes residents on their income from all sources while 

nonresidents are taxed on income derived from California sources.  Returns are due from 

individual taxpayers on April 15th for the preceding year for most individuals.   

 

Personal income taxes are withheld from taxpayers' wage and salary income throughout 

the year.  Quarterly estimated tax payments are required on income that is not subject to 

withholding.  The tax liability that exceeds the tax withheld is due together with the tax 

return on April 15.  Amounts withheld in excess of taxes due can be claimed as a refund, 

contributed to a designated fund, or applied to the next year's tax liability on the 

taxpayer's return. 

 

Corporation Tax.  Corporation tax is imposed on corporations and businesses within the 

state as well as businesses that receive income from sources in this state.  Generally, 

corporation tax returns are due on the 15th day of the third month following the close of 

the taxable year.  Corporations are required to pay estimated taxes in quarterly 

increments. 

 

Appeals Process.  After examining a taxpayer's return or conducting an audit, the FTB 

may issue a Notice of Proposed Assessment (NPA) indicating that additional taxes are 

owed (i.e., that a deficiency exists) for taxes administered by the FTB.  Taxpayers, 

whether personal income or corporation tax filers
2
, that dispute a deficiency assessment 

proposed by the FTB can protest and appeal using the following procedures: 

 

 Within 60 days after the NPA (deficiency) is issued, a taxpayer must file a 

written notice of protest with the FTB.  The taxpayer is not required to pay 

any amount under dispute at this time.  However, if the proposed deficiency 

assessment is eventually determined to be owed, interest will accrue from the 

initial due date. 

 

 The FTB reviews the protest, reviews documentation or holds a hearing as 

required, and notifies the taxpayer of the disposition with a Notice of Action 

(NOA). 

 

 Taxpayers that dispute an NOA may appeal to the BOE in writing within 30 

days of the date on the NOA.  The BOE will then consider the appeal and, 

where appropriate, hold a hearing on the appeal.  It is not necessary for the 

taxpayer to pay the tax prior to filing an appeal with the BOE.  The BOE will 

affirm, reduce, or eliminate the deficiency assessment. 

 

 Taxpayers that disagree with the BOE's final determination may file suit in 

Superior Court.  However, in all cases other than those involving a  

 

                                                 
2
 Some businesses may adhere to personal income tax law including partnerships, limited liability 

corporations, and S-corporations. 
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determination of residency, the taxpayer must pay the amount in dispute and 

file a claim for refund with the FTB before filing the suit. 

 

The FTB or the BOE may abate interest relating to a deficiency assessment to the extent 

the interest is attributable to an unreasonable error or delay by the FTB in performing a 

ministerial or managerial act.  If the BOE determines that the FTB's action was 

unreasonable, the taxpayer also may be eligible for reimbursement of reasonable fees and 

expenses incurred in pursuing the appeal. 

 

When the BOE's determination on the NOA is final and if the amount due remains 

unpaid, the FTB may pursue collection activities.  The collection activities may include 

filing a public tax lien, levying on wages and/or bank accounts, and seizing and selling 

property.  Applicable interest rates on amounts due and on the imposition of penalties are 

specified in statute.  

 

Income Tax Settlement Authority.  The FTB also has authority to settle civil tax 

matters in dispute without using the normal appeals process.  Settlement authority applies 

to both personal income and corporation tax disputes.  The FTB settlement authority is 

patterned on federal settlement authority and is intended to provide an alternative to the 

cost and risks inherent in litigation. 

 

As of January 1, 2013, in situations where the proposed reduction of tax and/or penalties 

exceeds $9,800, any recommended settlement must be reviewed by the Attorney General 

for reasonableness from an overall perspective.  The recommended settlement is then 

presented to the FTB (Board) in closed session.  The Board must approve or disapprove 

the settlement recommendation within 45 days or it will be deemed approved.  

Disapproval must be by majority vote of the Board.  Cases that involve reductions of tax 

and/or penalties of $9,800 or less are reviewed and approved by the Executive Officer 

and Chief Counsel, jointly. 

  

All settlements involving reductions of taxes or penalties in excess of $500 become 

matters of public record.  

 

2. BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

 

The BOE administers the Sales and Use Tax Law, a number of business taxes and 

environmental fees, property taxation of public utilities, and has oversight responsibility 

for local property tax administration.  The Board itself consists of four elected members 

and the State Controller.  The Board also adopts regulations necessary to implement the 

taxes and fees it oversees. 

 

Sales and Use Tax.  The BOE collects sales and use taxes from retailers and distributes 

revenues due to the state and to local jurisdictions.  The BOE also administers 

transactions and use taxes for local jurisdictions on a contract basis, retaining a small 

portion of the revenues as an administrative fee. 



  CHAPTER 7 

  OVERVIEW OF  

  CALIFORNIA'S TAX  

  ADMINISTRATION 

 210 

 

The BOE routinely audits taxpayers to determine whether sales and use taxes are 

accurately reported.  If the BOE determines that there is a deficiency, it must provide the 

taxpayer with written notice of the determination.  The taxpayer may file for  

redetermination within 30 days.  After a petition for redetermination is made, a hearing 

before the BOE is held. 

 

State-Assessed Property.  The BOE assesses property owned by public utilities 

operating in multiple counties.  The BOE assigns a value to the property in each county  

and allocates that value to individual county assessors, who are responsible for levying 

and collecting any property taxes due.  Disputes over values assigned to state-assessed 

properties may be taken to the Board members for a formal hearing. 

 

Other Taxes.  The BOE is also responsible for administering and collecting a number of 

other taxes and fees, which are collectively known as BOE's "Special Taxes and Fees."  

These taxes and fees include the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax, Diesel Fuel Tax, Use Fuel Tax, 

Alcoholic Beverage Tax; Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax; Energy Resources and 

Emergency Telephone Users Surcharges, Hazardous Waste Taxes and Integrated Waste 

Management Fees, Tire Recycling Fees, Lead Poisoning Prevention Fees, Oil Spill Fees, 

the Timber Yield Tax, and the Private Railroad Car Tax.  Payers of these taxes and fees 

are subject to the same appeals process outlined for the sales and use taxes. 

 

Settlement Authority.  The BOE has been granted settlement authority to help resolve 

disputes involving sales and use taxes and the various special taxes noted above.  The 

BOE's settlement authority is similar to that described above for FTB.  However, for 

settlements in which the reduction of tax or fee exceeds $500, the law requires that a 

public record statement, available for public review, be placed in the Office of the 

Board's Executive Director. 

 

3. EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT 

 

The EDD administers the Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training (ET) 

Tax, and State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax programs.  In addition, the EDD is 

responsible for ensuring that personal income taxes are withheld from the wage and 

salary income of workers. 

