CHAPTER 3J

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX

HIGHLIGHTS

e Purpose Funds unemployment benefits for former
employees who are currently unemployed.

e Tax Base First $7,000 of each employee's annual wage.

e Tax Rate The Unemployment Insurance (Ul) rate schedule
in effect for 2009 will be Schedule "F+". This
is Schedule F plus a 15% emergency surcharge
and provides for Ul tax rates from 1.5% to
6.2%. In addition, employers with a positive
reserve account balance as of the calculation date
must pay the employment training tax of 0.1%.

e Revenue 2005-06 $5.05 billion*
2006-07 $4.93 billion*
2007-08 $4.63 billion*
e Disbursements 2005-06 $4.48 billion*
2006-07 $4.68 billion*
2007-08 $5.82 billion*
e Administration Employment Development Department (EDD)

*Source: EDD

1. TAX OVERVIEW

The unemployment insurance tax funds the cost of benefits for the Ul program
administered by California's EDD. It is levied on employers who have paid in excess of
$100 in total wages during any calendar quarter. The tax is levied on the first $7,000 of
wages paid by an employer to each employee.

All taxes paid are deposited in the Ul Trust Fund maintained by the United States
Treasury. EDD draws down funds from the Ul Trust Fund as needed to pay Ul benefits
to California workers. The Ul tax revenues may be used only for payment of program
benefits.
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An individual account, called a reserve account, is maintained for each employer by
EDD. The reserve account is a paper (or so-called "book™) account only and cannot be
reimbursed to the employer. This account is used to compute the employer's tax rate, as
discussed below.

The employment training tax funds training programs in targeted industries in order to
retrain workers and to help improve California's competitiveness. Like the Ul tax, the
employment training tax is imposed on employers and is levied on the first $7,000 of
wages paid by an employer to each employee. Only employers with a positive reserve
account balance as of the calculation date are subject to the employment training tax.
However, employers found guilty of tax evasion are assessed the employment training
tax, along with any penalties, interest, and other fines for the offense, regardless of the
condition of their reserve account. The Employment Training Panel administers the
employment training funds collected and has the discretion to allocate the funds to
economic development, special employment training, and/or welfare to work.

2. TAX RATE

Unemployment Insurance Tax. New employers pay a basic Ul tax rate of 3.4% for up
to their first three tax years of business. Each employer's subsequent tax rate is based on
that individual employer's "experience rating™ and on the tax rate schedule in effect for all
employers during the year.

° Tax Rate Schedules. There are seven different Ul tax rate schedules (AA, A,
B, C, D, E, and F, ranging from lowest to the highest) and 38 different rates
within each schedule. Depending on the schedule in place, Ul tax rates can
range from a low of 0.1% to a high of 5.4%.

The tax rate schedule in effect for any given year depends on the balance in
the Ul Fund and total wages paid in California. Generally speaking, when the
balance in the Ul Fund decreases, a higher tax rate schedule is triggered.
When the balance in the Fund increases, a lower tax rate schedule is triggered.
A change in tax rate schedule affects the rates applied to all employers.

The Ul tax rate schedule in effect for 2009 will be Schedule "F+". This is
Schedule F plus a 15% emergency surcharge, rounded to the nearest tenth.
Schedule "F+" provides for Ul tax rates from 1.5% to 6.2%.

° Experience Ratings. The experience rating system measures the relationship
between Ul taxes paid by an individual employer, benefits paid to that
employer's workers, and growth in an employer's work force. Generally,
employers who maintain a stable work force and timely file and pay Ul taxes
have a more favorable experience rate (and therefore lower Ul tax rates) than
employers who experience high turnover, large fluctuations in payroll, and/or
are late in filing and paying their Ul taxes.
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An employer's experience rating is based on that employer's reserve ratio,
which is the ratio of the employer's reserve account balance on July 31, to the
employer's average base payroll. The reserve ratio is then compared to the
applicable tax rate schedule in effect for the year to determine the employer's
Ul tax rate.

The reserve ratio is calculated as follows:

a) An employer's Ul reserve account is credited with Ul taxes paid by the
employer;

b) The value of Ul benefits paid to the employer's former employees is
subtracted from the employer’s reserve account, except in certain special
circumstances. Under certain circumstances, law specifies that benefits
not be charged against a former employer but must instead be charged to
all employers who participate in the Ul fund. These benefits are called
socialized benefits. Some socialized benefit costs relate to specific
eligibility provisions. For example, benefits paid to employees who
become unemployed as a result of the need to escape domestic violence.
Other socialized benefit costs include the total Ul benefits paid in error or
because of fraud and the total annual increase of all negative reserve
account balances.

c) Interest earned on the entire Ul Fund is credited to the reserve account of
each employer on a proportionate basis.

d) Socialized benefits are debited on a proportionate basis from each
employer's reserve account.

e) The resulting reserve account balance is then divided by the employer's
average annual taxable payroll for the preceding three years. The result
equals the reserve ratio.

