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STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE TAX 

________________________________________________________________________ 
 

HIGHLIGHTS 
 

Purpose   Funds payments for employees who are unable to 
work due to their own pregnancy or non- 
occupational injury or illness.  Funds payments 
for employees who need to take time off work 
to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, parent, 
or domestic partner, or to bond with a new child 
on or after July 1, 2004. 

 

• 

• 

• 

• 

• 

• 

Tax Base   In 2004, first $68,829 of each employee's annual  
wages. 
In 2005, first $79,418 of each employee's annual 
wages. 
In 2006, first $79,418 of each employee's annual 
wages. 

 
Tax Rate   The annually adjusted rate decreased from 1.08% 

in 2005 to .80% for 2006.  The 2005 rate included 
an additional 0.08% for initial costs of the Paid 
Family Leave Program. 

 
Revenue   2002-03 $3.16 billion* 

     2003-04 $4.04 billion* 
     2004-05 $4.79 billion* 
 

Disbursements  2002-03 $3.07 billion* 
     2003-04 $3.37 billion* 
     2004-05 $3.50 billion* 
 

Administration  Employment Development Department (EDD) 
 

*Source:  EDD 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
1. TAX OVERVIEW 
 
The disability insurance tax is imposed on employees and funds both the state disability 
insurance (SDI) and the Paid Family Leave (PFL) programs administered by California's  
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EDD.  The tax is levied on employees of establishments that employ one or more persons 
and have paid more than $100 in wages in one calendar quarter.  Tax collection is  
performed through mandatory payroll deductions.  Revenues are deposited in the 
Unemployment Compensation Disability Fund.  There is no comparable federal tax. 
 
Disability insurance provides partial compensation for wages lost due to pregnancy and 
non-occupational illnesses and injuries.  The PFL insurance extends disability 
compensation to cover individuals who take time off of work to care for a seriously ill 
child, spouse, parent, or domestic partner, or to bond with a new child.  The programs 
cover approximately 13 million California workers. 
 
2. TAX RATE 
 
The SDI tax rate is adjusted annually, based on the balance in the Disability Insurance 
Fund.  The taxable wage limit is set by statute and changes when the maximum weekly 
benefit changes.  For 2003, the tax was 0.9% on the first $56,916 of wages earned by 
each employee.  Recent changes in the tax rate and taxable wage limit are as follows: 
 

° For 2004, the maximum wage limit is $68,829, and the tax rate 1.18%. 
 

° For 2005, the maximum wage limit is $79,418, and the tax rate 1.08%. 
 

° For 2006, the maximum wage limit is $79,418, and the tax rate .80%. 
 

3. EXEMPTIONS 
 
Certain groups of employees are exempt from paying (and therefore receiving) disability 
insurance coverage, including PFL insurance, as follows: 
 

° Public agency employees; 
 

° Public school employees; 
 

° Federal government employees; 
 

° Self-employed individuals or employers; 
 

° Employees of churches and certain other religious organizations; 
 

° Individuals in certain types of family employment (e.g., children employed by  
their parents, spouses employed by their spouse, son, or daughter);  
 

° Individuals who file religious exemption certificates stating that they rely 
upon prayer in the practice of religious healing; and  
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° Certain domestic workers who receive less than $750 in cash wages during a 

calendar quarter. 
 
Although exempt from the requirement to pay SDI taxes, public school and public agency 
employees may elect coverage as an entire entity, by bargaining unit, or for management 
and confidential employees.  Individuals in family employment may also elect coverage.  
The tax rate for these employees is the same as for non-exempt employees. 
 
Self-employed individuals may also elect coverage, but the tax rate imposed on self-
employed individuals may be different than on non-exempt employees.  The self-
employed tax rate is based on the net profit of the business that elects the coverage during 
the year prior to election.  
 
4. BENEFITS 
 
Disability insurance, and PFL insurance, benefits vary depending on the employee's 
wages.  Disability benefits for 2003 range from $50 to $602 per week.  The maximum 
benefit increased to $728 in 2004, and to $840 for 2005 and 2006.  The total SDI benefits 
paid to each employee equal 52 times that employee's weekly benefit; however, a 
claimant's benefits cannot exceed 100% of the wages paid to that claimant during his or 
her qualifying disability base period.  The total PFL insurance benefits paid to each 
employee cannot exceed six times that employees weekly amount within a 12-month 
period.  The "base period" consists of the first four of the last five completed calendar 
quarters, depending upon the month in which the claim is filed.  Effective January 1, 
2003, the following base periods apply: 
 

MONTH CLAIM IS FILED  BASE PERIOD 
  

January, February, or March   October 1 through September 30 
April, May, or June    January 1 through December 31 
July, August, or September    April 1 through March 31 
October, November, or December  July 1 through June 30 

 
5. REVENUE  
 
Revenues from the state disability insurance tax are held in the Unemployment 
Compensation Disability Fund, a special fund in the State Treasury.  Revenues are 
maintained separately from the unemployment insurance tax revenues collected from 
employers.  The Fund collected $3.16 billion in fiscal year (FY) 2002-03, $4.04 billion in 
FY 2003-04, and $4.79 billion in FY 2004-05. 
 
Disability benefit payments totaled $3.07 billion in FY 2002-03, $3.37 billion in 2003-04, 
and $3.50 billion in FY 2004-05. 
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6. REFUNDS 
 
An employee who works for multiple employers during a given year and cumulatively 
earns wages in excess of the taxable wage limit may file for a refund of the excess tax 
paid when filing his or her California personal income tax return. 
 
7. VOLUNTARY PLANS 
 
An employer, with majority consent of his or her employees, may substitute a voluntary 
plan for the state disability insurance plan.  The plan must provide equal or greater 
benefits than the state plan, including both SDI and PFL insurance benefits, and be 
approved by EDD.  
 
Disability insurance contributions withheld by a voluntary plan (which are optional on 
the part of the employer and cannot exceed the state plan rate) are not remitted to EDD.   
Instead, in the voluntary plan, the employer retains these moneys in trust to pay benefits 
and administrative costs of the plan.  Currently, there are approximately 580 voluntary 
plans covering almost 646,000 workers (out of a total of approximately 17.9 million 
workers in California).  All voluntary plans are self-insured. 
 
8. ADMINISTRATION 
 
Any employer who pays in excess of $100 in total wages during any calendar quarter is 
required to register with EDD.  Employers are required to file quarterly returns with EDD 
in which they remit the wages they withhold from their employees, as well as annual 
returns in which they reconcile the amounts withheld during the year with amounts 
actually due.  Generally, SDI withholding must be remitted by employers to EDD at the 
same time as other required employee withholding, such as state personal income taxes.   
 
9. CODE 
 
Unemployment Insurance Code Sections 2601-3306 
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