 

Unemployment Insurance.  The UI taxes are levied on the first $7,000 of wages of 

covered employees each year.  The tax is paid by the employer and collected by the EDD.  

If the EDD assesses a deficiency against an employer, the taxpayer has 30 days to 

petition for reassessment.  This petition is reviewable by an Administrative Law Judge 

and may be appealed to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board. 

 

Employment Training Tax.  Regardless of their UI tax rate, all employers are assessed 

an additional 0.1% as an employment training tax, except for those employers with a 

negative reserve account balance. 
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State Disability Insurance.  State Disability Insurance (SDI) is paid by employees and 

covers approximately 13 million California workers.  Employees who work for multiple 

employers and earn income in excess of the wage base may file for a refund of excess 

contributions on the taxpayer's personal income tax return. 

 

Paid Family Leave.  Paid Family Leave (PFL) insurance is a component of the SDI 

program and is included in the SDI rate.  The PFL extends disability compensation to 

cover individuals who take time off from work to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, 

parent, domestic partner, to bond with a new child, or a child in connection with adoption 

or foster care placement.  Employers are required to withhold the PFL contributions from 

the wages of employees who are covered by the SDI program.   

 

Personal Income Tax Withholding.  The EDD's Tax Branch administers the reporting, 

collection, and enforcement of Personal Income Tax withholding.  The "withholding" 

represents the money that employers are required to hold back from employees' wages.  

Amounts withheld are based on each employee's Form W-4 or DE-4, that are on file with 

each employer and that contain information regarding the tax status of the employee. 

 

Settlement Authority.  The EDD has the authority to settle certain civil employment tax 

disputes.  The Settlement Program provides employers and the EDD an opportunity to 

avoid the cost of prolonged litigation associated with resolving disputed payroll tax issues 

(i.e., protests, appeals, or refund claims).  When reviewing a settlement offer, the EDD 

considers the risks and costs to the State associated with litigating the issues, balanced 

against the benefit of reaching a settlement agreement.  Final tax liabilities, cases still in 

process, cases involving fraud or criminal violations, and issues solely involving fairness 

or financial hardship are generally not eligible.  Depending on the reduction of tax and 

penalties, settlement agreements are subject to approval by an Administrative Law Judge, 

the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board, and the Attorney General before 

they can be finalized. 

 

4. INSURANCE GROSS PREMIUMS TAX 

 

Three agencies share responsibility for administering the Insurance Gross Premiums Tax 

- the Department of Insurance, the BOE, and the State Controller.  The Department of 

Insurance issues permits for each class of insurance, processes returns, and audits 

taxpayers.  The BOE issues assessments, processes petitions, and hears appeals.  The 

State Controller makes refunds and collects delinquencies and penalties.   

 

5. LOCAL PROPERTY TAXES 

 

Property taxes are assessed and collected at the local level for all property except that 

held by public utilities.  Property held by public utilities is assessed by the BOE. 
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Property is assessed annually as of 12:01 A.M. each January 1.  On this date, any taxes 

due become a lien on the property.  Property owners can appeal the value of their 

property by filing an application for change in assessment with the Board of Supervisors  

or assessment appeals board between July 2 and September 15 each year (in some 

counties until November 30) for properties on the regular roll.  Supplemental and escape 

assessments must be appealed within 60 days of the date the notice of change in 

assessment is mailed. 

 

The Board of Supervisors of each county serves as a BOE for locally-assessed property to 

assure comparable valuation of property.  Assessment appeals go before the Board or the 

assessment appeals board, if one exists in that county.  Decisions of the county may only  

be appealed to court in certain limited circumstances: arbitrariness, lack of due process, 

abuse of discretion, failure to follow standards established by law, or for other specified 

reasons.  Legal actions must be filed in Superior Court within six months after a claim for 

refund is denied by the county board. 

 

The BOE oversees local assessment practices and develops standards for local 

assessment.  In addition, the BOE periodically evaluates the performance of individual 

county assessors. 

 

6. MOTOR VEHICLE TAXES 

 

The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) administers the vehicle license, registration, 

and weight fees.  The FTB is responsible for collecting delinquent vehicle license and 

registration fees.  These fees are paid annually at the time of vehicle registration.  The  

trailer coach (mobilehome) fee is administered by the Department of Housing and 

Community Development and is also paid annually.  The Motor Carrier tax is levied by  

the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) and is paid quarterly.  Motor Carrier tax appeals 

are filed with and heard before the PUC. 

 

7. STATE CONTROLLER 

 

The State Controller administers and collects the Estate Tax.  This tax is levied as a 

portion of the federal tax.  The tax is due on the date of death and becomes delinquent 

after nine months. 

 

8. TAXPAYERS' BILL OF RIGHTS 

 

In 1988, the California Taxpayers' Bill of Rights was enacted to set certain standards for 

tax administering agencies and provide taxpayers with protection against unreasonable 

action.  Specific provisions of the Bill of Rights include: 

 

 Establishment of Taxpayers' Rights Advocates in the FTB and the BOE; 
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 Requiring state agencies to respect the confidentiality of taxpayer information; 

 

 Setting standards for hearing and appeals procedures; 

 

 Defining conditions under which taxpayers can receive reimbursement for 

fees and expenses incurred while pursuing an appeal; and, 

 

 Restricting the types of property and the conditions under which property may 

be sold to satisfy a tax levy. 

 

In 1997, the California Taxpayers' Bill of Rights conformed California's income and 

franchise tax laws to the federal Taxpayers' Bill of Rights II and in so doing expanded the 

protection afforded to taxpayers.  The California Taxpayers' Bill of Rights was extended 

to California's Sales and Use Tax Law in 1998 and to California's special taxes and fees 

in 1999.  Some of the many provisions of the updated Taxpayers' Bill of Rights include 

the following: 

 

 The burden of proving correctness of information provided on third-party 

information returns (e.g., W-2s or 1099s) may shift to the FTB once the  

taxpayer complies with certain conditions; 

 

 Interest attributable to unreasonable errors or delays caused by FTB or BOE 

staff performing a ministerial or managerial act may be abated; 

 

 Taxpayers will not be charged additional interest if a deficiency assessment is 

paid within fifteen days of the notice date; 

 

 A levy must be released if made in violation of FTB or BOE administrative 

procedures or if it is in the state's best interest to do so; 

 

 Taxpayers' litigation costs and appeal expenses may be reimbursed; 

 

 Taxpayers may sue the state for damages if FTB or BOE staff intentionally 

entice a taxpayer's representative to provide information about the taxpayer by 

offering to settle the representative's tax liability; 

 

 Taxpayers qualifying to file a joint return may file such a return even though 

prior separate liabilities of the taxpayer's spouse may be unpaid; 

 

 Payers of interest, dividends, or wages must include their telephone number in 

the information report they file; 

 

 Delinquent taxpayers must be given annual notice of their delinquency; 
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 Notice of termination of an installment payment agreement as well as the 

basis thereof must be mailed to the taxpayer 30 days prior to termination; 

 

 The FTB must make a reasonable attempt to contact a taxpayer if it cannot 

locate a taxpayer's account within 60 days of receiving payment; 

 

 Expanded the suspension of the statute of limitations for making an 

assessment to apply to all motions to quash (dispute) a subpoena during the 

period the enforcement of the subpoena is in dispute, regardless of the party 

(third-party record keeper or taxpayer or the taxpayer's authorized 

representative) initiating the dispute; 

 

 The FTB regulations enacted prior to January 1, 1998, are retroactive unless 

otherwise specified; and, 

 

 Mail sent through the IRS-designated private delivery services are considered 

as if sent via the U.S. Postal Service. 