A high reserve ratio --- high reserves and few benefits paid --- produces a
lower experience rating and thus a lower Ul tax. A low reserve ratio --- low
reserves and many benefits paid --- produces a higher experience rating and
thus a higher Ul tax.

Employers may make voluntary contributions to their reserve accounts to
obtain a lower Ul tax rate for a given year, although rate reductions triggered
by voluntary contributions cannot lower an employer's rate by more than three
rate steps (i.e., a few tenths of one percent). Furthermore, voluntary
contributions are only allowed during relatively good economic times; they
are not allowed during years when the two highest rate schedules (E and F)
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are in effect.
Each December, EDD automatically notifies all eligible employers of the
exact amount of voluntary payments needed to lower their Ul tax rates,

together with the Ul tax rate reductions that would result from voluntary
payments.

Employment Training Tax. All employers subject to the employment training tax, as
discussed above, are assessed an additional 0.1% regardless of their Ul tax rate.

3. EXEMPTIONS

There are several reasons why the wages earned by an individual may be exempt from Ul
taxes. Some of the more common types of exemptions include wages earned by:

¢ Certain family members in family employment;

° Elected officials acting in their official capacity;

°  Employees performing services for a church;

° Certain students, student nurses, newspaper carriers, and golf caddies; and

° Certain domestic workers who receive less than $1,000 in cash wages during a
calendar quarter.

Generally, employers who are not required to pay Ul taxes for certain employees are
allowed to elect such payments. The primary exception to this rule involves elected
officials, whose employers may not make Ul payments on their behalf.

4. BENEFITS

Unemployment insurance benefits are payable to employees who become unemployed
through no fault of their own, are able and available to work, are actively seeking work,
and have earned sufficient wages in the "base period™”. The base period is the first four of
the last five or six quarters, depending upon the month in which a claim for benefits is
filed, as shown below.

MONTH CLAIM IS FILED BASE PERIOD
January, February, or March October 1 through September 30
April, May, or June January 1 through December 31
July, August, or September April 1 through March 31
October, November, or December July 1 through June 30
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An employee who leaves a job voluntarily may also claim Ul benefits if he or she had
good cause (e.g., the working conditions were dangerous).

The employer's reserve account is credited with the tax contributions and, in most cases,
charged with benefits paid to former employees. An employer who receives a notice of
claims made by former employees may file a protest with EDD if he or she believes that
the employee is not entitled to the benefits claimed.

The weekly benefit amount is based on the quarter within the base period in which the
employee's wages were the highest. Currently, benefit amounts range from $40 to a
maximum of $450 per week. The employee may draw up to 26 weeks of benefits during
a one-year period.

However, EDD can extend the benefit period during periods of severe unemployment
based on criteria specified in law. For example, when at least 6% of California's work
force that is covered by Ul becomes unemployed, up to 13 additional weeks of Ul
benefits are available to those who have exhausted their regular Ul benefits.
Responsibility for funding the additional Ul payments is shared equally between the state
Ul Fund and the federal government.

S. FEDERAL TAXATION

The federal government imposes a federal unemployment tax (FUTA) on employers
equal to 6.2% of the first $7,000 in wages they pay each qualifying employee. However,
the federal government gives employers in states with approved unemployment insurance
programs a credit of 5.4% against the federal tax. Thus, California employers are subject
to a net federal tax of 0.8%.

6. REVENUE

Unemployment insurance tax revenues totaled $5.05 billion in fiscal year (FY) 2005-06,
$4.93 billion in FY 2006-07, and $4.63 billion in FY 2007-08..

1. ADMINISTRATION

Any employer who pays in excess of $100 in total wages during any calendar quarter is
required to register with EDD. Employers are required to make quarterly Ul payments
on the last day of the month following the close of each calendar quarter. An annual
return in which employers must reconcile their quarterly payments with the amounts of
tax actually due for the year must be filed by January 31 of each year. Penalties and
interest are imposed on delinquent amounts.

8. CODE

Unemployment Insurance Code Sections 100-2129
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