 

In 1999, California conformed its personal income and corporation taxes to many of the 

provisions of the federal Taxpayer Bill of Rights III, enacted by Congress in 1998 as part 

of the Internal Revenue Service Restricting and Reform Act.  A few examples of 

California's conformity to the federal Taxpayer Bill of Rights III include: 

 

 Innocent spouse relief; 

 

 Suspension of interests and penalties if the FTB does not notify a taxpayer 

about amounts owed; 

 

 Prohibition against the FTB using financial status to determine unreported 

income while conducting audits; 

 

 Requirement that the FTB notify taxpayers before notifying third parties 

regarding the determination or collection of the taxpayer's liability; 

 

 Requirement that the FTB release a wage levy if the FTB determines, based 

on taxpayer-provided documentation, the tax is uncollectible; 

 

 Limitation on the FTB selling principal residences to satisfy unpaid liabilities; 

and, 

 

 Waiver of early withdrawal penalties when retirement plans are levied. 

 

 

 



  CHAPTER 7 

  OVERVIEW OF  

  CALIFORNIA'S TAX  

  ADMINISTRATION 

 215 

 

 

TABLE 9 

 

TAX ADMINISTRATION RESPONSIBILITIES 

 

Tax       Responsible Agency 
 

Alcoholic Beverage Tax 

 Tax Collection     Board of Equalization 

 Licensing & License Fee Collection  Department of Alcoholic  

          Beverage Control 

 

Cigarette and Tobacco-Related 

 Products Tax     Board of Equalization 

 

Corporation Tax     Franchise Tax Board 

 

Emergency Telephone User’s Surcharge  

 Rate Setting     Department of General Services 

    Tax Collection     Board of Equalization 

 

Estate Tax      State Controller 

 

Franchise Tax      Franchise Tax Board 

 

Gasoline, Diesel, Use Fuel Taxes   Board of Equalization 

 

Insurance Gross Premiums Tax 

 Permit Issuance    Department of Insurance 

 Tax Assessment    Board of Equalization 

 Refunds & Penalty Collection  State Controller 

 

Motor Vehicle License Fee 

 Administration    Department of Motor Vehicles 

Collection (delinquencies only)   Franchise Tax Board 

 

Motor Vehicle Registration Fee   Department of Motor Vehicles 

Collection (delinquencies only)   Franchise Tax Board 

 

Motor Carrier Tax     Public Utilities Commission 

 

Paid Family Leave     Employment Development  

   Department 
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TABLE 9 

 

(Continued) 

 

Tax       Responsible Agency 

 

Personal Income Tax (PIT)    Franchise Tax Board 

Withholding     Employment Development  

   Department 

 

Private Railroad Car Tax    Board of Equalization 

 

Property Tax 

 Assessment     County Assessor's Office 

 Standards Development   Board of Equalization 

 Public Utility Property Tax   Board of Equalization 

 

Sales and Use Tax     Board of Equalization 

 

State Disability Insurance    Employment Development  

             Department 

 

Timber Yield Tax     Board of Equalization 

 

Unemployment Insurance     Employment Development 

             Department 

 

Weight Fees      Department of Motor Vehicles 
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CHAPTER 8 

 

GLOSSARY OF TAX TERMINOLOGY 

 

The terminology of taxation can be overwhelming.  The purpose of this glossary is to 

promote familiarity with this terminology for those who do not work with tax issues 

every day.  We have attempted to include the major terms and abbreviations used when 

discussing taxation issues.  

 

The definitions provided in this glossary are brief.  Please refer to the appropriate 

chapters of this Reference Book for a more thorough explanation of the terms and 

concepts. 

 

 

COMMON ABBREVIATIONS 

 

 

AGI     Adjusted Gross Income 

 

AMT     Alternative Minimum Tax 

 

AV     Assessed Valuation 

 

CT     Corporation Tax 

 

BIE     Business Inventory Exemption  

 

BOE     Board of Equalization  

 

CPI     Consumer Price Index (the U.S. Index) 

 

CCPI     California Consumer Price Index 

 

DOF     Department of Finance 

 

DMV     Department of Motor Vehicles 

 

EDD     Employment Development Department 

 

FTB     Franchise Tax Board 

 

HOE     Homeowners' Exemption 

 

IRA     Individual Retirement Account 

 

IRC     Internal Revenue Code 



  CHAPTER 8 

  GLOSSARY OF TAX 

  TERMINOLOGY 

 218 

 

IRS     Internal Revenue Service 

 

MIC     Manufacturer's Investment Credit 

 

NOL     Net Operating Loss 

 

OAL     Office of Administrative Law 

 

PIT     Personal Income Tax 

 

R&D     Research and Development Credit 

 

R&TC     Revenue and Taxation Code 

 

SDI     State Disability Insurance 

 

TI     Taxable Income 

 

TPZ     Timberland Production Zone 

 

UBI     Unrelated Business Income 

 

UI     Unemployment Insurance 

 

VLF     Vehicle License Fee 
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GLOSSARY OF TAX TERMINOLOGY 

 

 A 

 

ABILITY TO PAY Tax principle that ties the burden of taxation to the 

taxpayer's economic circumstances.  Taxation based 

on "ability to pay" is an alternative to taxation based 

on benefits or services received. 

 

ACCELERATED WRITE-OFF Computation of an income tax deduction that  

reduces taxable income by allowing the deduction  

to be taken earlier than the rules would ordinarily  

permit.  For example, accelerated depreciation  

allows deductions for the wear and tear of property  

to be taken over a shorter period than the accepted  

useful life of the asset. 

 

ACQUISITION VALUE  Property tax concept referring to the value of  

property when acquired.  Acquisition value is  

embodied in Proposition 13.  This is an alternative  

to the "ad valorem" concept.  This term was used by  

the California Supreme Court in its Amador Valley  

decision and does not appear in Proposition 13 or  

related statutes. 

 

ADJUSTED GROSS   Total gross income reported for income tax  

INCOME (AGI)   purposes, less certain specified deductions if  

applicable.  Typically, California AGI equals  

federal AGI adjusted for differences in tax  

treatment of certain types of income (e.g., state  

income tax refunds, social security income, interest  

on state and municipal bonds from other states, etc).   

(See Chapter 2B for complete list of the  

components of AGI.) 

 

AD VALOREM   According to value.  Before Proposition 13, the  

property tax was considered an ad valorem tax, as it  

was based on current value of the property instead  

of its acquisition value.  Currently, personal 

property tax is ad valorem, or based on current 

value. 

 

AD VALOREM   Special assessment levied for operating purposes by  

ASSESSMENT   many special districts, particularly water districts.   
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The assessment is usually levied only on the value  

of land or land and improvements (not personal  

property). 

 

ALTERNATIVE MINIMUM  An additional tax which must be computed by  

TAX (AMT)    personal income and corporate taxpayers that take 

advantage of certain tax preferences.  If AMT  

liability exceeds regular tax liability, the excess 

must be paid in addition to the taxpayer's regular tax  

liability.  The purpose is to ensure that taxpayers  

that take advantage of special tax preferences pay  

minimum tax on income receiving preferential  

treatment.  Patterned after the AMT in federal law. 

 

AMORTIZATION   An accounting procedure used to reduce the value  

of an intangible asset by periodic charge-offs  

against income.  For tax purposes, amortization is  

similar to depreciation.  Also refers to the principal  

reduction of an outstanding debt through regular  

payments of interest and principal. 

 

APPORTIONMENT   Method by which California determines how much  

of a multi-state or multi-national corporation's total  

net profits are subject to California income taxes.   

(See Chapter 2D.) 

 

APPROPRIATION   An authorization of money from a specific fund to a  

specific agency or program for expenditures or to  

incur obligations for a specified purpose and period  

of time.  The amount expended may be less than the  

amount appropriated.  

 

APPROPRIATIONS LIMIT  Maximum amount of tax proceeds that may be  

appropriated in a fiscal year by state or local  

government under Article XIIIB of the California  

Constitution (Proposition 4 of 1979).  (See Chapter  

5.) 

 

ARTICLE XIIIA   The article of the California Constitution added by  

Proposition 13 of 1978, as amended by Proposition 

26 (2010). 

 

ARTICLE XIIIB   The article of the California Constitution added by  

Proposition  4 of 1979 (Appropriations Limit). 
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ARTICLES XIIIC AND XIIID The articles of the California Constitution added by  

Proposition 218 of 1996, as amended by Proposition 

26 (2010). 

 

ASSESSED VALUE   The measure against which the property tax rate is  

applied to compute the tax.  Generally it is market 

value, unless a standard other than market value has  

been established by the Constitution for real  

property or by statute for personal property. 

 

ASSESSMENT ROLL  A countywide list of all taxable property.  It  

identifies each property, its owner, and its value for  

assessment purposes.   

 

ASSESSMENT YEAR  For property tax law, the period beginning with a  

lien date and ending immediately prior to the  

succeeding lien date.  Under current law, the  

assessment year begins on January 1 and is 

coterminous with the calendar year. 

 

AVERAGE DAILY    A formula for measuring the full time equivalent  

ATTENDANCE (ADA)  number of students attending school.  Most state aid  

to schools is based on ADA.  An example of an  

ADA calculation for a regular full-time elementary  

school is the number of student-days of attendance  

divided by the number of actual school days. 

 

B 

 

BASE     For property tax allocation purposes, the amount of  

property tax revenues received in the prior year (See  

also 'Increment'.)   (For a different usage, see 'Tax  

Base'.) 

 

BASE YEAR VALUE  The full cash value of real property in 1975-76, or  

in any subsequent year upon a purchase, change in  

ownership, or new construction.  Under Proposition  

13, assessed value for property tax purposes may  

increase by no more than 2% per year. 

 

BASIS     For purposes of income taxes, basis generally  

means the cost of an asset to the taxpayer acquiring  

the property.  It is used for calculating depreciation  

and capital gains and losses when the property is  
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ultimately disposed of.  Most inherited property is  

given a basis of its fair market value on the date of  

inheritance.  Property acquired by gift generally has  

a basis equal to that of the donor. 

 

BENEFITS RECEIVED  Tax principle that those who receive the benefit of  

government services should pay for them.   

Alternative to "ability-to-pay". 

 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION State revenue agency, responsible for administration  

(BOE)     of the sales and use tax and other special taxes.  The  

BOE also oversees local administration of the  

property tax.  The Board is directed by five  

members:  The State Controller and four members  

elected by the voters.  The BOE is a quasi-judicial  

body and serves as the appellate body for income 

and franchise tax disputes filed with the Franchise  

Tax Board. 

 

BONDING POWER   The right of state or local government to borrow  

money by issuing bonds. 

 

BRADLEY-BURNS   The 1955 act that allows a uniform 1.25% sales tax  

to be imposed by cities and counties.  This tax is  

collected by the BOE and returned to local  

jurisdictions based on the location of the taxed  

transaction. 

 

BROAD-BASED TAX  A tax levied upon a large tax base.  Often such a tax  

is paid by the vast majority of the population.  An 

example is the sales and use tax. 

 

BUSINESS INVENTORIES  Personal property of business that is held for sale or  

lease.  Exempted by the Legislature from property  

taxation beginning in 1980-81. 

 

C 

 

CALIFORNIA CONSUMER  Measures inflation in California and is calculated by  

PRICE INDEX (CCPI)  the California Department of Industrial Relations. 

 

CAPITAL ASSET   Real property, personal property, stocks and bonds  

and other property held by a taxpayer.  Examples of  

property that are not considered capital assets  

include copyrights and inventory held for sale. 
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CAPITAL EXPENDITURES  Expenditures for capital assets such as buildings,  

roads, airports, land, etc. 

 

CAPITAL GAINS   Income or profit from the sale of capital assets.   

 

CAPITAL OUTLAY   Represents an appropriation for any acquisition of 

land or other real property, major construction,  

improvements, equipment, designs, plans and  

specifications, lease purchase agreement, and the  

request for and exercise of a purchase option. 

 

CARRYOVER   In cases where a tax benefit from a credit, deduction  

or other write-off exceeds the allowable amount for  

a particular year, carryover permits the excess  

amounts to be preserved and applied against income  

or tax liability in subsequent tax years. 

 

CARRYBACK   Allowed for net operating losses and certain credits. 

     Permits net losses in excess of income or credits in  

     excess of tax liability to be "carried back" to earlier  

     tax years, so that tax for those years may be  

     recomputed and refunds may be claimed.   

 

CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP  Term used in Proposition 13.  Refers to a transfer of  

real property.  Upon a change in ownership, real  

property is reassessed to its full cash value as of the  

date of transfer.   

 

Several exceptions apply including inter-spousal  

transfer of a principal residence to a surviving  

spouse, or certain transfers between parents and  

children, grandparents and grandchildren, and  

registered domestic partners. 

 

CHECK-OFF     Donations to specified nonprofit organizations or  

CONTRIBUTIONS   activities that taxpayers are permitted to make on  

their state tax returns.  Taxpayers remit the amount  

of voluntary contributions in addition to amount of  

tax due or as an application of a refund due on the  

return.  Often called "check-offs". 

 

CLEAN-UP BILL   Technical follow-up bill that often follows a major 

piece of legislation.  Usually deals with erroneous  

cross-references, chaptering problems, legislative  

clarification of misinterpretations of the original  
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bill, and other corrections. 

 

CONSUMER PRICE INDEX A measure of inflation.  Can either refer to the  

United States Consumer Price Index calculated by  

the United States Department of Commerce or the  

California Consumer Price Index (CCPI) calculated  

by the Department of Industrial Relations. 

 

CONSUMPTION TAX  Generic term for a tax on commodities and  

transactions where the burden falls on the consumer  

in the price paid for goods and services, such as a  

sales tax. 

 

CORPORATE FRANCHISE  A tax imposed upon a corporation's right to do  

TAX     business in California.  It is measured by a  

corporation's net earnings, but not imposed based  

on income.   

 

CREDIT    Amount that can be subtracted from the actual  

amount of tax owed, usually in the income tax.   

Credits represent tax expenditures aimed at  

benefiting specific groups (e.g., senior credit) or  

inducing certain behavior (e.g., an investment tax  

credit). 

 

 D 

 

DEDUCTIONS   Amounts subtracted from adjusted gross income  

(AGI)      to yield the taxable income upon which income tax  

liability is based. 

 

DEFERRAL     Postponement of paying taxes because of specific  

provisions in the tax law.  For example, the Senior  

Citizens Property Tax Postponement Program  

allows low and moderate income senior citizens to  

defer payment of property taxes until they sell their  

home, die, or move.  

 

DEPENDENT    In income tax law, a relative of the taxpayer (child,  

stepchild, parent, stepparent, sibling, etc.) for whom 

the taxpayer provided over half of his or her support  

during a calendar year.   

 

Can also include a non-relative who meets the 

support rule and who lives in the taxpayer's home. 
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DEPLETION    Deductions permitted to owners or certain lessees of  

natural resources (such as oil or gas wells or timber  

property) to recover the costs of the resource as it is  

extracted, harvested or otherwise wasted or  

diminished.  Comparable to depreciation for real or  

personal property or amortization of intangibles. 

 

DEPRECIATION   A decrease in the value of a capital asset due to 

wear, use, action of the elements, inadequacy,  

accident, or obsolescence. An income tax deduction  

for depreciation allows a write-off for a capital  

expenditure that roughly coincides with the  

decrease in value of the asset over time. 

 

DIRECT TAX    Generic term for a tax that is not easily shifted or  

     passed on to some other entity by the entity on  

     whom it is levied; for example, the personal income  

     tax. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF   The DOF serves as the financial branch of the 

FINANCE (DOF)   Governor's administration.  The DOF prepares the  

Governor's proposed budget and publishes other  

budget documents, provides formal revenue  

estimates, and expresses the Governor's position on  

fiscal matters before the Legislature. 

 

  E 

 

EARMARKED FUNDS  Revenue designated by statute or the Constitution  

for a specific and restricted purpose. 

 

EARNED INCOME   Includes wages, salaries, and fees for services  

rendered.  In most cases, does not include 

distribution of profits, such as dividends, or 

earnings on an investment, such as interest. 

 

EDUCATIONAL REVENUE The funds created to receive property tax revenues 

AUGMENTATION FUND  redirected from cities, counties, and special districts 

(ERAF)  to schools and community college districts.  The 

permanent redirection of property taxes reduces the  

state's Proposition 98 funding obligation to K-14 

school districts.  The revenue loss to local govern- 

ments is mitigated by receipt of a half-cent sales tax 

for public safety purposes. 
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EFFECTIVE TAX RATE  Percentage of market value, income, or other tax  

base that the tax liability represents.  Often differs  

from the nominal tax rate due to progressive tax  

rates. 

 

ELASTICITY    As applied to taxes, the degree to which growth in  

revenue from a tax corresponds to changes in  

income. 

 

EMPLOYMENT    State agency that administers unemployment  

DEVELOPMENT   insurance and disability taxes and personal income  

DEPARTMENT (EDD)  tax withholding. 

 

EQUITY    Fairness or justice.  It also refers to the value of  

property minus the liens and other claims against  

the property that offset its value.  If the claims  

against a property exceeds its value, this is  

described as "negative equity". 

 

ESTATE TAX   Generic term for a levy on the right to transfer  

property upon the death of the owner.  Once the  

value of the estate is determined, a tax rate is  

applied to this base. 

 

EXCISE TAX    Generic term for a levy on the manufacture, sale, or  

use of a particular commodity or service, for  

example, liquor, cigarettes, or telephone services.   

Excise taxes are levied on a per-unit basis (e.g., per  

gallon, per pack, per minute).   

 

EXCLUSION    The part of a tax base that is excluded by law when  

computing the tax.  For example, Social Security  

income is an exclusion for state income tax  

purposes. 

 

EXEMPTIONS   Status of specified people, property, institutions, or  

sources of income or wealth not subject to taxation. 

 

  F 

 

FEDERAL CONFORMITY  Degree to which a state's income tax base and 

computation corresponds to federal income tax 

laws.  California utilizes a process of selective 

federal conformity. 
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FISCAL COMMITTEE  Designated committee in each house of the  

California Legislature that hears any bill with a  

fiscal impact on the state.  In both the Assembly and  

the Senate, this committee is the Appropriations  

Committee. 

 

FISCAL YEAR   Twelve-month period for budgeting, accounting or  

tax collection purposes.  May differ from calendar  

year.  The state and local governments' fiscal year is  

July 1 to June 30.  The federal fiscal year is  

October 1 to September 30. 

 

FRANCHISE    A special privilege extended by the government to a  

private enterprise.  The corporate franchise tax is  

levied on the franchise for the privilege of doing  

business in California and is measured by net  

income. 

 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD  State agency responsible for administering the 

(FTB)     personal income and corporation tax laws.   

The three Board members include the State  

Controller, the Chair of the Board of Equalization,  

and the Director of the Department of Finance. 

 

FULL CASH VALUE  The highest amount a willing and knowledgeable  

seller of a property could obtain from a willing and  

knowledgeable buyer, neither being under any  

compulsion to buy or sell.  Same as "market value"  

or "fair market value". 

 

 G 

 

GROSS INCOME   All sources of income except exempt income.   

Gross Income is the starting point for computing  

taxable income prior to adjustments and deductions. 

 

GROSS PREMIUMS   All insurance premiums received by an insurer.  

Used to compute the insurance tax after return  

premiums are subtracted. 

 

 H 

 

HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD  An unmarried individual whose home is the  

principal place of abode of a son, stepson, daughter,  

stepdaughter, father, mother or any other dependent  
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person for whom a dependent credit may be  

claimed.  A head of household may also be  

someone who maintains any household as the  

principal place of abode for a father or mother  

provided that such parent qualifies a the taxpayer's  

dependent. 

 

HIDDEN TAX   Generic term for an indirect tax that is incorporated  

into the price of goods and services and is therefore  

not apparent when paid.  An example is the fuel tax 

which is included in the price of gas at the pump. 

 

HOMEOWNERS' EXEMPTION A constitutionally provided property tax exemption  

for homeowners.  The exemption reduces the  

assessed value of a principal residence by $7,000  

and in doing so reduces the property tax liabilities  

of most homeowners by approximately $70 per 

year. 

 

IMPACT    The individual or business firm with the legal  

liability to initially pay a tax, whether or not it  

actually bears the final burden.  (See also  

'Incidence'.) 

 

INCIDENCE    Individuals or groups that bear the actual burden of  

a tax. 

 

INCOME    Money or other consideration received during a  

given period by an individual, corporation, or  

other entity for labor or services or from property,  

investments, or other form of compensation. 

 

INCOME TAX   A tax levied on the income of individuals and/or  

corporations; may be applied to gross (total) income  

or net income (gross income less deductions for  

certain expenses). 

 

INCREMENT    For local property tax allocation purposes, the  

amount of property tax revenue generated by  

growth in assessed valuation from one year to the  

next.  (See also 'Base' for another usage, see 'Tax  

Increment Financing'.) 

 

INDEXING    Method by which tax rates, brackets, exemptions or  

benefits are automatically adjusted for inflation. 
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INFLATION    An increase in the price level or, conversely, a  

decline in the purchasing power of money. 

 

INHERITANCE TAX  Generic term for a tax levied upon the value of  

property that individual beneficiaries receive from  

an estate of a deceased person.  The voters of  

California repealed the State Inheritance Tax in  

June 1982.  (See also 'Pickup Tax' and 'Estate  

Tax'.) 

 

IN-LIEU TAX    Tax levied in place of another tax or group of taxes.  

May refer to provisions sheltering a class of  

taxpayers from other taxes.  For example, the  

Constitution provides that the California on insurers  

tax is imposed in-lieu of other state taxes on  

insurers and their property.   

 

INTANGIBLE PROPERTY Assets that cannot be perceived by the senses, such 

as the goodwill of a business, customer base, or the  

workforce of a business. 

 

INTERACTION   Changes in the liability associated with one tax that  

affect the liability associated with another tax (e.g.,  

a reduction in property taxes will likely increase  

income taxes, because itemized deductions for  

property taxes will be reduced). 

 

 J 

 

JOINT RETURN   One personal income tax return filed by both  

members of a married couple. 

 

JURISDICTIONAL CHANGE Procedure by which a city, county or special district  

transfers functions or changes boundaries; by which  

a new local agency forms; or by which two or more  

local agencies consolidate.  Jurisdictional changes  

may result in changes in the allocation of property  

tax revenues. 

 

L 

 

LEVY     The imposition or collection of a tax.  Also may  

refer to the amount of tax imposed. 

 

LICENSE TAX   A tax on the right to do something, such as the sale  
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of liquor, hunting, marriage license, or the right to  

operate a business. 

 

LIEN     A claim on property to satisfy a debt.  Some taxes  

result in a lien against property. 

 

LIEN DATE    The time when the taxes become a lien on property  

and the date on which property is valued for tax  

purposes.  Property taxes become a lien at 12:01  

a.m. on January 1 preceding the fiscal year for  

which taxes are collected for both locally-assessed  

real property and state-assessed property.  

 

LOCAL ASSISTANCE  Portion of the state budget devoted to inter-  

governmental expenditures and shared taxes.  State  

operations and capital outlay comprise the  

remainder of the state budget. 

 

LUXURY TAX   Generic term for a tax imposed upon articles not  

considered essential to a normal standard of living.   

Currently there are no luxury taxes in California  

law, although the federal government periodically  

adopts various luxury taxes. 

 

 M 

 

MARGINAL TAX RATE  Income tax rate to which the taxpayer's highest  

dollar of income is subject. 

 

MARKET VALUE   Full, fair market value of an asset.  Equals "full cash  

value" for Proposition 13 purposes in the property's  

"base year". 

 

MARRIAGE PENALTY  Feature of the federal income tax structure that  

cause the combined tax on two single people with  

equal incomes to be less than the tax on a married  

couple composed of the same two people.  The  

California personal income tax does not impose a 

marriage penalty. 

 

MINIMUM FRANCHISE  Minimum amount of tax imposed annually on any  

TAX   corporation under the California bank and  

corporation franchise tax.  The minimum franchise  

tax is currently $800.  There is no minimum  

franchise tax imposed on corporations their first  
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year of incorporation.  Limited partnerships and  

limited liability companies also pay an annual tax in  

an amount equal to the minimum franchise tax.   

 

N 

 

NET INCOME   Income remaining from earnings gains profits after  

all allowable costs, expenses, losses, and  

allowances for depreciation have been deducted. 

 

NET OPERATING LOSS  Occurs when allowable deductions exceed gross 

(NOL)     income computed under the law in effect for the  

loss year.  Both state and federal income tax law  

provide for the carryover of NOLs, although  

specific provisions vary. 

 

NEW CONSTRUCTION  Term used in Proposition 13.  New construction is  

reappraised at its full cash value on the date it is  

complete and available for use. 

 

O 

 

ORDINARY INCOME  All income other than capital gain. 

 

 P 

 

PAYROLL TAX   Generic term for a tax based on the payroll of a  

business.  California's unemployment insurance tax  

is an example. 

 

PER CAPITA    Amount per individual.   

 

PERSONAL PROPERTY  Movable property and equipment, as opposed to  

immovable property such as land and buildings. 

 

PICKUP ESTATE TAX  A California estate tax enacted after the elimination  

of the inheritance tax in 1982.  It is imposed up to  

the level of the maximum state inheritance tax  

credit allowed against the federal estate tax.  It does  

not change the taxpayer's combined state and  

federal estate tax liability but collected a portion of  

the federal state tax, in effect, to California. 

Commencing in 2005, the federal credit for state  

death taxes was fully repealed.  Therefore, the  

California estate tax is inapplicable. 
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PIGGYBACK    Generic term for a tax levied as a percentage of the  

liability imposed by another tax.  There are no  

California piggyback taxes. 

 

POSSESSORY INTEREST  Interest of a lessee in government-owned property.  

Lessees pay property taxes related to possessory  

interests. 

 

PROGRESSIVE   Tax structure or policy in which either persons with  

high incomes pay a larger percentage of their  

income in tax than persons with lower incomes or  

where persons with high incomes receive a smaller  

share of tax relief than persons with lower incomes. 

 

PROPERTY TAX   A tax on all real and tangible property located in the  

state and not specifically exempt. 

 

PROPOSITION  4   Initiative constitutional amendment approved on the 

November 1979 ballot.  Imposed limits on  

allowable appropriation of tax revenues by state and  

local governments.  Added Article XIIIB to the  

California Constitution. 

 

PROPOSITION 13   Initiative constitutional amendment approved on the  

June 1978 ballot.  Limited property tax rates to 1%  

of assessed value, limited the growth in assessed  

valuation to a maximum of 2% annually, placed  

restrictions on the imposition of new taxes.  Added  

Article XIIIA to the Constitution. 

 

PROPOSITION 26   Initiative constitutional amendment approved on the 

     November 2010 ballot.  Expanded the definition of  

     a "tax" to include many state and local government 

     fees, levies, and charges previously classified as 

     "fees."  Also provided that any change in state 

     statute that results in any taxpayer paying a higher 

     tax must be passed by a two-thirds vote of the 

     Legislature. 

 

PROPOSITION 30   Initiative constitutional amendment approved on the 

     November 2012 ballot.  Temporarily increased the 

     statewide sales and use tax rate by ¼ cent from 

     January 1, 2013 through the end of 2016.  Also 

     temporarily increased the personal income tax rates 

     for high-income individuals for taxable years 
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     beginning on or after January 1, 2012, and before 

     January 1, 2019. 

 

PROPOSITION 39   Initiative statute approved on the November 2012 

     ballot.  Required most multistate businesses to 

     utilize a "single sales factor" apportionment method 

     for determining their taxable income in California 

     for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 

     2013. 

 

PROPOSITION 62   Initiative statute approved on the November 1986  

ballot.  The measure was intended to require a  

popular vote for any new locally-imposed tax or any  

increase in an existing locally-imposed tax.  It was  

embroiled in a legal controversy until December  

1995, when the California Supreme Court upheld its  

constitutionality. 

 

PROPOSITION 98   Initiative statute and constitutional amendment  

approved on the November 1988 ballot.   

Established minimum funding guarantee for schools  

and community colleges, allocated a portion of state  

revenues in excess of the appropriations limit to  

education. 

 

PROPOSITION 111   Legislative initiative that substantially modified the  

provisions of Propositions 4 and 98.  (See Chapter 5  

for details.) 

 

PROPOSITION 218   Initiative constitutional amendment approved on the  

November 1996 ballot.  Sets forth voter approval  

requirements for the imposition of special and  

general taxes by local governments.   

 

(FOR OTHER PROPOSITIONS, SEE APPENDIX TO CHAPTER 4 - LOCAL 

PROPERTY TAX.) 

 

 R 

 

REAL PROPERTY   The ownership of, claim to, possession of or right to 

the possession of land and permanently attached  

improvements, such as buildings.  Does not include  

"personal property" such as furniture and  

equipment. 
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REGRESSIVE TAX   A tax that imposes a higher burden on lower- 

income taxpayers than it does on higher-income  

taxpayers.  Opposite of "progressive". 

 

RETURN PREMIUMS  Insurance premiums paid in part or in full by  

persons who have canceled their policy before its  

expiration date. 

 

REVENUE LIMIT   A limit on the increase in the aggregate amount of  

     revenue that can be raised from one year to the next.  

For school finance, this is a school district's income  

from state and local sources, exclusive of  

categorical aid. 

  

S 

 

SALES TAX    A tax levied on the gross receipts from the retail  

sale of tangible personal property unless otherwise  

exempted. 

 

SECURED ROLL   That part of the local property tax assessment roll  

that contains real property where the taxes are  

adequately secured by a lien. 

 

SEVERANCE TAX   Generic term for a tax imposed on the extraction of  

natural resources, usually based on volume or value  

of a resource extracted or harvested.  SIMILAR TO  

YIELD TAX. 

 

SITUS     Site or place.  Applies to the location of property for 

the purpose of determining which government  

agency may impose taxes on it and which  

government agency receives tax revenue from it. 

 

SPECIAL ASSESSMENT  A tax for local improvements imposed only on the  

properties benefited. 

 

SPECIAL TAX   Term used in Proposition 13 and further defined in  

Proposition 218.  Special taxes are those imposed  

and restricted for specific, rather than general,  

governmental purposes.  Local agencies may  

impose special taxes upon approval of two-thirds of  

those voting on the measure. 
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SPILLOVER BENEFITS  Benefits enjoyed by those not directly paying for  

them. 

 

SPLIT ROLL    In the context of property taxes, means assessment  

or taxation of a certain class of property in a manner  

different than other property.  Could refer to a split  

assessment ratio, a split tax rate, or a split  

exemption level.  Does not currently apply in  

California. 

 

STANDARD DEDUCTION  A flat amount that all income taxpayers are allowed  

to deduct in lieu of claiming itemized deductions.   

Intended to approximate expenses that reduce the  

taxpayer's ability to pay.  A feature of federal  

income tax law; California uses a personal credit. 

 

STATE ASSESSED   Property that crosses jurisdictional boundaries and 

PROPERTY    is assessed by the Board of Equalization, rather than  

     local county assessors.  State assessees are primarily  

utilities and railroads. 

  

STATE MANDATED COSTS Costs incurred by local agencies or schools  

resulting from a new program, or higher level of  

service for an existing program, mandated by state  

legislation or an executive order.  Under Proposition  

4 (Article  XIIIB), the state is required to reimburse 

local agencies for these costs, with specified  

exceptions. 

 

S CORPORATIONS   Closely held corporations (i.e., they have a limited  

number of shareholders) that receive special tax  

treatment under both federal and state law.  

 

They are named after a specific section of federal  

tax law (Subchapter S of Subtitle A of the Internal  

Revenue Code).   

 

SUBVENTION   Money transferred from the state to local  

government. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL ROLL  An additional assessment roll that contains property  

that changes ownership or is newly constructed  

after the regular January 1 lien date.  Enacted in  

1982.   
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SURPLUS    Commonly refers to the carryover balance in the  

state's General Fund at the start of a new fiscal year,  

or to reserves held by the state for unforeseen  

contingencies.  Also known as the Special Fund for  

Economic Uncertainties. 

 

SURTAX    An additional tax rate added onto the rate of an  

existing tax. 

 

T 

 

TANGIBLE PERSONAL  Material assets such as household goods or business  

PROPERTY    equipment that are readily movable and are not  

permanently attached to real property. 

 

TAX     A compulsory payment required by a government. 

 

TAX BASE    The part of the economy or the portion of the 

population against which a tax is levied or  

measured. 

 

TAX BURDEN   The impact of a tax, usually expressed in tax dollars  

per capita or dollars per amount of personal income.   

For an individual taxpayer, tax dollars per measure  

of income (household, AGI, other). 

 

TAX DEEDED PROPERTY  Property on which property taxes are delinquent and 

which has been deeded to the state until the time it  

is sold for back taxes or redeemed by the owner. 

 

TAX EXPENDITURE  A component of the tax law that deviates from the  

basic structure of the tax (e.g., an exemption,  

exclusion, deduction, credit, and/or deferral).  The  

term "tax expenditure" is intended to reflect  

foregone revenues resulting from the preferential  

treatment.  

 

TAX INCREMENT    A method used by redevelopment agencies to  

FINANCING    secure bonds, whereby property tax revenue from  

an increase in value in property over a base amount  

is used to pay off the bonds. 

 

TAX LEVY    A bill in the California Legislature that imposes a  

state tax, repeals a state tax, or otherwise changes in  

any material way the rate, base, or burden of a state  
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tax.  The Legislative Counsel determines whether a  

bill is a tax levy.  Special rules regarding legislative  

deadlines and effective dates apply to tax levies. 

 

TAX RATE    The ratio of the tax to the tax base.  For property tax  

purposes, the rate is applied to assessed value to  

determine the amount of the tax.  For income and  

franchise tax purposes, the rate is applied to taxable  

income to determine the amount of the tax. 

 

TAX RATE AREA   Geographic area that is served by the same 

combination of governmental units and has the  

same property tax allocation factors. 

 

TIDELANDS REVENUE  Revenues earned by the state from sale of oil  

extracted from state tidelands (between shoreline  

and three miles out into the Pacific Ocean).   

 

Primarily located adjacent to the city of Long  

Beach. 

 

TIMBER YIELD TAX  A tax imposed in California in lieu of the property  

tax on standing timber.  Tax applies when timber is  

harvested and is based on the value of the timber  

when cut. 

 

TIMBERLAND PRODUCTION Ten-year land use restriction on growing and 

ZONE (TPZ)    harvesting timber in exchange for preferential  

property tax assessments for timberland.   

 

U 

 

UNITARY APPORTIONMENT Formula by which the share of a corporation's net  

income subject to tax in California is determined.   

 

UNRELATED BUSINESS  Income earned by tax-exempt nonprofit  

INCOME (UBI)   organizations that is not related to the organization's  

exempt purpose but is derived from a trade or  

business activity that is regularly carried on by the  

organization.  UBI is subject to income tax, even 

though the organization's exempt-purpose income is  

not. 

 

UNSECURED ROLL   That part of the assessment roll, consisting largely  

of business personal property, on which the taxes  
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are not secured by a lien on real property. 

 

UNSECURED TAX RATE  Prior year's secured roll tax rate, which is levied  

against current year's unsecured roll. 

 

USE TAX    A tax on goods purchased outside the state and  

delivered to California for use in the state.  A use  

tax is designed to remove inequities between  

purchases made within and those made outside the  

state.  Companion to the sales tax, the burden for  

payment is with the purchaser. 

 

USER CHARGE   A charge levied for use of a government-provided  

commodity or service.  For example, day-use fees at  

a marina or park. 

 

VALUE ADDED TAX (VAT) Generic term for a tax levied on a product at each  

stage of its manufacture or processing based on the  

increase in value attributable to the particular  

process.  It is similar to a sales tax, but is paid at  

each stage of production and marketing and is  

incorporated into the final purchase price rather  

than added on at the time of sale.  Used in many 

other countries, but not in the United States 

 

VEHICLE LICENSE FEE  The vehicle license fee (VLF) is an annual fee 

on all vehicles registered in California.   

 

 W 

 

WAIVER (DISCLAIMER)  Refers to a boilerplate statement, commonly at the  

end of a bill, that "waives" another statutory  

requirement, such as an automatic sunset or  

reimbursement of any state mandated costs created  

by that bill.  If their rights to reimbursement are not  

waived, local governments may file claims for 

reimbursement of state-mandated costs and/or state- 

initiated revenue losses via Board of Control. 

 

WATER'S-EDGE   Method of combining the income of multinational 

COMBINATION   corporations to determine the amount of net  

income taxable by California.  The "water's-edge" is  

defined as the 50 states of the United States and  

specified "tax havens".  This method is an  

alternative to worldwide combination.  
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WELFARE EXEMPTION  Property tax exemption available for property  

owned by nonprofit charitable, educational,  

religious, and scientific organizations and that  

meets other tests. 

 

WILLIAMSON ACT   Statutory provision for reduced property tax 

assessments on agricultural and other open space  

property in return for a contractual agreement that 

the property must be maintained in agricultural use  

for at least 10 years. 

 

WORLDWIDE    Method of combining the income of multinational 

COMBINATION    corporations to determine the amount of net income  

     taxable by California.  Corporations must use  

     worldwide combination if they do not elect water's- 

     edge combination. 

 

Y 

 

YIELD TAX    Generic term for a tax levied on the value of a  

resource at the time of its extraction or harvest.   

California's timber yield tax is an example.   

SIMILAR TO SEVERENCE TAX 

 

 Z 

 

ZERO BRACKET AMOUNT A previous feature of state and federal income 

(ZBA)     taxes.  A flat deduction given to all taxpayers, the  

amount of which varied by tax filing status.  The  

ZBA replaced the standard deduction and was  

incorporated in the tax tables, but was repealed and  

the standard deduction reinstated in 1987. 

 

ZERO SUM    With a fixed pool of money, if one party receives an  

increased share, other parties must lose a  

commensurate amount. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



  CHAPTER 8 

  GLOSSARY OF TAX 

  TERMINOLOGY 

 240 

 

 

 

 


	Chapter 1A FTB
	Chapter 1B
	Chapter 1C
	Chapter 1D
	Chapter 2A
	Chapter 2B
	Chapter 2C
	Chapter 2D
	Chapter 2E
	Chapter 3A
	Chapter 3B
	Chapter 3C
	Chapter 3D
	Chapter 3E
	Chapter 3F
	Chapter 3G
	Chapter 3H
	Chapter 3I
	Chapter 3J
	Chapter 3K
	Chapter 4
	Chapter 5
	Chapter 6A
	CHAPTER 6B
	Chapter 6C
	Chapter 6D
	Chapter 6E
	Chapter 6F
	CHAPTER 6G
	Chapter 7
	Chapter 8

